The Fullerton Hotel Singapore

the contacts if u r interested 4 the cartoon animation....cos u juz said email me....din specify....nevertheless, i've oredi email u the contacts...have fun!

Hi dear all,

Just reading through this forum, still in the process of negotiating the perks with fullerton.

Just wonder, what can I exchange wedding favour for? Is it possible to exchange for a LCD projector?

By the way, I will be having my wedding in the Straits room. Really love this room!

hi preciousthoughts...u hv 2 check whether the exchange can be done..but i thought they oredi throw in in the new package?....

Congrats on choosing the Straits room!...its a beautiful room indeed..was comptemplating whether 2 hold my ROM ceremony back but we went wif the beach theme thingy instead....

hope u b one of the fullerton bride as well....

hi winterhakone

thanks for sharing.. appreciate that..

hi preciousthoughts.. you gotta check that with the hotel.. no harm asking... but then again, you gotta see if its worth it... some of the AD PG or VG actually can provide you with the projector FOC or at minimal costs... you can ask the hotel put the exchange as an option.. so that you can decide later.

bsproffy....u r most welcome!

Hi Preciousthoughts,

Congratulations!
I like the straits room very much as well...

Actually there's a 'roof garden' in fullerton that is just an open space near the ceiling of the hotel which seems a pretty decent place for solemnisation as well but I haven't tried asking. There are quite a few nooks and crannies in Fullerton that are kinda nice to explore..

Btw, new pacakge includes 2 free LCDs if I recall correctly.

Hi Winterhakone,

Really??
How was it? Did you utilise the Press Room (function room near ballroom)? Delia offered to let us use the place for solemnisation and I checked out the place..hmmm...not sure becuase the room is like a box..
You said you traded in both the favors and cards for the use of the place? Hmmm...can consider..

Hi Lilic,
I have PM you for details of your package. Curious to know what items you have substituted for. I will be holding my dinner there next yr.

bunni..it was great....quite spacious as well...

i did use the one of the room (not sure if its Press room or not) to change cos i had 2 EGS and also had a change in hairstyle..so in order 2 utilised time, didnt go back 2 the suite to change..

Hmmm...Winterhakone (btw, is hakone in Hokkaido?) That's a great idea, I'll try to use that too..
Crazy over gowns, imaging floating around in a fluffy cloud
...hahaha..My bf says I never care whether it's nice or not, just want to have fluff
..self gratification..
Btw, I have the 'new' package, and checked with Delia, she said not entitled to AWT cards, only have the current cards from their 'supplier' which is not worth that much if we exchange...hmmm..either handmake or copy lilic to personalise it.

Hiaz...just found out prices of additional flowers from woodsville and musicians recommended by the hotel..
kao_dizzy.gif
wah, I feel like a 'vegetable head' already...

hi bunni....hakone where Mt Fuji is...i was there during winter....love it so much....hence the nick...

yea..if the rooms are not being booked by pple...there shouldnt be any problem "loaning" the room 4 change...easier also...ke ke....dun hv 2 waste time going back 2 the suite...can spend more time socialising wif friends.....

perhaps u can source 4 musicians outside....i've got a live band but they are also pretty pricey so i wont recommend 2 u....

which BS have u signed up with?

Hi Bunni and winterhakone,

yup.... My FH and I really love the straits room... actually we "shrunk" our guest list so as to accomodate the use of the straits room. Also, we will be having threatte style seating arrangement instead of round table so that we can accomodate more people in the room.

My one and only wedding event will only be this Hi-tea cum solemnisation event.

So no sit-down event nor dinner for us. I wonder if it's too fast... seems like my AD wedding day will end very fast and early. Dunno whether will it be memorable since it's so short and only a standing cocktail kind of thing.

