Wives of pilots?

samara

hi hi! i am only aware of airforce pilots switching over to commercial at a later age, i suppose if you want to try, you can give it a shot. at least you can tell your wife that you tried because you want to buy her some nice italian bags!

i still have this years free ticket to use and not sure where i want to go. my hubby just left for work and i am thinking of cooking him something nice when he gets back. the thing is i am such a bad cook, i rather buy back and say i made it!

jacqueline97

Cloves

Do you have any kid?Its easier to travel when hand free...I am hand tied with a one year old boy though the gal is already in p1.

I used to cook alot before the small one comes along...Now eat out usually...Which fleet is your hubby in?My hubby is in moscow now and away for a week, not the longest flight so far.

jacqueline97

starstar

Thanks for saying that....hubby feels that sky has no limit and that is why...but sure a great risk he has taken.

Agreed with cloves, many airforce pilots switched to commercial at a later stage and they got promoted faster too.....

Hey powder, who knows your wife prefer to see you more often at home than buying her LV bags....hahaha...Am not one that go for italian bags.....

starmed

stary
your hubby sure did the right career switch..
well at least u are understanding n independent woman..
he's lucky to have ya...
wow..2 kids already...
n it's my dream combi..one boy one girl...

jacqueline97

starstar

Not independent but need to suvivor....cannot expect him to be with me all the time since I know his nature of job...

So, when are you starting a family?With kids, life is different....You can have your dream comes true too....

starmed

stary
haha...actually was hoping end of the this year we'll have a kid..but cos i was on pill earlier so... u know.. didn't get lucky..but hopefully we'll have one next year..let nature take its own course..
no rush..

jacqueline97

Oh yes, forgot to ask you how was your bali trip?I will be travelling with the family, utilised the ticket that I have won in a contest to HK , maybe year end.The free ticket will keep till march before it expires....You used yours already?

starmed

stary
great to know u are doing well..
how come your hubby still undergoing training? how many phase he's going thru?

Bali trip was fun...though we came down wif mild stoamach upset on our last nite... blame it on our greediness..haha..ate too much...:p Hey..u planning to go HK end year..it'll be nice...cos not only the cool weather..also the great xmas lightings... heard from a family fren who's staying in HK... seems real nice during the xmas period..

think u got it mixed up...my hubby is in the air force..not SIA..so no free tics one lah...the only free tics we have it's the mileage exchanged ones...
where u heading to for your free ones?

For us, we planning a short trip to phuket in oct.nov...if hubby can't take his leave in oct/nov, we'll go HK during dec.. then next april, we plan to head to South Africa. Haha..u must be thinking I seem to travel alot.. thanks to the mileage points..we are redeeming it for our short trip to phuket.. and of course, must travel before having a baby...which we hope we'll have one next year..:p

jacqueline97

Hi Starstar

Nice to know that you had a wonderful trip.Hubby is going thr the fourth phase now.Fifth phase will be the end. He is under going his command training.
Sure hope my HK trip turns out well.Thanks for keeping me informed.
Oh yes, travel as much as you can. I did that before my second kid come along.
Free ticket might utilise to travel a bit further if my son proves to be a good traveller....My daughter was good, travel to LA, disneyland at 2 years and back from there within 24 hours stay....No crankiness and very good....
Wow, south Africa...hope to go there one day..should have gone but miss the trip....

Good day...

starmed

stary
I'm pretty u'll love the trip to HK...
good food, nice shopping areas n disneyland's there too...
If u go in dec, the weather's is cooling..
n the xmas lightings are just nice!

wah..your daughter very steady leh...
hope my kids also like her next ime..

u can bring your kids to south africa too..
think it's a good place to bring them cos can let them see the wild animals...
also the nature landscapes which singapore is greatly lacking..

jacqueline97

Starstar

Sure hope so but worried about the air in HK, as in how my baby will take it...hmm...still thinking very hard...did think of skipping HK disneyland as princess says she prefer LA disneyland after overheard what we had discussed...spoilt, right?Hmm...or we might just forgo the prize...see how...as by march. got to travel again and also headache where to put my maid....

