(2003) Brides of year 2003

Hi Fishball,

yah, when i manage to get the clothes i want, i will be happy. If i dun, i will console myself by saying i save money again. hahaha...

Actually i also find kua pretty traditional. Last time only cantonese wear it rite?? But now seems like other dialect groups brides also wear it.. kekekee...

I had spag straps for my rom dress. Eventually it looks ok on me. So i felt relieved. But i can't hide my flabby arms when i wore spag straps. And i look disappointing in video. hahaha... i still have that chubby look

U know sometimes casual wear also have that kind of halter neck? I had two such dresses before and always find myself look nice in them! So i am wondering whether the gowns will have same effect on me.

How u know my bridal shop has more designs for EG? U went there before??

Christmas very tempting hor? Chocolates is the most tempting of all to me.. kekekee... but i never touch any of them so far... good girl hor? :P

Me also looking forward to feb leh, so that can go try my gowns. But very nervous also. Dunno how it'll turn out.

meow,

better not think of so much..as u said, yr fh is still the best right?
i guess this guy will slowly change when he knows tat u r getting married..jus give him some time n he will forget u..maybe..if not, u always will have a one long-term admirer loh.
is this guy yr colleague?

Hi Flowee-jie,

i think im allowed to have 2 locations for outdoor shoot.

1 for the day and 1 for the nite...

*scratch head* duno where to go.....

twiiti

Hi Shook, that's ok.

Have fun moving in. I moved into my new place a month ago. The cleaning is really tough. After the reno, no matter how many times we mop the floor, it still feels sandy/dusty. Somehow, after we moved in for 2 wks, it became better...maybe we just got used to it. I remembered during the 1st 2 2wks, we visited Ikea almost every other day. Ikea has nice household knick-knacks.

Hi Carol,

Ya lor...alot in common hor, let's see...for me:
- weddin date 11 Jan (1 wk after yours)
- GDL tis Sun (1 day after)
- only EG fr TY, WG fr FL
- banquet at Conrad n same coordinator Catheryn
- same day food tastin
- ILs probs

now got another thg in common...i oso dun like the hairstyles my makeup artiste did for me. i did asked my hairstylist 2 help me on weddin day but he say Jan veri hard 2 take leave n if i were 2 engage him fr the salon (Reds) proper, it's $450 for actual day/nite.

Wat's the price Mahogany quoted u? I oso tot of changin makeup artiste but worried tat the 'new' makeup artiste may not b gd wif hair too...sighhh.

My photographer is Robin n makeup artiste is Amy (Robin's wife).

Wat hairstyle did u hav 4 PS? N wat kind of hairstyle do u wan? For me, i got 3 hair-dos 4 PS:
1) hair all tie low to right, then with the whole low ponytail curled wif crystal accessories comb placed on side - makes me look old
2) half bun, neat twist wif tiara - acceptable
3) comb left to right and right to left and then pinned wif "ends spiky" and the remainin half (bottom) curled - YUCKS

Actually wat i wanted veri simple, fully let down, just loose curls or partially crimped or just straight wif some simple hair accessories pinned on hair.

Hihi all the may brides,

i can only access the posting late nites. was out support my users for the passed 5 days and i have not step into my office yet! :P

I think i need a ladder but havent really searching for one yet. Will go and take a look at Carrefor.

Maya: painting is tough right. To get the wall evenly painted is even tougher. I think a four rooms flats like mine may cost $1k to get all the painting done. Well, that is wat my contractor quote me! But i managed to save this cost as my FIL doesnt trust the contractor will do a good job and have help us to do the painting for the whole house.

Jazz: yah home theatre is really ex. so he promise to get it one by one when we save up. We didnt get those one complete set. He got those lose set but better qty. those funny brand that i never heard of. may be the expert will know.

