Where is my happily ever after?

Sally, my BF satisfies all pointers except 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 17, 23, 35 and 36. (Some I'm not sure yet because we are not married and some I believe he will.) And WTH is 49?

The question is MUST I marry him because he passed the checklist? Last time I used to write down those sweet stuff that my exes did for me... Then I stopped because I realized that they don't mean a f***ing thing at all. I guess you can say that anyone whose "in love" would do them or they do not fall into the category "Do or get dumped".

Go with your heart.

HI Sally,

With my hubby...here it goes...

1) to be romantic and surprise me with little gifts now and then and big gifts on special occassions

Only gifts on special occasions but I appreciate them!

2) give me massages every other day
sometimes only but I don't need one unless I've sprained my back or something haha

3) hug and kiss me every day... super affectionate
My hubby does it more often...I don't like kissing...so I'll hug his tummy hahaha

4) have sex once every week, but not lousy kind of sex
Where got time..once in two weeks or even once a mth gd one is gd enough for both of us!

5) cook for me every once in a while, maybe once or twice a month, surprise me with candlelight dinner at home, then slow dance to nice music...

hahahahah slow dance? I prefer hiphop man..anyway he can't dance for nuts. He's a great chef though!

6) be able to do household chores, willingly put away his own laundry, won't make a mess of the house, etc... whether or not we have a maid, his personality must be a neat and organized type

I'm the one who might make a mess..he's more organised than me haha...and I can put up with mess!

7) foots all the bills for the household, earns big money, will save money and knows how to invest money, will not find monthly travel a waste of money, at least must travel four or five times a year, has a condo, or at least have savings to own one

Monthly travel?? You two really have a lot of time huh...both of us busy earning $, no time to travel...we earn as much as one another...equals..it's my personal pride to be able to earn an income for the family and not sit there and wait to be fed!

8) listens to me talk and willing to take my advice

yes but not all the time and I do like a man who has his own brains and thinking and not agree with me all the time..don't you too?

9) willing to go out with me for movies, shopping, do activities every week

He's more willing than I do because I'm more 'sedentary' and lazy while he could go anywhere...we always compromise...why quarrel over such trivial matters right?

10) has endless topics to chat with me and is knowledgeable
We complement one another well...I have what he doesn't have and vice versa.

11) is street smart and not awkward in social settings
This is one important point to me and he's met it!

12) is not quiet and reserved and need me to guess and ask what he is thinking about
We could perfectly understand one another even if we don't speak a word.

13) will not force me to hang out with him and his family and friends
He doesn't though he would try to persuade me at times. I'm just lazy sometimes.

14) will not expect me to pretend to be a good daughter in law, or whatever in law
He doesn't but I personally like to treat my in-laws well because they are really nice folks. Why would you want to be nasty in the lst place right?

15) will not boss me around to do things like how asian man expect their wives to cook, do household chores, obey with questioning, sacrifice for the 'big picture', etc
Of course not lah...or I wouldn't have married him. Gone the days with mcps...

16) will take care of me when i'm sick, not feeling well and will shower with unconditional love and concern
Yea..he would and I think this is 'basic' requirement for both parties? Wouldn't you take care of your spouse too when he's sick?

17) very detailed oriented and will not overlook things like how most men are, oblivious to things right in front of them, forgetful and needs reminder
He really needs reminders etc...and that's why I'm there for him! Otherwise, why are you even a wife to your hubby? Must complement one another what...

18) does not demand me to be a career woman, virtuous housewife, sweet loving woman, capable mother, best friend and soulmate all into one package
He doesn't but I strive to be only because it makes me feel good to be capable at work, sociable etc...

19) will not quarrel with me even if i'm wrong
Maybe you should marry a robot, Sally. Who wouldn't? But frankly my hubby is very nice. He has a better temper than me.

20) does not curse and swear... not even a
single one
Are you nuts? We are all human beings.

21) has very good manners, ideal gentleman
hahaha I don't even have good manners or carry myself well as a lady...who cares??

22) has a strong and abled body, healthy
He's healthier than me..and I'm glad because when we grow old one day, I would wish to leave the world before he does because I don't want to feel lonely and sad.

