(2002) Brides of year 2002

starfruit

Kelling EEKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

ah.. i didn't know my wedding falls on a public holiday !!!!!!!!!!!!! wow.. i am sooo glad! still can't believe it.

actually this was a special date chosen for me when i went to get someone to calculate an auspiscious date for me using the 2002 almanac. when i selected the date, me and my hubby wasn't even aware that its gonna be a public holiday. I even made my gal frens promise me that they will take a day off from work to help me out. YIPPEEEE.. i am over the moon now. Hooray.
actually come to think of it, how come no one knew it was gonna be a public holiday?
i even paid a deposit for my hotel and they charged me a basic weekday rate!

joker

Hi Alpha
That's the only part la.
But when you see the way your hse is being built by your blood and sweat, everything is worth it liao. For me, I see the progress of the whole flat being hacked and rebuilt, the feeling is really great, esp when I know that the hse will be the ' gou3 wo1' for me and my other half.

Most importantly: 'jia you jia you' everybody!

jk

hi to all,

I was so happy to see this title for sept02 brides. But gave me a fright when I realised nobody chose 21/09/02 except me? It falls on Lantern Festival!
Yes, me too, has booked my bridal package from Julia Wedding News after hearing good comments and experience from my friends. As for banquet, I'd settled too! Now looking forward and getting excited for year 2002 where important wedding tasks begins!!! So are all of u???

cindy

Hi pegfur

I'm still in a very relax mood...there aren't really much things for me to do at the moment...I'll properly be more busy with my preparation next month...

starfruit

angph38: R u looking to buy a resale unit?? my is a resale house, i got the 40K HDB grant. and i recently completed my reno.. my am very very broke after buying all the funiture. I am thinking o fmoving in soon but i know my mum will scream at me, she only wants me to move in after my customery next yr and since the wedding is not till nov, seems like i gotta wait a yr before i stay at my new place.
oh and do remember to share with us ur facial experience at sothy's. I have never gone for a single facial in my life. do u gals think i should try one at least for my wedding?

kelling: so u must have gone up to supervise ur place a number of time alrady rite. must share ur reno progress with us.

dreamy: yeah, i was equally confused too when i went around to look for suitable bridal house. i been to about 5 places including BV. After i have made my choice, i feel so relief. Its good to make a decision early as u can then relax and not worry and wait till the day arrives <-- just like me now

berlinelee : welcome. glad to have u here to share ur comments. so where did u book ur banquet?

shadow

Can I join in ?? Me too, I am a March 2002 Bride. My wedding date is on the 23rd March but having my wedding dinner on the 28th March. I have yet to take my wedding photographs (still happy go lucky) :p

Shadow8474

cindy

Hey Aliblue

Good for you that your elderly are particular abt dates....I wanted to choose my ROM date too but my MIL is very particular abt date so I leave it to her....

So, where are u having your dinner?? I'm having mine at the Raffles Town Club.

pegsfur

Joker &amp; alpha,

Hehehe... I'm also staying at hougang now, near Hougang Pt
I'll be moving to punggol 2 yrs later

Shadow &amp; Cindy,

Wah, both of u still relax ah ..... later u will know...

angph38

hi starfruit,

yes, we're looking for resale unit near my parents' place so that can get $40K grant.
but seems that not many seller for 5 room units in the blks i want.
hopefully can find one real soon and FH can move in earlier (he's currently staying at a rented room).

think FH expected me to move in with him, but i kind of want to wait till customary is over. but of course, prob will stay over during wkends...

cindy

Pegsfur

Actually, there aren't much things for me to do now coz I've taken my wedding shoots &amp; have decorated my new flat.

Now waiting for food tasting &amp; collecting of wedding cards.......the rest of the stuff, I leave it to my friends &amp; parents to plan for me...

Hmmm....did i miss out anything??

aliblue

Hi Cindy,
Ya lor. Lucky for me my folks not so particular about dates.

