Zann read this! - as promised (photos)

haha... ok, then lots of gd luck 2 u okie!!

vone,

u mean during winter shops sell summer clothing??
i have no doubts is a pleasure to look at the place walking around but just worried it might get too cold for me to withstand walking outside! hahahah...Had such bad experience when i went Korea previously...burrrr...

zann,

when i was thr, certain shops r selling summer clothing.
if u r scared of cold, then dun go during d last wk of dec n early jan as it can get 2 cold 4 u.

Hi Babu & Vone,

I'm also planning my HM to Europe in Winter.
And same as Zann, I'm afraid that the weather might be too cold for us to enjoy the walk. I am planning to go France and spain on DIY.

My plan is to leave S'pore in mid Jan and to return for chinese new year. How cold will it get in mid Jan? How many layers of clothes to prepared (longjohns, pullover, coat will be enough)?

hi berlin,

congrats on ur upcoming honeymoon!!

in jan, d weather in france shld still b a bit 2 cold (abt 0 - 10 degrees) 4 us singaporeans who r so used 2 d heat. however, tat's d point of visting europe in winter rite?? 2 njoy d cold. however, u dun hv 2 worry 2 much abt d cold, if u r 2 cold, then simply pop in2 any shopping centre 2 walk walk or in2 cafe 2 hv some hot coffee!!
when i was thr, i wore a longjohn beneath my turtleneck t-shirt, jeans, a coat, socks n boots. however, take note tat i m those who is super scared of hot, so u may hv 2 wear leg warmers underneath ur jeans. thus make sure tat ur jeans r slightly baggy 2 accomodate them. in addition, u can aso buy those warmers in packet form (but i can't remember d name liao), if u r 2 cold, then u can open 1 up n put inside ur coat so tat u dun feel so cold.

4 clothes, i oni bought some warmer t-shirts, jeans n a coat thr. 4 stuff like longjohns, i bought thr coz it was cheaper thr. dun hv 2 buy 2 much in sg coz it's quite ex. just get a decent coat in sg n bring along ur warmer t-shirts. u can get ur pullover thr or even a coat coz it can b very cheap when they r hving sales.

afraid tat i can't advise u on spain as i hv nvr been thr yet.
if u hv any queries, u can either post them here or pm me. take care n njoy ur hm!!

Thanks Vone.

I will go and search what I have in my wardrobe. and get 1 or 2pcs here if necessary. Was thinking of buying there during the winter sale. : I'm afraid of hot as well as cold.

Hi Chamonique,
You've posted some pix on Spain. Do you have any advices on the weather?

Hi Berlin,

I went to Spain during spring in April last year. The weather was perfect, not too cold and not to warm..about 18-21 deg C. I could just wear tee-shirt with denium jacket. I think the weather should be quite cold if u r going there in Jan cos is still winter. Dont miss the Zara and Mango factory outlets...they sell all the off season clothings but is really cheap.

Hi Chamonique,

That's the best weather to enjoy.

You got alot of good buys there?
Where are the factory outlets of Zara and Mango?
I'm eagerly interested to know. Pls let me have the address or the prominent location nearby.
I wouldn't want to miss it. Plssssss....

What other good buys can we get there? I'm looking at camper shoes.

Hi Berlin,

I have lost the address but I remember the Zara factory outlet in Madrid is in Gran Via. It is a very big street with shops on both sides....something like our Orchard Road.

I am planning to go Honeymoon in Europe next year mid May till early june right after our Weddings. Planning on a 12-14days. Going F&E is better or Package tour? Hubby like package but i like F&E...Sighh...

He hates to plan F&E after all our wedding plannings. And he is not so good in map reading in euro continents. Thus he feels package we wont get lost and F&E we will tend to get frustrated and quarrel if both of us get lost.

Intending to visit Italy,Paris & Swiss.
Going in mid may to early june is high peak season in Europe right?
I find if F&E will be quite x based on finding hotels there alone.

Any recommendations?

hi babu/chamonique,

Finally! set liao. I going to for cold honeymoon ...going europe! thanks for the stuff u gals have posted to me!

i bless u,
if u can track bk the pix i post, maybe u can find some useful info there.. if ur hubby not good in map, don try f&e.. very dangerous..

Zann,
wow.. congrat!! happy hor.. which part u going??

zann,
wah say!! go so many places huh?? i haven't being to dubai yet lay... must show me pix huh..
so after ur wedding u go liao huh?? same as me lay, maybe we can meet up at the airport...hahaha..

babu,

orzz...
yeah..a number of places...will take more than 2 weeks..i going abt 1 day later after the dinner...u going where for honeymoon? wei i think yr AD earlier than mine tio boh...so i think u will be leaving earlier leh?

zann,
don think so la.. should be stay for a week in Sg la.. he long time nvr come bk, so our 1st stop HM is at Sg lor.. hehehe..

wah, stay one day fly liao?? very rush hor... remember to bring really thick wears, according to my fh over there, he say very cold now...

hi baba!

err, i stay in singapore one leh...so is not only stay one day hehe...after my wedding..then abt a day or so later then we depart..

wah really so cold...? my gf was telling me this xmas london going to be at one of its coldest...

zann,
u so cute.. only u call me baba... hahaha.. it my testing username.. and so far all e clubber don like it..hahaha.. call me babu la, i so used to it liao..

going to NZ, Yorkshire and Bahrain (i think i spell correct) btw, all visiting one.. so can save alot money, free stay me.. hahaha..

