(2002) Brides of year 2002

charlene

Hi islandpub,

braddell ? That's very near my house
as I'm staying in Toa Payoh currently...

will email u shortly. Thanks !

cindy

Hey Joker

My weekend was fine. Hope yours is too!

Hahhaa....its okay, I'm alrdy used to pple calling me "dwarf"...but I hope my kids will not be as "ka tek" as me... =)

Oh yes, my hubby saw our posting...he's so upset abt us saying him "fat"...he doesn't even dare to feast over the weekend & kept rubbing his tummy.....hahahahhaaa....

Yah loh...he say he dun really remember who you are...maybe u tell me who's your ex...maybe that can give it a tingle to his memory....

m2m

Hi everybody,

I am just back fr my leave and I am swamped with so many emails that pop in over the weekend!

Notice that all of you have weddings on a weekend, mine is on a weekday, are there any other brides whose weddings fall on a weekday in Oct 02?

Tiny123 - r u born in the year of the rat? Then yes, we are a year difference!

novbride - Wow! you are going to Korea! Envy Envy! My husband and I can't even take leave for a few days! But it's okay, we will be going to Bangkok at the end of the year for 4 days! We only need to apply 1 day leave!

Snowflake - Poor little bride, hope you will find your ideal flat soon!!!

Will login to this forum tomorrow! Bye!

starfruit

Janfyp:

One thing about rings, i bought mine from goldheart. I love the design of my ring when i first saw it, good thing I purchased it early cos they told me they had to bring it in from Japan, i waited about 3 months for the rings to arrive, it did not arrive till 2 weeks before my ROM and i was starting to panic by then. So must go choose ur ring early just in case they need some time to bring it in for u.

yvonne

Hi Loreal

i ROMed on 28/12/2000..beri long time ago huh..heheh
customary on 24/9/2002..
new hse at sengkang..basic furniture have liao..
customary so long coz must save up mah..heheh

sorry me collegue 4-got to ask his wife abt the photographer leh..dun worry, i pressure him liao..

ya,i agree tat all bridals have good n bad comments..n its up to diff ppl to gauge..
for me..b4 coming to noe this forum i'm already having 2nd tots abt Paris..it was so long ago when we signed up..(imagine yr 2000 when i was shopping ard at a furniture fair) - hubby havent even proposed yet!!
this year sort of prep for banquet n seriously lookg @ bridal..tats when i start to look ard n compare..
ya i now its quite waste of $$ though its $500/- (still $$ leh) but i dun wanna b unhappy n worry over bridal issue...
i think if my deposit is more..i won't give up so easily..might make 1st appt..etc n c how..
luckily $$ not too much n my hubby support me..heheh

hey..dun worry so much abt Chris Creation..i'll try n find out more from my colleague...so tat u can look out for certain things loh..

as 4 MM..mine is a weekday n $650/- per table..
have u booked ur banquet venue?

kekekek...seems like we all trying to slim down huh..k..must motivate each other!

Loreal..4 me..i have to go out site..so if i'm out..i dun take lunch..just a drink..
me lazy to exercise..always half way give up!

sorry 4 being so lengthy hor..
like i say..office hrs cannot surf net liao..so must "say" more things when i do my postings here!

Cowie
ur new hse is premium one??think my fren also 158A series..or maybe other blks..she got the keys liao..abt to start reno..

k lah..me stop here today...cont' tomolo...

janfyp

Thanks alot for all your suggestions!!! It has been very helpful!!!

I have contacted Sandy but she might not be available that day but she will ask her friend to stand in for her if she can't make it. As for rings, we bought them long ago in Sept when Aspial was having their sales. (kiasu right) It took them almost a month to bring in the design that I like!!! Now only leave the dress and lunch venue, I think.

jenjen

I had my ROM lunch at a restaurant opened by my bf's fren's dad... the cost is $168+++ per table for 7 dishes... the food was fresh and it was just nice for everyone... if u are interested, tell me and I will email u the details...

dress, u can check out some shop at great world city, I think I saw some very nice gowns and dresses there... I think there is oso one shop across sakae sushi in wheelock place... I think some dress there too... not too sure though...

baby

Hello Everyone!!!!

