(2003) Brides of year 2003

Hi Fluffy,

Great! I'm using him as well!

btw, can you send your details to my email address?? Just scroll up and you'll know what to send. I'd compiled a list for Jan brides here.

can't help with the florist thing, pai seh.

i worried abt the weather also, that's y decided to buy one tea dress.....

hi gals, will ur dinner b hosted in english only or both chinese n english?

fluffy - u can try June Florist. My fren used June florist for her ROM lunch receptn @ Ritz. She used 2 tall n 2 short big columbia roses floral arrangemt on pillars (organza wrapped ard pillars)..veri nice.

Hi Vodka,

Mine will be in English only...
Thanks. Will give June florist a call... I went down to woodsville 2 weeks ago but till now got no quotation from them. So I went to another florist at China Sq Central. She's very nice...willing to work with my budget. Hope to hear from her soon...
Are you all almost done with ur preparations? Me v stressed...will be leaving for Sydney on Dec 16 and only coming back after Christmas so trying to tie up all my loose ends b4 I leave...
Dun know if I hv left out anything leh...

cherry - so will daniel b emceein in both english n chinese or u gettin another person?

fluffy - where got so fast done wif the preps. still got alot of thgs not settle yet. hav fun in SYD

Wenn, thanks for compiling the list.
For me,
FH: 26
ROM: 9 Jan 03
Customary: 13 Sept 03
Banquet: Mandarin
Bridal: Bridal Zone
Lovenest: Bt Panjang

BTW, anyone have any experience with Liano furniture? I saw a dining set that looks really good and very affordable.

hi hi hi!!!!

bobomagic: i think if u wan a good make up artiste to do ur actual day make-up, it's better to book earlier lor. of course u can wait till 2003 .. but dunno when the next round of wedding shows going to be? go with ur gut feeling lar. actual day photographer also v impt, so better leave some budget for that too!!! i tot emmanuel and le galleria is not bad lor. din have time to check out allure though! yes yes, do let me know if u have any unique ideas for ROM!

hmm .. how come thread so quiet these days huh??

Hi Pausini: I'm a S'porean but my FH is from Segamat. So, we'll be having our wedding dinner there first. U r one day after me for your Perak wedding. My FH is a PR here & he is also not going to give up his M'sian citizenship. He said that he might go back one day.

Hi Shook: Have a safe & fruitful business trip! Enjoy yrself too!

I was preparin the ang pow lists but stuck halfway cos dunno how much 2 give for open car door, driver, emcee n videographer. Open car door will b my bro, n got 3 frens for driver, emcee n videographer. Anyone noes wat's the norm?

good morn everyone!!

a bit quiet huh....how's the preparation going on for most of u?

for those who r going to ROM soon, congrats!! mine over already...so now just have be vexed over the actual day photographer...still undecided.

hope u all and help to shortlist some and post some feedback here.

hi flowee,

hubby just got a laptop so next time can serve net while at love nest liao. hehe

i will arrange the shopping trip and let u and kk mei know.

o, u already have plans for x'mas ah?

my birthday still dun koe how to celebrate.

hi kk mei,

congrats, today free liao hor!

i oso got fats lah.

btw, my bridal photos no touch-up at all leh!

hi elaine,

dun worry so much, ur photos would turn out well.

stay happy!

hi ling,

maybe the fotos dun show my fats lah, but i oso got fats that must be shed and tone up leh!

btw, me started go gym liao.

Have a nice weekend!

wow, u gals are so active nowadays!
me lost track liao leh!

hi cherry,

receive your list liao!
thank u so much!

hi vodka,

I think the following is quite okay:-

Driver - S$68
Bro and Ah Yi - S$38 - S$48

the rest i check with my colleagues who have just got married and let u know.

Hi Naturally, how come u start the design session and photography so early? I was even thinking of only starting the design session after CNY....
yeap....n we can meet up & share share ideas..... ;)

Hi Bobomagic, to answer your earlier questions, Le Gallegia includes quite a number of photographers, including Image Garden, Andrew Choi, O Studio, Photospace and others....

Hi Piper, me oso starting to loose steam liao....been very vexed over the photography & videography too....It's like if we want everything perfect and beautiful, going for those well-known ones cost a bomb.....It's like have to decide between capturing those beautiful moments & budget...

