(2002) Brides of year 2002

chemson

Hi Cowie,

U R the day after mine... :p

Nope.. mine flat is not a resale.. a brand new one.. around the Buangkok Area.

bleuz

hi chemson,

ur wedding gown sounds very sweet
and yah.. those u.s mags have lots of detailings. are you thinking of using thai silk as the material for ur evening gown? hehe... that's the only material i know that has double tone (very limited knowledge on materials).

my wedding gown is a scoop-necked bustier, empire line and princess cut too. off white duchess satin. it's got quite a long train (luff long trains!)

my evening gown is a 2 piece, turquoise in colour and made from shantung silk.

have you decided when to have your photos taken yet?

hi cowie,

my new place is also in sengkang, where abouts is yours? if you are thinking of OTR gowns, i think you've still got time
which bridal boutique are you with?

chemson

Hi bleuz,

Nope.. not using thai silk.. it will be the light weight duchess satin with a layer of soft silk organza over it. The embroideries will be on the organza. Oh.. my EG.. thinking of organza maybe over silk satin.. but give me a great idea to use thai silk, huh ?

Wow.. your WG sounds like U will be a princess for a day...
And I like Turquoise.. great colour !

Errr.. photos... may take during June.
Wat abt you ?

cheerios

happy to see so many msgs posted. i hvt been logging on often enuff, it seems. :p

baby dokie, how's ur shoes search? indeed, went to leaping lizard too and found the px too ex aso. i finally got 2 pairs (one white and the other silver) for my WG and EG. all from metro, pxs v reasonable! esp now the x'mas party range with shimmering details r out, do chk them out! some r really pretty and nice.

my new place is in sengkang and it's under reno currently. but i'm staying in cck now, maybe quite near to your new place cos mine is blk 61 series. hv been popping by at my new place during wkends to chk the progress and it seems wet works are completing this week and carpentry shd start next week.

islandpub, do let us know how your fotoshoot turn out ok? i'm getting anxious abt mine!! today shall be my 2nd gown fitting ... feeling happy!
like u, i try telling myself things like: "today shall eat sandwich and no oily breakfast", but alas, my mouth ate roti prata, with sugar somemore! :p but i dun do that often, so am still maintaining my weight at 49kgs now.
but u saw me last time, not so slim woh. kekeke ... anyway, hope got chance to see ur fotos when they r out!

cheers all!

starfruit

dee : mine is at Marina Mandarin too. Did u book the bigger ballroom or the one on the 5th floor with the winding stairway leading up.?

berline & Dee : ya, heard another sarying about going for facial. was told by frens not to go for a first time facial at a date thats is too near to ur photography / actual wedding day as facial will cause ur face to outbreak in pimples. is this true?

cactus

Hi all May brides,
Mind if I join in? My big day will be 25 May, tea ceremony in the morning, Church in the afternoon & dinner at Grand Plaza Parkroyal at nite. Gown is from Flamingo & taking my studio photo with Montage next Friday. Have not decided where to go for outdoor shoot & honeymoon yet. Most likely is Labrador/East coast as we love the beach. Spent the last few weeks shopping buying shoes, ties & shirts for the photoshoot, trying to book actual day photographer, videographer & bridal car, sourcing for cards, bulletins & printer as well as shortlisting houses. Supposed to go for selection for P21 this quarter but my selection date is among the last few days so no choice have to buy resale flats. I have a church wedding, many other things to see to such as the decoration, caterer and music. Anyone can help? I'm so stresed up, just can't wait to confirm everything.

m2m

Hi Snowflake,

Greetings from the old oct 02 bride! Welcome! Welcome!

novbride - I love Savage Garden's music, "
I knew I loved you" is great too. How about Madonna's "Take a bow", slow and romantic? I like that too!

Pardon me for asking? Shouldn't you change your name to octbride?

Seems like lollipop is missing today?

piggyminnie

my wedding is on 16 March 2002. Seem to be a hot date. My photoshoot at begining of Jan, house done and now waiting for the day to draw nearer to prepare the guest list.

dawn1002

Hi Novbride, I noticed there is another Novbride too in the forum.

Hi m2m and Novbride,

Though I'm young but my music taste is towards oldies. Hee Hee.

