The Fullerton Hotel Singapore

No prob gal..

Hi Lilic,

Ok..
For wines, I have calculated that for corkage it's 20+++ and fullerton wine about 42+++? it's about 25.64 difference and most average wines cost about 20-25?

Think I'll be taking the wines from Fullerton and for favors, likely to get on my own as I didn't find anything from fullerton's range. Really hope the hotel can get a wider range so that we don't have to incur extra cost..

Hi Sharlene,

oh... I didn't knwo Fullerton is consider a 6 star hotel. Always thought it's a high end 5 star hotel.

Hi Lilic and Bunni,

yup.. I do agree Fullerton's favor not that many to choose from... also very common favors... was thinking of customising too...

I came across this and I find it quite nice and it has the precious moments theme which I am most likely going to use... Price also very affordable for a customised item

Share with all of you here:
http://www.xoticahut.com/catalog/index.php?main_page=index

Hi Lilic,

Thanks for the advice..

Hi Precioustots,

Nice site..thanks for sharing..
I only managed to find one store which supplies favors to major hotels. It's in Chinatown, store is just beside the mrt exit on the stretch with the heritage center. Last time saw, think for Marriot they have about two 10cm bears in a organza pouch or something, then can see which hotels have what...(paiseh, very vague descriptions as my memory isn't that great)..
But many things, can go check it out and might be able to bargain as boss is there as well?.. Actually wanted to get pair of glass swans from another chinatown store but still thinking..

i am thinking of customising chocs for my guests.. using the monogram which my bf will come out with.. *kekeke

Hi Bunni,

Like r ideas too! But from what i know if to do my solemnisation @ the roof garden, there will be a limited capacity & may have to start earlier etc... still need to do some planning & see how it goes... but like u said, 2 venues is better than one! :p

Hi Precious thoughts, like to chk with you if you got any helpers room for the day? seems like Fullerton quite reluctant to throw in this except if u taking the ballroom but was thinking, The straits Room not any cheaper.... hmmm....

Hi Takuya,

I didn't ask for helper's room. I thought didn't really need that since the suite is 2 storey. Hence, the helpers can just stay on the 1st floor and keep the 2nd floor solely for the couple

Hi Takuya,

Can find out what the capacity is? Did you have to pay for it? 6.30 too early? I would like to take the roof garden too if I manage to sell my other hotel to be used for ROM..

Wah Lilic, monograms, saw that in magazines too, very nice..
But not easy to come up with one. Some people even have their monograms printed/drawn on customised runners (ivory coloured runners) with pics of flowers and birds with the monogram, US website..
Think I'll be using fake flower petals and possibly candles to line the aisle only. Just have to see if it is wide enough for safety (will be unforgettable wedding if train catch fire...hahaha..

can i know abt how high r ur heels?
now shopping around for shoes but was afraid too high heels may be difficult to walk down the stairs
Any advise?

hi icebubbles

thats should depend on your gowns and hubby.. your designer should be better able to advise you leh.. my designer said i will look better in at least 4" heels.. *keke..

then she also briefly taught my fiance during our initial discussion how to support me when we walked down the stairs to prevent me tripping after she heard we are using fullerton.. but any concrete stuff will only be taught when i do my fitting in future. *kekeke..

for one, i tripped easily and frequently.. even on flats.. so when my fiance want fullerton, i freaked out.. hahah, esp when i want a BIG ballgown for WG... but after talking to my designer, i was more assured liao.. so no worries ok? *smile

Think for me, prefer shoes has to be comfortable, height 3" can be accepted as well..Think will be wearing the shoes for the whole day and feet will be tired if it's too high, and I don't want to walk unnaturally..

Can find out if anyone here has been to food tasting? Any comments? I went for mine about 2 weeks ago and requested for some changes. Anyone taking the tofu with fish on top? Is that nice? Btw, now got 2 prawns instead of 1 in previous posts..

Hi bunni!

ur 2 prawns is what package huh?
mine was the older package, $738 or $768+++, i forgot...

just had food tasting, mine is 1 prawn only...

