WASHING MACHINE-which brand is good?

ryvy

Hi Ridz,

Can i check with you how about electrolux EWF1087? And compare to EWF887?

And how about EWF1090?

ridhwan82

i forgot about the difference of 1087.. its similar to 1080. its a 7kg washer i think but has higher spin speed or something. i check and get back to you,

for 1090 this machine is a 8kg washer with a 1000rpm. so this is better in that sense as its a 8kg washer.

ridhwan82

hey people,

Miele brought in limited edition machines.

Which DOES NOT FEATURE the HONEYCOMB.. the normal holes machine...

5kg washer with 1400rpm + a 6kg condenser dryer

both of which are not with honeycomb.. going at a special price of $3380!!

Good buy!!! serious im not kidding.

yukie

Hi Ridz,

I'm looking @ this Panasonic http://www.panasonic.com.sg/web/Pid/859 and http://www.panasonic.com.sg/web/Pid/860

Can't decide on which to get. It will be for a family of 3 n bedsheet/Quilt cover will b sent to laundry. Was thinking the wan wif dryer will b gd on long rainy days...

jj_autumn

Hello Ridz,

I was thinking of getting the Panasonic washer cum dryer in order to save space. I know that it's being withdrawn from some of the stores here, but Courts are still carrying this model.

I read about the pros & cons of having a *combo* set compared to having individual washer and dryer. I've also read about the various comments on Miele, Borsch, Brandt, Thomson and Electrolux, but I've yet to arrive at a decision... why? Because there're too many brands to choose! Budget is not an issue though. My current machine is a Toshiba
AW-D100SMS - top loader.

My concerns:
1. Energy & water saving
2. Auto detect how much detergent to put in
3. Auto detects how much water to use
4. Silent washing
5. At least 8 Kg capacity
6. Front or Top Loader -- not particular

Please advise/recommend. Thanks.

ridhwan82

hi yukie,

well i am not too sure about others but i am not too fond at looking at their machine. i would say that its on a high side given their consumption data.

for that price i can get a similar continental washer that is more efficient.

and as for the ione with the dryer. as with other washer cum dryer, it is able to wash full load but dry only half the load at any time and that you would have to do 3 full cycle to settle just a single load of washing.

and moreover i am not too sure about the price of the washer dryer but if my memory doesnt fail me.

you could get a seperater washer and dryer at that price too. namely

electrolux washer 7kg EW887 which is a 7kg washer with rpm of 850rpm for aroun 900+ and auto sensing dryer e;ectrolux also arouns 699.

so you weigh whihc one if to your favour. id opt for electrolux.

ridhwan82

josie,

well since you have placed it upfront that budget is not a problem.then go for the best then.

MIele. But thier washers are only up to 6kg only.
and the washer itself is around 3k+ while their dryer also 6kg capacity is around 3k.

that to me would be the ultimate package. though they have an even higher end each dryer and each washer retailing at around 4k-5k EACH.

if you are looking strictly for 8kg washer. again with no budget then you might want to go for bosch which is my second choice. they have this 8kg washer.. i think even 9kg .. front load.

but their dryers so far that ive seen is 6kg but i guess the drum is big enough for 8kg but 9kg not too sure.

bosch 8kg / 9kg washer i think retails at around 1900+ or so and the 6kg dryer.. is around 1600+

next up would be electrolux.
9kg washer EW1090 this is 8kg washer and ther dryer of EDe429 which retails around 699 auto sensing.

now really depends on what you want? to go really up the tier to moderate or basic prices.

all these are in the front load category.

quality would be would be miele tops with bosch and then electrolux.

i would love to recommend you AEG which is as excellent if not better than bosch. but the parts might be difficult to get as its important in. unlike miele which has its representitives here

jj_autumn

Hi Ridz,

Thank you so much for the very detailed explanation of the various types of washer/dryer. I think I'd be able to size it down to just concentrating on Bosch & Electrolux based on your recommendations. I think my issue here is the capacity rather than the price tag... Miele seems to be highly regarded but I think it'd be great if they've a higher capacity to offer. Well, a galfriend recommended the Electrolux; she sang praises of it so much that I thought she was doing *side-line* for the brand!!;-)

Can you advise whether the Bosch is auto-sensing in both these areas: water & detergent? Currently, my Toshiba machine (made in Japan) has all the auto features but these days, I'd noted that those machines (Japanese names) are being outsourced and being made in Thailand, Vietnam, etc so I've lost my interest in them together with the Korean made machines. Thanks again.

ridhwan82

hi josie

I see that capacity is your main deciding factor. well yeah bosch has the 9kg washer but do bear in mind that currently in the market there is no 9klg dryer to complement it and you might have to do your drying in 2 seperate cycles hence my previous recommendation on miele 6kg washer and dryer.