Hi zann,

wow...u have finally decided! I am going to Mauritius but will be going one month later after wedding :P

Will you be going to any of the Swiss Alp to ski?

baba/babu! haha...err cos the name here shows baba mah so i tot u today wanna be call baba so i call u baba lor :P

i also more used to babu leh..actually hor when i first chat with u i still tot u indian! cos babu...

wah so shiok hor...got free stay keke..

chamonique,

yeah lor...finally....
ic...u also set liao ~ keke..
i doubt so leh...cos a number of places...dun rem seeing any skiing stuff in the itin keke...or maybe i will be feeling too cold to want to go skiing! kekeke..

mel and zann.
u gals hor.. very bad one.. always laught at my username one, call baba they said baba black sheep (i think i more like shit!!) hahaha.. call babu, ppl thou i am singh!! then now want to change oso too late liao.. sigh.. i will stick to babu la.. hehehe..

babu,

hehehe..
wei...can still change lar if u want..then gradually ppl will know yr new name is actually babu..just then need to tell everyone when u change..a bit troublesome only..

chamonique,

i forgot to mention! when in europe we will be joining trafalgar tour as well! hubby say trafalgar is good then he ask his colleague book trafalgar...

Yeah, Trafalgar is good...I like their guides and the accommodations r better than Insight. However most of my tour mates were retired folks but they were quite friendly. Initially they were quite afraid of me leh cos I went there during the height of SARS. They were worried that I might have SARS since I am from Singapore. I had to assured them that b4 I joined the group, I was already in France for a week visiting my BF. In my group, there were 2 gals from Canada...the rest of the tour mates had a good scare from the three of us. I had joined Contiki b4 too...they are more for the budget travellers but most of the tour mates are young Ang Mos....so quite fun lor. Remember not to be late when you are meeting th group cos the Ang Mos are all very punctual. That's the good thing i like about joining these Land tours

chamonique,

oic! i always tot go group tour...no one will be punctual one...keke...so now i know there are exception! keke! thanks!

Hi Zann,

I can tell you they are not only punctual...they are super early. If the guides said meet at certain times, they will be there at least 15 mins earlier. On the trip with Contiki,our guide brought us to party at a club in Amsterdam. When we left the club at 2am +, most of them were half drunk but they still continued with their drinking session at the hotel lobby. I thought they would be late the next day morning as we had to departed by 7.30am. When we gathered the next day, the Ang Mos were already waiting at the lobby and you know what...some of the Singaporean overslept. One of my friends had to go their room to wake them up while everyone waited for the 3 guys.

chamonique,

they so onz?? hmm if hor singaporean do that will kena say KS...but if caucasian do that...then people impression is positive one~ hmm sometimes pity singaporean huh~ do anything also kena say...hehe

Zann,
Ya you are rite. Whatever good we do, we will be labelled with names.

Are you going on package tour since you're going so many places? Must be really excited huh!

I bless you,

Initially, I was planning to visit italy on F&E too. But after checking, the cost of accomodation and transportation is higher than other regions. My FH also wasn't keen on F&E so I had to do the homework all by myself.

So, now I'm planning for F&E Spain and Paris (2weeks). Based on my findings, I would expect $2.5K each for Airfare, accomodation and transportation.

hi Berlin,

We booking our own air ticket. Then when we reach europe join the land tour there. Yeah, i thought it sounded exciting too...hehe!
Yours sound exciting too! Exploring on own will be quite adventurous too~

So which airline are you taking?
I am aiming for qantas airfare promo as well as looking at airfrance which has free stop over at paris on my way back from barcelona. The fare(airfrance) is about $1,025 + tax.

Hi Zann,

But then hor most of the group tours that I have joined with fellow Singaporeans...They were always late and we had to cut short the duration at the next destination. It is quite frustrating to waste time to wait for one another. If only Singaporeans are KS at the right time and right place.

Hi zann,

Are you going to London? One fo my fav places

You may wish to call BTA in Singapore and ask them to send you map of London or you can pick up a guide from the airport when you arrive. London can be done on your own so you can just buy the Underground tic (MRT equivalent). Just take the train and travel on your own.

Another alternative wld be to hop on the London double decker buses and they will go through the routes where the tourists attractions are. You can hop on and off anytime.

Dun miss going for a musical too. You will enjoy. Cheap tics at Leicester Sq.

Berlin

So you doing all the planning? If i were u...i will let my hubby pay more for tour package! Haha! Anyway my trips is next yr May/June,is a peak season in Europe. Hotels accomodation is much more expensive than in winter season. So planning F&E will definately more expensive than in winter sesason.

When you planning to go? Actually my gf gets alot of maps and tourist information on Europe in french toursim board, the buidling next to Wheelock place! You can get many useful and detail informations there. She is going in mid Janaury.

Berlin,

going by emirates...

chamonique,

maybe lor..

sysa,

thanks for the helpful info leh!

i bless u,

orrzz!
i also beri the full liao...thank u for yr roti boy horz! haha...

Zann,

You can also go the french tourism commission take info. But hor i think you don't need lah. Your hubby should know very well where to get such info *wink*

i_bless_u

From head to tail, sight-seeing, food, transport etc. ;(

I'm planning to go in mid jan, same as your fren but my photographer and MUA says it's too cold to go at that time. Advisable to go in Mar/Apr. I didn't know France tourism is at Liat towers when I went to collect maps from Spain tourism. I will be heading there 1 of these days.

Should I plan to go in mid jan or wait til mar? Jan got winter sale, Mar prices maybe higher. *Dilemma*

babu,

yeah lor! you created this thread and post pics for me...then others also get to share yr pics...i was saying that you nice nice!!

hmm too bad leh...i dunno more countries than u..if not would also post for u :P then can also create a thread for u huh

i bless u,

i dunno there is french commission at wheelock place..learn something today! thanks! :D