WASHING MACHINE-which brand is good?

• Thread starter Thread starter ugly duckling
  • Start date Start date
Hi Ridz, thank you for the really in depth explanation, and it really sounds good! will re-look into it with my fiance.

So how do we ensure that our clothes turns out not too hard and crispy from the dryer?

Has it got to do with the brand of the dryer? or the way to use the dryer?

Hi twt & ridz,

Today went down to Harbey Norman to check out the price of EWF 1084 but was counter introduced by the sales to Bosch WAE20260SG.

The sales said this has shorter standard washing time (1.17hrs compared to EWF1084's 1.47hrs), uses less water (49l compared to EWF1084's 59l) and its only $100 more than EWF1084. Most importantly, both Made in Thailand.

Need your advise on whether is this Bosch a good buy or should i just saved tat $100 and get EWF1084?

Product features of Bosch WAE20260SG
• 7kg wash load capacity
• Stainless steel drum
• Variable 600 to 1000rpm spin speed
• Fungus and rust proof phosphate
and zinc coated galvanised body
• Full electronic control for:
- Excess foam detection
- Imbalance control
- Optimum spinning
• 12 washing programmes
• Special programmes
- Express 15 – World’s First
- Intensive
- Mixed load
- Easy Iron
- Eco
• 5 function buttons:
- Start/Pause
- Rinse Plus
- Time Delay – 24 hours
- Temperature selection
- Spin speed selection
• LED display showing remaining time
• LED indicators for Wash, Rinse and Spin
• 30cm wide porthole and 180° opening door
for easy loading and unloading
• Multi-safe anti-flood protection
• Low fasica panel, can be built
under kitchen worktop

Consumption Rates
• Electricity: 1.19 kWh
• Water: 49 litres
• Weight: 78 kg

Appliance dimensions: 847H x 600W x 590D mm

Ismiley,

You can match it with any other new dryer range from Electrolux.

The previous models by Electrolux has since been discontinued. There are no restriction on a matching dryer. However, you must required a stacking kit which is universal to suit to your washing machines measurement.

Tek,

Stick to the EWF 1084.

It gives you more superior washing standard and lets not forget that the Bosch washer produced in Thailand has a little less quality as compared to the ones by electrolux.

The water consumption and the energy consumption in this instance is minimal. I have seen this WAE20260sg changing specs within the last 1 1/2 yrs How i wish i had kept the brochure when it was given to me almost 2 yrs ago).

Coming back to specs, it would be a hands down win for the electrolux washer. Look carefully on the door catch and the door.

You will see a substantive gap if you brush your hands against the door panel. Look at how the door are being installed.

Another thing to note is the plastic tub inside the drum itself. All these are are consideration for improvements in your washing capabilities.

I shall not rant on and on against the Bosch machines but i can only put it as it is really a far cry from the ones that are used in Europe.

Pls don't shoot me down......

Hi Tek... Maybe u can try EWF-1084.

Product features of ELECTROLUX EWF-1084
• 7kg wash load capacity
• Stainless steel drum
• Variable 500 to 1000rpm spin speed
• Fungus and rust proof
and zinc coated galvanised body
• Full electronic control for:
- Excess foam detection
- Imbalance control
- Optimum spinning
• 15 washing programmes
+ 8 Options
- Quick 30 washing cycle
- Magic Ball Washing technology
- Easy Iron
- Eco
• 5 function buttons:
- Start/Pause
- Easy Iron
- Time Delay – 24 hours
- Temperature selection
- Spin speed selection
• LED display showing remaining time
• LED indicators for Wash, Rinse and Spin
• 30cm wide porthole and 180° opening door
for easy loading and unloading
• Multi-safe anti-flood protection

Consumption Rates
• Water: 59 litres

Btw juz to let u know BOSCH using plastic catch. N the drum is smaller then Electrolux. Lastly for bosch 15mins Cycle wash is oni applied to ONE piece of cloth. If compare wise both machine is good is juz that Electrolux Body is more SOLID.

Oh Ya....

Not forgetting the 15 mins wash by this Bosch machine.

To me, i doubt this will be of much use. It uses too much water for my liking and most imptly, it is not water efficient.

erm......

I think the mention of 1 peice is overboard....

Put it in the range of 1-4 pieces of clothes. Remember the 15 mins wash is meant for light wash or we may term it as REFRESHENING.

I would put it as a grade higher.

We are here to give you inputs but you would have to decide on this 'BIG DECISION'.

I think $100/- is a small issue. But it just boils down to who can convince you or the X factor which is so lacking nowadays.

Keep us in the loop on your decision.

