Villa bali

zenith

i haven't met their new coordinator. onli know that it's a guy. wah lah. their svc really piss me off. always change coordinator & every time say cannot confirm. most prob i'm looking for other venue. but of cos little bali still the cheapest option lor.

lux

Hi Girls...

Hmm they have a new area for wedding? Really? I hope I get to use it! I like the place as it is so it hopefully wont be an issue. Wendy was my first co-orindater actually since last year so there wasnt any outstanding issues to my knowledge.

I'm only doing ROM there.. so thinking of wearing a batik long dress or something..FH said he want to wear something casual though. I guess it will best to go with the place for me at least...

ebell

Cheap oni 4 noon rt? BUt in the afternoon v hot leh...that's y i tot evening and evening not v cheap. I thinking of taking the 10k package then can book the whole place, provided they dun up the price. Alot of pple seem keen to use this place, mayb that explains the svc. So Zen we suppose to wait till the new place is up then they contact us or what?

Ling: ROM casual ok lah but if wedding then can b simple but not to casual wait wear the same as ur guest then funee liao. Ling u may wanna get ur guest to be dressed in floral, q suit the theme.

One thing gd, LIttle Bali dun nit to do up nice oredi if use BUrkhill etc nid to pay extra to do up the place.

zenith

$10k? which does this package include? cos last time they only quote me $350 per pavillion(rental) for the whole day.

ebell

10k...exclusive use of the whole place, staff, $3600 worth of food, drinks and alcohol and sound system.

How many guest u looking at? If rom i think oki but if wedding and guest list long then may nid more space.

ebell

$10k...any number. Max at the moment is slight more than 200 pax. Think the booking oni start in July...how ar u think wanna wait or not. If u doin day time shld b oki i think

zenith

i went to beaufort to see but we still prefer little bali so guess no choice hv to wait for them to accept booking lor. i jus emailed the new coordinator. see what he says. i onli intend to book 2 pavilions cos my guest list abt 60 only. but i waiting for the new area to be done up. maybe the area can fit all my guests then i dun need to split them into 2 pavilions liao.

zenith

i dun think it's ready yet.... it's actually a bigger area at the back of the bar which used to be the place where they store things.

lux

Okay... I think maybe want to drop in end of June or something.. just to see the place.

Have you consider doing at RASA seaside for your AD? I saw pictures of ppl doing a buffet beside the sea. Rather nice concept.. too bad my folks were insistent of a chinese course sit down.. otherwise I would opt for that..

zenith

rasa's food not nice so we din consider. sigh... the jp we wan says the timing we wan is taken up alreadi(6.30pm). so now i trying to neg with the gal if it's possible for her to push up her timing to 6pm so that i can get him at 7pm. if not 7.30pm at little bali like a bit too dark liao.

lux

Is it! die.. I got RASA for AD venue! *faint*

Ya I agree it might be a little too dark at little Bali.. you planning to do up the place at little bali??

I am considering whether to hire the mike system from little Bali.. $40 for that few minutes of use is really...EXPENSIVE!!

ebell

Zen: if u not too constraint by budget. I suggest u go to the Flute and the Fort for ur rom. V v nice... but abit ex. Near fort canning

lux

Hi ebell..

I actually was about to get Flutes for my ROM ... I like the place and it is central!

Approx $40 per head.. for lunch.. Dinner is more exp. However their foi gras is to die for and must try the fondant.

