(2003) Brides of year 2003

jus

welcome panicki and angel!

panicki,
must first book the venue and bridal boutique,
the rest would come later
dun worry, things would fall into place after the mahor things are decided ; )

how was your first fitting?
hope everything went well ; )

wendyl

I have selected my EG liao,mine is a bustier WG,A line gown ,but mine got shiny silver round small pcs,do u all kw hw to call that?

Wendy

beibei

abrinas,
20th march think some can't make it cos got meeting hence we propose 19th leh...since the five of us can make it that day...

hi jus,

yup yup, the fitting was ok. Need to lose the tummy !!!

Was quite happy with the gown, just that i needed minor changes here and there. It's quite fun, coz my designer was putting things on me to doll me up, like barbie doll like that...

The first fitting is really very very skeletal. My hub's suits were really just a black piece of cloth stitched together loosely. My gowns were more complete, but void of all beading etc.

One word of advice: try to get your shoes early. Apart from adjusting the height of the shoes with the length of the dress, what i thought looks good with the gown turned out to be not so nice. So now i got to start hunting for another pair of shoes.

I spent the whole of y'day looking for ties for my hub. Alamak!!! So hard to find !!!
We walked around the Lido / Scotts area until our legs wanted to break already, but we only managed to get 3 items on our list. Argh .... today boss on leave, so i'm going shopping at lunch time!

Oh yah ... learnt that you got to pay about 50% of your outstanding bill when you have your 1st fitting. The remaining will either be spread out to the 2nd and final fitting or you pay the entire amount on the final fitting.

I negotiated with my designer to give my hub a free bow tie, using the left over material from my evening gown. Now everything is matching and my headache is solved. yay!

Will be having my trial make-up next sunday. Silly artist kept postponing on me till i got abit irritated, so i told my designer. Wah, within the next 4 hours the artist personally called me to make an appt. Hmm! This is more like it!

Well, that's about all to my first fitting. Sorry, no photos coz we forgot to bring the camera... when the rest of you go for your fitting, pls share your experience ok?

pausini

Hi Kare,
Dun get too upset. Guess, u think too much. Cheer up! oh, i will try to send u the montage this noon. quite a big files so need some time to send thru. btw, can u share ur pic with me. My email is [email protected]

Shook: dun get too upset. if u really want to go back to reselect the gown i dun mind following u. i work in Science park but my mum place is at Bedok so is quite near. Dun worry. Heh, u are abt the same size as one of my friend. shld be able to fit in most gown. Now, my Fh is very worried that they picture will not turn up well.

Jan: Dun get upset. Everyone have their strong pt. i dun think ur SIL have any strong pt, it is her parents the curry flavouring ur PIL. wldnt be too long one lah.

Sue: so have u settle ur msian dinner? I still have not quite settle mine. Mine is quite far, cldnt just go back during weekend to get everything done. Now my MIL is pestering me abt the msian dinner. ask me whether this done that done. *oh my god*

Meekoo: since both u shook and u having the same problem why not both of u go down together to select gowns. same here i dun mind following again. hee hee hee...

priviledged

Shanice, I saw your photos. You look REALLY GOOD! You are definitely disqualified from joining the fat arms club.

Abrinas, yes IN is a nice place to live. Not too much hustle and bustle. Simple and quiet. Low tax. Can get a little boring but there's always Chicago, 4 hours drive away. I was there in December and had a very nice holiday.

kopibean

Hi Mrs Quake and chicory,

Thanks for your advise on andrew choi photography.
Will go down to his studio this saturday to have a look at his portfolio.
I am also interested in beetles@work and benny ang photography. Any opinions?
I'm in a dilemma in choosing studio & outdoor photographer. I have been to O-studio and Utopia.
But yet to find which one I like.
Hopefully before end of march, I can decide on the photographer as my wedding is in nov.

cat

Hi Mrs Quake, do u know if there's an opening hr to most of the shops there? Are they open during weekends esp Sunday. And what time they close on weekdays?

cath

(For those who have sent me the paritculars) I've forwarded an updated list of Oct brides to you.

Hi blissz,
You singet mailbox is full, I got rejected mail. :eek:

abrinas

Hi beibei

Then how? Mine PMC at 6pm n will last for probably 1 to 1 1/2 hrs
n my reverend only free on 19 Mar cos his schedule fully packed liao
Then I cannot join liao
When u SMS tt day, thot 20 Mar
Nvrmnd lah, maybe we meet again in April??

beibei

abrinas,

Dun worry!!We will make sure there will be one more gathering in April!!must keep up the morale!!
cos we really set on 19/3/03 must meet when there is four of us and now we have 5persons already!

