(2003) Brides of year 2003

hi wenn, flowee,

I guess i would hv to try differen kinds of gowns to see which kind of detailin suits me..

I didn't really check out on photographer but read fm the forum tat Robin photographer is quite a gd choice,hey girls... i'm open to suggestion!

Hi 1027 & kk
Thanks for the recommendations!! Will check out these shops for the electrical stuffs

Btw, have you bought funiture and mattress yet?? Any good recommendations??

Hi serene
Where's Home & Decor?? Does your bed comes with the mattress as well??

Quite hard to compare how much we spent on reno & furnishing lah. What may be nice to me may not be nice to another ... know what i mean?

I only spent $4k on reno (i bought an EC and it comes with the cupboards etc). Furnishing wise, so far $10k (not complete yet). Lightings & fans $1.5k, and electronics $4k for fridge, microwave, TV & washing machines only.

hi kk mei,

tatz why i was so happy when hubby suggest gog to compass point for dinner coz i never been there and thought can shop abit at metro and john little. too bad, hubby can't seem to find the place.

yap, most places dun print the cards for the wedding couple and only provide the cards.

hi flowee,

o, u at rivervale mall too?
I reach there abt 7pm and left at abt 8 to 9pm.

we also makan at the foodcourt and shop ard at the ntuc.
bought 2 tops from sense too. hehehe

i have found something that mike and i like at lee hwa but my mil has not seen it yet and we are also not sure abt her budget so what i like might be way above her budget so now keeping my fingers crossed lor!

but i was so happy that mike says the 0.4 solitarie is nicer than the 0.3 ones. hehehe
but c how lor, scully no $ to buy!

yap, invitation cards to friends must be out in late dec lor.
gog to print this week.

o, my an chuang is on 19 January and guo da li is on 12 January 2003.

so far, we haven't even settle our guest list.

but i bought the materials for the wrist corsage last friday liao but haven't start making it! ;p

as for bedroom slippers, mike got his at the pasar malam at orchard point for S$5/pair, very comfy so i make him wear mine while i wear his. hahaha

Pausini: I tot you want the traditional rice cooker..hee...sorry...cant help. I have not buy yet...

Shook: no lah..i not travel expert. It just so happened that i went to Japan and Shanghai this year. Me job requires me to travel quite abit. And most of the time alone..so boring.

Duck feathers winter coat...hmmm....how much?

First, what kind of coat are you looking for? I assume for business right? It will be an overcoat, u are not going to wear those that people wear for skiing and then it is padded, right?

I feel that you shld check out Zara or Mango, they have the best fashionable overcoat which u can wear with your business suit. When i was in Tokyo this Jan, which was freezing. i wore thermal wear under my business suit and boots.

OG's winter wear not bad, try the one at Rocher Road. Try to choose wool to keep you warm. Polyester is useless. By the way, what will be the temperature in Shanghai?

Thermal very expensive - but it is very useful. u might want to invest in 2 sets for your trip. Or u can buy one set and get another one over at Xiangyang Jie.

Agree with Pausini that one coat is enuf, get sweaters, turtle neck and long sleeves from U2 or G2000 to wear in addition to your thermal, with wool scarf and gloves...u should be fine.
Also get heat packs. They are quite useful, u can get it in OG. What i do is, i buy a few, and i will put in my coat's pocket to keep my hands warm.

Everything in Shanghai or Xiangyang jie is cheaper - as long as it is made in China and not imported branded stuff. Forget about shopping in shopping centres. Do shop at the market or the street. U need to get the basic winter stuff in Singapore, the rest if you want, u can buy there.

DVDs or VCDs also very cheap in Shanghai.
Change more RMB ok, all these markets accept cash only, no credit cards. I spent alot of money.

