(2003) Brides of year 2003

beibei

pucca 75,
no problems..we must share share mah..same month brides mah..

abrinas and pucca 75,
envy u can paint your own house!!my hubby so lazy rather paid $900 for the contractor to do!!!mine is only 4room so I wanted very much to paint ourselves...argued with him on this...could have saved the $900!!

jazz

Shook, Sue, it's also partly my fault. I just recovered from flu and I forgot all about it. Wah everyday, clean the house almost until midnight, sleep very late at nightguess that's why I fell sick again... :p Just don't understand how come there can be so much dust in the house. We vaccum and mop the floor almost everyday but surpisingly, the dust just seem to be able to find it's way back... puzzling... ;p Do you have this problem?

Pausini, hehe... I'm treating my new house as a "weekend chalet" too!
Travelling to work is quite difficult without the NE Mrt so I prefer to stay in Bedok till the Mrt is ready.

Hi Beanie and Meekoo, how are you doing?

pausini

Oh Jazz also live in Bedok! Me too! which part? me at bedok ave 1. very near to the Shing Song Supermrkt.

New house will tend to gather dust. when u move it to stay the dust woldnt gather that much. Dun ask me why, it seems to be like that. Same for my house too.

Y

yi

Morning flowee,

just went to order red wine yesterday for our banquet.
order a total of 48 bottles on consignment. ;p
order my cakes yesterday too liao.
so another 2 things off my list!

next sunday is my GDL liao, so fast hor! hehe

i'm also not into such countdwn parties but guess i just wanna try out and see whatz the feelings like! :p

rying to stay relaxed too.
the biotherm mask that i use is out of stock so i bought the new neutrogena peel mask yesterday to try lor!

dun worry abt your gowns, think they wld turn out well! trust your designer okay?

yap, hubby knows most of my colleagues and friends liao but he must also entertain his friends and colleagues mah, so better for me to come down first!

i think when kids come along, really must save up alot liao coz thatz a big committment.
tatz why i told mike we shd go europe this year coz who knows next year we might have a baby liao. hehehehe

o, we will be going to switzerland, paris and london.

just love paris!

abrinas

Hi pucca75

Mine don't really need to reno that much cos we bought a premium apartment ie. flooring/tiling for toilets & kitchens all done, so only need to do kitchen, grilles, lighting, and air-con.

But we need to paint first cos we bought a bed and it is coming in (tog with mattress) 1st week Apr. FH says easier if actual reno starts after our wedding - concentrate n finish 1 thing first then finish another.

ya, i think after the painting, we will be dead tired too. Most prob, hands cannot raise past shoulder level

Hi beibei

Nvrmnd, look at it this way - paying is one way to save time and effort and u won't be dead-tired. Me and hub's cannot bear to spend the $900 to pay the painters. $900 can buy, maybe, a TV or a wardrobe (2-door one).

May I know where u get the nice cartoons from? (u know, the one with the cute balls with expressions)

naturally

Hi gals, how's the new year so far?

Freesia, i'll be meeting doreen in 3 weeks' time, so gotta do homework soon! Wat abt u?
Me too... my FH also kept asking me if i have decided my gown design... WG shd be easier to design, it's either bustier ballgown or bustier a-line for me, embroidery at bustline, and with a small train behind.... EG is a headache, Doreen doesn't have a lot of EG to show me, cos most EGs are taken back by the brides.... i'll just have to read more magazines before i can decide lor!

Enya... u sure u wanna give up the CNY goodies??? But bak gua is sooooooo nice, eat first then go gym work out later lah....
hahahaa, shan't tempt u further! :ppp

Piper,
Yesterday morning, i could hear from my kitchen window, the PL principal speaking to students over the speakers.... of cos her voice was too muffled for me to make out wat she's saying, i stay 2 blocks away from PL, but still it makes me miss the good old school days..... 1st day of school was always so exciting!! Hmm... the P5 tudung gal must feel so disappointed for being rejected from school....