23) at least 1.8m and not skinny nor overweight
LoL....Sally, you must be very tall huh. My hubby is close to this height but definitely overweight but I still find him cute and chubby nonetheless.

24) speaks proper english and fluently
No and I'm glad he doesn't or it wouldn't be fun making fun of his powderful english...

25) loves me deeply, and will love my family like his own and will spend time with my family
Both of us do this pretty well!

26) supports things that i want to do
definitely yes.
27) able to give sound advice and unbiased opinions
perhaps he does but I'm stubborn

28) does not dress shabbily nor flamboyantly
we both dress shabbily hahahaha....flamboyant dressing to him is for gays hahaha

29) does not smoke, drinks, gambles, flirts, visit prostitutes, take drugs, have weird fetish or habits
All NO but he drives dangerously and always gets on my nerves for that

30) emotionally and mentally sound, has his own hobbies and is not overly dependent on me
Definitely. We are both independent individuals still despite being close and often spending time together.

31) not abusive
No way. He's a gentle giant.

32) not possessive
No way too.

33) wants to have kids with me
Yes but not in a hurry.

34) will take good care of the kids and not think it is the women job to do it
He loves playing with babies and kids.

35) will not have extra marital affairs
How can you foretell the future? hahaha

36) will never change his heart, and will stay true and loyal forever
How can you foretell the future again??

37) will not look at other women when we go out together
We both look at beautiful people when we're outside. You sound like you have a sense of inferiority complex?

38) will compliment me every few days
He always says I'm cute even when I'm angry and I like that.

39) thinks that i'm the most beautiful women regardless if i am even beautiful or not
I believe he does.

40) sings to me, or write poems to me
He writes letters to me.

41) be adventurous enough to try outdoor activities and sports with me
Yea. Anytime.

42) be quiet enough to sit down to play chess, boardgames, playstation with me
Sure. But not when he keeps losing one particular boardgame hahaha...

43) never sulk or frown when he doesn't get the things he wants from me
How old are you all? Sulk? lol...

44) won't play mind games to me
AGain...how old man???

45) is not evil
No way.

46) has high morals, values, integrity to me, my family and society
I won't say 'high' but okay.

47) will not be overly career-focused and not have time for me
Sure.

48) will not stop working before 45 even if we inherited a huge sum of money or strike lottery many times
How is this even important??

49) is not an unlucky person or jinx on me
hahaha you sound superstitious yet you disallow point 50?

50) will not force me into supersitions that i don't believe or force me into another religion
We don't force one another but when it comes to paying respects to our late grandparents, we would accommodate one another's religious practices.

Sally, I hope you could tell that from my responses to all the 50 criteria you've set, a lot of things must go both ways. You can't have your perfect man when you're no where near perfection. Some of the criteria you've listed can be deemed as plus points too. I feel you gotta change your perspectives or you'll never be truly happy in any relationship.

Gambling ? blame your government. why blame him ?

never date a man who has an addict to anything, alcohol, smoking, gambling, games, and so on, because That man will not able to control himself. if he can not control himself, how can he control his life ?

haha... it election time mah.

Anyway, I'm truly excited with this election. Truly encouraging, with competition, it gives every politician the wake up call to realize they need to fight for their seats. Except for Tanjong Pagar residents.

From the feedback I got, alot of people are voting for opposition, we might have a change of government in 7th May......people please vote wisely......

Hard to tell.... could be a big silent majority. From the online community at least, the support is strong for the opposition.

Hope you are right...housing and cost of living may be a problem but personally, FT is good for me...without my FT CEO, there will not have this regional office and my job..albeit singporea is minority in our office...may thts the frustration of singaporean but they did tried but cannot get certain skill here...but I did believe its not a zero sum game for singaporean by having FT....

No person or gov is perfect...all in all...this gov has done more good than bad but agree...not good to have too many walkover...especially ministers need to obtain mandate from the people...no free ride...hate those that went in the parliament without a fight for decades and still yaya papaya....we are all singaporea and for singapore regardless of party...cheers!

There is no doubt that PAP will still be the government.. but they may lose more seats.. possibly a GRC or two.. and losing some ministers along the way.

It may be a good awakening - for the ruling party, for the citizens ..