About outsourcing. im afraid most continental washers are going into that same trend with the exception of thomson top loaders and also miele front loaders.

the rest like bosch are no longer made in germany like it used to and electrolux are no longer made in sweden either. they are made in thailand.

i would say that most continental washers are auto sensing in terms of the water level and some models even feature wash action modification according to the load etc.

In some high end models even offer options of automatic sud monitoring where if there is still soap it will continue to add rinse of adjust the rinse cycle to remove all the suds before proceeding to do the final spin.

and on the high end models of miele (costs about 4k+) it even weigh the load that you placed in the drum and will tell you how much detergent to put before you start the cycle.

this is the bosch specifications as promised.

http://www.boschappliances.com.au/content.asp?document_id=194

9kg wash load capacity
600, 700, 800, 900, 1000, 1100 and 1200rpm with rinse hold
Wash program selected on LC Display and push buttons
Full electronic control
24-hour time delay
Child lock
Function buttons include:
- Start
- Menu
- Extra rinse
- Easy iron
- Pause button
Large inclined 88 litres drum with asymmetrical paddle for better movement and washing efficiency
Aqua-Secureâ„¢ inlet protection
3D Aquaspa scoop, shower and porthole system for faster soaking
Quiet brushless ASM motor
Audible sound buzzer volume selector
Multi-language display choice (17)
Large 41cm porthole and 180° opening door for easy loading and unloading
Top front panel design for ergonomic usage
New removable detergent compartment
Consumption rates (Cotton 40°C intensive, 1200rpm)
Electricity: 0.90kWh
Water: 93 litres
Time: 120 minutes

and as you can see and have known about continental washers they do take a considerable amount of time to wash typically around 1h30 mins for an average load for the clothes to be optimally clean.

This bosch model retailss at 2699. which to me is not that worth to get.

for electrolux the machine that is meeting your requirement would be the 8kg EW1090

http://www.electrolux.com.sg/node39.asp?ProdId=34642

Range Type: Front Load Washer

Colour: White

Washing Capacity (kg): 8

Max Spin Speed (rpm): 1000 (Adjustable)

Thermostat: Adjustable

Washing System: Jet + Direct Spray

Active Magic Ball: Nil

Active Water Level Control: Yes

Active Rinse Sensor: Yes

Active Balanced Control: Yes

Active Humidity Control: Nil

Easy 2-Step Operation: Yes

Cycle Phase Indicator: Yes

LCD Display Panel: Yes

No Of Programmes: Flexible Programming

Push Buttons: 8

Quick Cycle: Yes

Hand Wash: Yes

Heavy Stains/Intensive: Nil

Extra Rinse: Yes

Economy Cycle: Yes

Delay Start: Yes

Cabinet Rust Protection: Zinc Coated

Stainless Steel Drum: Yes

Carboran Tub: Yes

Child Safety Lock: Yes

Dimensions (WxHxD)(mm): 600 x 850 x 600

Total Power (W): 2200

Power Consumption (Cold Wash) (W): 300

Water Consumption (L): 60

This retails at 1429.

This has a matching dryer.

EDE429

http://www.electrolux.com.sg/node39.asp?ProdId=30869

Range Type: Tumble Dryer

Colour: White

Drying Capacity (kg): 5

Drying System: Exhaust

Timer: Electronic Drying Sensor

Reverse Tumbling Action: Yes

Easy 2-Step Operation: Yes

Cycle Phase Indicator: Yes

Push Buttons: 4

Cooling Phase: Yes

Anti Crease Phase: Yes

Cabinet Rust Protection: Zinc Coated

Door: Square

Stainless Steel Drum: Yes

Venting Kit: Yes

Weight (kg): 31

Dimensions (WxHxD)(mm): 600 x 850 x 580

Total Power (W): 2200

Noise Level dB(A): 64

This can work in tandem with the 8kg washer. ive confirmed with electrolux SEA, though its posted capacity of 5kg. read my earlier post for details

Retails at 729

jj_autumn

Hi Ridz,

Thank you for the very valuable advice, and checking up the specs on the various models. OK, I'll size down my searching to just Electrolux, but I'll go and have a look at Miele as well... perhaps, it might capture my heart!;)

FYI, my current Toshiba machine can also assess the load of laundry that I'd put into the drum and a figure will lit up on the display panel to show the amount of detergent that I should pour in... and I think this particular model costs close to $1K at that point of purchase.

