Wives of pilots?

starmed

stary
voted..
no prob...anyway the weekend staying at home to bake cookies...:p the most going the parkway to collect my stupid HP at the nokia care centre. Dumb phone got some problems...

jacqueline97

starstar

Thanks a log....wow, go all the way to parkway just for that nokia shop...you should just call me, I am there almost every day....

My phone had some problems earlier too...managed to solve after forgoing the warranty or need to pay....

So, you love to bake too....me too. but my conventional oven gave me headache even before I used it....so only left with the two in one type of oven, but never did use it....

starmed

stary
haha..no prob..
ya..went all the way to parkway cos I wanna avoid the town n suntec... I'll go to suntec if there's no IMF thing... but since it's not really accessible, I ended up in marine parade.

call ya? hee..think I dun have your number...;p

I like to bake... more often cookies... planning to try my hand at tiramisu n chocolate mud pie...:p I like to cook too...

starmed

stary
hmmm..didin't receive your reply...dun know what's wrong wif the server...can try sending again? thanks...
how's your weekend?

starmed

stary
haha..no lah...me not a taitai...dun wish to be one cos I can't stand shopping n 'mahjonging'(er...dun know mahjong)... call me weird but it's just not me to engage in all these activites. Dun enjoy at all... :p

My weekend is spent going back to visit in laws in JB and doing grocery. At night, maybe do some gaming wif hubby..we love computer games n PS2.
My in-laws stay in JB, so we will visit them fortnightly unless hubby's busy wif his work. For me, I'll prefer to go hiking or blading....rather engage in outdoor activites than shopping. Spare me... haha...
crowds give me headache n I get irritated.
My 2 best fren know me best thus they dun ask me out when they wanna shop..only after their shopping spree they'll ask me to meet them for cuppa of coffee.
haha..they commented I'm like a guy.. cos I dun go shop unless I want to get something n I'll just go in and buy then go off...'touch n go'.
they gave up liao...haha...

oh your BIL's wedding...
helping out as a bridemaid? my younger sis's ROM is coming wed...
time flies...

jacqueline97

Weekend very busy now cos princess having exam soon...this morning just gave her a good scolding as she is too happy go lucky and got 90 marks for her math paper and still so happy...sigh.....

Weekend is no difference to me and I prefer weekday as less crowded everywhere....

What about you?

How you celebrating latern festival?I got so many mooncakes in the fridge and already tired in tasting them.....

starmed

stary
wah!! your daughter score 90 marks?! Is it 90/100 if u dun mind I ask? If so, it's good liao leh...:p cause not easy to get so high...
if it's an effort done well, it's a good thing to rejoice.
dun know...to me if my kid gets that high I happi liao...:p

lantern festival? gee..ever since I grew up n got the 'key'... didn't really celebrate...:p not into mooncakes... only like those wif yolks..but not too sweet kind...:p I'm rather careful on what i eat...keke... too sweet = high calories. Not very healthy...:p I can be consider rather health conscious... but not that kind into calculating calories for every meal lah... just watch what I eat bascially.

jacqueline97

Hey, we have similar eating habits...yeah...

Princess very easy going...yap, its by 100 but they are very competitive...imagine, one boy miss perfect score by one mark and starts crying as he is concerned...where else my gal will comment...aiyo, cry baby, like that also want to cry....see that is the difference...

I guess she is better off in languages than math. Got back her English paper, she got almost perfect scores....

Looking at the variation of marks in her class can be quite scary, as high as full marks and as low as 3 marks....wonder how the kids will take it or the parents take it....

What have you been doing lately, lady of leisure...maybe you pay me a visit some day...hahahah

cheers and good day...

starmed

stary
wah...your kid is smart leh... least she's able to appreciate her own efforts...think she set a realistic one for herself so tht's why she was so thrilled when she got 90.

sure...when I'm free, I'll let ya know..
now in airport, going to phuket soon .
take care n chat wif ya again next week.

jacqueline97

starstar

so envy, can run again...you just came back from either bali or phuket , right...anyway you have a good trip...

I am still thinking of following hubby to rome if everything goes well as in training finished on schedule....

Oh yes, thanks for voting for my son, he came in first...quite surprised actually...its all for the fun...

krispy

sorry to kinda hijack the thread. my husband is 29 and just applied to SIA for the position of 'Pilot Cadet'. he's currently working in the army now. i know i'm worrying far too early since he hasn't even been offered the job yet. still, i'm worried cos he's super excited about it and he'll definitely want to accept if SIA offers. i'm wondering how it'll change our lives.

as wives of pilots, how much time do they spend away from home? i heard from my stewardess friend that the pilots overseas are always hit on by girls in pubs and such. is it true? when are their off days and how often in a week? what are the sacrifices we're supposed to make?

to experienced SIA pilots out there, is there a high chance my husband will be accepted by SIA cos he's already 29? he has some flight experience before as he took flying courses when he was young. will his being in the army now affect his chances? he just ended his bond with the army so he can leave anytime with 1 month's notice.

i really want him to be happy and at least feel like he enjoys his work. feels like my heart is torn in the middle over putting his needs first and having my fears as well.

starmed

stary
congras!! haha...your boy is darn cute...
no surprise if he's first...
oh..I went to bali in aug...came back from phuket on tues... haha.. went using my hubby's flyer miles...