Hi Sashamama,

Mine is just the basic sunday package. On the other hand, previous posts described the prawn to be BIG. But the 2 prwans I had are normal tiger prawn size, maybe that's why there's 2...the mass is still same, just split into 2..

Btw, think the dishes in the old package looks more impressive, new package has many 'unique ideas' which I wasn't really used to...
how was your food tasting? Which dishes did you like? Think can swap dish. Ee Fu noodles nice, so I changed out lotus rice.Roast chicken also nice. How about yours?

Thread a bit quiet these days..wait till neck long long..

my designer told me to wear 3" heels will be enough. but i am someone who seldom wear heels so kind of afraid. maybe my face will be too cramped when i walk down (,")

bsproffy, who's ur designer? so good ah even advise u how to walk down the stairs =)

hi bunni,

For the roof garden, i dun have to pay for tat cos its from 630pm, if i dun used it for my solemnisation, will be the reception area.... still deciding, will see how...;p capacity wise, didnt really check but should be around 50-60pax to be comfortable...but its quite spacious......

hi icebubbles

helan from divine is my designer. dun worry, i am sure amanda lee will help you thro also.. she is nice.. i like her ballgowns but helan impresses my bf more.. =)

for your heels, you may want to avoid stilletos if you are worried.. get the chunckier heels or wedges for better support..

Hi Bunny!

Me teacher, very the busy at work, 6am to 6pm lo. then at work inconvenient to come on forum, so wait for my reply would wait quite long :p

my dishes are all fine. my prawn although one but quite big.
ee fuu noodles also ok.
think the most unique is the mango pudding dessert

Hehe, thanks all for responding..

Takuya, good idea...
You have another place in mind for solemnisation or you'll be doing it in the room directly?

Hi Sashamama,

No problem, I've got a desk bound job, with access to internet, so...hahahha...
toggle screens when people pass by behind me...:P My cold dish included tea braised duck (or something), special but...
I liked the mango pudding too, nice. Did you opt to change any dish? Actually having my food tasting really early as bf and FIL no time later on. Think I'm early for food tasting. Did you ask about the presentation? I told them kinda plain to have no glasses, just plain white cutlery. Saw other hotels with very nice serving plates, feedbacked to Delia that it will lift the image of the hotel to have those nice serving plates. Really hope they can come up with better table settings. Just the plain stuff now a bit disappointing, no different from restuarant. Is that a factor for consideration for the rest of you as well?

I'm new to this thread! Willing be having my AD in May...

Hi Lilic,
Glad to see you here.. I'm your bf's hall mate and we signed with Fullerton together.. Remember?

Wah, your designer really good.. Even teach your bf how to hold you! Must share share how, so that I can go and teach my HB.. I'm also super "unbalance" and can trip easily.. How long/big will your gown be?

Hi icebubble,
My heels also only 3.5in... I also scared my legs will be too pain to walk in it if I take something too high..

Hi Bunni and Sashamama,
I have not gone for my food tasting yet.. Should be next yr.. Is the ee fu mee really good? I like ee fu mee, but am supposed to have fragrant rice in lotus leaf.. I'll be having yam paste instead of mango pudding.. I prefer the traditional sweet desserts.

Dear Bunni,

Have not decided on that part, will KIV for now till i settle my bridal 1st...;p i do welcome more & any ideas, pls share w me okie! ; )

Am thinking of the roof for solenmisation but am looking for gd ambience ...so initially was thinking in the Straits room have more of this feelings... & lightnings...wheras roof garden is open & bright...as well as the guests maybe hanging around to witness etc....

Hi Lilic,
I read above that your designer taught your hubby how to support you when walking the stairs. This stair is also one of my greatest fear. My AD is Dec and I got a 3 in heel but I am still scare I will create a scene by falling over on AD.

Any advise like should the hubby walk one step down before the bride to support her better ? OR?