Oh, we're holding our dinner at MM. the fifth fl ballroom. We are not going to invite many ppl lah so a small ballroom which can accomodate around 25 tables is enuff for our relatives &amp; frens can already lah.

Hi pegsfur,
Ya, me the same Aliblue from the doggie thread.

ya lor..so happy to know both of us Mar brides.

pegsfur

Cindy,

Oic. Hey, I envy u leh
Got most of the things prepared liao. I still have to prepare the guest list - headache!

Joker

Hey, the bridal shop called to say I can select my photos liao
. Very excited ...

Piyo,

Hehehe... I same as u leh... can select my photos this Sat

dawn1002

Hi Lollipop,

Sanmike's at Riverside Point. Just opp of J&amp;C Bridal.

Yeah, I'm also excited abt the fitting. trying to lose as much weight as I can now!

Yeap-a-dub-dub, I'll be having a Church ceremony on the same day as my dinner.

Erm... I guess what Novbride was saying abt the code thingy is the P21 (as in Ponggol 21) and I guess when she said C21 (probably it's the north zone neighbourhood code).

Our nook is also a four room flat. Very happy with our selection! No regrets whatsoever.

Wow, you and your FH been together for 8 years already?? That's a long time huh? For us, we've been together for a year and a half plus only.

Hee Hee... and I'm only 23 this year...
young bride. But then again, there are others who marry younger than me!

When will you be likely to get the keys to your flat? Mine's so far away. Can't wait to move!

starfruit

angph38: R u looking to buy a resale unit?? my is a resale house, i got the 40K HDB grant. and i recently completed my reno.. my am very very broke after buying all the funiture. I am thinking o fmoving in soon but i know my mum will scream at me, she only wants me to move in after my customery next yr and since the wedding is not till nov, seems like i gotta wait a yr before i stay at my new place.
oh and do remember to share with us ur facial experience at sothy's. I have never gone for a single facial in my life. do u gals think i should try one at least for my wedding?

kelling: so u must have gone up to supervise ur place a number of time alrady rite. must share ur reno progress with us.

dreamy: yeah, i was equally confused too when i went around to look for suitable bridal house. i been to about 5 places including BV. After i have made my choice, i feel so relief. Its good to make a decision early as u can then relax and not worry and wait till the day arrives <-- just like me now

berlinelee : welcome. glad to have u here to share ur comments. so where did u book ur banquet?

aliblue

Cindy,

I also the same as u leh. Done the photoshoot, house ready &amp; now busy counting no of invitation cards!!! hehee...

novbride

hi lollipop and Dawn1002,

ya..Dawn is right..my new flat is in the North! It's a 5 room flat, I neber regret my choice too, can't wait to move in..heehee..i love my flat cos got 'luo di chuang'
in the living/masterbed room!

Dawn - u are so young! envy envy
me jus turn 27 recently..hey, I also must lose weight..i can't fit into most of the OTR gowns

lollipop - CHV got a new banquet is at 10 level, exclusive also..heehee...i booked that...

m2m

Hi novbride,

Please forgive my hanyu pinyin. What is 'luo di chuang'?

To novbride, Dawn and Lollipop - all of you are younger than me! Looks like I will be an old nov 02 bride.

Thanks,

m2m

Dear oct02 brides,

Have all of you have had any music in mind?
I'd like Enya's Only Time for march-in but my husband thinks it is haunting?!

jellybeans

Hi Yvonne &amp; Loreal,

Glad to know of other brides2b who share the same wedding date. Hehehe...so I guess it's countdown till the day comes! BTW, did both of you choose the date yourselves or is it chosen by the Geo? For me, I picked the date myself cos' I thought the date sounds nice if you say the Lunar date and 28/9 in Cantonese(Yi Yi Fat &amp; Yi Fat Gao)
. Sounds very good! Morever, the date happens to be on a Saturday which was perfect because I'll be having my church wedding on the same day.
For me, oso settled the banquet(Four Seasons, same as Chemson) &amp; bridal(Bridal Veil) &amp; also the actual day photographer. Have oredi gone for my 1st appt with Bridal Veil 2 days ago. Enjoyed myself alot.
Yvonne, how much deposit have you paid to Paris? If you are really worried, maybe you would like to have your deposit to be used for other stuffs like photos? It's your big day, so I guess you have to not worry about whether the bridal shop can deliver. It's going to be a once in a lifetime affair so I personally think not to risk when most people are dissatisfied with Paris. The $$$ bit would be a little difficult to let go though.