Rome? cool... should be a nice place to go...
it's in Italy isit?

Krispy
hi there...welcome to the club...
from what I know, how long your hubby's gonna be away depends on which route he's flying... think Stary is able to answer your question more cos her hubby's an SIA pilot...while mine is wif the airforce.
If I'm not wrong, can be away from home for abt 13-14 days...just be prepared for your hubby to be away often.

whatever it is, guess it's all about the same if u are a pilot's wife. Cos most of the time, hubby's flying n be away... so guess u can't bank too much on having weekends together like other couples...

guess as wives of pilots, we'll need to be independent. We need to care for ourselves, etc... so that our hubbies can go to work without much worries.
Guess it's the trust between u n hubby... one dun need to go overseas to fool around...so I'm sure if u n you rhubby has the trust...things will work out. dun worry too much...

oh ya..my hubby always says...it takes two hands to clap in everything..so what if he's been hit on by other gals and he dun react and walk away (most of these girls are only out for $$)... dun worry. hmm...maybe u can ask your hubby dun go to pub too often as an assurance to u? :p

krispy

hi starstar.. thanks for the reply. don't congratulate me yet. he still hasn't got a reply from sia. i heard from friends that it can easily take from 1 month to 9 months to get a reply. i guess it helps to know someone in the industry then. his friend got a reply in less than a month cos he had a relative working in sia as a captain. so lucky...

as for the going to pub thing, can he as a 2nd officer or 1st officer avoid going to pubs? we were thinking about it, and he brought up that he may have to go cos he'd want to network with the other pilots and get to know them better. would make the whole working experience much more enjoyable. what do you think? would be quite difficult to get out of it rite?

anywayz, he's already 29. i really have no idea what are his chances of getting into SIA, if there is a possibility. anyone has any experience in these matters?

sunflower44

Hi Cloves, Grumpus, Gloxinia, Frostie, Stary...and all whose hubbys are frm SIA...

Can i join in the thread too? Came across this thread when sourcing for my wedding thingy.... my FH is also with SQ.... =)

jacqueline97

You are right....Oops...you know huh, sunshine cost...could not think of any name then...Remember morochito...something like that...

Am fine...very busy...

annejo79

Hello to all,

Busy doing our wedding prep and glad that i bump onto this thread. Hubby busy flying and will be back tmrw. Hope you lovely ladies don't mind i join in your little chat.

Good day to all!!!

samara

hi y'all! how is everything here? i have not been visiting this thread, nice to see more people here. yeah, wishing everyone a happy and fruitful new year!

red_sky

Just wondering and wanna pose this question to those wives of pilots(or other kinds of servicemen)...Do you ever feel worried about your husband being a regular and having to retire at age 45? I mean after retiring from SAF, it'd be quite hard to find another job as well paying and it's even more worrying if the wife doesn't work right? And at that age, the kids are still young...

starmed

red_sky
pilots in the commercial side can work till age of 60 if i'm not wrong, only servicemen in SAF got this retirement age of 45. Pilots wif the air force when they retire at 45, they usu ended up wif the commercial airlines as pilots. So far those I knew of n retired are now in SIA, Silk Air or Tiger Airways.
For other vocations/servicemen, they usu set up businesses.

red_sky

starmed,
thanks for your reply

Cos some time last year, I noticed that one of the neighbours living near me moved out. He was in the army, and quite high ranking. He and his family of 5 stay in a nice, big house and regularly upgraded their car. But not long after he retired, he and his family moved out of the house and it's now being rented out. I suppose the retirement placed quite abit of pressure on the family cos all his 3 kids are still in pri school and they most likely had to downgrade already.

starmed

red sky
hey since u mentioned it's rented out, means he has another place to stay. the house becomes his passive income liao. Btw all SAF personnel when retired they get this lump sum of $$.. the earlier he joins, the more $$ he'll get. Ranges from a few hundred thousands to even more if join early...depends on when the guy signed on. It is applicable to all servicemen who holds the officer rank. Officer scheme is what they call SAVER scheme consisting of 3 accounts maintain by SAF. $$ is deposited on mthly basis and all the $$ in the 3 accounts are gave to the servicemen upon retirement. The figures can get pretty high esp if one signed on since 18 yrs old. $$ is deposited by SAF n the servicemen. During the years, SAF will take care of the $$ and it has interest calculated. Like savings account. It can be used for investment if the serviceman wans.