Hope this is useful.

peach

i felt tat robin package is pretti value 4 money...
so far if i aint wrong, he is the onli photographer who will return all ur neg n prints without any extra cost incur...

i had checked out robin n utopia...
but had chosen utopia over robin...
prefer travis pixs...

juz sign up by end this yr 4 ur bridal n studio...

hi ram,

Yeah, end of the year is a good time to take night shots coz the christmas lights will be lovely! =>

hi shir,

Hee, if you really like night shots but afraid that you'll be too tired, can start the photoshoot later. Then extend to the night. =>

Hi Yi Jie,

hahaha...obviously ur hubby lost his way in sengkang :P
Never mind, i also always lost my way. That time i take cab back from lesson. Forgot where to turn, so never tell the cab driver. He also dun know. End up we went into TPE and down to jalan kayu then drive back to love nest.. kekekee... went home my hubby laughed at me
Anyway he know i very blur sotong wan :P

yah, sense sells nice clothes rite? Last few months they always have sales for certain tops, very very nice leh. But i want to save money so never buy.. kekekee.... so now i restrain myself from looking into the shop, "can see but cannot buy" really hurts

Hi Flowee Jie,

cannot be leh. We got our slippers from OG Bugis. Opposite, i find the slippers too long for me.. kekekeke.. my hubby's one perfect for him
Where to get smaller slippers for myself ah? kekeke...

U also selected dates for an chuang and guo da li already? i have mine but forgot :P Moreover, chinese dates so i forgot and couldn't convert them to english dates even with calendar with me :P

Hi Blissz,

I have gotten the furniture. Left the appliances like hi fi set, tv, washing machine. The bed getting next year before "an chuang". I find robinsons (orchard) sales pretty attractive. So might be getting the mattress from them during next year Great Singapore Sales. I should be getting Simmons or Sealy.

hullo gals,

Wow hmm ehh..today the posting not tat active hor? <FONT COLOR="0000ff">monday blues??</FONT>

Happy working &amp; tahan for few more hours, &amp; we'll be freed!!!
11801.gif

twink|ets ~

not sure u gals stil rem me?...me Piggy...MIA for a while liao...paiseh...me same customary date as 1027...04 Oct 03....hosting my dinner at Noble House...My new flat at CCKC lor...havent decide on my bridal yet...

Been goin ard, doin my shopping for my reno...finally, all done!..my designer oso back in office this week from her honeymoon....FINALLY!!!!...can start my reno next week liao!!...YEAH!!

i juz placed orders for my electrical goods at MAXIMUM CREDIT CO(sister's co: Hong Liang, next blk...at queenstown neighbourhood, the neighbourhood beside Ikea building...along the same blk, there's a few, can ask all the quotes from diff shops at one go....hv to give them the model no. lor...they dun display all out..

these are my quotes from:
Toshiba 43" 100hz, $2970 (w free DVD)
Sharp Fridge SJ68L, $1300 (w $100 NTUC vouchers)
Fujioh hood FIT900 and hod FG302, $730 (w $30 cold storage voucher)

Juz to share....all sorts of big brands like (Sony, Sharp, etc) giving out special gift or vouchers til end of Dec...trying to get more sales before the GST hike, i think...nevertheless, me requested the lady boss to waive the GST off us!!...kekeke....

hi sunnyling .. my package is similar to yours, 12 x 15 = 24 pcs w negative, album for parents, table top for parents, wedding and evening gowns both are mtm, in and outdoor photos, free car deco, $250 offset for bridal car, rental of tea dress &amp; gents suits, transport for outdoor, 4 x make up and hair do, 6 images for in &amp; outdoor .. but arr, they are not returning all samples to me

Hi kk

I'm also thinking of getting mattress from Simmons too....just went to Simmons Gallery last weekend....the Felicity model is so comfy.....think i should be getting it next year....

Where did you get your furniture from?? I'm thinking of getting my bed from Melandas but heard some negative comments from them....

peach

i signed up with utopia directli...
took up the promotional package they offerin then...
the normal package @ 2.1k consists of 20pcs of 15r, 24 pcs 4 poses n a table top...
they throw in extra 4 pcs of 15r, 2 pcs of 3r in 1 pcs n also a wall hung...
utopia dun return neg nor prints in their package...
u can either purchase @ $800 or top up pixs till 1k they will return the neg n prints...

if u r interested in utopia, i can pass u the bridals tat ties up with them...
nameli: flamingo, bridal veil, ted wu, allure, amanda lee, emanuel b, etc...

yi

i was @ rivervale mall @ 8plus...
by then u shd hv left 4 home liao...

brin ur mil 2 c the jewellery u like...
sure hope its within her budget then u can hv wat u like...

u bought new matt???
if nt how 2 an chuang???

saw some veri nice waist corsage @ amanda there...
veri elegant lookin...
can consider gettin from her 4 my weddin...