FYI, I'd be moving to a new place, and there're a whole lot of stuffs to be done ! Thanks again.. I really appreciate that you'd save one portion of my headache!

ridhwan82

hi josie,

yup go and have a look at electrolux. they are found in most super stores. While miele is best that you visit their showroom.

Once you visit thier showroom it probably will swing your views and might consider for miele. Its built for exceptional high quality that anything else is a compromise.

I see... not a problem i am glad that i am able to assist.

Hob> Hood? Oven? refridgerator? you need some assistance in these items?

Do let me know yeah?

Oh miele also has built in oven hob and hood.while you are at the showroom you can check them out.

their showroom is at Winsland House. Which is near this irish pub.

Showroom
Miele Pte Ltd
167 Penang Road
Winsland House II - #B01-01
Singapore 238462
Tel.: (+65) 6738 6286
Fax: (+65) 6738 7648
Opening hours:
Mon to Fri 10:00am to 7:00pm
Sat 11:00am to 6:00pm
Sun & PH closed

jj_autumn

Hi Ridz,

One quick question -- What is the biggest capacity can I expect to get from a Thomson washing machine and its dryer? I'm trying to compare it against Electrolux. Doesn't matter much to me regardless TOP or Side! Thanks.

jj_autumn

Hi Ridz,

Thanks for your prompt response. My sis-in-law has recommended Thomson, mainly because she'd been using just this brand for a long long time. As I'd never use Electrolux or Thomson brand of washine machines before; would you recommend Thomson over Electrolux? I know that anytime, you'd put Miele above anything else though!;-)

ridhwan82

hi josie,

well yes my first preference would go to miele.

then the next one depends a lot actually.

For front loader as much as i would say i would go for electrolux. as they are more known in the front loading category.

While thomson is known for its top load machine.

so if its top load continental wash type its thomson cos i too am using thomson for many many many years 20 + years liao and its definitely a worth buy.

but pricey.

whereas for front loaders its first miele then electrolux.

but if i was given a serious choice..i would still take thomson front load. as i am brand patriotic.

The reason for electrolux being a better choice is that their reliability is really good for front load. whereas thomson realiability is really solid for top load and its only recently that thye are introducing the front load so its approaching with a bit of caution. cos reliability not established.

but in the later statement yes i will stil go and buy thomson if given to choose without budget...over electrolux as i seem to trust thomson after it has served me very well for past 20 years plus.

thomson front load.
http://www.rinaelectrical.com.sg/product_tpl_desc.asp?pId=505

retails i think around 1.6k++
60 cm
• White
• 7kg /57 L Drum
• Electronic LCD Display
• Variable Spin Speed: No Spin, 400 - 1400
• Silence: 52 dbA
• Temperature: Cold / 30 / 40 / 60 /90°C
• 18 Programs
• Express 30 / Rinse Plus / Intensive / Prewash/ Handwash / Rinsehaid / Skip Spin
• Cotton / Colours /Synthetics / Delicates Silk / Wool Programmes
• Easy Ironing / Aquascade / Mode E
• Delay Finish up tp 24 hours
• Automatic Variable Capacity
• Child Safety / Door Lock / Conrol Panel Lock
• Net Diamension (cm): H85 x W59.8 x D59.5
• 2350W / 230V / 5OHz
• Energy Consumption: (cotton 7kg at 60°C): 1.02kwh / 49L / 115 mins

and the matching dryer i dun have the specs online
but i can tell you its about 1.38k 7kg, auto sensing and its condenser type dryer not air vented.

same colour this silver greyish.nice.

