(2003) Brides of year 2003

Nov,
Don't worry lah! Since you are OK wif them now, things will go on smoothly. Now I recall, my HB ve a frd married early this year sign with Santiago. I can chk with her.
I think Flamingo is OK. Cher visit them recently, I think she quite satisfy. I should said, most of the bridal shop that don't have complain are those that are expensive,not very x but above 4K. Normal bridal shop average is 3K-4K.
My friend also never recommend me any, one of them just told me to visit those shop that ppl recommend. Don't any how visit, sure kana one.
My choices was Bridal zone, Silver Lining and white Link. Starting, I shortlist many but cancel those got bad reputation, so now left with this 3. May also visit Seletar Broadway.

ava:
been to NZ 6 years back after Uni.. very beautiful place.. recommend for honeymoon.. but of course, i backpacked then..

would like to learn how to make wrist corsages too.. to give my jiemeis to wear..

leo:
heard anything bad about Jazreel Low??

leo29, amore and ava

thanks for all your valuable advice. will definitely do more homework and keep my cool...otherwise would be "mei mei" on my big day already...

ava

think NZ is a fav honeymoom destination. been there around oct/nov 2000. which part of south island u want to visit? Christchurch, queenstown, dunedin, mt cook national park milford sound are just a few places which they will usually promote.

Hello gals

Wow you gals already planning for the honeymood liao, me and my hubby will only plan after all our wedding over cos we wun be going honeymood straight after the wedding think after 1 or 2 months later so we dun want to plan to far away.

ava & akira... eh? you gers hv not joined when i 'announced' my two dinners?

i will be havin 2 dinners next year. 2nd din will be @ a beach pub (The Reef @ Fishermen's Village, Elias Park). tis is for all frens & colleagues cos the 1st din is for relatives. got my hubby to agree aft a lot of *begging*! ;P

anyway, i visited the pl last week. its really lovely, provided it doesn't rain! ;P

ava... reason my hubby say i like 'untouched' pls was coz i wanted to go new zealand lor. i wld love to go high up a mountain, with sights so faraway, and juz spaced out! ;P hehehehe... but i think he will be bored to death!

novlkf... i agree with leo29. dun worrie abt your bridal lah. juz be firm if they hard sell, and when you need to demand things lor. i think everyone also need to do tis eventually! ;P

*scratch head*
Not condo, but fully furnished? New house somemore? EC?? Wah, u really make me very curious now...

Am i unromantic or wat? The 1st thot that came to my mind when u gals talked abt hot air balloons: Safe or not??? hahahhahaaaa!!

are... i oso din know abt the pub.. but now i know.
Sounds good, u better make sure the weather is good yah.. cos Nov month, the rain season will start.

are.. u asking abt angsana? or banyan?.. Angsana no villa... all their rooms are sea facing... very nice... they do have jacuzzi suite oso... all the ground floors..

maybe another option is australia's tasmania...good weather... and green green..

hehe another cheaper option... BALI!... beary cheap now...

hiya hiya

ahahahha .. me keep u suspense ..hohohohoho

hey, u know what? next year at this time xmas..so we can consider having a festive theme during the dindin .. hehehehehehe how about that? maybe can play xmas songs,decorate ballroom accordingly ... think i going nutz ah

are, oops, sorry, got the wrong person just now.. speed reading failed. :p anyway, for Banyan, it is a small chalet size place which is meant for couples. v spacious for two persons. there is even a lounge chair type of thingy in the 'sitting room' area where you can lie on, in front of a wall-sized window tat is sea-fronting. imgaine sitting so close by the sea in air- conditioned comfort and yet still be able to feel the warm rays of the sun... the shower also has a big window tat let you enjoy the sea-view while showering + outdoor jaccuzi.

oh yes, and u & your hubby can dress yourself up as santa & santarina, hehe!
Just kidding lah... sure u can adopt a xmas theme!

Hihi May

I got some warm clothing but afraid not enuff. So, will get more when in China. My colleague told me cheaper, nicer n more variety there coz it is winter season now.

So the place which I have 2 bargain 4 60% discount is Siang Yang Rd. Nan Jing Rd can bargain or not?