Y

yi

hi jen,

i'm also hoping to come down earlier to mingle with my friends and colleagues who make it a point to come to my banquet.

hope that you are able to find another good artiste which will takes a load off your mind again. Relax and cheer up!

btw, are you gals proposing or sourcing for both the day and night hairstyles or are you all leaving it to the makeup artiste?

pucca75

hi abrinas,
personally i tink its easier to paint an empty hse as you do not hv to move ur stuff ard

and oso its better to paint after reno, coz got lot of dust one leh .. hv to clean b4 u paint .. and then hor ..sometimes workers may accidentally dirtied ur wall lor ..
14596.gif

well, these are juz my views lah .. coz i know how tiring painting is and would not like to see ur effort go down to waste ...

if u start ur reno after wedding, where are u staying then ?
14597.gif

clyne

Happy New Year!

Meow,
Take care..the weather now siao siao..1 moment hot like anything next moment rain like crazy..
Hope your finger is better now..must be v painful..

Yve,
U play badminton uh? I play badminton almost every weekend..but not these few weeks cos everyone busy with Christmas..

yippy !!! if only every week was like that ... work 2 days, rest on wednesday and work another 2 more days before the weekend !!
wah, shiok man !!!

pucca

beibei,
actually hor .. i wanted to ask ppl to paint one leh .. its hubby say tt to paint ourselves... but i like the results lor ... then last mth, we did a small reno hor , the walls got a few lines left over by the workers leh ... a bit sim tia leh
... but luckily not so visible lor ... mayb hubby will buy a small can of paint to paint over it

beibei

abrinas,
you can go into these websites and download them!
they are the latest craze-i call them 'bao bao'

http://www.snowkitten70.net/kaoani
http://members.xoom.virgilio.it/Reska/web2/kaoanimix.htm
http://www.twendysplace.co.nz/kao.html
http://www.ryka.it/kaoanigif/
http://www.witchteam.it/kaoani.htm
http://www.micaelahomepage.net/kaoani.htm
http://www.papepo.net/club/2_kao.htm

abrinas,
That is the problem with my hubby too lazy and too pampered(only son)so he rather give others the money to paint.me ald told him there is no furniture yet so it is much easier to paint yet he insist no!!I feel there will be a great sense of achievement if we can paint our house ourselves!

priviledged

Hi friends,
Been away a long time - visiting FH overseas. It's so exciting hearing pple having their PS and renos.
I was just wondering about the reno - would it be foolish of me if I engaged a reno firm/ID firm to do JUST the kitchen according to my own specifications, and then sourced separately for my own air-cons, grills, water heaters, lights etc? We don't intend to do any major renovation at all, and will probably buy furniture as and when.

Many reno firms have packages that offer too much renovation when we only want the minimum. Which is more cost effective?

okeanosmao

gd morn!!

me too.also like to play badminton but hard to find kakis leh..always find my best fren to play but can only play single with her..=( that will be tiring if play for 2 hrs..mayb next time can play 2gether.

pucca

hi privileged,

perhaps u find out from the reno/ID firm regarding the installation charges for those u things u wan to src out by urselves. Sometimes, reno/ID firm get a better price on these items.

At the same time, u can oso find out how much does the supplier of those items charge u for delivering & installing them (if any)

i tink u can selectively/specifically tell the reno firms which are the items you wan to do according to the quotation they gave u lor ..

like my mum's place, the contractor came to my mum's hse, we told them wat we wanted to do, he gave us a quotation, thereafter my parents think tt some of it actually dun need, so we juz told them which items we want ...

yve

clyne and okeanosmoa:
yep, i play badminton.. picked it up again after so many years.. play 2 times a week. thurs with colleagues and fri with FH's frens.. just another form of exercise other than the usual gym routine.. got another group on sat also, but dun join them regularly.. want to organise a badminton session?

haiz.. today super-no mood to work.. half the office not in.. surfing around for honeymoon places..

beibei

Hi Priviledged,
Welcome back!
14607.gif

Do u think we can organise a June bride gathering after CNY??what do u guys think?
14608.gif

abrinas

hi pucca

Agree with u, might be sim tia if workers damage our paint. But FH says want to paint before the works, so no choice lah. Nvmnd, will tell the contractor regarding the paint and ask them to be careful. Thanks for the advice.

hi beibei

ya, me and FH like the sense of achievement.

hi Privileged

Me also like u - me also want to do just the kitchen and others all on own sourcing. But must see whether like this feasible or not, might not be cost effective and might spent more, so must think think first.

shook

Hihi Jazz

I oso face the same problem. Every weekend go 2 love nest vaccum, mop the floor then leave with all windows closed. Come the following week the floor is still very dusty. Very vexed

My friend said the dust land on the floor when there is nobody staying in the hse. When there is people staying in the hse, there is human movement then the dust gets carried away by human movement. So not so much of the dust land on the floor. Think it makes sense.

