(2003) Brides of year 2003

Wen,
For me , I too short to look good in Cheongsam. Since i came from a Pernankan family i will be getting a MTM kebaya for tea dress...
Or i might even consider MTM a dress with a piece of pastel-green Thai silk that i bought during my vacation in Thailand last year...as for design...not tot about it..any suggession?

OH if You are getting a MTM Cheongsam try Ted Collection at Parco Bugis 2nd floor. They got very nice MTM cheongsam a must see...but they are a little Ex. Maybe U can also consider "Shanghai Tang" near the Hard Rock Cafe, the previous Armani shop.
They do have a small branch in Ngee Ann City but bigger collection in the Mian Shop i guess. They carry both ready-made & MTM by Their Shanghai master...my sis got a MTM one in their HongKong Branch....& Every stich is hand-sewn.

If U are looking for short simple tea-dress than maybe can consider Empire at Tras St. I by-pass they place saw some new above knee-length tea-dress...that is quite nice.
Adv. of Short tea-dress allows us to have breathing space...U know, the whole morning U will be wearing that long WG....is tiring & hot..it would be a nice change to a short tea-dress.

mint,
I miscalculated, wen can make her gown first hor... blur me... hee. Just a bit rush on the development part.

I agree that one has to be well endowed to look good in bustier. It really depends if one can find the suitable gown, it should make one look proportion, slim and elegant.

Hihi Pausini, Vin, Sue
I m v busy wif work tis week. Bsides wanna print the inserts 4 my invitation card b4 my hubby goes 4 reservist next wed as I wanna distribute my cards by Mar. My final fitting is on 19th Apr on a sat @ 1pm. I m thinking of going on 19th Apr , let u gals c the 4 gowns, if u think they really suit me, then I pick my tea dress fm there. If I can tone up my tummy to fit into the 2 pc WG, I will request White Link to select a flair ballrm EG for me, otherwise I pick my EG fm the kiv gowns if u gals think they r nice.
R u gals available on 19th Apr?
Thx for the offer to help.

Hihi May
Saw your photos. Dun find dat you look heavy on top in your WG but u do look heavy on top in you EG. Your WG n the train r nice. Find dat it is the gathers on your WG dat makes u look big. May b can try to cover wif shawl

Hi bliss & vio,
Can i take a look at the price list of the videographer which you book?

Hmm..Robinson having sales again? Then must go down and buy some ties for my hubby cos he only have one decent tie, the rest is those old flowery prints type...hehee

Leo29

Talk abt MJ I been play almost every weekend also then it end abt 5am to 6am every saturday, now ah already is a panda liao. Thk hor must stop or else wedding time must put alot of make-up.

Sunnyling,

Ya lor! But you know lah, very hard to kick this 'hobby', heehee..... Somemore most of us are very free on sat nite so definitely it a good day for mj. Anyway, has been trying to change the timing lor.

leo29... if u change to sun, isn't it worst? then mon how to work? me usually play on fri nite, till oni 4am plus max. dun play on sats coz hubby working on sun. but sat is the day we need to do a lot of reno stuff, no time to sleep late, so we've stopped playing lor.

pris... i'm quite ok. but i think there is a thai restaurant there rite? 'cept tat i guess, me not too gd with thai food.

meow... sorrie, hubby will not be joining liao.

cath: bring camera to see how the gown looks on you mah...also coz i wanted to be able to look at the BEFORE and AFTER they make minor changes after the 1st fitting.

Robinsons sales: you choose the items you want to ask the cashier to reserve them for you. Doesn't matter whether you're member or not. In the case of branded items (men's section eg Goldlion etc), ask the promoter to keep them aside for you till Thursday. Most of the time i leave my namecard with them to keep with my reserved items (just in case they mistakenly sell it to someone else!)

Just in case any of you are interested in getting a wing tip white shirt for your hub's tuxedo, Goldlion has a white wing tip french cuff shirt. Workmanship v good, $132. The 15% off makes it a good buy!

Jan, Vin, Sue: i email the pix liao.

Jan: try not to munch on junk food when u work late. Drink a glass of milk and eat biscuits - those jacobs plain crackers. Think it is better. Now that i am staying at my own hse, i also eat oyout. at the moment, too busy to start cooking. it seems that i have never ending things to buy. So hopefully i can cook simple meals next week. When eat out try to take soupy stuff rather than chicken rice.

U so early print the wedding cards. I have not even collected mine. Thinking of distributing it on May 1st. immediately after Ching Ming. March is too early and we must avoid the whole month of April.