Managed to send out invites to nearly 80% of my colleagues & 50% of my friends...most of them can only verbally tell me that they should be able to attend, can't really give concrete confirmation...think got to follow up closely on their attendance by end of Dec, else cannot tell my hotel the confirmed no. of tables...something interesting to share...while i approached my colleagues with the stack of cards, some of them had a worried look on the face....as times are bad, they think that i'm issuing them retrenchment letter since i'm in HR...hehe...i jokingly told them that if they don't turn up for my wedding, they'll be sacked...hehe..

got headache over the guest list for my parents & inlaw..they still can't finalise...keep asking them to give us the confirmed list so that we can type it out instead of scribbling here & there...but they seem to take their own sweet time..dunno know if the guests can't rsvp in time..sigh..

Metro having 20% storewide sale now leh..good chance to buy bedlinen & cosmetics...bought a sweet quilt cover (perrin rossini) with embroidered pink roses & i got the fitted sheet free !! quite a good bargain but hubby think ex..cost $139..but no regrets as i've been eyeing it a long time liao..

Yve,
Ummm, I think no. One of my frd did visit them but she never sign with them becos she said they do things very straight. You still haven't confirm your bridal package? Nov told me we have a new comer born in 73. Are you the one?

Amore,
Really! I will visit them soon. Putise_baby already signed with them. She told me she found the shop herself. I never came across this Bridal Shop, is that very new? Just saw their gown from magazine, all low back, look nice. Any compliment or complain on this shop?

My initial plan for honeymoon was also NZ. But my friend ask me to go romantic place like Paris then got mood to make baby mah. Most of the baby make in Singapore but you have a baby make in Paris. Hahaha.... Juz joking! My frd said NZ is more to country side feeling so more suitable for old ppl. This are what she think but all this depend on individual lah. Hawaii was also a nice place. My frd give very good compliment.

hi celwong... welcome!!!

of coz we dun mind you around... the more the merrier, right gers? ;P

have you decided your wedding dates/venue/bridal?

Hi Shook,

Actually I have this light brown winter trenchcoat that I am thinking of selling. I bought it in October 2002-freshly dry cleaned and wore only once and survived about 8 degress in London. I was kiasu la, thought 1 coat not enough so went to buy another one, now it's just hanging in the wardrobe. Bought for $199, sell you about $140? I can send you a picture if you like.

hi everyone!
i'm new here too! And i'm another grace! maybe i should be called Grass then. getting married in Nov next year too.
we thinking of going NZ too for the beautiful scenery. to get away from our concrete jungle of Singapore.
Meow - just got our rings engraved. Mine has "I am my Beloved's" with his name on it, while his has "My Beloved is mine" with my name on it. think of some line from some poem or some nice phrase. my colleague had a Latin word on their rings. that will make it unique.
Grass

hi are. actually got some dates in mind majority in november check with some hotels on their availbility. fav are what i gathered from this website 1) Hyatt 2) M Hotel 3) HIPV 4) AMARA 5)Merchant Court, heard any thing about them. actually really lost now, going to meet all the co-ordinators this week, m hotel tomorrow the rest this sat.

really worried that i nvr request for thing that i shld, cause i am always the bargaining type for all sort of stuff. like parking, trial meal n stuf.

heard that M hotel not flexible but stuff comprehensive, HIPV looks quite old outside but really very good comments from this thread same for MC like big n good. AMARA oso nice, actually personal fav is hyatt but no free flow of beer.

oops, i really ratter on oh oh. gals would really appreciate if you could help. thks a lot.

First of all welcome celwong and grass, would appreciate if you can sent your details to me at [email protected] with the following particulars:
1) Nickname
2) Real Name
3) Birthday (DD/MM/YY)
4) ROM Date
5) Actual Day
6) Venue of Banquet
7) Email address
8) New Home Location (area)
9) Contact Nos
10) Name of bridal

Grass thanks for the ideas, i know i love you in German but he dun understand lor. Me have something in mind but not engrave it in yet. I thought of putting A Vow A Kiss follow by our date of ROM. What do you think?

