Where is my happily ever after?

Doll, this is achieved through the refining boundaries and GRCs consistently to achieve just the amt to win.

Why Macpherson, Chai Chee and parts of Bedok are under Marine Parade while Mountbatten is separated. Make geographical sense or not? haha.

I lost my opportunity to vote in 2006 elections because of the refining of boundary. No updates were given to the residents before the elections and we were paying conservation fees to the same town council still. I only found out because I called up to enquire why I have not received my voting card. Only a month after elections, we received the letters informing residents that we are now under MP GRC.

They were unhappy with the negative 'flamming' of TPL online, but well, opposition have undergone character assassinations by our media all the time. With the internet, finally, it is a way to bring forth the balance.

Before, casting my vote, I ignored all the negative comments abt TPL cos I wanted to make the judgement myself and not influenced by others opinion. I watched the rallies by both parties online, the interviews and what our SM Goh spoke of the opposition.

If there were no GRCs, GY did not have to go, and I am sure TPL would stay out forever.

It's worrying the new generation of leaders get the buy-in the piggyback way.

I am against the gerrymandering and major changes to GRC boundary but I am for the original stated objective of ensuring rerpresentation of minority if not why should anyone care even to look and field a minority since all consitituency are majority chinese . May be they should keep the number to 2 or 3 or designate certain constituency as minority only.

I think most people would like to have more opps but majority still view stability as important...today ST article about '60.1%, 69% and 46%' reflect exactly my view and I guess most...

i'm wondering why stability is not equated to qualified Individuals, but to parties... i believe we have the maturity to handle it. at least we won't have freak results, unnecessary losses. Honestly, IF spore was really given a choice to vote based on individuals, maybe selecting 87 out of 170-200 candidates... perhaps we can see 10-12 good oppo voted in, and certainly the less-intelligent ones being voted out without worry - for all parties.

oppo not there to oppose all the time, ideas is what's needed... ideas for the pple. if we dun even speak up within our company, i dun really have much faith in some of these newbies speaking up again their more senior MPs.

I think party is still important...as much as pap new MPs will not say anything contradictory to their senior/party stand, do you think WP new MP will do otherwise?...to me.. as much as we should emphasize on the capability of the candidate but it also important what the party stand for and their manifesto...it is based on these that they managed the country...eg if SDP is the gov, they will eliminate manufacturing and cut defense...in election, we are actually electing a set of ideas and visions...you can elect the top 87 individual in singapore into parliament as independent but do you think they can run the country effectively? in reality, currently, only pap can manage the country well and effectively...politic is a matter of the life of millions..in this aspect..I would prefer progressive change than abrupt change like jasmine revolution...I guess people want the gov to change and not change gov at this time...I agreed there are quite a few opps candidates are more worthy to go in than the pap one but as what GY said..'That's life'..

Outcast, this is the reason why we need diversity. With only 1 party, there is a very real risk of group interests over national interests.

Tanjong Pagar resident

Only now I click on the link you posted...is it real?...I mean is it truely done by them...oh unbelieveable...now I felt like I am living in North Korea....everything is nice and bountiful..we are in paradise...Mr Kim always get 99.99% of the vote....

u talking to me?

well it's not avatars... this is how awkward and how much they've lost touch. to me it's a show of a few pple patting each others' back as they made contact on the ground pre-election.

It's interesting to watch this video post-GE, especially when it contradicted the poll result of Bishan-TPY GRC.

It's truly reflection time now that the results are cast in stones.

Sadly, that link about overseas students is happening in varsities. Its a quick way of correcting an overly successful campaign some thirty years ago. Ironically, the unpopular produce from that era, including myself is now helping to finance their education here. In another 30 years, I am unsure whether I will still be alive to witness if all these financing from our part will work out. Lets hope so or we might need another round of solution which will be financed by our children. What to do, we love this place and call it home. Yet,there is this man who loves it more. His little cubicle is one manifestation of so frail yet so strong.