But in the long term I don't think we have the resources to have 2 strong political parties.. At best we have adequate opposition to keep the ruling party in check..

Yes....I can feel the mood of wanting change around me and on the ground....just back from SDP rally at UOB...jam packed...this will be a watershed election no doubt....people frustration is boiling plus some of the unwelcome comments from some bigwigs of gov...I am for more opposition but not changing of gov...so stay tune 7th May people...vote wisely and vote for singapore.......

Some gain some lose. Frankly, the resentments has to do with the lack of listening and addressing the peoples feedback. It doesn't mean they did a bad job. But, they are just not very personal about it. To the end user, there will be unhappiness. There is a perceived arrogance in their approach and they seem to only starting to soften this stand in the final days of the election.

I never agreed with the need for such huge basic pay packages of all the PMs. Much more of it should be peck to performance. Benchmark of their performance should not be focused on GDP figures only. We need a more all rounded assessment of MP's performance to fairly reward performers and penalize the under performers.

There is no such thing as a perfect team with best talents all the time. Like all other jobs, they need to justify their value to remain in office with or without competition.

I believe there is truth to a certain extent. But perhaps some people might be too emotionally riled up over it. The question is, do we know the percentage, and really how many places does it deprive our own people? Not all foreign students may be on full scholarship as well. I don't know the figures so I won't jump to conclusions.

Our own people cannot expect to get into schools or jobs if they have no merits of their own, and rely on basis of citizenship alone. I believe this would apply to almost every country. Honestly some of us are getting complacent. We need some bright kids to wake us up. I've noticed school banners congratulating their top students, and why is it that a number of them are not born-and-bred Singaporeans?

Likewise, we have also benefited from the systems of other countries. I guess we need to do some reflection on ourselves.

That forum is filled with emotionally-charged up people

I agreed with Matka. We need the MOE to reveal the percentage of foreigner in our U and how many are on full scholarship. I have personally met one lady from PRC who is on such scheme and she is now a PR working in sg. I believe a few of the mediacorp foreign male actor is also under such scheme when they are young. A few days ago, Dr Ng (Minister for Education) said that the % of local and foreigner in our U is 80:20…I am not against giving scholarship to foreigner because I believe competition is good for our student because we must understand that there are a lot more hungrier, cleverer and motivated people outside of Singapore. They are the competitors of our youth in the future, its better to pull them over to work for us than compete with us. Yes, some might be taking advantage of the system and not for Singapore but some also took up citizenship. We as a people is not reproducing enough and our talent pool is too small, we need talent to compete in the world. I have also heard from some people complaining about certain course in the U majority are foreigner, I don’t know how true it is. Yes, I may be contradicting, I wish our gov will place Singaporean first in whatever they do but I also understand we need to import foreigner to compete in the world. We have no hinterland to retreat to if we fail and I also agreed with MM that we should not be so naïve that our neighbour with help us when we are in trouble, they are only to happy to see us fall from grace….cut our defence and give money to our manufacturing to migrate to our neighbour?!... come on, get real!...I think we should wake up to the reality…our neighbours are not china to HK…relationship without strong defence as backup is not sustainable

it is not normal for a country to double its population in 20 yrs. Blaming it on low birth rate is stupidly lame frankly. How many kids must a family has within 20 yrs to double the population. Its an insult to us to be given these lame reasons for every policy introduced.

In HK, their population has only increased 1M since 1990. At the rate we are going, we will be more populated than HK pretty soon.

No doubt, as a country, we are moving full steam ahead. in 4 yrs, look at how different a landscape it has became. Its sexy and looking good with nice big figures on all fronts. However, we are ignoring and being totally uninterested about the masses that we left behind. Is that humane? What do we want to teach our next generation? That this is a cold and cruel world where nothing matters except wealth success?

I feel we need a balance. Yes, it will come with a price, we will lose some competitiveness in the short run. As a society, this would be the only way to bring back some grace. We cannot sweep issues under the carpet, it will come back to haunt us.