My house is actually all done up except the furniture. I went up every weekend to do cleaning. Only vacumn and mobing had already made me very tiring. I think the sandy and dusty is very normal especially when there is no one in the house. Once u shifted in, it will be better cos there is pple walking so the dust will no settle down lor.

woodstock: i wanted to get some shelves for my study room from Ikea too. we like the working table, is stronger and longer. I got some stools and a standing lamp from them. cheap and good.

Why yesterday & today so quiet? I've being MIA for some time, but not to worry, I'm still here

<FONT COLOR="red">Flowee</FONT> - How? Shown your ideal gown to your designer already? Must also think of your EG hor...dun leave it out, coz it's also as important as most of your guest will see it more. btw, you finish watching liu xin hua yuan already?

<FONT COLOR="green">Jady</FONT> - How's your eye? You MIA for a veri long time liao...Do you still remember me?

<FONT COLOR="orange">Yi</FONT> - You must be veri kan cheong now...next month is your wedding
How's all your preparations? Started writting your invitation cards already?

Merry Christmas,
Ho! Ho! Ho!

Yve, I think what you feel is probably shared by some of us. Its not necessary that we might want to choose other people but there is a sense of unease (for the want of a better word) I guess when we make the final decision. The nite after I signed to purchase my apartment I cried cos tat decision seem so final and for some unknown reason, there was this deep sense of unease. Dun get me wrong, given a choice again I would still pick my hubby cos he is the best. But at tat point in time, it seems to terrifying to make the decision. after all, in the Asian context, a decision to marry cannot be reversed (at least not lightly) and there are prob few occasions where we would be asked to make this sort of decisions.. after all, watever else you dun like can always change eg jobs etc but not hubby. And tat happened even thou I was certain he was the one and I'm usually v decisive and not the crying type :p

Peabrain: Glad you enjoyed the session. Alicia's very nice ya? Did you take pictures after your make-up? I did, wonder how I look, haven't developed the pics yet.

Sue: My design confirmation is 27 Dec. Also haven't decided on what I want... stress man :P

All: I see that most of you haven engaged your Day photographer already. What are your prices like? Can share?

Have a good day girls!

Hi Yve,
I engraved my chinese name and ROM date on his band and his on mine...If you get your ring from Lee Hwa, they do chinese engraving... small characters in written style... very nice...

Hi all:

Good morning!!

meow: dun worry, just a thought lor.. i also told him jokingly..

akira: yep yep, everything seems so finalised.. in such a short time.. u see, i just met my hubby on 20 Sep only.. Heh..

On engraving: I forgot to asked SooKee if they do chinese characters.. Anyone knows?

Another thing: I am thinking of having the solemnisation at the wedding dinner.. Anyone attended such weddings?? feelings? thoughts? I just thought can kill many birds with one stone.. and not many plpe would have seen a solemnisation..

Hihi Woodstock, Pausini

Yep yep can't agree more. My house is oso sandy n dusty every time we go there. My mum said no point cleaning, waste of water n effort. But juz feel uncomfortable lah.

Bware of the curtain supplier Decor Craft Furnishing The boss cum sales person is a blood sucker, he uses $500-$600 as a gimmick to trick my mum to let him to our house then starts his bull shit. After we chose the fabric he said the price is $900. He said my mum misled him (my mum said we have 3 bed rooms, he insisted dat my mum said ours is a 3 room flat). 2nd time argue wif him, he 4got the initial excuse. He said he can charge us $500-$600 if we choose another type of fabric. The type we chose is expensive one.

I found out fm another bride in the same block as me but different unit were charged $980 4 different kind of track so we requested 4 dat. He said have to add another $40. Fine we agree to dat.

Initially he advised us not to have day curtain 4 living rm. After dat he called my hubby n said many ppl install day curtain 4 living rm in our compound. My hubby said ok. Dat cost another $130. So total is $1,070. I found dat the other unit I mentioned earlier actually have everything we have @ $1,070 for $980. I felt conned n asked him to stick to the original order. He said cannot. I said then I 4go the deposit. He said he c me in court.

