WASHING MACHINE-which brand is good?

• Thread starter Thread starter ugly duckling
  • Start date Start date

Fsp,

7kg washers can wash loads after loads. But as a general rule, never wash any KING SIZE BLANKET,QUILT in a 7kg machine. You will more likely experience a shorter lifespan for your machine.

Bedsheets,pillow cases should not be an issue

Hi Nik Nik...think either u can go HN millenia Walk or HN Jurong Point. Coz wat i know thta outlets quite a few experts in washing machines. Btw prices oso good. hehe...

Nik,

If you are really not in a hurry but yet you required a WASHER, pls wait till next weekend.( (LASTEST NEWS)

Audio House is conducting their GRAND OPENING on 1st(Friday), 2nd(Saturday) and 3rd(Sunday) August 08. I can confirm that their prices will even match or better those of HN,BEST,COURTS and EVEN HEARTLAND STORES!!!!!

Hey Twt,

Great news!!! Thanks for the "insider" news....

Will their price really be better than heartland stores...??? Thought places like Goh Ah Bee has one of the best deal in town?

BTW, which outlet of Audio house that is having this special promo???

Other electrical appliances also having good prices???

Nik,

No problem about this piece of news. Just to let all forumers know it in advance in case you decided to purchase it this week and then next wk the news break out and......

Actually, GAB is only one of the many heartland stores offering good prices. But the trick to shopping for lowest price actually depends on our own bargaining power.

Which departmental store would not want to clinch a deal if they are able to compete for pricing???

Trust me on this. Next wkend, you just "show hand" on your best pricing and i am sure the sales person at AUDIO HOUSE will match or better any deal as long as it is not under cost.

Audio House is located at the FORMER DAIMARU or LIANG COURT.The one at Clemenceau Avenue.

They sell everything from Computers to TV.

need some advice. i'm also looking for a washer so would be great if can get some recommendations. with so many brands and models, this is a very confusing business!

budget: $800 +/-
capacity: 7kg

Hi Nik Nik... If u not in the rush in getting a washer i can let u know when to get it at a good price n good model. Sure u wun get REGRET!!! Believe me.... 95% sure can be better price then AUdio House. Most important is all NEW SETS not display set.

Hi Vade... Yr budget wise if u wan there is a promotion till this friday last day Harvey Norman is having a very special Price for Electrolux washer EWF-1084 7kg with 1000RPM selling at $888. Try yr luck at any HN stores but have to let u know i advance is that model is oni available to limited sets. Good brand + Good price...

how does the electrolux ewf-1084 compare against the bosch wae20260? the bosch i believe can get for about the same price, but it uses only 49l of water.

Vade,

EWF 1084
Exclusive model for HN.

1000RPM
Made in Thailand
59 litres of water
Energy effiency A
Standard rating at 1.36kw/h
Metal Catch
Variable spin speed.

WAE 20260
49litre of water
1.19kw/h( if i dont remember wrongly)
Plastic catch
Made in Thailand
Variable spin speed
15 min wash

The only specs that stands out for the Bosch machine would be that it is more energy and water efficient aas compared to the Electrolux washer. Moreover there is a short wash program at 15 mins for 2kg/1kg worth of clothes.

Electrolux washer EWF 1084 is currently having a store wide promo and is only exclusive available at any HARVEY NORMAN store.

I would personally go for this machine based on PRICING( $888/- + $30 delivery) only. The bosch machine does not look as sturdy as the elctrolux washer as well.

Just my personal view. No offence intended.

heard that ewf 1098 is also selling at 888 in HN.

other then the capacity, 1084 is 7kg and 1098 is 8kg.
is there any other difference? is 1098 a better buy then 1084?

Hi Choco... The price u saw is wrong. EWF-1098 is selling at $1589 which ever have promotion price at $1289, EWF-1084 original selling at $1219 which HN having tomorrow last day promotion at special price at $888. The different is EWF-1098 has a extra function called AG+. Which can get rid of bacteria n germs on yr clothings.

HI Twt and Swift,

Thank you for your ever useful tips in getting the best model and price.

Audio house sale is a good time for me to look for not only my washer but other electrical goods... do they do some kind of Bundle offer? hahahaha

Swift, i usually keep my options open, so feel free to share with me your "best price tips"

Again, thank you very much for ur support!!!

i am so sorry to have to ask this q again. I have read as much as possible and i intend to get the miele prestige as a washer but i am unclear on the dryer .