I was thinking of Kenny Rogers 'Through the years' or something that I heard on radio for the last couple of days, i think the title is 'I pledge my love to you' but need to research who sang that. Or another one that I was thinking of was the song that was recently in the TV ad for Nuovo condominiums... I think it's 'Fallen' by Lauren Wood (dun know spelling correct or not).

berlinelee

JenJen: Mine is at Anchorvale Link too. Blk 305A
What is your block? wow so 'qiao'. My husband has shifted in already and I only go there during weekends.
Yes, do not go for any facial or any body treatment one week before wedding date as well as photography.Give it a one week break after facial session. Face might outbreak in pimples and body might outbreak with rashes then you cannot wear low cut.
As for how often, ideally is once fortnightly but me very lazy since I booked a 10 session course then I go once a month. If the beautician is experience, you should not feel that it is painful.

cindy

Joker

Yah, make him wait.... Some contractors are desperate to collect your $$$. Make sure you're fully satisfied b4 releasing your payment. If not, once they collected your payment, they will "hack care" you. Dun expect them to have any customer service...anyway, hope your renovation will be of smooth run.

Alpha

Hey, I tot chinchilla can jump very far N likes to run around the place??? Hmmm...better catch good hold of it before the camera man snap your pixs........

I've alrdy taken both indoor N outdoor shoots in JB (without my dog coz can't bring in JB). For local, I've only done studio shoot...Hmmm...golf course, wat do you think of SAFRA Golf Resort.... think they have recently upgraded their golf course.....as for beach, maybe you can consider pasir ris park (fisherman village)...its quite romantic to shoot there coz they have tables & chairs very near to the beach......juz my suggestion....=)

joker

Hi Cindy
Thks for your encouragement. Will 'jian1 chi2 da4 di3'

Hi Piggyminnie
Same same. We on the same date as pegsfur.
Where's your lovenest?

jenjen

starfruit... mine is at MM, dee's venue is not confirmed yet... think you got the wrong person... anyway, I will be taking the main ballroom on the ground floor...

belinelee... mine is at the cluster in front of the depot... I guess urs is the green ones with the wave design rite?? my cousin is there too...

Hi everyone, me heard some bad things abt my bridal boutique so planning to source for some other options... any recommendations??

also I am thinking of going for facial regularly... how often do u gals think we should go?? my skin at the moment no major breakout... but it is not oily either... but the complexion not considered baby smooth yet lah... how??

angph38, is sothy at raffles place really good?? but I find the package a bit steep leh... 5 sessions enuff to make my face baby smooth??

cowie

Hi Chemson,
There are still new flats available at Buangkok? When did you do your selection?

Hi Bluez,
Nope, not OTR, will be MTMing my WG. EG is supposed to be OTR, but shall see how the selection go first
I'm with Yvonne Creative. Hey, you also in Sengkang? Mine is the premium apt, blk 158A. Where's yours?

V

vee kee

Hi Shunkuey!

Yup! Please gimme the address of Lian Joo.
I also saw a Johnson Suisse toilet at Ho Kee that I like, selling like $328 but got free basin. Will check out Lian joo and see if there is any better deal! Thanks!

Hi Baby dokie!

I also took my graduation pictures at DaDa. They are the ones to look for if you want portrait type pictures. Wedding pictures...their style is not really my liking. They have good service and sharp pictures. Hope this helps!

Harlow Islandpub!

Dun mention it!

Hi Jan!

I bot my resale at Bt Batok! Also becos near my parents place in JE....
Why dun you consider Bt BAtok? Then maybe can walk home to eat dinner...hehehe... if you stay near your parents close enuff can get and additional $10k grant.

Hi Catus!

Welcome to the club! Dun stress, dun stress, focus! For your Actual day photographer - what is your budget? Any preference for the photostyle (eg, normal, journalistic, abstract)?

House wise, narrow down your location. Can go to the vicintiy of places u like to eat breakfast, feel if you like the surroundings. At the same time see which blocks you like then can either tell your housing agent or check with HDB if there are any resale units there put up for sale.

I used to go Tiong Bahru, redhill, queenstown, CCK, Yew Tee, Bukit Gombak, Bukit batok, Jurong East to view flats, damn shiong man! Finally we gave up on seeing the rest coz we like the env in BB, it is near my parents and specifically looked for flats near MRT and also within 2km radius from my parents place (to get additional $10k grant). So we just concentrated on the few blks in BB area and finally found the place we want!

If you have any other areas of concern, do raise it up... I am sure one of us here will be able to share some experiences!

shadow

Hi Pegsfur,

I have probia of the camera .. heheh camera shy .. I will be taking my wedding shoots on 7/01/02. I will be choosing my gown on 29/12/01.
A bit anxious now.