Just curious if anyone know if FUllerton provide emcee just for annoucing or we have to find someone ourselves?
What about ang pow box, Fullerton provide ?

eh, strawberryj

how come you know its me huh? so obvious meh? hahahha.. my gown not done yet lah.. but i want a big ballgown with long train for church.. hahaha...

how's your prep? when is your AD liao? did you re-negotiate for more perks??? can pm me.. or msn lar.. hahahha

eh, i havent got full lessons hor.. hahaha, dun forget my AD is dec06 leh...

only remember that she briefly mentioned that the groom should always stand half a step in front of the bride.. to avoid stepping on her gown.. regardless whether on even ground or stairs.. then when going down the stairs, we should be like kids.. walk down one step, pause then walk down another.. this will give us time to regain our balance..

gal

no emcee but i heard from delia that they have a metallic ang pow box.. but havent seen it before.

Hi Lilic,

Haha.. more or less quite easy to guess cos I remembered your AD date... Fullerton only got 1 big ballroom mah.. The rest of the details also seem to gel.. so must be you!

My AD's in May... I'm with Sophia Wedding Collection.. .Will be choosing my gown in Nov.. PS in Jan... Getting very excited... I also want a long train.. Once in a lifetime mah.. so must choose something pretty pretty.. hehe..

Have not really prepare much yet.. . Very busy now.. Will be better after next week.. Then I must start pushing my HB to do work.. You know these guys lah... so passive... must give them little bit of push.. For your case, I think your bf still quite 'on'.. so should not be that bad.

Hehe... I think Delia scared of us already.. will seek your advice if want to negotiate for more perks!... Btw, when are we supposed to get the wedding cards from her? I wanted to do these early and get it out of the way...

Ic... thanks for the great advice abt walking in big gowns! Now must start to learn to walk slowly, provided I dun trip in my nervousness!

Hi Yoji,

I thought we have to look for our own MC... think this is so in most cases..

hey strawberry

your memory so good.. hahaha.. i cannot remember yours mah.. so i was stunned that you know its me.. ahhaha

tell your HB.. he was the one who proposed.. so he better does his work.. else, no wedding.. hahaha.. thats wat i told my bf.. but then, he has been pretty active in the whole preparation.. *proud of him.. ahhaha.. but mine still so long away..

yup, must choose the wedding gown that you like.. hahaha.. take your time to choose.. dun rush.. *kekeke.. oh, i am with divine.. haha..

i think you can get the cards earlier.. shouldnt be a problem.. but then again, you will still have to meet up with her to sort out the nitty gritties nearer your date..

eh, just to add, when i said the groom should be a step ahead of the bride, you two should still look as if you are walking together from the side profile.. hahaha.. just practise with your big gowns.. sure the BS people will help you..

Hi Lilic,

Yeah.. I can see that your bf has really taken an active role in your preparation... So sweet of him to surprise you with your Divine package..

Glad that you are happy with Divine... Must share share what kind of gowns you are thinking of... Especially EG.. so many designs to choose from... Mine MTM, so got more headaches..

Yeah, hopefully will have time to practise walking down the steps.. Am thinking of going to Fullerton to try the steps again.. Can't remember how steep they are...

dear bunni,
i didn't change any dishes, but one good thing my friend noticed when he came for our food tasting, is that the food's taste gradually gets stronger, which is good, so the taste from the first few dishes won't overpower the taste of the last few dishes.

i didn't manage to see the proper set up so did not comment on presentation. will be meeting up with delia next monday for finalisation of prog and choosing of favours.

what favours did you gals choose?

am in the process of writing my invites. i chose the jia - qu cards. some blue ones cos FH likes, and mostly the red ones. very unique.

dear strawberry:
welcome!!!
the mango pudding is very unique and has gotten rave reviews i think! any other gals who wanna comment on the yam paste and mango pudding?

dear takuya:

thinking of which part of fullerton to hold your solemnisation? which month is it? will it be rainy or too hot? not nice to be sweating at the armpits!!! my friend's sis had her solemnisation outdoors at altivo mount faber, super hot, everyone was perspiring, at abt sunset timing, 5 plus or so. straits room is beautiful! any cost difference?

dear yoji:
i saw a brown angbao box the last time i went down, unsure what they provide. but i saw a white guestbook, plain and simple one, with a pix of fullerton on the hard cover infront.

dear lilic and yoji:
my gown from dang, super big train! hope i dun fall! show u gals the pix if i can upload it: here comes a fat bride!!!