You fly more often then your kids will travel like a pro...hahaha joking....

Might not want to bring them to joberg as yet as the security wise is not so good...maybe a bit older...

Hmm..seems like you like HK, huh?I always empty handed or luggage back excpet a few tin of weng wah egg rolls from there...my all time favourite....

starmed

stary
oh...u got a maid...ya...can be a problem...hmmm.

cape town I heard the security is much better than joberg...

HK...well I only went there once... didn't really enjoyed the trip cos I fell sick... heard alot abt HK from parents who went there quite a few times... n also our family fren who stayed in HK....
Me also not a shopping person...so if I go again, it's not shopping time for me..more like a gourmet time...

jacqueline97

I went HK four times, all are stop over before to San Francisco

Me no gourment person....don't know why, find that food in HK proves to be a bit too oily for me....Still prefer our local food...

As it is, with kids, all destinations are surrounding them...I am hoping to on the alaska cruise when hubby retired....

starmed

Stary
wow...alaska cruise!! think your taste n mine abt the same...I hope to go for a tahiti cruise..somewhere in the french polynesia island in future..
Somehow I'm more a beach goer at the moment... :p haha...

yup..wif kids it's always trips to the places where they can enjoy...

In HK, I only love their roast stuffs... the dim sum is rather oily...esp the chee cheong fun... me prefer the local ones without any fillings...
of ocurse, the porridge there is great too...
I also like their smelly tou fu...:p

jacqueline97

We are a bit different as you are a beach goer and I am not.I cannot stay by the beach for too long....

Seems like the rest of the ladies here are very quiet huh?Must be very busy working....At times, I kind of miss working life...

gundam

I'm back after not visiting the boards for a long time. starstar u in ADA as well? I was (still am) an ADAO with the RBS... going back for reservist soon.... Having been to both Joberg and Cape Town I would agree to say that cape town is much nicer. More things to do there defintely.
Stary congratulations on your hubby's upcoming command. 8-10 years normal depending on stuff like Sg or My or what fleet you were on previously (affects sector count, a command requirement). Anyway I agree with your daughter after visiting HK disneyland in May I would say it is disappointing as it is quite small (can cover everything by 4pm!) PS I'm on the same fleet as your husband.. haven't been to moscow yet.. maybe soon i'll work with him when he's sitting in the left hand seat

jacqueline97

Hi RX-78-2

Welcome back...Thanks...Guess what, My seems to have a headstart than Sg these days...In the past, Sg has got piority BUT not now anymore....Its really no fun awaiting for command in the snowball pool...CCQA, Moving average etc....

He used to be from the 44 fleet and now all command training is on 777.As you know,44 will be winding down in few years time too.

Oh, he was telling me that in moscow, everything he sees in in russian wording ..nothing english and the security is not too good either....

Left hand seat?Sure hope he will be in there by Nov...When are you due?

Honestly, I still prefer the 44 routes, esp tokyo la and HK Frisco. This week he is doing seoul frisco, SQ16..But flight cut short
Good day...

starmed

RX78
hiya...yup..I was in ADA... haha...if I'm still in the force, think I can see ya when u go back for reservist...cos me also in RBS!
Think u going 6/9DA for reservist...
some of my course mates are in the unit as S3 or S2...
me also a ADA officer..
was in Alpha bty.

stary
haha..yup..think both of us slightly different in interests..
wow.. small world... RX78 n your hubby coming form the same fleet..

jacqueline97

Starstar

So, you are in the working force...

Ya..SQ is quite small and I think almost everyone knows one another....

Chat with you again , going RTC for my jap meal now....

anon

hi there, just would like to noe at how old did u all get married?

starmed

hi all...enjoy the weekend..
anyone goin gofr RSAF open house? ;p

Fo rme, same as stary..bef 30..
late 20s..

jacqueline97

I just got back from the airshow. Its a hot day. Princess enjoyed it but I find it so tiring to follow her around.Met some friends there too....

jacqueline97

You bet. Went with neigbhour's kid cum her school mates, talk non stop from start to end...She has a terrible sun burn...sun is really hot.Make her drink lots of water...I am so tired in walking and its really crowded..Thank goodness, its only short drive to there or will be even more tiring....

