WASHING MACHINE-which brand is good?

ridhwan82

hi fun wong,

Well any washers typically the higher the spin speed the drier will your clothes come out.

And this works to your advantage if you have a dryer, as you would want the clothes that comes out of the washer to have lesser residual moisture left for the dryer to remove.

the higher the spin speed, the lesser the residual moisture hence lesser time is needed to dry the clothes which translates to consuming less electricity for the dryer . Which of the twoi (washer and dryer) the dryer consumes a lot of electricity sometimes up to 3.25kwh just to perform a drying cycle.

But there are some drawback on using the higher spin speed. Not all clothes can tolerate such high spin speeds. usually cottons are able to tolerate but this would also mean that they would crease (crumple) more than usual when it comes out of the drier.

Hence if your load is mostly synthetic then the highest spin speed recommended would be 900 and for say silk or wool maximum recommended would be 600.

So unless you are really having a lot of cotton clothings to wash then a 1000 rpm would be sufficient. though i would prefer to have a higher rpm just in case. but definitely a higher rpm would cost more.

sometimes just a difference of 100 rpm can set the price difference of about 100dollars.

but there are some machines that have the anti crease cycle. what these cycles means is that it will spin at the recommended spin speed of that particular type of wash then at the last 2 mins or so will do a quick spin. long enough to spin out more of the moisture but short enough so that the creasing does not form.

so keep a look out yeah

ridhwan82

oh evon,

Just a note that this 938 does not come with the OptiA45 which is the quick wash for full Load at 40 degrees in about 45 mins.

The 908, 918 and 928 has.

the only thing that sets this 938 apart from them is the Stretch function and also the Opti Rinse. which the rest does not have and also its spin speed is at 1100rpm

funwong

hi ridz,

Thanks for the info especially the explanation on anti crease cycle.

the price difference is almost $200 so in a dilemma whether worth getting the 1200rpm.

been using a top loader (TX788) hence likely bosch would be my 1st front loader.

evlee

Hi ridz,

thanks for sharing

Just for clarification- Can I put it this way that I can't opt for a shorter cycle (TX938) if I dun hv a full load (coz only 2 of us)?

ridhwan82

Well evon,

Depending on how soiled the clothes are.

If the clothes are very lightly soiled you can fill up the drum with half load and use the flash 30'.

This is the only cycle for only half a load and lightly soiled in around 30 mins

If you have not so heavily soiled clothes and the drum is about three quarters full then you can opt to use the synthetic cycle at 30 or 40 degrees. it is a tad shorter than the cotton cycle.

evlee

Hi Ridz,

thanks for enlighting me
Guess I will go to the Sales office on Mon to take a look on the washing machine and induction hob too.

ridhwan82

they are great for low usage.

Pros
two in one macine. saves space.

Cons.
wash full laod but can only dry half load at one time. so meaning to say have to run 3 full load 1full load wash and 2 half load drying.

also the retail cost can get pretty high with some machines. which you could be better off buying seperate dryer and washer

and the runnig cost is high for the drying part, not as efficient as standalone dryer.

and from my experience. they tended not to last as long as seperate standalone counterparts.

just my two cents worth

bucherer

Anyone has comments on Hitachi washers. Does it last long ? Thanks.

Interested in this :

10.0kg Automatic Washing Machine with Detergent Maximiser, Air Jet Dry and Nano Titanium Air Inlet Filter
Highlights
Detergent Maximizer
Super Clean Wash
Nano Titanium Air Inlet Filter
Air Jet Dry
Antibacterial Dual Lint Filter
Super Jet Wave
Fuzzy Logic
Big & Wide Stainless Steel Tub
Transparent Window
900rpm Fast Spin Speed

http://www.hitachiconsumer.com/sg/products/proddetails.aspx?pid=1995&cid=635&tid=71

cutebarra

Hi, anyone has tried the Samsung brand of washers?