Another idea was to walk over to one-fullerton to have dinner with the helpers in the night. They have al fresco dining and it's romantic at night under the moonlight.

hi preciousthoughts...tt's nice....how many guests are u guys intending 2 invite?...

mayb u can plan some activities after yr solemnisation event...(i.e have slide shows while u change into perhaps another gown, if dun wanna change, u might wanna spring up a surprise 4 yr hb)..... as its gonna be a high tea..maybe u can pre-empt yr guests not 2 leave so soon...get a helper 2 help u wif photo taking sessions....just some ideas 2 play wif...

One Fullerton will be a nice place 2 treat yr friends...perhaps u might wanna do reservations 1st if yr AD happens 2 fall on a weekend...

eh, bunni

wat new package you talking abt? you mean they came out with new stuff again??? i blur liao...
can share the prices for additional flowers? i meeting woodsville next tue.. most prob using them for my church and posies too..

anyway ladies, its friday.... yipeee!!!

Hi Winterhakone (ooh...now I know where, paiseh, I anyhow 'smoke'..embaressing..
Hmm..you like winter? I cannot really stand cold temperatures, went Japan twice during winter and almost froze my head off..:P Think I'll just have to start training..

My BS is Sophia, recommended by friends, actually didn't search much, went to some other boutiques(AWT, TW) but all cannot entertain without appointment. Saw gowns in Sophia, very nice, so bf just sign..
Actually price lower than designer boutiques but still get v.good quality stuff...
I'll likely be sourcing for string trio or quartet as I heard some musicians playing in the hotel and liked it..thanks for offering tho'..

Hi precioustots,

I think it sounds ok..
For afternoon events, are you are having it on a weekend?

Hi Lilic,

Delia said AWT cards applies to old package, not sure what that means and I assumed it refers the packages before this year's wedding show? I asked if the new cards are from AWT and she said from their vendor..guess no room for choice..??

Woodsville, I wanted an elevated arrangement with orchids and they quoted Extra ~30 for each arrangement (for normal orchids), did not enquire for other stuff. The arrangement I downloaded from a US website shows very local (s'pore) orchids..
(contemplating to quit without a job so need to watch purse strings closely..

hi bunni

you can try to personalise the cards.. altho not AWT, but i guess they wun use lousy vendor.. the variety of cards should be fine lar.. *keke, scully by the time our AD, change vendor again..

that sounds expensive.. you refering to centrepiece on tables or the arrangements along the aisle?

i dunno wat floral stuff i want.. but definitely no rose.. hahah.. i dun like rose.. i like calla lilies and tulips.. but i guess they cost too much and prob dun last... will meet up with woodsville then see how.. my wedding theme is white and blue.. so i hope to have the BLUE flowers.. *kekek..

you go to them thru Delia or directly?

hi bunni

just realise, orchids can be used without extra charges leh.. but then my package is "new" i.e. post-wedding show package..

so you may want to ask delia if you can avoid top up.. but then again, the top up could be due to the kind of arrangement you want.. maybe you can avoid top up by asking them to show you wat they can come up with using orchids?

Btw winterhakone, forgot to add, when we refer to BS, does it include PS? Mine is with Venus from JB..
(Award winning photographer and good price, I hope mine turns out as good as the ones that I saw..

hi bunni

thanks for the info.. i saw liao.. hee... i am trying to figure something with fullerton and woodsville for a win-win situation leh.. dun want to top up too much also.. delia said they have some existing setup which will be able to blend in with the blue theme... but din ask further since my AD quite far away.. if i get anything from woodsville, i will tell you.. =)

no lah.. tho my fav is calla lilies or tulip, i dun mind any flowers as long as its not rose.. hahah... i heard abt wat other brides did.. but not for me... scully make it uglier, also i think the action itself insults the florist leh.. hahahah.. and hor, gotta load more things on the helpers.. dun want lar...

hi kiwi...

if i remembered correctly...weekdays package per table is abt 7XX ++ and weekends abt $8XX to $1XXX , depending on which package u take...tt's the range....