Damn if I do, damn if I dun

Can anyone out there advise me? My big day will be on 7 Sept. Now hunting for wedding package but have no idea where to start.

A friend of mine actually recomend me In Wedding Collection. But there were so many negative feedback on them.
I had went down and see for myself. They were ok. As you know they are trying to get me to sign up thats y the treatment still ok. Dunno what happen if I sign up with them. Perhaps, another kinda treatment.

Arrgghh......

Gd morning everone,

naturally:my house not really lah,gtg to colect key n renovate ,maybe around June 03 will be ready,i can't hold my wedding early as no money liao.

Yup,i find DEc 03 brides are all very quiet leh.dun know why,why not anyone start a new n interesting topic?

Wendy

Morning ladies!
Finally have some time to come into this thread.

Amore,
Yah, very low back. I afraid it may not suit me, me quite short. Even my hubby said that also, so angry. Actually, i never came across Silver Lining and have no idea how their gown look like. But when I browns thru her world then have some ideas.

Ava,
Not only you, me also. How I hope every mth they can come out with new one.

Yve,
Oh, that is fast. Did he propose to you or both of you feel it's already the right time. Would you mind me asking how old is your FH? Kpo lor!

Yve, no wonder.. I tot I was fast.. I met my hubby for only about 7 months before deciding to marry him.
but as long as you are sure of what you want, his character and your common values, it should be fine.

Sweetie,
Where you bought your ring? I know one of my ex-colleague engraves Chinese character with free hands. His hand writing very nice.

Okea,
Yes his my colleague. He's right beside me now.

Yve,
Recently, I attended one of my friend wedding and they have their church ceremony in the htl ballroom. Is that call solemnization also but they have their ROM last year. To me, I find it inappropriate lor. They have to march in twice(1 for the church ceremony, 1 for normal march in) , you can see some of the guests give you the blur blur expression. And during the ceremony, most of the guest are having conversation and the ballroom are so noisy. No respect to the couple lah.
For normal solemnization, maybe you can proceed to cake cutting/your table after that so no need 2nd march in. But to have total silent, I think it's difficult.

Meow...

you have mail TOO!

Leo

so u and me and amore
all magazine addicts!

Amore...
I bought the latest Herworld Brides! *sigh* hee eh eh
it's quite gd
the gowns are getting nicer and nicer

Akira &amp; Yves

me too decide to marry less than a yr after getting 2 know him 'cos he proposed and I am so in love with him
but with the 1 yr of engagement
it's been gd
and we've been getting to know more abt each other ;)

I guess you can't equate the length of knowing a person before marrying him...

Attending MCDS marriage preparation course will help.....

But ultimately like wht Akira said, it's your similarites in morales and princples that will set the foundation for the future

Akira...

I sometime cry also... 'cos i think i'll miss my family...

i'm trying to brace myself now 'cos i really don't want to cry at the wedding! I know my mom and most of my best gal pals will cry!

Amore and Ava,
Did you notice one of the Ted Wu gown was very nice. They ask us to guess which lady(I think got 5-6 ladies) wear which gown and the lady that wear that already pregnant.

Leo,

yes Ted wu's gowns are nice but TOO EX!!!

actually if you look at his gowns...most of them look the same... i guess most gals have the same fairy tale princess like gowns

Including me!!! but with the embroidery

Ava,
Cannot cry lah, if not not pretty liao. Look at bright side, you just never sleep at home only mah, you can visit your mum everyday. Now is not like olden day where married off daughter can only go home once a mth or week. Now tpt is so convenient and most of us stay on our own so no need afraid MIL will say something.

leo:

my fh is same age as us.. no formal proposal, just feel comfortable with each other.. and he treats me and my family very well.. my frens also like him.. so i will try to close one eye on his bad habits.. e.g. perpetual late comer..

