Wives of pilots?

wifetobe

Just curious how they lead their lives and spend their time when hubby is out of town and how much their husband earns?

kurera

Depends on whether he is a commercial pilot or military pilot. What rank?

MINIMUM PAY is approximately 4K for both.

blahhhhh

which one pays better? Just curious about the scandalous lives they seem to lead.

kurera

It depends on rank. Senior Military officer pays alot more.

I should say 100% only about 10% are good husband.

enen

depends on seniority, commercial pilots generally pays better...

as for being a good husband... depends. i'm in crisis with my hubby, on verge of break down, but it's not due to his job.

aquarius_888

My BIL is a military pilot...quite good husband bah...scandalous live I dun think so...of course there are different types of men too.

ariftie

I heard rumours about commercial pilots having wives at every port... yet again, military pilots have overseas detachments a few times a year to those nearby countries. not too safe as well

aquarius_888

Adel, my BIL also trains the new pilot...earning around that amount too...he is now stationed in France...second time there already. Each time go for 2 years and the wife and child will follow him there.

kurera

aqua like I say lor..10% pilots only are good husbands..I been on detachements with them so I know them better..

And as for pilot trainee no lah..their starting pay just like commercial trainees pay not high one..after they complicated training than it's a different story.

aquarius_888

ya pilot trainee earns lesser...commercial trainees pay kinda pathetic...but BIL is finishing his bond soon and will switch to commercial flying after he comes back.

intheknow

EXCUSE me??? Where on earth do you find 10K for military pilots.... military pilots do not earn that much, much so touch over 10K. And if you're talking about commercial pilots they'll only touch 10K after about 8 years in the industry.

intheknow

cat, what do you mean by detachments... you mean they misbehave by partying or going wild and all? Are you in the RSAF?

exbf is a pilot

i have a ex bf who is a military pilots. and well, i am glad that i left him. i seen how he and his collegues have fun at pubs while the wife is at home, trying to cope the loneiness. a lot of dirvoce cases.

and, if you are a pilot, say major, your pay is at least 12k. intheknow, yes, they do get that pay much. becos of flying allowances.

gundam

these rumours are getting out of hand. Why do i say this because I am a commercial pilot with the national carrier. Wives at every port??? I beg to differ. Yes there are many guys who go overseas to cheong but on the other hand there are many guys who don't! There are always some bad apples no matter what job you do. So please don't just generalise.

Regarding the debate between military vs commercial pilots. Commercial pilots get paid a basic pay and it is augmented by allowances, namely productivity allowance and meal allowances. In other words depending on where you go and how often you work in a month the more money you get to take home. Most months my friends from the national regional carrier can hit 5 figures.

The difference with military pilots is you can start when you are 18 years old. Downside is your career ends when you hit 45. Graduity is paid out at the end of your contract and this can be quite significant. Commerical pilots can only start for age 26 (for locals) due to the arrangement with the military and we work till 60 although this number seems soon to be revised upwards. As usual pay starts out as peanuts (NO not the 600k kind). When I was under training my takehome minus cpf alone already was 3 digits and we still had to take a pay cut during SARs. Pay gets better and after joining the fleet you start to get your extra allowances to supplement your basic pay. Plus we get bonus if the company does well and 13th month is standard.

Wrt intheknow, 10k after 8 years most likely you are refering to basic pay? Cos in a good month I can get that figure with all my allowances included.

intheknow

RX-78-2

Sorry for generalising.

how many years have you been a commercial pilot? I thought it takes 5 years to pass out as a captain? Is the chopping rate high (what's the percentage like) for commercial pilots?

my 2 cents

well, why not say that pilot's wives fool around when their husbands are overseas on detachments or when they are flying. 2 sides to the story as well

kurera

in the know..as mentioned by aquarius 888, military really earn much more especially the senior ones.

in the know yes, I was formally from the RSAF but I am not a pilot, me from a different vocation but travels with them overseas for detachment.

I guess there are different benefits as a commercial and military pilots.

my 2 cents, agree la there are wives that full around..but utimately remember women are always at losing end mah...

Whatever lah...no need so angry about the issue leh.

