(2003) Brides of year 2003

meow...
yeh do organise another gathering for mani.. it was great meeting u gals last fri.. too bad the mani ended quite late and we did not manage to talk..

Where is River City/Orient Ocean.. How much per pax huh?

oh the $54 has 2 bottles, 1 bottle is base coat and another is top coat. Was told to put base coat then top coat... reapply top coat every 2 days. after a week, wash out and start again.
its supposed to even out the ridges.. and protect the nails..
glad to say my mani still in perfect condition..except that the colour fades abit oreadi..

Hi i am oso holding my wedding on sep 2003. Can i know have u all choosen ur bridal package ?

girls, are most of you considering PS around May or June?? I planned mine on 1 Aug, not sure now if it would be too late.

grace, I had my ROM lunch reception at the Chinese Restaurant at Grand Plaza Parkroyal -- dun have to worry too much about transporting guests from fort canning. They serve ala carte lunch buffet.. food is rather good but a tad ex about $30 per pax if I din remember wrongly.

sunnyling, hope you have gotten over the shock. take care. personally I dun really dare to be a pillion rider.

hi nicloe,
welcome to the thread,,

i think half of the gals here have confirmed their bridal package.. u can scroll up to take a look

grace:
fort canning club has a chinese restaurant with ala-carte lunch buffet at $30 pax (after service and gst) too.. a short walk from ROM..

akira:
i am trying to avoid aug, which is the chinese 7th month..

hi all... i'm back @ work, but quite sianz... ;P

sunnyling... do take care. its been raining non-stop these days. my fren who rides a bike gave up and now takes mrt instead. ;P

my PS will be in june also, tho hv not finalised anything. but will be visiting my bridal v soon, b4 my class starts in jan.

i had my ROM lunch reception @ straits cafe @ hotel rendezvous. think its $19.90+++ per head coz its international buffet, plus a 15% discount for ROMers. food not too bad (according to my guests, coz i din hv much time to eat). ;P

hi...

thanks alot.. will consider these few places..
need to find out the time of the buffet..
cos my rom time is 11.30, i think after phototaking, it be around 1pm... so must find one with hightea time.. other wise if the lunch finish at 2pm, it be soo rush..

hi lynn,

sure u can join in,, btw, welcome

do u mind helping us to update ur personal info like this??

Coolcitrusbasil, 4/9, InterContinental Singapore, still sourcing, JW
Faye, 4/9
Wei, 4/9
JL, 6/9, MC, Printemps (Malaysia), Woodlands
Sep03, 6/9, Four Seasons Hotel, Ted Wu, Chris Ling, Tampines
Babbit, 6/9, Oriental, Tan Yoong, Chris Ling, Anchorvale
SJ, 6/9
Peachcooler, 6/9 Hotel Rendezvous, ???, Ang Mo Kio
Smartie, 6/9 Conrad Hotel, Divine, Utopia, Ang Mo Kio
Sweetsuz, 6/9
Mspiggy, 8/9
Neko, 8/9 , Grand Hyatt, White Link, Yishun
Flowee, 10/9 , Noble House, Amanda Lee n Utopia, Sengkang
AA, 13/9, Grand Copthorne Waterfront, Still Shopping, Town area resale
Babylove, 13/9 Mandain Orchard, Bridal Zone, Bukit Panjang
Pacific, 13/9 Marina Mandrian, Bridal Zone, SK
Lilac, 14/9
Pinky, 14/9 Four Season, Sliver Cloak, Utopia
Eileen, 17/9, RELC-Pin Hsiang, GHA, Andrew Tay, Tiong Bahru
Blurydoey, 17/9
Bless, 17/9
Sept03bride, 17/9, HIPV, ???, JW
Ling, 20/9 sheraton tower, divine, hil &kc,videolane, yck
Juju, 20/9
Hazel, 20/9
OscarJSCS, 20/9
Maro, 20/9
Angel, 20/9
Simon, 20/9, Beaufort Sentosa, Bridal Veil, Simei
Bijou, 20&21/9, Rasa sentosa, AmandaLee & Utopia, Fastsoup, J.west
Aigee, 25/9, Grand Hyatt, Milan, Choa Chu Kang Cr
Wenn, 26/9, Noble House, J&C Bridal, JW
Jojok, 27/9, Mandarin Orchard, Silver Cloak Couture, Temporary at Bedok Reservoir (relocating to Sengkang in 2yrs time)
Calyx, 27/9, Raffles hotel, Ted Wu, Montage, Yishun

How is everybody?
Is it the air ard us is no longer fresh so we get sensitive eyes easily.

I just completed my trial makeup and choosing of gowns. i think i really need some effort to go for exercise. really dun look good on gowns. Very sian. so fat fat....

