shunkuey

Here is the address of the wholesale shop of Lian Joo at Kaki Bukit :
Lian Joo Hardware Trading Pte Ltd
10 Kaki Bukit Road 1,
#01-42 Singapore 416175
Tel: 8421311

In this Lian Joo hor, the choices are quite limited cos' they are more on import / export & wholesale lor, so the price is better but choice lesser. They might not be open on weekends, so please call before u make a trip down.

vee kee, the one at $328 might be the one that look like designer toilet bowl that i like too but the size doesn't fit my flat's toilet. Btw, my toilet bowl pattern is called "Verona" in white color.

Jan, outdoor location sure u can choose. Just tell Christine where u would like to go. For me, just 1 location. I did tell her that i wanted to take another location but she said if it's on the way then it's ok... but in the end i just went to Labrador Park only. The result didn't really turn out to be as good as i expected but still acceptable.

For the shoes, sure can interchange them. I actually brought 2 pairs with me but then was too lazy to change them! I quite regret never take pictures with one of the pair i really like. If u would like to take shoots of ur feet, u must remind Christine so that she can put it on ur record card and Jaki will do it for u.

Baby Dokie, there's one Ricci No. shoe boutique at Orchard Point. The price is a bit on the high side, maybe u try metro like what cheerios suggested.... as now it's near X'mas and they really have nice shimmering shoes

Can anyone recommend any actual day photographer to me? I prefer the journalist kind but i'm quite tight on budget..... at about $700 to $800 can get?

dee

this thread has become extremely active....went to ted wu today to try some gowns...not too bad...but you won't get to talk to ted till you have signed up coz his time is channeled to those that have committed...but the consultants were pretty helpful....this is the first time that I've tried on gowns...so I have no basis for comparison...but one thing which I realise is that ball gown not for me...i'm too tall for it...look a bit like incredible hulk..harharhar...had a good laugh at myself...i think a standard package at ted wu (MTM WG, MTM EG, Make-up, Flowers) cost about $3,800...so if you add photography, that will be another $2,000 i think...have not gone to the wedding present yet

starfruit: jenjen is the one that is booked at MM...i'm still scouting but have made a tentative booking at a venue...

i think trying to do renovations plus wedding preps will be super tiring...good luck to you girls...

jellybeans

Hi Bleuz,

I'll most probably be settling down in S'pore after marriage. Can't stay here and work and let my poor FH in S'pore all alone rite?

Hi Chemson,

I was early in my 1st appt becos' I was taking the chance of me being back in S'pore. I was back for my cousin's wedding so I arranged my 1st appt the day after. Will be going for my 2nd appt just after Christmas. I'm basically taking the holidays when I'm back in S'pore. I can't purposely go back for my appts rite? After the Chinese new year holidays, I think I might have a long break in my appts. BTW, my photoshoot has been confirmed to be in end July.
BTW, which bridal are you thinking of booking?

aliblue

Shadow, Me also a MM bride!

So, have MM call you up regarding the invitation cards & food tasting?

Joker,
sometimes cannot believe what the reno contractor say 1 lah. My contractor, told us our reno will only take 5-6 weeks cos ours is simple reno, but later turn out exactly 4 months!! sighs..maybe cos my contractor knew we not urgent to move in, so they drag lor..do other urgent jobs 1st...until we show our black faces to him.

baby

Hello Everyone! So many pointers for me. Thanks....

Shunkuey, shall try Orchard Point and also Metro. Hopefully I can buy something affordable and nice like Cheerios. BTW photographers, you can try Bernard 90224050 (CCK) and Mr Thien 94089199. (Yew Tee)Their service charge is between $300-$400. Per roll Bernard charges $25 and Mr Thien $35. If I am not wrong, Bernard gives 3 rolls free. Tell Bernard you are recommended by Serene Colleague (that is me). Can ask them whether you can view their work and see whether you like it. I observe that the people in this forum are very willing to spend on photographer as much as more than $1000. I am stunned.