Island Pub, where is Lee Meng exactly? I want to buy electrical applicances. Thanks.

Bluebell! Alright! I am trying again this Friday as I am on leave. As my fitting is in 3 weeks time, I am anxious to get it
I am going Studios at Centrepoint. Shall inform you if I find sth nice there.

Jan, take your time. Better to be slow then to be sorry. Not easy to house hunt be patient.
By the way, your wedding package expensive leh.
Anyway will on pass the message to my friend.
Jan you are selecting your gowns this 15th right? Milan shouldn't have any problem as I recall they have nice gowns.

Islandpub, how do you find your photography. My friend is also interested in French....at Funan Centre and wish to hear more feedback.

Shunkuey I also interested in the tailor. Pls inform me if you can remember.

shunkuey

Hello Everybody! Wah! So many May Brides now

Hi Islandpub, thanks for ur help. If this is the case, then maybe i approach my usual seamstress to see if she can make the dress for me. If not, then i will email my contact to u for an appt with ur tailor

Jan, don't rush when buying ur flat. now plenty of choices so take ur time to choose wisely

tiny123

Hi Christan!

Congrats!! hee.. yea that date is a very good date according to the elderly. Mine will be having the dinner on the same day. Another hot date is on 21/9 - Mooncake festival(15/8)

Photographer - Monica and Hilarion? heard they are quite hot!
Videographer - I'm not too sure as I do not intend to have one. Will just get anyone of my friends to videocam for us. Maybe you can check out in the other threads of the forum.

Have you booked your bridal boutique and dinner place? If yes, where?

MRM yeh me born in yr of rat! hee... going to be auntie liao.

cowie

Yup, yup, my is the premium one..... but I don't think it is the same blk as your fren's. Just settled mortgage loan. Should be getting keys soon.

So, are you targetting any bridal in particular?

Hi Loreal,
I'm also with MM like Yvonne, but mine is on Sun. I have to pay $739 nett per table. The price for Sat is $789 nett per table. Hope this helps.

Hi Chemson,
Do keep us updated once you are 100% sure ya?!

novbride

hello all!

how's everybody?!! ;P Jus went over to JB last weekend..wah..so tiring getting over there...I went to City Square Shopping Centre, it's very near M'sia custom. I realised there's 3 big bridal boutiques in the shopping centre! but dun think I'm interested when i think of the process going over there..hee! :p

hi AC, lollipop!! Think our wedding date is very hot hor?!! ;P Did you gals actually pick this date bcos it's auspicious? I didn't actually..jus that it's one of the available Saturday...

hi m2m, welcome back!! wah..go bangkok for shopping spree issit?!! me looking fwd to next Monday cos its a holiday! Yippee!

hi snowflake, feel sorry for you... didn't know P21 so hot! u apply for 4/5 rooms flat? so wat's ur decision? maybe u'll like to review the available ones again cos you may have to wait for quite sometime if you re-Q leh..

christan

Hi Tiny123,

I have got Hilarion's quotation...it's not cheap and I am still looking around. Have known 2 photographers who are quite good. They did for my friends weddings and I am still looking around.

As for the videographer, I do hope to engaged a good and yet with reasonable pricing.

Yes, got my bridal & dinner place. In fact, i have just went down to the bridal today to do my MTM WG. It was a damn fast process and my hubby was shock! cos' he thought it will take a very long time...

I think I am a bit younger than u, i am born in the year of tiger!

See u.

novbride

Good Morning to all OctBrides-To-Be!!!

Hi ChrisTan, I'm also borned in the year of TIGER leh
Just curious..where's your dinner venue? and which bridal boutique u sign up with?

okie..need to work liao..will check out this thread later. 'See' ya!!! ;)

loreal

Wah...Yvonne n Cowie...

Both u so rich huh? MM soooo Ex har... esp. during weekend (sat) nearly 800bucks...Heart pain man! Can actullay go to westin liao...In fact nowadays no need to think about getting profit like the golden old days...These days can break even..."secretly laugh" liao lor...