red_sky

I see, sounds really attractive, an SAF pilot can get so much upon retirement. But at that age of retirement, isn't he too old to join SIA or other commercial airlines? Cos I think they would only be willing to recruit those up til their 30s?

starmed

red sky
the air force n SIA/Silkair has a scheme...they allow pilots from RSAF to cross over at age 37n below(they call it the Junior men scheme) then the other cut off age is age 40 n above.(they call it the Senior men scheme) The SIA n RSAF has a collaboration cos the pilots from RSAF can so call skip certain areas in training... u can read the SAF web site for more details..

red_sky

starmed,
thanks for the info but I can't find it...
Conducted a search for it under the website but still cannot find.
I've got a funny question...Do wives of fighter pilots normally work? Or don't work and follow their husbands on detachments?

starmed

red sky
sorry...my mistake... the info is only available to RSAF servicemen... only can be found in the intranet..not internet...:p u wanna know more can call up the recruitment center I guess.

on your ans..depends. Cos the working hours not regular... so it really depends on the couple. hard to say yes or no.

lyndy

my husband's enrolling into the SIA pilot cadet program. i was initially all right with it but many of my friends has stories about pilots having affairs with stewardesses & so on. Any wives of pilots, pls advise.

starmed

lyndy
end of the day it boils down to the trust bet both of u... =) I can't deny there r some black sheeps in the industry but there r also good n faithful ones too... Like any industries... u dun need to be a pilot to stray... there r temptations everywhere. =) Also it takes 2 hands to clap... since u r already married to him, u should have the trust in him right? ;p

i agree with lavender. since both of u are already married, u've got to trust him ya? my case wasn't as lucky. he was a military pilot trainee when i know him. he goes overseas to get his wings for 10 months, n within this 10 months, he lied to me and was having affair with other woman. interestingly, this woman is someone i knew. but the good thing is we were nt married. life still goes on and i guess he isnt worth all my effort.

nicelip

Hi lyndy,

I'm an ex-wife of a SIA pilot. I knew my ex husband when he was a 2nd officer and we got married 2 yrs later. We divorced more than a year later, due to breakdown in communication, his long absence from home and also his affairs with stewardesses. This sort of thing needs 2 hands to clap and in my ex husband case, he was just not strong enough to resist the temptation.
I've seen and knew many other pilots while married to my ex husband and most of them are loving husbands and great fathers.
I agree with lavender, guys need not be in the aviation industry to stray, it can happen anywhere. I suppose what your husband needs from you now is your full support, the training is gonna be tough and you will not get to see him as often, hence you must be able to manage your own insecurities, don't let what others say affect you

red_sky

Hey lyndy,
don't get discouraged, my bf's a pilot and so far, he's been very loving and faithful. Through him, I know some of his other pilot friends are also faithful. It really depends very much on the guy, he must be strong enough to resist temptation and also, know how to cherish his marriage.

lyndy

i know i've been harping on tis quite often but i really need the advise of women married to airline pilots cos i'm still extremely bothered by my spouse's change in profession.

1) do u think it's unfair that he gets to travel round the world while on the job, while you have to take care of the kids & household all by yourself while he's away especially if you're still working?

i feel like it's case of having his cake & eat it too. originally i thought to be fair, i'll stop work and take an allowance from him. but after much thoughts, i don't think his salary as a pilot will be enough for a comfortable lifestyle so i'll prob still have to work after all.

plus he's not there for you emotionally/physically most of the time.

i'm beginning to feel like a widow sometimes.

how do u deal with that?

2)any measures you took to guard yourself against the 'risks' that come with his profession?

strawbsc

lyndy > trust bah..trust is very impt. my fh is flying,I m flying. we have been together for 3+yrs. I stay in singapore,he stays some other country.Everyone says we will not make it,but in the end,we prove them wrong lor.I only see him once a month and he makes the effort to come see me,fly me back home.Trust is very impt.Although we dun have kids,but we still have plans to make things work.
Always rem it takes 2 hands to clap.your relationship with ur hubby also depends on u.you must have trust in him.
It is not in this industry that u will see more affairs,because I m in this industry also.Workplace like offices are even worse i think.

samara

it has been a long time since i last log in. hope that everyone is doing well.

lyndy,
now my hubby has been flying for more than 10 years now, everything is going strong for us, no chances in terms of relationship. i won't worry so much if i were you, just enjoy your time together with your hubby and use his benefits to go on vacation frequently. i would like my hubby to quit soon only because we have other plans. however, he enjoys his work so i will let it be for now.

i don't always check in here, so anyone with questions can pm me.
take care!