(2003) Brides of year 2003

Hi Jady,

U are right! QIng Ming is on 5 Apr. I confirmed this with a forum girl this morning.. kekeeke.. so no worry. Anyway i have booked the ps date to be 16 may and family photo taking date to be on 18 may

Dun think will change my EG lor. Coz the shop say for the same design, they won't produce another similar one with different colour. So once i like any design, i must "chop" it liao.

Anyway think it is a minor issue to me

Hi RHS,

Yo, the gowns i have finalised need to be added extra padding.. hahahha.. we are not Amy Yip anyway.. kekekeke...

U have settled ur gowns rite? What designs are they?

Hi Pinkade,

Dun worry, like wat the gals say, u have plenty of time! Start to prepare now and u are never too late

HI All
Thanks a lot for your advices Vin, Pausini and Shook. I hadnt been able to log in until now to check your replies. Will heed advices and try to ask for photo from the bridal shop for the replacement instead. thanks again.
Best wishes to you all in your preparations!

I am new to this forum but will be an October bride too. I have booked my bridal package and will be going down next month to the salon to meet up with the designer to discuss abt. the design for my wedding and evening gowns. Now doing my "homework" to decide on the designs....

I am petie in size...really skinny. Wonder anyone here can give me some tips on deciding on my designs?

Hi Cath,

You made a mistake. My wedding is on the 10 Oct. Not 04 Oct.

Hi Jady,
Did you received my SMS today? I told you that I might need to attend a meeting that is late in the evening.....so don't know can make it or not. Will let you know tomorrow....btw where is the meeting place again and the time? If possible I can meet you gals up slightly later okies?

leo, my mistake.. not fitting but when to start designing gown etc... btw when is your PS?? mine is in early Aug so I'm trying to work backwards from your schedule. Make-up provided but dun have v good feeling about the make-up artist's works.. at least not those tat I've seen.

yve, roughly how much is the cost of facials at Devotion? I used to go to Clarins too.. the one at Wheellock Place but didn't find it too much different from doing masks on my own so stopped. but the body massage at Clarins is good though.

couldn't join in the conversation during the daytime...
working at a client's place
pretty busy... sigh

jady,
i've sent the details once more
let me know if it did not go thru
gosh, wonder whom i had sent to!

cath,
send the details liao

rhs,
I heard SKII's products quite good
but i have yet to try them myself

kk,
maybe you can try to change the backdrop
i have heard it done before, but not sure if there's any extra charges

hi pinkade,
welcome
me too quite kan chiong
but dun worry too much
afterall it's your wedding
must enjoy the preparation process as well ; )

i'm new to this thread so here goes

i'm one of those last min ones who haven't book the bridal boutique or the dinner yet!...

But yes... think it's gonna be Sept 03 coz the church chapel's all booked already and that's all that is confirmed

About the graceful image show... well i kinda went to them (just last week) after the bridal show. I missed the show but they were willing to extend the discounts on the package to me. so anyone interested may still be able to enquire about it this week...

Anyway i didn't sign up with them because i felt really pressurised to accept the package (can't remember the discount, it's with FH)

The gown design was quite varied and interesting but the photography was so so...
the whole time my FH and I were there, we were really tense because the sales person kept asking us what would take us to sign on the package...

Phew... nearly ran out of there the moment we could.

certainly hope the designer is a lot better than his/her salesperson.

Hee... anyway i'm wondering if anyone else is also last min like me
oso haven't book anything yet

take care

Me also about 156cm, i was almost 60kg in May 2001 now i'm about 51kg. B4 i tried all ways to lose weight:-
1)fruits for lunch & having soup only for dinner.
(4mths Mission Failed - lost less than 2kg &
put on again.)
2)Jogging at least twice a week.
Mission Failed - lost 2kg but realised my legs
getting bigger.)

The above din work for me cause my consumption is generally little (diet dun make much diff). Furthermore, sports have been part & parcel of the household. (jogging only make my big legs bigger only..wif muscle inside but a thick layer of concentrated fats around it...Yeaks!)

Last Aug, my weight drop suddenly...after a diving trip to Redang. Everyone tot i went to the Gym...but i din.
maybe becos of the large volume of water i drank during the trip & after when i return, as i'd a bad Sunburn & i was dehydrated.
And i also discovered that LOT OF MOISTURISER helps reduce stretch marks.
The sudden weight lose will definately cos sretch marks, but i realised marks is minimise. Even the ones i had previously got less obvious...Worth the try leh..

i forget to add ....Unfortunately, right now my weight is stagnant. Cos i keep forgetting to drink water (a least 2x1.25L bottle)when i'm busy & too engross @ work.
Been very busy cos after CNY...piles of work to clear.