Catus and Kinky, where did your book your church wedding. I am considering TrueWay and a church in Bishan. Nothing is confirmed yet. So very stressed also. Let us share our resources for church wedding preparation. Who can get the template for church wedding programmes? What do your think of printing own programme sheet?
Is it difficult? How many guests are your inviting? I think by this year end or latest early Feb, I would be able to cover substantial part of my wedding as I want to allocate my time for house renovation next year. I am going to HMV this weekends and do some research on wedding march in song. Share with your next week or sunday.

Van Kee! Islandpub! shall pass the message to my friend who is interested to book.

Cheerios, I need about 3 inch wedding shoes. can find? Just went to seiyu at Bugis and so disappointed I could not find any. Sigh! Hopefully by Sat and at Metro.

I am also very excited that tomorrow I am meeting the designer to discuss about my EG. Somehow it there is this unexplanable joy.

tweety

I just saw this thread. I'm a Sept bride too! It's on 28 Sep, same as jellybeans, yvonne and loreal!! Wow! Me signed up with Emanuel B. & haven't gone for designing yet because I can't find the time. Plus I haven't lost weight! I wish to have a bustier, but am worried that the designer would discourage me because of my flabby arms =(
See how lah!
Nice to see all of you here!

tiny123

WOW!! only 2 days, and I've missed out so much!
too bad got no access to internet during office hours so only can post my msg during the night.

Know what? My head spinned after reading so many message till I'm lost!

think can catch a few .... uh... m2m no sigh... you're not the oldest! :p

Snowflake!! your wedding is just a day after mine and on the next day 5 oct is me and my bf's going together anniversary

Mae.. yea think you can scout around for the bridal boutique but should have time till next Feb to decide which one you wanna to sign up. Cos for most local designer they just need minimum 6 months to design your gown. Also another thing to take note, most boutique will increase their cost once after CNY but this time I wonder as the economic are not doing so good.

I've already settled my bridal and dinner long ago, so now is just waiting for them to give me green light to get busy

I've signed up with wedding present and will be having dinner at crown prince.

Hey those who have signed up with GHA, have seen their gown and makeup.. not too bad, my bf's cousin had signed up with them and just hold their wedding. Her Photographer William quite a nice guy and real know what's the things they ought and not to do during the whole customary session.

Alright got to zzz now... for those who I have missed out sorry.. too old to remember all of you, will catch with you gals again!

novbride

I missed out the fun today huh?
I was out of office for a seminar the whole day so din get a chance to surf till now! aiii..I'm very addicted to this forum leh...heehee...can't wait to surf this site everyday u know?

hi snowflake,
Welcome!!! sorrie my welcome arrived so late ;) so u found your banquet venue? same here! like you, I'm also looking around for bridal pkg. Been to any boutiques liao?

btw, have anyone check out the newly renovated amara hotel? hehe..i very eng one weekend so i went to take a look. aii..i think it's very nice. I saw the banquet too..the foyer very spacious and grand!! (but not exclusive cos >1 ballroom unless u bao all lah). The ballroom got a straight long aisle, love it! and there's stretches of spotlights over the ceiling, can create a lot of special effect i think...anyone still hunting for a venue can check it out!

hi m2m & Dawn1002,
ya..think there's another novbride, but realise only after i signup..hee! nevermind lah..think i'll still keep this nick..quite used to it liao
Dawn, i'll check out the songs u mention, can't comment now..m2m, i like 'Take A Bow' too, yes! it's a very romantic song...

i'm very into retro songs, maybe it's my generation..love all the 80's songs...

lollipop,
my nook is at Admiralty (lollipop show blur face) haha..ok..it's near Sembawang and Woodlands.. har? the letter u refer to is for selection of flat? me refer to letter to collect keys.. but then, for P21 u may get keys straight away also rite? depends on what u choose loh...

wah! very tired liao..i'll go zzzz liao..nite nite all!