Like to add something to the temperature selection of the washing machines.
My son has very sensitive nose and he sneezes every morning without fail. I brought him to an ENT specialist and was told that he's sensitive to dustmites (after doing some tests on him) I was advised to wash his towels/bedsheets/pillow case etc at min 70 degree as that's that temperature that'd kill the mites.

When I bought my Turbo washer/dryer, I especially like one of the 75 degree hot water selection as many other brands have 60, 90. 60 is not hot enough and 90 seems like a waste of electricity if all I need is 70 degree.

Well....

This is just to share... The electricity wastage myth is just way overboard.

Anyway, the diff in pricing between a 60degrees AND a 90 degrees will not be affecting much.

A usual measurement by the 'European specs for most european washer is at 1.3 - 1.6 kw at 60 degrees. A full 90degrees wash will most liekly be 2.1 - 2.2kw.

The diff at most would be $0.30/- - $0.50/- for a typical wash cycle. Lets also not forget about the washing time and the water consumption needed in this aspect if we were to put all things into consideration.

Erm... i am not doubting the new Turbo range but it is just that an OEM machine and the specs as display does not seems especially great.

I would put this range close to those of the former Whirlpool/present Maytag( the higher range not the China ones) or the Ariston machines which are all produced in Italy.

Not offence intended.

Hi nik nik,
About the 'hard and crispy' clothes from dryer. I spent a few years overseas and had to use dryer to dry everything. (no place to hang clothes at all) In those days, I used only the vented dryer.

I learnt from my friends & TV (of course) that there's this magical piece of 'paper' that will not only remove the static from the clothes, it will also leave a soft feeling and nice fragrant in your clothings.

I saw these 'paper' thingy in places like Coldstorage and Jason. They have brands like 'Bounce' (orange colour box) or 'Snuggle' (blue colour with a teddy bear). Each time you dry your clothes in the dryer, just put 1 to 2 pieces. No more 'crispy and hard' clothings!

But now, on top of these paper thingy, perhaps you can look for dryers that can sense the dampness of your clothings and allow you to choose the dampness you like. Maybe that will help to reduce the chances of your clothes shrinking.

Frankly speaking, I don't really care if my washing machine is an OEM or not and where you rank it. (I got a feeling that you probably would rank it above your Made in Thailand Electrolux - no offence intended either).

My previous machine has served me well and that's why I continue with the brand. Just like Ridz, he used his Thomson and likes his Thomson and continue with the brand. I'm just sharing my personal experience with all here as I've seen Ridz imparting a lot of his knowledge on these appliances and I think it's very generous of him.

Oops...

I apologised for the 'harsh comments'. I am also just sharing my fair share of knowledge only.

Erm... lady, actually, i am just speaking based on the amount,quality and usage. Really no harm intended.

Shan't dwell on it further. A thousand apologies.

HI TWT,

any comment from your side with regards to the post i've made earlier?

"Hi Twt and Ridz, I've just seen the WFK 1018A new 8kg washer from Brandt. Looks quite good!!! gathered from HN sales person that WFH 10771A has been discontinued, is this true?

Is there any speciality for this new machine?

Is there any review on the WFK 1018A washer?

Sales person checked from the machine, and said it is made in England.... so is it considered realiable?

Anyone else out there looking to buy this??

I'm also keen to get a dryer, i've seen EFM 102k and EFE 310K price difference is about $200.. EFE 310K is more expensive, does it mean its better? Is there any other recommended dryer to go with Brandt washer??"

oh yeah for drying quality..

i would think that softeners would be a good start. and of course the setting. and the load.

If say that you are drying towel together with shirts. chances are shirts will be crispy but towels just nice. cos it takes the towels much longer to dry than the shirt but dryer will continue the drying process as it is programmed as such.

of course some manufacturer's dryers are much better others. cos of the way the dryers are programmed to function etc.

NiK,

As requested....

WFK 1018A

Made in Spain
1000 RPM
Metal catch
Plastic tub
A+ energy efficiency
Tilted drum

On a second look, i must indeed admit that it looks pretty impressive as compared to the previous model by Brandt ( i meant the 7kg washer)

The tilted drum makes the machine looks even more impressive. I was also given the chance to look at the specification to which i was amazed by the detailed specs given.

The duvet program is also another beater compared to most other machine. As for energy consumption, i believe that this is the most complete specs given.( even miele machine dont give out such specs)

The washing time is also impressive considering the fact that there is no cut in the rinsing cycle and it takes slightly less then an hour for a complete 1 wash and 3 rinses.

However, i reserve my final judgement on this machine because of the fact that the previous Spain models were not so impressive.

I rest my case. If you were to compared this machine with the MIELE w562, i would gladly give this machine a try.