Leo ;)

tears of happiness hard not to cry...the kind of tugging feeling in your heart ..... you know?

all my gal pals always try to hold back their tears...esp when the bride walks down the isle...

just thinking and writing it now... i'm a little teary!

maybe we are all just sentimental ;)

i thought the more i think about it...come next year i'll be able to hold back better? ;) he ehe ehe

leo...

you can do that... but it'll be hard to copy his embroidery skills...

th's y mine is without the embroidery...i had a typo error in the earlier msg ;) sorry

just crystals no embroidery ;)

sigh... me having the same tots too. tho' i can't wait to move in with my hubby &amp; start our 'er ren shi jie', i sometimes cringe @ the tot tat my parents will be so lonely coz no one come hm for din anymore, &amp; its juz the 2 of them. but wat to do, we all grow up rite? ;P

someone once told me something abt r/s tat i treasure always... 'a couple muz grow in the same direction, towards a common goal. else, the r/s will never work out'. so when i met my hubby, i knew he was the one coz our ideals, dreams, morales &amp; principles are quite similar. but we still hv our fair share of arguements tat hv increased esp since we decided to get married!!! hahahahahahaha... ;P

Can I join in too. Wow, This thread is very lively. There are so many family members in it.

Hi Alysandra,

I don't really advise you on going to In-wedding Collection as it was actually a subsiiary of CC and two of my friends had very bad experiences with them. They were very nice to them before they sign up too but things change right after that. And their mtm gowns couldn't match their standard. So better think twice. But that may be their experience.

Hi all, Have all of you started soucing for your bridal boutique as I realised that a number of you had confirmed on your bridal boutique. Maybe I could get some advices from you all.

I am in the mist of looking for a bridal boutique and so had done my fair bit of homework. So far I had visited Flamingo,Ted Wu, Amanda Lee, Jazreel Low, wedding Present, Tan Yoong, Silhoutte, Kai, Kevin Seah, Bridal Veil, Le Galleria, Jawn Happy ever after and a few others.

So far I had shortlisted(based on liking excluding budget constraint
) to Tan Yoong ,Kevin Seah, Kai and Jawn happy ever after .

Could anybody advise me base on the above.

Tan Yoong gowns are really beautiful and dreamy. A style of his own. A real designer but price is really steep and realise that he repeats his design quite often. Had to pay a hefty price for his evening gowns too if want it to be something.

Kevin Seah laces are to die for but his price is really ex too. Gowns are beatiful.

Kai got very lovely and elegant gowns. I like the evening gowns too. Price is quite ex too but like the team that he lialise with for makeup.

Jawn happy ever after price range is very impressive but offered designer gowns as well and like their concept of designing a gown that each bride is looking for and not repeating any of their previous design. They even design and customised their own accessories .Very friendly too and got very nice team that they work with. However, I realise that I haven't heard much of them although they had been having quite a number of positive reviews.

Any advise from any of you out there.

Sorry for being so naggy.

haven't join in here for a long time liao. how's everyone?

guess many of us are on leave or on holiday, that's why not much discussion here. or izzit because our weddings are still a long way off and we have lost steam already?

hi agirl, wld like to hear ur comments abt the following as i intend to visit them too:

Flamingo
Amanda Lee
Wedding Present
Silhoutte
Bridal Veil

Thanks,

Meow,
I have my wedding bands from Lee Hwa. The Shi Fu is stationed at Bukit Batok most of the time. mine is just a pair of platinum with gold band mixed... simple and suitable for daily wear.

Went for my food tasting last night, both our parents are happy with the food served

i was so worried abt the GDL issues but think they hit off well, and the things needed were settled *phew*

So my GDL will be on 28th Dec.

Now left with giving out remaining invitation cards, and my house!