cactus

Thanks vee kee,
We have narrowed down our choice to AMK, Bishan & Toa Payoh area. Guess we are too choosy, wanted near to MRT, high floor,unblocked & yet affordable.
I've settled my photography & Videography with Saints Wedding Services. Their charges are quite reasonable. I paid $450 for 7 rolls of film, top up additional $50 for journalistic. Another $500 for videography.
Shunkuey,
I wanted Andrew Tay as my actual day photographer unfortunately he is already booked, you may want to try him. His charges are $650, within your budget. The other one recommended by Singapore brides is Monica Eng, her charges are $800. Alternatively, you may try Saints Wedding Services at Riverside Point, #02-02, there are a number of photographers to choose from & their charges are from $450.
Baby Dokie,
My Church wedding will be at Bethel, off Upper Serangoon Road. My guest list is abt 200. I will be printing my own programme sheet. Save money, already spent a lot on the wedding cards. Afterall, people usually throw away such stuff, so no point wasting money. Like you, I wanted to confirm most wedding stuff by this year so as to concentrate on house renovation next year.

starbright

Hello everyone,

Does anyone knows what kind of help do I required on my wedding day ? I am planning how many "jiemei" do I need ? Check with a few of my friends who are married and this is the list I have consolidated :

Someone
- to take care of my barang barang and ensure that my belongings are brought to the respective locations like the hotel, my hubby's home for the tea ceremony etc
- to help me touch up my makeup
- to help me with my wedding dress when I move around
- to make ad-hoc changes to sitting arrangements during the wedding banquet due to a last minute changes in the guest list

Anything that I have missed out ?

Also, any one knows the difference between a matron of honour and bridesmaid ?

Thanks a lot.

pegsfur

Cindy,

Hve viewed yr photos, but not enough 'kick' leh... must show some more ...
How come don't have u in your gowns? Oh, yr dog very cute leh. Btw, u were saying u took 2 bridal package rite? Why is it so? Are these photos from the 1st boutique or the 2nd one? (hehehe... I very kay poh

shadow

Hi Aliblue,

I have yet to receive call from MM regarding the invitation card & food testing. Think I will be receiving calls from them regarding the invitation card later this month ... but food testing will be in Late Jan (if I did not remember wrongly)

So when's your BIG day ?? Have you got your invitation card or have you gone for your food testing ???

cheer

hi cactus
i am looking for an actual day photog too and is on tight budget... do you have Andrew Tay's contacts wif u? what is his style like? have u seen his portfolio n presentations?
hope to hear from u

lollipop

Morning!
WEEKEND COMING!!!!

Hi Tiny123, no worries. we can still keep in touch one way or another. As mentioned, I do not have the internet at home, so I can only log on during office hours. Your bf's (erm, should start refering him as FH liao) cousin signed up with GHA too? I like their make-up because it is done very naturally. Seen some of their gowns on mag, not too bad either. I was introduced to one photographer who is more comfortable in Mandarin, his name is Sam, and FH and I are more comfy in English, I'm not sure whether we'd have any problems during the photoshoot, but FH assured everything will be a ok... You have seen William's works? Is he good? Hey m2m, maybe you can take note too.

Novbride: Yes, I pass by Amara quite a couple of times. The exterior looks nice, but I haven't actually gone in to take a peep

*lollipop sticks out tongue* I know where Admiralty is. ;B Sorry, must have misunderstood you. The letter I am refering to is for selection, and not collection of keys. We applied for P21 last Aug, and because they have lesser units for 4 rm flats, we have to wait this long. Am looking forward to staying there...everytime pass by there, I salivate.

Hey m2m! You must watch this weekend's talentime! m2m is making a guest appearance! Which singer do you prefer? The blonde or the dark haired gal?

Hi Starbight, I can't really advise you on what a jiemei does.. but I do know that they (in fact the bridal entourage) will provide support to the couple, like running the show, ensuring everything is going smoothly. As for the make-up, won't your make-up artiste be there for you? I thought so...anyone, care to verify?
Your jiemei are supposed to "make things difficult" for your fh, when he picks you up at your place. you know, those who will hagger at the main door, refusing the groom and his best men's entrance?

