Tasmania - DIY!

Hi KPO, we not the adventurous type. In fact, my hubby afraid of heights...

We changed half of what we need. Then the rates dropped a bit again...

I'm back from Tasmania last sat. Great trip. Le frog tribe at Bicheno is just a ride on a tri-motorcycle to another town, or to national parks etc. I dun find it great.

Hi littlemay,

It is advisable for you to book your accommodations in advance during the peak season. Esp places like Bicheno and Cradle Mountain. Port Arthur Comfort Inn (A$110 plus)have a lot of visitors when I was there. But I stayed at the Rosie YHA (A$50 for 2pax) just opposite Comfort Inn. The price is reasonably cheap as compare to Comfort Inn. Very convenient location for both as it is situated just at the side gate of Port Arthur, can easily access Port Arthur by using your room key to tap on the gate.

Cradle Mountain Lodge is nice and cosy. Walking distance to the cradle mt visitor centre and a few bushwalk track. Can see many animals around the lodge.

Hi Adel,
Great to know that you have enjoyed your trip!

Just heard from some pple that Tasmania is boring!
Anyway, thanks Adel, I have already booked my accom. As I'm there for honeymoon, I prefer to stay at better accommodation.

So tell us more about your trip! What are the must sees?

Hmm...

MUST go St Columba Falls at Pyengana. the tallest fall in Tasmania. Fantastic.

Must go Russell Falls (Mt field National Park), we stop over at New Norfolk for a night at the Willow Court Inn. They should have more cosy accommodation opening this month. It is a heritage (used to the Tasmania one and only medical centre that housed disabled and insane people). The place where I stayed is just 10% of the entire heritage. It was cool and Jill (the caretaker) was nice and offered to give us a tour around the place at wee hour FOC. The place is famously known to be haunted by ghost and it is very smoky if you are there in the evening and alone at night. However, I din encounter anything when I'm there. It is better than the Ghost Night Tour at Port Arthur.

Mt Wellington is a MUST go place for Hobart overview as well as many other places around Hobart. Road is winding, so drive carefully. If there is excess time and u love beer, can drop-by cascade brewery which is on the way to Mt Wellington between hobart and Mt Wellington.

Huonville not much over there, can stop for lunch. Nothing great except HuonJet which dun look interesting at all to me.

Heard from others on the road that the Tahune Airwalk is great.

I went to Maria Island. A lovely place to see fossil cliff and Painted Cliff. Worth going. First time in my life to step on Kangaroo shit. You won't miss them, it is everywhere on the island. Two major animals you won't miss as well are Kangaroo and Cape Barren Geese. They can come as close as 1m if you are not a threat to them. Just gracefully walk around the island. The lagoon at the pier resembled wineglass bay. Feel free to swim there too. Lovely.

Freycineth National Park. Advise for those who nv execrise and wanna bushwalk there, be prepared. From carpark,the roadsign stated 30mins to Wineglass Bay Lookout took us 45mins non-stop ascend. I tricked my friend to go Wineglass bay beach (took us 1.5hr of stiff descending from the lookout). Hence, when we reach the beach, she is breathless. Have a short rest and some phototaking we went to another beach called hazard beach (0.5hr easy walk, lovely beaches and plenty of oyster shells along the shore). From Hazard beach is another 2hrs of easy walk to the carpark. The entire walk took up abt 5hrs walk. Prepare drink, towel, food, good walking shoes, extra clothing, caps, raining coat (in case raining).

Dun miss the EagleHawk neck, Tessellate pavement, Tasman Arch, Devil Kitchen, the blowhole) when you are at Tasman Penisula. If u stay ard Port Arthur comfort Inn, can go to remarkable cave which is further down the same road. I went to Honeymoon beach, not nice at all. Can try to go friendly beach, but just be careful cos it is gravel road (pebbles and sandy rd). I lost control of my car at the speed of 40km/hr. But no accident lah! Just be more careful on gravel road.

Bicheno is the hardest town to find accommodation. We tried 3 hostel and inn before we settled at Seaview Holiday Unit (A$65 for a unit equipped with kitchen, and attached bathroom and nice seaview too). Go for Penguin Tour and the blowhole (this blowhole is different from the one at Tasman Penisula. This is what I called a real blowhole). And dun miss Porks place (the cheapest food in town. Order a takeaway-cheaper and sit in the cafe to finish ur meal)

If anyone going to St helen, dun miss the bay of fire at Binaloy Bay. Orange silt on the rocks give its name. MUST GO on a sunny day where the sky is blue. The sea will be fanatastic there.

Shop at scottdale visitor centre (Eco forest centre). The staffs are very friendly and the price of items are cheaper than places like Bicehno, cradle Mt, Tamar Valley and LST.