Its definitely insightful to listen to our MM's interviews. It will better help Singaporeans understand the reasons behind the direction of sg. But, we can and should have more transparency. Don't insult us further with politically correct excuses. Singaporeans need to share and feel for the direction to move together. We are not rats.

in private organizations, u are held accountable for your poor decisions. and u suffer for it as well, whether demotion, job loss or loss of the designation.

u are at the top becos u're the cream of the crop and best of the lot, u have proven yourself with consistent good decisions and a sharrp mind... with or without the finances or infrastructure to aid.

sadly, Solutions within our local governing context seems to be issuing fines+summonses, levies, taxes, increasing prices to control pple, whilst using money to 'attract'. Using money may be effective, but it is a cheap solution that does not require scholars nor high calibre individuals to come up with. money-based solutions we see everywhere becos it can be thought of by most, nothing special.

we vote and pay for pple to charge us for it, in both salaries and charges to live within our own country.
- it's much akin to choosing the best ID to charge us top dollar to design & renovate our house for us to live... yet after everything, they charge us for using our own refrigerator, washing machine, tv and to sleep on our own beds. Yet, outsiders can come in and live without charge nor contribution... in fact they are invited.

sure, we have a nice house, but isit a Home? sure, we've got a good system and facilities, but we prefer one that we dun have to continually pay to use them, or enjoy them. our forefathers and parents have toiled, contributed and paid, way in advance, for us as their future - to have a better life... yet life doesn't seem better. even though the house is nicer on the outside, the rooms are getting smaller and we dun get free usage.

whilst some decisions were necessary in the past, i believe we should move forward from there, becos we are no longer in the industrial age. for all the good vision of our past leaders, there is also the presence of poor vision that has led to population decline, besides other things.

talking abt track records and past contributions, would be akin to me (powder) hanging around this forum and constantly reminding u how many posts i have and how long i've been here and becos of that - u should listen to and respect me. i dun think that is how we should function.

it's almost like the cases we see in this forum... where some ladies continually stick to the same lousy man, instead of giving themselves a chance to meet someone new, and live life fresh again... instead of finally having the courage to act towards change. i guess some pple will always stick to their initial chosen partner, regardless of the mistakes and pain the relationship brings...

"in private organizations, u are held accountable for your poor decisions. and u suffer for it as well, whether demotion, job loss or loss of the designation."

It takes the election before they finally open up and admit the mistakes. A sparking contrast with his stand several yrs back in parliment when he spoke in response to opposition member Low Thia Khiang similar comments over the Mas selamat incident.

Yes, its very obvious that the gov is now under a lot of pressure from this election….see how fast they change their tune on lifting the buying HDB ceiling cap…just 2 months ago, MBT is still telling us there is no need to change it….an obvious case of disconnection with the public sentiment on the ground…a lot pf people is indeed not happy with the housing policy…the price is just unstainable…it will be tough battle for PAP but one that they must go through to feel the ground and the anger of the people….to be accountable to the people and not the other way round….yes…things are moving very fast and a lot of people is unable to catch up but I am not sure whether we can afford to slow down and to wait for those that are left behind….do we have the luxury? May be our seaport and airport don’t hv to be always the best but behind Malaysia is ok…may be we don’t hv to be the top financial hub but behind shanghai or KL will do….may be we don’t hv to attract so many investments and ask them to go to our neighbour because we don’t want to have so many FT coming in….may be we should be just a city like others and not a open and efficient global cosmopolitan city because we want to take a step back and relax….may be our education should not be so competitive to reduce the pressure for the kids…. can we? Have we asked ourselves why foreign companies invest billions in Singapore and not our neighbour….why millionaires keep their money here and not our neighbour…what is so attractive about Singapore with such a small market, population, land and high cost….basically its our efficient and integrity gov, infrastructure and people….you can copy infrastructure but not efficient, integrity gov and people….is going slow will solve all our current problems of high cost and stagnant wages…I don’t think so and it will make matter worst….singapore survive on being on top of our neighbours or competitors and once we lose it, it will the start of decline of Singapore…..we should ask ourselves why people come to singapore and not our neighbours…to be blunt….we survive on our neighbours inefficiency and bad government….if not…Singapore is just another island like batam….