A matron of honour is a lady who has already been married. A bridesmaid is one who hasn't. (She can be attached though)
I will be asking my best friend to be my matron of honour. We are not very sure what she's supposed to help me with, but generally, she will be there to help me with the train, the veil, to calm my nerves etc etc...

joker

Hi Shadow,
I have no idea of my gowns yet. Haven choose yet. No preference as long nice nice. As long as you like the design, don bother whether in fashion or not la. Just go for it loh.

hi Aliblue
Ya loh. Last nite suppose to meet contractor at my place to discuss what are the outstanding things. Guess wat!!! Still no lights when my FH switch on. We got the shock out of our life. Nothing that should have been done is done. Called contractor he says he also din know. See today how loh...

Hi Cindy
LIke wat pegsfur said, no 'kick' la. How come no gown? Yr FH looks very familiar. Might know him.

Joker

starfruit

yup, good to see that this thread is getting really active.

berline: I bought a wedding gown from overseas and now i need to alter it slightly to fit me. (just the bust area lah<-- so i tot it should not be that difficult)but i have no luck so far in finding an experienced seamstress, i posted a message in here too but not much response. *sigh* dunno where to go now. I was told by another SG brides member that not many ppl is willing to alter wedding gowns. Guess the last alternative is that maybe l'll get my mum to alter it for me. *sigh*

wutsy: yes, i do know ideal home prety well, in fact, i bought my sofa set, bedframe and coffee table there. let u in on a secret, u can actually bargain for a further discount from the price u see on teh price tag. if u happen to buy a number of pieces, they would be very willing to give u a discount. i still go back to them nowadays to buy other pieces of furniture and they are still willing to give me further discounts. After sales service is not bad too.

Dee: so which other hotels have u went to. actually, i didn;t go to too many hotel. i wanted a hotel in the city area (esp city hall) and my gal fren recommeded my MM. in fact, iw as deciding between suntec and MM but then i heard so pretty negative comments about suntec and so eventually i ent with MM.

jenjen: so u bok at MM too. who is the banquet/events manager that u contacted at MM?
also saw ur thread in "A vote for best brial..".so when did u place the deposit with them and how much is the deposit? why did u choose them initially? if u r really that unhappy, i would encourage u to forfeit the deposit and go to another place. No point stressing urself out just because u have placed a deposit. This is the most important day of ur life, u should go with something that u feel good about.

starfruit

anyone can recommend a good and inexpensive place to do french manicure? i went to hollywoods secret, not very satisfied with the results

angph38

hi starfruit,

maybe u can try nailbar @ specialist centre #03. think a lot of SB brides went there. try Marine Tan - 734 9618. Heard she's good.

cindy

Hahahah....gals gals...whoever wants a kick, come come..I give you "one leg kicking"...hehehehee

Okay, those pixs that I've emailed to you are done locally (by Studio 8). I wish I can show u more....but my photographer only gave me some samples (these are unwanted pixs) hence I'm not able to show you all my different outfits....

I've booked my 1st package in JB but the pixs were not very well-done...so, I took up another photography package in S'pore in order to have more pixs......(my hubby say I got plenty of $$$ no where to spend)...hahahha...Ai yah, I am not allowed to take back any samples from my JB studio or else I can show you gals how badly the pixs were taken.....

Anyway, during my wedding day, I've have 2 albums to show to my guests....

Joker,

Dun tell me you're one of my hubby's ex-gf....oh no!!!! hahahha...juz kidding

joker

Hi Cindy,
Pai Sei, me not interested in your hubby. heehee.... taste not s good as you. hahaha...