Have a good outing tomolo...

gundam

starstar, yah i'm going back to 9 DA. It's been a long time since i've been back... was in 3 DA Bravo bty way back in 96-97. Some of coursemates finished their contracts and left already...one or two are still around. Back in my time the female RBS ADAOs were san san and (pls forgive me if i rem this wrongly) yen yen? Anyway SQ at the moment only has 3 fleets so it's not that hard to be on the same fleet.

Stary, I'm also expecting to finish in nov.....2013 or somewhere around there
. Still a long way to go for me. I just met another one of the command trainees also expected to finish in nov, should be your hubby's batch boy... loh kc also ex 44.
Correct me if i'm wrong but i thought there was a batch of 744 command trainees just finishing up as well...
There are far more short patterns on the 777, more stuff like KL 4 sectors, India midnight expresses, long day turns like Guangzhou and HK and the ever popular long layovers in ATQ and AMD. Things may change in a few years when all the new types of aircraft like the 787s and the 330s and 350s get in. Sorry to be a wet blanket but after training expect alot more of these short hops and alot less of states and europe flights as compared to the 44. (Instructors and trainees by association always seem to get the best flights). So expect to see alot more of your hubby at home.. just not that many days at a time.

jacqueline97

Yap, kc is his course mate.He was at my house for popiah party last week.He is in course 28 if I am not wrong.Infact, another friend of mine, sam is in course28 with him too.

Thanks, am already very prepared to see him more often at home after he has been spending years in the 744 fleet, home away for 13, 14 days etc...flying east to west and vice versa.I think 777 fleet is more suitable for family man. Allowance is not that good, but I guess its enough...agreed?The only drawback is that 44 has got 4 engines, as compared to 777...

744 batch of trainees before kc loh's batch was the last batch.That is from his batch, no more opening for 744.

I think in the 44, there is also the midnight express flight too.

Yap, many new aircraft is coming up...so, will never know what are the routes will be taken off and re assigned to another fleet type...

Envy LC yong's wife now, a personal friend of mine, just flying around and enjoy her retirement...I am looking forward to that....dream on...

Good day all...Have a good sunday...

jacqueline97

Hi RX-78-2

Just for info, 777-300 coming up end of the year, will be taking most of the destination from 44, looks like you will spend more time flying to more exotic destination...

Meantime, 777 is quite a good fleet
Happy flying

gundam

Stary

Yeah, we will be taking over Paris and Zurich when the 300er gets in. Most likely when the 380 finally arrives they will be doing london and sydney. Other 44 destinations should eventually get split among the various new aircraft when they get in too. Meanwhile hope we get more new good stuff like Milan-Barcelona.

It is a good fleet with a good mix of sectors long and short. No problems with getting sectors on this fleet. Downside like I already mentioned like Indian turns which really messes up your day by having to sleep in the aft, work at 8 and get back after a long night at 7 am in the morning... no joke do a couple of these in a month and they will take their toll.... other than that it's actually pretty fun. Those 4 sector KLs are like roller coaster rides... andreneline all the way. Should be a bit of a culture shock to your hubby coming from the 44 where the shortest stuff are Zurich-Manchester and London-Dublin on the cargo runs and everything else at least a few hours. Well once he gets used to it it should be all good.

jacqueline97

Don't think it will be culture shock unless he is direct from 44.He had he 310 days too...so far so good...

More short flights means lesser rest time too....He done twice kl four sectors during the training and indeed its really drain him out...Guess that is the part and parcel of the job...

Hey, in 44 days, I think he does turn around too.Sydney, three days pattern and a few more which I cannot remember...I think short one range between three to five days...

I think its once in a blue moon that he does cargo flight, mostly passenger flight....