I got a qs. do u all save till the whole amt of banquet cost or wat? My friend was tellin me just be prepared at the most 1/2 of the cost lah...the other half can get from ang bao... but me still pressure leh...wait they all come with 20bucks ang-bao i peng san...

Yvonne, haha...me oso ROM long time liao in sept 00 didn't wan to drag till so long thus saving hard hard for the customery marriage. U nber state properly me thot u hvn't even ROM. When did your sengkang flat comes? My new flat in Sembawang, oso little furnishing ... u got bed oredi ? Me no bed in my master room but order liao... The only place that is fully furnish in my house is the living room... U got go there n stay oredi?

Paiseh hor...me oso very 'lor-so' cos' early in the morning no mood to work... Yvonne it's ok if your collg cannot recall, no problem.

Luv to hear from u gals again!

bluebell

Hi Charlene,

I will be having 4 fittings but mine is MTM and the reason why I am having so many fittings is coz I have slimmeed down and my designer is hoping I will get a little fatter
Even tho yours is OTR, you need to go for a fitting before your photoshoot and before your wedding to make sure it fits

Hi Baby Dokie,

Thanks. My fiiting is on 4 Jan, shd be near to yours
I was thinking of making my selection first and hit the stores straight after Christmas for the post Christmas sales! :p

ac

novbride, christan, i am also a "tigeress".
i choose 19/10 because my MIL said that is a good date. 8)

i have already settled my dinner venue, wedding package and photographer. now slowly plan for wedding gown design.

since our wedding dates are so close, we can all go and do the card printing together (later) and maybe can get bulk discounts

chemson

Hello... Me.. got flat... oredi... have not renovated yet.... but very fast one lah... :p

Yar.... exercising... very tiring thing to do.. but when you are motivated and determined... every week like 4 times or 3 times... devote 30 mins to do some brisk walk or gym work.. for me... if I dun have time.. do the hoola loop to have a shapely figure.. it works you know....

islandpub

hi charlene,

emailed u the contact for the furniture shop liao... let me know if u dun receive it...

hi Baby Dokie,

Lee Meng is at Jalan Besar. u can call this guy Richie at 293 1086 n ask him for the price of those items that u want but u must give him the model no. else he wont be able to give u the price.

regarding french, i juz went for photoshoot but havent seen the photos yet so cant comment on the outsome now... if ur frn is not in a hurry maybe can wait till i go for my photo selection then i update u again.... they ask me to call them this friday to check on the status n make appointment with them for the photo selection so shld be next week can select liao lor....

hi shunkuey,

no prob lah... u juz let me know if u need the contact lor....

lollipop

Morning,

It's good to be back, the forum I mean, not work.

Hi novbride, whoa, you are going to Korea! Mum being to tt place before and she said it was super fun, enjoy your well-deserved break and spending quality time with your FH.

I chose Oct 19th because FH feels there is a nice ring to it. Also, it is a Sat. Because we are going to have a church wedding, it has to be held on a weekend.

Hi Dawn1002, honeymoon? Erm, I'd love to go to Ireland or Scotland. I like medieval stuff, castles, wizards, knights.... and these places offer a medieval touch. That explains why I love the shows Braveheart (it's got Mel Gibson!!!*lollipop does a delightful scream*) Dragonheart and the latest Harry Potter... coming Dec 20, Lord of the Rings. (it's got Cate Blanchett!)

Sorry, got too carried away. FH would love to go back to Japan, London, California... but since it is still so far away, we will settle again next year.

I will be having a church ceremony too. Agree that tea ceremony is the tricky part. Our suggestion is that FH will fetch me and we will proceed to his hse for the ceremony, whereby we will go to Chijmes, and after that, we will proceed to the hotel bridal suite for another session then... sounds a little complicated hor?

Hi Snowflake, dun be angry... it doesn't help anything...perhaps some applicants decide to back out last min and you might just be allocated to a unit? We applied for P21 4rm last Aug and yet to receive a letter from HDB asking us to do selection. I was disappointed initally because my friends who applied for the same area at a much later period got to do her selection first...but now, we just take things as they come. *there there snowflake*

Chris, you can try Rhema at Orchard Hotel Shopping Arcade. I dun have his contact with me, but if you are interested, I can tell you tomorrow. He does videography. I have engaged him to be our actual day photographer, and we have seen his works, they are quite well-taken.