mi tryin 2 find bedrm slipper 4 max boi...
i like those @ watson but i oredi usin the m/l size...
n tats their biggest size...
still lookin ard 4 his size coz he wana the same pair of slippers...

kk mei

my feet size is 8...
my guy's even bigger...
the ones i found in watson i can use the biggest size...
my guy sure cant use 1 mah...
gonna keep huntin ard liao...

u hv those dates???
my mil said she dun hv veri gd memory so din get those dates 4 us yet...
still hv a long way 2 go shdnt b a prob 2 get the dates then...

hi all... today very quiet hor... ;P

anyway, here's an update of our nov 29 dinner -

can : meow, amore, twinklets, sweetie, sunnyling, leo29, ava, novlkf22, littlerabbit, wind2000, myself

cannot: bombom, antz, putise baby

maybe : clyne

anyone else? we haven't settled venue also hor... hmmm.... any good chinese ala carte buffet around?

hi are!!

yah lor, very quiet hor. i'm like counting flies leh .. hee..
11820.gif

i dunno muz after chinese buffet..ehh.. i only noe how to eat..

i'm on for any place 1.. so long not tat ex can already..

twink|ets ~

Hi antz

They ask me choose between negative and samples so I choose samples loh. I think more or less the package is standard so dun worry.

Hello piggy! Welcome back!

Let me update the records:

1. 1027, 04 Oct, Swissotel, Xristos, Actual day: Choon Huat (Fast Soup Photography), Jurong West

2. HF, 26 Oct, Oriental, not settled yet

3. kk, 26 Oct, Qianxi (Farrer Park), Wedding Affairs (Previous Fame Bridal), Rivervale @ Sengkang

4. Serene, 24 Oct, Holiday Inn Parkview, Paris (at Tanjong Pagar), Compassvale Crescent at SengKang

5. fishball, 17 Oct, Concorde, In Wedding

6. lorraine,26 Oct, Le Meridien, Jawn Happy-ever- after &amp; City bridal ( photography)

7. Jady, 4th Oct Customary &amp; 5th Oct banquet &amp; solemnization. Hilton, Jazreel Low Bridal, Sembawang

8. blissz, 30 Oct, The Fullerton, Ted Wu n Montage Studios, Rivervale Crest @ Sengkang

9. poki, 26 Oct, venue not settled, Amanda Lee Weddings n Utopia, P21

10. Piggy, 4 Oct, Noble House, bridal not decided yet, CCK

Congrats Piggy ! Did u have to fight hard for this date? Heard that 4 Oct v popular ...

In case I'm going, I'm fine with Indonesian, Chinese, Japanese or Western food etc..

I thot there's also a rice table at cuppage area..

I shd be able to confirm with my fren by this Friday..so let u know then whether I can make it..

Hi Blissz,

which gallery did u went to? Any perks buying from them? Price wise?

I only bought my tv console, dining table, computer table from a furniture shop in the neighbourhood of tampines. My all wood material coz i want practicality rather than style.. kekee... moreover cheaper. I bought these 3 around $2K.

My brother gave me the sofa, coffee table and side table, etc. He want to refurnish his, so pass me his. So save $$ on these

Hi Flowee Jie,

No wonder.. my size only 5 and my boy size around 8. i saw those at watson. Pretty small leh. Maybe u go those bigger shops to see see look look lor.

I did not know those dates can be gotten that time. My mum got the date for customary, and together got an chuang date and guo da li date. My guo da li is around 1 mth before the customary. A bit early but no better date besides this. Moreover we need to distribute biscuits and cards to malaysian relatives, so need more time. The "zai gu" also advise on what to get for an chuang.. things like red dates, dried longans, etc.

Of course no problem to get those dates

yah, besides getting dates, will also get advice on who will "chong" the date. for mine, no tigers supposed to be around during an chuang. In addition, also got timing, i think my an chuang time is in the evening around 8+ pm. For guo da li, it doesn't matter so anytime on the day is good

Hi blissz, I went to the Home &amp; Decor at Jln Besar, chanced upon it when I went to search for lighting..come with mattress (divan set):P Tat means top and botton are both mattress

My sis bgt Simmons last time...not too bad..she got divan set for a bargain price of 2.5K (KING size somemore)

Hi 1027,
True..quite hard to compare how much we spend on reno..hehee...