However I find they are more fine dining and I decide to go casual in the end.

zenith

aiyoh,
hi gals, i too lazy to go & see other venues liao. fixed on little bali thats it. if not i veri stressed recently. think of this & that. i jus spoke to steven, the new co-ordinator today. the new area will only be ready either end of June or early July. Booking will only be accepted by then. Prices will also be increased.

ling,
i only tried the food last yr so perhaps their food has improved now? i dun hv choice but to do it at 7.30pm cos i tried to neg with the gal but she can't push hers earlier by half an hour. sigh... i really regretted not called teh jp earlier. cos initially thot i too kiasu. who knows???? now hoping that the jp finish earlier over at her side & rush down to my side at abt 7.15pm. no, i'm not going to do much decor at little bali. the place is alreadi nice enuff with all the landscape.

ebell

Zen: he got say how much or not? aiyah like that then I go for burkhill liao...actually went to check out altivo @ mount Faber, not bad but...soo high up...sure kana scolded by my relatives...

zenith

increase by a bit only. for pavilion, last time wendy quote $350 but now $400. for the new area is more cos can hold abt 100-150 pax. last time i also wan burkill hall but too expensive liao. $2000+ for wkday evening & $3000+ for wkend evening. this is only for the place. u still hv to factor in the flower deco, food, fan etc. will add up to much much more. sure to lose money if hold at burkill hall one. but if u hv the budget it's a really nice place. too bad i need to budget so little bali is the best choice lor. can save on the floral deco too.

ebell

Think I give up on Bali. The svc not good lah. NO follow up one. I booked ACM liao. Anyway we having a religious wedding so Bali not v appropritae for us so...byebye bali...

zenith

hi ebell,
wat happen? do u mind me asking wat religion are u in? cos actually o'm a christian. i mean it's okie to hv a balinese/resort theme wedding rite?

lux

Hi ebell.. anyway hopefully they dont give me a whole lot of trouble.. I will start to bother Steven later in June to make sure everything is okay..

Scary leh after hearing the experience!

lux

Hi zen,

No I have yet to meet up with steven.. Settle everything through Wendy.. Will at least give steven a walk through what I need.. Will let u know when i meet him up end of June..

flower1

I am new in this thread. Am also keen in Little Bali, visited the place lately and likes it alot. Now waiting to meet up with Steven too.. he's away for hols.

Hi Zen,
am also a christian here. Really hope can hold my dinner there, will still be having a church wedding. .so really its not too big a prob.

zenith

hi flower!

so u confirm getting little bali? how's yr meeting wif steven??? do u hv the list of caterers tat tie up wif little bali? i'd like to hv a look.

flower1

hi zen,

more or less our minds are fixed on Villa Bali. Coz we prefer something casual rather than a hotel style kind of dinner.

Steven's not too bad, rather friendly and easy to communicate. As for booking wise, like u said, can oni be made after the place is ready ie Aug.

Caterers wise, I only Creative Catering listing. Tat's all he sent to me. Creative offers a variety of selection, either Thai or International. Seems like the Thai option is more favourable and suitable for the venue.

zenith

ling, u going on fri??? heehee, i'm going on sat to hv a drink wif frens. will meet up steven when the new event corner is ready. help me cheack when is the new event corner up when u go on fri k? dun mention abt me har. or else steven will think i veri long-winded. haha!

lux

Ok i pretend I never hear about his leaving from you =) heh

Ya going later.. hopefully is good lah.. I am a bit scared because heard a lot of story of the place.. I mean some brides say no good and all..

lux

Hi Zen,

I saw a bit of the new corner for event and it is nice!!

Anyway met up with steven and yay he is rather okay.. and I asked him if he is leavin before my ROM and he say no in fact staying for long time.. so no worries abt switching between ppl heh!

I think at this point of time.. really no regrets getting that place.. =)

zenith

hi ling,

ya, i heard frm steven tat he's staying put. i went down on sat to hv a drink & also went round to see. i still prefer to take the pavilions leh. more greenery. the new area like veri plain. any idea when is the new event corner ready? which part are u using?

lux

Hi zen,

I getting the entrance that place.. Steven say that part with the stage is best for the soleminzation.. Although I actually booked Ubud because I want a more exclusive feel? Anyway small event lah.. should be okay I reckon...

At least no change in co-ordinater...

polarisgal

So what is the outcome now? Is the service good? Anyone has commend on the food there? What is the max capacity they can occupy?

lux

Hi polarisgal,

I am not a very fussy person so I really talk to Steven since that one time and the time we book. For me is as long they deliver that's about it...