Hi Alpha,

Happy to know that you are on the same day as mine. I have booked a package in JB (cheaper) hehehe. Where did you book for your dinner ??

alpha

hi cindy, you're rite, they are gd jumper... but when they're leave their nest, they won't even move... so they'll be at their most still...

hi shadow, my dinner is at ochard parade hotel... hmm, your photoshoot is 2 days before mine... since your pkg in JB, wat abt the make up & car deco? have i settled that already? where's your dinner? is there any church wedding?

chemson

hi cowie,

yep, there were still new flats available for my selection. I was asked to selection during the 3rd Qtr exercise.. the last one for the North-east zone under the RFS system.. I was affected by the BTO scheme.. but we chose to opt out.. and wanted our flat as soon as possible. I selected in August and got my keys in September, that was fast, right?

starfruit

1 question,

does any one have any contacts for experienced seamstress ? i am looking for someone to alter my wedding gown.

starfruit

1 question,

does any one have any contacts for experienced seamstress ? i am looking for someone to alter my wedding gown.

starfruit

Jen Jen :

what negative comments have u heard about ur bridal place. care to share with us. maybe some of ue here will have some feedback for u.

shadow

Hi Alpha,

My dinner will be at MM, no church wedding for me though my friends advised me to do it.

As for my makeup artist, most probably I will be taking Sandy Oh. I will be making an appt with her later this month for a trial make up before I decide. Car deco - no idea yet .. like I said I'm still happy-go-lucky.

How's your preparation so far ???? Which bridal shop have you booked your package with ??

snowflake

Hi M2M,

thanks for the warm welcome

aiyoh...dun keep saying u old .... 28 not too old mah......

so u got ur bridal package liao ???? wat abt ur new hse....where at ?????????

angelia

JenJen : dunno if Sothy's is that gd, but since so many recommended, so go trial lor. yup, agree it's pretty ex, but guess i wouldn't wanna risk going to some unknown ones since ROM is only 2 mths away & wedding a yr away.

oh, i've booked with Charming Gdn at Copthorne Orchid. i've got only abt 20 tables and that place is pretty cosy.

berlinelee

Jen Jen,
Mine is not the one with the wave design. My house is the block opposite Nan Qiao Sec school, is the those also green blocks after the wave design. Rather near the NTUC coffeeshop.

Starfruit,
Why do you need someone to alter yr gown. Do you buy off the rack? Maybe you can ask your bridal shop to alter for you?

shadow

Hi Joker,

I took up a package with Valentine (if I am not wrong) ... which one did you book with ??? Where did you go for your shoots ?? Have you got a makeup artist ??

lollipop

Hi everybody!!

Sorry, didn't mean to miss out all the fun that's going on here. Took 1/2 day leave because mum had a bad fall, accompanied her to the dr.

Such a long thread I dunno where to begin.

Dawn1002: Time doesn't matter. You dun have to know your FH for a long period before you know he is the one you want to spend the rest of your life with. Marrying young has its advantages. The age gap btwn you and your children will not be that great and you can relate to one another better. You will also have more energy running after them! No worries, I have friends who got married after knowing their other halves for 1 - 2 years!

In Jan I will be able to get the letter from HDB, probably asking us to go for selection and stuff. I absolutely have no idea when I will get my keys.

Hey, I like Oldies too! I tune in Gold 90 because I prefer their songs to others. I love ABBA, Bee Gees...

NovBride: Will your new nook be at P21 too? Yeah, I love the "luo di chuang", very condo look... 5 rm very nice, but FH and I prefer a cosier feel so we decided to stick with 4 rm.
Lose weight? Me too. Need to get rid of the flab around tummy area... must walk alot, must do more crunches....but first, must motivate myself!

I love songs by Savage Gdn, their "Truly, Madly, Deeply" it just puts you in the mood...

m2m: *lollipop takes a breather* You won't be an old Oct bride! You will in fact be the happiest woman on that day!
March in music? ;B sourcing around as well. Can't offer much comments in that area, sorry..

Snowflake: Welcome! I gues you will be the first Oct bride to get hitched! Better start looking around for bridal pkg. It is better to get it settled than rush into making decisions you may regret later on.

I AM GLAD TO BE BACCCCKKKKKK!!! Keep those mails coming in! *clap hands*

joker

Hi Shadow
Me wif 'jiu1 Bi3 Te4' by the roadside near Sentosa. The photographer took us to the ex sultan school and by the roadside of lot 10. Wah, I almost die at lot 10. Everyone looking at me like alien. Really wan to dig hole to hide. So in the end took only 5,6 shots I 'chao' liao.

My package don include actual day make-up artist and vehicle. If to use the make-up artist from the bridal shop is SGD 480. Feel like using her becos quite satified wif her make-up but find it ex. So still considering.

So where's valentine? Price reasonable? You using Sandy for make-up?

racal

hey..you gals are communicating fast..
and you are alllucky..got grant from gov..I don get grants..my guy owns a private property, but I want a HDB on my own so I'm support that flat thru my own CPF. tough, got to top up cash.. and I will be renting the rooms out while I stay with my MIL.anyone attended and wedding dinner at Concorde? i will be holding mine there..but really worry about their services and food.

shadow

Hi Joker,

Valentine is located at Tun Aminah. I paid for RM 2,588 for 27 pics, 8 outfits and 72 pics (4 pose) for friends and relative (all these after taking into consideration, not having portrait pics).