krissting

Hi all! I'm new here, hope someone can help me with some problems in choosing some appliances for my new home? I need a Tv( which my hubby will settle) and a washer/dryer. After reading some reviews and feedback from friends, is Miele really the best brand?
I just visited Best denki Taka over the weekend and I saw that miele has a promotion for a washer/dryer set for a limited time @$3380.(End of june), was informed by the sales guy. My friend bought a washer last yr for $3k plus, so I gathered this offer is quite a steal?? since it comes as a package..
Does anyone know about this offer?and any reviews on it? Its a 5kg washer,w1514 and 6kg dryerT7764, if I'm not wrong..The friend staff there told me its front panel is scratch-proof and silent at 1400rpm, which is quite unbelievable.. However,the staff also this is not the honey-comb drum model hence the promotional price.. However, he assured me this particular offer is still better than the rest of the brands in the market.. Any advice on this?

I'm sorry for being confused, because 2 days later, I dropped by at harvey and the staff told me no point spending so much money on a brand name and suggested brandt as it is also made in europe!!

ridhwan82

well yes miele is definitely good. its reliability is really establisheda dn that i would too have gone for the miele if not for that i just change my old thomson to a new thomson just 3 months ago and also the fact that i dun have space for the machines.

ive been using thomson top loads over 20 years and hence when i redid my kitchen i always allocate space for thomson using specs of thomson which is very slim hence i dun ahve space.

of course thats a real steal considering that its miele. also yes what the person say is true this is a limited edition becacuse its not using the honeycomb. but quality wise is really fantastic.

What do you mean by unbelivable? the scratch proof? oh then you must really take a coin and try to scatch the front side. you can go to their showroom (*which they do not have the discplay for the limited edition but the normal ones they have) and then scratch. they would be gladly to allow and assist yo with the test.

and yes its very silent even when spinning at 1400 and one thing you will also notice is the very minial vibration that the machine will have even when spining at 1400 full load as miele machines are supported by cast iron supports.

but this model only the front panel (the higher end models features full body vitrous enamel) is made from the vitrous enamel to protect it from scratching. this direct vitrous enamel is guaranteed to not yellow through the life of the machine.

and please do not be bothered by that staff at harvey they are always like that. you can view the same machines that are on offer but has the honeycomb at winsland house and i tell yo its really reassuring! dun trust those at harvey if you have been reading my posts.

brandt is made in europe but its turkey which is also europe while miele is fully made in GERMANY.. and yo know german quality is top notch.

it is a really good buy. i want to get it too.. im still working on the layout of the kitchen to see where i can place the miele before time runs out. and if i can get to sell away my new thomson tx938 then that would be a reality haha..

its my dream to own a miele.. seriously at 3380 worth the buy!

http://www.miele.de/de/haushalt/unternehmen/4370.htm

the vidoe clips are in german but they show you the testing of the machine.

children sittin on the porthole door.. and it doesnt break unlike other like electrolux you press a bit on the porthole door and its like going to break..

there is a salt water spray test to see if it corodes.

there is a slam door and open and contineu to slam continuously. (do note though that miele though are designed to close with a gentle swing) most other machine say gently close the door.. this miele is gently swing to close. attest to their quality and solidly built.

and last year they just completed a reliability test. they tested the dryer and washer to wash or dry continuously with full load at 60 degrees cotton continuously for 5200 hours without stopping (to simulate usage of 10 years at 5 times a week ) and the dryer also non stop) and not once the machine broke down. and that time it was telecast live on the web where people can watch at any time of the day how the test is progressing.

so give it a thought.
here are the specs of the machine and dryer should you want to read further.

washer

http://www.miele.co.uk/products/Features.aspx?pid=94

dryer
http://www.miele.co.uk/products/Features.aspx?pid=109

so there you go and even the manual is there also you can have a look at the data and specs.

Miele is indeed forever better.. anything else is a compromise.

ridhwan82

oh yeah one more thing..

if ytou are looking at televisions. really good ones is LOEWE. you can find this one at plaza singapura, millenia walk.