Let me go through the event which is in another 2 weeks times and I keep you update!

the max I think 100 odd? they have this nifty new place at the backyard now... cool place if you asked me...

Hope the above helps

zenith

hi ling,

yr rom is drawing near rite? are u excited? must come back & let us know how it goes k? & do remember to show us pics! by the way, which caterer r u using?

lux

Hi Zen...

The ROM is over! Everything went well in my opinion at least!! And yes.. it was tons of fun .. didnt regret having it at little Bali~

Sorry for the late reply, went for a short break so stayed away from the computer.....

Anyway Steven was really good! I used the caterer from CrEATive serving Thai food.. My guest compliment the food because it was pretty unique except for the prawns which was not fresh.. aside from that everyone agreed the food was somewhat special... I dont know if ppl was saying that to be nice? I didn exactly ate a lot so can't comment much.. but I found the desserts super yummy.. My sis in law couldnt get enough of the pineapple rice. That was the fastest food gone.. I think the Pad thai wasnt that good would prefer more pineapple rice. Everything was cleared out excpet for the prawns

Steven got me 5 servers for my guests of 35 which was enough.. Most of them were busy serving drinks for the guests. They wasnt stingy with the drinks which I appreciate.

Got me a mike to use FOC.. played our song... everything on cue..

Oh at one point my niece vomitted somewhere after running around too much and it was clean up by their staff fairly quickly. So there wasnt too much distrubance at all to the guests.

what I like was the personalized service and there wasnt any additional charges like what I heard from a lot of ppl who have this sort of engagments with hotels and such.

I havent collect my pictures yet so can't share anything.. but I had a blast on my own account... didnt need to do a whole lot of decorations and Mr Loh was only too familiar with the place.. ha..

Hope the information helps!

flower1

congrats... and envy u that u already had yrs at Villa Bali. Plans changed for me, may not be able to hold my celebration there anymore. Cos after bringing my FH's parents down, can sense that they didnt really like the place... guess not too suitable for the old ones. Unless we split our events into 2.. we'll have the old ones in the hotel while our friends at Villa Bali.

Constraint lies only in budget... mind if I ask how much u spend in total? But it seems like yrs ia day event ah? And which corner did u take? How's the new event corner, is it done up?

Steven ever said that they celebrating their 1 yr annv in Aug, will invite us down.. but so far has yet to hear anything.

Sorry for the many qns.

zenith

hi ling,

so happy for u tat everything turn out so well. btw,wat do u mean u've a blast on yr own acct? do u mean u overspent or u make a big profit? did u do any floral decoration?

lux

Hi flower1 and Zen,

Thank you for the well wishes!

Ai yah old folks are like that I reckon, that's why my ROM only the parents and the rest are all friends who were so impressed with the place. Are you holding your ROM and AD seperately or together?

I spent like 1.7k inclusive of 6 jug of beers and such. In my opinion that is an okay budget lah.. Mine is from 4.30-10pm but we left abt 9 plus for the next round of beer guzzling.. ha.. I took the section where the entrance is but they sealed it up for you so no worries.. however if you have too much guests.. I think is a little constraint.. However Steven was helpful in getting more chairs for my guests....

New Event corner is done up ald... I went and saw it.. should be a neat place once they lay the chairs and table out..

Had a blast meaning I had great time at the ROM at least for me not that i burst the bank acc...lol... I always scare this kinda event because I reckon leh chei.. but not so. I didnt exactly make a profit or otherwise because both of us didnt expect to receive any red packets but we did and it covered 70% of the ROM cost actually which surprised me... Anyhow it was a bonus for the ang bao.. overall felt as long as they turn up we are more than happy because the cost was still within our limits.

