York Hotel

jiamin_loh

Saliva - I am entitle to free corkage charges for 30 bottles of wine brought in but dun think got free wine per table leh ??? Anyway, u try check it out with the banquet manager again...

saliva

No leh, website only 2 packges;

1) peach blossom
2) evergold/everbliss

Think that belongs to the old packges is it eh?

saliva

did york hotel offer any recommedation for printers?

If so, how much is it to print the inserts/cards (hot stamping)?

nueyerdua

York didn't recommend me any printer, but I got mine done at Hi-Tech at Ang Mo Kio. They allow choosing of 2 cartoon pictures, 1 for english side and 1 for chinese side, to be printed

hi-tech in amk was quite convenient in terms of locale but then i tot lady spoke to me was soo busy
- i felt dunno whether i could get my points across so i went to T-dragon which turned out 2b quite gd. but its juz my experienec lah

saliva

York only provides the cards, no inserts & printing right?

Understand they will provide sample of the invitation wordings and map.

Hi nue, so did u use their sample of wordings & map when u print your cards at Hi Tech? What's the charge like for normal printing?

saliva

Hi mini apple,

did your contract state additional nite for suite? Does it include breakfast for the extra nite?

havavi

hello saliva,
i got extra night stay, and breakfast is included. I would recomend breakfast in bed, if you dont intent to eat alot. I went down for the breakfast buffet on the 2nd day stay. not much spread and not very tasty.

saliva

Hi jas,

so u requested for extra nite and it comes with breakfast also?

Breakfast in bed? Is this consider room service and are there any extra charge?

But tot morning breakfast usually us buffet or how did they send the food to u ???

havavi

You can request for breakfast in bed. tell them what time you want it serve. no extra charges, cos we are entitled to buffet breakfast, so its onlg changing the buffet to breakfast in bed.

saliva

tks jas. wat's the difference between rosemarie hall and carlton hall besides the seating capacity. Which is a better recommendation?

havavi

i cant really recommend, as I only used carlton hall. never seen rosemarie hall done up before. carlton hall plus point is the whole level is yours that night.

saliva

anyone can share is the food at York hotel is nice? understand that there is no restaurant there, so who will be preparing the dishes during the banquet????

jiamin_loh

Saliva,

The food is quite nice... the only disadvantage will be food tasting, u got to pay for it...
other than that is quite reasoable...

saliva

those who have signed up with YOrk hotel,
can u share wat r the additional perks we can request besides wat is stated in the contract?

nueyerdua

Hi jas,

wow.... u managed to get 1 more breakfast with the extra night stay? Me not so lucky... we were told that the 2nd breakfast was not included even though we had an extra night stay in the deluxe suite.

My AD dinner was ok, just find it wierd that people just walk in main door even when they see us preparing for 1st and 2nd march-in..... can't they wait a little while more or use another door??

saliva

Hi nueyerdua,

when's yr AD? using Rosemarie hall or carlton hall?
wat's the feedback from the guests and your experience?

bel_vodka

Was ther for site inspection last monday.
Don like the themes alot coz find tt is not fanciful enuff when compared to other hotels.
But the lobby at least is nice.
As u noe first impression is always impt.
Seen level 2 ballroom. their ceiling quite okie.
Seen level 1 ballroom, their ceiling is quite low.. But den still considering to tk or not to tk.

Arent u afraid tt ur guests cant find the way?
Before scouting for hotels n restuarants.. i din ever hear before The york hotel..

Ohh i seen their 2 different kinds of suite oso. The Evergold suit is nice man and big.. but if i were to tk, im getting the cheaper package so oso cant get the evergold suite. hehe

Dont tink they provide real cake.. im not too sure

havavi

hello everyone,
happy new year!
As for cake, all places provides dummy cake only. if u want real cake, its either get it outside or arrange with hotel to make 1.
I saw the dummy cake at fourseason, very cute!

emily,
I also 1st time heard of york hotel when i source for venue. but the hotel provide maps together with the invitation cards, so its not a worry.

neu,
its like that one la, unless got people to help stop those guest for your march in.

jiamin_loh

Hi Girls...

The wedding was the most mostmemorable one...
Anyway, who can share with me their lovely AD photos, mine will be ready after CNY...

saliva

Hi Samantha,

Your wedding is over? Congrats! How did everything go @ York hotel? Postive feedback from guests and good experience?

jiamin_loh

Hi Zenie,

Yes, overall everything was great...
but my guests turn up quite late that nite bcos there were not enough parking lots and some of my guests need to pay for the valet parking...at fisrt, was quite angry
but later manage to sort things out with the manager... When is your wedding???