This is a great german made television but price wise wow wiee also fantastic.
i have the tube tv and its quAlity i tell you can even beat lcd and plasma. But they are bringing in their lcd which are really awesome and with the GSS their sale is even madness..

http://www.atlas-hifi.com/loewe.htm

xlan

any comments on Toshiba Fridge, model GR-M66SDA.. nett cap a 600L.. has auto ice maker.. n price jus a 1.1k.. so I'm seriously tinking abt tis.. is it a gd buy?

jj_autumn

Ridz,

What difference does it makes between the smooth drum and the Honeycomb drums in Miele washing machines/dryers? The promotional price looks good, but at 5 kg; I may have to do my laundry twice in a day!? I'll go to their main showroom next week.

jj_autumn

Ridz,

Do you've any comments on this fridge: I'm in the midst of a decision-making to put down the full payment. Mitsubishi Folio MR-W55J. One more thing on TV -- would you advise to go for Plasma or LCD. Currently, I owned a Hitachi Plasma, and I'm wondering whether I should go for an LCD.

cutie_gal

Ridz,

Can ask u for opinions?
Deciding between Panasonic Aquabeat NA-F70G5LRQ & Toshiba AW-8560SS?
Which is better?
Hope to hear from u soon, as I hv to confirm my purchases soon.
Thxs

ridhwan82

hi josie,

well for the smooth drum in the dryer vs honeycomb, the difference is in the quality of drying and also its a bit gentler to the clothes.

The revolutionary HoneycombTM drum represents Miele's latest advancement in at-home fabric care. Among the many benefits in this quantum leap of technology include:
Even better washing results
Considerably lower water consumption and
A longer life span of your clothing given its gentle handling of garments

http://www.miele.com/usa/laundry/about_miele_laundry.asp?cat=4&page=3

What Does This Mean to You and Your Family?
By reducing the size and number of water exit holes, there is virtually no chance your clothes will be damaged from snags against the steel holes.

As demonstrated in the images to the right, the top right picture shows a terry cloth bath towel at high spin speed actually penetrating the water exit holes of the washing drum.

When this happens, over time, the fabric will begin to develop pilling. This wears down the integrity of the material.

http://www.miele.com/usa/laundry/about_miele_laundry.asp?cat=4&page=13

this is the dryer benefits of honeycomb

The Revolution Continues
In addition to our washing machines, Miele provides tumble dryers with the groundbreaking, patented HoneycombTM drum.

Compared with the HoneycombTM drum in the washing machine, where the hexagons point inward, the special feature in the tumble dryers is that the hexagons point outward.

This unique-dzesign-creates ingenious "air cushions." These pockets of air ensure the gentle movement of laundry and the reduction of contact friction with the stainless drum.

Simply stated: the HoneycombTM drum guarantees even drying results, while minimizing creasing and needless wear of your garments

http://www.miele.com/usa/laundry/about_miele_laundry.asp?cat=4&page=5

well seriously i think washing 2 times should not be the main concern.

It would be what is the single biggest item piece that yuo have to fit into the machine.

I have a 5 kg thomson washer and do my laundry like 3 times a day with 3 times drying as well. not a problem.

but its the quality of the wash that im more concerned.

so this miele promotion to me is really fantastic. i wish i could take it up. and oh its while stock laasts

applefreak

erm... thought thomson is front load?
the drum is front load mah, just that the loading is from the top so allow for it's slim size...
difference for top load and front load machines is in the drum, not where you put clothes
i.e. if the drum spins like a car wheel it's front load but if spin like whirl-pool then it's top load when you looking from top of machine.

why front load is better because you use less water and the motion is gentler on clothes. no point going for anything higher than 1000rpm coz your clothes will spoil real fast, and only useful if the clothes are super dirty like construction worker or mud-wrestler :p

find that thomson washers are worth the money but only con is can only use persil washing powder, any other brand will spoil the machine. heard that brandt bought over thomson or thomson bought over brandt so basically any model thomson has, brandt will have.

ridhwan82

hi josie for the fridge i would think its alright by looking at the specs. though the energy labelling its not in the database but i guess its okie too.

I havent seen the model in real life and haven seen the shelves is it made of plastic or safety glass.. so i cant say much

ridhwan82

hi apple freak.

i think you are confused yourself.

let me clarify to all again.

There are names front load and top load refers to where the doors are.

And the name continental wash vs asian wash refers to how the drum is positioned.
Continental style washing is the one where tis like wheel spinning while asian wash is those that spin honrizontally.

So we can have a Top Loader with Asian washing style which is like those of fisher paykel, sharp toshiba

Or we could have a Top Loader With CONTINENTAL waching types which is like thomson, bosch.