Agreed, 777 is a good mix of short and long flight...One of the FO's wife actually told me that she prefers her hubby to be in 777 then 44....

dreamer17

can i ask u guys a question? i am very interested to join SIA as a pilot but i have slight colourblindness...do they still accept?

starmed

RX78
ya ya...sansan n yenyen...but both not there anymore...quitted the force...
heard stories abt them...legend leh...

stary
think your wish may able to come true...

wah..u two talk abt SIA stuffs... haha...abit lost...nevetheless... least I can get a picture of how SIA operates...

jacqueline97

Starstar

Okay, no more SIA things...Now, you tell me more about the airforce....how was the airshow?Which aircraft type is your hubby in?

Ahhh...what wish comes true huh??

Good day....

starmed

Stary
hey..it's totally ok if u tok abt SIA stuffs...least I can get a rough pic of how the pilots work in SIA...might be useful for my hubby if he intends to cross over in future...:p

The airshow was good...
enjoyed myself alot n it's like a mini gathering for both of us cos we met up wif a number of our service term course mates from OCS.
Time flies! haha..all of us getting old liao...:p

Hubby is from c130. Busy busy...

wish..oh..your wish of travelling in retirement...
think u are half way there liao leh...only that now u are travelling wif kids...
still it's good enough...
least u get to travel each year at least once..

jacqueline97

Wow..prompt messsage from you...thanks

No semi retirement as yet...24hour job looking after the two,required different type of attention....This year, yet to travel anywhere...maybe not travelling anymore....esp not handsfree....

C130..I guess he should be a very busy man...but, on the other hand, you can have lots of time for yourself.....

starmed

stary
yup..agree wif ya that looking after kids is no easy task...

agree wif ya that my hubby's pretty busy at work..

starmed

stary
fine... busy packing his luggage... he's on his way to US now...:p goign seattle for some simulator training for a week...
what abt u? brought your kiddos out?

jacqueline97

Starstar...oh...should have followed him...

No, did not bring kids out as weather is not very good and esp the young one, immunity is not too good...

What do you do when he is away....you were saying that you stay in the west?

starmed

stary
haha..initally he wanted to bring me one...but only for 1 week...think physically he in seatlle only for 4 days..the rest of the days are travelling on plane...he thought abt it n decided not worth the $$ spent on air tics(air tic is abt $2500 per pax include everything n domestic air flight) then go for only 4 days...he told me next time we'll go when he's on leave...
haha..

I go gym n surf net..do housework(clean up some stuffs)...watch dvds...meet up wif friends..etc.. yup..stay in the west..well..I got the car this period as hubby's away so can drive ard also..

jacqueline97

Starstar

Agreed with you, four days may not worth the time and effort travelling there...guess there is ample opportunity in future...

Wow, got legs...can zoom already...so where are you zooming to this weekend....That is the beauty when hubby not around right?

Oh yes, I have just entered my baby boy photo for contest in http://www.singaporemoms.com/community/node/45481 Do cast a vote for him if you find him cute....

Hmmm...for those who are reading this site , do cast your generous vote if you think this little boy deserve a vote from you...thank you all and good day....

starmed

stary
your boy looks cute...
btw must register first then can vote isit? when's the closing date?

weekend har...hmmm...maybe meeting up friends n go eat seafood...:p see how...
yup.. there's always a chance next time to go US...but strangely..I just wanna visit Disneyland, grand canyon n maybe the statue of liberty in US... dun really have the urge to go USA n Europe... right now my wish is to go Hawaii n South africa.

Where u going this weekend? hubby's in singapore?

jacqueline97

Starstar
I do not know when is the closing date...yap, have to register first,,,,

Where for seafood....Disneyland is a childhood dream....

Hubby should be in town...but busy due to the training....

Weekend yet to have plans...

starmed

stary
usu go changi village...:p u got any recommendations?

haha...think it's childhood dream...always wanted to go disneyland...:p

oh..must register...later then I go register... :p

your hubby's in town? then can go out for dinner wif him lor...

jacqueline97

I always head east, as in east coast side for seafood..jumbo....

Hmmm...but me not really a food lover...

I think he flying off on sunday....dinner with him is nothing special too as every day is like dining out since I hardly cook due to all not big eater and maid not a good cook too...

Will occasionaly cook if I really have something special to cook....

Ok, thanks for support in advance....