However, I also felt that gov should have more humanity and empathy to listen and feel for the people what they are going through now….alot of people are feeling the pressure and angry…its good that they apologised and like what GY said the party/gov need to transform to listen more and understand the people frustrations…I hope it’s a start of a more caring gov that put Singaporean interest first…its hard to be a Singaporean…we do not have much choice interms of making a living in this world and the type of gov….i am for more opposition but can I trust them to run the gov…no…not now. But I also don’t believe only the gov have the solution and ideas….they need to be humble and listen more and not dismiss ideas immediately…they should not shut people out or justify themselves so fast….we are all human and they don’t have the all the talents in Singapore. They always give me an impression that they know best and we just have to follow because we are the best mind in Singapore…to me…this is bull. We are the citizen not an employee of a company, we don’t want somebody to talk down on me. To be frank, I have no problem with their million dollars salary as long as they prove their worth in managing Singapore, some CEO are getting more than that. There is a saying, you pay peanuts and you get monkeys, some countries PM are paid only a few thousands but under the table taking millions….which is worst?….may be more transparency in measuring their performance. Yes, here is always money money money….you complain about difficulty in finding parking at night, they increase night parking fee….you complain about congestion, they put up ERP…but can the oppositions do better to solve the cost of living, transportation and housing issue even we send them into parliament…..i don’t know…you lower the price of new HDB too drastically, will it affect the resales price of existing one million flat owner?...when you are first timer, you want cheap flat but when you own one you hope that it fetch a million when you are selling….you raise the cap, they will be longer queue…. you cant have best of both world…its easy to talk but difficult to do…all I want is for them to listen and feel for us and hopefully they can lessen our burden…

Oh, one more thing, I think track record is important…its from here we understand a person capability and performance…is it better to trust a person with no experience and record to speak off?…unless we are in such dire situation that we place our faith on him to lead us through…this is a gamble…a leap of faith….with track record at least you are making an informed and educated decision. Of course, track record might not ensure a person will performance as before because circumstances and people changes plus other factors…in particular in election…will you trust a gov of 50 yrs track record or a somebody that appears every 5 years….people trust LTK and CST because they have seem their performance for past 20 yrs….its the same when you are applying a job…employer are hiring and paying you a higher salary for your experience and achievements but I am not denying there are exceptional cases.

"There is a saying, you pay peanuts and you get monkeys, some countries PM are paid only a few thousands but under the table taking millions….which is worst?"

that would be comparing 2 evils. isn't it?

Yes, fully agree that better transparency is the way to go. Citizen's problems are not resolved with occasional discounts on conservation fees and pay-outs prior to elections.

The idea of no GST for commodity is a good one. I don't think there is a 'savior' out there. The opposition isn't there to do the work for the PAP. What will be the difference of getting guy A vs guy B to do the same thing Solutions need to be debated and challenged. IMHO, group think is a very real issue with too much power within a single dominant party in the parliment.

Track record means nothing if you are introducing new members piggy backing in GRCs to go through election. I would agree to the track record on an individual level, not party level. We vote for the MP to serve us, not a team of folks that serve other regions. GRC is form for the interest of the party and not the people.

if u and i both are excellent individuals and good in our careers... and we both stood for elections... and i got voted in 10 yrs ago...

today, who has a better track record... u or me?

u wouldn't have any, would u?

does tat make u worse? or not as good?

do understand that u must be given a chance to start, to have any vitae.

if u were a fresh uni grad, and i had 20yrs in the industry... and u are ALWAYS up against me in every job interview... when do u think u can ever get employed unless u finally get an employer who is willing to give u a chance?

i do not think it's fair to fault someone who tried and hasn't been given a chance... worked but haven't been given mention... tried to speak up but haven't been given coverage nor ground...

something that troubles me is that the wife of certain individuals... feels that 600k is peanuts. i dun think the pple in that circle, would be able to represent me becos they will never understand my concerns... cos they would hardly ever have such concerns present in their lives.

Haha…600k peanut…this, I am with you…I felt that certain ministers have lost touch with the ground and become too arrogant…I think that they have it too good for too long…..I have great respect for the 1st generation leaders who fought for our survive and bring singapore to as it is today….although I am quite pissed with the ‘repent’ comments but I still have great respect for him…..