We also could havbe Front loader with continental washgin style that is like also thomson, electrolux, bosch and miele.

Hence my reference to thomson washer that is have is that of the top loader with continental style wash.

not really true that your clothes will spoil real fast. If you sort out and if the drum is those of miele type of honeycomb the clothes wun spoil that easily.

miele has even up to 1800rpm.

not true that thomson must only use persil. the condition of use for all CONTINENTAL WASH STYLE is that you must use LOW SUDS detergent.

And one of the more popular LOW SUDS detergent is Persil. There is also Spin and even FAB has low suds version. Just that its recommended to use persil.

Yes brandt bought over thomson, Anbd then fagor bought over the group hence now known as FagorBranddt.

But not truethat whaever thomson has brandt will have.

If you look at the wash customisation controls, thomson you can get more customisation. comparing model in increasing order, spin speeds for thomson is alwasy higher than that of brandt.

plus some features will always be available as added feature over brandt like the higher model thomson vs highers model for brandt.

Thomson has stretch and dark colours which brandt doesn have and also thomson spin spees is 1100 while brandt is 1000. and thomson has full lcd display while brandt has only delayand remaining time display only.

so yeah you are paying premium for premium features. Thomson is fully AVC automatic variable control while bradnt senses laods in 4 steps for both water and washing actions.

Do take a look. brandt will still stand as the generalist looking to put in value for money features at value for money prices. while thomson will stand at a premium for those who want premium functions.

ridhwan82

hi josie,

well for Plasma Vs LCD this is indeed subjective as what i see may not be what you see.. but plasma is indeed a bit warmer in operation and can display more natural spectrum of colours.

But the gap is also narrowing. While plasma is prone to this burns they have technology diagnostic to counter the burn.

And Lcd consumes lesser electricity but plasma is now closing the gap.

display and colours wise lcs lose out to naturalnessof plasma but lcs is catching up.

and also in terms of viewing angles. plasma is really wider than lcd but lcd viewing angles is also increasing to that to compete iwth plasma

so its a tough fight. you gotta really think thry, but i would take the LCD of LOEWE the individual series anytime and customise it.

though price tag realy not the faint of heart.

jj_autumn

Ridz,

Sorry that I'm a little confused with your explanation on Miele washing machine. If I understand your message correctly - the Honeycomb drum is a better choice. If that's the case, why would I be excited to take up the promotional offer which I understand does not come with a Honeycomb drum, or am I missing something here?!

Okie, I'll go on checking up on the Plasma vs LCD!

For the Mitsubishi fridge; I can't recall if the shelves are made of plastic. Would that be an issue if it was? I think it's supposed to be an Energy Efficient fridge. I'm going for it basically because of its size, the overall appearance from outside, and most important - the layout inside the fridge looks good compared to some boring layout in other fridges. I think it must be designed by a woman!;-)

ridhwan82

hi josie,

well you are correct in that sense that Miele washers with the Honeycomb is much better but it comes with at a higher price than that of miele with the smooth or normal microhole drum.

So those who are on a tight budget but want exceptional buiild quality of a washer would go for this washer on offer.

While those on a higher budget and want to indulge further and even better quality of washing then opt for the miele with honeycomb.

as for the plasma vs Lcd. yup. oh yeha most importantly try to look for tvs with more than 1 HDMI input cos the number of connections that you would need to have with HDMi input will grow and so with some companies with only 1 HDMI input say you use that input for you dvd player then you cannot connect any other device that can transmit Hdmi signal like for example the starhub Hi Def set top box. then it would pose a bit of a problem in the futuer. so must look for future proof features like these yeah?

well it would be best bet if its safety glass shelves as plastic shelves are not as strong and durable as safety glass..

plastic cannot withstand heavy weight. like you put a whole water melon you would probable see the plastic like warping so yeah or putting bottles of soda, etc.

again if you wish to indulge in good fridges there are brands like Lierbherr i forgot how to spell but yeah about like that i guess.

but they come again lah with a price.

applefreak

for the detergent part i'm very sure coz my brandt machine is spoilt due to a change of brand - a low suds one as well. the thomson delivery man told me that although the packaging states low suds, only persil is recommended by brandt/thomson coz it's truely low suds.

