Tasmania - DIY!

Hi littlemay, thanks for all the links. (^_^) Yah, gotta look out for the deceptive 'pp'.

For B&B in Hobart, you may like to check out these:
The Lodge on Elizabeth, which is a bit far for us as we are not driving.
http://www.thelodge.com.au/drawpage.cgi?pageID=10
Edinburgh Gallery B&B, which you'll have to take the Executive Suite if you are not comfortable with a shared bathroom for the Queen Room.
http://www.artaccom.com.au/index.htm

For Launceston, I've made an enquiry to Windmill Hill Lodge:
http://www.classicallytasmania.com.au/windmill.htm
Only wondering if it might not be inaccesible if we are walking. Also considering Old Bakery Inn else Prince Albert Inn. But we prefer B&B, cos we lazy to hunt out breakfast early in the morning...:p
You can check out:
Colonial on Elizabeth - http://www.colonialinn.com.au/

Hi littlemay, you gotta take note that on Wotif, the price gets cheaper the nearer to date. The A$120 price is valid only for current week booking. If you go right to the end of the 28 days, the price is A$160. It's a gamble if you wanna leave your accomodations unbooked until so close to departure.

If we are going in non peak season, some have posted that we can even go there then book from the tourism center, sometimes got great deals. But since we are going in Dec, dun think we can take the chance. *sigh*

I've sent my booking for Launceston to Kurrajong House B&B - http://www.kurrajonghouse.com.au . Windmill Hill Lodge did not reply my enquiry, but Kurrajong is very prompt. It's on the other side of the swimming pool from Waratah on York. Found this Fiona B&B which is quite close to CBD, but more expensive - http://www.fionas-bnb.com.au

Tentatively, I've bookings as follows:
Hobart - Custom House Hotel (3 nights)
Launceston - Kurrajong House B&B (3 nights)
Melbourne - Duxton Hotel (3 nights)
All are as yet unconfirmed. Suppose gotta wait til Monday to receive confirmation. Keeping my fingers crossed.

Hi Cat, Kurrajonghoue looks great! ANyway, accomodation and Hobart and Launceston should be easier to find....Accom in Freycinet, Port Arthur and Cradle Mountain are more likely to be full during peak...so I don't mind waiting for wotif to book accom at Launceston...shouldn't be a problem

Great to be of help, littlemay. (^-^)

My accomodation bookings all confirmed! Yeah! Now can concentrate on finding good coach tours. Any recommendations anyone? Though most of you driving so don't really need day tours. :p

Cat,
where you intend to touch on? Like gng for sightseeing, hiking, going into national park, etc.

I din book my accommodations. And was grateful with this decision cos this week quite a number of place is flooded, so we might have to change our destination as we go along.

ladies, there's this little restauant at east devenport that is worth a visit. called gingerbread house (or something like that). nice food, huge servings, not expensive.

hobart (city) accommodation not easy to get and pretty expensive too...can try slightly off city location..i.e huon, lindisfarne? i'd like to recommend this B&B that i stayed in - Huon Franklin Cottage..really affordable, cosy and sweet place..nice and friendly owners.

If you really want good location - Hobart MidCity (near shopping mall) is very centralise but not extremely posh but decently priced..

i just returned from tassie last week..so if you need more info, just let me know..or you can email me at [email protected]

for my trip..we started from hobart..drove along east coast all the way up to launceston and back. if you are also planning to go that way..i can share my travel tips.

321919.jpg

321920.jpg

Hi Adel, what you meant by flooded? Is Tasmania experiencing flooding now?

Hi autumnair, I've check out the website of those 2 companys already. Via website they dun look very interesting leh.

I've found these few which seems quite nice. For Hobart:
http://www.showyoutasmania.com.au/
Considering their Airport Transfer with Tour option cos arriving 7.55am can't check in. Might go Richmond. Then maybe join their evening tour of Mt Wellington & City Sights. Cos we'll be waiting all night in Melbourne for flight to Hobart so wanna rest in the afternoon.
Then Sunday maybe take their Launceston tour and request to drop off in Launceston. Our B&B offered to pick us up at the bus depot if we taking coach transfer (RedLineCoaches) instead. So nice of them.

http://www.bottombitsbus.com.au/index.htm
Wanna do their Freycinet & Wineglass Bay tour, and take their Port Arthur Tour on Saturday after shopping at Salamanca Market.

Not doing Huon Valley. We got quite enough of tree top walks and wildlife tours on our trips to Cairns and Gold Coast.

