York Hotel

havavi

Sad to say they didnt do anything to the ballroom. Wonder why dont they, since got this rare 2 7th month. Overall the lobby looks nicer now.
I looked at the gold theme picture again. actually nothing much gold. except gold sash tie to the red vip table and gold ribbons at the flower stand. the rest of the table and chairs will be white. I asked for the napkins to have alternate color of pink and white lor, so the whole place wont look so plain white.
Dunno should i contact the florist to add more flowers stand or stuffs?
They will give packets of rose petals for your guest to throw on u when march in.

Pink,
My wedding is on 30/9.

apple,
my package is the middle one lor. As i have 30 tables now, so get to choose another perks. I getting another night stay.

nueyerdua,
Bcos my table number increased to 30, so we moved up to carlton hall. but actually u can request to use carlton hall if they dont have other function that day. We asked to move up even before our table increase to 30, Cheryl said can, if carlton hall really on that day free.

havavi

oh ya
do you get the waive of cockage for 2 bottles per table?
I think this is a very great perks. As some hotels charge cockage as high as $15, or waive only 1 bottle per table.

jiamin_loh

I am back...
my photos are ready to be viewed at www.alwaysalexandjoycez.wedquarters.com

Mini_apple - how is everything? Do you mind sharing your photos with me once is ready...

jiamin_loh

Hi Nueyerdua,

Thanks for your compliments...
You also York Hotel Bride issit? When is your AD? Mind sharing your PS phtos with me...

havavi

I made changes to the color setting of tables.
I think use white for table and red for napkin will be nicer, as my flowers will be red and white too. So my theme is more of like red and white stuffs. I imagine its nice, what do you girls think?

dont understand whats the gold theme abt when its only the VIP table have gold slash.

nueyerdua

Hi Samantha,

yup, I'm also a York hotel bride, AD's in Nov 2006. When is yours? Sorry, I don't have my photos online at the moment

jarenlynn

Hello ladies,

Anybody know how to get hold of York Hotel's package?

I've called to request for the package emailed to me. After waited 4 days, there's nothing in my inbox. I'm rather disappointed in their service.

This is just the first step to get to know their package and service. And I'm given such cold waiting.

havavi

oh. i waited too for 1 week when i 1st emailed them, they take a long time. dunno something wrong with their email or what!
why not call in and ask to speak to any banquat manager. this way faster.

havavi

feeling excited and tired now.
so soon its my AD on this sat.
Thursday then go and test out the sound system thing.

jiamin_loh

Dear Jas,

wow so soon hor... remember to have a good rest, frankly speaking me also very tired...

Anyway, do remember to share with us your beautiful pics...

nueyerdua

Hi Jas, I would love to see your pics too!! I think York Hotel looks much nicer after renovation, should look nice as backdrop =)

havavi

hello girls,
give me few more days to catch back my sleep, then i upload some pix and vidoe clips i took with my own camera.

overall no complaint from my guest. they were surprise that the food portion was big. actually is got 2 reserve table never use ma, so the food got distributed out.
got great comments on the sea cucumber with ribs, roast chicken, herbal prawns and yam paste dessert. just the parking lot not enough, cos it sat, so both side parking full, those who were late, got to anyhow park along the road.
Manager steven is good, guide us on how to march in slowly and instruction on the champagne pouring and hand position so our PG can take better pixs.
but they forget to remind the guests seated along the walk way, that the bowl of rose petal is for showering on us. cos my friends didnt know, they thought is table deco. their dry ice effect is very good, whole walk way misty enough.
sound system loud and clear. LCD big enough too. actually Crystal ballroom wasnt really that big like we thought it will be. so having 30 - 32 tables is just nice.

i have a great time that night, time passby too fast le. no time to eat, not enought time to talk to my friends. even though i went down during reception to mingle around. my dinner start at 8.45pm. cos still got no show guest, sian!

jiamin_loh

Dear Jas,

Glad to hear that everything went on smoothly...
I am getting real excited now bcos my wedding will be just 2 months away from now...
Anyway, will like to view your AD pics once you have uploaded it and my e-mail address will be [email protected]

havavi

i forgot one thing.
the suite they gave us no safe box!
not sure is all rooms no safe box or only certain room no safe box. remember to check with coordinator does the room got safe box, before hand. cos on that day is a mad rush, no time to argue here and there le.
cos when we check in, the bell boy said no safe box. but we didnt ask for 1 or how, as we very rushing le. check in quite late that day.
so we use cash collect from dinner to pay, instead of using credit card. so during the mad rush counting money from AP, the recording of ang pow not accurate.

ecym

I am also considering York Hotel for our wedding banquet. Will be meeting up with Tracy soon.

Meanwhile those who hv attended a dinner there

1) How's their service?
2) How many waiter/waitress serving the tables?
3) i understand the couple will be given pre dinner snack, but i wonder if they do provide supper for the couple too?

and Jas, can i take a look at the photos taken on the venue? Glad to hear that you have enjoy yourself that night.

havavi

my photos should be up by next week.
can see a little of my little video clip 1st.
not much that can really see how big is the place. but can see how the walk way for march in.

for q1 and q2,
except for soft drinks not gassy enough (due to the using marinda brand), and 1 table said service slow. the rest no feedback.
my answer q3.
we were given pre dinner snacks, which was very yummy. and a 1/2 kg wedding cake and big fruit basket was in the room for us too. we did requested for supper that night, it was provided free.

here the link to my march in clip.
http://havavi.multiply.com/video

ecym

hi Jas,

thanks for sharing your video clips... nicely taken...

is your banquet held at Carlton Hall? The hall has pillars arh?

