Yvonne Creative

chenoa

Thoe,

dunno if the gown you chose is it white A-line with some silver treading and lace...Fengjie suggested that one can be for ROM. it's not long train, think it's just sweeping.

I actually like a light blue one (think it's chiffon?) with sparkling silver dots on the fabric. But the size is a bit big, can suit a M size. What build are you? Maybe you can go down again to scrutinise their gowns once more.

If cannot keep the tailored ROM gown, what for pay $380? My personal opinion lah....

Hi Meixia, you know where this new guy from? young? got prior experience?

mandy99

long time din contribute to this thread liao.
the new guy is michael. I have not seen his work yet.. but from what i gather he is from taiwan.
heard from minnie that he is not bad.

mich03

Hello ...

Thank you Mandy for helping me to reply. hehe ...
Yap. He is frm Taiwan and i also still haven't seen his works. But me will be going down to YC in early Feb, so maybe i will request Yvonne to show me his works lor. Dun worry, ladies, i will come back and let u gals know, okie?!

Hi Thoe,
$380 not worth it lar. Dun do it .... Btw, is the train detachable? Also, i tot of 1 place for ur Rom lunch liao --If u are staying in the west hor, can go to The Chevron's (opp IMM bldg). They have a chinese restaurant that serves ala-carte chinese buffet lunch. $$ per pax is approx $20 (if i am not wrong).

thoefamily

Hi Meixia,

Nope the train is not detachable....they also say they can't trim it cos it belongs to the OTR gown....

Is the food @ Chevron good? I was thinking abt something in town.....budget abt $20-$25 nett....

mich03

Hi Thoe Family,

Hmmm..... Wat do they mean by saying that all the gowns are the same? You can only choose OTR gowns, rite? Surely not ALL the gowns are with trains, rite? So, can they just let u choose 1 OTR gown that is w/o a train??

Food @ Chevrons is ok lor. Not bad for a few dishes .... Think if u r going to hold in town, its going to be quite ex for a sit-down lunch at a restaurant ... bo-hua lor. Might as well go for an international buffet.
Otherwise, you can consider going for a dim-sum buffet since its in the afternoon. How? Taka got a restaurant that serves dim sum buffet. Think its ten-odd dollars for lunch leh. I can't remember the name of the restaurant. Its on the 5th level, Its not the Crystal Jade restauranr , its the other one. Think called Dragon.... or River... something 1 ... sorry.. i really cannot remember liao.

thoefamily

They wasn't too keen of the idea when i told them i wanted to go down to find alternative.....didn't pursue although didn't feel too good abt it....

Chenoa, Meixia, when are ur AD?

mich03

Hi Thoe,

If that is the case, then bo-bian lor. Think u must have liked the gown too or else u would not have chosen it in the 1st place, rite? Most imptly, you must be a happy and glowing bride on ur ROM day.. ok?

My AD is on 4th Dec 04. Haven't ROM yet... hoping to ROM on the same day as traditional lor... hehe.

Hello all YC Brides,

I am going for my PS very soon. So wondering if any of you can share with me how long the PS (indoor + outdoor) will take so FH & I are mentally & physically prepared. *Touchwood* But what if it rains? Will YC come up with contingency plan last min?

Btw, is it 1 hair-do for 1 outfit? Hope to hear from you all soon *^_^*

So many questions so little time.

chenoa

Hi thoe,

sorry to disappoint....but I think OH's food standard dropped (again). Both my D&D and my friend's wedding dinner food was not appetising.

On average, I have been going to OH once a year for the past five years, and everytime I bring myself along with fond memories of the previous dinner. But everytime, my expectations were not met. I had such wonderful re-collection of the food I had there the first time five years back, and it's no longer the same....

BUT....
the ambience is so good, especially with the tealights hanging on branches along the aisle. It's one of the best!

thoefamily

Meixia,

Busy with the hse reno, they are doing the final touch up & hopefully they can give it to me by mid this week......can't wait

Had tried calling them but the line is always engaged.

Oh, so my AD is earlier than both of you. Chenoa, you opt for HIPV right? Meixia, what about you?

OH really so bad huh? so sad......my in-laws typical cantonese family so food is important

pepsi

Hi Powerpuff girl,
Photoshoot session usually last from 10+am to 5+pm.
If it rains,you suay lor...just like my case. You have to reapply leave to have your outdoor shoot on another day...or maybe you can think of some contingency location (indoor places).
Must also pay makeup artist. I had to top up another $80 + $15 (eyelash) + ampoule (if you need). According to yvonne, $80 is half price already, YC bear the other 50%. But till now, I wonder is it true....cant believe makeup artist earns $160 for 1 makeup & hairdo....but they will supply you a bouquet though.

mich03

Hi Thoe,

Wah! Must be exciting to have your OWN house with ur hubby ... so envious...