Thanks Lilic, Winterhakone,

Lilic, when is your AD? Mine's on 26 Feb..
As for sticking the flowers in, I understand what you're saying but I'm more concerned about the inferno in my pocket now (made too many money costing mistakes, can't believe anyone can be so 'smart'..
kao_dizzy.gif
Can imagine my rowdy jie mei's making strange modifications to the arrangements..hahahah

Hi Kiwi,

Think the cheapest package is 858+++, the next should be 928+++, can't remember the most X one. Why don't you call 68778189/8122 to ask them to send a copy to you? They're nice ppl..
Think it is important to look at the contents of packages other than price..
Goodluck!

hi kiwi

like wat winterhakone said.. the price starts from 798+++/table.. to abt 1.4k+++/table

there are 3 diff packages... and each package costs differently depending on the days of the week.. they classify by mon-thu / fri and sun / sat, eve of PH and PH

you can contact them for the latest package details.. =)

hi bunni

my AD is dec 2006.. hahaha, i super kiasu hor? hahaha.. actually not lar.. coz of my work nature, no time from feb to aug.. so trying to settle as much stuff as possible before my next "peak"

understand where you coming from... thats why i think sometimes less is more... i dun want to spend the $$ and end up making a mess of the whole deco.. *kekeke

the price you quote for friday and sunday only lah.. *kekeke.. mon-thu cheaper leh..

Hi Kiwi,

Paiseh for giving wrong info, ya, lilic's one is correct, mine's Sunday so only have Sun prices in my head..
Apologies..

Hi Lilic,

Not KS, think ok..
If I knew banquet prices rise so fast each year, I would have tried to book when I was younger..hahah (but most hotels can't keep the same price for few years right?) Was advising friends and relatives to book hotels fast before the annual increase..

hi bunni

i took friday instead of sat... hahah.. much cheaper...

eh, i spoke to delia.. cards are form t-dragon.. then cannot choose from other designs.. coz the hotel has designated the designs.. i think must have fullerton logo probably.. this is a bit saddening.. hahahha

Lilic,

Hmmm...wonder why she didn't tell me who the vendor is..
Anyway, hope they don't start cutting corners to get more profit....frankly speaking, there's more than one area which I found can be improved which I think will make the hotel more sought after for banquets (afterall, small gains from cutting corners will bring more damage than good to the hotel..) I'm still figuring out if I'm too fussy or if some stuff are

Aiyo, put logo very easy..
I can make and chop..hhahah...
They have kinda nice cards but the interesting ones are the ones with chinese words (will not work for my hb side) and the others, ok, can do..
yawn.gif
how leh? back to drawing board..

Hi Bunni, winterhakone, ilic and all else who are following this thread,

My guest list currently is 140 pax but might expand to the max of 180. Actually 140 I find it quite cramp as it will be theattre style sitting. So that leave with about 1/3 space of the room empty for the buffet and mingling plus the reception area outside. Afraid that it might be cramp.

Winterhakone: thinking of prolonging it with slideshow plus the usual cake cutting and champagne toasting. I think my church friends will also be presenting a special item. The dillemna is dunno to have it during the "solemnisation service" itself or do it during eating time.

My only concern is if they start eating, very hard to get their attention from the stage again and they will be standing everywhere and not seated anymore. Some of them might even have left!

Bunni: yup. My event will be on a sat. Some of my colleagues and friend work on a sat. Hence, think we will start the event at around 2.00pm

Lilic: Your idea sounds good though my FH and I can't dance. But the place will be quite cramp already. Unless we stack the chairs away. Then we will have to take some dance class prior to the wedding day.

Anyways, I did ask my coordinator regarding whether we can stack the chairs away after the solemnisation to create more space for mingling, but she doesn't seem very keen on the idea and give reasons etc.