Gals, care to share how much you all have budgeted for the wedding stuff?...

Dun mentioned it

JL: Sian man, in office 2day. Got implementation after 1pm. Hope everything goes fine then can go jalan-jalan 2nite. I dun work late every nite but oso on 24*7 stand-by. U know where can get simple ROM dress?

Freesia,
Typically most couples go for photoshoot only 3/4 mths before wedding, but my FH got heavier work schedules in jul/aug, and we guessed the photographer may be too busy in sept (hot mth for weddings and photoshoots, cos 7th mth just ended!) so we decided to take the photos earlier in jun lor!
Of cos another reason is that me can't wait to get a taste of being a pretty bride! heh heh!

Budget-wise... my FH is hoping all in all, we can stay within $5K, i think it's quite a safe amt.
*Whispering* but hor, i plan to secretly save abt $1-2K more, in case i shd decide to have more details on my gowns, or if i want to buy more photos... he can't say no if it's from my own pocket! *wink*

Bobomagic,
u're lucky today, i happen to have LG's pamphlet with me...
Still trying to decide which photographer, although i have already signed up the package. LG works with photospace by barnabas (currently my 1st choice), O studio, Monica of vividshots, Linn Creative, and Florence Lee. Also montage studios require a top-up of $600, while Andrew Choi and Imagegarden require $800 top-up. I've mentioned before, there's a $200 discount if u apply for the SB membership card, i can use this savings to buy a couple more photos!
Shan't say more lest i sound like i'm advertising, ha! Have fun bridal-hunting!

Enya,
When's your ROM?? Can't help much with ideas for ROM venue, cos we simply went to the fort canning ROM! Last time whenever i passed by there, i'd always look on wistfully and dream abt my turn to get married, hehehee, so for me, it had to be at fort canning!

Have a great weekend, gals!

Hi Shook and May,

I got my L-Shape sofa during their promation. The name of the shop is Modern Impression Design.

I called the sales guy just now. He claim that he can hold for you the price same as mine which is S$1500/- L-shape sofa with extra small cushion plus a coffee table. The price right now is S$1699/- w/o coffee table and cushion.

Can you let me know when you would like to go down and take a look so that I can inform them and he will gv you the same price as mine.

interesting point about ang pow, almost forgot.

driver- my driver is arranged by the bridal shop, so need to give ang pow also?

ah yee- is the "open door" angpow shared by the ah yees?

Hi Yi Jie,

If really have fats and photo dun show, then u no need to slim down liao lah.. hahaa.. since nobody will see mah :P

Wah u see.. photos no need touch up wan. Natural beauty!

Yes! Exams over!! Today paper is another success

Oops, going to ntuc to do some marketing for tonite dinner liao

gd sat evenin gers

yi

mike bought a laptop ah...
u gettin broadband connection???
as 4 ur bdaz, its in 1wks time hor...
no matter wat program u guys r up 2, i m sure u will hv a pleasant daz...

yah oredi hvin xmas plans...

kk mei

glad tat ur papers r over oredi...
i stayed over @ my love nest last nite...
1st time spendin my nite there pretti ok...
surprised i can fall asleep tat easili perhaps coz tired after a long daz @ work...

this mornin the tiler n the carpenter dropped by 2 do some retification works...
but tat solid surface felow who we waited 4 since last wk still mia till 2daz...
oredi shown our unhappiness coz we waited 4 him 4 2hrs last wk n no show up 2daz again...
sigh!!!
juz left from my love nest mins back 4 home...

btw u koe in the oct bride whose nick is poki...
she is my tong xiang ( same surname )...
reali coindence tat u gers r hvin the same weddin daz...

sept bride 2 b

my infor r as follows:

Coolcitrusbasil, 4/9
Faye, 4/9
Neko, 4/9
Wei, 4/9
JL, 6/9
Sep03, 6/9
SJ, 6/9
Peachcooler, 6/9
Smartie, 6/9
Sweetsuz, 6/9
Mspiggy, 8/9
Flowee, 10/9 , Noble House, Amanda Lee n Utopia, Sengkang
AA, 13/9
Babylove, 13/9
Pacific, 13/9
Lilac, 14/9
Blurydoey, 17/9
Bless, 17/9
Ling, 20/9
Juju, 20/9
Hazel, 20/9
OscarJSCS, 20/9
Maro, 20/9
Angel, 20/9
Bijou, 20&21/9
Aigee, 25/9
Wenn, 26/9, Noble House, J&C Bridal, Jurong West
Jojok, 27/9
Leaf, 27/9

hi hi hi!!!

