(2003) Brides of year 2003

pucca

im ok with beibei's suggestions ... to meet up on 21 Feb ..

grace

hmmm... how to change the mattress only... its the mattress that is expensive.. cham ah... wat will happen if we use back the mattress? just ask first.

=(

flowee

bubbler

veri detailed explaination...
can 'ma fan' u 2 check 4 mi wat animal chiong on 10th sept???
n the gd timin???
coz i onli hv my date but the details r all vivid...
tks a lot...

smartie

Hi flowee

my mistake- I meant 1st session, not 1st fitting. Too many things on my mind.....

Wondering if I shld change to a Monday instead, given your feedback.

cath

hi 1027
so nice to know tat u can shift yr stuff over and stay liao.. =) u can now scream and shout with nobody biz..hahhaa :p

akira

welcome padre

are, have fun at your fitting on Fri..tell us all about it okie. if you dun mind, maybe on one of your fittings I would like to tag along just to look-see.

grace, I think the mattress thingy is just some sort of custom or superstition.. if you not pan tang then dun have to worry about it loh.my mum also has basically the same rule as are's.. my only worry is tat I can't get my apartment in time for the wedding and we still have to get a new bed.. dunno where to place it in tat case!!

bubbler

Hi Flowee,

No prob. Congrats! Congrats!Its a good date for marriage also
That day chiong Dragon so same rule applies
So in the event that if some1 (smaller in bei fen than you) happens to be a dragon, she/he should hide in the bedroom when your hubby comes to pick you up
After your hubby fetches you and leave the house, then she/he can join other occasion

There is an exceptionally good timing on that day!
which is from 11 to 1pm for Jin Cha ceremony to your in-laws but that timing chiong rat so can you take it? 2nd consideration if that timing is too late for you? But its very wang timing...

bubbler

sorry flowee, maybe to make myself clearer...during the timing that was given,quite a lot have to be done that it your hubby cannot fetch you before the timing and when he picks you up, you guys must also jin cha to your in-laws during the same 2 hours interval so 11 to 1 could be quite late liao... coz you need to rush to hotel..

want another timing?

are

akira... i actually tried some gowns when i decided to sign them, so i expect friday to be juz trying gown aft gown! ;P when is your fitting? a fren who's getting married 1st dec is coming along tis friday oso, feel free to join me, i'm juz 'fraid you'll be bored! i shd be reaching the shop ard 6pm.

grace... agree with akira, its juz superstitution. & since i can do it, juz oblige lor. if you dun mind, then juz buy a new set of covers then. tat's wat my fren did, she already used it for 3 yrs, no pt throwing away a gd bed! ;P

novlkf22

Hope is not too late to wish all of u a HAPPY NEW YEAR ahead and be blessed with a wonderful marriage. i jus hope Nov can come abit faster sometimes...the month where everyone here will become happy brides.

have MIA for quite a while. beginning of the yr is usually busy for me so can only logon in between free time.

For me i hv to fix a date for the an chuang thingy according to my MIL and mother, so hv to arrange for the bed and mattress to be deliver nearer to the date. hehe...me abit kiasu got the set in dec last yr at one of the exhibition. my 1st fitting will also be around mid Feb, after CNY. surprisingly, i am not so worried of my bridal package now, i think all ur encouragement help = ) and i realise i hv loads of other stuff to do ...work out guests list, source for caterers, who to be my jie mei etc...errrgh...

leo29 dun worry too much or rush urself cos' eventually u sure be able to find a bridal package u like

akira

are, I think it would be fun watching someone try wedding gowns. none of my close frens have gotten married so I haven't been an observer before. but this Fri I can't make it.. next time...

leo29

Are,
I think before An Chuang is OK. But after that cannot touch lor. Hm..., funny lei, I remember last time someone told me before their wedding day, her hubby slept with a little boy on the new bed to symbolise Zhao Seng Gui Zi. The other one I came across is to ask a little boy to roll on the bed. You heard of this before?
Wow...., you really planned it ahead. Trial make up, still acceptable lah but PS too early liao lah. Don't worry you will look pretty. Sometime I find OTR is good, at least you can try until you are happy. But try to go down when they have new arrival lor if not are the balance that ppl don't want.