Kare: guess we gals r never satisfy. got e assets but wish that it is smaller and blah..blah.. Ha ha... i also agree w Shook that the EG's make me look even bigger coz of the pleats. Sigh. The straight neckline emphasize so i have asked the designer to dip the neckline. The bust is also emphasize for the EG coz my top of the gown is fitting. I did not wear a corset - but the fish bone does the work. Now, i more or less can understand why you loosen the waist of your gown. But then i think it is too loose for you as it is a little shapeless. Try tightening it abit?

Pausini: i saw the montage. Very nice - and i can see alot of efforts are put in. It is good to have Chinese text but i doubt i can do it. My chinese also very 'lan'. I was just wondering is it possible to show a montage with music? Or do couples show the powerpt montage and then have music separately?

Shook: i agree w you abt the gathers on the EG. you know what is the sad thing? I saw this design in a US magazine and i like it alot. I asked the designer to follow the design. I forgot abt my top. So when i went for 1st fitting - i was a little upset. Esp the waist line was tight and pull tightly to emphasize the top. This 2nd fitting is better but top still look heavy. The designer is doing a dip at the neckline, hopefully it will help. They did give me a shawl maybe can coverup. That is bad side for mtm gowns - sometimes what u see in the mag - may not be suitable.

Shook - maybe you ask the bridal gown to let you try the ballroom gown with a small can can. Teh small can can can still achieve an a-line effect. That is what my WG looks like, the can can not big. Is this what u want? Can can is good hide tummy. So i very lazy never do situp.

Hi shanice

Yr photos r nice. I like the lime green gown. Must be quite fair in order to wear that colour. I tried on green b4 at my bridal shop and I look like a bunch of lettuce

My nick was used by another person yesterday at the Seletar Broadway Thread. Luckily no harm was done
Chin Leng has advised me that I put my password in together with my username to prevent ppl from using our nicks. Tt's why u see "Abrinas(abrinas)" now but it's still me. Maybe u all shd do the same. If u all c a single 'abrinas' it is not me.

meow, can tentatively count me in for the gathering too? thanks. keeping my fingers crossed that I would have been done with my busy period at work by then.

Good morning to all!

cath,
thanx! would check when i reach home tonight

how's the robinson sales? good discount?
any sales on bedsheets?

Hi gd morning:

Shook: I shld be able to come on 19 Apr. We arrange again when the time it near. Do u like the gown they have KIV for u? if u dun like why chosing a gown from there. Let them re-select the gown for u to make selection. Dun worry, we will help u to "talk" to the assistant to let u have a new collection. hee hee...

Meekoo: my colleague told me the sale girl Penny is very nice and the shop's contact is 6363 3636.

vin: yah, i never think of to get the bust sticker. of course i tried to tear off the tape slowly but becos i have being take on and off the gowns for the whoole days and the gowns is tight so some rubbing cos my skin to have blisters. It still have not recover.

May: wah! u move to ur new hse now? my mum pace at bedok, i have not move in to new hse yet. both of us decided to shift in after customary. Thanks to agree to teach me. I dun think both of us have time. never mind u teach me next time. Just cant make my own necklace for wedding.
The montage is a combine effect from a few friends. I didnt come out with the chinese wording. One of the friend is doing the wording and others will do some portion like their childhood, courtship, ROM, marriage, etc. I find a suitable song in MP3 format. just add music to it will do. if u notice, there is some wording at the end that showing their wedding pictures are suppose to go together with the song. guess it is quite difficult to coordinate with the system speed. There are times that the slides managed to coordinate with the song there were time they cant.
Another way is to play the song separately in the cd. So u always need to have the CD with u. if u need help, i am willing to help, but i guess ur FH will do a better job. Engineering wldnt be too far from IT lah.

Jan: will consider t-dragon. i went to collect my inivitation card on sunday n the restaurant show me a totally different cards. It is so ugly! i cant stand it as the A.mgr is on leave so i didnt collect the cards and wait for the mgr to be back. it is so old fashion. terrible!!!

kare & sue: i will send u the montage again in the noon. cos very huge file take sometime to send over.

HI,
Abrinas...thanks for the warning....pretty scary to know others are masquarading in our nicks, intentionally or unintentionally

Shanice, maybe the dietian thing is a good thing...but frankly, so nice lor, to have attained your goal..hehe..that's 1 goal that alludes me time and time again ...:P

Realize I have 110 days to go
heee...like so short time hor....but panic button not on yet...jialat

hi serene... i'm oso sorting out my photography things, so juz share with you my tots.

- PS i'm using digital coz i dun intend to blow up. meow is rite, digital will not look gd if blown up, max is 4R size oni. unless you inform your photographer before hand, then he will hv to shoot higher resolution, which will cost a lot more.

- actual day i'm using traditional. reason being i will want to develop photos for my relatives & frens and digital reproduction is very ex. also, digital is not gd at capturing moving crowd & will not be as sharp, especially at nite or darker places.