I am quite agreeable to the reason of having the GRC system so that minority is well represented in our parliament and parties don’t use race to incite hatred and to gain votes from majority in the expense of the minority….it truly show in this election that all parties are appealing to all races and not using race as a tool….however…GRC is good but we don’t have to have 6 or 5 member GRC, 3 or 4 is suffice to achieve what they want to accomplish. I also felt that too many MP or minister are getting in without fighting for mandate from the people…this is really unacceptable and a mockery to democracy election…we have ministers not having to fight an election for his entire political life till now…how is he going to be accountable to the people without having any mandate from the people…I think the current situation of the gov not able to feel and understand his people is partly caused by the many many walkovers by so many MP and ministers for so many elections that they forgot that they are actually serving and accountable to the people….they just have it easy for too long….riding on the back of others…yes…the current GRC system have become a tool for the one party to entrench their power but I am afraid this time round, its going to come back to haunt them….

i'm not a big fan of GRCs. there are other ways if u wanna protect races... like having 2 or even 3 persons for single wards but sharing only 1 vote in parliament.

i dun think stomping of feet can help me get what i want, nor my voice heard... but becos such characters are going in under the GRC, i will sadly, have them represent me... i dun know what to say... *stomps feet*

Thanks to social media, alternative voices are heard during this election period. People's outcry is heard. May all voters cast an informed vote.

why you dont get to vote?...you mentioned stomping of feets I thought you are staying in that area...aiyo (stomps feet)...I dont know what to say already lah...very bad lah you...going japan shopping to buy my Kate spade...dont friend you liao.....but dont forget to vote for me huh....confirm huh....double confirm ok....dont tell nicole ok....

they will represent me in parliament rite? i'm the little man on the ground...

i'm under tp, so maybe next one or when old man passes the gates...

Outcast, check out the debate by Low Thia Khiang and proposal Sylvia Lim submitted in 2007 to abolish the GRC system.

Anyone have any take on the final outcome? Personally I think the final result will be 85:2 with pap gaining about 55% to 60% of vote. PAP will win all GRCs including aljunied...stay tune people...

Hope not... the GRC is double edged. If it cost them to lose key people in their team, they can only look at the mirror to realize it has backfired.

Marine Parade probably have no chance but Aljunied has a good fight. So, I guess our lower income residents will enjoy energy saving bulbs soon.

To be frank, I support GY although I know LTK is a good opp mp..GY is one of the best minister in gov..very gentleman like..I attended both his rally...

MP might not have chance but my guess is tht they will not get more then 60%...Toa Payoh-Bishan..respectful CST might not be enough to beat WKS...what you think about Hollan-Bukit Timah? I have a feeling this place might spring a surprise...

oh yeah. definitely interesting one to watch!

Regardless the outcome, as a Singaporean, it is a historical moment. For once, so many of us get to cast our votes.

In any dominantly Chinese society, prosperity works much more than social values. The majority will never vote against their wallets. Though politically incorrect thing to say, but let's be honest with ourselves.

True...in today WSJ..it said 'singaporean flirt with opp during rally but vote for pap during election'...keke..ouir mentally is we want opp but not in my constituency..but I also believe there is a large steadfast pap silent supporter...no how much of first world parliament or alternative voice slogan will convince them.. Singaporean are kiasi..may be when they think pap hv the possibility of loosing power..they will think twice... anyway..vote wisely and most importantly vote for singapore and our future tomorrow.

i feel that if opposition doesn't gain anything out of this one, we might lose them altogether...

to many it's just pap and opposition, rallies and elections. i dun think many can truly appreciate what it means to be an opposition here in spore... sacrifices that has to be made, the mental strength that u must carry, every step that u must watch.

it is one thing with all the events Leading to the election. i think we tend to forget what happens post-election. will there be repercussions? who will lose their job, who may be treated like pariah.

to me, while i appreciate the past leaders, i totally cannot identify with what the current leaders are doing that makes them so votable.

the most basic Flaw in character is shown when u take my money, and tell me that u will not give priority to upgrade my HDB becos i dun vote for u... Such a flaw, a threat, so blatant... yet local pple dun treat it seriously like a threat. Why?

we alll love Ong Teng Cheong... have u ever asked why he wasn't given a state funeral? i think we all have short memories, or we're Not Bothered.