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=3159021

Notice the SUDDEN emphasis on the youth... TPL for sure isn't the objective for the PAP. There is more to come.

nichie,
Here, realistically speaking, the 5 year parade of who can do what is not about changing the ruling party. The boat will not be rocked to that degree. At least not in our lifetime. Agree losing GY is a big loss to us.

Abolish GRC.

"I am for the original stated objective of ensuring rerpresentation of minority if not why should anyone care even to look and field a minority since all consitituency are majority chinese"

We have excellent non chinese politicians from both PAP and oppositions. Our president is also from minority race. So was the late JB Jeyaretnam. Not forgetting the new MP for Punggol East, Michael Palmer. Clearly indicating our voters are mature enough not to vote based on racial preferences and discrimination.

We are 3rd/4th generations as Singaporeans, the new minority today are the 1st gen Singaporeans. That's where the main resentments and conflict of interests have been. The GRC has totally no relevance in today's context. Its only a strategic tool for unfair manipulation of the boundaries and piggy backing of inexperience newbies that will fail to be elected alone.

So, if this is the only reason to cling onto believing in the GRC, then you are very wrong abt it.

I believe PAP would have some intelligence information abt their competition to know WP's intention to contest Aljunied. Its not a big surprise. They decided to keep GY in Aljunied knowing the risk. They gambled and lost. Not to mention, what kind of inspiring message was our MM giving at Aljunied with the threats on devalue of the flats and 5 yrs to repent?

So, they have only themselves to blame for the lost. I repeat, out of the sudden, there is a big emphasis on the youth. We are aware that our MM is a very wise man. He surely would have seen it. Somehow, there seems more than meets the eye. To me, its all within their plan still. GY is a calculated risk they are willing to take and forgo. Making citizens feel the lost.

Afterall, GY will continue to get 2/3 his package. So, don't be too worried for him.

just saw ms seah today... pretty charismatic with presence... maybe it's the media, but it's like a y-factor thingie. hard to dislike her.

time to move on, the table is set. those who suffer will suffer, those who dun, can get on with life. sometimes u try, but if pple dun accept out of fear, u just have to move on...

to be honest i'm hardly affected, in fact i should be rooting for the current party... but i think if we wanna be sporeans, we have to think of us as One.

I think PAP has done very well to increase political awareness among the youth. By puting Tin Pei Ling as MP, the PAP show the youngsters that it is not that hard to be elected as an MP.

You don't have to be the top scholar in the university. You don't have to be in a leadership role in your career. You only need to have a compassionate heart to listen and serve the community.

Well done! Tin Pei Ling for coming forward to serve the community and for PAP to introduce more young people into the parliament.

I am very grateful to PAP and the Singapore's Taxpayers.

With 5 mouths to feed, PAP helped my Dad to look for a job when he was jobless.

I also got many bursary awards from NTUC union on account of my poor background.

When I got into one of the most expensive courses in university, the Singapore's Taxpayers helped to subsidise my course partially.

No poor children are deprive of an education in Singapore.

My family has broken out of the poverty cycle.
Thanks to the Singapore government and Taxpayers.

No lah...I am not worried for GY on making a living after the lost but.I felt he is really a good minister as compared to some and he still can contribute to singapore for many years.Ya, I read some conspiracy theory going around in the internet about GY being put there to sacrifice.

GRC is a double edge sword and I guess the opps have no reason to complain anymore after winning one. Do you think the malay candidate from WP Aljunied team stand a chance if its not of GRC? A lot of people is not happy with TPL mostly becos people thought she is given a free ride through GCT and her average credential. On this point, I sympathized with pap becos when they get all the high flyers to contest, people accuse them of elitist. I don't know nicole and TPL personally so I can't comment on their ability but one that is articulate and eloquent dosent mean they can do the work. From introduction, TPL have been involved in grassroot activities for 7 years and unlike some who is parachute in with out any grassroot track record. Since her election is irreversible now we should just stop judging her based on her past video or picture but let her prove herself and worthiness...I watch her interview video when she is together w GCT on victory walkabout...every reporters are asking about the negative comments online and w GCT saying she is part of the reason that the team receive fewer vote...suddenly I felt sorry for her...I understand the pressure she is under and her look tells it all...she look more like loser then victor...I guess if her hubby is not PM PPS, people will view her more positively...we are also to be blame becos we have double standard when we compare pap and opps...we all sympathized with underdogs....