Came across the front load model B1245A.
6.5kg
Max. spin speed: 1200rpm
Silver Nano technology

As I read through this msg thread, found all the sharings were extremely useful. One interesting point is that the talk is mostly centric ard European brands. I see both Samsung and LG came in quite strongly with front load technology to compete against the European brands. Would really appreciate if someone can share their experiences with Asian brand front load models and are Asian models inferior as compared to the European? Sometimes, I'm just confused with so many diff opinions.

ridhwan82

hi JC,

well its not that i am biased but usually those using asian front load washer arent that exactly satisfied with their washer like i hae a fren of mine having this i cannot remember LG or samsung. he had to call their service team once is every other month due to some fault. its like a russian roulette where one fails after another.

so its your call. whether you want to take that risk and try the asian front load makers or stick the more known reliabile brands and serve you for very long.

of course it does come with a price tag.

Give it a thought. like me i have been using thomson and its thomson i will stick to. until the day i can afford to change to miele like one of our friends in this thread! how i envy him.

probably once they have stabilised in terms of their reliability maybe i would give it a try. but not now when my washing load is 3 full cycles a day. i cannot risk not having a maschine even for 1 day. thats for sure.

rinnie

Toshiba is good. Have seen my mum used two different ones since I was young. I myself bought a Toshiba for my new place too..

ryvy

I am considering to buy either Electrolux or Ariston Aqualtis? Saw here that Thomson washer is good. So can anyone advise which one is better?

If Thomson, which model is gd?

ridhwan82

for thomson are you looking at the top load models or the front load models.

Thomson are very known for their top load models. They only recently introduce front loads into their line of washers.

Which one is better. is very subjective.

Look at Top or front load?
Whats are the features you want?
What is the rpm that you wish to have?
What is the capacity of wash that you require?>
What is your budget?

PLease dun even consider aqualtis. I dunno but it seems that ariston washers arent known to be exactly reliable.

Top load continental washer. Thomson. models at least TX928 or TX938. But top loads are 5kg washers.

If you are loking at6kg top load there is TX888.

For front loads probably you may opt to look at elexttrolux or bosch. they are reliable. Brandt i also upcoming and of course there is thomson for front load but price tag is really high as with thomson's premium standing.

cutebarra

Thanks for the advice, ridz. I wun say you are biased. Seems like the European brands still get the thumbs up from most users. Nevertheless, I'm very supportive of Korean technology. Let me try it out and give everyone some feedback.

hi JC, I am sharing the same thoughts as u...
i saw a samsung front load (800rpm), $599+ how much does its cost for your 1200rpm?

but 88rps a bit slow though.

cutie_gal

First Timer in setting up a home and hence hope u gals can guide me.
My budget for a washing machine is ard $600-700, which brand & models to reco???
I will use the washing machine to wash bedsheet, etc, so wat load should I get.
Pls advise
Thxs a million

ridhwan82

hi cynthia tan,

well 800 rpm isnt exactly slow. However if you are thinking of getting a dryer then yes 800 is a little too low.

as i have mentioned in numerous of my posts that the higher the spin speed means the lesser the residual moisture there is on the clothes hence the lesser time the clothes will take to dry in the dryer which translates to energy saving while operating the dryer.

Else if you are looking at not using a dryer then 800 i would think its fine.

ridhwan82

hi ongfamy,

ooh its not all gals here heheh some are guy too *raises and waves hand*

well depends on your concern.

Do you want capacity?
Do you want continental wash?
Do you want hot wash?
What cycles do you want for the machine to have ( in this case have to evaluate your washing needs e.g. silk, wool, etc)

Have these questions answered then we shall see how it goes yeah.

Just by looking at your budget and what i can see your minimal requirement.

Fisher & Paykel GWC12 its a 7.5kg washer with 1000rpm but its asian washer uses typically around 150 litres of water for a normal regular wash and also consumes about 200 watss. Only cold wash, but if you have storage type water heater you can pipe in the warm water into the inlet (there is 2 inlets cold water inlet and hot water inlet) and the machine can help you mix the water. else if not then nope nope only cold wash.

Drawbacks it may be too rough for some fabric. ive heard of some consumers complaining about clothes getting torn.