as for the top load/front load issue, i got this impression coz of something i saw at best denki - a diagram showing a front-load drum, a top-load drum and a slanted drum. nothing was mentioned about where to load the clothes though. so i had assumed that the front-load top-load thing refers to the way the drum spins

using your words, it is know that 'asia-wash style' spoils clothes more easily compared to 'continental-wash style' due to the way the drum spins.

as for rpm, it's just how fast the drum spins and that is for cleaning your clothes. if you dun do manual works and does not need extreme cleansing power, why pay so much for something you'd not use? my machine is only up to 900rpm but the highest i've gone is only 600rpm coz i'm a office worker. higher rpm means higher price.

btw, matsushita is recalling some products so if you are considering panasonic, might want to hold your horses

ridhwan82

hi apple freak

waah change of brand of low suds leading to spoil machine. first i heard. anyway for continental washer dun need to use a lot of the detergent. i only use like half the cup for 5kg wash.

as for RPM its for the spining and not the washing action

its after the wash and rinsing the machine will do a one final spin and that is the one that is affected bythe spin speed that you have selected.

Hence the higher the spin speed.. the drier your clothes will come out when its done after the final spin.

Better to spin it at 900 cos it will mean that more water is wringed out from the clothes and hence the drying time will also be shorter and to hang it out the clothes will be a bit lighter

applefreak

hehehe, didn't realise it until the delivery guy spotted the detergent i'm using. he was like 'you use that no wonder your machine spoil'

me using dryer so just spin it at 300 is good enough for me
dresses came out dry enough that i hang at night morning dry liao
can't use too high spin speed coz everything i also dump into the machine, including dry-wash only clothes :p

krissting

Hi guys! Thks Ridz for the detailed explanation.. Sorry I missed all the threads in the day.Went window shopping at taka best denki. The sales staff from miele, i think his name is alvin, there is really friendly and helpful, (with all my demanding questions and doubtful looks) I tried the scratching test with a key, yup it works!I guess I'm now truly convinced and will get the $3380 set next week. He is very honest in telling me that the price is partly because of the lack of honeycomb features, but after commensurating price with quality, I guess he is right! I am definitely not going to pay 7k for a honeycomb set, so I'll settle for the next best thing!!

One piece of advice if anybody wants to buy, (revealed by the friendly sales staff who served me) Its better to get at best denki cos of rebates points u can get with purchases using credit cards, interest free instalments etc... If i go showroom I wun get the rebates. Another point to note, the miele promoter told me its so comfy at the showroom I might just bust my budget and be coaxed to pay double for the higher end model! Haha..

Ridz, by the way how much is the loewe tv u mentioned? plasma? inches? I also want to get a vacuum cleaner!

jj_autumn

Hi Ridz,

Thanks again for your explicit explanation and advice. I've a long list of household stuffs to get, but I think these are some of the bulkier items that I'd need to settle in first. Hmmm... looks like I'd have to spent $10K on washing machine/dryer (if I choose Miele) and fridge only!

krissting

Anybody can also share their experiences with vacuums? I dyson really that good? I am quite allergic, so I was recommended the folllowing brands while at best denki;

Dyson, electrolux oxy3, Miele babycare.

Dyson is a bagless vacuum where the dust goes into a container. pros are saving on dust bag and i was informed they are the only brand with no lost of suction no matter how much u vacuum whereas with bagged vacuums, it loses suction once the dustbags are full. retail price $698- $898. But the cons are malaysian made. I was put off by that.

Electrolux oxy3 system. I like the fact they have a zero leakage system and the air is cleaner with their filtration system. Thje colour looks nice too. retailing $499.

Miele babycare. Of cos german made, and more durable. And their hepa filter has a charcoal to filtrate bad smells. I like the wat it moves and there is a sensor to detect dust mites. Cons, (I cant think of any cos this is divulged to me by the miele sales guy, so was afraid he might just be biased towards his brand).