Hi to all Sept brides2b. Let's keep each other up to date on each others preparations! Stay in touch!

Rgds, jellybeans

berlinelee

Hi, starfruit

I booked my banquet with Harbour View Hotel (will be known as Millenuim Hotel next year).What about you?
So happy for you to know that your wedding falls on a public holiday! What holiday is that? Do you know?
As for the facial, I think you should go. I am attending a facial course right now. The beautician says that by having a clear complexion will help when we put on make up. Don't know true or false! But since the facial, I felt that my face is soften and clearer. Maybe you can go for a trial session to see whether the products that they use are suitable for you. Hope that helps!

V

vee kee

Hi Shunkuey!

wah! toilet bowl cheap leh! I see so far abv $300. Where u go huh? And what brand is your toilet bowl?

Thanks for that word of caution on the amopule issue! I just want to make sure that it is of some use. Dowan to be taken in by the mambo jumbo that the sales people say and waste the money!

Take wedding pix can't see feet one izzit? Then maybe I can consider wearing track shoes or sandals to feel comfy. I hate wearing heels! Is this advisable?

Hi Islandpub!

U thinking of DIY mask? I dunno abt your skin type but mine is normal skin. I am using Mineral Warming Mask by Body SHop. It is a clay kind of mask :
1. soak the tube in hot water (no need to be boiling) - purpose is to "melt" the clay substance in the tube so easier to squeeze
2. wash your face with cleanser. No need to dry. leave it wet.
3. Squeeze a generous amt of the mask on your palm and apply on your face.
4. It will feel very warm, at times it feels hot.
5. THe warm sensation will last a short while, leave it on for 5-10 mins and rinse off.

That's it! you have your mask done! Simple rite?
This mask is to clean out the impurities in your skin. doesn't give moisture. If you are looking at mositure, can ask the body shop pple to help you. Another brand you can consider is Origins,

Origins also not bad. I am using their "never a dull moment" scrub, skin feels smooth after it...worth a go!

shunkuey

Hi Islandpub,
I think for the kua hor cannot alter one leh.... it's adjustable straps with different length for the skirt.... for my shots my feet didn't get exposed lor.... another alternative is go back to ur bridal shop and ask them whether can u just try on the kua to see if u like it then quickly try to see if the skirt can cover ur feet or not. if cannot then no choice lor, go chinatown and get those old fashion but traditional cloth sewn shoes, u know...those with dragon and phoneix one??? i think the price is quite ok u know... u think can? And remember not to eat too much chocolate

vee kee,
My toilet bowls i bought at Lian Joo, at Kaki Bukit wholesale shop. They sell all the taps, mixers, basin and toilet bowls. Checked the price of Sim Siang Choon but find them very expensive. The ones i got it's plain white ones, brand called "JohnsonSuisse" (sorrie dunno how to spell!) got 1 year guarantee also, better than the star brand at SSC, heard from designer that star brand got problem with the flushing system!

i also thot of not wearing high heels shoes for photography but then felt that something is missing lor, like the overall look is not complete without high heels...... i guess better wear lor but if u don't like too high and the height of ur hubby is not too much of a difference from yours then maybe can try to wear lower heels. I was thinking if u barefoot - if photographer miss shot and took pics accidentally with ur barefoot how? so u better wear lah hor to play safe

If u need the address of Lian Joo at Kaki Bukit u let me know

novbride

hi m2m,

orr..luo di chuang is full length window...sorrie i confused u
heehee..so u're our big sister here..