Sounds contradicting, isnt it???

Erm, i shant type out too much in case i get into further 'trouble'.

haha twt,...

dun worry lah no one will shoot arrow to you lah..

haha

well given that its cos of spain is a good enough reason for me to opt for miele.. just my two cents worth..though i respect twt's stand on giving it a try.

err.. actually.. miele do give out a lot of information especially the washing and timing and consumptions. its actually detailed in the manual..

i usually get copies of manuals of things before i buy and read up and see.. brandt traditionally sting on a lot of information in their manual and their catalogues sometimes very vague but speaking to the marketing people usually will give yo a lot of details if you ask the right questions to the right persons hahah...

p/s haha i support MiELE.. haha since now im a user.. upgraded from thomson hahah.. but then again other machines in the market do have impressive specs.. haha.. my kudos to them for trying really hard..to win people over hehe

Ridz,

Can i sought some clarification from you?
since you are a owner of a MIELE machine

I have not seen a manual of a MIELE machine. Owners i believe would own 1. Does it have info like at 40 degree,30 degress or 90 degrees, how long would be the wash time and also what's the electricity consumption and so on and so forth??

Lets not talk about the digital display for the remaining time for most MIELE machine.

I meant that indivdual program they would inform whats the consumption and time like?

hi twt,

sure not a problem...

well yes typically they would give he consuimption but not for every single little but but more of a general temperatures.

Okie is a sample of how it usually looks like in the manual.

Programme , Load , Energy , Water , duration
cotton 95 , 6kg , 1.99 kwh, 47 litres, 2h 09 mins
cotton 60, 6kg, 1.02 kwh, 47, 1h 49mins
cotton 40, 6.0kg, 0.65kwh, 59 litres, 2h 04 min
minimum iron 40, 3.0kg, 0.50kwh, 55 litres, 1h19mins

and also the programme schedule will also indicate like

programme,main/rinse wash water,rhythm,no of rinses,interim spin, final spin

cotton, low water (main wash) medium water (rinses),rhythm A, 2-4 rinses,yes,Yes
Delicates, highwater (main wash) high water (rinses), rhythm D, 3 rinses, no, yes.
woollens, high (main wash) high water (rinses), rhythm E, 2 rinses, yes, yes.

A agitation means intensive
B is normal
C is gentle
D is Sensitive
E is handwash rhythm

is that what you are asking for?

I am using a Brandt WM - am wondering if using hot water to wash clothes will cause the clothes to expand. Does anyone know if I can choose to use water at normal temp instead of using hot water?

bb queen,

Not to worry. Unless you have regular wash using 90 or 60 degress, or else yor clothes will not likely expand/contract/loosen up.

Use the normal 40 or 30 degees and you should be safe.

HI Twt, thank you for the reply. Is the Brandt WM made in Spain? I was at HN Central, the sales person checked the WM and told me it is made in England?!!?!?

So its either there are different batch that are produced in the countried, or stupid sales person gave wrong information !!!!!

Twt, So if i'm looking at similar model, what can i choose from Brandt then???

Hi Nik Nik... Btw u can't blame the salesperson... Coz most of the washers in the market as long is not import from their own countries they wun stated in the machine. So none of us know unless u r lucky to be serve by the brand promoter. Brandt some of the models is made in either Turkey, Spain or England. Anyway Doesn't mean that the salesperson gave u the wrong information u can juz insult them. If u realli wan to know where the washer made, is the BEST to call the BRANDS company that u wan. Juz my two cents... lastly i dun know the salesperson. I Hope my words wun create quarrel.

HI Swift, i would think that a salesperson can make or break a sales deal. Sales people are equipped with appropriate information to best present the product. i dont think its too much to expect sales person to know where a certain product is from, basic criteria of a sales person.

And yes of course i totally agree that the best is to call the brand company, so when we go to Best / HN / Gain City or which ever store to check out some products, does it means we go there to check price , look at the aesthetic design, and if sales person approach us, we should say "sorry, i will call the brand to find out the details"

I trust that the sales person should have some basic information, and its NATURAL for consumers to ask. And basic usual questions will be:

1. Where it is made in?
2. What are the key USPs
etc...

But i guess some sales ppl dont really bother to. I have no issues with sales ppl who says "I'm honestly not too sure, do allow me to find out for you" then to just pull one country out of nowhere....

I do hope i'm not insulting any possible sales people in the thread. But i believe there are ppl out there like me believe that a good sales person bring confidence to a consumer, where a deal can be made or broken.

For the very least, i walk away thanking the sales person, and not complain to their supervisor etc

So no offence to you too!!!