Guys, any comments? thks..

ridhwan82

hi applefreak.

actually you can spoil your dryer if you just spin your clothes at 300rpm cos there is still too much water for it to remove and this will translate to very high consumption of electrric ity for the dryer so i would recommend ytou at least spin at 650 or higher where possible.

ridhwan82

hi kris ting.

dun say anything yet.. wait till they deliver the machien to you and you listen to it wash and you feel the wuality of the wash then you come asnd tell us whether is it really true.

i am already convinced.. you must go snd use it to believe it. seriously

well its true lah for me i would still go for the honeycomb actually its much gentler on clothes.

but then its true lah what you say can just get the smooth drum and micrhole. its still from the best maker.

yeah i only go for the showroom for them to demonstrate on how to use the items and what are some of the limitation etc...res i just go outside to buy.

but miele after sales also superb. they will help yo install and if you really dun have time ot read manual can ask one of their rep to come and teach yo how to use they would be glad to do so.

as for Loewe its really pricey i would say that thier LCD around 37 inches would set you back by at least 4200

so yeah. you can customise the side panels of the tv to i think a lot of choice and the inset you can choose fro 8 colours of so.. there are about i think 4 different option of stand. either hanging from above, the stand or on the tbale top or full size standiee type.

its highly customisable but each of these kits costs a bomb too.. but quality and the aesthetics is really great

http://www.loewe.de/individual_de,41807,53.html

watch the flash to see the different ways yo can customise it

if you really want to you can order the side panels to be studded with swarovski crystal...

http://www.loewe.de/edition_individual_viel_de,52176,53.html

there are only 1000 of such panels with swarovski to be released so its exquisite.

they have a lot of range of tv. this that i am talking about is the individual series.. you see it you will fall in love with it

ridhwan82

hi kris

i am a teacher... i am just interested in such things.. i pay attention to details as with other teachers hahaah...

oh well and oh yeah please get a place for the miele to rest permanently..

if you are stacking it especialy..

cos of its solid built just the washer alone is about 100kg and the dryer another 80kg so stacking it together can be tough to keep on moving about so have a nice resting place for it yeah....

nastrix

I went down to Mega Discount over the weekend to look for washer and dryer. I had Electrolux EW887 (washer)
Dryer EDE 429 in mind but when i was there the saleslady recommended me ELBA DR6388 & Dryer WF7100
with the fact that ELBA is still made in UK while the Eletrolux model that I requested are made in Thailand even
though they are distributor for Electrolux.

Anyone had experince knowledge on ELBA washer & dryer. I would like to get some feedback before i decide to take one. The pros & cons
compared to electrolux perhaps.

Btw, what to look for in Fridge, Hood & Hob? Any recommended brands for this 3 items.

nastrix

Loewe is a value for money. few weeks back i went to PS and drop by the shop (atlas). Damn i jus luv the bose speakers. Superb sounds system. One player with in-built amps, CDs with few hundreds song memory. With that system we can play dvd in one rm and the other rm can here to music or even radio. If only i have the BIG cash

cheekybee

Hi...can someone recommend me a good budget washing machine (top load, about 6.5-8kg) that cost below $500? Appreciate any feedback!! Thank you.

krissting

Loewe seems very wxpensive. i dun mind any samsung or sony actually, but I think my hubby might just splurge on the tv! For me, I dun mind splurging on washer though.

jj_autumn

Ridz... what do you think of this Bosch washine machine/dryer: WAE24460AU, a 7kg washer and WTE86300SK, a 6kg dryer which come up to a total of $3098. I went to see the Miele washing machine/dryer that was on promotion -- honestly, I'm not impressed with the grey thingy rubber ring at the opening of the washer - it looks kinda cheap, and the capacity for a 5Kg load is miserably small. The dryer looks OK though. I may just popped into their showroom this week to see their Honeycomb range. BTW, I thought the machine is scratch-proof but I saw a scratch mark on the washer itself! I touched the surface and it was a deep cut.

ridhwan82

hi Myk (nastrix)

i would not go for ELBA, its italian.. well they are not known for their reliability in the washing machine arena,
haha

hence i wuold suggest that you might consider back electrolux no matter waht people say.

i can tell you that a lot of people here can vouch for electrolux than anyone can vouch for Elba seriously

ridhwan82

well

for loewe its not value for money. value for money would be that of samsung. offering solid specs at reasonable price

LOEWE on the other hand its high quality combined with designer finish money.

yes bose systems are fantastic and they having tie ups with those buying bose systems can get a lot of discounts of up to 2000+ off the loewe tv if you purchase together. so yeah might want to check out.

they have branches all over like J8, plaza sing but i think for range its over at Plaza or millenia walk (flagship)