naturally: like u, i also lose steam choosing the actual day photographer and videographer...going round and round checking out the various packages .. but finally decided
happy happy, within my budget liaoz!!
we budgeted around 1-2K extra for studio photos....actual day photography / videography around 1.5K ... feel that actual day photographer bery the important!! cos they must be able to capture the moment!!!!

ROM ... maybe we just go back to fort canning lor ... but tot of doing somewhere special!!

well well ... me start visiting websites to see got any nice designs for wedding gowns! go visit www.theknot.com!!!

Thks Yi.

dew - besides open door ang pows, ah yees may help in other areas of weddin so nn 2 giv another helpers' ang pow.

Wow, so many messages to catch up that I've not logged in for two days! Ok, I'll go compile the lists and send them to you gals, give me a couple of days...

Btw, my cupboard from Lami International came today. Very impressed with the service from the delivery men. They're very nice and serious in their work, helped setup the cupboard and shift it into the position I want, even helping to wipe off the dust and finger-stains on the cupboard. Thumbs up for Lami's service!

I'm still having problems with Barang Barang. My stool is supposedly to come today, but yest, the guy called my hubby up and told him all the stools that they have had, had defects in them, but there'll be a new shipment coming in, thus ask us to wait for it to come. We're very tired of waiting for them to deliver, goodness know whether this new shipment got problems or not. Anyway, we told him we want a refund., he said he'll talk to his boss and get back to us. Till today, no news... *sigh*

Pausini, your house looks very nice! I think the price of your house is quite worth it. Though my Sengkang house is 5-room, it's only 110sqm. Having about the same price as your house. So I think your house is really worth the price esp the location. Moever, easier for you to travel to work.

Vin, thanks for sharing in your romantic story! Wow, I'll be really really touched if my hubby did all those stuff to me!!! Mine's not too bad, had an unusual one, very memorable for me.
I think your FH is very romantic leh. Wishing you and your FH forever as romantic and loving!

Hi Flowee jie,

Why didn't u stay longer? For us, we always feel one nite is not enough.. hahaa.. can't wait to stay here everyday :P

I also have no problem sleeping over here, but tends to wake up pretty early coz the sun shines in early. At 6.30 am, the sky already shows signs of daylight.

Then did u contact the solid surface fellow? Perhaps too busy liao, run here and there so forget the appointment with u?

Oh, poki..kind of remember her.. she just joined the oct 03 thread not long ago. Oh, u "chatted" with her before? A lot of gers wed on my wedding day leh. So very happy lor coz so many coincidences
Imagine all getting excited on the same day.. kekeke... i am not alone

Wow, u monitor other threads too? kekekee...

Hi 1027: Heee...MILLIONS BAGS and SHOES, that the complaint I always heard from my husband..hehehe..I simply love to shop for all these cos no need to worry whether can fit in (not like buying clothes)kekeke

kk & Lorraine: Seemed like all MILs are more fashionable than our mums...hehee..maybe when my mum becomes MIL that time ..then she will be more fashionable..kekekeke

Lorraine: You staying in the same place as my fren..she also bgt Lilydale last yr

Latest Updates:

1. 1027, 04 Oct, Swissotel, Xristos, Actual day: Choon Huat (Fast Soup Photography), Jurong West

2. HF, 26 Oct, Oriental, not settled yet

3. kk, 26 Oct, Qianxi (Farrer Park), Wedding Affairs (Previous Fame Bridal), Rivervale @ Sengkang

4. Serene, 24 Oct, Holiday Inn Parkview, Paris (at Tanjong Pagar), Compassvale Crescent at SengKang

5. fishball, 17 Oct, Concorde, In Wedding

6. lorraine,26 Oct, Le Meridien, Jawn Happy-ever- after & City bridal ( photography)

