(2003) Brides of year 2003

jen

hi Yi,

engaging a videographer was a last minute decision, we also wanted to cut cost mah...but we still can't get over the fact that one of my hubby's friend "screwed up" our ROM filming as he had accidentally shifted the focus & ended up shooting the floor for some part of the video !! Luckily the critical part on the soleminzation was in the correct focus...so we got to compromise on the HM by going somewhere cheaper so that we can engage professional videographer...the extra perk is that we can get MTV montage...quite like the effect, makes me feel like a movie star..hehe

u get to go eroupe..so good...we'll try to save up to go NZ for our second HM sometime in april..

my make-up artiste actually did up my hair partially during the trial make-up...she adviced that bunning up the hair will look more formal & elegant for me rather than let the hair down which looks casual..anyway, hairstyle is up to individual taste lah...actually i should have flipped thru' magazine & show her exactly what hairstyle i like so that can try out during the trial...have u had ur make-up/hairdo trial ?

are

clyne... aiya.. me oso not v gd lah, but feel tat squash is a really gd exercise to 'sweat' & lose weight & oso to train reflexes. can't wait for hubby to get his van, then he will hv no excuses not to go liao. ;P

hmm... juz remembered tat i've got sat classes tis mth, so i guess can oni join u gals next mth.

grace

hi yve,

thanks for the infor...
wah i see so many places i oso want to go.. eventually have to choose one only lah..

leo29, wat are say is correct.. faster choose otherwise the person on the same day as u will have a better choice..

as for the accessories, my jiemei oreadi made me a bracelet....

meow, u make appt with jane oreadi? i made my appt liao. Will be holding the lunch reception at The Rice Table..heard the food is good.

sunshine

jbride,

Din know that you're gonna be my future neighbour... hey, who knows we might bump into each other on our wedding day.

pucca

my EG ah .. diff to decribe the color leh...
hopefully i can hv some pix of it with i go n try it in 2 wks time !!

pooh, won't ur bridal help you to design .. mine did leh ..

piper

Hi naturally & jbride,

my hubby going reservist for the entire month of april...so have to take our photos b4 he go away.

after he come back, too dark..have to wait a couple of months for him to "bleach"....by then, june & july...very hot. wait till aug too late for photos, so have to do it early...bo bian.

as for photographers, think they are still available, if not, they wouldn't agree to a meeting right?

I'll be meeting Choon Huat from Fastsoup & triston. think they are pretty nice, from the conversation & e-mails exchanged so far. have to see their works to decide then.

naturally, i'm staying on the oppisite side of PL. abt 10-15 mins walk from PL...so technically speaking, we are staying in the same estate, in the same constituency.

abrinas

Hi pucca

I will be staying at my mum's place, anyway it is empty cos my mum's staying with my elder sis, so that's why i no hurry in reno hse.

My WG is off-white cos I quite tan. Don't look nice with white. My EG is maroon (dark red) and hope it will turn out well.

Hi beibei

Meeting up is fine with me. Just let me know the date and time and can c'firm then. Me seeing my gowns tomorrow, will show u all when I upload some of them. Think a digital camera will do better rite? My WG and EG all done alreadi. Hope they turn out ok tomorrow.
14667.gif

beibei

abrinas,

Good luck for your gown fitting!

ok so now we have pooh,pucca 75,abrinas,me,totoro!
5 only???!!
14671.gif

tot we have about twenty June 03 brides in all??

where are all the rest??

meow

Grace,
No, i've not make my appt with Jane yet. When's your appt? How many friends and relatives are joining you for the recep? Will that cost you a bomb? Its ala-cart dim sum isn't it?

may

Shook:

1st he tell me my house cannot be completed in time for CNY.

2nd - the way he concealed my wires was horrid. He just dug into the wall to embed the wire into and then plaster the hole back. The wires were not even put into a casing and then embedded in. Can u imagine, i next time forget go hit a nail and strike the wire and then can electrocuted. So angry...

3rd - The mosaics he laid in my kitchen, some of the tiles were not aligned properly. looked crooked.

4th - He did not lay enough protection on floor to protect homogenous tiles. myTAG IMAGE (Shown Actual Size)
myTAG IMAGE (Shown Actual Size)

i have had it being nice, going to scream at him when i meet up with him this weekend...

priviledged

Hi abrinas, my gowns are also off-white and maroon. I've chosen to use Shantung silk for my evening gown. Fitting is only late Jan.

When is your flat due? Have you started sourcing for IDs and ideas?

Meeting up sounds like a good idea.

pooh

Hi pucca,

the bridal shop will give some idea but i hope to do some research 1st so i can compare to see which i like better. If i found one i like i can describe to them and see if they have similar one so i can try on the play safe that it suits me then change some minor patterns here and there.