319305.jpg

gals, any pix to share?

hi sashamama

thanks for sharing.. hahah.. you where got fat lar... your gown is nice.. so feminine.. very Dang...

i think i wanted a even bigger skirt and longer train if possible.. hahahhaha.. coz this is the only time i will be in a gown.. hahhaha..

hi strawberry

actually i not divine pattern of bride.. hahha, i dun like frills.. just that their cuts suit me better than the other BS.. and the designer said they can deliever wat i want and she did impress my bf.. hahahha

Hi sashamama
You have seen the brown ang pow box. Do you think it is acceptable ? I am just wondeirng if there is a need to get one or use the existing one provided by fullerton.

Hi sashamama,

still thinking but not to worry about the armpit sweating etc cos the roof garden which is just directly above the Straits Room is aircon also...only think to consider is the ambience & flow... etc... ; )

Hi Takuya,
I have not seen the roof garden.. But it sounds romantic.. How's big's the space there? Can accomodate all your guest?

Hi Sashamama,
Yah lor, you are not fat lah!
Is yours an off-shoulder gown? Looks good on you! What's the front like.. Pix not enough leh!

Hi Lilic,
If you dun like frills, what do you like? Crystals? Laces? Ribbons? Embriodery?
I like a long train as well, but nothing too big else I'll look like a small girl in an over-sized gown!

Hi gal,
I didn't know Fullerton provides the ang bao box.. But brown colour?.. emm.. not my fav colour, esp for an ang bao box...

strawberry

i like minimal embellishments.. clean gowns like vera wang.. hahhahah.. so i more particular abt the fabrics and cut..

kekeke, when i finally does my gowns, you will knoe lah.. very difficult to describe leh.

Welcome strawberryj..
I'm with Sophia too..

Will likely be taking OTR as I saw some dresses filled with crystals which Sophia said they can't do the same for MTM..(is that true?? or they are just trying to deter ppl from MTM since the price is the same?)

Hi lilic, metallic ang pao box? First image that comes to mind are those safe deposit boxes.
Anyone used or seen the box before? Is it in a 'presentable' state?

I also want a big and long dress, hahah, was imagining floating around in a big white puff..
haha

Hi Sashamama, interesting note to the food..
I haven't decided on my favor as well, still sourcing..
Wow, nice gown..
I wanted something off the shoulder too, like yours. Your gown feels romantic..
Have you tot of what hair to wear it with? Btw, do brides wear veils for the march in? If not, besides church, when do they wear it? In the morning when they leave home??

Hey Bunni!
Glad to see a Sophia bride here as well!

Yeah, I'm also taking my WG OTR cos the gowns are simply irresistible!.. They also tell me that they won't be able to produce the same quality for MTM since the laces and beads are all imported... Don't think they are trying to deter us..
Personally, I'm more comfortable taking OTR cos I can see the gown and it's effect on me... I have a fren whose MTM gown did not come out as expected, so she ended up taking OTR.. But she's not from Sophia.. so no worries..
But my EG may have to be MTM cos there is less variety.. See how lah... Have you choosen your gown? When's your AD?

Hi Lilic,
You are a perfectionist..
I'm 100% sure your gown will be beautiful... Must let us know when you have your design in mind! .. I also like Vera Wang's designs, esp this season's.. Very sweet and simple... What cuts are you looking at?

Hi Strawberryj,

Ya, I agree that their gowns are really nice, heard that Julia Wedding News is similar to Sophia too. Have you been there to look at the gowns? Are they as gorgeous too?
I haven't chosen my gown yet, how about you? My AD in Feb 06 but PS in Msia, so gowns can choose later. For Sophia's EG, do you know if they use better materials too or there's no difference with local fabrics?

Sashamama,
Hi, rem me? How's ur preps? Finally ur AD coming

During my wedding in June, Fullerton dun provide ang bao box yet, not sure abt now though...