7. Jady, 4th Oct Customary & 5th Oct banquet & solemnization. Hilton, Jazreel Low Bridal, Sembawang

8. blissz, 30 Oct, The Fullerton, Ted Wu n Montage Studios

9. poki, 26 Oct, venue not settled, Amanda Lee Weddings n Utopia

hi kk mei,

u know lah girls very vain wan, they want to look pretty pretty mah! :p
but really have some fats to shed and tone up so that i'll be in my best shape for my wedding in 2 months' time.

wow, happy liao hor, exam over, can relax shake legs liao. hehehe
glad that itz another easy paper for you.

as for my fotos, my fotographer did not mention having to touch up anything except some artwork only. anyway, i prefer natural fotos coz i got 1 friend, the fotos touch up liao become not nice coz not natural anymore. ;p

hi flowee,

yap, mike bought a 2nd hand laptop from his colleague at just S$450. cheap hor?
at the moment using singtel dialler. :p
ya lor, birthday coming so dun koe whether he is making plans or not.

btw, i was at rivervale mall yesterday for dinner after mike send my colleague home.
today, painting till 4pm and then had dinner with my family. ;p
just finish some housework, real tired. :p

stayed over at love nest liao?
feel great rite? hehehe
remember to keep haunting the contractor if not they wun move. ;p
hope everything will goes well for u!

as for x'mas, so far no plans but guess by then sure busy with wedding preparations.
yesterday, mike and i do the invitation list till 4am, so tired and so tedious!

Coolcitrusbasil, 4/9
Faye, 4/9
Neko, 4/9
Wei, 4/9
JL, 6/9
Sep03, 6/9
SJ, 6/9
Peachcooler, 6/9
Smartie, 6/9
Sweetsuz, 6/9
Mspiggy, 8/9
AA, 13/9, Grand Copthorne Waterfront, Still Shopping, Town area resale
Babylove, 13/9
Pacific, 13/9
Lilac, 14/9
Blurydoey, 17/9
Bless, 17/9
Ling, 20/9
Juju, 20/9
Hazel, 20/9
OscarJSCS, 20/9
Maro, 20/9
Angel, 20/9
Bijou, 20&21/9
Aigee, 25/9
Jojok, 27/9
Leaf, 27/9

hi dew,

vodka is rite. the couple needs to give ah yi and the brothers an angbao besides the "open door" angbao for the ah yi to share. ;p

hi vodka,

no prob, check with my colleague on monday and get back to u. ;p

just got a sample invitation card from MC today. think got to start printing my cards next week liao.

yesterday do guest list with hubby until 4am, tired and tedious man!

my sis was telling me when preparing the seating arrangement worse, sure very frustrated.

Hi Yi,

Your hubby so nice ah... i was updatin my "Weddin Workbook" until 3am last nite all by myself. Tis workbook contains my weddin budget/expense worksheet, helpers' duties n roles, ang pow list, bros n sis programme sheets, contacts list n to do list....veri siong n hubby can still lie on bed n just watch TV.

ur sis is veri rite, in fact, i've beenin dreadin tis seatin arrgmt thgy. Told hubby no matter wat, must 2 tat tog.

Hihi Vin
Where is Mordern Impression Design? Thx 4 the help to call the sales guy. I gotta take the measurement n c the sofa if it fits my living rm. Is it fine if u let me know the name of the sales guy n I quote ur name to ask 4 the promotion px if the sofa fits my living rm?

Hi Yi Jie,

yah i agree. Some photos after touch up become very unnatural

This morning help hubby to do cleaning up. Mopping floor, etc. And i do bit of "spring cleaning". The whole place so dirty, i can't tahan.

U do painting???

gd mornin ladies

kk mei

i dun find my place veri clean so dun wish 2 stay 4 2 many dazs...
hvnt reali done a ful clean up coz ppl r still comin in 2 work on the retification...
hopefulli this comin sat will b the last case...

u din lower ur curtain when u sleep ah???
as 4 mi, i lower my blinds so din feel the sunlight comin in2 my room...

my id she is the one arrangin the appt...
i called her till she veri pai seh oredi...
n my epoxy paint on my store rm seems 2 hv reaction with plastic stuff...
the epoxy paint stain on2 my plastic bags placed on it but the carton seems fine...
tryin 2 find out the characteristic of the epoxy soon...

yah i koe her b4 she started chattin in the oct brides...
she is definateli veri excited over gettin her weddin date after a long long wait...