Oh for those trying, U will definitely need to visit the washroom very often. Exercise does help also lah dun totally do without it....

Mornie Flowee,
I have booked my wedding dinner venue areadi, it will be at HIPV. Cool place

I'm not sure what's the norm charges for actual photography so...but i'm definately on a budget lor. But then again I'm a typical singaporean who is like looking out for cheap and good stuff heehee...

Hihi Pausini
Bengawasolo has various range of prices. If I remember correctly their cheapest cake voucher is $5.80.
My aunt said gotta get 8 items 4 gou da li : pig trotters, pin jin, bangle or si dian jin, hard liquor, cakes, long feng zhu, orange, ?? I haven't gone into the details yet. My MIL wants to arrange gou da li on 1st May
I oso fat fat leh. Wanna loose wt. sigh...........
Wanna c your photos @ [email protected]

Hihi Sue
Wedding cake voucher @ Prima Deli is $8 and $10.

Hihi May
It is a blessing in disguise dat u found another contracter dat charge u cheaper. @ least it cools a bit of your fire huh.
Thx 4 the offer of the glass door contact. I m not changing the doors provided. Wanna save $ 4 honeymoon. Sigh everything $$$$
I m not sure of the material for my kitchen top. The cabinet top @ my parents' hse looks the same as my kitchen top. It is dented @ some area liao. Then water gets into it. My dad said it is because I always splash water over the cabinet when I clean it

hey gals, i think the norm for actual day photography is around 600 for about 8 rolls of film

jojok, wat sort of exercise did u do?

gd mornin ladies

cher

do let mi koe if u need my help 2 locate the corset...

u aint big lah...
if u r big than i m bigger liao...

sure hope i grow in size after cny...
else the gown will b 2 small liao...

yi

yes my sis went 2 bang durin cny 5th daz if i aint wrong...
was there 4 1wk...
she bought mi some stuff...
nameli: a nice wall clock ( those in plastic backin kinda ), some nice dry flowers, a t-shirt 4 max n some undies 4 mi...

kk mei

if i aint wrong, my train is a circular one which is 1m long...
was even shorter than but i told amanda i wana a longer train...
mi lookin 4ward seein ur nice ps shot...

ladies

can indicate if u can make it on 5th mar or nt...
wenn so sad u aint able 2 make it on 5th mar...
hope 2 catch up with u soon...

Hi Wenn,

Ai ya, me lazy to go gym so went to some website & downloaded some exercise for slimming down & tonning up. Not sure if effective but thot saw some improvement esp my tummy. I m not v disciplined, only does it when I m home early or feel like it. Real lousy! But then, I m trying hard to exercise every alternate or once in 2 days.

jus, got yr email.

blythe, meeting place is seah st deli for dinner. but give me a call 1st b4 u come down

cath, where r u? must update oct brides list liao.

beibao, welcm!
designs, leave to yr bridal designer to suggest but normally REAL skinny people don't look quite nice in bustier gowns. btw, which is yr bridal shop?

gals, looking fwd to meetg u all tomoro!

hi kk,

thanks for ur description... erh... thou me not so sure of the name of different fabric, but still can imagine a bit lah.
sounds quite grand to me. During my first appt...the EG showed to me are all simple in design. Going for 2nd appt next week. Hopefully can choose someting this time round.

Hi Jady,

sorrie...couldn't meet u girls tis time. Maybe next time?

morning gals..

DK,
me also been 60kg way bk in 2001. Damn i was demoralized man.
Imagine when i was in sec, i was a sporty gal. Then out went into Poly, so many breaktime & all i noe was eat eat eat
. Then out to work, eat eat eat too. Then met my FH, very happy mood.. again eat & eat & eat. Goss... when i bought a weighing machine bk in 2001 & I saw my weight hit the big "6" ......... i tell u .. i was like getting crazy liao man .. all my confidence lost tremendously ... I was determined to shed off tat kilos man .......

I've tried all kinda diets/pills before. But still, i find exercising is the best. Now I feel more toner & healthier, & hehe some confidence is coming bk into me liao.

Anw hope to achieve 48kg by May, & 46 to 45kg by Nov.
17656.gif

Leo29,
We Novas not "ai dong gua", we Novas are "petite cute" .
wakaka..

twink|ets ~

Pausini: u havent sent the photos leh. I m waiting patiently. Went for the Robinson sale yesterday. Hubby managed to settle his shirts for the suit. So happy. We have been hunting high & low for suitable shirts.