Sheffield town is a very artistic town. There are many housing that have paintings on their walls.

Mole creek for cave walk. Along the way, can visit honey farm. Leatherwood honey is good and cheap at their factory.

Tamar Valley can go for the seahorse world and Platypus House and Grubb mine museum at a special rate of $33 for these 3 places. Can oso go for Hillwood Strawberry Farm for their berry picking, Strawberry Sundae and Raspberry Vinegar (popular tourist spot from Tradewind Airline tour). Get 10% discount card to Jailhouse restaurant at LST from Hillwood strawberry farm. This restaurant at LST serve nice food.

Last but not least, apply alot of sun block. U can easily get sun-burn without notice, esp durin summer. South tasmania is cooler than north and people are more friendly there.

Adel, can you swim at Wineglass Bay? Thinking of bringing my bikini there...but dunno if there are pple who swim there? Or at least play with the water there?

Thanks for the writeup Adel. Gives one a fairly good idea what to expect.
Willow Court Inn sounds great!

Hmmm, gotta seriously consider if going to do the trek at Freycinet given your experience. We dun excerise much, and my hubby got flat feet so not comfortable for him to walk too much.

I din swim at Wineglass Bay, only play along the shoreline. Temp of water during visit is like those of ice-cube water. Instead of dipping your fingers into the water, you have your body dipped in. I can't imagaaine that in Spring. Just a suggestion for those going there in Summer (Dec-Mar) where temp should be slightly higher, rem to bring ur bikini. It will be great to jump into water after a long sweaty walk.
When I'm at Maria Island, I saw people snorkelling out in water from the painted cliff. WOW! Amazing. I will do that if I have the time on the Island or if I go with my bf. Clear water till u can see the seabed.
For Freycineth, Bay of fire and Port Arthur, pray for sunny weather for phototaking cos water can be crystal-clear with clear blue sky ahead. On the contrary, I dun advise that for long bushwalking as I got a bit of sun-burnt after the walk. The Ozone layer hole is just right above Australia, but due to the windy environment you won't feel hot at all. Hence do apply more sunblock. I din apply any, hence now look like a piece of black charcoal, really dull color. Not those copper-tanned skin that I usu have in Asia countries. =P

Hi Cat,
You're welcome. I strongly recommend Willow Court Inn. Food is great there as well. People are nice. If i'm going back to Tasmania, will definitely visit them again. Still haven't see any ghost yet. Dun expect cottage style, they just renovated, so everything is new, including the microwave in the kitchen. Heard from Jill (caretaker), some other parts of the centre are opening this month, hence they might have more nice place for couples.
For Freycineth, actually it's up to individual. I love bushwalking, hence won't mind the distance. But my friend have a lot of complaints over it. At the end of the walk, our legs were dumb and we were very tired. The feeling is like army training, we probably did a 15km walk (approx). Just minor case for NS men.

I dun really recommend Shot Tower at Taroona, south of Hobart. Nothing to see. But if you gals have time, can go for some island like Bruny (South), King or Flinder Island (North). Overnight there can be great.

Salamanca Market is great for crafts like huon pine souvenirs, procelain, food. But I din see any chilli beer. Just drank Giner Beer. Wondering if it is what the rest in the forum had suggested. Anyway, it is a nice drink.

Is the waters at Port Arthur or Freycinet really clear blue crystal clear? Like that of maldives??
If so, then I may want to spend more time in the east coast than at Cradle Mountain.
Is Cradle Mt nice?

I can't say the Port Arthur water is crystal clear cos there are filled with rocks and seaplants. As for Freycineth, there are strong waves in Wineglass Bay. For calm water like those at Hazard beach, it is crystal clear, but sand is not as fine as those in maldives. I spent 1 full day in Freycineth.

Cradle Mountain is nice. Worth spending 2 days up there if it is sunny. But u hardly get sunny day in cradle mountain (only 40 days a year). Weather is good when we reached there, I spent a night. But wasn't that lucky as shower poured at abt 10pm till the next afternoon we left for Sheffield. FYI, the road from LST (using A1 highway) to Sheffield to Cradle Mountain is the easiest to drive. Just take note of this, U might not understand wat I said not now, but u will when you are on their road. While the road from LST (B54) to Deloraine to Mole creek to Cradle Mountain is complex. Esp the road from Mole Creek to Cradle Mountain, there is a section of steep ascending into mountain. But scenery is great there.

hey adel,

sounds like you had fun! =)

ya..the climb to wineglass bay lookout and to wineglass bay is no joke..i'm not the atheletic type so had quite a tough time =P

actually i thought honeymoon beach was quite nice...we climbed on the rocky beach to go further up and managed to find some nice quiet romantic spots to stop and chill for some food/wine.