So which bridal shop you took up in JB? Becos me took in JB too. Scarly same bridal shop then I 'beng san'.

charlene

can I join, me oso a May 02 bride.
Wah ! so many May 02 Brides !!!
these are my "particulars":

when is the wedding date? =>26/5/02

where is the wedding dinner? =>River View Hotel

is there a church wedding?=>Nope

where did we book our bridal package? =>Vogue Bridal Arts

when taking the bridal pictures?=>Feb02

where are you taking your outdoor shoot? =>Labrador Park oso !!!

where and when we plan to go for honeymoon? =>dunno leh... any suggestions ??

our age? => hehe

our profession? =>related to IT

Location of our new home?=>Sembawang

Now busy with reno of the house, so every weekend is so tiring ...*sigh* Thankfully our contractor handles most of the things like apply for permit, asking HDB to do the cement screeding etc.

My contractor is really fast, now 1.5 weeks into reno, the flooring of the living, dining, kitchen, bathrm and storerm all complete liao.
except we want the bedrms to be parquet, so need a longer time...

so happy to hv own house...

cactus, me oso looking for actual day photography, mebbe u can post the contact here ?

just a qn, if the wedding and the dinner is on a different day, the photography usu hv extra charges right ?

my dinner is on the next day

jenjen

starfruit... the person I liaised with in MM is Pauline... she is very nice... we like her attitude that's why we chose that place... as for the bridal, it's becoz we were "coaxed" into paying during a fair and they promised us a lot of things... at the moment however I have not had any major clashes with them yet... but now I will like to keep my eyes open for more options, just in case they test my limits...

aliblue

Hi Cindy,
Thanks for the pics. Wahz..ur doggie so cute!!! Of cos, the bride also meimei! hehee

Hi Shadow,
MM called me early this week regarding the invitation cards. They just want to know many many cards (estimated) we need from them. Was told food tasting can be arrange in January as well.

Hi Joker,
Dunno how to console u abt your reno leh. Dun get too upset, ok? Is it possible to delay your furnitures delivery..well just in case the hand-over got delayed again (touch wood!!!).

joker

Hi Aliblue,
Thks for your concern. Now is the year-end period, so the furniture shop schedule also very tight. If change date, then got towait for very long liao. Now I die die wans to see miracle by my contractor since he says can. Shall see my power tonite if he can't make it. Not to worry. Me 'qi4 xiao1' liao. Will pray hard.

janfyp

Hi all!!
I am going to ROM in Feb 02. However, I am at a loss as to what to prepare for that day itself. Any advice?

Dee: I am going to pay the deposit soon. I think you should negotiate before paying for the deposit, otherwise if you change your mind after negotiation, you might lose your deposit.

Starfruit: You can also try Daisynails @ Midpoint Orchard.

shadow

Hi Aliblue,

Have you found a printer to print the invitation cards / or are you taking the printer which MM recommended ?? Which theme are you taking ???

aliblue

Joker,

Ok. Glad to know u ok liao.

Some of the simple reno stuff can be done in one day. My contractor installed my kitchen cabinets all in 1 day's time! So if it's a installation of lights &amp; other minor reno, should be ok lah. I pray hard for u too.

Hey, why dun u call up your contractor at around 2-3p.m. today to check if he has completed what he promise u? Like that better than wait till nite time mah. Then u can feel more "an1 xin1".

aliblue

Hi Shadow,

Printer? Haven't done any sourcing yet. I will need to check the rates of what MM's printer &amp; outside printers 1st before deciding...err...printing dun need too much time, right? *blur*

Hubby &amp; I prefer the gold theme. The peach theme looks too traditional for us leh. The silver, looks too "white" ...later my folks face black black ah! U know what i mean? :p

wutsy

hi starfruit,
aiyah, should have asked you abt the place earlier... i've already purchased my sofa and bed... thought the price was pretty good with the 30% off, didn't even tried to bargain! sigh... but maybe now will go back to look at the dining table and see how low can the price go! :p

joker

Hi Aliblue,
Thks so much for your concern. Now my FH at our place liao. They are fixing the cabinetsand toilet bowls now. Lightning men should be there anytime (don know true or not). Shall see how. Really appreciate !