Sunnyling,
yep that's me alright. Today i'm not working. So go city shopping. Went to concourse to look for stuffs that i can use for wedding. So who's e photographer? How he charges? If you have the details, can sent to me? [email protected]
Was he the one who took yours as well?

Halo,
Me also anything. Jus as long can eat and meet everyone up will be fine with me. Definately must be a place easy to meet up and accesible.

I dun understand why they dun return the negative for free. With negatives on their hands, dun feel safe.

Hi Jan: U going Tokyo? Me tot of going around end Dec or early Jan to meet my FH as well. Have been apart for 3 mths &amp; can't wait to meet him. He's coming back from US for good &amp; since he transits Tokyo so we tot of going for a holiday before wedding. But, I'm very lazy so din really call up the travel agent yet. Maybe will try Priceline!

Hi Shook: Enjoy yr business trip! Work hard &amp; play hard! U hv to pile on lots of warm clothings. Moreover, u so thin, no fats to keep u warm!! I got my winter wear from this place call Winter World I think. Got few branches, IMM &amp; Hougang Mall. Quite reasonable price! Yah, Zara has very nice winter wear. By e time u come back, shld be time for Vin's bridal shower.

Hi May: If I'm going Tokyo, dun mind sharing some infor with me.

Hihi Pausini
Thx. I will check it out @ Bugis OG.

Hihi May
Duck feathers winter coat I saw is close to $400. A friend recommended duck feather winter coat coz it really keeps u warm. Where is the Zara n Mango u talking abt?
I dunno wat is the temperature in Shanghai in Dec. It is abt 9 - 15 degree now.
Xiang Yang Jie oso need to bargain 60% is it? I gotta bring xtra bags bsides RMB

Thx 4 ur advice. They r definitely helpful.

Hihi Sue
Hopefully I have the time to play. My previous director better. Sent me to UK on Sat, came back on Sun. This director sent me to Shanghai on Sun, come back on Fri 17:30.

Japan many places to shop too. But things r v x. U can go Sinjiku, Shebuei, ... Visit Hakone, it is v beautiful. Buy the train ticket fm Japan Tourist Board in Singapore (open only during office hr). U get special rate train ticket which they dun sell in Japan. Njoy ur holiday in Tokyo. U will love dat place. Bring warm clothing. It is cold now.

So, we gonna have bridal shower 4 Vin

Shook: which date you leaving? me leaving in 3rd week of dec. yah, robinsons's selection not so nice. what are you looking for? i got my winter wear from this place at IMM the last time, quite reasonable price. other shops like cold wear, winnings and the newly opened zara also got nice stuff, especially zara, not that expensive too.

pausini: oh dear, sorry to hear about your full day on sat. if it's any consolation, i will be working the coming sat too, hopefully not full day. sounds like you in IT line? as for the rice cooker, i have one to recommend. it's a japanese brand, cannot spell it but the one whose logo is an elephant. what's your budget? my uncle bought a rice cooker with the functions you mentioned and the rice always turn out very nicely done especially if he uses it to cook japanese rice. i always eat 2 bowls when i go his house. it's has this electronic function to help determine how long and how much water to use etc but the price quite steep, about $257 if i didn't remember wrongly.

Vin: yah, i hope all of us have blissful marriages too. guess we all have to work hard.

May: i went to aero at marina. saw one of their beds which i like but didn't buy too. check with them already. they can hold the bed till next year, no problem. my email is [email protected]
ski resort? must we ski to enter the place? very interested to go but not going to ski. i will be alone during the day as he has to work so have to wait for weekend to see if he will be free to go together. it it a long train ride out? must email me the details, me very interested! by the way, how cold will it be? must i get all those winter jacket like downjackets or just an overcoat will do? by the way, i love snow! let me know of any more recommendations. thank you.