For Launceston:
http://www.funtassietours.com/
Bit expensive compared to others, but itinery looks interesting. Else can consider Tigerline or ExperienceTasmania for Cradle Mountain.
Our problem with Launceston is that there seems to be no trip doing both Tamar Valley & Lavender Farm. We got only 2 full days there, and of cos 1 gotta be for Cradle Mountain... Go Tasmania in Dec never see Lavendar Farm a bit stupid right? But then Tamar Valley how?

http://www.treasureislandcoaches.com.au/index.htm
This one might take their Penguin tour on our arrival day in Launceston if possible.

Then of cos, there's always Grayline available, but only for Hobart it seems: http://www.grayline.com/franchise.cfm/action/details/id/152 Day tours webbie for Launceston not as much as Hobart. Found this website very handy too, and not just for tours. Check this out: http://www.traveldownunder.com.au/index.asp

If any of you doing Melbourne too, found this great tour for Great Ocean Road: http://www.atwad.com.au/ Of course, failing which there's always Grayline. We've done quite a few day tours with Grayline on our trips to Australia. Not very cosy, but the standard is always there.

We go tour always very jam packed one.
Anyway for Australia, there's all night to relax in, nothing much to do nor see on TV.

Hi KPO, your B&B looks so cute
, got bear on bed one. Do share with us your travel experience.

P.S.
, I long time never use this forum almost forgot it's emoticons, hence the abundance of them in this post.

Hi KPO,
Yes, I'm interested in your itinerary. I am travelling from Hobart to Freycinet to Launceston to Cradle Mountain and back to Launceston. Not covering the west coast as I only have 10 days and as my hubby is the only one driving, I don't want him to be too tired.

Hence, my itinerary as follows:
2 nights Hobart - Customs House Hotel
1 night Port Arthur Comfort Inn
2 nights Freycinet Lodge
1 night Fiona B&B in Launceston
2 nights Cradle Mt Lodge (or 1 night Cradle Mt Lodge and 1 night Mole Creek Guesthouse)
1 night fiona B&B in Launceston

Can you share with me the no. of nights you spend at each place and the accom that you stayed at?
Ask you for advice, you think I shld stay 2 nights at Cradle Mt Lodge or split into 1 night CML and 1 night Mole Creek Guesthouse? Reason being CML is more ex than the accom at Mole Creek.

hi cat/adel,
some places threatened to flood - tunbridge..but didn't happen 'cos they managed to divert the flow..though the residents were evacuated for a short while. when you are there..just watch out for news and updates.

Thank you, KPO.

I closely into their daily news. Will be leaving tonight.

Hi littlemay,
The places I going are about the same as yours. Will let you know how things goes after I'm back.

hi littlemay,

your itinerary seems very do-able..in fact, 10days is alot to see/do!

i can't advise much on the cradle-mt area 'cos i didn't go there as i had much less days than you do =P you can probably check w adel since she said she's doing very much the same.

i didn't have a fixed itinerary to start with..for self-drive, we usually leave it very fluid 'cos we like to make last min decisions on where to go/stay.

roughly, what we did in the 6days when we were in tassie was as follows:

- arrived at hobart domestic airport late at night..spent one night at Lindisfarne Motor Inn 'cos we were too tired to drive far.
(it was lousy, room was dingy and price was ex)

- next day, we explored lindisfarne, rosny, bellerive (seven mile beach was closed!), richmond, sorell, dunalley (we took the coastal dirt track drive which took awhile but well worth the effort 'cos the coastline is beautiful!), tasman national park (passed eaglehawk neck, taskman blowhole/arch and devils kitchen - must see!), port arthur (where we did guided tour, cruise). then we drove back to hobart and onwards to huon where we spent the night (took us the entire day, quite a lot of driving but still manageable) - pick up the 'Convict Trail' touring map & guide from the visitor's centre, it'll give you clear instructions of the routes and what to see.

- next morning, explored huon region (huon river, tahune forest airwalk). then made our way to hobart (visited apple museum, jam factory along the way, mt wellington *so cold and windy* and spent the afternoon at salamanca *must-see*). spent the night at hobart midcity hotel (good location, decent price)

- next morning, set off to explore east coast (via orford, triabunna, swanport, swansea (consider staying at Waterloo Inn or Swansea Motor Inn with terrific views of bay), nine mile beach (great beach to drive on, pick up some seashells and stop for a picnic, nice view of freycinet national park), popped by freycinet winery (great pinot noir, chardonnay!), down to freycinet national park where we spent a bit more time to explore (i.e. oyster bay, sleepy bay,honeymoon bay, richardsons beach, cape tourville, wineglass bay etc.). then we continued driving to bicheno (blowhole, silver sands resort looks good for a night-stay), elephant pass, st marys and spent the night at Samander (stayed at Chancellor Inn Scamander Beach, decent price w breakfast, great view of beach!).