Joker

jellybeans

Hi tweety,

Welcome to the Sept brides club! Hehehe, so.. there are quite a few of us who share the same wedding day. Me also considering to have a bustier, but even then still have to decide on the neckline. Anyway, will confirm the gown only on my next appt so still got time to decide. Glad you also booked with Emanuel B. Their gowns are also very nice. BTW, where are you having your banquet?
Nice to know you.

cheers, jellybeans

dee

hi janfyp,

just received the package from the hotel yesterday...so i'll probably try to meet up with them soon to negotiate before I pay the deposit...so you are going to pay soon issit??

bumblebee: must share your experience with the bridal shops that you visit ok....coz i think I'm going to be rather confused after a while...i'm trying not to go to too many...if you visit the wedding present, let me know your thoughts...

cindy

Hahahha...u are such a joker...so, since u've met my hubby during his school days, I believe u must have notice him putting on quite alot of weight...hheheheh...

Nah...i dun think you'll be juz as unlucky as me...I'm with Super Star (located at City Square).

Initially, wanted to save $$$ but instead, I've spent abt $5K mainly on studio package....

joker

Hi Cindy

Hm..... I think it happens to the whole group of friends. One of that group of friends already married wif one of my good friend. He also 'xiang4 heng2 fa1 zhang3' liao. That ex-BF of mine also. Who ask them, all play volleyball last time. Now, all cannot maintain. mass too much liao mah.

cindy

Hahahhaha...Joker....I'm definitely going to ask my hubby to read this....hahahahaa...

I alway complain that he's fat but he kept denying, still have the cheek to tell me; hui4 meh?...hahaha...now I've got someone to proof...

R u still keeping in touch with all your old friends? Actually, I'm not surprise that someone here knows him coz every time when we go out, he will sure to bound into someone he knows....

cleo

Yahoo....finally ther is a thread for Oct 2002 brides.....I am also one of you.....mine on 4 Oct 02.

Anyone got good recommendation for actual day photographer????I am thinking of getting Harilon Goh or Monica Eng...any opinion???

I booked my wedding dinner and gowns packages oledi too......very kiasu...lah....typical Singaporean...lah....

joker

Hi Cindy,
If I din remember wrongly, your hubby got something to do with Buddism, right. Luckly he is quite tall lah, so should be ok lah. He grow fatter, then you will be more'jiao1 xiao3 ling2 long2' mah. Like me, very 'gao1 da4 wei1 meng3' then FH so skinny. People don know will think me everytime snatch his food like tat.

Me only contact wif that friend only loh becos he marry my friend mah. But more or less still gets some info about the group. Is he still in contact wif his secondary friends?

heehee..... actually quite fun to know the worls so small.

Joker

sheep

hi gals! i'm also a sept bride!
there are so many of u here!

bleuz, are u the one at 'theweddingfair.com'? remember me? i was the one who wanted to book rasa sentosa too!

my wedding banquet will be at shangri-la. i haven't booked any package yet but most probably will be signing up with Tan Yoong. my package dun include a tea-dress. wat abt urs? where would u gals be getting ur tea-dress?

m2m

hello everybody,

I am taking a day off and looks like I miss the fun part in this thread today.

m2m is around and sound asleep in the morning (jealous right)
, just finish my housework and wow! many messages already!

lollipop - no wonder I "hatchu" , thinking about me? Hmmm, will watch the coming talentime, m2m like the dark hair one leh! Jessie told me that they are 7 in-house photographers so when I flip through some of the portfolios, I immediately like Ben's photos and choose him! However, I will take a look at William and Sam's works.

cleo - welcome! you not kiasu lah! for wedding, must plan ahead, if not everything done in a rush and everything turns out not the way you want, then how?

tiny123 - mind if you reveal your age? seems like you are older than me?

looks like I am also addicted to this forum already!

och

hi tweety, sheep,

welcome to the sept brides club.

sheep, when's ur wedding?
tweety, i hv v flabby arms too, but all the designers i visited told me i look good in bustiers cos my shoulders aren't flabby. so dun be too worried.