LaNcerGuy,

I think they can hold about 45 tables in total for the Carlton Hall... I have 27 tables in total, my wedding was held at Rosemarie Hall...

doreenq

Hi Samantha,

I signed up with York Hotel recently and mine is going to be at Rosemarie Hall too. Can I check if you had your stage in the centre of the 4 halls or in the 3rd hall (Marie I)? I was given the floor plan and realised that the guests sitting near the entrance will be pretty far from the stage if it is in the 3rd hall.

jiamin_loh

Hi Donut,

My stage is placed at the centre of the 4 halls... I have 26 tables in total with 1 reserved table... I manage to fill up those seats with good view for confirmed guests (relatives & friends) and those guests not confirmed one are placed at the corner...
Anyway, just checking how many tables u have in total???

ednamode

hi..anyone deal with tracy before? i still waiting for their quotation..havent come yet. was told got 3 cooridinator doing wedding sales. one of them is tracy i believe and the other one is christine as mentioned in this thread..what about the 3rd one?????

by the way, those who already had their banquet at York hotel, care to comment on the food and service???

My email is [email protected] hope someone will share their wedding packages with me as i am tired of waiting for them to email me..hehe ..my Ad will be on 30th March 08..
thanks alot!

doreenq

Hi Samantha,

Thanks for your reply. I guessed having the stage in the centre is a better choice since I am also having having around 26 tables

Btw, how is the march in? Is is too short since the stage is placed nearer to the entrance?

nueyerdua

Tracy was my coordinator. Very fast response to emails and requests for more info. She'll even call to discuss when she receives my emails at times. What impressed me at the start was that she's very familiar with the hotel's packages/prices etc, all at her fingertips.

As for the march-in, think there's not much difference with the stage centred or slightly off-centre. I chose to slot the stage in between 2 entrances so that there's more space for the tables in front of it. However, we decided to get 2 screens and rent an extra projector because the room was so long-ish

jiamin_loh

Hi Donut,

The march in was a short one... U need to walk very slowly...
Anyway, u tend to walk faster bcos everyone will place their attention @ the couples...

Tracy is quite experienced and she will help take care of everything and so no worries if you let her handle it...

princess_momo

I had some experience that I would like to share with you.

Recently, my company had organized a company meeting in York Hotel, "Top of the York". The function room looks quite old to me, but overall the service is good. I would like to compliment on the supervisor who told care of us during the meeting. I think his name is Steven. I'm not sure whether is it the same person that mini apple had mentioned.

A day prior the meeting, I saw him diligently arranging the utensils, setting up tables and chairs.

Whenever I asked for his help, he listen to my request earnestly, and try to accommadate my request. During the meeting, he came up to check on us occasionally and he make sure that he's around when we need him.

So for BTB in York Hotel, if Steven is your in charge that day, there should be no problem :D
So 3 cheers for Steven!!

doreenq

Hey Samantha,

Nice wedding website you've got

The photos are very nice too...

Thanks for the link for wedding songs...

poopa

I'm signing up for carlton hall in apr... as there is a wedding show... hope to exchange views.. anyone has deal w jacky lui?

siaodingdong

Hi Samantha,

I loved ur WG. Which BS u went for?
Btw, which hall u used? I was offered with Rosemarie Hall, wondered how is it? Afraid it will look very squeesy leh.. sad sad..

merichian

hi Elaine,
i dealt with Jackie for my wedding this july.

Going to see him soon for the final preps...
So far, he's quite a easy-going person.

jiamin_loh

Hi Siao,

I signed up with Mr & Ms Wedding Club, the package was offered at S$2,888.00...

Yes, my banquet was held at Rosemarie Hall - so far is quite alright cos they can take up max. of about 30 tables...

Shannon - The package is the same and the only difference is that Carlton Hall can hold up to 45 tables...

pandaface

hi Samantha,

I went down to look at the place already. Like Carlton Hall, but we cannot reach the min required tables. So sad.

Is their service ok? My friend told me they were quite short of people serving the tables? How's their food?

merichian

Hi Shannon,
i have heard that their food is quite good, that's why i booked there. Cos to the older generation, the food matters alot.

jiamin_loh

Hi Shannon,

The food that York Hotel serve is quite nice...
The most important, no worries on your guests will not get enough shares of food...

havavi

no doubt when comes to food, no hotel can produce more yummy yam pudding dessert than York. and the sea cucumber old folks like it very much.

candyprincess

eh they're having wedding show ??? over olredi or coming up??? if im getting 20-22 tables.. will be at rosemarie hall ??? is it pillarless???

poopa

candyprincess,
the wedding show is over.... it was on 14 Apr.. hmm.. if u taking 20-22 tables, it will be at rosemarie hall cos carlton hall nd a min of 30 tables... and rosemarie hall are made up of a few small rms so there are pillars at the end of the hall if i'm not wrong... hope it helps.. keke