I was looking at the bosch 8kg however apart from Meile what would be the next best dryer i can choose?

muchos gracias on any advice i can get
bregs

I am looking for a front-loading washer too. I have thought of Bosch/ Brandt/ Electrolux... but now here I read about Turbo washing machine.

May I ask between Bosch, Brandt, Electrolux and Turbo, which one cleans the clothes the most and gentlest?

I need advice on these 4 brands... Does it means no Woolmark logo means not so gentle to delicate clothes?

BabyK said Turbo has Woolmark registered. May I asked is it same logo as Ariston - with platinum care? Did you try the woolmark function before to wash your very delicate clothes? is it gentle and clean?

My mum is now using Whirlpool 6th sense 7kg but I dun think its a good one cos the clothes all seems abit "rough" though its clean after every wash. Its tough to clean the rubber layer anyway. To summarize, I would not consider Whirlpool. I have tried its wool/handwash program - It is as good as "never wash".

The most qentle machine in the whole world will defintely belongs to the MIELE fully honeycomb machine. The outer honeycomb drum enable minimal damage to the clothes.

As for woolmark certification, it is purely a certication by agent to certified that it has passed the test for washing wool. Most of the washers will and should have it. Even if there is no certification it does not make it neccessary.

Perhaps u wanna try it under HAND WASH program for your WOOL clothing using the WHIRLPOOL machine. I presume that the washing will be better.

Hi twt,

I have tried that...but its program cannot make it. I have tried using delicate program to wash supposingly " handwash" clothes too cos the handwash program didnt "wash" (not clean).
The outcome is clean but my clothes didnt really last. On the whole, I felt WHIRLPOOL is quite harsh on clothes..

I derived this conclusion based on ARISTON washer. (before moving to my mum's hse) I have used one before and it is gentle compared to WHIRLPOOL, cleaner too.

BUT after a year or 2, it started to vibrate while washing so strongly that it fell out of place and continues to vibrates! We called it "dancing"

My former ARISTON washer though only "dances" once in a while but it scares me. I try not to go out when washing clothes.. cos I dun know when it will "dance". It becomes kind of restriction of my time..

I have read somewhere says ELECTROLUX washers takes very long to wash. How about the recent models?

I just want a front loading washer to clean effectively and gentle on all clothes. Its very tiring to handwash all working clothes personally and kind of silly too when my washing machine offers me "hand wash program".

And not too long washing time too (wait too long before I can hang clothes). I probably sleep if ELECTROLUX really takes long.

So guys any suggestions?

Oops I forgot , thanks twt for recommending MIELE but its way out of my budget... Hence I be just lookng on Bosch, Brandt, Electrolux, Turbo.

Do you guys have recommendation on dryers?

Erm...

Actually your case looks pretty serious. If you had previously used the woolen and even the handwash clothes and yet the condition are not suitable, perhaps you might really have to handwash your clothes.

Most of the machine which we have mentioned so far are all household appliances and they share similar washing patterns/techniques. However, the make of it is slightly different for MIELE. It is classified under the commercial makes and also the honeycomb drum might be what you are looking for.

I am an not an avid fan of the MIELE washer but seriously, you should consider getting a MIELE washer rather then buying a BOSCH/ELECTROLUX/BRANDT/TURBO and end of getting the same results.

The waiting time for all washer are pretty similar except for certain machines which offers you a 30-45 minutes for a half load full of clothings. The fastest which i can think of now is the 50 mins FULL LOAD wash for the NEW BRANDT 8KG washer which has no cut in rinses and no compromising of washing quality.

Thanks twt! However, due to budget constraint, I would not and CANNOT consider MIELE. Both you and Steven&Huijuan said Brandt is good. I will consider and look into it though. Thanks a lot Steven&Huijuan!

But er... 8kg....is it a trend to get 8kg? We have total 2 adult 2 kids clothings in total. Will it be kinda eh...underload? I mean never full load for every wash.

Oh ya btw, Unlike ARISTON, my mum's WHIRLPOOL at times will somehow leaks a bit from the door when washing. Eeew! I sometimes feel like the brands more like country vs country. In my case is like US vs Italy. LOL!

Hotsnow,

You might want to drop by Audio House( Liang Court former Diamaru) this weekend if you intend to purchase a washer soon.

They are having a GRAND OPENING this weekend. You can always use the OptiA45mins which is meant for 4-5 kg worth of clothes in case you feel that you are underloading.

Erm Ariston is Italy made but Whirlpool is presently CHINA made.

Hi twt,

Oh...Thanks a lot! I will make a trip down there. Whirlpool is already CHINA made?!!! No wonder....

Hope can check out dryers too.