I have delay my phototaking to March 07. cos FH is going oversea for course on Jan. Well, at the meantime, i can go for some triming session my own inorder to look good on phototaking.

Jan: really sad to hear ur encounter with ur IL family. Sometime just have to bear with it. I have this problems before but not that serious. My FH would tell me to bear with it a while and he will try to settle the things. Of course, he even told me, One is his mother and the other is his wife. He doesnt want the mum and wife to make him in difficult position. Sometime, i will just open one eyes and close one eyes. then start complaining to my mum. st least i feel better after saying out and i will forget abt the whole issue.

I always thot my MIL wanted to her way on us but realise it wasnt true. All misunderstanding is because i dun know what kind of person she is. But after several small incidents i get to know the whole family better.

I count myself very lucky not living together now but becos my FH always make a point for me to stay over his place over the weekend. i have more time interacting with the family.

so Jan, sometime is the communication. both parties have to give in to live harmony.

akira,
try to give more time for photos development and selection... you need more time if getting magazine...

I've checked that photo development takes about 1 month +...

hallo yi,

glad that ur food tasting went well... yeah,, getting ur album soon,,, i wanna see!!!

my stuffs are more or less settled,, now is just the waiting part... bought a simple ROM dress and sandles from Tangs on sat... there is an extra 15% discount over the weekend

Hi meow,
I had mine at Carlton Hotel, high tea buffet for $19.80+++ per pax...

You can consider cos they have long tables and can group your guests together... my hubby says our rom is like mini-wedding...

another question...
do u have a limit on many pax u invite for ROM..
think my guest list including my parents etc is abt 30pple...

grace... its ok. mine was abt 26, but room was quite empty! think they hv enlarged the rooms so its v spacious now. but you will hv a hard time rounding them up while everyone is waiting outside the room tat's all! ;P

Hi oct-bride-to-be,

it depends on whether the days of that week is ideal for you! Some of us here will be having our wedding on dat week too!

I guess it'll take some planning in who you invite and confirming whether they'll be coming to your wedding or not.

Btw, have you selected the venue, date and no. of tables?

Hi wenn my wedding date is on 12 Sep 2003. i had book the dinner @ the new otani hotel.

heeehee wenn n flowee feel kan cheong for me. ya ya i booked HI liao so no worries.
flowee, my sil's designer was minda. but i spoke with amanda and minda before, they are both very prof and friendly ppl. I like my sil WG and EG both being classy and simple. i even follow my sil photographer eric from Attitude. He is a very funny guy, he took a few FREE shots for me and hubby too hahaha...he said he will give us a discount when our turn comes hahah but now hmmmm.
ted wu is nice leh..my hubby likes their suits a lot. but same here budget constraints. actually i wanted to settle everything fast but then too lazy

hope i dont end up being a lazy bride...but i will 'cheong' all the way if got pressure lah

<FONT COLOR="orange">Yi</FONT> - Great to hear tat your preparations are going well. I'm ok loh...

<FONT COLOR="red">Flowee</FONT> - I finished watching the vol 2 liao...guess wat still haven't end
abit sian liao
dao ming si still in daze daze
alamak! must spend more money for vol 3
you leh? watched already?

Hello Ladies!

Sorry i was on leave yesterday
helping my ex-boss do some house packing ...

SO the nail thingy didn't last long huh? ;) nvm lah
first time always like that
next you'll be ok

I got home abt 11:30 i think... was so tired...showered and ZZZzzzzz ;P

thinking of 22 oct. venue still plentiful. Marriot, Orchard Hotel Grand copthorne. Alternatively 27 october. Wanted westin but oct and nov almost fully booked. looking at about 33 tables.

basil,
u need us to 'pressure' u or not???

i've seen attitude's website,, wah, the poses quite stylo one,,, the couple with the long hair is actually my shi-jie in sec school but she doesn't know me lah,,, so, are ur SIL's poses like those on the website too??

which are the bridal shops u've visited so far??