hey, i'm also hunting for nice love songs for my wedding..let's do our research together , ok?
one time, i also like this Enya song but then now i feel its getting common...when i go for home show or exhibition, i always hear it..my hubby recently went to a wedding dinner, they also use this song for 1st march-in but my hubby think it's not very suitable loh..but then, this is just our opinion..most impt is both u and your HB like it.
Anyone like 'I knew I Loved you' by Savage Garden? I think it's a nice one, my sis-in-law used it for her wedding, i still think it's nice after so long...heee..but i dun think i'll use it..me and hubby still hunting for 'our song'

baby

My fiance just confirmed he wants to have church wedding. So now finalising the details. I will prefer to hold on separate days as it is tiring to go through customary, church and dinner on a day. Most certainly I will not enjoy. What more I will give my guests much inconvenience as usally after church they do not know where to go.

Shunkuey, not too ex as I am tied on budget. Just went Leaping Lizard this evening. Yes indeed very expensive.$108 for the design I want. BTW where is RICI? At scotts. I think this sat continue my shoes hunting.

what does Lian Joo sell? It is a big warehouse? can give the address. I am interested.

BTW everyone!!!!!!!!!!! Have you heard before DA DA Photo Studio at Jurong West or Royal de brides at IMM. It is urgent as my friend who is interested wants to hear feedback from anyone who hears or experiences their services. Pls feedback. Thanks.

bleuz

hmm.... seems like i've yet to find someone who has the same wedding date as me...

was just wondering if any of you have choosen actual day photographers or videographers yet?

i'd be going for my first actual fitting thursday so i'm really excited... when have you guys arranged to have your photos taken? any places in mind to share?

my fiance and i are thinking of going to the maldives for our honeymoon but have heard that it's really expensive. anyone with comments?

hi jellybeans: u are working in h.k. now? so will you be back 4 good b4 your wedding or settling there after ur wedding?

islandpub

hi vee kee,

hey, thanks for teaching me how to apply a mask... it sure is simple enuf for me to follow....

hi shunkuey,

i think i will most probably wear my silver strappy heels with the kua lah....

hi Baby Dokie,

i ve used Da Da Photo Studio before to take my university graduation photo at their studio.. the result is not bad lah i find.... heard gd reviews abt them before but then that was in 1996... now 5 yrs later.. dunno liao.....

alpha

hmm... shadow, we're on the same day and is equally relax
But my is a one day event... so tea, church &amp; dinner all on the 23.
taken your photo? which bridal is that.

shadow

Hi Pegsfur,

I hate seeing myself in pics .. that is why I have yet to take my wedding shoots. Still getting myself prepared for the shooting.

Renovation for my lovenest has been done since July, booking for my wedding banquet (at MM) has been done in early November, so what is need to be done is the wedding shoots.

I still have the 'relax' feeling that the wedding is still so 'far away'. :p

chemson

Wow... first fitting oredi.. jellybeans and bleuz... that is so soon.. me dun even settle for my bridal package yet.. thot by January.. it won't be too late... cos... I will only be having my photoshoot around June... :p

jk, actually I wanted 21/9/ but in the end chose the week before.. :p

But have a question... for those who are gonna guo da li...will you guys be doing during the lunar 6th or right after the 7th mth.. and as for the invitations.. guess we have to issue during the 6th mth then... wow.... kinda stressful, huh ?

pegsfur

Hi shadow,

Why u hate to see yrself in pics? U got phobia is it?
I'm sure u'd look pretty in yr wedding photos.... so when's yr photo shoot?

janfyp

Hi everyone!!
Since all of us are getting married in Nov 02, would just like to ask where is your planned honeymoon destination?? Could'nt think of a place that is not too cold at this time of the year!!!

cindy

Pegsfur

Actually, I wasn't really the one preparing the guest list. You see, my father-in-law is more "Gan jiong" then us....he was the one who prepared our guest list (including our friends...). All I did was to type into my PC.