- next day we continued north via st helens (st helens point, georges bay), pyengana (checked out cheese factory and st columba falls), derby, branxholm, scottsdale (forestry interpretation centre) then to launceston via hwy A3 (16km of long & winding road..quite tiring to drive and scary too). lunch at launceston, checked into penny inn and then explored the gorge by foot for the rest of the afternoon.

- next day, explored launceston city..then drove back to hobart to catch our evening flight to Perth. took the heritage highway via perth (river, eskleigh, baptist tabernacle), longford (brickendon, woolmers), epping, cleveland (stables gallery), campbell (red bridge, museum, wool), ross (sandstone buildings, ross bridge, wool centre), tunbridge (ghost town 'cos everyone was evacuated!), oatlands (court house, callington mill, st paul's catholic church), jericho (convict probation station, memorial), kempton, bagdad, mangalore, pontville.

sorry a bit messy 'cos trying to piece the bits together from memory. we drove the car tires thin..must say it was kinda rush and wished we had more time to spare to explore tassie a bit more. think you'll have a better trip than i do 'cos you'll be able to do it more leisurely and go to more places.

since you are staying the night at port arthur..can do the night tour! 2 nights at freycinet also mean that you can really explore freycinet national park thoroughly - mainly on foot so bring proper shoes/attire that are good for walking/climbing. oh yeah..mosquito repellent too!!

Woah KPO, your trip really packed! I will be there 6 days too, but think I will only see half of what you cover. You didn't visit the Lavender Farm? But of course it wasn't in season when you were there so might not be worth visiting then.

I found a tour company that does the Heritage Highway tour, which can serve as our intercity transfer b/w Hobart & Launceston - http://www.backtracktassietours.com.au/index.html But gotta check if they running that tour on the day we want.

Wish Adel a good trip!
kao_babydust.gif

hi cat,

guess we are used to self-drives so can cover more distance. actually i believe some people can do more then what we did 'cos we frequently got distracted along the way (by scenic lookout pts, bric-a-brac shops, unique architectures etc.) & gone off course. we skipped the lavender farm 'cos i checked with the locals when i was there and they mentioned oct's not a good time.

the drive from launceston to hobart via heritage highway is a quick/easy one 'cos mostly str roads.

adel/littlemay,

you gals flying str to tasmania? i found airtic from sin to tassie to be ex? if you have more time to spare..can add another location to your trip then fly domestic (on virginblue or jetstar to tassie). i flew jetstar from adelaide to hobart only A$100 plus taxes.

can check out www.ratestogo.com for your accommodation needs. but typically can book only 1-2week in advance of your travelling dates. if you aren't too fussy with accommodation (like me!) and have a tight budget..you'll be happy to know that most of the accommodations that i've gotten from ratestogo are around A$100/per room per night (or less).

for western australia accommodation, can check out www.discoverwest.com for online accommodation bookings

HI KPO,
Nope, not flying straight to Tassie. Cos the airtix to Tas are all fully booked. So I manage to book SQ tix to MEL and Jetstar tix from MEL to TAS.

Hi KPO,
Yup, I will be going for the ghost tour at Port Arthur!

And still considering whether to stay 2 nights at Freycinet or 1 night at Swansea and 1 night at Freycinet.
Is swansea nice and worth staying for a night?

hi littlemay,

freycinet lodge is quite ex right? personally..i'd prefer to split 1N at Swansea & 1N at Freycinet. there are several beachfront accommodations at Swansea - real nice view..might be worthwhile to check them out (i.e. Waterloo Inn, Swansea Motor Inn - v reasonable rates). think Swansea is a nice place to chill but frankly not much to see/do. why not you spend 1N freycinet and another night further up north (i.e. Scottsdale?) instead of staying 2N at locations so close to each other?

i've been to melbourne already...Must agree that the great ocean road drive is lovely.
Oh, KPO, when I go on trips, I prefer to have sufficient time to explore each place, Hence I like to stay at least 2 nights at a place so that I can explore it fully...Don't want to be tired out from the trip...meant to relax...
Or rather, I'm just lazy

Anyone has pictures trips they have been recently to tasmania?

I was there few yrs back...was wondering if anything changed. But didn't travel much except to Mt Wellington, Salamanca Market (every weekend - a must to destress), Port Arthur, etc.

Seriously, it's easy to drive around during that time. Now not sure.

I thought from the airport they have the "shuttle" (must pay lah..cheaper than taxi) that brings u to sandy bay's casino hotel? Do they still have that available?