How about yours ?? Yes, I am still considering Sandy, I have to wait till I go for my trial makeup. But think most probably will ask her to do it for me cos I am lazy to search for another one

cowie

Hi Chemson,
That was fast!!!! I selected during the first quarter, I think I kinda remember those flats near Buangkok area..... but thought they were the lower floors....
I may be wrong lah....

It was the opposite for us, we didn't want the flat so soon. So, we were looking out for those that were not completed yet. Cos we only intend to move in after our customary wedding in Sept even though ROM will be in Feb. But still, the flat came faster than we expected. Letter for loan application is here. So, should be getting keys in Jan?.....

Have you moved in yet?

m2m

Snowflake and Dawn1002 - No new house leh! I've got my keys 3 years back in Sembawang, opposite Sun Plaza. So when brides here are discussing about HDB, I do not have any comments here. I waited at least 2 years before I got mine, so it's amazing that the waiting time is much faster now!

lolliop - just when we start thinking about you i saw your message! How's your mum now?

p.s. finally have time to type this!

chemson

hi cowie,

no lah.. there were flats available for selection in the upper floor in my area. In fact I took an upper floor.. HDB is still building some more blocks opposite my block..

We have not moved in yet.. cos nothing has been done.. cos we wanted to renovate maybe in Jan or Feb.. still early mah.. and I dun really like to visit my new home.. cos the area is swamped with those irritating contractors who won't leave you alone !

joker

Hi Shadow
So your package don include all those pics with frame? Like 'chuan2 tou2 zao4'? My package cost RM3299, wif 23 pics, a smaller ulbum, 1 WG, 1EG, for actual day, 1 'chuan tou zao', 1 table-top, 1 more medium frame, 72 pcs 3R (4 pose). Yours sounds cheap. But can ready in time before your wedding day? I choose my fotos on 15/dec but can only collect 13/Jan.

cowie

Hi Chemson,
Sorrie
I must have gotten the wrong area. Maybe this place that you chosen was not available yet during my selection

chemson

Hi Cowie,

It shd be available for selection for Qtr 1 & 2 cos... some of the units in other blocks were taken up oredi.

BTW, when is your ROM ? In Feb 02, right? How have your preparations been ?

lollipop

Hi m2m,

Awwww....you were thinking about me....*wipe tear, lollipop breaks into big grin*

MY mum's better, I hope. The dr has given her lotsa painkillers and cream to soothe the bruises and wounds. Pray she'll be alright soon.

Tks for your concern, m2m.

Just to let you gals know, I dun have the internet at home, so I can only log in during ...
*lollipop looks around suspiciously* office hrs.
;P

wutsy

i am also a nov bride!! i also got my wedding venue and bridal shop settled. right now i'm busy with my renovations! so anyone bought furniture or heard of ideal home??

cindy

As promised, I've scanned in my pixs but my webpage server is down hence I'm not able to upload them.

Anyway, if you're interested, leave me an email @

I'll email them to you! How abt that!

shadow

Hi Joker,

I exchange the chuan you zao with more photos. My package comes with 1 big or rather medium album and 1 small album. Dunno if they can be ready by March .. but the boss assured me that they can.

How does your gown look like ?? Actually my dream gown is something like 'cinderella' style (seem it in Hong Kong) but afraid that it will be out of fashion in Singapore ....

angph38

wow, u all got ur hse either ready or almost ready and i'm still sourcing
hopefully my agent can find something for us to view this wkend...

cindy

Okay gals...am sending them to you now...before I leave for the day.

Appreciate comments. And BTW, my make-up is by Sandy Ho.

shadow

Hi Cindy,

Your make-up is done by Sandy Ho?? Does she style your hair too ?? How much does she charge you for the make-up? I am thinking of asking her to do make-up for me

jenjen

starfruit... maybe you can refer to another thread about "a vote for the best bridal boutique" or something... I have entered all my grieviences there...

angph38, after trying out the facial, tell me good or not leh...

belinelee... orh... I know... mine is the dark red, dark green and cream one...

bumblebee

I'm a Nov bride too...23 Nov.
Wah, see that many of you have already booked your hotel and bridal package.
I'm only on the verge of signing my hotel banquet.

Probably going to start looking at bridal salons soon (feel abit gan cheong when I read that many of you have booked both already.
I'm thinking of Ted Wu or The Wedding Present.
Has anyone visited them before? Does anyone know the price of their packages?