We are here just to help wifetobe on answer her questions.

supercurious

So should I conclude that military pilots earn more than commercial ones? What about including bonuses and allowances? It's the entire package right?

kurera

supercurious,

It depends on the rank as well, if you are referring to highest rank in SIA / RSAF it's almost the same cos when BIZ is good they do pay good bonuses too..RSAF no need to say..sure got bonus..

For exact pay, the real pilots can answer to your question.

Anyway, let's move back to wifetobe questions ok?

wingz

It is true: I know some RSAF pilot since they were 18 (trainee) thru uni education (sponsored by MINDEF) plus bond and about 35 years old now. The pay is $14,000.

gundam

intheknow,

I've been a pilot for 3 years and been on the fleet for about a year. It takes approximately 2 1/2 years from the day you start give and take to finish your training. About 2 years after you start you join a fleet where you start flying around to other countries and work as part of a normal commercial flight but you are still undergoing training, sort of like OJT. When you finish your training it takes approximately another 8 years to become a captain. There is a general misconception that only captains fly the plane, let me clarify. Both pilots are required to operate the plane, one as a pilot flying and the other as the supporting pilot. Captain has the right to decide to let you fly the plane if he so chooses to. In other words your roles are interchangable. i.e. the person landing the plane may or may not be the captain himself. Wrt your other question. Chopping rate is around 10%.

aquarius. Thank you...i just wish my peanuts were the gold plated kind.

supercurious. Its a bit hard to compare pay. As I mentioned before, military pilots start at 18, commercial at 26. Means that a military pilot has been working for 8 years before a commercial pilot even starts getting his peanuts. Don't forget commercial pilots still have to serve 2 1/2 years NS whereas military pilots if they had joined at 18 go thru training as part of NS. Just imagine if you starting working 8 years after everyone else has started. Not so straightforward right?

Going back to wifetobe's 1st question, my wife can answer that better than I can. When I was training away in Australia,what my wife did was work, go to the gym, go for pedi and mani, go for massages, sleep, play computer games, eat sleep blah blah blah. I would usually call her once a day from our dorm at night and she came to visit me twice. Back in singapore and as a member of the fleet. I'm usually off around 2-3 days a week, work the other days including weekends and public holidays at all times of the day and night. Some months I'm gone for around a week but I get a few days off in a row when I get back. What my wife does is pretty much the same as before but we get to go out to watch movies, have dinner and all the normal couple stuff. It is a compromise but most important is communciation...like my wife now arranges her work schedule and other appts on days when I'm not around and on days I'm around we can go and do couple things. She never fails to pick me up from the airport as long as it's a reasonable time outside of her work hours. You both have to do your part as with any other relationship.

People from other fleets have different operating patterns, they could be gone for 2 weeks in a row and be off for a complete week so I can't comment there. My own roster changes from month to month so it's never the same.

kurera

*applause*....finally we GOT a pilot to answer to wifeto be...

RX : When I mean 10% good husbands I am basing on what I see and encountered when I was in RSAF and also from a reservist who is currently with SQ.

He is the goody goody husband type so I seriously do not mean all are fooling around also..it's always difficult to have a relationship apart for too long...so love, trust and commitment has to come in for the couple.

I envy you to have a good and trusting relationship with your wife..but I can't say for all the wives of the pilots lor..

Your information is indeed helpful for all who may need to know about commercial pilots...

skyhighi

RSAF bonus is peanuts compared to commercial, just in case you do not read the papers, last year SIA reported 6 months bonus for their staff

passerbywife

gundam

Just checking how old you are? How true are rumours that stewardess and captains are always in close proximity?

anirac

Do you mean you've heard stories about the wives of pilots??

intheknow

Thanks for the info RX-78-2, how about hearing them from military pilots?

kurera

skyhighi I already say it also depends on bonus leow ma..

passerbywife not heard la..the from pilots themself la..yo yo...i am only here to answer part of question for wifetobe..

wah..how come so many first time guest.

not26yet

sorry to hijack the thread...but I'm interested in becoming a commercial pilot so was wondering if RX-78-2 (gundam) might be kind enough to help me with some queries at my email: [email protected] thanks :p

gundam

"just in case you do not read the papers, last year SIA reported 6 months bonus for their staff"

Hmmmmmm.... maybe I should speak to my payroll department...they must have missed that newspaper article.