AC, welcome! Seems 19th Oct is a hot date huh? As mentioned earlier, we decided on this date because it has a nice ring to it. Didn't believe in the "tong xin" but I do know it is an auspicious date.

Phew! I made it! Hear from you gals again! I just turned 25! *smiles*

pegsfur

joker,

Hey, I've finally selected my photos, quite happy with the results. Selected 32 pcs in all... can only show u gals when they've finished developing

sheep

hi och,
my wedding will be on 22.9.02. dun think there's anyone sharing the same wedding day as me here. wanted 21.9.02 but the hotels are all booked...

och, tweety, jellybeans and bleuz,
looks like we are all gonna wear bustiers as our bridal gown! i was deciding between spaghetti strapped bareback and a bustier, but finally decided to go for a bustier. so hav u all confirm ur package? (sorry, too many messages, confused liao

yvonne,
juz want u to noe tat u're not the only one who wasted $$$. i'm a victim too! i took a package which includes ROM dress for my ROM. thot can save $$$. placed a deposit of $1000. didn't really like their service and photography for my ROM, so after deducting the ROM costs, i forfeited abt $600+. sigh... wat to do, itz our BIG day, dun wanna take risks. juz take it as a lesson lor... i'm so much better at asking questions now when i shop around...

islandpub

hi linda,

ok, i will take note n let u know when he confirm his next trip then get his contact from my frn n u can contact him directly to make ur appointment.

reebok

Hi jk
Not to worry, you're not the lonely one....
My wedding day is same as u leh ie: 21/09/2002. So now, you got "kaki" liao....
I've booked my banquet with MM. As for boutique have to wait for bonus first b4 I made any booking.....u know, $$$ not enough leh......

Hi Sheep
Don't get too disappted in not getting the date you want.... In fact, saw from the Chinese calendar that 22/09/02 is more auspicious than 21/09/02. So, come on....Smile Smile lah.

Cheers........

shadow

Hi Pegsfur,

Can I be the first if not second person to see the developed pics plsssss .. :p. I am very anxious to see your pics cos I will be going for my shoots in January ... heheheh

Shadow

sheep

Hi Reebok,
i would prefer 21 Sept cos it's a Saturday. but since the hotels are all booked, no choice, hav to settle for 22 Sept. but it's ok, since the next day is a working day, my guests will leave early, and i can rest early too!
i'm also waiting for bonus to make booking! so most probably will book end Dec... so hav u decided which bridal boutique to sign up with?

pegsfur

shadow,

Ok, I'll sure let u gals see
but u gotta wait till Jan
Maybe u give me yr email add, I've got something to email to u

snowflake

Hi Novbride,lollipop,m2m

yah....hope i can get the flat that i want...which is not a choice either cos that is wat thats left liao.....but the problem is me hope that it's still there after 2 wks lor...keeping my fingers crossed !!!!

hey lollipop....me having a church wedding as well !!!!!!! u christian or catholic ??????? which church u go to ??????????

hmmmm....u dragon rite ???????? same age as my hubby.....me 2 yr your junior then ......

btw, who noes if 5th oct is a gd day ????? me chose the day wifout looking at the lunar calendar lah.....*sheepish* actually i'm not supposed to also lah.....but curious mah :p

och

hi sheep, yvonne,

u gals r not the only ones wasting money. i wasted part of my original package too cos i din like their dresses.

hey chemson,

can share ur exercise plans? i also need to slim down.

i'm going for my 1st appt next week. very excited.

chemson

Hi Och,

Do the Hoola-Hoop... to have a curvy waistline... do at least 30mins of exercising at least 3-4 times a week.. cut down on the sweets and oily stuff.. it really helps..... and carbo as well... count the calories to the food you eat... very important... restrict yourself to abt 1800 a day.

yvonne

alamak..

so many postins within a day..will try to catch up.