Grace,
Akira is rite. If you not pan tang, it's ok. But.... better follow lor, anyway is for our own good. Never ask what is the consequences if we don't follow. Anyone know?

Akira,
Your case is OK. As long wedding day have new bed, it's fine. You don't have to have a new bed when you move into your apartment.

cutie22

Count me in too. 21st Feb is fine. Cant confirm on next week though... Let me know the date.

flowee

smartie

no worries...
u hv fun durin 1st design session...
as 4 myself, oredi confirmed my design in dec 02...
in mid jan my guy will b doin his measurement n showin our designer his ideal suit...
currentli mi pretti relax...

u can check with travis if he has any mon slot nt taken...
btw which daz did u pick???

bubbler

congrates 2 u 2 4 joinin us as sept brides...

u mentioned abt chiong with dragon???
but i m a dragon ger myself...???
since its my 'weddin' n i hv jie mei ( same age but older in mth )who is a dragon, i think dun hv 2 practice the 'hidin' in bedrm when my guy is there 2 pick mi up...
lol...

tks so muz 4 checkin 4 mi...

beside the timin given 4 the jin cha ceremony, any earlier hrs???
wish 2 drop by my love nest b4 headin back 2 my parents pl 2 jin cha...
mi aint holdin my dinner in a hotel ballrm...
dun think i need 2 b @ the rest changin rm tat earli...

shook

Hihi May
Haven't think of march-in song yet. Any suggestion anyone?

Hihi Pausini
The "cock" bowl v nostalgic. Like it. Wow, the things @ CK cheap cheap cheap!! I haven't get utensils 4 my love nest yet. Dat is the 2nd or may b 3rd phase of the housing thing

Hihi Moon
I thot of going to Europe. But haven't really look in2 it. Dunno whether to go free n easy or guided tour.

Thot of getting another couple to go honeymoon together. Anyone interested?

leo29

Oh..... Novlkf22, you are so kiasu. Bought the mattress so early, just joking. For bridal package, I tell myself to settle it before CNY so I can enjoy my last singlehood CNY collecting as many ang bao as possible, hahaha... Next year, pocket will have a big hole, have to give ang bao already mah. But some of them said 1st year no need to give, don't know how true. But no matter how, we still have to give our parent, FIL and MIL. Count and count, we still around 10 more mths to go. Sometimes hope our big day come faster but sometimes hope time can go slower, stress lei, so many things to do.

meekoo

thanks for the advise... i am counting down now cos the extraction will be tomorrow 5pm... v scared... : |

wedding march... anyone had watched the korean movie " my sassy girl" ? i love the song "cannon " and " i believe" thot of using that

we are planning for the short honeymoon 1st cos afraid of $$$ will not recover from the banquet... maybe bintan resort kind of things... then later end of the year can go korea / hongkong or new zealand... depend lot on the $$$ we are having by then : (

pucca

paiseh,
i tink of food oni ... place to meet up.. guess somewhere in town lah ... more convenient for everyone go back

may

Pausini: what is "cock" bowl? i also havent start buying my kitchen stuff. I think i will do so after reno. So that i got place to store them. Now that the house will only be ready after CNY, i shall wiat till after CNY. But my MIL has kept a pail of plates and bowl for me to use...so scary...she says it is antique and very nice...
Sigh....

Meekoo: dont worry about the extraction, think positive, u will lose weight after that. Tonite u must go eat a huge meal and good food. Before i went for my op, a week before i really gorge like crazy, it was worth it!

Moon: havent really plan for honeymoon coz we are worried of $$. May and June is very hot except Europe, so it will be good to go there. I would like to go back to Spain and visit POrtugal.

are

akira... sure, will let u noe when's the next round.

leo29... ya, i was abt to say tat. my mum oso hv tat belief, actual day muz let a little boy roll on the bed, so will give birth to a boy mah! hahaha... but i told her i wun hv kids going to my pl, so can't do tat lor. not sure why cant touch the bed, or wat will happen tho'. my PS will be in may/june, but juz want to take my time to settle things & not rush when the date is near lor.