havavi

hi ecym,
yes mine is carlton hall. there are pillars (i think 3 of them) towards the lift side. but if you have around 32 tables, it wont blocked any stage view.
collect my AD pix le. now loading. hope by monday can load most of it up. got around 800++ pixs.

blurblur40

hi jas,

thanks for the updates. the ballroom in york hotel look pretti alright .... Just want to check with u, which type of ballroom r u taking ?? n another question to ask u guys... let say if we place a deposit in mid 2007 and have our AD in end of 2008. Do the hotel charges us the banquet per table as the rate in 2007 or 2008 ? i am quite confused in this part thanks for the enlightenment

yeellowduck

hi jas and other brides of york hotel,

can i pls know who are ur coordinators? i went down to york hotel today but de coordinator didnt seem very nice so i am disappointed cos york hotel was one of my top choices. hope all of u can advise me.

thanks =)

havavi

hello blur,
I took the Carlton Hall at level 2.
for the pricing, as i asked before for furama river veiw hotel, the guy told me its according to the pricing as at you sign on contract. normally the contract will stated until when. so i guess it applies to most place.

yellowduck,
my coordinator is cheryl, she quite nice but sometimes firm. She going to give birth soon, so not sure if she still around now. you still can try and ask for her.

jiamin_loh

Hi Jas,

I thot that Carlton Hall is pillarless??? Anyway, your wedding is in gold theme rite...Thanks for sharing, the pixs is nicely taken...

ecym

Hi Sam,

I went there to take a look at the wedding setup last friday, arranged with Tracy. Carlton Hall is not pillarless but if you have 30+2 tables, your guests will not be blocked by the pillars.

I also visited the Rose-Mary hall too.

yeellowduck

jus wondering is it possible for me to switch coordinators right now? will it be very bad to do so cos me n my htb dun feel very comfortable in dealing with our current coordinator. on the whole we r very happy the packages offered at york. jus have issue with the coordinator dat is attached to us right now.

can pls advise me on wat i can do to make my situation better..

thanks alot =)

jiamin_loh

ecym - Yes, Carlton hall is also nice... Mines will be RoseMarie Hall and will have pillars but will think of a way to ask them set up the tables so that guests can get to see us...
Where will your banquet be held?

Yellowduck - try speak to the banquet manager if you feel uncomfortable dealing with your current coordinators... This will be your Big Day and you have the right to change coordinator bcos you pay for it...

havavi

hi sam,
yes mine is gold theme. apparently their gold theme dont have gold table cloth, which i always thought so.

yellowduck,
maybe you could tell the manager which coordinator you want, can do it in a nice way, say your friend recommended you to have this particular coordinator.

ecym

i have yet to cfm on the AD venue...cuz Hb has not view York's ballroom. Will be going down this weekend and let Hb do the final decision. But if I will to take York, will prefer Carlton hall

missyserene

hi jas,

who did you liase with from EB? my gown will be from them too, but i've not call them as my AD is 27 Oct 07..still got time i guess..

& who was your co-oridnator for York Hotel? would like to find out more from them.

thanks..

ecym

Hi serene,

have you confirm your booking with york hotel for 27/10/07? Because I am looking at that day too, they told this date was tentatively taken.

havavi

wa 27/10/07 is a hot date?

hi serene,
my EB coordinator is qui yen. quite nice of her to let me change my choice ROM gown and teadress a few times.
maybe you could call them up 1st to find who is your coordinator, then you may request to change if you want. cos now you have not started at EB yet, so its easier to change coordinator. although it sounds too early, normally they will allocate 1 for you when you making 1st appintment to see gown with them.
For Yokr hotel is cheryl. by oct next yr, she should be back from maternity leave?

mini_apple

hi all, my AD just over.. jus thot of sharing a few things here..

1.) manager steven is REALLY very nice & accomodating. He helped us to shift the reserve table even tho it was already setted up nicely. (really last min request)

2.) He constantly update & advice us on wine/beer consumption..

3.) he also helped to make arrangement when we requested for supper & breakfast
- pls note that classic package does not comes with pre-snack, supper & standard room does not comes with safe

After reading jas' postings, I'd called tracy to request for a room with safe, but she told me that ALL the rooms doesn't comes with safe.

It was very disappointing because on the actual day, we had upgraded to deluxe room (paid $110+++ more) and found that there was a safe!

I was upset that y she didn't tell us that..when we requested for a room with safe box.. & it's up to us whether we wan to pay more to upgrade then.. & even we paid $110+++ for the upgrade, she said it doesn't comes with pre-dinner snack & breakfast.
It was Steven who made the special arrangement 4 us.

So far, hear no complains on food.. but guest did say that the yam paste desert is good. For this, I must thank tracy as she had change the dish for us without extra charge.

Well, prob we can't expect everything to be perfect.. just glad that its finally over!

missyserene

hi ecym, sorry wasnt feeling well the past days & was tied up wif work, no time to log in. i dun hv a tentative booking.

btw York's hotel package was renewed as of Nov 06.. i guess its more perks but the pricing also was increased by $30-$40..

Just informing all...

havavi

hey apple,
hope to see your pix!
the steven is nice chap.
so you got a room with safe box? its just strange that a hotel room got no safe box, its not a motel leh.
the yam paste dessret is the best i ever tasted. so smooth!

ecym

hi missyserene,

if you do not have a tentative booking, I think your chance of getting carlton hall is very slim leh... better check to cfm soon...good luck

missyserene

hi mini_apple,

you took the Classic package ya? did you use their chair covers? because Tracy told me that each cover is $2+++..im shock coz i thot the most basic thing to provide is the chair covers...

anyone can advise? shld i take their covers even though is chargeable?

saliva

what's the difference between the before Nov 06 packages and after Nov 06 packages?

Old packages: 3 types?
New packages:: 2 types: PEach Blossom and EverBliss?

Any difference in perks?