Kare & Pausini: saw that guardian is having sale for the bio-light 3-day detox plan. They r now selling $ 55.90 for 2 bottles. I heard you got to follow the diet that they recommend for better results.

Sue: i also thinking of trimming my hair and recoloring it agian next week. Which is abt 2 weeks away from my ps. shld be ok right? I also need to go for pedicure & manicure b4 ps. I dont have a regular hairstylist - keep changing. U have to pay extra if u use your own haristylist hor? How much?

Shook: hubby just told me last nite his mom wants to come and visit my parents b4 qing ming to discuss abt wedding. i told him to tell his mom i dont want the si dian jin. And i will be having my guo da li on 1st May too.

For your own house, better dont splash water on the cabinet when u clean it! Oh what i did was buy from Robinsons these tempered kitchen glass top mat to put on the kitchen table top. They r heat resistent and got nice patterns. This way u wont damage the top. very cheap only abt $6.9-9.90 for a piece. u can find in robinsons househouse dept.

Meow,

Ceramic tile, the other problem is it cracked(my mum's hse). Not 1 tile but continuous 1 by 1 until now at least 10 tile. Nobody can tell us the reason. Very problematic now becos if we want to change, we need hack the whole hse floor. We just can’t change the few tiles that cracked becos of the different of old and new.

As for homo. tile, you really can’t feel the edge. The joining portion is level between tile, it’s a smooth. Far away see just like marble. I think the joining edge is even better then ceramic tile. As ceramic tile is round at edge so when they do the joining, they can’t level it to the height of the c.tile.

Yve,

Thanks for your info. I have been doing facial also but….. not regularly lah. Few mths go once. Those beauty salon that I went to so far do the extraction for me. After facial my face become so red. The package that you sign up is treatment or normal facial? Include ampoule? How much is their package and where is their location? Yah, normally it’s take around 2 hrs and sometimes I just fell asleep there.

Akira,

I think I will arrange my PS end august or early sept. Will avoid the lunar july that mth.

DK,

Oh….., you slim down alots. Jia You!

Sunnyling,

Then you better do some study now ff not how you going to tell the designer. Or you leave it to them?

pucca,

I will be wearing black top and pants on fri bah..

Date:21st Feb 03 (fri)

Confirmed attending
pooh-maynot attend
abrinas-may not attend leh
kiroro
pucca
beibei
priviledged
beanie
totoro
joyful

cutie-not in leh
whitely-not in
cutie 22-not in

tentatively:taddess??

so do I reserve for 9 person first??
beanie and totoro,you gals confirmed??

hi jady, rhs, cath, 1027, kk & jus

You gals are so warm & friendly. Thanks for the reassurance

Since i am new here, maybe i could share abit about myself. I got ROM in Dec 2001. Was procrastinating the banquet..hehe..hubby & i too lazy to go thru the prep process. Finally got our act together this year, booked Marriot for 23 Oct. Am currrently staying at Rivervale Crescent with hubby. Anybody there too?
Anyway have taken some actions after the panic yesterday..hehe..have actually arranged to meet 3 bridal boutiques this week & next, namely Bridal Veil, Tan Yoong & Silhouette. Any comments on these 3 in terms of service & etc? What should i look out for when i am there? Any homework that i need to do? Advice, please. Thanks
For PS, have almost decided on Chris Ling. But heard Benny Ang just as good. Anybody has studio photos taken by Benny Ang and willing to share? Can email me, please. Thanks

Ah sorry girls, I just login. So Anxious hee hee. dun laugh ok... Ok trying to login to my yahoo mail 1st.

May: I went down to Bedok Watson yesterday nite. Actually wanted to buy the Biolight u mention but after i look at the instructions i didnt get it. It is a solution rite? have to mixed it in water and drink for the whole day. have to follow the diet also. The bottle only last three days right?

Sue: got ur mail. thanks. FH keep changing mind. 1 min said ok going to NZ later change to Aust, another min said go Korea. Realise something, the place is getting cheaper and cheaper. *arghhhh*

Shook: "Si dian Jin" depend on MIL. but she have told me before hand she will give me. I just dun know is she bring me to get it or we go and select ourselves. True lor, the cabinet have to take care lor. so have to wipe dry everytime after washing.