GY lent support to jack neo for his indiscretions rem? i dun think he did a fantastic job of the Ionescu case. i think it's not abt who will win, but who we cannot afford to lose... i'd rather lose GY than 4 good credible opposition.

we should not assume that opposition will always be there. it's very tough to champion causes when time and again, u get no support from the very pple u're trying to speak for.

my fren very funny, he thinks most of them doing it to get some 15k allowance... i wonder how many of u would choose to be in the opposition to get this money.

if there's no breakthru, we might lose the very pple we asked for... credible qualified opposition. and maybe next pple will be back to taxi drivers and hawkers... cos it's just so unappreciated.

i just hope we dun see pple lose their jobs, get sued, nor jailed after this whole event. sporeans really have short memories...

"my fren very funny, he thinks most of them doing it to get some 15k allowance... i wonder how many of u would choose to be in the opposition to get this money."

haha....
That's what Nicole Seah mentioned during the NSP rally at Whampoa. If she wants the money, she would have joined the PAP. For sure, her points are way out of the box in comparison with TPL's SOP answers.

All TPL's ideas to help the pple are basically just trying to employ the current policies that the PAP has. I don't see how that is a representation of the youth nor how it can value add to the PAP frankly. She is likely to be elected, I do hope she would learn fast. While one can see her passion to serve, we can also see the lack of creativity from her proposed solutions. Providing energy saving light bulbs for the poor to save their electrical bills. Frankly, the poor probably couldn't even sustain enough money for a post paid power line. After 7 yrs in the glass roots, she saw nothing needs to be improved in the PAP system. Even our PM have acknowledge and apologized for its flaws. She seems another that will conform to group think. That would completely fail the PAP's intentions for recruiting someone young into the team.

TPL's rally speech vs her answers during interviews are contrasting. Her rally speech seems rehearsed and memorised from a script and basically sticking to safe political answers without creativity during interviews.

If more bothered to watch the parliment recordings, they would realize they do much more than complaining like the avg citizen. Its very tough to be speaking against the entire parliment of PAP. One wrong move, they could be charged, lose their assets and even their citizenship. Through history, we have seen plenty of examples.

dude, there's only so many new ideas u can have... of cos with pap being the main, and having their ideas given media coverage... i dun think u can expect anyone new to have very fresh new ideas that deviates from the basic solutions becos the problems remains very much basic.

kinda disappointed with results thus far...

can await price increases in another 2yrs. we have short memory and we only complain but dun expect much.

Ok lah...now WP have Aljunied...cheer up loh..we are slowly moving towards two party system...I felt so far outcome is well balance..we have more opps parliament member and we have send a strong signal to gov to listen to us carefully...we want a caring, humble and placing singaporean first gov...so now opps cannot complain about GRC system with so many GRC coming to so close...to cap it all..we have give a strong mandate to our PM in AMK to encourage him on after he apologied...good ending...but I felt a bit sad about CST...I think SPP is going to lose potong pasir too...wah I was hopping the SDP's gay candidate to get in...he is a very good speaking...will add colorful vibe to debate...too bad..I hope the MP GRC result will humble someone big over there..let's see how gov response...hope market will not crash on monday..majulah singapore!

i think that's cheap consolation. i'm not sure how much u believe in what u think, or u hope... i guess we will always see things differently.

sadly, i also believe the sadness pple feel for chiam, is nothing more than a fashion statement to wear on our sleeves and be popular ourselves.

can't really say that an apology at this stage would go down well with me as an act of sincerity, but perhaps more an act of desperation... this is afterall politics. i do sincerely hope i'm wrong and more action will be taken to help those in need. else we've just wasted another 5yrs and paying exhorbitant remuneration for it.

am surprised that u consider us as moving towards 2 party with 6 seats... wat kind of opposition do u hope to get with such a small percentage? it's like having a 7% share in a company and thinking u can make decisions against a 93% shareholder.

the 'gay candidate' has a name... but looks like he will be known as such to most, which shows that certain branding still works.

too bad we're not all SMCs... then as least we can have Chosen individuals whom we feel are good. i certainly would never vote for tin pei ling. those who have won me, besides low, pritam, silvia n chen.... are michelle, vincent, chiam, jeanette, jee say, nicole, gomes, glenda....

we may send a strong signal to the gov, but we also send a strong signal to the opposition, perhaps disappointment. i dun think pple are bothered even if there isn't an opposition... sadly...

powder, there are still a large percentage of the people that fear irrational fears and believe on hearsay.