Y

yi

hi feb,

yap, we are neighbours, i'm staying opp Boon Lay MRT Station at Blk 660A.

Good Monday, everyone!
Hows everone's weekend?

hi berry,

U r sure welcome to join us, all the 2003 brides here.

happybride

No regrets to those who signed up for Photolanguage. I love my pictures alot and my cousin signed up with him for her wedding on the 13/12/03 too. Happy preparations to you all

mrs

Wendyl: I think that is sequins. Wonder if I get the spelling right.

Kopibean: Just keep looking at differnt portfolios. You will see the difference n style between each one. After a while, you will find one you like.

Cat: I'm not quite sure about the opening hours but Dang did mentioned that they close about 5-6pm.

are

sweetie... i'm oni having outdoor shoot. will be changing a few WGs and EGs as bridal is kind enuff not to make me choose among all tat i like. ;P but not my actual day gown, intending to keep it oni till then.

pucca

hi gals, hope i can join the april gathering ok?...

beibei,
how's ur parents meeting session?? mine lasted for abt 1 hr ... phew~ .. finally got it done n over with .. but we still got some stuff to confirm coz my side not too sure abt it.. hv to find out from my other elders ... so after this .. will be updating my hubby instead ... :p

meekoo

hi jan

thanks your advise....

hi shook
u wanna to re-select? when you actual day? so when will you and pausini be going down?

hi pausini
i not sure.... they had actual made me signed on drawing of the re-select WG... i will think about 1st...and let u guys know.

beibei

pucca,
me lasted about 2hours but it was a relaxed and stressless meeting cos both my parents and PILs all quite opened minded and we tried to keep things simple..quite happy that they can chat so well though they have known each other for twenty years plus...

chicory

tingting, it's good to keep your option open but i can't as i am quite indecisive
, afraid that i will be more confused if i visit more bridal shops
. I did not mind that it was a rush helping at my fren's wedding even though it fell on my exams period as she is my very good fren and i had fun too, but i am jus sharing my experience as her helper. Her husband has a lot of relatives so the tea ceremony part took up abit more time and luckily her parents' house, PIL's house and the church are very near, all in the same estate. And as she is staying with her PILs, so we only need to travel between 3 places. If your parents' house, your PIL's house, your new house and church are quite a distance apart, the travelling will take up time too. But i agree that weekend wedding is more convenient for relatives and frens
. My another fren had her tea ceremony and church wedding on sat and wedding dinner on sun. All done over the weekend

enya: As you do not have a church wedding, i guess it would be better to do it in a day as you have quite ample time for rest, photo-takings etc and won't inconvenience your relatives. Your wedding is on a weekend? I want to have the tea-ceremony on a weekend becuz' it is more convenient for relatives as they do not have to take leave to attend and my dinner is on a weekday so they can come after work, my helpers need to only take half day leave if they want to or can jus come after work

Mrs Quake, Me too have fats there. Cindy says so to me when i tried on a bustier gown. She says either to go higher or lower so that can hide the fats or not squeeze the fats out... ha ha ha... so funny.

kopibean, Benny's style will be quite similar to Andrew Choi as he used to work under Andrew Choi. Benny is good too, initially i wanted to engage him but then he only ties with limited bridal shops, most brides from Margaret Brides will choose Benny. As for Beetles @ works, Kelvin's style is very similar to Chris Ling as he works for Chris Ling before he started Beetles. He is a cheaper alternative to Chris Ling, he is quite good with natural shots too. I think he only ties with Flamingo now and he is giving a very good deal. Have you seen his works? O-studio is towards posey studio shots, more taiwanese kind, but outdoor shots are quite good.

Cat, most bridal shops open from 12pm onwards. Usually closes at 8pm on weekdays, weekend i am not sure. They are usually open on Sun too

Happybride, can share your lovely photos with us? Would like to see their works

abrinas

Hi beibei

It's ok, the meeting must go on!! Will go for the Apr one instead

My meeting session yet to be fixed cos both mum n FH's mum says no need to meet cos already met b4 a few mths back n already told us what they want so no need to meet again. So they not meeting at all lah until wedding day!!

may

Hi gals, i have finally uploaded my 2nd fitting pixs. Let me know u wants to view it. After uploading the pixs, i realised that i look very ba - ba. terrible... so happy now that gowns not tight but see the pixs already feel terrible. Does it mean that my ps shots will be like this too?

pausini

Shook: i dun normally work on sat unless my boss need me to be back in office. i normally knock off at 5:30 - 6pm.

Meekoo: what do u mean? u mean after u signed u cant change ur wedding gown again.