I did simple floral decorations and my own bouquet so we went to the wholesaler a day before. I got big monkey leaves and orchids.. Each table I laid a couple of the leaves and sprinkle the orchids (which I cut in the morning)over the table. I thought it brought out the resort theme actually...

Otherwise the place pretty done up so no need additional frills to do up the place ald..

No problem on the questions.. am glad to share the experience..

catseye

Hi Ling, your ROM sounds so fun! I'm planning to hold my ROM there too in October but Steven is taking forever to email me the quote. But he is a nice guy la. Can you please please email me your ROM pictures and perhaps the quote too? Really want to see what it looked like

lux

Hi Cat... the ROM was okay lah.. I didnt have fancy speeches and stuff just horsing ard with friends only...

On a seperate note, I think Steven works better over the phone than say... email.

I think the quote depends on what you choose for the food. I took the $20 menu for 30 pax and did a slight adjustment on the food. I rented the place for $350 and got drinks package $350 for 35 person ($10ea for free flow 4 hours)

Hope the quote helps.. Steven will be helpful to advise how many pax buffet to order and such..

I am in the midst of loading my pictures.. *long long process..* once I get it down will show let you have a look... =)

catseye

Thanks lots Ling, this is helpful. Agree with you there about Steven working better over the phone. just wanted things in black and white just in case, but he sounds reliable so far.

Did you have to pay extra for any flower decoration? or you just bought flowers yourself to do the place up? I know the place is nice in itself, but was thinking of a way to make it look like a cordoned off function area.

catseye

sorry just to clarify I did read your earlier post - what I meant is did you get any other flower deco? Steven is helping me to source for flowers but it might cost a few extra hundred dollars..not sure whether it's a worth while spend...

lux

hi Cat,

Of course in the end got to put down stuff in B/W however there were certain stuff he gave for free like the mic use and when I had a change in menu he let us do it and change the invoice. So If you asked me ... I think he is very flexible in that sense as long as your request is reasonable of course. Ya Trust him.. I am sure he will get you the best deal.

I did the flowers decor myself. As mentioned I didnt particularly do heavy decoration. I only do tables arrangement. the thing with Little Bali is that the whole place is ald rather lush and decor with the floral and fauna. I think ribbons and such just sorta doesnt go with that outdoor look. I did my own table decor..

The monkey leaves cost me $5 for like 10+++ of them which I spread on the tables and I got a big bouquet of orchids which was $8 and I made use of the orchids *cut them myself* and sprinkle on all the tables as well. Gave it a rather resort look? At least that was what I was trying to acheive.

Steven actually cordoned off the area with these bamboo signage that denote the place closed off for a solemnization and that area being rather exclusive was thus made to feel like your own place...

I am not sure if yours is a simple ROM or otherwise... because all comments is really.. based on a simple ROM event that we put together. Nothing too frilly but somewhat memorable..

Hope the above helps

catseye

thanks for your advice
I've called Steven to confirm that I'm holding my ROM there in Oct. Hope that it will be as memorable and go as smoothly as yours. Can't wait to see your photos!

lux

Hi Cat..

Wah.. that's pretty straightforward huh.. =)

I am sure you have an equally memorable ROM..

PS: remember to ask to use inner bar in the event of rain. You never know what's going to happen.

flower1

Hi ling...

sorry for replying late.. ya mine is so called ROM and AD on the same day. Will be having my church wedding on the Sat.. and thinkg of using Villa Bali on Sun nite... since according to Steven, sun costs is cheaper than sat.

So our tentative plans is to host the parents' banquet @ marriot lunch then friends be at little bali... all subj to budget first, otherwise all will be at marriot lunch.

Can i ask which day u rented the place for? $350 seems to be a very reasonable quote and u got it from 4.30 to 10.

lux

Hi Flower,

I rented the place on national day technically it is a weekday. However I booked this in the beginning of the year so I am not sure if there is any change in pricing.

Yupe got it from 4.30 - 10 but I am sure if it is prolonged to a longer time they wont sent you packing lah....