I may want more opps and not happy with some of the pap policies but we must give credit to pap where its due becos they did have done well in many aspects...I felt we must make our stand known and act accordingly if we really care about our country...

"Do you think the malay candidate from WP Aljunied team stand a chance if its not of GRC?"

Yes, we look at a person for who he or she is. Not the race. It has never been in the consideration of many. For sure, some are still discriminating. But honestly, after 3 generations, we are alot more integrated. WE ALL CARRY ARMS AS BROTHERS IN THE SERVICE, STUDY THE SAME SCHOOLS, COMPETE IN THE SAME WORK ENVIRONMENT. We are singaporeans for goodness sake. what's this perception that a Malay will somehow stand no chance to stand for election alone? Come on.

"we must give credit to pap where its due"

Frankly, they have been given credit all the long hasn't it?? Having complete full authority to reward themselves and sweeping every mistake simply as genuine mistakes and sueing competition when being completely politically and factually correct. How much credit do we need to continue to give? I'm not being anti government here. We are supposed to be using top salaries to retain talents. How you are willing to simply believe TPL is up to the job. It reflects a lot when someone after being serving in the grassroots for 7 yrs can only think of standard protocols to help the poor. She hasn't even explore beyond nor questioned her boundaries. Its not simply bad press, similarly why Dr Chee Soon Juan hasn't won a single election unlike Loh or Chiam. Singaporeans are not mindless. So, stop thinking that voters that picked the oppositions are somehow being baised and double standards.

We exercise the same right and taking the same responsibility. Singapore have voted. As much as we lament its not what we wanted, we respect it. WE have spoken. I'm more concern with the masses that vote for the PAP simply because they feel they don't have the choice or the irrational fears. Similarly, I have no respect for those anti government lamers that complain abt everything under the sun and attribute it to the government.

I feel that this is a very good breakthrough. The seeds have been sowed.

I'm more concern with the masses that vote for the PAP simply because they feel they don't have the choice or the irrational fears

I think we should not attribute all those who voted pap that they dont have a choice and out of irrational fears....cant they be really appreciating what they done to the country? Are you trying to say those who voted pap are coward and irrational? Do you seriously think that we have a choice on who should be the gov at this time beside pap? No, I dont think so, none of the opps are ready and I would not entrust mine and my children future to them, at least not at this time. WE REALLY DONT HAVE A CHOICE ON WHO SHOULD BE THE GOV.

Would you think by putting a minority candidate in hougang would able WP to obtain as much vote as compared to a chinese teochew candidate? As much as I wish we are colour blind but the reality is we are not....we can accept minority president because the real power is with PM...michael palmer is able to win because he is the incumbent with 5 years advantage...dont get me wrong...I have no problem with our minority bros or sis and always believe the best man or woman should win and lead...

I too believe its a very good outcome and it show the wisdom of singaporean....ok lah...the people have spoken and we will wait till 2016...

"cant they be really appreciating what they done to the country"

read properly leh...

Are you trying to say those who voted pap are coward and irrational?
DID I EVER SAID THAT?

I'm addressing specifically to those that are voting the PAP despite not really supporting them but do so over some irrational fears. Folks that continue to dwell on hearsay. How till now, when I share abt my views, my friends and colleagues asked why I'm not concerned with being blacklisted. All these has to stop. Singapore has progress to this stage as a 1st world nation and this kind of misinformed fears exists.

I have faith in the government and more common sense to figure out it would be pointless and logical to blacklist every singaporean that vote the opposition. I hope for every citizen to vote with their minds and hearts. Not with fears. Which is why I'm so against the use of fears and threats. Be it opposition or dominant party.