OK, meaning time composing this posting i have send u lovely ladies my 1st selection session. Give me comments ok. some of them i tried but i didnt choose. Going to make another selection again. If not nice, tell me straight. It is ok with me. I need more eyes to help me.

hi flowee,

me also bought 2 zen-theme lamps, potpurri, scented cones (incence) for my love nest.
bought some wacoal bra sets there too coz itz real cheap only S$16+ for a bra.

me bought some clothings, a bag, wallet etc for myself and also bought sandals for my family members, bras for sister etc. everyone got at least one gift each. tatz actually explain y we spent so much. hahahaha

btw, as at now, shd be ok with 5 mar gathering. :-)

Feb,
The meet up session is not really up yet. Most of the girls are busy. So it'll be in March, either a weekend or weekday(friday).

Hi pinkade,

If you decide on Chris, that makes the 4 of us who have booked his services!
RHS, HF and i booked chris ling for our studio shots. When is your photoshoot? Mine's early July.

BV, TY and Silh are all famous (and more expensive) bridal boutiques. You'll most certainly fall in love with their gowns! Who you choose must ultimately be who you are comfortable with, in terms of the staff and their pricing.

Hi Beibao, WELCOME !!
Tell us more about yourself!

Here's a quick list of Oct brides again:

1. 1027, 04 Oct, Swissotel, Xristos, Jurong West

2. HF, 26 Oct, Oriental, Chris Ling, Amanda Lee Weddings, AnchorVale@SK

3. kk, 26 Oct, Qianxi (Farrer Park), Wedding Affairs (Previous Fame Bridal), Rivervale@
Sengkang

4. Serene, 24 Oct, Holiday Inn Parkview, Paris (at Tanjong Pagar), Compassvale
Crescent@SengKang

5. fishball, 17 Oct, Concorde, In Wedding, P21

6. lorraine,26 Oct, Le Meridien, Jawn Happy-ever- after & City bridal (photography)

7. Jady, 4th Oct Customary & 5th Oct banquet & solemnization. Hilton, Jazreel Low
Bridal, Sembawang

8. blissz, 30 Oct, The Fullerton, Ted Wu n Montage Studios, Rivervale Crest@Sengkang

9. poki, 26 Oct, Hotel Inter-Continental, Amanda Lee Weddings, Utopia, P21

10. Piggy, 4 Oct, Noble House, bridal not decided yet, CCK

11. leafy, 4 Oct, Qianxi, Bridal Zone, Queenstown

12. Blythe, 4 Oct, Church Wedding, 10 Oct, Hotel New Ottani, J&M Bridal, Ponggol 21.

13. cath, 12 Oct, Qianxi (Farrer Park), Seletar Broadway, Ponggol 21.

14. catlim, 25 OCt, Church wedding, Goodwood Park, Sengkang Fernvale

15. rhs, 25 Oct, Shangri-la, Silhouette, Chris Ling, not applying for HDB

16. Teri, 24 Oct. Hotel Intercon, Bridal?, Punggol

17. Joanne, 12 Oct, rasa sentosa, seletar broadway (probably), queensway

18. Jus, 24 Oct, Raffles hotel, Ted's Collection, Everafter (Albert Chua)

19. Cookiecorgi, 9 Oct 03

20. Snowry, wedding date = not fixed yet, banquet= also not yet, Bridal package = Golden Horse Award, Home sweet home = Segar, Bukit Panjang

21. Jingle Bell; 27 oct; Swissotel Merchant Court; Wedding Present; Jurong West

22. Pinkade, 23 Oct, Marriot, Chris Ling / Benny Ang, Rivervale Crescent

23. Beibao

24. (pls continue from here)

How's your preparations going on?? Me mia-ed for a while cos quite bz recently....Thanks Jady arranging the gathering

hi pinkade

welcome!! me staying at rivervale crest, just behind rivervale mall....should be very near you rite??

Wow...the 3 designers u have chosen are all good choices....BV is good if you like crystals...in fact BV was one of the 3 bridals that I shortlisted earlier too....but decided on Ted Wu finally

leo, I have already fixed my PS on 1 Aug (if I didn't remember wrongly). so I guess I should start talking to my designer sometime in early March. not pan tang so picked the 7th lunar month.. figured tat most people will prob avoid tat month so might get better service and attention hopefully. /clipart{crazy} anyway already ROM'ed in the lunar 7th month so won't make much difference

Novgroom,
Thanks. If the screws on the bed frame will be loosen, then got bed frames without screws or not huh?