Like what bunni commented, in term of "finding a yes to special requests out of the norm", they can do better. Actually, before we decided, we were comtemplating between fullerton and one other hotel. We really like that hotel's service and they are able to accomodate to all our "special requests", but the only thing they lost out is the kind of ambience of the ballroom. Unfortunately, that hotel doesn't have fullerton's straits room look. Otherwise, we would have definitely gone for them. They are really very good at personlising wedding for couples. Hopefully, fullerton will improve on that. Probably after my wedding, I'll give them a written feedback so that they can improve better and make future couples happier.

So now, I just hope that I can add some personal touches to my wedding without incurring expensive additional cost.

Bunni, my wedding will be in march 2006. When is a good time to contact woodville to laise reagarding the deco and flower arrangements? Is it too early to do now? Do you know is there's any additional cost for iliac roses?

By the way, for those who are looking for AD photographer. I've one to recommend. I am going to use Kelvin Koh from lighted pixels. Really like his works as they are detailed and captures the emotions and special moments well.

You can look at his portfolio here:
http://www.pbas*.com/nivl*k28/weddings (replace * with "e" )

or his official website for weddings:
http://www.l*ghtedp*xels.com/ ( replace * with "i" )

By the way, I'm not getting any profit from naming him here. Just want to share this info with all of you as I had a hard time finding a suitable AD photographer at a resonable price. So I'm glad I found his services

Hi precioustots,

Can you ask for a smaller (or elongated) stage to max space? Good to have on Sat as more ppl can make it..
To have more activities, you want to try singing to each other or having your parents or brothers/sisters to make a speech?
Can have a singer cum mc to facilitate event/provide entertainment and insert a bouquet throwing session before lunch starts? Yep, i agree that fullerton needs to learn to bend more, going that extra mile is what distinguishes great service from mediocre, should expect more from a five/six star hotel?...:P

Don't have to wait till after your wedding, if you really need to move some chairs, think you should insist, it's just simple logistics... I'm expecting premium hotels like these to be surpassing my expectations, not go below it..
and of course hope to see more heart and sincerity in the service line here..

Flowers, I think it's better to clear as many 'action items' as early as possible so that we don't have to rush near the AD or make compromises just because of a lack of time..
Did not ask cost of lilic roses, you can call them or meet up with them to get a more accurate quote?

Thanks for the websites, looks very good too..

i met woodsville yesterday... i am not too happy with the whole discussion... she gave me the feeling "everything also cannot, or if you want this, you must top up"... not customer-oriented at all.. she din seem to be interested in wat i want and push too hard for wat she offers.. *sob sob...

then when she heard that i have the intention to use her for my church, she got a little bit nicer and offered more suggestions... and revealed that she can do a mock-up for me after we agreed on the flowers, design and price... but the initial prices cost an arm and an leg lor.. sigh

i am waiting for her to revert with the quotations.. but i am not too sure if i want to work with her for other floral stuff..

anyway, i think you ladies should contact them asap coz if you have a theme wedding or preferred flowers, i can see that the discussion could drag on awhile..

Bsproffy,
I am very pleased with woodsville. I starts to like their "works" when I noticed the different floral setting in the lobby of Fullerton and some are really nice and creative and I dun see as nice in other hotels. Only after I found out from coordinator that they are from woodsville and our ballroom deco done by them, I am very happy and trust them. Diana did not asked me to meet up Woodsville prior to wedding. She only showed me the standard different types of settings by woodsville during our discussion 2 wks prior to wedding on the deco arrangement. I must say, the actual deco are to my surpirsed, much nicer than those I seen on the pics are received many good reviews on the deco. I also had a theme wedding.
Have ur coodinator shown u the pics of the different type of setups available??

hi sharlene

i know where you are coming from... my coordinator has shown me the setups.. in fact there are a few new setups.. and from wat i see during the wedding show, i do like the setups...

but the problem now is that i have a white and blue theme for wedding, and while i like their arrangements, i do not like roses.. in fact, i have brought this up to the coordinator and she said that this can be easily resolved with woodsville.. plus she also mentioned that she is happy to help me to do the ballroom deco based on my theme.

but when i meet up with woodsville yesterday, they are not accommodating.. due to my theme or personal preference, i ask for the non-std flowers to complement my theme.. they werent keen to help me and kept pushing me to go for the standard flowers.. by the way, my coordinator has indicated in my contract the non-std flowers which i can choose from...

i met up with them coz i thought it will be easier for me to liaise with one florist to handle the entire wedding...so delia suggested that i can meet up with them for my church deco.

i guess perhaps i am too fussy.. maybe i should just tell her to do watever she likes as long as it complements my theme..