325263.jpg

haha..ya, there are some parts with seaweeds..but generally quite clear..though the water was COLD (cold enough to chill our wine) when we were there during onset of spring.

if not freycinet..there are lots of beaches along the entire east coast with lovely sand/water.

the following pics were taken at nine mile beach overlooking freycinet

325322.jpg

325323.jpg

hey KPO, thanks for your photos!
I like the clear blue skies in your photos...really nice!
Never mind, if I can't swim there, I will bring my picnic mat, wine, cheese etc and have a picnic at the beach!

My hubby and I just love chilling out and doing nothing....we can spend days just lazing by the beach.

Thanks Adel,
I have already booked 2 nights at Cradle Mountain Lodge!

And I have also booked 2 nights at a spa cabin at Freycinet Lodge.
Hope its really nice!

And Adel, i understan what you mean. But I will still be going to Cradle via Mole Creek cos I want to visit the caves, But coming back, I will be going through Sheffield.

Hi littlemay,
That is what I did too, I drove to mole creek to cradle mountain and come back using Sheffield. Our initial plan is to visit the caves. But change our mind after all the climbing at Freycineth, Bicheno, Ralph fall.
Dun miss the Honey Farm at Mole Creek. I miss that and I regret it.

325442.jpg

Hi littlemay,
That is what I did too, I drove to mole creek to cradle mountain and come back using Sheffield. Our initial plan is to visit the caves. But change our mind after all the climbing at Freycineth, Bicheno, Ralph fall.
Dun miss the Honey Farm at Mole Creek. I miss that and I regret it.

325444.jpg

Sorry for the double copy. That's Hazard beach at Freycineth National Park. and the attached pic below is Painted Cliff at Maria Island.
325451.jpg

Hi Adel, do you feel it will be a regret to miss Sheffield? I found day tours to Cradle which goes Sheffield but don't go Honey Farm (http://www.experiencetas.com.au/765.html), while the one that goes to the Honey Farm and Marapooka Caves don't go Sheffield (http://www.tigerwilderness.com.au/cradle/).
The later is better value for money it seems, and I'm likely to take their Lavender & Sparkles tour (pity it don't include visit to Strawberry farm too).

Hi littlemay,
I have other photos, but all big files. Need to resize them before upload to web. I even take down the food that we ate. Took about 900 digital and 6 roll of films. CRAZY, right? =P

Hi Cat,
U are going this Dec and next Jan right? I had taken a couple of brochures on daytour during my trip. Will see if they have any that go both places. The two route is different as Honey Farm is mainly food-tasting place while Sheffield is more artistic - more things to see and they have nice restaurant there. Give me a weekend to read the daytours.

If you don't really like strawberry picking, then it is ok to opt that out. I dun like the smell of lavender and its product make me feel uneasy, but the lavender house at Rowell (Tamar Valley) give me a nice impression and the shop is very comfortable and cosy (mainly decor in purple)as well. Din go to Marapooka Caves, hence no comment. But my colleague was there 2 yrs back. She said it is nice. Cave is clean, wet and cool, can see glow worms but no bats in caves.

Hi KPO,
Thank you for your info, esp those before my trip. I was tired after the 5 hrs walk at Freycineth, followed by the lighthouse, then sleepy bay. SO, after all the beautiful sighseeing, the moment I saw the honeymoon bay, I was a bit disappointed. Hence, din climb over the rock beach. I should have go there. Will take note for my next trip. I still have not covered the west coast. BTW, the nine mile beach is beautiful.

hi i went to tasmania for honeymoon in feb 2004 and we loved it there too. we climbed freycinet and cradle mountain..cradle mountain was damn shag.4 hours.. we slept straight after we went back to the lodge .
we also kayaked 2 hours around freycinet with a guide..beautiful but energy consuming.
i wish we could go back there again

dear adel,

you are most welcome. ya, i too was damn exhausted after all the climbing/walking at freycinet national park =P

we are also planning to go back to tassie 'cos it's such a lovely place and yes, there's still the west coast as well as other smaller islands to explore.

looking fwd to your sharing of photos. i didn't take as much photos as you did! not sure if you took any from on top mt wellington? if yes, do share 'cos when i was there...it was so cold and foggy so only took a couple photos.

Littlemay, you changed your AUD yet? Looks like the rates is going up again since they nabbed the terrorist suspects.

Yes I did. I was up at Mt Wellington on a clear, sunny afternoon. After 30mins, the entire place turned very frosty in split seconds. We are lucky to see the overview. I took a few shots only. Abt 10pic.

Hi Cat,
I changed at Lucky Plaza. Rate is abt S$1.25=A$1 in 23/Oct. U can try there or Suntec. The rate in town like tampines, bedok, yishun is not good. Abt S$1.28 or S$1.29.