Brandt Premium 7 kg is made in turkey eg WFH08771A, WFH10771A

Brandt Premium 8 kg is made in spain eg WFK1018A , WFK1248A

Only premium model have the opti fuction.

twt, i thought OptiA45 can use for full load at 45mins wash

Hi, anyone had considered Hitachi model HJ80 (8kg)? Want to use it for washing 3 adults clothes and comforter. Selling $549 at Best Denki & $599 at Harvey Norman. Not sure about the price at Parisik and Goh Ah Bee.

Hi twt,

I'm looking for dryer too. I have read some threads about dryers. Well I think only condenser dryer suits me cos my washing machine cum dryer area is not near window hence air vent dryer is out.

I have found some models ~

1. Electrolux EDI96150 (6kg)
2. Brandt VAP831E (8kg)
3. Bosch WTE84100AU (7kg)
4. Bosch WTE86301AU (8kg)

I like the Electrolux model cos it looks nice but would prefer to hear your views. Which one would you recommend? Do you know their price and where can I get it cheaper?

Thank you so much for your help.

Hi twt,

If I were to get a dryer, my washer has to be at least 1000rpm so that it will not be so wet and save drying time, is it true?

If I were to buy a washer say, 1200rpm - 1400rpm, will it damage my clothes, towels n the long run cos running at such high speed?

Hotsnow,

The difference between the 4 four condenser dryers are minimal.

As for pricing, like what i have mentioned, you might want to check it out with GAB/any heartland stores/HN before proceeding down to AUDIO HOUSE this coming weekend to beat the offer.

Any GRAND OPENING at any stores regadless it is HN/BEST/COURTS or even AUDIO HOUSE, they will always try their best to match any price offered.

The brandt DRYER is similar to the ELECTROLUX dryer but its just that it is 8kg in capacity whilst the ELECTROLUX is 6kg.

As for the differences between the Bosch, IT IS SIMPLY JUST THE iron aid feature which assist you in cutting down your iron time.

As for the elctricity consumption, there are not much difference between all 4.

Remember this, the higher the RPM , the dryer your clothes comes out from the washer.

A 1400 rpm/1200rpm will not damage the fabric of your clothes but it will come out much dryer as compared to a 800 rpm washer.

But remember not to put your delicate clothings and spin it using 1400rpm as it will damage your fabric. As for towels, even 1800 rpm is fine.

Here is a rough guidelines as to how high you can go to spin yeah the number indicates the maximum recommended

Cottons 1800 (towels etc, cotton or linen)
Minimum iron 1200 (this will be a reference if you are spinning say cotton and does not want it to crease badly when spun at 1800. so the 1200 is the threshold for maintaining lesser creases)
Delicates 600 (lingerie)
Woollens 1200 (ideally its between 300-600)
Shirts 600
Denim 900 (this is for jeans)
Dark garments 1200 (dark coloured clothes)
Curtains 600
Pillows 1200
Silks 400
Sportswear 1200 (running apparels etc though i usually will spin those at 900)
Outerwear 800 (those in the likes of jackets)

if you are washing those t shirts that has those imprints on it.. best to wash inside out and spin it at max 900.

hope that was useful

as a general rule.. even the washing setting.. it will be according to the most sensitive or delicate item..

e.g. jeans and cotton.. then you gotta wash according to jeans cos jeans is more delicate than cotton.. and spin speed also must cater to jeans..

so in a way if washing mixed load dun wash with very extreme needs.. e.g silks and cotton.. its too extreme.. it will be just nice for silk but underwashed or underspun for cotton..

I jolt it down already. Thanks Ridz!

I checked out at Harvey Norman, the sales guy kept pushing me BOSCH dryer WTE84100AU(7kg), cos its drum bigger than ELECTROLUX, double lint catch but the drum is galvanized steel instead of stainless steel.

Is galvanized steel ok? I tot all dryers should have stainless steel, this is my first time seeing drums with galvanized steel. He told me that condenser dryer dun really can dry up the clothes. ...Anyway He just kept promote me BOSCH dryer or wait for BRANDT dryer.

Washer wise, He just promote BRANDT WFK1018A (8kg), emphasizing the Opti45, bringing down ELECTROLUX and BOSCH citing that these are Thailand made, only in Asia then sell, Euro side dun have these models, not worth to see......