For sure, there are those that are pro government. Did I mention anything about this grp? Why that assumption then? Perhaps, the only point is how much benefit of the doubt one seems to be blindly giving to newbies like TNP that fail beyond articulation in her campaign. She failed in her interviews to put an impression for the voters. Each one of us has to make a judgement call. I don't just assume her yrs of experience would somehow mean anything. I read her behavior and answer just as how employers would in an interview. They don't just look at the creditials.

Its already a fact and all we can hope for is for her to learn asap to be someone we can all convincingly respect and vote for instead of piggybagging on the anchorman.

Lastly, from your last post, you too agree that its absolutely possible for a minority race to have a good chance to stand on their own for a election. Everything has its pros and cons. In the case of the GRC, the flaws are so damn obvious while the pro is a weak one. Balancing the equation, you have the answer yourself. Is there anymore need to continue insisting for a need the GRC? It create more issues than its entire mission.

to add... without this grp of folks that vote with fear, the outcome of this election could be very different. Joo Chiat, Holland and Marine Parade could be been lost.

Frankly, I don't believe the entire PAP didn't see this coming. Have you consider the possibility that certain fractions or leaders could have capitalize on the opportunity to retire certain other leaders? Suddenly, we see the sudden push for the young to renew the current generation of leaders even within PAP. Do we think the entire grp remain totally coherent? It does kill 2 birds in one shoe. If a guy is doing such a great job, there is going to be no way to remove him except through the votes. To me, I wouldn't rule that out. In fact, highly possible imho. To be assigned a team player that obviously would seriously impact the team can be perceived as a big sabotage. Afterall, this is politics, who else would play politics better than the politicians? Through history, generals have been given orders to fight a losing suicide battle for strategic gains.

There could be more than meets the eye. Public opinion is a powerful tool that has always been used by politics. Not just between different parties but also within the same parties. We should question and look deeper at the situation.

How is that calculated risk? George Yeo and his team were incumbents in the GRC and were already there for 23 years. WP's team decided later that they would contest there. I do not think that the PAP would have even considered swopping teams (eg: MBT's team) and making them sacrificial lambs. George Yeo's team had no choice but to face the challenge head on, not calculated risk.

While I would very much like a non-GRC system, we will be taking a very big risk that minority races are not represented in parliament. If all our citizens are comfortable with that fact and possibility, then government should go for it. In fact, our fellow citizens from all races should moot the idea. Otherwise, does anyone have a better suggestion?

I don't think it is a calculated risk. George yeo was in Aljunied from day 1.. There were "talks" that LSL wanted to "move" GY to another safer GRC but somehow it was rejected by GY.

Of course the PAP know the risk. But at least GY did not run to another GRC and stayed on to fight.

Voting along racial line is a distinct possibility - even till today after many years of integration. The GRC system maybe tweaked.. perhaps with smaller GRC..

But I agree that for most, SMC is the only way for a new candidate to get elected.. especially for a majority race like Chinese. So a minority race could partner a Chinese but a chinese candidate should stand on his/her own.

Of the two, TPL vs NS.. it is no fight.. NS would win by a big margin if they are engage in a one to one fight.

NS, for her age she talks with sense and seems to be able to connect better with people. She has that EQ.

TPL is the direct opposite. She started on wrong footing and has been that way.. She is a liability to PAP..

Of course in terms of actual ability to serve the people, we don't know yet.

Surely, PAP must have read the grounds. If there is not much of an improvement by TPL over the next few years - and it is very difficult to change people's perception about her - then PAP should drop her - otherwise, she might cost them the GRC!

"to add... without this grp of folks that vote with fear, the outcome of this election could be very different. Joo Chiat, Holland and Marine Parade could be been lost. "

Milo, pretty presumptuous to think that you know that there is a sizeable group of folks that vote with fear? And because of them, PAP held on to Joo Chiat, Holland & Marine Parade.