I have chosen Swissotel Merchant Court for my wedding dinner.

Who are you with, Thoe? Did u mention earlier here?

Hi Pepsi,
I tot normally they will just arrange an alternative outdoor venue with shelter for the PS if it rains? You mean YC can allow couples to choose if they want to take on the same day or diff day for outdoor if it rains ah??

Thank you for your advice Pepsi. At least now I am fully prepared for the "what if" & "maybe" & also came up with a few places that I can go for outdoor PS if it rains *touchwood*!!

Have you seen your pics yet? Are they good & to your expectation? Mind telling me who your photographer is cos' they gave me the female photographer

Cheers!!

miata16

Mine's also the female photographer, Powerpuff Girl, when's your PS? Mine in end feb. That shouldnt be the rainy season liao. *touchwood*

Still thinking where to go for outdoors shoots, anyone any suggestions?

mich03

Hi Miata16,

What type of background environment do u want for ur photos?
What type of scenary would u like to capture in ur PS?

mich03

Miatia 16,

How abt Changi Point? Seems not bad over there leh ....
Some more, they had renovated the place there also .... Y dun u check that out?

mich03

Haha .. Miata16,

Its at the far end of Changi. Quite nice --- got clear skies, got beach, seaside. Some more cos govt recently renovate that place, so got a new bridge set up .... It sort of looks like the 70s during the kampong life ... not bad.

Or alternatively, you can go to the place (think its somewhere north)where they got lots of lalang and tall grass and clear blue skies ... also not bad just lack of seaside only .... also not bad .....I can ask my fren where is that place as she went there for her PS.... Let me know if u r interested, ok?

I saw a couple taking their photos at an egg farm though ... a bit corny ... but finds that the idea is refreshing form the norm .... but me just scared i will smell of chickens after the PS!!! hahaha ....

Hope my ideas above help.

lazyger

Hello ladies!
My trial make-up session will be on 2 Feb. Sandy has been assigned to be my make-up artiste. Does anyone know about her skills?

With the wet weathers, I can't help not worrying that there will be rain on my PS (9 Feb)

miata16

Hi Ju

Pray hard that the rain these days will be over by then. Where you gg for your outdoor shoots? Who's your photographer?

Never hear of Sandy, but I trust Yvonne's appointed makeup artists should be good.

Have fun. My trial is on 9 Feb. :D

lazyger

Hi Miata,

I am praying to gods of all religions now. kekeke...

Thot of going to Ubin for outdoor shoots. We saw the album which was taken at Ubin by a couple. Very nice! (of coz, the newly weds have to look nice lah~) The downsides are mosquito bites and sun burn. I still dunno who is my photographer. Will be meeting him/her on 2 Feb (my trial make-up day).

pepsi

Hi Powerpuff girl,
both xiaocai and Lily took our photos but Lily was more of the assistant. but i dont see much difference between xiaocai and lily's photography.
The photos are ok, i top up for 10 photos but now that i have seen my actual day photos, I prefer the style of my actual day photographer compared to YC's

mich03

Hello Gals!!!

I heard over the news that this week will be full of showers leh ... So, for those who are having PS these few days better think of contigency venues in case of rain.

I know the mood is dampened a bit ... but hey gals!! This is ur PS! You should still be happy and radiant on that day, rite?

Enjoy ........

lazyger

My AD is on 6 Jun, liu(4) liu(4) da(4) shun(4) leh! hehehe....

What time is ur trial, Miata? We might bump into each other, who knows?
When is ur AD?

miata16

Hey Ju, guess what, my AD is 6 June too! Wa! Buddy! My trial is at 6pm. So you havent decided the outdoor venue huh? So my PS is 2 weeks behind yours huh.. oh no, very scare YC cant produce the pictures on time.

Where's your dinner banquet? Mine's at Pan Pac on 7 June.

Pepsi, your AD photographer from YC too?

lazyger

Wah! Buddy!! I'll be having a chinese luncheon on 6 June. In fact, the location is somewhere next to Pan Pac!! Mine is at Conrad.

Your AD is on 6 June but dinner will be one day later?