as for the ang bao, my side's belief is tat 1st yr can still take, but muz give. 2nd yr onwards is pure loss liao! ;P

rhs

Congrats 1027! Yeah, it's nice to have your own place

I'll update the list since I've signed up with Silhouette

1. 1027, 04 Oct, Swissotel, Xristos, Jurong West

2. HF, 26 Oct, Oriental, Chris Ling,Bridal not settled yet, AnchorVale@SK

3. kk, 26 Oct, Qianxi (Farrer Park), Wedding Affairs (Previous Fame Bridal), Rivervale@ Sengkang

4. Serene, 24 Oct, Holiday Inn Parkview, Paris (at Tanjong Pagar), Compassvale Crescent@SengKang

5. fishball, 17 Oct, Concorde, In Wedding, P21

6. lorraine,26 Oct, Le Meridien, Jawn Happy-ever- after & City bridal (photography)

7. Jady, 4th Oct Customary & 5th Oct banquet & solemnization. Hilton, Jazreel Low Bridal, Sembawang

8. blissz, 30 Oct, The Fullerton, Ted Wu n Montage Studios, Rivervale Crest@Sengkang

9. poki, 26 Oct, Hotel Inter-Continental, Amanda Lee Weddings, Utopia, P21

10. Piggy, 4 Oct, Noble House, bridal not decided yet, CCK

11. leafy, 4 Oct, Qianxi, Bridal Zone, Queenstown

12. Blythe, 4 Oct, Church Wedding, 10 Oct, Hotel New Ottani, J&M Bridal, Ponggol 21.

13. cath, 12 Oct, Qianxi (Farrer Park), Seletar Broadway, Ponggol 21.

14. catlim, 25 OCt, Church wedding, Goodwood Park, Sengkang Fernvale

15. rhs, 25 Oct, <venue?>, Silhouette, <photographer?>, not applying for HDB

blythe

1027: So happy for you that you are shifting to your new place this weekend. I just got my keys and just checking the defect for my new flats last weekend. Hubby said he will submit the defect list to them and wait for them to make arrangement to walk through the flat with the officer.

Next will be looking for reno company, very budget for our renovation....once completed will be somewhere around my wedding.

Another thing is that, my husband is going korea to work this month and then might get posted to Taiwan for another six months....I don't know can handle everything by myself or not....sob sob....

When he come back for wedding then might also be going Japan for another six months....die lah...also don't know how...

pausini

Shook: HIghly recommended. hee hee.. u very cute leh... anyway, i think they will still have it so dun have to rush to get it.

May: aiyo, i also dun know how to explain. the old type of bowls. porcelain kind. My MIL also give me some but not enough. so bowl are too big as a rice bowl. i like those small kind just like the japanese. then i need big one for soup but she didnt give me any. End up not big not small. Now my bowls and plate like rojak. all kind of style. MIL give one style, friend one style. we get another style. actually, dun rush lor. when u rush, u tend to pay more. My FH and I went to chinatown, and we saw a few stall selling the tabletop cloth (for deco) using the traditional material. Very popular now. Robinson is selling it at $160 for the 1.5m or 2m top.
At chinatown can get it for $20 but deoend on the material.

Shook: Did u get any of these tabletop cloth from china. i heard they are very cheap and good. they also have the chopsticks, tablemap etc. very nice.

Meekoo: Dun worry lah. My sister got rid of two of her wisdom teeth at one gone and she slim down alot cos she cant eat. even drinking also got problem as the blood keep streaming out. Oops i hope i didnt scare u! I think u have to prepare some liquid food and a straw...

hong

Hi vodka,

Wah, left a few more days and you still got to go for dress fitting??? Will it be too rush for you?
i can imagine the hair let down with tiara...i'm leaving it all to my hair-stylist to do it. Hopefully it turns out fine

Well, as for me, most of the things are done except for
- facial
- mani/pedi
- rehersal for church wedding tomorrow

Got alot of small issues to handle, and of course the most impt table arrrangement which changes almost everyday??!!

Well, really looking forward to honeymoon...take a long break from work! :p

Hi rhs, congrats on deciding on silhouette! I liked their designs also, but i ended up signing up with some other boutique. The Silh packages were also quite pricey to me ...