Neither tech crew nor cabin crew recieved that amount.The only 6 months bonus I know of is TT Durai.

passerbywife; I'm 29. Wrt stewardess and captains, it's certainly untrue. Most of the time other it's hard enough to get beyond the 5 sec introduction in which we need to memorise the names of 10-15 people. The crew are required to check in on us after a period of time, we get our meals and drinks served to the cockpit, we talk to the crew when we come out to stretch or have to toilet break but other than that our job is to fly the plane with two pilots not one so we try to keep any socialising to off the plane. We do go out with the crew for meals or sightseeing trips when we are out station occasionally but most of the time its tech crew hangs out with tech crew and cabin crew with cabin crew. There are of course cases of cabin crew being involved with tech crew in a relationship either BF/GF and some guys are married to working cabin crew.

conairdra

Sorry I chanced upon this thread on wives of pilots.

RX-78-2, my FH earns about SGD 10 - 12 k a month. If you dun mind me asking how much do you earn? umm..just curious...

Military have 3 months bonus plus 1 month performance bonus.

I believe SQ pays well but it is in the event they are doing very well. Your 6 months bonus is not a confirmed yearly benefit.

No offence but I think wifetobe is only interested to know "if a commercial or military pay's higher" basing on approximate age, there is no need to bring in things like commercial pilot have to go thru 2 1/2 years NS and military pilots joined airforce at age of 18 to compare who earns more.

I think there is no real reason to make a big issue over this...

in the know, military pilots do not have much time to log onto the net..if you, ladies or hunks need any questions. I try get him to reply but seriously I think he may not even be interested..haaa...

take care all and let's not argue over this anymore..

wifetobe..I keep myself occupied with mani/pedi and spas...and of cos movies with close friends.
Relationship with FH has been great..so far..so good..

CAT, I do agree on your side that some military pilots are cheeky..but which guys doesn't? Look on the bright side..things may work out for some!

gloxinia

Hi wifetobe, if your FH is a commercial pilot, you've got to be really independent cos you will have to spend birthdays, new years, valentines day, weddings and anniversaries all alone. In short, be prepared for the solo-act longterm.

It's impt to cultivate a strong relationship with your family members cos they'll be the ones there when you need someone to help you out in emergencies esp when hubby is a thousand miles away from home. Close friends are good to have but as they age (as will you), they will be occupied with their own kids etc and will no time for "the lonely wife".

Just a note of warning : with a distrupted time clock, flying hubbies can get really tired and grumpy when they return home. So don't be disappointed when you don't get the "I miss you darling" + hug + kiss" a-la soap opera. Loads of understanding required from wifey.

grumpus

i've been following this thread since the beginning and before i say anything further, let me first set something straight. RX-78-2 is my hubby, in fact i was the one that highlighted this thread to him before he decided to put in his 2 cents worth. i think he was bored yest on his day off with me being at work and him alone at home.

since he's off flying somewhere again today, i decided to reply to conair qns on his behalf.

conair, hubby can earn abt that much in a gd mth but its not a given since a significant portion of his pay is based on allowances which is based on how often he gets to fly.

regarding the pt abt miltary vs commercial, all he is trying to say is that u can't really directly compare the 2 because they have very different circumstances.
if you insist on generalising, i would say that given the same approximate age, say a military pilot at 27 will be earning more than a commercial pilot at 27 simply because he has more flying experience under his belt.

interestingly enough we have yet to hear back from the original starter of this thread: wifetobe.
well wifetobe, if u're still reading this thread and if yr FH is a commercial pilot, my hubby has given quite a detailed rundown of my schedule and gloxinia has also given some excellent advise.
do feel free to PM me if you need more info or some support from a fellow pilot's wife.

if yr FH is a military pilot, i'm sure conair will be more than willing to ans any qn u might have...

grumpus

haha gloxinia, you are absolutely right!! thats the most difficult part i think...

hubby gets 2 days off but they're on weekdays when i'm at work and when i get my days off on weekends, he's flown off..doesn't leave us much time to spend together..