Well smoe of the good point, big enough to wash queen size warm quilt, spin speed is good at 1000rpm, and also water consumption one of the lowest among asian washers and also that its generally quite reliable plus its cleaner i think cos of the agitator in the centre (though some consumers are avoiding it cos it seems like a eye sore to them something in the centre of the drum

hi ridz
thanks so much for your reply.
i am not intending to get dryer.
Our washing machine is used to wash bedsheets (king size) and once a year, curtains, that consist of onlly living room and master bed room curtains only - will consider buying new ones instead of washing.

My friend suggest 7kg (max) so that we only need to wash our clothes once a week.

wat do you think Ridz?

cutie_gal

Hi Ridz,

Capacity means wat??? Meaning the load? Me looking at washing my King size bedsheet/ quilt covers, curtains, sofa covers, etc... So wat cpacity is required? 6.5 or 7kg? As for material wise, mine is more to cotton, nylon types, nt much silk or wool stuff.

Reali sorry... I dun kn wat is mean by continental wash? N wat is hot wash used for?

Pls advise

hi ongfamy...
let me try to answers your questions..and someone correct me if I am wrong...

capacity means:
the weight of laundry items you are going to wash per load.

one load = one complete cycle of wasing

if u wan to wash quilt covers, or kingsize bedsheet, the safest is to get 7kg. cotton absorb water very well so your load will become heavier and if the capacity of washing machine is too low, the m/c will get damage due to overload.

continential wash:
those european brand like brandt, bosch...they are more expenisve.
cost for 6.5kg is about $900+

asian brands:
japan or korean..commonly seen is samsung and LG. cost about $500 for 6.5kg.

hotwash:
to kill of germs, clothes to be cleaner then normal temperature wash.
not all clothes can go for hot wash, refer to care labels.

vvn

uh-oh. i always thought the load is for 'dry' items. so i always try to have abt 5kg or more to wash in 1 load of my WM - it's max is 6.5kg by the way.

so i need to take the 'water' into account?

hmm...i think so long the clothes fill 3/4 of washing machine should be safe...that's what i think lar.

ridhwan82

hi ongfamy,

OKie capacity is like what cynthia has rightly posted as dry weight, The nett dry weight of the clothes when loading into the machine.

If you are looking at washing king sized quilt then ideally a 7kg washer and above is best bet.

For continental wash
What this means is that the drum is moving up and down.

while asian washer are those like sanyo you know where the move the clothes turning it round right and left.

Differences
Asian uses more water than continental. Asian uses 150 litres every wash approx while continetal uses sometimes less than 50 litres

Continental have a built in heater hence can use cold wash or warm of even hot wash while asian NO HOT OR WARM wash just Cold wash.

Continental gentler on clothes and cleaner as compared to asian wash which can get sometimes rough on things like silk and wool.

Continental on the other hand costs more than asian.

To charly well need to take water into consideration that depends. as long as you put in the right weight of dry clothes into the machine it should not cause for any worry.

here are some guidelines on how the material weight stands at.im talking about average okie not specific like big towel just average sized towels etc..

Bath Towel 700grams
shirts 120 grams
blouse 160 grams
skirt 250grams
1 pair of pants 450 grams
1 pair of jeans 600 grams
1 t shirt 125 grams
1 set pyjamas 400grams
tea towel 100 grams

Just a rough guide okie.

so a 5kg load can be made up of
2 bath towel
2 skirts
2blouses
1 skirt
1 pants
2 jeans
2 t shirts
2 sets PJ
1 tea towel

This is about 5kg load yeah

cutie_gal

Thxs for kind explanation on all the terms, nw I got a clear picture of wat u mean. Hee...
Does it mean tat all continental WM will hv this hot wash function? Wat other aspects do I hv ti take into consideration as well?
So little clothes make up 5kg alr? If tat is the case every wkend got to split to wash twice liao.

all front load m/c will have hot wash function.

i think if i have $, i will go ahead to buy continential m/c..now thinking should i try samsung front load?

samsung is asian - korean.
wat i mean is, if i got $, will will not hesistate to get contentinal.
but since i got budget constraint, i am consider samsung.
sorry if i confuse u.

ridhwan82

ongfamy,

well samsung is a korean brand but it does offer continental style washers if i am not wrong. So is LG. They are asian brands but then they are manufacturing continental style washing machines.