Hi KPO, I'm doing same as littlemay for flights, only ours is Emirates then Jetstar. We'll be staying in Melbourne for 3N on way back cos I haven't been there, but my hubby had.

Hi littlemay, how much did your flights cost you? Ours turned out to be around S$1000/pax incl. taxes. Initially asked travel agency, incl. Pricebreaker all quoted us at least $1000 w/o taxes.

We were trying to compare if it'll be cheaper to got F&E or with package. Now est. cost for whole trip is $3600/pax. If go with package then extend in Melbourne, I calculate that to come to almost $4k/pax. So cheaper a bit lah.
But lotsa work researching...

Hi Cat,
My tickets are more ex. Cos we are flying by SQ. Total turns out to be about $1200. But its ok lah, cos my hubby wants to travel by SQ.

I think if you go via package, its definitely cheaper. A tasmania and Melbourne trip with Chan Brothers cost ABOUT $2388 without taxes. We work out that our 10 day Tasmania trip itself will cost about $3600-$3700 per pax. That's because we are staying for 2 nights at Freycinet Lodge and 2 nights at Cradle Mt Lodge. Besides I budgeted A$100 each for spa at Cradle Mt Lodge. So I think it boils down to what kind of trip you want, if you stay at cheaper hotels, it might be cheaper than package tours. But then again, with package tour, you have less flexibility and less privacy...wouldn't really be a like a honeymoon right?

Yo littlemay, Chan Bros Tas & Mel package is $2800 b4 taxes, with taxes is $3100. I know cos I was considering going with them cos dates is the same as the time we going. So plus 2N extension in Mel and the day tours... come up to almost $4k. Anyway, my hubby prefer F&E (he's not the one doing homework...

My flight cheap cos the timing is horrible. We'll reach Melbourne airport around 1 a.m. Then we gotta wait til 6 a.m. for our flight into Hobart... That's why 1st day only planning for evening tour, will be sleeping the afternoon away.

Agreed it's nicer to do honeymoon F&E. No rush, no waiting for other pple, and everything just the 2 of you. We had our honeymoon F&E in Tokyo too, so enjoyable.

We'd have liked a night up in Cradle Mt Lodge too, but you gotta take a coach to Devonport, then catch shuttle (only 2 times a day on 3 days) up. Similar restriction for coming down too.
Too much trouble...

Hi Cat, OIC, I didn't know that package tour will cost $3100...So my trip isn't so expensive after all :P
Anyway, I'm sure both you and I will enjoy our trip very much! Really looking forward to it. I will be 2 days after my wedding...Actually wanted to go Spain or Greece or France or Italy. But was afraid that the weather is gloomy, cold and overcast...that's why decided on Tassie instead. Hope I won't regret it!

Won't lah, won't lah.
It's so much more cheery to go to a Spring or Summer place. I was pondering b/w Switzerland and Tasmania too, cos Tasmania so ex can go Europe already. Your trip definitely not ex, considering you will be there longer than the package's 6D, and you will be staying in pretty good places like Freycinet and Cradle Mt. Lodge.
We actually found F&E to be cheaper than package (w/o sacrificing accomodation standards too!), and you might actually see more things if you are not too lazy.
Like we did Cairns & Gold Coast F&E, and it turn out cheaper and we cover more places than if we had gone on package. That's was our first time F&E, and we since decided that there's no need to go with package for Australia at all!

Oh ya, littlemay, all the best for your wedding.
kao_babydust.gif
You may want to settle all the travel details a.s.a.p. so that you can concentrate on last minute wedding details.
We went on our honeymoon 2 days after the wedding too. At least got 1 day to rest and settle any loose ends.

Hi Cat, yep, Australia is relatively easy to travel on your own. You can try NZ next if you haven't tried. I backpacked there for 3 weeks and I loved it. But of cos, that time i really stayed at cheap accoms like YHA hostels...
Now honeymoon diff...must stay at nicer places!

Thanks Cat, I have already booked all my accom, now left with car rental which my hubby is responsible for booking...(so that he can choose the car he wants to drive

Hey, we may even meet each other at Melbourne airport? I will be touching down in Melbourne on 9th Dec morning 9plus, and then taking the 12 plus flight to Hobart.

Yo littlemay, we're leaving Melbourne only on 10th 8pm flight. Won't be running into each other...So you drive in NZ too? Feel that NZ better to F&E too, but given the distances a bit tough if not driving. Anyway, now working how to take 3 wks leave?

BTW, like to check with everyone, do you mostly settle by cash or card on your trip? Especially for big bills like accomodation? Feel uneasy bringing lotsa cash, but the credit card's exhange rate is horrible!