Actually, i was very sad on my PS when i know i wldnt not get to have the hairstyle i want. I go complain with my wedding consultant. She saw that i am very angry and sad. so she told the makeup artisit to go the hairstyle for me after i am back. so if it possible for u to do a "gentle protest" with ur wedding consultant and see what they can do for u?

pausini

Kare & may: I have resend the montage to both of u. Hope u get it.

May: i send to both ur pacific net and office email. Do tell me if u still didnt get it. Can i see ur 2nd fitting? my email: [email protected]

Kare: the pix u should us, have u loose ur waist? I dun think u shld do that. Do u know how much i want my waist to be smaller. I think u shld be proud of ur own asset.

shook

Hihi Pausini
Ask for a retake of your ps if u r not happy wif the photos. But gotta ensure there is sufficient time for the album to b ready.

Hihi Meekoo
I m @ a loss now whether to re-select the gown or not after comment fm my hubby n mum. Anyway I m busy tis week n my hubby going reservist next wed till 29th Mar. Wanna get the invitation card ready n distribute by end Mar. We printing the inserts ourselves.
U wanna call n ask if u can re-select your WG then we go together?

Hihi May
Wanna c your photos @ [email protected]

leo29

Sweetie,

Me no preference! I find each have their pro n con. Will let the phtographer decide. But I would said indoor is quite limited due to space constrain.

Me also will be wearing my actual day gown for indoor and outdoor shoot. I would said those having MTM package will wear their actual day gown for PS becos that is the only wedding gown available. As for those having OTR, I think actual day gown only allow for indoor PS not outdoor.

oso32

Hi May,

Dun worry! your photographer will be able to advise you on things like how to stand and how to tilt your face, etc. to make u look slim and not so ba-ba.

this was what happened on my ps! although some of the poses can be quite uncomfortable (cuz not used to it), the results would definitely be much better and complimenting to u! too bad i have not gotten back my proofs yet. will be happy to share wif u gals after that.

tingting

Hi Chicory,

just want to tell you that you need not engage a photographer that's tied up with the bridal shops. E.g. I'm considering photo langauge which does not tie up with Dang. Just that you'll be the point of liaising rather than the bridal shop, which may be a bit troublesome, but it's only once, to settle the photoshoot date.

may

Pausini: I got your montage. thanks. i reply to your singnet email. I have no time to c yet. will c later. I have send the pix link to your singnet acct. it is ok?

Shook, peabrain: will send the pixs to you soon.

Kare: thanks for your comments. but actually u can see from the pix, i also heavy at the top. Somehow the digital camera makes me look bigger leh, esp. the shoulders.

oso32

Hi pausini,

do u think i can take a look at your montage, please? thinking of getting a few friends to help with it, but in the worse case might have to do it myself. hope it's quite user-friendly / idiot-proof

btw, can someone please forward me the updated Maybride listings? my email addy is [email protected]

Thanks alot

pausini

oso32,

Do u want me to send the montage to ur hotmail acct? i think u need to free some space. it is qute big. i need at least 4mb free space in ur email acct.

Anyone wanna see the montage so i can send together? Oso32, dun mind i ask ard 1st consolidate and send out together cos sending out this file can take some time.

Shook: My FH said that if the phot didnt turn up well then it is really a waste of money. i may not spend as much as u but to him $2888 is alot. so i suggested to him that we can always get one nicer pix to place at the restuarant door way. It wasnt that impt to have the album up in time
for the wedding.

meekoo

hi shook

my hubby asked me to stick with that WG saying it looks nice on me.... so i dun tink i will do any re-select again...anyway very sian already....

hi pausini
i not sure. but my hubby kept teasing me that WL is scared of me liao thus make me sign... :p

pausini

Kare, I resend the files again after i have consolidate the number of pple who wld like to view it. Is ur singnet acct have free space? i didnt get any error report from ur account.

May: I love ur WG. the train is very lovely. U know what, i love ur necklace. Can u teach me, PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE. i always wanted a necklace like this for my WG so i can cover the top and my shoulder dun look that big. How u do it? Both the 1st and 2nd necklace are so beautiful. Wait a min, i think u forget to take a pix for ur shoes to show us. hahaha...

Oh yes, have all of u order ur cakes? i still wondering which shop shld i go? Anyone here live at sembawang? there is this cake shop call Creative cake. the cake is very nice. There is a colleague who give BLACK FOREST cake as the full month cake of his baby son. Fresh cream, very nice. of course cant have that for the wedding.

mrs

Tingting: The other reason why I had to do my wedding in 2 days is also because my parents stay in the north, in-law in north east and the church is in the east! Imagine the travelling time required for the shuttling to and fro!