- as for video, my bridal has offered $750 for 2 days, which i guess is lower than outside. still considering, coz its still a lot of money. but i asked for non-edited VCDs, dun need tat or 'baby pics' to be included. hubby thinks the same as meow, tat pics will tell the full story already, but i would really like the sounds and actions to be captured & to be able to view the wedding as a whole. coz i know i will be so nervous tat day i wun rem a thing the next day, juz like ROM! ;P

so far, my bridal has given pretty gd prices for a lot of things as a package, but the risk is on the quality i guess. so if you can take tat risk, then maybe you can check with your bridal as well?

jus: 15% storewide discount. I guess it applies to the bedsheets as well, tho i personally think we can get better bargains at the Robinsons sale rather than 15% storewide discount ....
fyi the 15% storewide discount starts this thursday

If sorted according to date, first on the line for June is Kiroro!!!! If I sorted correctly!! Me got 103 days.

Sweets, yr wedding's on 28th June rite? exactly 7 days away from mine.
Same day as Priviledged

Beanie (May)- Kai, Shangri-la Sentosa, Utopia
Kiroro (6th June) - Silhouette (Bridal) + Am Amor Meus (for kebaya), Conrad, Linn Kong (Studio+ Actual)
Beibei( 7th June)- Bridal Zone, Marina Mandarin, Yew Tee
Jes - (7&8 June)Marina Mandarin, Golden Horse award, Punngol 21
Taddess(10/6) - Bridal Zone, Marina Mandarin, JW
Pucca75 (10th June) - Focus Bridal, Yun Nan, Yew Tee
Astrud (14th June) - Kevin Seah, Hilton, Ang Mo Kio, ImageGarden and The Edge (actual day)
Joyful - (14th June) J&M, Hotel New Otani, Seng Kang
Dolphie (14 & 17 June)- Wedding Present, Marriott, ImageGarden, Choon Huat (actual day)
Pooh (15th June)- Universal Brida, Holiday Inn PV, Bukit Batok Central
Totoro -(20 June) Rasa Sentosa
mmay (20th June) - The Fullerton
Abrinas (21st June)- Seletar Broadway, Club Chinois, Punggol
Cutie (22nd June) - Oriental, Yvonne Creative
Shanice (22nd June)
Yvonne (22nd June)
Priviledged (28/6) - Silhouette + Robin, Regent, Punggol 21
Sweets - (28/6) Conrad
Delannie - Jawn
Wabbit - J&M, Imperium, Sembawang
Ah Ling - X-Zen, Pan Pac
Trinity03 - Punggol 21

Has anyone started to print cards liao? Me going to the printer this Sat to settle the church wedding's & dinner's cards.

Actually want to use our studio photo for the church wedding but mum says wait after wedding ppl throw away the card n yr face on it or even worst, use it n make into a dart board!!
Very funny rite but think abt it, quite rite also

abrinas,
u so cute still sort out the dates..

yup me meeting the printers next week so most probably will print once artwork is confirmed.

Pucca, not pai lar....panic button jammed...liao

Abrinas, I'm with BV for EG and rest of package cos I got my own WG liao, our new home is in YCK. Thanks for sorting out the list ...I agree with what your mum say also...but its a nice "paw mark" to imprint to make our stationary more personal hor...

Confirm location of meeting: Esplanade
Confirm date : 28/03/03
Time : 0700-0730pm
Attendance : Meow + hubby(?), Pris, Shirlynn,Besse, Are , Leo29, twinklets, Feb + hubby(?), Jing jing, Akira

Not attending - Wen, Sunnyling, Clyne, okeanosmao, DK, Amore, Yve, Ava

<FONT COLOR="808080">berry</FONT> - Welcome, welcome

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">flowee</FONT>, <FONT COLOR="ff6000">leafy</FONT>, <FONT COLOR="aa00aa">yi</FONT>, <FONT COLOR="0077aa">wenn</FONT> &amp; <FONT COLOR="119911">jady</FONT>- Thanks for your concerns...me now trying to stay veri low profile now...dun wan more nagging liao...super sian already
Even the car, I let her insist. I just dun wan to hear anymore stuff

btw, my website is complete! (only 1 part still haven't) but you guys can view my pictures liao. Click HERE for my wedding website
Remember to sign into my guestbook &amp; turn on your speakers

HI Shook,

Yeah, is a built in can-can, is rather small.. but still nice as well. I think one of my Polaroid hv that type of gown. Is a A-line gown with built in can-can, it make us looks taller.

Your tea dress is a modern type or Kwa?? Me wearing Kwa on my wedding day. And Totally change into 5 gowns including kwa.