HI Twt,

I just went to check out at Best Denki today at Takashimaya.

was looking at the Brandt 1018A again, sales person was recommending that a good comparison will be the Electrolux EWF 1090, 8kg. It is going for $1359 in the store. Made in Thailand.
What do you think of the consideration?
I'm quite in a fix now.. i've all along quite like Brandt, but considering that it is made in Spain (where there's not much confidence due to previous batch of productions), i was wondering if i should considering this particular Electrolux model, as price difference is not that huge.

Twt & Ridz:
I'm also looking at some dryers

1. Brandt EFE310K, 8Kg retailing @ $899
2. ETE 6110K dryver, 5Kg @ $789
3. Electrolux EDE 57160W, 7Kg @ $849

Do most ppl usually get the same brand of washer and dryer?

Thank you in advance for your advice!!!!

Swift: Also i would like to add, i've also met very good sales ppl in my purchases, and i'm convinced with their advice.

For those, i always give them the due credit by recommending them to others.

Hi Nik Nik... i know how u feel too.. So let's not tOking abt it loh.. Btw the Electrolux EWF-1090 HN was selling at $1299 n the Dryer EDE-57160 selling at $749. But saw HN selling this new model EWF-1098 at $1289 special price. Same 8kg, same design as EWF-1090, 1000RPM, different is oni EWF-1098 got extra features AG+ which can get rid of bacteria of yr clothings n too keep it fresher. If u realli dun wan to spend so much on a washer, today straits times Harvey Norman is having a special price for Electrolux EWF-1084, 7kg with 1000 RPM at $888. No harm trying...

Hi karen... the oni brand which can match yr budget is oni LG washer cum dryer which is WD-14331 if i not wrong. 8kg wash, 4kg dry with 1400RPM. Direct Drive motor somemore. Harvey Norman is selling at $999. U still got $1 to buy drink... hehe... But have to let u know is that model water consumption is using 112litres n 2 in 1 when doing drying is not 100% dry. Lastly no matter wat product u buy as long i 2 in 1, one spoilt all spoilt.

HI Swift, thank you for the tips, somehow i do also think that HN has better deals. I've heard about the EWF 1084 model, didnt mind considering, was just wondering what is the difference between this with EWF 1090?

I didnt know there is a new model of EWF 1098, its even going slightly cheaper that EWF 1090, in every sense it seems better than EWF 1090 esp with the extra feature.

Any comments on how good/bad or which is better for dryer on the above?

Between the Electrolux made in thailand machines and the new Brandt 1018 made in Spain, which is a better consideration?

Hi Swift, thks for ur advise. Hubby likes washer cum dryer leh, buy separate don't have space. LG washer cum dryer WD-14331. Is this 1 that PSB or PUB approved?? Shd I trust korea brand or europe brand? Tel me the difference. HN, gain city, best denki, courts who is the bloodsucker??

Nik,

It depends on what your feeling are towards a machine.....

Are you going for the production of the machine or are you going for the Branding or are you going for the specifications??

Specs for Specs..... I would give the Brandt Machine a FULL THUMBS up......

However, if going for Branding, I would give the Electrolux washer another FULL THUMBS UP.....

What are your initial consideration for a machine?? Then perhaps we can assist you in narrowing down your choices.

Karen,

The PUB application on water efficiency leaves much to be desired. I would suggest that you stay with the Eurpoean measurements as a sure gauge of what are the true specifications.

I would put it as at present HN would offer you a better deal then the rest of the DEPARTMENTAL STOREs as mention.

However, it really depends on whom you actually meet up with when you enter any of the departmental store. There are experiences whereby even HN pricings cant be compared to Courts pricing or Courts cant even tbe compared to Best and vice versa.

Do look for out for any special deals ongoing. I would suggest you to try out AUDIO HOUSE at this point in time. They are doing a major clearance sales and their prices are around 7-12% off the retail pricing. However, if you are a smart shopper, then you might want to try going to another store armed with a certain store pricing and see if they can match or better the price given. I am sure all sales staff would cater to our needs.

Hi All, after long search and many advises from all of you (especially from twt & ridz, THANKS!!), I had just confirm with HN Hougang on Electrolux EWF1084.

Rason for my choice is simple, BCOS HN got special offer over the weekend at $888! Ha ha ha, so this make my choice between thi & Bosch WAE20260sg as its a almost $200 diff.

Hopefully it will serve me well...

A big thanks to all!

TWT,

THanks for the assurance. I somehow felt that some of the clothes were loser. I normally use the 45 mins wash with 600 rpm. Do you know what then would the temp be?