If i can get one OTR then will save my problem. I think EG always encounter problem like u like the top of one gown but bottom of another gown or colour. So will also try on the gown to see colours then choose a colour that suits me lor.

I very troublesome hor.

beibei

priviledged,
So can we include u?? so we have 6anxious brides here!!

pucca,
think i wil try go search for the rest of the brides next monday...hopefully able to locate them!!

Are u gals aware today we have quite a long thread of June brides ah??maybe cos it is only 5months away!

grace

really ah... i hope i made the rite choice.
heard its good from alot of pple...want to invite my frens to good food which is very impt to me..

meow,
my appt is on yr rom day lah..
cannot go together cos my rom is on sun and they dont open on sun so i have to do it on sat. its at 3.30pm.
i have invited inclusive of everybody 22 pple.. will cost S$332.20 if they drink ice water... mayb more if they order drinks loh.
its something like buffet, the restaurant pple explain to me that they will serve u all the food and then if u want any extra then they will bring again..its indonesian food, eat the dishes with rice i think..

shook

Hihi May

So unlucky dat u oso got such lousy experience wif your housing stuff. Ya, tis kinda ppl really gotta give him a big whack. Hold his payment n ensure u got things right.

Have a gd weekend.

meekoo

i got my toothache over the NY and just visited the denist and confirmed it WIDSOM TOOTH. must be extracted..... very sad and scared.... : (

going for the extraction next wed... now my face very swollen due to the infection over the NY!

worst of all, my photoshooting is on 28 jan! very worry not recover from the swelling after the extraction.

any of u have this experience?

kk

Hi Cath/1027,

For me, not much problem in giving new year goodies to in-laws, coz my mum make them personally and i will just take some to them.. hahaha... nothing will ever change lah, homemade ones are always better

As for ang pows, we may not be giving this year as not yet customary. So we leave it till 2004 CNY. We try to siam as much as possible, if not very poor leh!

We are still discussing whether we should give ang pows to my nieces and nephews. But then my hubby say scared his mum and my mum nag coz we are not supposed to give ang pows yet, so i gave up the idea of distributing AP to the kids. Hengzz, escape again from another point of view

As for addressing, i have called my in-laws mother and father right after rom. So had my hubby

Cath,

My hubby and I have discussed about wedding flavours and feel that we may be ordering chocolates for the guests lor. I think something for them to eat is better lah, rather than giving other things which they dun know what to do with them after that. We may be going for designer chocolates. i already checked out the price. One rectangular piece around 15g with the "xi" word (there may be other wordings available) cost around 80 cents. If budget constraint, then we may go for off-the-shelf chocolates and put them in nice containers at reception tables so they can take the chocolates free-and-easy. What do u think of this idea?

Same as 1027, i have given up on fairs at expo. Now i buy my electrical appliances from Prominent Impex at Eminent Plaza. Find it really cheap to buy there, with free gifts. Much better than Best Denki too

meow

Grace,
what buffet is that? Set lunch or international buffet? Think i'll have at least 26ppl. Guess mine will cost me a bomb. How much do they charge per pax?

Think i'll make my appt next week. Think need to talk to Jane first regarding my finger.

beanie

Hello Ladies,

Sorry for disappearing, but I still come in pretty often to see how you gals are going on. I did not drop any message cause I have changed my date to May 03 instead. But if you gals welcome, I am most happy to join and meet you gals.

kiroro

Yes.. I am counting down as well. Just came back to SG after a long (3 months) business trip. Btw, I just went for my first fitting for the gown.... The wedding gown shape look okay and the cutting suits me well. But the gown is very plain right now, my designer will sew the crystal beadings on before my final fit in mid feb.... As for my evening, it is in a variety of color, the inner sheath in in champange pink and the outer layer is a shaded piece from light pink to strong fusia... Very interesting material. Quite like the evening gown, my designer is also working on the crystal beading to it to achieve a dramtic look...
I am surprised that so many of you had done the PS already ... I am only doing in in early march...am i too late for it ? Anyway, the idea of meeting up does sound great....
Privilegded.. how is your fitting with Silhouette.... if i did not remembered wrongly, both of us are from the same bridal shop...

enya

dunno when me meeting kai .. on one hand hope that day will come earlier, cos very excited to discuss gown designs .. but on the other hand, abit scared .. cos not v successful at losing weight ... not much difference leh .. BOO HOO HOOO ... less than 11 months for me!!!

piper: choon huat is a nice guy .. he was highly recommended by a few ppl in this forum, and by hilarion goh too .. i met up with him, wanted to sign up with him, but his packages, if i include it together with another videographer would be very ex for us ... $$$$ otherwise need to cut back on gown then how? somemore i need to budget extra for studio photos ...

jbride:yeah .. nice chandeliers .. hey, my bf was commenting how come for all the weddings he attended at hotel intercon, the groom would always make it a point to sing to the bride during the march-in .. would u be doing that too?

dolphie

Wow, it's just a couple of days that I didn't pop by and this thread has so many messages! I like!