ok lah nic, help u to insert... wah, this list is growing liao

Coolcitrusbasil, 4/9, InterContinental Singapore, still sourcing, JW
Faye, 4/9
Wei, 4/9
JL, 6/9, MC, Printemps (Malaysia), Woodlands
Sep03, 6/9, Four Seasons Hotel, Ted Wu, Chris Ling, Tampines
Babbit, 6/9, Oriental, Tan Yoong, Chris Ling, Anchorvale
SJ, 6/9
Peachcooler, 6/9 Hotel Rendezvous, ???, Ang Mo Kio
Smartie, 6/9 Conrad Hotel, Divine, Utopia, Ang Mo Kio
Sweetsuz, 6/9
Mspiggy, 8/9
Neko, 8/9 , Grand Hyatt, White Link, Yishun
Flowee, 10/9 , Noble House, Amanda Lee n Utopia, Sengkang
nicloe, 12/9, New Otani, ???, ???
AA, 13/9, Grand Copthorne Waterfront, Still Shopping, Town area resale
Babylove, 13/9 Mandain Orchard, Bridal Zone, Bukit Panjang
Pacific, 13/9 Marina Mandrian, Bridal Zone, SK
Lilac, 14/9
Pinky, 14/9 Four Season, Sliver Cloak, Utopia
Eileen, 17/9, RELC-Pin Hsiang, GHA, Andrew Tay, Tiong Bahru
Blurydoey, 17/9
Bless, 17/9
Sept03bride, 17/9, HIPV, ???, JW
Ling, 20/9 sheraton tower, divine, hil &amp;kc,videolane, yck
Juju, 20/9
Hazel, 20/9
OscarJSCS, 20/9
Maro, 20/9
Angel, 20/9
Simon, 20/9, Beaufort Sentosa, Bridal Veil, Simei
Bijou, 20&amp;21/9, Rasa sentosa, AmandaLee &amp; Utopia, Fastsoup, J.west
Aigee, 25/9, Grand Hyatt, Milan, Choa Chu Kang Cr
Wenn, 26/9, Noble House, J&amp;C Bridal, JW
Jojok, 27/9, Mandarin Orchard, Silver Cloak Couture,Temporary at Bedok Reservoir(relocating to Sengkang in 2yrs time)
Calyx, 27/9, Raffles hotel, Ted Wu, Montage, Yishun

Hi wenn thank you for inserting me into ur long long list har . BTW did u heard of "whitelink "this bridal shop be4?Any comments on this shop?

Grace,
Here are the charges for Orient Ocean:
34 items Dim sum buffet, $10.80+++(Mon - Fri) and $13.80+++(Sat, sun and PH)
Rivercity:
20 items Dim sum buffet, $9.80+++(Mon - Fri) and $12.80+++(Sat, sun and PH)
Last order ends at 1:30pm.

What i'll be doing is have my Photo taking before the commence of the ROM ceremony. So friends and colleagues will not waste time doing nothing there and wait for us under the sun. Somemore you'll feel pai seh too and you maybe thinking of rushing for time. and maybe ohotos not taken nicely how?

Thanks everyone for their suggestion

sweetie &amp; yve, thanks for your advice. I figured tat during the lunar 7th month, the bridal/ps people won't be too busy so might get better service. for me, I'm not 'pantang'... anyway I got ROMed on the 14th day of the 7th lunar month (which incidentally happened to be a favourable day for marriage according to the Chinese almanc and a good day for Indians to get married).
When we registered for the date, the lady serving us at the Reigstry did a double take and even asked if we want another date. no choice.. pressed for deadline then. guess if 1-2 months max is all the time needed then by Oct should be able to get photos... provided no major catastrophe tat would require a re-shoot. :p

grace, dun worry.. when I got married, we squeezed abt 50 pple into the room..dun ask me why.. not so many relatives but somehow hubby and myself got lots of buddies + their other halves. Dun worry on tat day you will be the focal of attention and everyone will be eager not to miss the solemnisation so should not be too tough to round every one up.

ava, you must be v close to your ex-boss.. even took leave to help her pack. must be v tiring..

i think u all better exert pressure on me else i wont move one hahaha..very nuan :p
ya that's eric style...and her pictures are kindof similar. but eric will look @ diff couple for diff pose, see if they suitable/comfortable or not. He really make the whole session fun, basically he can tok tok tok...u know what i mean ? i think i will meet eric someday to further neg (since he offered us a discount) :P i got photo prove to show him mah

oh so pai sei, me havent visit any bridal shop yet leh. heeeee

I'm reporting in, after a long absence.

Pausini.. it's great that you can get along with your future in laws. My in laws are rather very serious people, and somehow I don't get along with very serious people. Only can make small talk. Really wish I could one day be treating them as my family. Takes time to know how each other 'operates' I guess.

I've just booked my ROM. But I'm still sitting on a back seat until next year.

hi nic,

yup, i have 2 frens who used them,,, 1 of them is my guy's classmate who had her customary in oct... she chose a backless WG w/spaghetti straps &amp; a shiny light blue halterneck EG... quite nice..

for the PS &amp; EG, they tie her hair up into a ponytail &amp; she wore a big tiara,,, looks different lor...

but for both frens, the poses are quite similar,, mostly from the side of the face.. i din choose them as i din really like their photos... anyway, different pple have different taste

but i did pass by their shop yesterday... 2 of the gowns looked rather nice

hi meow...
thanks for yr help... the dim sum is cheap...
will see how.

wat time is yr rom? As for the phototaking before the rom... its a good idea..but i dont think i can make it soo early...

hi akira...
u sure squeese lots of pple in... wow! 50 pple..
amazing..

yah yah yesterday was ghost town until i tot that my pc spoil...