Hi Lilic,

I met woodsville yesterday as well!
Went there in the afternoon..
I was there to discuss the flowers for both my venues (RH for my solemnisation and FH for banquet). I asked to browse RH's arrangements and happen to see Ritz's arrangements as well. When I questioned the big diff between FH and RH/Ritz, Woodsville indicated that the budget given for different hotels are diff, thus the difference in type of arrangements/qty/flowers. I was quite upset and have just emailled FH on this. I have decided to DIY cards as well as my 'prototype' turned out ok, now waiting for the hotel's response to my requests. Btw, lilic, you might want to add gold/silver as well? Think white/blue/gold or white/blue/silver will look nice. I'll likely go with the red/gold/white theme afterall..

Hi Sharlene,

Hmm...your wedding was June this year rht? But seems like your stuff sounds better than mine, at least I know for sure AWT..
Hiaz...my heart cannot rest till everything settles..
kao_sad2.gif

hi bunni

yah.. my FH said we can try to go for white/silver and blue instead.. if they are so sticky abt the whole thingi..

erm, wat you mean by DIY? you design and get printers to print? or you literally DIY the cards? if former, which printer you bio-ing? maybe we can exchange lobangs... i should be designing my own cards/program sheet for church.. now only need printers.. went to a card designer cum printer.. they quoted me $2.20 for the invites and S$1.80 for the program sheet.. .

yah.. like you, i need to settle all my stuff then i can RIP.. hahhaha..

BSproffy,
I think u shld spk to ur coordinator instead of the florist, coz ur package is with Fullerton and since they had indicated inside ur contract, thus u shld tell ur coordinator to liaise on ur behalf with is by right, their job.

For mine, though i opt for roses, but they do mix some lilies etc inside the deco especially the aisle and stage deco. Just for ur consideration, u might wants to consider whether your theme will blends well with the ballroom color or not as the ballroom is mostly in gold, beige color, just my personal thoughts.

Bunni,
When I sign up, its under old package and FH not yet tie up with AWT. In fact, when I learnt abt the change of cards design, quite upset, coz I prefer the old cards then the new designs though AWT more branded and also more designs to choose from, the old type only got 2 designs. ehhehehe But the AWT cards are really good in quality and looks classy. When's ur AD? Maybe by then they will have changed vendor again?

sharlene

i think i will leave that to the coordinator liao.. coz dun think i will use woodsville for my church.. anyway, thanks for the reminder.. we took into consideration abt the color match.. coordinaator assured us that it will blend it.. so we trusted her..

Hi Lilic,

Didn't explore the option of design and get printers to print...hmm...maybe I'll look into that too..
When you refer to design and print, is it just 2 dimensional printing or you can have embossed florals/patterns on the cards? You might want to ask the hotel if there's any similarly themed weddings recently and go take a peek so you can have a better idea or more ideas on the decor? I'll be going down this Sun with bf to check..

Hi Sharlene,

Hahah, guess everyone has different needs and wants...
Ya, actually that's what I want, good quality and classy, (altho' my DIY card isn't exactly that...hahah...
My AD is Feb next year, but I hope to settle everything sooner as I have one more wedding to plan for overseas a couple months after S'pore...quite 'siong', and trying not to let job stress get to me too...
Hmmm...anyone still studying here? (Saw quite a few in other threads, feel kinda old...and late...hahhaha)
kao_embarrassed.gif