Hi Pooh,
I'll send you an email soon to request for your website. Would love to see your pics!

Hi Kiroro,
My PS is in April, later than yours. I'm also hoping that it wouldn't be too late. However, I was told that an appropriate time is approximately 3 months before your actual wedding date, so I'm sure you're right on time!

maya

Wah! so many emails, no time to read all....

May, why ready make shoes? Now everywhere got a lot of nice shoes and cheaper some more. Hunt around and I'm sure you can find something you'll like. Try Tangs, OG and shoe boutiques in Marina Sq.

Been busy with hse reno. Yeah, it's so DIRTY! I'm the type who wants to wipe and wipe and clean but FH want to do only at the end. But some stains/dirt/dust will settle in and later very hard to clear lah! Also, trying to time the dirty work be4 my contractor overall clean, so can minimise all that maj cleaning. Means got to hurry with the painting too. WHere got time? Only can paint weekends leh!

Just went for my PS yesterday. It was so lucky that the day held altho it was cloudy. I went to Sentosa for o/d, saw another couple there. My studio had another couple doing PS too and I udnerstd they went to Labrador. At Sentosa, my photographer brought us to this interesting broken down bldgs to shoot. I think the pics shld be nice but my god! I was bitten so many times by mosquitoes! So ladies, those going to woody/forrested areas, pls arm yourselves with repellent. While posing for a shot and cannot move, I can feel one stupid mosquito biting me on the cheek!!

All in all, quite fun but tiring. Can't wait to see the photos.........

sue

Hi Jazz: Have a break, dun clean up the house for the time being since the dust will be there again. I think Shook's explanation on why there's dust in the house when nobody is living in there makes sense. My mum oso said that before.

Hi May: Why do u need to make shoes? Like what Maya said, you can get shoes easily from Tangs or Metro. I thk Shook recommended me this place called Substance @ Wheelock Place, they have pretty nice shoes. Or you can try Nine West, they hv nice shoes to go with EG & it's on sales now in Taka & Isetan.

Hi Meekoo: My dentist told me that wisdom tooth extraction takes abt one wk to heal unless it involves surgery, then will take slightly longer. By 28 Jan, u shld be ok. I hv been holding back my extraction because I'm scared of the pain. Don't think I'll go unless my dentist insists that I hv to do it.

Hi Maya: I bet most of us can't wait to see yr photos as well. When will you be able to select them? Must share share okie.

pucca

hi Beanie,
how come change to May? if not convinient to tell .. nv mind lah ... i kpo oni .. :p

hello kiroro,
welcome back to our sunny island !! march is not too late for ps i guess .. bridal oso proposed march to us .. but we are thinking abt feb ..

Hi Dolphie,
how come apr? either of ur outstation ixxit?

dk

Happy New Year to All! My wedding is on the 18th Nov 2003 have jus reserved a place for the banquet..going thru the Contract details B4 we place a deposit...
Wow, the hotel are having good business, lots of hotels banquet is oledi taken for most days of Nov 2003...

Haven started on Bridal Shopping yet...Any advise? talk to a couple of frens who have gone thru these...told me to expect total $$ for bridal wif photography 30%-50% more of the actual package price you sign up for .....lots of hidden cost which bridal shop doesn't disclose...

Anyone have any experience on this?

beanie

Hi pucca,
Cause I change my banquet venue and the date in June not available so got the "fortune teller" to choose another date and end up in May lor. So drama right?

pucca

Hi Beanie,
i know ... its a friday ... :D

mine ah ... ok lah ... big stuff settle liao .. confirming the date for an chuang n to find out the procedure for it now

coz my big day in on a wkday so may need my helpers to apply for leave ... so confirming my helper list earlier n give them enuff notice for their leave application ...

how abt ur prep then?

amore

morning ladies...

Hi DK.. welcome to novemeber brides' thread.. yup dat's quite true...in a normal bridal package they oni come with a standard number of photos for u to put in the album..say 20, 22 or 25 etc...and in most cases couples will have more in the album.. so they need to buy those extra photos... and also upgrades... say u are given 8R or 10R photo album... some pple like 15R.. then u need to so a top up for the upgrades etc.. dat's for foto...hope this help!... er but i think none of us have experience it yet... but soon i supposed.. think most of us will be having our photoshoot in May/June/Sept... having mine in May

taddess

I am going for my ps in jan, cause the studio says better before cny otherwise will grow fatter...so considerate of them. Anything I should prepare??? Please do let me know especially those who had undergone it already???

beanie

Hi pucca,
Wow, I dun kno anything about an chuang. Wat's tat?