Just let us know when you go down aft you confirm your date fr final fitting. Am free on every Saturday and Sunday. Just let me know in advance.
HI Sue,
My wedding card is provided by the hotel. And the insert we just stick to American Wedding Treasures as is very last minutes things and we don’t hv much time to out source the printing.
HI May,
Will check my e-mail later. Thanks yaa…

HI Pausini,
Becareful nxt time when you put on bust sticker…

Are,

What I mean is sun afternoon. So by the time we finish, it’s only 8pm plus mah.

Akira,

Glad to know at present moment, you can join us although it’s not really confirmed.

nobody go to the Daimaru sale meh? Last Sunday, I bought hub's shirts at only $10 each!.Den 4 me, I bought 2 pants n a skirt at less than $40 for all from U2! But I think alot of things grabbed by now. Sale ends coming Sunday.

Hi Mrs Quake,

For the sequirns,just only scatter on the shape of the top around bustarea then also mine is a A line WG.Also scatter on middle of the WG and also side by side of the WG,it like full length from top to bottom,like a straight line.What do u think?Will it be outdated?

Wendy

hi gers! *waves*

elaine (aka cover gir), just went to ur website.. really beautiful
ur photos &amp; gowns looked better than my guy's classmate's. she was with white link too..

Hi Flowee Jie,

Yah! The section on shoes is perfect! And alongside there are pictures of gowns. And they are lovely too

Wendyl: Very hard for me to imagine leh......I'm actually not a 'sequins' and 'lace' person and so these two materials did not come into my thoughts when doing my gowns.

I always think that the bride herself must like the design. Sometimes the most fashionable thing may not look nice on the individual. SO no point wearing something fashionable and look horrible in it.

In summary, as long as you like the design and it does not look gaudy on you, it should be fine. Your designer should be able to tell you more. BTW, which bridal shop did you sign up with?

Maybe, the rest of the brides to be here can give you more comments.

DK,

I find short tea dress too simple lei. Like no respect to the eldest. I guess, worst case I just make a simple long dress with silky material. But If my bridal shop can find me a material that I like it very much and can bring out the formality, like cheong sum, I might accept short tea dress. Until now I still can't figure out what type of tea dress I want.

Wendy,

What is sequins?

Guess wat, I've signed up wif J&amp;C yest during my first appt! a bit amazing and impulsive rite..

Well.. to my amazed,i really click well wif the designer cynthia, she let me try 5 gowns in a shot even before i look at their packages. She's really all out to help U, see wat kind of gown suitable for U etc.. I'm very pleased wif their services.

So finally i settled my bridal boutique, first fitting will be around April.. better drain all my fats away.

So sorry but can't meet u all on 19 March....initially can but went for PS on Sun(9/3) and it rained juz when we finished our indoor shoot. So got to postpone the outdoor PS to 19/3....Aiyah, looking so much to seeing ya all....nvm lah, April outing sure try to make it one.

hi joyful

my PS is on 19/3..its going to be a great day..*dun worry*

anyway, Abrinas, i tie up with Dang , actual day Nick Goh. staying at BP(bukit Panjang)

yap. quite sad lor. why dun 20/3 la, then we can meet.. :o)

Wow i miss out alot.

Amore,
thks for the pic!

Pris,
I'm fine for all food except Italian cheesy stuffs....

sorry is bustier the same as tubes?
or another kind? I'm quite confused.

twink|ets ~

Hihi May
Agree the disadvantage of MTM gown is imaginery. The designer shld have highlighted tis to u in the 1st place.
Yes can can hides tummy well. Wat I like is flair round ballrm gown, like Barbie doll.

Hihi Pausini
I m ok wif 2 of the gowns dat were KIV 4 me but my mum doesn't like the color of the gowns. Bsides dat, my dream gown is flair round ballrm gown but the 2 gowns r straight cut. My hubby said the gowns look nice on me. My mum oso said bcoz of my ht, straight cut gown makes me look taller. Dat is y I want to let u gals c them.
V envious of the montage u have but I m computer idiot. Know nuts abt how to do it. Can share wif me @ [email protected]?

Hihi Vin
My mum asked me to get a gown. She said she is not a Cantonese, dun need to wear kwa.
How u change 6 outfits within a day?
The 2 pc WG has a built in can can. So I dun wanna get EG wif the same cut. I like variations. V vain hor.

Hi Totoro,

OUr PS is on the same day! Heehee..maybe we will see each other? By the way, who is your photographer?

Shook: Ur hotmail acct have enough space? i afraid not. u have other acct else u have to free ur hotmail acct then i can send the montage over else cant get u. However i will still try to send over.
If u need something similar, i see whether i can help u.