i keep telling him the long term solution is for me to quit and become a tai tai then my schedule can always match his

but lets not hijack this thread for our personal rantings..hahah...well do feel free to PM me and we can continue this conversation offline

wifetobe

So sorry if I have been delayed in my reply as I had been out of town. Just got back. fyi, my HTB is not a pilot but somewhat similar at the moment and he's thinking of going into commercial. I'm just curious as my life is somewhat similar to someone whose husband flies alot. I really don't wish to reveal much here as I'm afraid someone might know who I am.

wifetobe

So sorry if I have been delayed in my reply as I had been out of town. Just got back. fyi, my HTB is not a pilot but somewhat similar at the moment and he's thinking of going into commercial. I'm just curious as my life is somewhat similar to someone whose husband flies alot. I really don't wish to reveal much here as I'm afraid someone might know who I am.

samara

i chanced upon this thread as well. wifetobe, i agree with the wives here that you should be very independent, keep yourself occupied. be prepared to spend holidays especially the long CNY, Xmas & New Years alone. i don't remember my hubby was ever in Singapore on those days. yeah, tell me about it, friends and families have their own lives so you will need to be on your own most of the time. it is good to have your own space. the good thing is when my hubby is back, we get a good amount of days to ourselves and there will be so much to talk about. i quite like this sort of arrangement, it makes the marriage interesting. well, if you have any query, you can email me too.

gloxinia

Hi wifetobe, understand your wish for privacy, feel free to PM me if you have any queries.

Agree with Cloves and Grumpus that there are pros and cons of having a flying spouse.
It depends a lot on your FH and how he prioritises the relationship. If the channel of communication is wide open and he involves you in his decisions, then everything should be just fine.

wifetobe

Thanks to all of you for replying to my queries, really appreciate it.

Conair
Are you working? Military pilots do not really fly overseas much right? Theirs is more to office hours work with the occasional extra work on weekends if I'm not wrong?

wifetobe

gundam

Thanks also for taking the time out to provide such a detailed write up on the lives of commercial pilots and their wives. Very insightful.

blunt guy

read this whole thread....and my god! Its quite surprising here to know that ppl are only interested in how much the potential pilot husband earns...rather than how much tme they have with the (P) husbands. does it mean that if their (P)husband earns 5 figure money but spent little time due to work. its ok??? Or rather they earn less but spent all their time together.

wifetobe, think your question shouldn't tied in the pay scale. it's quite immaterial unless you r marrying for all the wrong reasons.

Time goes 2 ways - quality and quantity. should know which one you personally prefer...

In-fidelity only exist if your partner is not commited enough, in which case, doesn't matter if he's a pilot earning 5 figure pay or clerk earning 3 figure ones. THEY WILL CHEAT! The 5 figure pay will only make sense when you get half for alimony after divorce.( then it makes perfect sense to marry a pilot.hahaha....)

Please evaluate your priorites...if you r someone who cun stand NOT havin yr future hubby around most of the time, RE-CONSIDER OR REHAB! its not fair to the other party since he thought u understand perfectly b4 marrying him and then starts complainin thereafter.....

pardon my straightforwardness, i dun meant to be rude. just hope my 2 cents worth can provide some realistic insight. Cheers!

godknows

I find your post a little offending considering I'm'm the wife of a frequent flyer. My husband flies 2-3 weeks in a week due to some business development in China and India and yes, he does earn 5 fugures.

I'm worried sometimes when he goes to China and I do question what he does over there... esp he's considered quite a high earner in China (when he's paid in Singapore dollars). Are you trying to say that you have no right to question the lifestyle that you'll be leading before marriage?? It's only after marriage that I know the full details of the extent of my husband's work obligation and that includes lounge visits. How do you think I feel then?

When I question him where his money goes to he just brushes me aside and starts throwing his temper around when I questions further...

What do you think is worse... having a sense of security or having money as a sense of security??

$

$$world

$$ show a thousand side of human-being...esp woman-beings............

watanabe

oh please.... pilots and air stewardesses are known for their weird antics in the air. Any wonder how the term SIA - Sex In the Air???

watanabe

And speaking of air stewardesses, have you realised how the standard of SQ gals have fallen so much that you can throw a stone and hit an average looking (at most) air stewardess... the males however are still as bad.

thats life

i hv heard from a friend that his pilot friends do hv flings with the cabin crew while they went flying...most of them are married...