I didnt know BRANDT have 7kg types, I will call up GAB to check price ba..

price from GAB

WFH08771A
7 kg
speed 800 rpm
made in Turkey
price $915

WFH10771A
7 kg
speed 1000 rpm
made in Turkey
price $1220

WFK1248A
8 kg
speed 1200 rpm
made in Spain
price $1220

WFK1018A
8 kg
speed 1000 rpm
made in Spain
price $1099

Thanks Steven&HuiJuan.

I jolt it down le but strange thing is WFH10771A (7kg) cost more than WFK1018A (8kg). Same speed but 1kg smaller yet more ex?! I wonder why...

WOW.. Seem liked Brandt is getting more n more popular... Maybe is the advertisement they promote in TV. Coz i dun feel that Brandt is a good brand which will lose out to Bosch or Electrolux... For my thinking normally good brand washers or dryer dun advertise much...

there are issues such as build quality and other costs that will push up the prices of machines so its really hard to gauge.. sometimes its also about the marketing..

anyway the 7kg ones are the ones thats phased currently out and the 8kg ones are so called replacements.

funny.. comparing about asian models for bosch and electrolux..

guess what.. for brandt also the same.. do you know that in france all brandt machines there starts with 1200 rpm and above? they dun have the models we have either.. so wahaha.. good luck.

well not necessarily that good washer and dryers dun adversitse much if they are good enough... take daikin.. its very strong .. but why the need to advertise still? as compared to hard selling tactics of mitsubishi electric? or singaproe airlines also very established but why the need to advertise..

well its a common marketing strategy to so called remind customers that they are tehre too.. though there are also many other reasons packed into the advertisement.. anyway the advertisements they put are the same ones that they put some years also..

she wants a brandt..

well ismiley..

thats depends on your needs..

if you have the space you are putting your dryer that is well ventilated.. then its fine.. get a air vented dryer..

if you have a tight corner where venting is not an option then a condenser is better..

pros of air vent dryer
-Lesser electricity used as compared to condenser
-lesser parts to change in case machine breaks down hence can consider as maintenance costs is low
-lower initial cost (not so expensive to buy)
-only need to remove lint after each cycle

cons
-cannot install in a poor ventilated place
-susceptible to smell around as it takes in the air.. if you are cooking sambal belacan for some time and dryer.. chances are may or may not smell in the clothes yeah maybe can but very slight. if you have super sensitive nose then may smell if not.. i think this is not really a concern.

consenser dryer

pros
-can install anywhere

cons
-higher initial cost (they typically cost more)
-higher maintenance cost
-on top of having to clear the lint filter, have to empty condensate water (though some higher end models may feature direct drain pipe straight away pumps water to a pipe

and oh yeah just to clarify....

condenser dryer also can dry clothes until its ready to store dry. no difference with the air vented dryer. capabilities are the same..

reason why they have 2 types is that

cos in other countries where they have 4 seasons.. its technically impossible to have the laundy area to be opened during certain times of the year.. and beacause of this air ventilation is also poor hence a condenser dryer would be useful for them at certain times of the year

twt... i really think that salesperson these days are really getting quite dishonest about certain grey areas huh.. im quite disappointed..

like some like to smokle you by saying oh ive used thomson for a very long time.. some oh ive been using brandt, or electrolux.. then i only catch them when they say this new washer very good.. then i ask.. but then your washer is dinosaur age those really make in europe over the ones made in thai its totally different..

they blur..and some use miele before lah not to so good lah no longer made in germany lah so buy other machine lah.. my god i almost fainted.

Well I think i will stick to 7kg washer can le. 8kg washer is too huge and currently I cannot think of anything to stuff in unless I accumulate 4-5 days clothings in. (Which means I must buy more clothes) A haha!

But I think 7-8kg dryer is ok cos the clothes have more space to "air" hence should dry faster. Since I going to get a dryer, I will just look for a 1000rpm (decent speed I guess), 6-7 kg washer. I think 6 kg one is quite obsolete right?

In fact, I dun know whether can I full load the 7kg washer If I buy. My mum is now using 7kg washer but we have eh....7 family members, 3 of them are schooling...hers is almost full and almost full only...

well if its me.. i would take tyhe 8kg by virtue that its a new product line.

if you are taking a product that is so called at the end of its life cycle.. then parts availability may be shorter yeah.

just to take note.

yes the higher the spin speed the better if you are having a dryer.

yes a bigger drum is better and also look at the number of vent holes in the drum where the air exchange takes place.

Ridz,

What do you mean by no. of vent holes? in the washer ? more holes in the washer better? or smaller but more holes in the washer better? eh.. I'm confused.

the more holes the bigger the holes the more air will pass through the drum to allow for exchange of air to take place hence drying can take place faster yeah