Hi Cat,
My dad helped me to change A$1000, cos he was changing $$$ for my brother to bring to australia, He's studying in Brisbane. Think the rate is about 1.25. But I don't think I will bring that much. Prob bring only half of it...A$1000 sounds like a lot!
So excited about my trip now...will post my photos once i'm back!

KPO, did you try horse riding at cradle? I intend to trek, horse ride, kayak, and wrapped up with a massage at the spa in cradle mountain.

Am also planning to go to Tas. Setting off on 19 Nov. Wonder if anyone who have been to tas can advise whether there is any tulip farm attraction during such time of the year.

No really sure if it is the season for tulip liao! Tulip blooming in late sep to begin of oct. By the time, I went to Hobart (late Oct; south part of Tassie- temp is cooler as compared to LST) tulip bloom season is over. Cannot see rolls of tulips, only a couple of them in the garden.

anyone who has been there in early dec, can let me know what is the temperature like in Hobart, Freycinet, Lauceston and Cradle Mountain?

Hi! For those who is lazy to bushwalk in Freycineth can go for their sea charter. Look romantics from the phamplet I got. If you are interested, PM me. Will send u the phamplet for freycineth sea charter and Maria Island Eco Tour.

Yo Adel, PM you already. The tour you link above not as attractive as the two I linked. Actually got one by Fun Tassie Tour that visits all the places (Honey Farm, Mole Creek, Cradle Mt., Sheffield), but it costs A$179... Looks like gotta decide between the 2. Dilemma is I like the Cradle & Caves tour, as they give a 1&half hr guided walk at Cradle. The other tours seem to just put you there to walk on your own.

Autumnair, you around? Did you go Cradle Mountain daytour with Experience Tasmania? Can know your feedback?

Hi oden, you leaving next week, now then researching?

Hi Cat,

I went wif ExperienceTas to Cradle Mt. If I remembered correctly, other than my hubby n I, there were only 2 Jap ladies for the Cradle Mt tour. Pretty enriching trip cos our driver was also the “tour guideâ€...he told us interesting stories, info etc abt the plantations, towns we passed by during our journey to Cradle Mt...in a way, good cos u won’t fall asleep in the coach!

Before reaching Cradle Mt, we stopped over at Sheffield (town of murals) for some complimentary tea and snacks. This was where we got to hear more stories abt the town, had interaction wif our tour mates n had some time for photo-taking of Sheffield.

Upon reaching Cradle Mt, the driver gave us a short guided tour, then we were given a bit more time to be on our own...aftertt, we proceed for lunch at the Cradle Village Café. We also stopped over at Waldheim Chalet (cannot recall wat it was...think it was the hse of someone famous)...n also paid a visit to Ashgrove Cheese Farm for some cheese tasting and cheese-making session...

Hope it helps!

Hi autumnair, thanks! Pretty much what I expected. So it's still between guided walk or Sheffield. The Cradle & Caves tour actually will put us at Cradle Mt. Lodge for lunch, so if can't stay there, at least get to visit and eat there.
Haiz... how nice is Sheffield anyway?

I am booked on Jetstar tickets from Melbourne to Hobart. Its from Melbourne Tullamarine airport.
Anyone can advise if the Tullamarine airport is near to the international airport?

Have decided to go for the Cradle & Caves tour and give up Sheffield...

Anyone been to see penguins on Tasmania? Thinking of going for a Low Head Penguin tour since the Lavender tour is only half day.

Good. Cardle & cave is a nice choice. Enjoy.

Tasmania has fairy penguins only. They are small and cute. Late Oct is their mating season, hence I had the chance to see penguin eggs and chick. Little chick will be on shore for 40 days before they are ready to swim out into the sea where they will hunt their own fishes. I dun find fairy penguin as beautiful as their cousin in the Antarctic.

Hi littlemay,
The domestic airport is just walking distance from international airport. I took up the qantas package (from sin to hobart, include domestic flight). Hence, have to wait at the airport for 4 hr and nothing to do. Will advise to book separately cos there are plenty of domestic flight to hobart in the earlier hour. But Not sure how is the price like?

Ey? How come my Jetstar airticket confirmation states it as Tullamarine Airport?
I booked separately, from SQ and then Jetstar, I only have 2 hours in between! I hope I have enough time to catch the SQ international flight back cos I think international flight must check in earlier! Oh no!

hi seen the penguins at night near swansea.
that night was drizzling , cold and windy though it was feb. hid behind the big ang mohs to keep warm..saw many many penguins...
dont miss the lemon tart if u are going to swansea. and be prepared physically if u are climbing cradle mountain

No worry, littlemay.

I oso have 2 hr interval betweent the domestic flight and international flight when I return back to SIngapore.