hope u gers can become gd frenz 2...

yi

2nd hand from frenz...
its reali a cheap deal...
wat is the speed of the laptop???
u can check out singnet broadband promotions...
might b pretti worth it 2 sign up nw...

how come go all the way 2 rivervale mall 2 hv dinner???
u shd hv contact kk n mi mah...
our place is juz opp rivervale mall n i was @ my place until 6+ yesterdaz...

nt reali tat excited stayin over my place lor...
coz the sofa lady dropped by on fri nite 8+ 2 check the defects we reported...
felt nt pt headin hm coz the next morin the tiler n the carpenter will b comin...

had oredi shown my 'face' 2 my id...
she is veri pai seh over the no show 2x...

u gonna send out ur invitations in dec oredi hor...
when is ur guo da li???
still gettin a new matt???

hv fun paintin ur walls...

Sue: thanks for the sms last night. so touched... thanks for your concern. flowee has been constantly messaging me too, so glad to have friends like you gals

all: how's the preparations going? must be starting to get busy already ya? sorry i've been missing for quite some time... thanks for all your concern again

Hi SLK: Dun mention!
We all miss having u here and u've been MIA for so long. Therefore, just to c how u r doing. I'll be going to BV this Thur (21 Nov) for 1st appt, will update you after that. Meanwhile, be strong & take care!!

Coolcitrusbasil, 4/9
Faye, 4/9
Neko, 4/9
Wei, 4/9
JL, 6/9
Sep03, 6/9
SJ, 6/9
Peachcooler, 6/9
Smartie, 6/9
Sweetsuz, 6/9
Mspiggy, 8/9
Babylove, 13/9 Mandain Orchard, Bridal Zone, Bukit Panjang
Pacific, 13/9
Lilac, 14/9
Blurydoey, 17/9
Bless, 17/9
Ling, 20/9
Juju, 20/9
Hazel, 20/9
OscarJSCS, 20/9
Maro, 20/9
Angel, 20/9
Bijou, 20&21/9
Aigee, 25/9
Jojok, 27/9
Leaf, 27/9

Lorraine: Not too sure which block my friend is staying in. Only know her unit is facing the swimming pool, at 5th floor.

kk: I am not staying in my new flat yet. It is under renovation now. Just finish buying lightings and bed today at Jalan besar. Will be staying in my new flat after customary. Come to think of it, still have a lot of things to buy..the list is quite long heheee

Hi Flowee Jie,

Now our estate there very dusty. Every week i do "spring cleaning" sure need pails and pails of water, but i too lazy, just go over once that's it.. kekeek...

I dun like the curtains coz i dun like the place to be too dark too.. kekee.. me very funny wan, Dun know put curtains for wat, always tie them up :P My hubby also wake up very early when he is there on weekends.. so that he can wash the clothes and hang them out before the sun disappears by noon.

Hi Yi Jie,

Yah lor, u never contact us when u are at the mall.. kekekee..

Yi/Flowee Jie,

I am so happy today. Just received MOE's letter approving my deferment of start date to July 03. Remember they want me to go NIE in Jan? But in this case, i am made to stop my masters course which i can't give up coz i am in final semester. A pity if i give up now. So i defer to July but they only approve my deferment to March only. 2 days later which is today, i receive their letter to approve my deferment to July! I am so happy. I can concentrate on my studies for another half a year and better still, have time to prepare myself for gown fitting and photoshoot in June.. kekekee... Yippie!

Me also lots of things haven't buy yet. Still got the altar, the bed, the washing machine, etc etc.. all big items and expensive! Headache! Must think of how to strike toto! kekeke...

Me also officially move to new house after customary. Now stay over weekends only. Every friday go over and sun evening back home. So how's reno so far? smooth?