They are relatively cheaper than continental brand's continental washing style washers.

my budget is abt $600 if possible.
my needs..err washing of bedsheets (king size) as my biggest item.
as for curtains, will try to buy cheapest ones and discard them once a year. if not, can also machine wash them. my curtains consist on living and master bed room only.

ridz..any advise? i know u r an expert in this area...cos i been reading this thread and ur adivse carefully.

joanneloo

If budget is the most decisive factor, i would suggest LG over samsung. In fact, LG direct drive front load has very good reviews in Europe and is rank above italy's Ariston/Indesit. Unfortunately, this series cost about the same price as Bosch or Electrolux.

Try this website for reviews on Samsung B1245

http://www.ciao.co.uk/Reviews/SAMSUNG_B1245SGSX_Silver_6_0_load__6264008

my family of two pax does laundry only ONCE a week. And yes, i think 7kg load is just nice.

kenshare

Ridz
Are you still reading this thread?
I cannot get a Thomson now cos I cant stack the dryer on top if I want a top load.

I am now looking at either Electrolux and Bosch.Can you give me some help here?

ridhwan82

hi kenshare,

You can certainly place a top load washer side by side. thomson proofiles are relatively slim. Their washer is a mere 40cm wide and their dryer is 45 cm wide. then add another 5 cm for between the to then the width that ytuo need is something like around 90 cm wide. just 30 cm wider than the standard front load washer which is at 60cm wide.

anyway thomson has front load washer and front load dryer, However as with thomson machines.. their prices are rocketing high.

Thomson washer is around. 1.5k and their dryer (which is condenser dryer and come with matchin colour the greyish silver) retailing at around 1.38k

so yeah.

well shortlist some of your needs perhaps then we can look into details

1) waht is the capacity that you are lookin at?
2) What is the budget?
3) what is the rpm that you are looking for. Well if tou are using a dryer. a preferred spin speed of more than 850 minimum or 1000 is better
4) what features you would like to have as in what washing features you want? wool? etc/
5)prefernece to any brand?

kenshare

Hi Ridz
This is my constraint. The place where I want to place the washing machine has an allowance of only 62cm. Thus, I cannot place the machines side by side. The only way is to double stack them.
I went HN Millenia last week and the SA told me that Thomson is good for top load but not so in front load. Is that true?
He propose that since I need to Double stack, thus I should look at Bosch or Electrolux given that I am willing to pay the same amount for a Thomson.

To answer your questions:
1) I was looking at 5kg (initially Thomson); but now maybe a 5-6.5kg?
2) My budget for both is less than 2K.
3) Umh, need some help here. THis is the spin speed for??
4) No specific features. Just normal working clothing.
5) I heard that Electrolux takes up to 1.5 to 2hours to finish the laundry. While Bosch take about 1 hour. Would the electricity consumption be the same?

My top main concern is that the washer n dryer have to be energy saving. I am not too particular about the rest of the features. Having said that, I have now streamlined to Bosch n Electrolux. I don't mind older models. Maybe its a start?

lavendery

Seems like Thomson washing machine doesn't have their own website. I just placed order for a Thomson washing machine 6kg, TX888 at $1200, reason is becos i will buy a king size bed.

Is 6kg, enough for a king size bedsheet, two pillow cases, two bolsters etc? Can it also wash quilt?

ridhwan82

thomson has a french website but unless you can read french then forget about it.

Anyway for king sized bedsheet and pikkow cases should be alright. just that the quilt depends on the type of quilt and the size. usually i would say a king size (cool type) would be a bit squeezy but should be alright lah.

ridhwan82

hi kenshare,

i see your contraints. Well thomson is more known for their top load continental washers. As they are relatively new for the front load washer but that doesnt mena that they are not good. in fact from the specs it seems alright albeit it premium prices will shun customers away.

budget of below 2k is pretty easy, yuo can actually get a lot of choices just by choosing electrolux and bosch.

Okie let me clarify about the washes thingy. Yes these are what we call quick washes. and not the standard wash times.