Dun worry, I think both of us are ahead of time. YC shd be able to produce the photos on time. Again, my main worry is the 'Lao Tian Ye', hope HE can give some face, not to rain on my PS. :p

hdbride

Hi Ju, I am new in this thread. But also signed up YC. I am very curious on how much Conrad charge for chinese luncheon?

miata16

Ju, my banquet dinner is on the following day ie 7 June. Cos cant get any hotel on 6 June. But it's okie.. Can enjoy the 2 best memorable days in my life. Ju, it's raining again today huh. Maybe you think of contingency, indoor places, say MRT tunnels, explanade, etc

Postpet, YC only have in-house photographers.

Izzit ok to go into a cafe to take pics w/o buying drinks har?!?! I find some cafe very "arty" & want to take some pics inside.

PS later this week... "Shou Mang Jiao Luan" already...
Not planning for beach shoots becos sekali rain halfway sure very ugly & messy one

Can someone tell me where to buy those transparent type umbrella becos I intend to bring one for PS in case it rains so can take pics "outside" with umbrella

pepsi

Hi Miata,
nope my AD photographer is not from YC. In fact, i think u should get other photographers aprt from YC's so that you can have different style of photography, more variety mah

miata16

Hi Pepsi,

Your this photographer is your AD's photographer right? Or you mean u engage another photographer to take more studio or outdoors shoots?

Who did you engage? Can email me if not convenient to disclose here. [email protected]

chenoa

Hi Miata,

Do you know when's Dily's 'yu can qi'? Early July or Late July? Minnie is supposed to help arrange my PS but she also not sure the expected date, although Yvonne says it's likely she may give birth 3 weeks before her time.

Now planning when to have my PS with Dily as my make-up artist. I was offered a date in mid May, but thought too early. so thinking of waiting after she finish 'zhuo yue'.

miata16

I also not sure, I think it's early July. Cos in early June (My AD is her 8th month, I think). Get Minnie to help you arrange.

Your AD in Dec right?

mich03

Hi Cheona,

Dily's going on maternity from early June onwards. Cos seems that the gynae wants her to rest early.

Hope it helps!

mich03

Hi MIata & Cheona,

I agree totally with Pepsi. You both should engage another diff grp of AD photographers for ur AD. Cos i think YC's photographers main style is quite diff from AD style.
So, in order to have a refreshing feel of the both wedding album and AD album, you both should invest in another diff grp of photographers.

This is just my tots ......

chenoa

Hi Meixia and Miata,

My AD in mid Oct. (Meixia's in Dec) Meixia, are you going to use dily too?

So, how the both of you getting along with your gown design?

chenoa

Pepsi,

I received your mail. thanks. I remember you after I see HIPV in your AD dinner photos. :p

You and your hubby very young hor....and you are so slim. Envy!

Your AD makeup looks fabulous! (you may have mentioned before) - who's your makeup artist?

miata16

Chenoa

My final fitting and trial makeup is scheduled next week. PS end of Feb. :D

Pple, what's your views on ballgown evening gown?

mich03

Hi Cheona,

Thanks for helping me announce my wedding date! hehe ..

Yap. Me using Dily too.
Let me know ur experience with Dily, okie? But, i scared that she will be on maternity in early June ....if like tat, then, i will end up having my PS w/o her!!
Maybe i will bring forward my PS to end May so that got no "accidents" .....
Me haven't got the time to go down to YC... maybe will only go down in end Feb.
How abt you? How;s ur progress with ur gown? When u wanna fix ur trial make-up at?
1 question -- Will Dily or any of the in-house makeup artist follow the couple out for PS for outdoor shots?

Hi Miata,
Views on EG? I think EG should also be able to create that kind of "wow" feeling that a WG gives lor. It should also be a "grand" EG so that when pple see you in ur EG, you will still be able to stand out. Get wat i mean? But, bcos i am suitable for bustier type, so i am going to take bustier designs for both my WG and EG.
Have u decided on ur EG?

miata16

Meixia,

I think the makeup artist will not follow you out.

I have conceptualised the EG. It's a bustier type, 2 piece, with a bit kan kan bottom (not those straight cut type), so I said its a ball gown, a bit like cinderella's gown. But some pple feel that a EG should be those long slimy type. So I'm a bit skeptical. Yvonne recommended that for me, cos I am petite.

mich03

Hi Miata,

No lar, there is no specifications on that the EG shld be the long slim type one. I think its perfectly alrite for a EG to be ball-gown type. I am also having a ball-gown type bustier ... buts its a 1 pc EG.
Miata, its YOUR wedding. Wear what you think looks best on you.