HI Nik... as wat twt said is right. As EWF-1084 n EWF-1090 the different is oni that EWF-1090 got Jet spray function which spray directly to yr clothings to give u a superior wash n is 8kg load which EWF-1084 is 7kg loh. For me doesn't mean that u purchase a original import made washer will last u for many years. It's also depends on how u maintain n use the machine, btw it's oso depends on LUCK! hehe

Nik... pricing which i saw at HN,
1. Brandt EFE310K, 8Kg retailing @ $799
2. ETE 6110K dryver, 5Kg @ $699
3. Electrolux EDE 57160W, 7Kg @ $749

Emmm...Brandt is made in FRANCE n Electrolux is made in POLAND. Electrolux if i not wrong is the oni brand which got Double lint filter.

Hi karen... buying separte wise is u stack up the dryer on top on the washer loh. Save space, save energy n save lot of jobs... This is wat we everyone WANTS. When u buying a washer n dryer yr 1st main point is mostly save time n energy.

Hi Tckrto.. Is u leh... i from SC haha.. U Guess who am i loh... Btw ELECTROLUX dryer for this model EDE-57160W is made in POLAND oni the Washers r made in thailand... hehe

don wan guess lah. hks either those usual grp or maybe someone i know lor.

oic dryer make in poland ah? ok ok, but make in where doesn't matter, What matter most is can it last or not. hehe.

HI Swift and Twt,

I'm actually going for the functionality machine. My HTB and myself actually prefer Brandt. After reading some recommendation and information, it seems to have good quality and a series of specs that is useful...

Basically, the usage is for 2 pax, and kings size bedsheet, comforter, towels and rugs... the typical stuff...

My main consideration are:
1. machine that last and realiable for relatively long time.
2. Have a quick wash function that washes efficiently
3. Have a good hand wash / delicate wash function that wash efficiently.

Of course not to forget the 1000rpm is the most basic requirement

In this modern time, i know there are NO BAD washing machine which makes it also challenging to choose the correct machine for myself.

All along i've shortlisted my washer and dryer to be Brandt and Electrolux, and its a tough choice between the two,,, Honestly i was not aware that Electrolux has a stronger branding, i know its more common though...

Even within the same brand, among different models, there are additional features like jet spray, and anti-bacteria function, if price difference aint that great, i really dont mind considering... was only wondering eg: Does jet spray really help to clean the clothes better???
Is it necessary? etc

The only concern i have now is that seeing Twt's comment about the Brandt 1018A made in spain, there dont seem to be "good" comments about the production cty... thus again looking into Electrolux.

As for dryer, i really have no idea which one to buy... cos there dont seem to have much comments / information on which dryer is better / more functions...

Sorry for being such a nag here... probably u guys are already shaking ur head and thinking that i'm clueless about what i want in the machines (washer and dryer)....

Hi NIk... It's okie lah. As for wat u wan juz go ahead loh, Or maybe u let me know u stayed arnd where. i intro u the best place that got the good salesman to explain to u better btw the differences of two machines. IF prices concern u let PM me... Juz to help u.. hehe

Hi Nik Nik,
I know you're seeking expert advise from others, but I can't help just being a 'bystander'. I may not be expert like them who seems very familiar with the specification of certain brands but I've been using laundry machines for about 20 years (oops! I'm not that old) including laundrymat days.

I totally agree with you that reliability should be the main consideration when choosing a machine as I share the same view as you do. The rest is your personal needs - be it quick wash or hand wash etc.

I stick to my Turbo washer (just bought a new one recently) because the old one served me well for past 8 years.

Their machines have quick wash (35 min), hand wash, delicate wash (which are all common, as some say, but meet your needs) AND wool wash, which got some kind of Woolmark certification, or whatever you call it. In fact,if the reason you are looking for quick wash is you don't want to wait long long for the wash to complete after a long day at work, you can choose machines with 'delay start' so that you can programme it to complete just before you come home from work as that's what I do sometimes. Don't even have to wait 35 or 45 mins for the quick wash. The following MAY meet your basic need.

http://www.happiness.com.sg/main/product/ProductDetails.asp?ProductId=TW610

It is made in Italy which I understand that Italy is well known as one of the pioneers in manufacturing white goods.

Electrolux and Brandt etc may have stronger branding but you have to decide what you want. I'm sure many machines last a long time too, that's why they're in the market for so long.

Hey Baby K,

Thank you for the advice, and think i'm more enlightened... heheheheheh guess will do a "mini mani mo" game tonight

Swift,
I live around Great World City area, so yes i'm more than glad to know who can explain to me the differences of the machines...

just wan to check

can 7kg washing machine wash KING size quilt cover,king size bed sheet, 2 pillow case and 1 bolster case