There is also a very big group of silent majority do not articulate nor speak nor know facebook nor read the papers.. They have voted PAP all their lives - not out of fear.

But I agree losing a GRC is really a wake-up call for PAP. It is a waste to lose GY but this is politics. The people made a choice. So we respect it.

The people of Marine Parade, Joo Chiat & Holland also made a choice.. they voted for PAP. So accept it instead of attributing to your idea of voting out of fear..

Your conversations with your friends regarding fear is not representative. I can also tell you - in the run-up to election, 90% of my friends or people I know told me they are voting for opposition.. but in reality, it is more like 40%.. So whatever you are seeing and hearing may not be the "actual".

Voting is secret. Some people know who they want to vote for. Some will change their mind at the last minute - not necessarily out of fear

It is a turning point for politics in SG. So, let's move on.

There are certainly people who voted for PAP out of fear. They do exist especially with the older generation. However, you also must look at those who votes for opposition just to oppose the government even though some of the opposition ideas are not workable and some doesn't even have a direction. So i guess the votes kinda neturalise each other.

Of course there are people who voted out of fear.. but how we know how many? And how it will impact the result. And fear.. fear of what.. PAP coming after them if they vote opposition. Fear of chaos if opposition in power. Fear for change?

These are things that we never know.. so it is useless to try to analyze such factors as I don't think "fear" is a prevalent mood .

The "mood" now is want of more credible opposition voices in parliament - this is reflected in the Aljunied win. Beyond that, what can we say?

Ya. not keen to change does not equate to fear..

On the whole PAP has delivered the goods for many years.. Yes, they have lost the touch with the common people, especially in the last 10 years.. with the younger population..

For old folks, many of them continue to vote for PAP.. but as the population is getting younger, PAP would lose those votes from the older generation. This is the reality.

In her opinion, she may feel that the ruling party has done a good enough job in the country's progress. From the days of her youth to how it is now. She has seen the difference and is probably convinced that it is good for her.

She has actually lived with change. And has made up her mind from a very long time ago.

anyways, nothing more to do about it - elections done and over! now, we have to wait and see for the next 5 years to see how both sides will measure up to the expectations .. who knows, 2016 elections might be even more hotter than this year's.

being a bit random here but the husband likened the current party to be a bit like the Social Democrats back in Sweden - they have won majority of the votes for so long, that it becomes the norm to just vote for them .. even in the furthest north, where there are more trees than people, they can still garner votes simply because they are the oldest party (founded in 1889).

Actually, the fever is far from over though the election outcome is cast in stones now. All eyes are watching how the Aljunied town council will be handed over; who will be named the new foreign affairs minister; who will be selected as NCMPs, etc, etc, etc. Singaporeans are known to the world to be politically naive. I hope we are now at the dawn of political awakening.

it's a fashion statement to support the opposition, just as it is to complain abt pap gov... it is a fashion statement to dislike based on other pple's dislike instead of forming one's own opinion.

i've learnt what a her mentality we have locally, the hard way... and once too often.

my only peeve is with certain blatant steps taken by pap to do things... using our very own money as a carrot for us, treating us like little kids and giving us little threats. and generally i feel there's a sort of bullying culture... of cos not across the board, but it does get trying to see some of them do that.

there's also statements that dun appeal to my common sense, but unless u can read between the lines and grasp the inner meaning, u may not even 'see it'. unfortunately we dun have that depth yet.

Yeah, some of the stupid things they did like using hdb upgrading as a carrot.. - this shouldnt be the case..

But mostly, I think the general feeling is that the ruling party is "too arrogant" and do not connect or empathise.

That is why most people want to "teach" PAP a lesson and let them learn to treat citizens with respect and not fools.

with potong precinct as well... i would think the Meet-The-Pple-Seesion space - is for us residents too... it's almost like how we're bullied or ragged in the army days... i've always hated that feeling of being bullied simply becos the person bullying me has a higher rank.

very very predominant in the army as far as i'm concerned, and during my time. unless u've been in such position, it's hard to understand the mental anguish... what more with an ELECTED MP who is there to serve the pple...

all these leave a very bad taste in my mouth. it shows the character of the pple who are doing it, and how they feel they have the right to do it. most pple eventually turn a blind eye... but my conscience pricks me to hell to know that this can happen so blatantly.