So right now, which bridal shop are you seriously considering or leaning towards now? Are you going to more shops again or trying to decide between the ones you've seen?

Chicory: In my case, I prefer to hide my fats. Show too much also will kena from the older people! I guess this is a very real problem face by us, the not-so-skinny ones!

tingting

hi mrs quake,

guess i'm not that bad cos both me n my bf stay pretty near each other, and although the church venue is further away, it's also relatively central and easy to get to the dinner venue, so we are more hopeful that the day will not run us down... : )

although my church is not the very conservative kind, me not thinking of getting something revealing cos it's not really me, and i dun have much to show anyway..

i'm seriously considering Dang, and also Le Galleria. Now working out my budget, hopefully can come to a conclusion early.

today received a letter from HDB inviting us to submit our home loan application, so we should be getting our keys soon!

chicory

tingting, but it will be more expensive to engage a photographer separate from the bridal package, i really want to stick to my budget as close as possible
cuz' initially hubby doesn't want to have elaborate wedding and the dinner since he compromise now so i must try my best to save money for him
. I will engage Kelvin from Beetles @ works if i want to get a photographer not tied up with the bridal shop cuz' real good deal if he returns all exposures without topping up any more money
. Does Photolanguage tie up with LG?

Mrs Quake, I also do not want to show too much, i really can't imagine the older folks' reactions
. I do not know if they can accept too revealing gowns, do not want to see their blacked and shocked faces.

sweetie

Hi wendyl,
I am also having a bustier wg. My designer says it is in fashion for the last two years already and still very popular. So dun worry.

I think I will be wearing the wg for ps since i want more pictures of it. hee. But if go beach, its kinda risky hor.

tingting

hi chicory,

budget is also my concern, but i reckon that i'll most probably want to put extra photos in my album, and the 20 pieces in the bridal packages may not be enuff. I've got the package details of photolanguage, which returns negatives as well (not sure if it's all taken or only those selected). If you want you can email me for it.

If I'm taking the package one, i'd probably take Photospace, but i've emailed him twice for his package details and he hasn't responded, so it doesn't seem very good customer service to me..

Photolanguage does not tie up with LG. He only ties up with Kai Bridal and Ted Wu.

mrs

Wendyl: I guess it depends on the design and the color of the sequins. If the sequins are added to the WG for a slight shimmering effect in order to bring out the design of the beadings, then it should not look too bad. However, if you are refering to having it all overthe bodice portion (above waist), then it would look a bit dated. That's my personal opinion.

Tingting & Chicory: I guess most of us are still quite conservative here. For me, there is also a limit as to how much I will show.
I think how 'showy' a bride wants also depends on the figure she has. Like me, I don't thing I want to show very much in case all my relatives can't finish all the food due to the spilling fats!heheheh.

Do work out your sums. It will tell you how practical your choice of bridal shops are. That's how I come to my conclusion too.

jus

hi 1027,

glad that your gown fitting went so well
at least now you dun have to fret if the gowns would look ok or not... ; )

wah... have to pay up to 50%?
nevermind, as long as the gowns are ok

i would also be going for my first fitting this weekend
so, that means have to prepare the cash (alamak!!!)

ya-lor, sometimes the service would sort of 'go down' a bit, until you complain
went to collect my evening gown (2nd hand bought at plaza Parkroyal) and found out that the alteration was not done properly at all
complained to the designer!!! -- moreover, this is the second time that i am there (just for the alteration)
hopefully when i go down there again, the alteration would have been properly done!

chicory

hi tingting,

Usually they jus return the selected negatives, but i know Benny Ang returns all negatives, but he is expensive to engage too. The way he displays the photos in the album is very nice. But he definately is out of my budget. I also think 20 pcs is not really enuf, so i think Andrew Choi's 30 pcs outdoor package is attractive too. You want to enquire about Photospace's charges for separate package and per extra photo? I think is bad customer service too after emailing them twice but no response yet
. How about calling them up instead? Photolanguage is so exclusive, only tie with two bridal boutiques, both very exp. I am already very confused regarding the phtographers.

Mrs Quake, can i check if Dang or Cindy will follow the couple on the PS?

may

Pausini: e necklace are not done by me. It is by the bridal designer. I like them very much too,i am only making one choker for the evening gown - and i still have not complete it. In the end for the WG, i chose necklace 2. Which is more pearls than crystals.

You want something so elaborating and glam? If you want, i think i can help you make a grand piece but it is quite tedious and time consuming...so u must persist. U need wire and metal chain and lots of crystals.

Dont your bridal provides u with accessories?