Hi Cat, 2 weeks is enough if you are only visiting the South Island. Nope, didn't drive, haven't got to know my hubby then. (I can't drive)

I took the coach throughout the trip. NZ is very tourist friendlly. I didn't join any day tours, just took the coach from town to town.

For accomodation, I normally pay by credit cards. For others, I will pay by cash.
What's the exchange rate now? 1.3?

Ya littlemay, credit card exchange is 1.3. Just received the bill for Jetstar flights.

What about the others? Also big bills by credit card rest by cash?

oh i forgot, u gotta pay for quite a number of day tours.
Cos for me, my car rental and accom will be paid by credit cards. Others like food, entrance tix, short day tours etc. I will prob pay by cash.
Actually when I go overseas, I prefer to bring more cash becos of the favourable exchange rate over credit cards, but my hubby prefers to pay by credit card. So we have to strike a balance somewhere. I haven't decided how much to bring.
Let you know nearer the date

Littlemay, you still looking out for accomodation? Thought you all booked already?

Autumnair, did you prebooked your day tours or only when when you are there? For Cairns & Gold Coast we could even book on the very day for the tour. Dunno if it's the same for Tasmania? Cos I'd like to go there and see if there's more choices than those we can find on the internet, or maybe even have some special offers available.

Littlemay, found the website for Merre Be's - http://www.merrebes.com.au/index.htm. Looks very nice. Do take note that the prices should be per pax.

Actually, since you are driving, there's no need to "camp" at Custom House Hotel for you. I choose Custom House Hotel cos it's accessible and nearby the Tourist Information Centre. Else I'd have opt for Edinburgh Gallery B&B or some romantic B&B.

hi cat, i booked customs house already but since the cancellation policy is 24 hours, I'm still looking out for other alternatives, cos Customs HOuse has no parking available. Not sure how expensive the overnight parking is. So might be better off choosing another place.
I saw Edinburgh's website...a bit too arty for my liking...got leopard skin carpet somemore...not really my type.

The Merrebes website is very ooutdated, 2002 one...so I'm asking them for the updated rates. The pictures don't look nice froom the website...but if you see the pictures of Merre Bes in discovertasmania website, the rooms look lovely.

The leopard skin pattern carpet looks cool I feel.
Was considering it cos near travel center also (200m to transit center it says), but the suite is A$150/night...unless we take the Queen room and use the shared bathroom.

Anyway, yah, I forgot you need accomodation with parking one. But there's plenty of accomodation in Hobart, think it shouldn't be a problem finding one you will like. Only that Hobart accomodation generally more expensive (compared to Launceston).

most of the big bills - car rental, accommodation by credit card 'cos not used to carrying loads of cash. by the way, better to change money here 'cos many moneychangers in australia impose comm charges.

not sure if it applies to most car rental..but there's this car rental place that we used in adelaide that charged an insurance bond (A$3500) to our card (refundable)...and 'cos we only use 1 credit card..we were maxed out towards the end of our trip after all the airtics, car rental, accommodation charges!

so if you are like us..only using a single credit card..might want to consider requseting for a temporary increase in credit limit just in case.

Hi Cat,

We pre-booked all our day tours and accomodation. Very kiasu but we din want to spoil the honeymoon...imagine u go there to book n they say no more seats! of course we can book when we are there but bear in mind tt if u r travelling during their peak period, it is better tt u pre-book. Oh, anyway we only paid when we collected the tickets.

Hi autumnair, thanks for replying. I only got 3 tours decided, so will likely prebook those only. Launceston's tours I'm not satisfied with what I find on the internet, hence wanna see if more choices are available there. And the rest is dependent on our traveling so keeping our options open. I do have a few tours in mind for those days, just that have to see can match or not.

Beginning of Dec is not peak yet, so I hope I won't run into "full house". Higher possibility that the tour might not be running that day due to insufficient people...

Most of the prebooking requires credit card details. So is that just to hold the booking and you can opt to pay in cash when joining the tour? I thought it means will charge to credit card.

Hi KPO, no worries, we'll be bringing 2 cards each. Only time we increase credit limit and maxed out our cards was when paying for our wedding banquet.

Need advise people. Would you recommend changing A$ now? Seems that rate dropped quite a bit due to the threat of terrorist attack. Should I:
1) Change all now (my hubby says)
2) Change partial (I feel)
3) Wait and see (you think it will drop further?)

hmm..the thing about forex is you'd never be able to accurately predict which way it'll go..and it can be very volatile even on a daily basis.

all i can suggest is - try the moneychanger at mustafa - very good rates for almost all currencies =P

for launceston..don't miss the gorge..i thought it's pretty amazing! if you are a daredevil - try abseiling/climbing at the gorge.