Celwong,
you mean you haven't decide your date yet? Then won't be hard in finding the place of banquet. My freind ask me to sign up with Merchant Court, no idea why, but in the end we sign with a restaurant. Hubby thinks food is more important as compare to ambience. Oh my, meeting all in a week? Won't be tired? HIPV does looks old. I was havind dinner buffet there with friends two weeks ago. Saw a wedding going on then. Ambience looks not bad, even got ice sculpture. That time singnet got promo on HIPV lor. Amara got a lot of different themes if i'm not wrong nut price not cheap hor?

celwong.. am sure the gers can help u w hotels tmr. sorrie i can't coz mine is restaurant. but hv u asked them on date availability? feedback here is a lot of places are taken, unless u dun mind weekday.

hi grass... welcome!!! wow... ur rings were able to engrave so many words? mine cant so was quite disappointed tat we had to shorten it, & they couldnt do small letters.

both... we actually started a list here, so everyone knows everyone. u can send your details to [email protected]

1) Nickname
2) Real Name
3) Birthday (DD/MM/YY)
4) ROM Date
5) Actual Day
6) Venue of Banquet
7) Email address
8) New Home Location (area)
9) Contact Nos
10) Name of bridal

meow compiles the list and sends it to us whenever there is someone new. and i think the frequency is increasing!!! thanx meow!!

sigh... gers.. i 'm still in office... again...

Haha, its ok are, i should say thanks. Why you always like to work OT and not being paid? Aiyo, poor girl lor. Must ask Ryan to feed you well. Had your dinner yet? Did Ryan buy or cook for you?

Welcome on board Grass and Celwong...

are

u r rt. i shouldn't be too worried. maybe i too "qi ren you tian" already after reading those comments. since everything started smoothly then should be ok lah...

celwong

i booked my banquet with HIPV. think i saw your posting in the HIPV thread. i didn't participate in that discussion, only read the postings. u r aware of the Singnet promotion thingy, rt? some of them didn't get the promotion package despite the fact that they r singnet subscribers so if u want to take up the promotiom package u hv to check with HIPV upfront. btw who will u be meeting this Sat? my co-ordinator is Jasmine, a very nice lady.

hv attended a wedding at MC in 2001. food is quite gd and the ballroom has high ceiling. can't remember whether got pillars or not but don't recall seeing any. i heard they only serve 1 couple per day so that's also a good thing for the couple.

not too sure if this would help. I compared the few packages 1 hv shortlistd in order of preferences and jot down when 1 want to bargain or ask for in the respective package eg free flow of beer, waiver of corkage, parking coupons, wedding theme, pre-wedding snack etc before checking with the hotels. i very blur and forgetful so by doing this i wouldn't miss out the main pts.

Hi kk,

no lah, not for new year, juz that I'm attracted by all those sales...hee...but they got all the wrong sizes, so too bad lor
save money

Think I might not be wearing kua after all. My dad juz said no need to wear until so traditional lor, so it's up to me to decide. I juz try on to c how I look in it.
I've got a cousin who wore it during the cocktail mingling with guests (of course, her kua looked much nicer than the one I tried), but she changed to EG at the end, more sexy lah like dat...keke... Think I'll oso wear EG to send guests off.

I think u r suitable for those styles I mentioned. But can imagine that u'll look great in those spag straps since u hv broad shoulders, some more wun fall off so easily wat..kekeke..

U noe, wen I tried on a halter neck WG, the asst said I look thinner n discouraged me from choosing it, but I was thinking "isn't dat supposed 2 be great?" !!!
...so I think if u 1 2 look slimer, can try halter neck lah!

Ya, my WG n EG both MTM, but all d gowns look d same, got headache thinking abt new designs liao. I think yr bridal got some fabulous EG, the material look diff from other bridals, think I better 'hang arnd' there n c more designs! hee...

Leo:

yah, me the third 73 bride..
yes, JL is very straight, but I feel that they did not try to bluff me and showed their cards on the table.. I dun like to be surprised.. their $3688 (without car) package is very comprehensive.. and quite flexible to let me borrow a dress for my ROM.. the quality of their photos are also okay.. may even engage them for the actual day.. save me some trouble..

welcome onboard celwong and grass...!!

leo.. silver lining is beary new... so i dun think can comment much... heard the designer was previously from Dang... i must say his gown is beary nice... creative... he emphasis more on the back...

celwong... my comments on the hotels

1) Hyatt - if u like victorian style ballroom.. and the price abit steep..esp Saturdays!..went to see their hibisus ballroom... they can have a few weddings a day.. so guest may be confused if there is a no. of weddings on the day

2) M hotel - heard quite inaccessible? made an appt with the mgr but i deen go hehee... think got ballroom and function rm.. ballroom march-in 'L' shape.. function rm ceiling low...dunno is it one wedding a day..