Cowie
u guys must b thinking tat its fast..well, hubby visited JWN last Sat..he like the photos..n we r comfortable with them..n hubby signed up tat day (to my surprise) i went down once with Sweetiee but hubby wasnt there..
when i went on Sat..one of the guy still remember me!

yi..ha! now bridal oso settle liao loh..no need to worry..they schedule me to take photos on Apr 2002 (beri fast hor!) so must be more disciplined in exercising!

Loreal

me not rich lah...but shld juz say tat MM has got a comprehensive pkg n within our budget!

my new flat came somewhere ard Sep'00..finished reno somewhere b4 Chinese New Yr this yr..hubby n myself staying there over the weekends (chalet!!)

i dun have bed yet..we sleep on mattress n in another rm (not masterbed rm) coz my mom say bed must only sleep when married..blah blah blah..(if u noe wat i mean) those typical "procedure"

as for banquet..no need to save 100% lah! where to find the $$$! can use the angbaos for tat day..top up some diff loh...i dunno how much to save..just try to save as much as possible every mth loh..

Sheep/och
i was quite "xian" over the bridal thing..but m glad tat its over..i'm happy with my choice n have faith in them..getting excited..hehehe

Reebok/Sheep
bonus coming soon..my payday tomolo!!

Happy shopping girls!

Chemson
curvy waistline will further enhance hips or not? my prob is my hips! flabby leh..
i'm a "pear" u c..

tiny123

Hi ChrisTan

Have you check out with Monica for her quotation?
Yeah would like to know as what Novbride has asked. WHere are you going to hold your dinner and your bridal boutique is?

V

vee kee

Hi Minnie!

Hey, dun worry, join in the excitment here gal! Maybe can give a brief wedding intro of yourself like those previously posted...
Welcome to the club!

Hi Shunkuey,

Yup Aussino was having sales but they ended last Sunday. I went down last Sunday but some of the nicer patterns all sold out... So din get anything there. Just bot 2 sets of 3 towels. 1 for hubby and one for me!

I also went to Friven sales. There managed to find something that we both liked. In the end spent $500 on 2 quilts, 5 sets of bedsheets and quilt covers. Cotton-satin mix material and 310 threadcount. Spend money like free like that. Hope won't regret my decision later! :p

Hi Jan!

Happy househunting! Take your time and look for your dream home! Me also looked for a long while...see until so sian! Lucky the right one came by...

cowie

Hi Sheep,
Dun have to worry at all...... 22 Sept is very auspicious for wedding. In fact when I heard that 22nd is so auspicious I called up MM to change date but they say that they are already fully booked - 3 weddings that day!!!! So, see, you got yourself a good date

Mine is also on a Sun...... Sat's banquet too expensive lah......

cowie

So happy for you that you have found a bridal that you are so comfortable with
Can really sense your excitment

Hi Loreal,
No lah....not rich lah..... Just that my FH and myself prefer hotels over restaurant, and I am pretty fussy about the type of hotels. So, MM is on of those 5 stars hotel with such a comprehensive package
...... cannot complain already lor....

chemson

Hey Yvonne,
Not sure if the hoola-hoop enhances the hips. I dun think so... it tones the area... :p Me.. got flabby and big arms... :p So... need to tone my arms to look better...:p

Oh yes... I came across this website.. www.sina.com.tw..... (it's all in mandarin) tghat sort of predict whether the date you pick is good or not.. in my case.. my date was not even in the list.. but I dun mind...cos I had my date picked specially.. so it is ok.. I guess...most importantly.. it is our day and we should enjoy ourselves !!!

lollipop

Morning Snowflake,

Yes, I am a Christian. I am born in the year of the Dragon.

I have this mini calendar which tells you which dates are super auspicious, mediocre auspicious and which are not. I can let you know the outcome if you'd like, tomorrow, that is.

But have you booked your wedding/banquet venue, bridal pkg & photographer? Because if you have told the abv your date, it would really be a hassle to change the date should it turn out otherwise, erm, not auspicious. Just a thought.