Do we actually need a lot of helper? how many r u getting? I have not got any helper yet. m i too late? Mine is on a working day too.

I will be going down to me bridal boutique to confirm the final deign of my gowns this coming saturday. Having my PS in March. how about u?

meow

Welcome DK
!
Yeah like what Amore has mention. I believe that's what the hidden cost is about. Other than that, i believe will be your perks that you ahould look out for.

So which place have you reserved? A hotel or restaurant?

could you sent the following details to [email protected], once i've compile the list, i'll sent one copy to you as well. Those unconfirm one, just leave it blank lor.
Details :
1) Nickname
2) Real Name
3) Birthday (DD/MM/YY)
4) ROM Date
5) Actual Day
6) Venue of Banquet
7) Email address
8) New Home Location
9) Contact Nos
10) Name of bridal

Update list:
01 Nov - Are, Antz, Grace, Yve
02 Nov - Furlin, Padre, Nov bride, little rabbit, Josephine, Icy
08 Nov - Bombom, Feb, Ava, TCC, Happy
14 Nov - Sunnyling, Meow, novlkf22
15 Nov - Clyne,Cocopopzz, Twinklets
16 Nov - Okeanosmao
18 Nov - DK
22 Nov - Putise Baby
23 Nov - Leo29, Love
25 Nov - Edde
27 Nov - Akira
28 Nov - Amore
29 Nov - Melody
30 Nov - Sweetie, wind2000

yve

Hi beautiful brides-to-be...

With the banquet and bridal settled, I am working on actual photographer and misc.. have visited Ray Ong and Albert Chua.. Looking at Nick Goh too..

Mean time, go look see look see whenever we go out.. looking out for close-toed white/ivory shoes.. for the red/pink bedsheet.. haaa.. big headache for both.. anyone looking for these too??

yve

Oh yeah, also looking around for the bridal cakes and caterers for actual day lunches.. Got some brochures from bengawan solo and prima deli.. I will also need 2 buffet lunches set up at my place and FH's place..

vodka

Just to update u gals,
- confirm my cocktail dress design. it's a baby pink shantung silk knee length cheong sam.
- ordered my corsages fr FL, price quite reasonable $3.8 for pin type n $6 for wrist corsage
- collected my bro's suit
- did my tentative table arrangement but got some last minute changes so got2 review again
- finalized my actual day timetable
- had a helpers' briefin yesterday

Still got a no. of thgs to do b4 the big day...sighhh...like endless one leh.
- meet up wif actual day photographer
- hair treatment
- dentist
- mani/pedi
- spa/facial
- cocktail dress fittin
- TY's EG fittin
- FL's EG & WG fittin
- finalize seatin table arrangement

Jen - my makeup artiste told me to work 2hrs backwards i.e. if i wan2 go down durin cocktail, she'll nn 2 cum ard 5 n if only goin down when dinner start then she can cum later ard 5.30-6pm.

Hong - veri scary hor...just another 5 days to go b4 our big day. now like everyday oso got sth 2 do/prepare 4 weddin. Just told my makeup artiste i wan2 let down my hair durin dinner wif a tiara. she did giv a few suggestions but i just cant visualize.

amore

yve.. wah u soo fast ah.. oni got banquet, bridal and actual day photographer done... have not done any sourcing for the cakes yet...i will be wearing an ivory open toes shoes... bought it for my ROM.. so will be wearing for my actual as well... hmm but dunno shld buy one more pair anot... my flat not here yet.. so dunno king/queen size bed..

sweetie

Welcome DK to this forum.
Sorry for mia for so long cos I am still waiting for my hubby's decision on his job...
I am really reluctant to postpone.:~(

freesia

Ha Naturally, me oso have to start flipping magazines again to gather ideas.... BTW, are u oso taking teadress/cheongsam? Me have to think of these 3..... n now oso look around c got any nice shoes to buy or not.... ;p

aa

hi flowee, can i check with u who else u visited besides amanda? and why u finally selected her?

flowee

aa

hvnt finalised ur bridal???
had visited quite a few...
ted wu, kai, le galleria, emmaunel b, flamingo, silh, bv, etc...
had signed up with amanda coz i m comfortable with her as my designer...

aa

hi flowee, why are u so surprised? i bet there're oso sept brides who've not finalised too. i've checked wif several bridals and they say by jan will still be safe.

i guess doreen shld be quite nice to get along with? did u've a feeling that shirley is cold during ur 1st visit? did u get to talk to kai during 1st visit?

flowee

aa

saw ur postin ard thot u oredi made up ur mind on either allure charix or kai...
but u posted a note askin mi how i concluded with amanda...
she is still in ur list???

i din get 2 tok 2 doreen, shirley nor kai durin my visits...