Sue: yes, me going to tokyo. i didn't try priceline because after surfing their website, it seems that need me to pay but when i was booking my date still not set as not sure when is the exact date my FH will be there. i don't like those which requires me to pay upfront. you should go and meet him, i feel that can be together is very important, waste a bit of money it's worth it! encourage you to go.

hi 1027,
I have bought an EC as well but not yet TOP. You spend $4K on reno. What did you do? Coz I totally do not have any idea what I can do due to budget constraint. Where is your EC?

hi kk mei,

yap, my hubby is rather unfamiliar with sengkang area coz we seldom frequent there. ;p

o, sense having sale tat day so just gotta 2 tops. i can't refrain myself from shopping and hubby knows that, so he saves and i buy lor. hehehe

hi flowee,

oic, i think i left close to 9pm. ;p

yap, wld be gog with mil to see the jewellery this week and hopefully can settle the si dian jin and then it will be 1 task down. ;p

nope, not buying new mattress, just using thecurrent one to an chuang lor. ;p
mil says itz ok anyway!

not intending to get the wrist corsage from my bridal studio, intending to DIY coz saw some nice materials at spotlight. me intend to DIY a Just Married sign to hang on the bridal car too!

u can try robinsons or john little for the bedroom slipper.

btw, went to bkt gombak gym with leafy yesterday. :P

HI Shook,

Zara is in Takashimaya, located at previous Esprit location. They have quite number of winter wear. Mango, there's a few outlet, you can try Shaw Centre, the shop is at the corner near to Pacific Plaza).

Think your hubby adore you a lotz erh... seems like you seldom go for shopping which most of the guy likt it....

Hi Yi Jie,

Yes, if dun live in sengkang, most likely will be blur. Even a lot of cab drivers are very blur in that area. kekekee...

Yo, my husband save better than me now. When he save, he can stop buying clothes for the rest of his life i think.. hahaha... so now normally i buy clothes for him, rather than for myself as i find that i dun really need new ones

Wow, ur mil good good. If it were my mum and my mil, they sure say cannot wan, must change new mattress.. hahhaa... that's why until now we have not got our mattress. We will just buy it before an chuang.

hi kk
i went to the gallery at Paragon...they're having a promotion now until 24 Nov...15%off + $200off for early delivery(b4 end Jan 03) + add 5% off...

they recommended the Felicity and Victoria models to me but i prefer Felicity...$1,827 after discount (usual $2,499)....tot quite a good buy but seems too early to get mattress now.....hope they have such promotions next year.....

hi serene
wow!! your sis has quite a good deal..any idea where she got her Simmons from??

Hi kk,

I've got quotation fr Patrick but quots seem to be on the higher end leh. e.g. walk in wardrobe quote me 3.8K!!!
maybe 1st time always quote high high. how u bargain ah?

Hi gals, any gd contractors to reccommend?

Hi Jady,

He only quote me $2200. U can see from my quote.
Is ur wardrobe very huge?? For carpentry, he normally charge $100 per ft which is one of the lowest in the market.

Where is ur new place? If u free, u can drop by my place to take a look, then u will have a better idea

Hi Blissz,

thanks! i really need good offers coz intend to get a king size bed. What about u?

lorraine, I'm at Floravale @ Jurong West.
i didn't do much...only did false ceiling along the perimeter of the living, dining &amp; 3 bed-rooms, plus fresh coat of paint (2 colours - one for ceiling, another for all walls).

Adding to that, sliding window &amp; grille at backyard and wrought iron gate at the main entrance.

That's all !!

No need ID whatsoever ... just our own idea of a cosy home ....

I guess i saved quite alot of money fr the electrical works (electrical wiring &amp; installation of lights) coz my hub is in the construction business and got people to do it for us FOC, or my hub install himself.

oh yah, abit of inaccuracy in my earlier figures. I spent about $2.5k (instead of 1.5k mentioned) on ALL lights &amp; ceiling fans.

i went to look at lilydale also, but yishun is really too far for us, otherwise we could have been neighbours!

hi gals... am new here... saw your discussion briefly about si-dian-jin.... must it come from my MIL??? i'm a teochew. actually me and my MIL not on very good terms, so i really doubt she will buy anything for me...
maybe could ask my husband to buy them instead???!!!

Hi 1027 &amp; lorraine

I also bought a condo.....like 1027, i also did not get a ID cos no reno works are needed....tink i spent about $5k installing lights, wrought iron window grills &amp; main gate and curtains...

Hi kk

Same same!! Me oso looking for king-sized bed and mattress....wonder whether they are further discounts if we get together...hehe...

hmm... seems like food is really a headache eh? amore... i noe the place you toking abt, went there 2 weeks ago, not too bad. but is marina sq a bit far off?

in any case, for those of you doing 'research' on renovation, have you heard of 'taugres'??? need some advice on them.