U take care. CNY coming, dun fall sick. Hug hug
your_image.gif

leo29

Love,
Mine wedding also at 23 Nov.

Cher,
Yah, better book fast. You left with 10 mths only. I guess you will be going to Oct threat, we going to miss you. Me still dong dong hi, haven't finish visiting of bridal shop.

yve

See below for guide of best places for honeymoon for various months. From www.theknot.com. Feel free to pass it to others.

JANUARY & FEBRUARY
Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Bali, Belize, Brazil, Canada (ski destinations), Caribbean, Central & South Africa, Chile, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Maldives, Mexico, Morocco, New Zealand, The Florida Keys, USA (ski destinations)

MARCH
Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Belize, Brazil, Canada (ski destinations), Caribbean, Central & South Africa, Chile, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Egypt, French Polynesia, Hawaii, Maldives, Mexico, Morocco, The Florida Keys, USA (ski destinations, Southeast, Southwest)

APRIL
Argentina, Bahamas, Belize, Brazil, Canada, Caribbean, Central & South Africa, Chile, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Egypt, French Polynesia, Hawaii, Italy, Maldives, Mauritius, Mexico, Morocco, Spain, The Florida Keys, USA

MAY
Belize, Bermuda, Brazil, Britain, Canada, Caribbean, Central & South Africa, Czech Republic, Fiji, France, French Polynesia, Greece, Hawaii, Ireland, Italy, Madagascar, Maldives, Mauritius, Mexico, Morocco, Seychelles, Spain, Thailand, The Florida Keys, USA

JUNE
Bermuda, Brazil, Britain, Canada, Central & South Africa, Czech Republic, Fiji, France, French Polynesia, Greece, Hawaii, Ireland, Italy, Madagascar, Maldives, Mauritius, Seychelles, Spain, Thailand, USA (Alaska, Northeast)

JULY & AUGUST
Bermuda, Brazil, Britain, Canada, Central & South Africa, Czech Republic, Fiji, France, French Polynesia, Ireland, Kenya, Madagascar, Malaysia, Seychelles, Thailand, USA (Alaska, Northeast)

SEPTEMBER
Australia, Bermuda, Brazil, Britain, Canada, Central & South Africa, Czech Republic, Fiji, France, French Polynesia, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Madagascar, Maldives, Mauritius, Seychelles, Spain, Thailand, USA

OCTOBER
Australia, Bali, Belize, Bermuda, Brazil, Canada, Central & South Africa, Egypt, Fiji, French Polynesia, Hawaii, Italy, Madagascar, Maldives, Mauritius, Mexico, Morocco, Seychelles, Spain, USA

NOVEMBER
Australia, Bahamas, Bali, Belize, Brazil, Canada (ski destinations), Central & South Africa, Egypt, French Polynesia, Hawaii, Mauritius, Mexico, Morocco, New Zealand, Seychelles, Spain, USA (ski destinations, Southeast, Southwest)

DECEMBER
Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Bali, Belize, Brazil, Canada (ski destinations), Caribbean, Central & South Africa, Chile, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Mexico, Morocco, New Zealand, The Florida Keys, USA (ski destinations)

WEATHER BY DESTINATION
Frost be damned, you want to go to Paris? We'd be the last person to stop you! But, we feel morally obligated to remind you, that your dream destination may not be so dreamy in the dead of winter, or heat of summer. Below, some of the most popular honeymoon destinations -- some because they enjoy relatively sublime weather year-round -- and their not so pretty seasons.

HAWAII

Best months: March to July, October and November

Worst months: Far from horrible, December and January are coolest (average afternoon temperature is 75 degrees); August and September are hottest (average 92 degrees). The wettest months are from November to March.

Note: In general, every island's northern shore gets more rain than the southern. Kaui and the Big Island's northern shores receive slightly more than other islands.