Leo29,
How come the CT cracks? Kinda strange leh, my kitchen tiles also use CT, not cracks too. I really wish to use marble, but hubby dun want.

HT not sharp edges? That's strange, my friend's house got leh. CT will feel uneven? Oh no, i'm confuse now.

Hi blissz, haven't heard from you for a while! Glad that you're back !

Pinkade: nah, no recommendations coz i didn't shop extensively for boutiques.
Chris is very easy to talk to; we signed up with him mainly becoz we felt comfortable with him. Very impt to feel relaxed with the photographer, otherwise can't smile naturally!

Babyblue: I received your email. Thanks for the help!

naturally: it's ok, I have the price list. Now, I have sort of decided how I should pick my bridal package. I guess, in life, we can't have everything or pre-empt what will happen too much. I have decided to prioritise the different factors affecting my choice in the following order:

1) Budget
2) x-factor of a bridal shop
3) photographer

This will help me focus on what I can afford and what I need rather than what I want. I guess when it come to 'wants', a lot of us will have many 'wants' which we may not be able to afford.

Hi Flowee Jie,

If i didn't remember wrongly, my train also circular one. My coordinator even taught me how to "pump" air into the train before march in

Pausini: got your photos. Wow, u really try alot of gowns hor. must be very tiring.

Ok: my comments - u look nice in bustier design. you dont look fat pau lah...

For the evening gown - i like u in photo 6 - which is the midnight blue bustier design with shawl. The v-shape neckline suits you.
U tried the red spaghetti straps one - also not too bad - but maybe you want a v neckline and not straight one. And i think u shld go for thicker straps. Rather than thin one.
You tried one gown with a plunging v line behind -it does not look nice.

For the wedding gown, i notice most gowns do not have a destinct waistline. Do they have a can can inside.
Mine is v-shape, i cant wear those with no break in the middle. Have you tried one with round or v dropping waistline. The break at the waist will make you look tall. U might want to ask them to let you try such gowns.
I like photo 15, it looks good on you. But no break at the waist line. And photo 14 with the back is nice. plain and simple.
Photo 26-28 also look very nice.

In conclusion - i think bustier design suits you and try to go for a gown with a drop waitline so that you can wear a can can inside. By doing so tummy cannot be seen and no need to wear corsets.

Hope this helpful. I look forward to your 2nd fitting pixs. Must take many pixs too.

the detox diet is 3-day and it is fluid. You r suppose to detox. i havent try so cannot tell you anything leh.

Hi Jus,

Yes, changing the backdrop is my hubby's suggestion. Not a totally change, but just addition of some different colours, like violet, pink, etc.

Hi Beibao,

U are very skinny rite? My coordinator actually said that long sleeves gowns suit skinny a lot. U like long sleeves? But i am sure u have no problem looking for gowns u like

Hi Pinkade,

Me at Rivervale crescent too. Blk 18x series

Hi Leafy,

U with qianxi farrer or marina?

hi all... since you gers toking abt facials, i've emailed you some info of a shop my colleague opened. i've not tried it, but i think the rates are quite competitive. for your consideration! ;P

meow... think cracks are coz the cement is not levelled, so got gaps. my fren say now got something called chemical cement, i think, tat will not hv gaps. u may want to check with your contractors.

wooden beds can be quite 'shaky'. 1 test my hubby do is to shake the bed and see if the legs wobble. else, u will hv to endure a sqeaking bed next time!

yi

yes yes the under garments r reali cheap...
but i felt tat the quality is diff from the ones sold here...

kk mei

think circular train is pretti common in sg...
but how 2 pump air in2 ur train???
u will b usin can-can 2 rite...

oh another thing... u gers are gonna wear your actual day gown for PS? aren't you afraid it will get dirty? i always tot PS gowns are diff, coz all my frens also like tat, so i'm actually choosing an old gown for PS, and new gown for actual. but hubby will be wearing his suit tho'... hmm, then how to take those 'standing in water' shots?
any comments??

jojok

been takin up aerobics classes...
hvnt seen the effect as mi juz a beginner 2 it...
mi aint disciplined either coz sometime do skip class... :P

ocean

u mentioned u oredi booked ur church venue but hvnt settled ur bridal n dinner venue???
might wana 2 check ard since both r impt items 4 ur weddin...

sept03 bride

u might wana 2 check out the actual daz photographer thread in sb...
u might find ur ideal photographer from there...
remember 2 check out their portfolio b4 commitin...

wenn

u muz b lookin 4ward 2 ur 1st appt...
if can take pixs remember 2 take more n show us hor...