Hi Bunni,

Yes, I also shortlised Julia.. But I find Julia too pushy, although the gowns are not bad as well... Sophia's service is better.. They both offer the same Taiwanese style gowns and PS..

I'm not sure abt the EG material.. will talk to them when I go down to choose gowns... Will share with you if I know anythg..

Hi Sharlene,
Thanks for letting us know! I'll check with Delis when my AD is nearer..

hi strawberryj

i want classic basque... plus a full ballgown.. ahahahahha... yah, this season Vera Wang played with ruching details.. minimal embellishments.. *NICE*

eh, why you say i perfectionist??? not true lah... *kekeke... i pm you too.. =)

bunni, thats what i remember hearing from delia but i can be wrong.. hahah, short term memory lar.. hee...

me finally decided on my gown designs =)
so will be shopping around for my shoes
think will get around 3" high only, still scared cannot balance properly.

btw, does anyone of u here plan to rom on the same day as ad? can we do it in the fullerton ballroom? any additional charges involved?

I'm thinking of having my solemnization, tea ceremony as well as dinner at the Straits Room. Spoke to Diana and would probably meet up with her to discuss the details soon.

The std quote from her is $918+++. Anyone has managed to get a better deal out of them or what other perks we could negotiate for e.g. free flow beer?

hi icebubbles

wat do you mean when you say can do it in fullerton ballroom?

from wat i understand, if you are doing the solemnisation in front of your guests prior to the commencement of the dinner in the main ballroom, there is no extra charges but you got tell them earlier so that they can set the stage for you accordingly.

alternatively, if you doing the solemnisation before the cocktail reception but involving minimal guests, they can provide a function room for you FOC.. but if you have a lot of guests and require a bigger function room, then you gotta pay.

hope it helps. i wanted to conduct my church ceremony in straits room before the dinner, but its too expensive already... i was quoted abt 5k for the usage only.. =( so we opt for another venue.

hi victoria

fullerton is very consistent with their pricing and perks for their couples.. they wun budge even if your wedding is in 7th mth (hee, i asked before) so i dun think any of us get "better" deal.. instead, you prob want to exchange any unwanted items in the package for items which you want.. i dun think fullerton provides free flow beer...

i think 918+++ is for sat night.. to cut costs, you may want to consider a non-sat... or if you can wait, can try to catch their next wedding show but likely it will not be so soon, coz they just had one in july..

hope you have a great time searching for your hotel.. i really enjoyed mine.. =)

Thanks Sharlene and strawberryj..

Hi lilic, can describe the gown, i can't understand classic basque. Just usage of straits room is 5K?!!! Alamak, I tot it's 2K, but i've got bad memory... Wow, 5K, anyone got it for free or a lesser price? Think next best place FOC will be the roof garden.. Think the outdoor place beside the reception has a charge as well. My hotel search was kinda stressful...
Not just hotel search, many other things also stressed me out..:P But strangely, still enjoyed them..

hi bsproffy,

intended to hv the solem prior to the dinner.
cos i wanted to wear my wedding gown during the ceremony
but was some kind of worried whether the guest will on time cos the whole thing hv to start rather early.
if i opt for the small function room, there wouldnt be any decor right? unless i top up for it
think i hv to discuss with diana

hi bunni

classic basque is the term used for the cut of the bodice i wanted... can't really find other ways to describe it... let me go ask my guru.. get back to you again.

hi icebubbles

unless you are having a long ceremony, the dinner wun have to start that early.. my fren did the solemnisation just before the commencement of dinner.. abt 745.. then dinner at 8.... i think you can let your guests know that your solemnisation be held in their presence (put in down in your invites) and their punctuality is appreciated.. in any case, you just need to inform the JP to make sure that he/she also make arrangements for you in case there is a delay.

i think you can arrange for the hotel to re-use the flowers in the ballroom for the ftn room.. just talk to your coord... =)

im new in this thread... heard from my colleague tat the food portion is rather small... so im quite concerned tat guests wun have enough....

actually now deciding btw FH and Oriental...

Hi gals, i am thinking of having my wedding banquet at fullerton too. However, i have heard that the food is not so good there. Is this true?