BAHAMAS

Best months: November to April

Worst months: It is hottest (up to 89 degrees on average) and rainiest from June to October

BERMUDA

Best months: May to October

Worst month: January and February

CARIBBEAN

Best months: Technically, December to May, when the area is coolest and enjoys the most wind, but average temperatures year-round hover between 78 and 88 degrees

Worst months: "Official" hurricane season runs from June to November; the worst months are August, September, and October (islands near South America -- Aruba, Bonaire, Curacao, Trinidad, and Tobago -- are outside the hurricane danger zone)

Note: High-altitude and coastal spots are cooled by trade winds year-round (a good salve during the hotter and more humid summer months)

EUROPE

Best months: May through September or October

Worst months: December to February

FLORIDA

Best months: March, April, October, November

Worst months: May to September

Note: The Florida Keys experience temperate Caribbean-like weather year-round.

LAS VEGA

Best months: March, April, October, November

Worst months: June to September

Note: July and August are scorchers here, but at least it's a "dry" heat (humidity is very low year-round)

MEXICO

Best months: October to May

Worst months: Rainy season runs June through September, but usually only involves a short daily dousing. It is also hotter during the summer months.

Note: Coastal playgrounds and low-lying sections of the country are hotter than higher-altitude destinations such as Mexico City, Guadalajara, and the heartland "Silver Cities."

SOUTHEAST ASIA (BALI, THAILAND)

Best months: October to February

Worst months: Hottest between March and May; rainy from June to September

SOUTH PACIFIC (FIJI, FRENCH POLYNESIA)

Best months: May to October

Worst months: December to February (hot, humid, and rainy); Tahiti lies well outside the Pacific cyclone zone and while Fiji does not, it is rarely hit during the highest-risk months of January and February

piper

hi naturally,

actually i stay quite near PL as well...one busstop away..

sometimes, if i leave earlier for work, i can still see them having assembly in the car park...those really bring back whatever little memories i have of PL..but i definitely remember Winnie Tan shouting into the mike..kekeke..

ladies, i'll be going to Milan on 28 Feb for my gown selection for my PS...hope everything turns out well.

also meeting a few photographers next week for actual day...ks right??

anyway everyone better buck up for our big day!!
14611.gif

are

leo29... think you better spend some time to work on ur selection soon. heard from my bridal last time tat coz i booked early, they will give me the 'master' photographer & 'teacher' make-up artist. but i still hv the choice if i dun fancy them after speaking/make-up trial. whereas if there is someone else on the same day as me, they will hv to take the 'student' make-up artist then.

are

wow! thanx yve! tis is really informative. me thinking of going mexico... but hubby says its not cheap. so we may choose a neighbouring place 1st, & make-up for our honeymoon next time when we hv more $$! ;P

clyne

okeanosmao and yve,
heehee..I also started playing regularly in the recent years. My skills half past 6 one..
ya, we can form a badminton session or u can join me and my frens cos my group getting smaller(abt 5 of us regulars)

Yve,
Wow! What a list! Great..I'm thinking where to go ..Thanks!

yve

clyne,
sure.. great way to meet up also.. instead of the usual coffee and makan.. got to watch diet already... when and where do u play?

are,
haiz.. so many places, so little money.. if money no problem, will like to go hawaii (romantic), paris (romantic), canada (skiing), las vega (can get married in those 24 hours chapel by Elvis)..

jen

Hi Yi,

Thanks for the encouragement. maybe just stick to the original one since she has done my studio & trial make-up and should be more aware of my preference...furthermore, i want to look more natural at night...so make-up won't be that elaborate..should be able to get it done by 7.30pm and still got time to mingle with guests...i suppose most guests will come between 7.30 & 8.00 pm, based on my own personal experience as a guest

now still hesitating whether to engage the videographer whom we have sourced...additional cost of $1k...have to see whether enough budget after taking into consideration the honeymoon which we just booked...going bangkok to shop & eat till we drop since we've been so "deprived" lately due to the wed preps!! hehe..

pooh

Hi Sweets,
i on half day leave today. And did to do some bank transaction so come in to take a peep.