Standard wash times are typically 1h30mins and above. its those short washes that will be around 1hour or so. and also there are super quick wash for half loads that only needs around 30mins.

You should not fret a lot about these timings.
The newer models for bosch do feature these short wash programmes but elexctrolux appparently is slow in picking up on the trend. But be aware that it is only suitable for those clothes requiring very little washing cos they are very very slighly soiled only. if soiled clothings would need the standard wash for the levle of cleanliness to be high.

electricity consumption should nto vary a lot maybe by just 150-200 watts difference. and also depends on temperature of wash. im presuming cold wash then the difference could be only by say 100 watts?

capacity wise you nbeed to look at what is the single biggest piece of item that you8 need to wash, tis would give you a good indicator of what size of the mahine to take.

I would think a 6.5kg would be enough for a family of 5 with regular wash patterns.

spin speed is for washing machine. if you are intending to buy a dryer then look for machine which feature something like 1000rpm it would help you save on the electricity usage for the dryer. The higher the spin speed. the lesser residual moisture there will be on the clothes means the lesser time the clothes take to dry in the dryer means lesser electricity.

For dryer try to look out for auto sensing dryers. these will autpmatically detect whether the clothes are dry or not and then stop the cycle. unlike mechanical timers where ti will just be based purely on timer and you may under dry or over dry clothes which wastes electricity and also may damage clothes too.

in summary you shuld look out for
6.5kg washer
variable spin up to 1000rpm (if 1000rpm is too expensive then try lookingf for at least 850 though i wuold prefer 1000rpm)
variable temperature setting
washing features to include like cotton synthetic, silk, wool, handwash
preference for any other features ;ole 15mins quickwash etc. (this will be deciding factor)

Dryer
auto sensing dryers
cycles to match that of washer like if your washer has silk then it would be best if your dryer has a cycle for silk , etc.
then its up to you to choose condenser type or air vented types.

condenser type dryers are more expensive and only bosch has it so far or thomson (front load) but then they can be placed anywhere cos they do not vent hot humid air to exchange with ambient air to do the drying so you can even place it inside a closed room and they can do the drying efficiently

Vented type dryers need to be placed in a well ventilated area. cos they take it the air heat it up and then fans it through the drum and then air is evacuated out which by then will be humid and needs to be evacuated out

valjean

I'm looking at the Electrolux EWF887 washing machine (~$900). 7kg capacity. Auto water-level sensing, variable RPM up to 850.

Saleswoman recommended to pair this with Electrolux EDE429E dryer (~$700). Stated capacity is only 5kg but saleswoman claims it to be typo and actual capacity is 7kg. The drum does look big but err... Anyway, EDE429E is auto-sensing as well.

Any comments on this combo? I need to wash king-size bedlinen and quilt too.

Any other recommendations around this price range also welcomed.

ridhwan82

hi Valjean,

The information that the salesman give you is correct except for the part on typo part. i called electrolux SEA to confirm the information as to can load up to 8kg wet load into the 5kg dryer. Its not a typo just that it is paired up to 8kg washing load. Cos the clothes gets dry and lighter as the cycle progress so wun affect the motor that much

the only thing is that the drum size is big enough to accomodate 8kg load and that the only compromise t5hat will happen is the clothes will have a tendency to be a bit more crease as the space to tumble is lesser mah compared to if you load a 5kg load.

I would suggest that if you want to wash the king sized quilt go for the 8kjg washer the EW1090 its rpm is higher at 1000rpm and it has an 8 kg capacity priced at 1429.

For the EDE429 get this one. do not get the 419. Auto sensing dryers are way better than manual timers.

Why i would suggest you take the 1090 is cos of the higher spin speed plus the capacity for the quilt.just a suggestion. Especially the RPM as higher rpm means the residual moisture is lesser means the clothes will spend lesser time in the dryer which will equate to electricity savings. cos dryers consume more electricity than the washers,.

valjean

Thanks ridz for sharing your immense knowledge on washers/dryers! I'll take a look at the EWF1090 but it's so much more expensive than the EWF887...

babyfifi

Anyone shift the location of their washing machine? i.e. did not put it at the location where HDB provided the outlet?

Is this possible?