3) Merchant court - attended 3 weddings this yr in MC.. 2 dinner 1 lunch.. food good service good.. abit inaccessible.. er min tables quite high leh... 35 for weekdays and 38 for weekends if u can meet then ok. gd choice... oni one ballroom so oni one wedding @ a time..

4) HIPV - hee cant comment nebber been there.. but alot nov bride here are HIPV brides! can ask them for comments!

ladies... got this from Asiaone mailing list... if u all are interested to go Angsana Bintan...

Book a room or suite at Angsana Resort & Spa Bintan and we will arrange 2 free spa treatments per room every day! Book your daily dose now : one 90-minute session of splendid indulgence plus an additional 60 minutes of decadent pampering. And what's more, on top of this already fantastic offer you can really Treat Yourself Extravagantly with a 20% discount on subsequent spa treatments and a 10% discount on dining.

Deluxe Room - US$98 (twin share) / US$195 (single) per person per night
Two-bedroom Suite - US$73.80 (4 persons sharing) per person per night

How's everyone?

Hi Peabrain, the session was fun right? I enjoyed it but those gowns are so heavy. U can't look un-makeup leh becos u will look very plain in yr wedding photos. I went for those make-over before & complained that the make up was very heavy. I requested to have them 'paint' lighter but the makeup artist refused & said that I will look fine when the pictures are out. True enough, the makeup looked just nice. So, just let Alicia do the job, I trust that she is experience enough. Let us know what design u decided on. I will finalise mine only in Jan (actually not very far away)!

me had the same prob as u...ILs' guestlist. Gav them a template to write names n contacts of guests but instead they scribble on bits n pcs of paper such as ang pows, envelopes, tear out fr paper, back of name cards, receipts etc etc. N they take forever 2 finalise. Luckily hubby pressurised them everyday last wk n finally they got it done. Now got 2 press them 2 send out invites...haha

weclome grass & celwong

celwong, just to add on.. merchant court, food and ambience good; no pillars if I didn't remember wrongly. new MRT line should be running by Apr 03 so accessibility should not be too much of a problem then.

M-hotel, ballrooms are re-furbished, so look new. food ok, service decent and table settings look expensive ie plates used and set in fusion type of style. but the banquet room on the 10th storey has pillars and is rather cramped.

Hyatt, several rooms without pillars. food so-so. service depending on your luck could be uneven. like amore said, a lot of weddings on a given day so guests could be confused.

Hihi Woodstock

I dun intend to bring 2 much warm clothing there. Agree wif my colleague, buy fm there cheaper n nicer. Bsides can go wif lighter bag.
Thx 4 ur offer.

I'm back...
Trying to clean up the house for the "official" move-in was very tedious. We spent all the days cleaning up the house till almost midnight everyday, and then to realize that we need lots of home improvements...
We've been busy buying all the small little integrity stuff eg, quilt, bed sheet, culteries, cooking stuff, food etc, and wow, they dun cost cheap. Now pocket got a big hole again, and still got Christmas presents to buy...

How's everybody doing?

Shook, yah, my hubby and I wanted to get home theater system, but no money so we discard the idea too.

Pausini, how abt trying Tefal for oven? I bought one portable one for I think $399 (last year). I think it's pretty good.

Mao, I've gone for my first fitting, my second one will be coming up next week. How about you? Have you settled your designs?

Meow

I receive your email but you forgot to attach the photographer attachment for me leh so you must sent to me again.

Welcome Grass and Celwong to Nov 03 thread

Hi flowee

Din sign up with Utopia in Sep as we weren't sure yet, so we missed out on the additional items. Yes, we'll be taking the full package thru Divine. Going down to confirm this weekend.

Hi Sep03

Yes, we did book way in advance. We wanted a hotel with a single ballroom so the choice was small. You made enquiries with Conrad too ? When was that ? FYI, we booked in April.

Smartie

morn gals...

hello celwong n grass...welcome =)
I am sorry i oso cannot comment on the hotels as mine is oso a restaurant..
Btw, i very blur.. may i know the full name of HIPV?