Hi beibei,
maybe we can arrange lor. IF by then my albim ready i can also bring along.
14619.gif

clyne

Yve,
I usually play on Sat afternoon at either Toa payoh or Tampines Safra(cheapest we can find), afterthat go makan.. * guilty *

Y

yi

hi jen,

oic, my coordinator was just telling me that normally march-in shd be ard 8.25 to 8.30pm so if you can finish by 7.30pm then okay coz you can mingle for awhile with your guests.

i'm not engaging any videographer but just getting friends to use viewcam to take for us. we wanted to save as much as possible for our europe tour.

been spending alot for wedding coz just order cakes and red wine yesterday, amounts to over S$1k liao! ;p so gonna watch my purse strings liao! :p

BTW, you telling your makeup artiste what hairstyle you like or leaving it to her?

totoro

hi all,,,,

ok i like to meet up with u all..so i can ask for many questions regrding my new place and gown..
i am trouble finding an evening gown..like to ask u pple for help..can show me ur gown..i mean evening gown,,,,,sigh

pooh

me also have problem finding evening gown. Still dunno wat design is nice on me. Any suggestion?

beanie

Hi Jazz,

I have been fine. Me busy cause recently a lot of changes in my company also juz after our D & D, a lot of loose end to tie up. Hope to settle all soon so that I can prepaer for CNY at home.

Yah, me too, no matter how there is always dust around. Luckily my hubby very good, he clean the house every night. If ask me to do, I think die lor. I am the very lazy type who knows nut about household chores.

beibei

totoro,

that's why i suggest meeting up mah..so we all can share ideas...if by feb we meet I can show u photos I took during my trial gown cos my PS photos not out yet.I can also show u my rom photos!

why do u have trouble finding evening gown??Can u find it at your bridal shop??

me also have a hard time finding my EG cos I placed too much time looking for my perfect WG!!

pucca

gals,
ur EG not from ur bridal meh? i tot we find both on the same day ?

both my WG n EG are mtm .. so i dunno wats the procedure like for finding an OTR gown

are

hey! i used to play badminton too! used to play with ex-ex-colleagues every week. but since i left, also stop liao. but tho' i played regularly, still 'cock-eye' leh, always miss the shuttercock. ;P hehehe...

hmm... tampines & toa payoh sounds gd to me, but sat wat time har? now will the grp be too big? would love to resume regular exercise. used to play squash @ safra tampines on sats too, clyne, maybe we've even met b4! ;P

may

So it seems that we shld quickly move in after reno so that house will not be dusty. I can forsee lots of cleaning up to do. Now i see my house on reno also sian...it is messy and dirty. My contractor has been driving me insane so angry with him...house reno is a nightmare...man

I just went to Leaping Lizard to check out the prices to make a pair of shoes for my EG. It was so expensive! She quoted me $179 even though i provided her my cloth material!!! S$50 for one row of crystals. I was shocked and surprised. Are there any other shoe makers in S'pore? Maybe should go JB or KL to make man...so expensive ...sigh....

jbride

TGIF again
14651.gif

freesia, oic...i thou she's your friend...
she's gotta split into 2 in order to attend our wedding
14652.gif

enya, thx for your feedback...it really makes me less worry after reading your comments...i luv the chandeliers too
14653.gif

wow piper, how come u r selecting your gown so early? u r not ks...it's just 11 mths away
14654.gif
...do check with the actual day photographers if your date is still available...

naturally

Hi piper!

i'm also 1 bus-stop away, my blk's same side of the road as PL, dun tell me we stay in the same estate?? I know someone from your batch in my blk, Angeline, u know her? But i haven't seen her for a while, maybe she married and moved out already...

Hope you find your ideal gown at Milan! And nope, it's not ks to look for actual day photographer now, as jbride says, only 11 mths to go.... have fun!

clyne

are,

this sat no badminton..we will only know what time 1 week b4 as my fren will call every Sat morning to book next week's session. Most of the time we book at 3pm..
Hey, I used to play squash during my schooldays but now v rusty liao..

pooh

Hi pucca,
my WG and EG from the bridal shop. Till now still cant find a suitable EG OTR. My bridal shop more choice for WG.

My package is OTR but they allow me to MTM both if i can find suitable one OTR. Now going to MTM WG with similar design i have for my PS but change to white lor.

As for the EG still havent decide so see did u gals have any suggestion.

Cos i need to give the bridal shop the design after CNY if i intend to MTM.

beibei

pooh,
me also encounter this problem cos my bridal shop doesn't have too many choices for EG.I also tot I will emphasis more on my WG cos that is the GOWN for me leh..until one friend told me most of time at my wedding dinner I would be in my EG.can only
show u my EG design when we meet up.it is quite a simple eg..purpish blue..cross back..v shape in front....