Coolcitrusbasil, 4/9
Faye, 4/9
Neko, 4/9
Wei, 4/9
JL, 6/9
Sep03, 6/9, Four Seasons Hotel, Ted Wu, Chris Ling, Tampines
SJ, 6/9
Peachcooler, 6/9
Smartie, 6/9
Sweetsuz, 6/9
Mspiggy, 8/9
Pacific, 13/9
Lilac, 14/9
Blurydoey, 17/9
Bless, 17/9
Ling, 20/9
Juju, 20/9
Hazel, 20/9
OscarJSCS, 20/9
Maro, 20/9
Angel, 20/9
Bijou, 20&21/9
Aigee, 25/9
Jojok, 27/9
Leaf, 27/9

Coolcitrusbasil, 4/9
Faye, 4/9
Wei, 4/9
JL, 6/9
Sep03, 6/9, Four Seasons Hotel, Ted Wu, Chris Ling, Tampines
SJ, 6/9
Peachcooler, 6/9
Smartie, 6/9
Sweetsuz, 6/9
Mspiggy, 8/9
Neko, 8/9 , Grand Hyatt, White Link, Yishun
Pacific, 13/9
Lilac, 14/9
Blurydoey, 17/9
Bless, 17/9
Ling, 20/9
Juju, 20/9
Hazel, 20/9
OscarJSCS, 20/9
Maro, 20/9
Angel, 20/9
Bijou, 20&21/9
Aigee, 25/9
Jojok, 27/9
Leaf, 27/9

I have just changed the date from 4/9 to 8/9

Hi all, I'm planning my wedding in December 2003. Just started searching for a venue? Am I too late?
A bit worried as I read thru the thread of conversation abt the prepartion you have done. Piggy-backing on your experiences - is there anything that i need to take note at this point.

I've quite a lot of tables 80-100. So not much choice in venue. started looking at shang - but don't really feel comforable with the sales person. any recommendations here.

april: for 80-100 tables, did u check out ritz carlton? i think they have a rather huge ballroom, which might fit ur guests list!

kk mei

yah lor i agree our place reali dusty...
when step in2 the hse cant tahan the stickness oredi...

mop the laminated flrin in my bedrms...
after moppin it when i go over with a piece of tissue paper, there's still dust...
so sickenin...

installed whole hse with roller blinds...
used 2 hvin the curtains dn when i sleep...
so my guy had no choice but 2 let mi hv my way...

glad 2 koe ur moe matter is finali resolved...
can b a happi bride 2 b preparin 4 ur weddin n takin ur final subjects n papers...

So many entires. Haven't been logging on for the past few days. been very busy, had to work full day on sat and sun so today super tired. plus have been trying to look for air ticket. i thot the recession is on, how come so many people still go for holiday??? had to call so many agencies before I finally got my ticket, everyone keep telling me on waitlist. so frustrating. me flying to tokyo to meet my fiance. he will be there for a week plus so i will fly there to meet him. looking forward to seeing him. sigh.

SLK: hope things are fine on your end. just hang in there. take care too.

Vin: wah, your story very romantic. thanks for sharing with us. i like romantic stories, they make us feel that life is so wonderful and full of hope!

Jazz: where's lami? do they sell beds? price range for their furniture? expensive or not? after your praise, really thot of going down to see. barang barang is terrible. if still cannot get your stool or refund, call their manager, if still cannot call even higher level. i thot i just saw in papers they open new store because making money??? how can make money on such bad service. terrible, you and hubby must perservere!

Shook: you still in town? sorry, forgot when you leaving. can update? shanghai must be cold now, do remember to bring warm clothes.

May: can email me the contacts for photographers? my MIL insist we use that my future BIL used but to-date have not given me the number to call.

Hi Serene & kk

Me also got to buy furniture and electrical appliances....any lobangs??

Here's my update:

1. 1027, 04 Oct, Swissotel, Xristos, Actual day: Choon Huat (Fast Soup Photography), Jurong West

2. HF, 26 Oct, Oriental, not settled yet

3. kk, 26 Oct, Qianxi (Farrer Park), Wedding Affairs (Previous Fame Bridal), Rivervale @ Sengkang

4. Serene, 24 Oct, Holiday Inn Parkview, Paris (at Tanjong Pagar), Compassvale Crescent at SengKang

5. fishball, 17 Oct, Concorde, In Wedding

6. lorraine,26 Oct, Le Meridien, Jawn Happy-ever- after & City bridal ( photography)

7. Jady, 4th Oct Customary & 5th Oct banquet & solemnization. Hilton, Jazreel Low Bridal, Sembawang

8. blissz, 30 Oct, The Fullerton, Ted Wu n Montage Studios, Rivervale Crest @ Sengkang

9. poki, 26 Oct, venue not settled, Amanda Lee Weddings n Utopia