Hey, u dun have to envy me...I started off with a hard time...In fact, I've booked 2 wedding photography package (1 in JB &amp; 1 in S'pore) coz the one I took in JB was not up to my expectation &amp; I think I'm slightly over-spent. Now must cut cost on other areas...

Aliblue

Woah, u so fast counting invitation cards liao ah....I still have not collected mine. Anyway, I think its okay....coz my company printer has promised to print the inserts for me FOC (he even want to design for me my wedding card with my photo in it but I dun think its necessary coz I think its too "cheenah").

Shadow

Dun worry! A good photographer &amp; make-up artist will definitely make up look "swee swee" on that day. Juz relax &amp; smile more on camera....In fact for my s'pore photo shoot, I brought along my dog to take the pictures

alpha

hi cindy, u brought along your dog! hmm.. we're still thinking if we should bring our chinchilla
wat else did u bring for photoshoot?
we're thinking of bring my pooh bears and golf set :p

kinky

Hi Baby Dokie,

Glad that you are having a Church Wedding. Where will your Church wedding venue be? Can you share with me on how to arrange the program for Church Wedding once you have finalised the details. Thanks.

Hey, anyone there has a Church Wedding, other than Baby Dokie? Need recommendation on good &amp; not too ex. caterer &amp; deco and how to arrange the program, songs, etc.

joker

Hi everybody

Really glad to know that there are so many Mar 02 bride.

Me so unhappy. My flat suppose to be hand over by 2molo. But yesterday when I went down to check, lights not installed yet, basin and toilet bowls also. Cabinets, main gate all no done yet. Don know how they can hand over 2molo. Beside we still need time for the outstanding small small things leh. Furnitures going in on Sat now don know wat to do liao. Chase the contractor, he say no prob one lah. Must have trust in him. So sad

Anyone has similar experience?

bleuz

hi chemson,

reason i decided to start early for my gowns is coz i'm quite particular about the designs and detailing so wanted more lead time. my gown will be ready sometime end april and my photoshoot will be in may.

have you shortlisted any bridal boutiques yet? don't worry, you still have ample time

btw... where abouts is your new place?

dee

it's amazing that there are so many of us....good to share tips with man....

janfyp: as for honeymoon...it's a little early to think of that as i have a whole slew of things to do like confirming the venue, picking the bridal package and a whole lot of stuff which I know exist but can't pinpoint yet...but somewhere tropical will be nice...i dun mind a honeymoon on some island in the carribean or something....have you paid the deposit for the venue already?? do you negotiate before or after you pay the deposit??

jenjen: same date issit?? have you booked your package yet??

berline: i have never gone for a facial in my life too....do you think it really helps.... i hear that it hurts...how often should one do this facial thingy...

chemson

Hi bleuz,

Me too.. very particular abt the designs and detailing of my gowns as well... I did so much research and bought so many mags (USA ones) but I have confirmed my design... the designer of the boutique which I intend to sign up with.. has two designs lined up for me for my WG and EG..
I am very pleased with her excellent service... everything can 'discuss' one.. she is very flexible.. My hubby is overseas now.. waiting for him to come back to confirm. My new place is in the Hougang area..

berlinelee

JenJen: your new place in sengkang. Which road?
Have you moved in?

Janfyp:I don't dare to think of honeymoon now.But I hope to go New Zealand but if budget permits maybe tour Europe for one month. (*dreaming)

What about the rest of you? Do share!

snowflake

Wow !!!! this thread is real active !!!!!!!!