Grace,
jus to share with you what i schedule. My appt is 11:45pm:
9am - go to bridal boutique to make up,(takes 1hr to finish but give 30mins allowance.)
10:30am - meet photographer at ROM centre and proceed to take photos at ROM centre.(about 40mins to 1hr. Service is about 1hr 30mins to 2hrs)
11:30am - ask friends and relatives to reach and meet us at ROM centre.(continue to wait for other late comers)
11:45 to 12pm - ceremony starts and take some phots with friends and relatives.
12:30pm - proceed to eat.

yeah lor. Guess only the two of us chatting only. My coat also faded off a bit liao. Think can only last 2 - 3 more days. Yours should be able to withstand longer since you apply the top coat. Me going to buy strenghtener to help my nials grow better. Not enough calcium intake i guess

Hi ladies, can someone tell me what wld be the rough cost if I want to do curtains for:
living room - day/nite full length
dining room - day/nite half length
master bedroom - nite, full length
2 other bedrooms - either curtains (only nite) or roller blinds, half length. I got budget constraint too. Need to know how much (more) to set aside.

Also doing reno now and it's so dirty! Decided that no energy to clean hse after reno, asking for chemical wash. But doing own painting to save cost. That is already so tiring! And timing also tricky - paint ceiling 1st before chem cleaning and kitchen cabinets/wardrobe is done. Walls do last but b4 furniture come in, and after chem wash (or maybe better b4?). So far, only painted kitchen/toilet ceilings. Sun doing the 3 bedrooms - wah! I'm gonna be so tired!

Yve,
Yeap i'm using his. Like the way he present the photos, very beautiful and sharp. Even when i meet up with him, he brought alot of albums for us to view. He brought his laptop along too to show some wedding montage

Are,
Thanks for the compliment. No choice, time is very tight and precious, so have to plan it early. But jus hope everything will run smoothly.

Meow...

okie
4th at 11? okie? maybe we meet at city hall then take a bus down.....

Akira...
my ex boss is a male
very nice american man

he paid for my first holiday! if it weren't for him
i wouldn't be where i am today
(work wise)his a really great guy!
i'll miss him lots when he return ...

ava,
looks like his very nice to staffs. Sad that he's no longer your superior.
We can also meet at Bugis and walk over too leh. think its nearer? To arab and concourse? Time ok to me.

Hi Wenn,

Would like to check with you have you ever heard of Sophia Wedding Collection?

Any comments?

They are rather pushy. But service, photography still not bad.

meow...

ok if you want to walk from Bugis...

thought we take a bus from Raffles Hotel bus stop down... it's about 3 stops...

meow... same same...
but i think more time is needed for traveling..

i hope the manicure can last till christmas..heehee i know i greedy... =P
mine abit faded but still good..
was told not to buy sally hanson... dont know if u buying the strenghtener from sally hanson..

Hi Alysandra,

Yup, my fren took his package from them, his wedding is this sat &amp; sun... he told me quite ex &amp; recommended me to go down, but i've oreadi signed up w another shop liao
have not seen his photos,, if u can wait, i'll feedback u by monday

his is 4K for OTR package... i can get MTM with my bridal shop liao... he only decide to get married 3 mths ago, so quite rush lor,,, no one can deliver MTM &amp; PS to u in such a short time..

i read the sophia thread,,, basically, i dun like pushy shops,, so i avoid going there lor.. read in the FBO forum that sophia gave one of the bridegroom a white tux w/golden emboidery for banquet...
but that's not my style... i prefer my guy w a simple suit...

Sue: yes, i will be having a can can to hide the tummy. Me not very skinny so cannot do with the tight fitting clothes. I am not too sure how big my can can is. My designer says i can decide on the size after trying the gowns and seeing the diff effect. I tried one of the gowns with the full can can effect and suprisingly it actually look wonderful...i felt like a fairy tale princess...hee...

Vin: Your lobang for painting is cheap. My contractor is quoting me $1.2K for 5-room and i have asked for ICI master palette colors for certain walls.

dont be too stress...i also having nightmare about the house reno..sigh..i have not been sleeping well lately...

Pausini: try the protein diet. I have managed to lose some weight by cutting down on rice intake.

Maya: i plan to do roller binds not curtain. So i cant help.

Sure no problem wenn.Oso another Q?(heheeee a lot of question from me har )....Did u heard anything abt the new otani hotel? Did any of ur frenz held their wedding there?