>^..^<

joker

Hey Cindy,
Heeheehee..... purposely don wan your FH to know who am I!
See, our posting do your FH good, right! He dare not feast liao, so got chance to lose a bit of weight loh. Keep reminding him and he will maintain. Thks to us!

Hi Pegsfur
Quick quick show us the fotos when ready ok! Wow your 'ting4 li4' so good ah, choose 32 pcs, or additional 32 pcs?

Joker

jan

Hi Baby Dokie!

Yah lor...so excited...this Sat going 4 gown selection !!!! Now, start counting down oreadi!!
My package ex ??? i don think so...its quite comparative with others in the mkt. Look at their wg nice &amp; photography gd, it's really worthwhile! ;)

Hi Shunkuey &amp; vee kee!
Actually, that unit i don really like one...but hubby simply liked it, so go ahead wif 2nd view!!So now, it's a blessing in disguise! Can reject based on that reason &amp; not b'cos of my dislike,heehee....

Don know whether u girls are as fussy as me or not hah?? I source a couple of wks olreadi leh....

Jan

pegsfur

joker,

Hehehe... must control
or else no $$$ ... got wedding, dinner &amp; somemore have to save up on our hse reno ....

Actually 32 pcs good enough lah .... we think later the album sure put at 1 corner to collect dust one , so don't waste $$$ lor

ac

Ladies, have you started the design stage of your WG ? I always get headache when i start thinking what i want. 8)

When is your photography date ? Mine will be on 08/07 (Mon). Feeling a little stressed. Got to start to take real good care of my skin and go for more facials... 8(

novbride

hi lollipop,

When I was about to booked my wedding date, the hotel sale co. actually showed me a similiar calendar as wat u've mentioned. And yes! 19Oct is a SUPER auspicious date! heehee..
Actually I have a few dates to choose, but in the end I chose 19Oct, partly bcos of the reason.

Anyone been to Margaret Brides, The Allure Bridal or Flamingo? Care to share your experience? Me still sourcing for a bridal pkg, kind of troubled..dunno which one to choose...very scared i choose the wrong one...

novbride

hi AC,

wanna know which bridal boutique u choose? hey, I like the idea that we can source for printing service together!

You and Lollipop quite fast..I'm still looking for bridal pkg...i'm having headache over this...hope to settle it before x'mas actually.

wah..you can start designing your WG liao ah..I pretty excited for you!!!
What kind of gowns u like? I like Duchess Satin more than organza.. I prefer my WG to be simple with minimal beadings/embroidery...

Recently my face suddenly developed rashes, think it's the new comestic range that I used that caused it, now my face is considered sensitive liao...so cannot anyhow put makeup...so sad..dunno if it'll stay like that forever?? I really regret using the comestic...sigh...somemore I pay quite a sum for them...now my rashes are cleared up, skin is clear again...hope it'll stay like that..

joker

Hi Pegsfur
You beri good girl leh. That's my thoughts initially as well but.....
naughty me no 'ting4 li4'. Luckily in RM so a bit consolation lah

lollipop

Hi AC,

4 me, my 1st appt with the bridal studio is 22 Dec &amp; I'm so excited! I'll get 2 see their gowns &amp; try them @ the same time. As 4 the designing session, I'm not sure if it will be done during the first appt. But I'll be bringing pictures of gowns 4 their reference.

My photography will begin sometime in May 02.

Talking about facials, my mum has been telling me 2 do so @ least 10 mths b4 the actual date. I have nvr been to one so I'm a little skeptical. What if my skin breaks out? Eeewww...dun even want to think about tt. But, erm, I will be going for my first facial appt this Fri. *keep fingers crossed*

Hi novbride!
May I ask which hotel showed you the calendar? I like organza, but was told duchess satin is the best choice because it is light and will be able to hold the gown... one thing I know is that my MTM WG will be these two mtl.

As for your skin, would you want to see a skin specialist? Is it the first time you are using that new cosmetics range?

charlene

Islandpub, thanks, hv received ur email.

Yar vee kee, realised that we've been spending money like nobody's business for these few months!
but really gotta watch our budget soon cos the recession this time round might hit us hard...

but really need 5 sets of bedsheets ???