I'm an Oct bride too !!!!!!! Nice to 'meet' all of u *takes a bow*

Mine will b on the 5th Oct.....hmmm...seems like so far none have the same date......actually wanted to take 26th...my hubby's bday but too bad the place is taken up so it's on the 5th....which is just as well cos our ROM date was 6th Oct 2001 so it's exactly 1 yr away !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

have not done much so far....cept for booking of the dinner....still sourcing around for a bridal package.....but seems like most of u here have booked yours !!!!

bleuz

hi chemson,

it's great that you have your gown designs in mind already

i only knew what i wanted for my wedding gown and my designer gave me advice on my evening gown.

care to share how both your gowns look like?

jenjen

dee: I booked with Marina Mandarin... bridal package having some problems... may consider forfeiting the deposit... see first lah...

belinelee: sorry got ur nick wrong just now... mine's at ancorvale area... where's urs?? Have not moved in yet...

chemson

Hi bleuz,

Well... I am still looking around for more EG designs... I dun really have my mind set as yet for the EG.. but more so for the WG...my WG.. A-line.. Sweetheart neckline...princess cut and of course.. must include the details such as embroideries and beadings...the US mags actually have a lot of gowns with the really nice embroideries and beadings... EG.. have not really set on that design.. but I want a 2-tone colour materials... :p

What about yours? Your designs? What are they like?

cindy

Hey Alpha

Be prepared for a long &amp; tiring day if you wanna bring your pet for shooting...for us, we require longer time for our dog to stay at the right position. Mine's still a puppy hence she's very active &amp; playful...can u imagine how "shed" we are at the end of the day.

I'm a forever friends &amp; precious moment collector, so I brought alot of my collections, our golf set &amp; my hubby's no1 uniform with sword. e. We stuff them all in a huge trolley bag...(like going for long tour)...heheheee...

Actually, I've juz gone to select my photos yesterday &amp; my photographer is kind enough to return me some of our samples. I'm trying to scan them in &amp; hopefully, I can show them to you later on. Hope it can give you some ideas....

Hey Joker

Dun be sad okay! Stay calm! The last time I had some problems with my contractor too. I tell u, some contractors are really "kana sai". They tends to bully/take advantage of women client. What I did was to ask a very "fierce" friend to speak to the contractor &amp; demand him to complete the necessary tasks or we will not release our payment to him...

jan

Hi Vee Kee &amp; Baby Dokie!

My house hunting has an outcome !! Shortlisted 2 units!

Baby Dokie, i'm choosing CCK b'cos my parents's home is in Bt Batok, thot of staying near them...then can go home more often mah.....
free dinner...heehee :p jus kidding!!

Hi Shunkuey!
What abt outdoor location shoots? Can we choose our own preferred locations?? Thot of a few...OR must follow photographer's instructions? And how many?? Any limitations?

As for shoes, do u think i can like interchange?
Eg, certain shots may see the feet, so quickly changed into bridal shoes...other times...wear sandals can or not hah? heheheee!

Hear fm u soon! Thks!

Jan

joker

Hi Pegsfur
Happy la, Sat can choose fotos liao. Excited right? Must share share ah!

Hi Cindy
Thks for your advice. Actually all the while the reno is handled by my FH. We don wan to turn nasty becos of the outstanding jobs to be done. Now will just have to wait and see what they can complete by today. Me definitely going to hold the payment. He wans us to wait, so I will let him wait also.

alpha

thks cindy. i think a chin is not as difficult as a dog. besides, they can only join us in the indoor. if not they probably won't survived the next day if we bring them for the outdoor too :p

ok.. now've i've got an idea liao. i'll bring my some of my fav poohs, our golf set....

where did u go for outdoor? anyone have any idea or any connections to any golf course? we're thinking of the gold course and the sea...

looking forward to see your foto...

cowie

Hi JK,
Looks like we are in the same shoes..... I am also the only one on 15th ;P

Hi Jollybean and Bleuz,
Wow, that is fast, first fitting already! I was still thinking of making my first appt with my designer only towards the end of this month and I am hoping to do my photo-shoot in March!

Hi Chemson,
Me living in Hougang too! But my new place will be in Sengkang
Is yours a resale?

pegsfur

Cindy,

Must share yr photos, ok?

I cannot bring my dog for photoshooting cos she's likely to bark her head off. I can imagine how you cope with yr dog

Joker,

Ok lah, I will share with u people but photos not out so fast rite? Must wait for them to develop mah .... see if I can get some samples back or not