How abt you gals? Any progress so far?

hello everyone,
sorry ah, me a bit bz recently, so hv no time to log in.

yve,
tried sending u email but got bounced back. dont know wat happen. anyway, it's great to noe tat u hv signed up with suntec, cos that's a great location!

sunnyling,
i'm ok. will follow majority if they still wanna continue with the manicure.

yah, it was fun trying all those gowns n I tot the time I spent (1 hr) is too short! I want to try all the gowns there! kekeke...

Serene,
yalor, juz take the phtgr lor, but brief him properly lor.

kk,
y dun u try n c how u look? I tink halter necks are sexy, n I tink u wun look chubby, more likely voluptuous! hee...

kk, I pass by WA every day wen I go home, so I always turn n look mah... hahaha... it's oso d only bridal shop I pass by in my whole journey... n I c they like to put up diff colour gowns in their window. Some designs I like leh.

Hi 1027,
I dun think my hotel will refund anything as the px r fixed (nett) for both 2002/2003, so I should be happy they dun charge me the extra 1%!

(esp' kk) dun deprive yourself of the festive goodies lah! The more u hold back, the more u'll eat later! Maybe after we stuffed ourselves, we can go exercise together lor!

Hi Shook,

Thanks for sharing and sorry to hear abt your curtains saga.

Don't worry, this type of company will not last long. They will start to suffer once their bad reputation is known through word of mouth etc.

Anyway, have you thought of submitting a small claims order to courts? Maybe can get something out of it?

shook: sorry on mc for the these 2 days. got eye infection. yes, siang yang jie bargain like crazy, do the walk away stint. It really works. u can buy nice cushion covers for your sofa there..very cheap. actually you can bargain every where even Nanjing lu. As long as it is not in a department store. Remember to go to Yuhua Yuan as well. There are lots of nice stuff too. Have fun bargaining. The locals are so good at it.

The curtain guy is horrible. How much deposit u put? I intend to do roller binds for my bedroom and was quoted S$ 480 for three rooms. But my windows are very small. Living room, i think i go ikea and buy the ready made ones...cheaper...

Sue: the gowns u tried are the can can part of the gowns? I remember those that are not part of it are much lighter...so u might want to have your separate. Heavy gowns are terrible. I remembered my first try in Milan was so heavy that i cant walk well...subsequently, the gowns i have tried were lighter and more manageable. It also depends on the fabric.

I have also been sourcing for furniture. Went to Sungei Kadut to take a look. Saw some quite nice furnitures from Ding Brothers...they were selling coffee tables for $290. Got both white and zen style with frosted glass. Quite like it. But have not bought yet.

I have also spent alot buying all these small items...and i have not even finish...it is also burning a big hole in my pocket.

talking abt family, my FH is closer to my family than I am to his family so shd be ok lah..we intend to go back for dinner as often as we could..
when my sis got married, I tried to hold back my tears.. think when I get married, my eyes will be teary also..
ava, guess we cancerians really live up to our name - sensitive and sentimental..

afternoon ladies... wah 1/2 day deen come in soo many posting...

can go manicure... oni flying to KL on sunday evening...so tmrw I still ard...

Cher: my email is [email protected].. Maybe too many things? let me clear...

anyway, din bargain much.. i am lousy at bargaining... and there will be 2 other couples in the other 2 ballrooms.. was telling my frens, i can hijack their angpows.. collect some toll.. hiakz..

Thanks agirl for your piece of advice. I think what really attract me was the price. 2,988 net for the follows:-

WG (mtm)
EG (mtm)
Kua or tea dress (otr)
bouquet
car + deco
23pcs 15R + negative (Album)
8R Album
1pc table top
1pc (dunno what size its known as. Anyway, the big one)
Photo taking 4 outfits (include my mtm WG &amp; EG) &amp;
5 hairdo
Actual day 2 make up and 2 hairdo
1 trial make up

and if I pay 50% as deposit, they will give me a photographer (service only. Films not included)

Am I too cheapo? Haha....

Any good one that you can recomend? Would appreciate if you could.

Alysandra