Blythe, wah, very xiong to do reno all alone leh! No choice, job is more impt esp for the men who are the main breadwinners of the household. Overseas postings are good exposure, so it'll be unfair for the wife to ask the husband not to go.

Well, i can't offer much help other than to lend a listening ear and if necessary, a shoulder to cry tears of reno-frustration. Let us know if you need some comments / advise whatever. I'm sure the other girls here will all offer a listening ear at the very least.

Oh yah, make sure you keep a list of the defects for yourself, so that both the HDB officer and you have the same things when you do the inspection.

And if you have tiles at home, spend 1-2 hours to tap every single tile to check if its hollow beneath. I did that at my place until my back hurt, but the efforts paid off coz we found 4 tiles that were hollow beneath.

FYI, I'll be on leave for the next 3 days, so i'll be silent till Monday. By then, i would have shifted in officially. Will update you all on my progress. Have a nice week ahead !

pucca

oops, hvnt type finish my msg ..

i was saying ... perhaps we can make a reservation for 10 ppl 1st @ which ever place we are going ... wat do you gals think?

10 ixxit too many?

abrinas

Genki or Sakae, same same. Both also sell sushi. Which one? Don't know whether Friday allow booking or not. some don't allow cos consider weekend mah.

beibei

Date:21st Feb 03 (fri)
confirmed:pooh
abrinas
kiroro
pucca
priviledged
anymore??

me ok with sakae sushi!
can the rest who have yet to respond pls do so!

grace

okie.. will discuss with bf...
cos its a real pity abt the bed.. was $1200 plus... sigh.

are.. happy fitting..
keep us informed okie.

babbit

Wow! Everybody suddenly interested in all these crashing or not on that day. Ok before everyone dive in and believe everything in Tong Sheng (Tong shu means all lose, so we call it Tong sheng, everything win). Muz understand when they say crash against that particular zodiac, you muz oso see the year. Not all years in the zodiac year will be affected. And the time of the day makes lots of difference too. In fact the choosing of an auspicious day involves the birthday and timing of yourself and FH. Not juz year. One thing is for sure, 6 sep is good for all rabbits in the year of 1975.

freesia

Hi Naturally, haha....found tat we have quite a few things in commom ...
No problem, I can give her a call.....Just curious, have you set your photo shoot day oreadi?

taddess

I can't confirm till nearing that day cause think have assignments to hand in. So better don't promise first but I would love to have sushi...

rhs

Blythe, hang in there ... I know it's not easy but sure u can do it. Make u stronger oso. Maybe u can join ur hubby to Japan after ur wedding??

1027, Sil is actually above our budget, but we fall in love with the designs

meekoo

hi may

i am gorging now... ice-cream, oreo biscuits tibits etc. still very nervous and scared.. my FH want to accompany me by taking leave but i rejected! cos i am the in pain not him... no point for him just to waste the leave....

pausini: cock plate.... i know those very old old one... so the concept of your kitchen will be pretty oldies... that interesting!

maybe after the reno shall send application to "Open Seaseme"! might win cash!

btw how long does it take your sister to stop bleeding and pain?

so the next few day u gals will see me very active in this forum cos i will be staying at home bi guan siu lian...

flowee

bubbler &amp; sep brides
had checked with my guy over the date given 2 mi...
seems like its nt by the tong shu but it's 'ask from god'...
n besides myself, my dad n fil r 'dragons' 2...
my guy was sayin since we oredi settled with the weddin issues juz go ahead with the given date...
weddin is a happi occasion!!!

vodka

Hi Hong,

Ya lor, thks to FL...only discussed the design of my cocktail dress last wk. As for TY's EG, just a last fittin b4 big day.

shook

Hihi Meekoo
Agree wif May. Think positively. U will loose tons n tons of wt
, no pain no gain (should b loose instead of gain
). Can always "eat back" during honeymoon (but our gd friend here oreadi start gorging now

Wish u no pain got loose 2day @ 5pm

Hihi Pausini
I din get table cloth fm China. Saw many chopsticks set wif table cloth but my luggage is too small to hold them. I bought things 4 my family, colleagues n my hubby's family. So, love nest ones leave out lor.