TPL very funny... she can only repeat the same sentence when replying the reporters. actually common sense will tell u to seek the landlord, rather than the hawker-tenants.

ps: typo for previous post... "i've learnt what a HERD mentality we have locally, the hard way... and once too often. "

I am not too sure about meet the people session nowadays. I mean the town-council itself collecting the fees and being ran by the MP should have funds to get some space?

I know in Hougang, LTK has office in Hougang but he also chose to meet the people at the void-deck - ie going to the heartland itself..

So not too sure if it is a constraint as in not able to get place or financial.. or it is just the choice of the MP...

Of course, it is never stack in favour of the opposition.. as the line between grass-roots organization and ruling party is blur.. and definitely the ruling party has an unfair advantage.

But this is almost always the case for someone trying to penetrate into new territory - not only in politics but in business as well. If would be good if we have more opposition representation so as to draw up legislation to even the playing field.

Its financial constraint coupled with out of bound facilities. But if u have visited the ward, u would see funds being allocated to smarter uses - covered walkways and new playgrounds. Quality not as good as competition but still earned my respect lots lots, not the walkway itself but the intention to better the quality of life of the people there within the contraints.

While I respect the ruling party for any good stuff they have done and will continue to accord them rightful credit, what these individuals have done are often underappreciated. Of course, they probably don't care for any appreciation, just ideals.

sm, I could safely say AT LEAST many mothers and mil. How many hands ups on this one? Its not as presumptuous as you might think it is. It is very much a reality amongst the elderly that many of these beliefs continue to persist. These are the same aunties that would insist on all kinds of hearsays from all kinds of sources from any TV programmes or article they come across in the press or simply some friend sharing information that was passed on.

My MIL is not allowing pregnant women to eat water melon and thinking its bad to take baths during confiment. In her latest crazy beliefs, she has been avoiding to consume any kind fruits or juice since her flu. Another totally crazy irrational fear.

I did mention seats that were won by the closest margin, it is not presumptuous but a very realistic guess that the outcome could have been different without the 'fear support'.

WKS, MBT n Ray Lim out of cabinet and change of minister in MOH, MOM and MOE?...I hope PM is not governing sg based on populist(sg will suffer if it is) and really listening to the voters...so I guess we can expect cheaper hdb, transport and fewer FT?..hmm..its really a new dawn of sg politics and new phase of sg government has started...hope its for the better future...

Frankly, its another insult to voters. When GY was voted out, how many singaporeans lament we have over the lost of a good MP. Now, suddenly so many step up after the elections?? How many voted in fear they might lose their ministers?

As I mentioned 2 weeks back, the message from PAP is clear about the push for new young leaders. It seems all within the plan.

It is so ironic that at one hand to be pushing for retirement to be extended to 65 and Ministers retiring with reasons of wanting to spend more time with their family??

I'm sure the avg singaporean also want to spend time with our family.

now they are even setting up a committee to review the minister pay??....wah...the gov really got our message leh....hmm...I think we can really expect more changes in housing, transport and foreign worker....did you see how those PAP MP being shown on TV working the ground and one even doing field trip on waiting time for buses....keke....today Woodland town council even apologised to the resident on the spot and held kind of like town hall meeting at the void deck to clarify the resident worries...haha...now the resident have a list of 6 requests including repplacing the water tank..keke....the PUB didnt reject immediately leh...let see how the authority response to this and whether they will follow what the PM promised....TO LISTEN TO THE PEOPLE!...very interesting...wah now I can feel the people power lor...indeed a new era has begun...

However, I still hope the gov will not be too populist and able to make some hard decisions for singapore...they should gov for singapore and not for election....