My MIL and her group of neighbors are just like this as well. Warning me to keep mumm about my political opinions. These fears will not disappear, the mentality doesn't go away. But, its surely a good start.

Hopefully, after potong pasir got their upgradings, they would resume their support for NPP.

The results isn't disappointing, rather very expected. The seeds have been sowed.

this is spore afterall... after the parents have given their hdb and money to their children, they have to suck up to their children to stay in that same hdb, and wait for pocket money from that same money they gave away.

it's quite sad to me... to fear pple withholding Our money from Us.

our response to threats is amazing.

Junkie

What u mean? I didn't take part in the election lei...

Angry tanjong pagar resident

For sure, Vincent, michelle and others can make good opps mp however we must take a step at a time mah...I prefer gradual progress..suddenly so many people get in may sink the boat lah..let see how the new opps perform and if they are good, then we can vote more in...I don't quite like jee say because I don't agree with his 'phasing out manufacturing' theory...a lot of people will be jobless if there is no manufacturing...we must diversified our economy base...other supporting industries like banking services, logistic, port etc will be affected...how many people can become teacher and building more hospital/bed is a waste of resouces...where to find so many patient and will it pish up health care cost...and I really think 60 billion is not small change!...basically their solution is to increase spending and draw on reserve, cut defence...cannot accept their manifesto...

If pap win potong pasir win again in the next election...my take is that they will redraw the boundary or absorbed into a GRC...PP itself as a constituency is not viable in the long run...

this is a case of taking Oppo pple for granted. it's very thankless to be honest... and to be patronised. i'll feel shitty being told that i should wait my turn whilst pple slowly accept me, while i see kate spade going in. it's also scary to see pple think that oppo will always be there to sacrifice themselves thanklessly and spend all their time fighting for pple who time n again vote against their inclusion.

it is not wise to pat the shoulder of the pple who want to fight for u and say, "well done, try again next time", when u were more for the very pple they were fighting to protect u against. this is like in the movies, u're trying to save the villagers n they blame u for making them leave their village.

this is a case of a person who likes to see lots of zeroes in the bank book, dun use the money to improve quality of life, continue to stinge n save, then die leaving lotsa money behind for others to abuse, but never quite using for oneself.

this is a proud moment for propaganda n knowing how to appeal to just the right level of pple to lead them to think in ways that u want. a proud moment indeed.

and u get ladies coming here every now and then lamenting Why Men like to....

becos u bloody let them.... i think this is the best answer to the universal lament n rhetorical question.

watch this and ask yourself with all your heart, what your heart n mind tells u... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GrE27EM3VS0&feature=youtube_gdata_player

mind u, i must state that i support different members of the pap, in fact quite a number. but i just cannot agree with everything that goes on, and i think many now have lost touch with real life issues. some of them just identify themselves with us too easily. like taking pictures when u do charity and publicising it...

i support several of our ministers, but i dun agree with everything they say.

The ruling party received 60% of votes (more than 30% of Singaporeans did not give their support) and yet took down 93% of the seats in parliament.

Uniquely Singapore.

The inclusion of TPL and lost of GY for the PAP are precisely why the GRC is COMPLETELY flawed. It is double edge and now finally, they have their 1st victims within the party.

Indeed, we are taking the opposition for granted. For yrs, we lament for the lack of quality, now we finally credible oppositions, we excuse ourselves over fears. They are here for the people and without the support, they can do nothing. If Singaporeans want to continue to have a healthy balance in the politics, then we need to give the opposition the support. Its really this simple. You choose to allow the PAP to be the only party, you live with the issues and drawbacks of that. Don't complain anymore.

Many voters have concern over the tracebility of the votes back to them. This kind of irrational fears should be clarified. I don't see any effort to reassure the citizens abt this. Why should they? It works in their favor.