Tasmania - DIY!

Good Morning. I'm planning to go to Tasmania for my honeymoon. Wow, there are so many posts, later in the evening will read it up.

Some questions:-
1. Any direct flight to Tasmania?
2. Any hotels to recommend?
3. Is taking tour package cheaper or book the airplan and hotel cheaper?

hi karen, i booked my air ticket and the domestic flights with Anglo-french tour agency all together. They are quite helpful, can try calling them. From Sin to Melb, it is abt 7 hours flight and Aussie time is 3 hrs earlier than ours.

Hi jas, i don't think there is any direct flight to Taz, need to go from Melb. I prefer free and easy cos it is more fun that way, you choose to stop and stay whenever you want. Tour packages are normally quite rushed.

I stayed at these accommodation before and I think they are quite good. You can consider.

Cradle Mountain - Cradle Mountain highlanders
http://www.cradlehighlander.com.au

Launceston - Windmill Tourist Lodge
http://www.classicallytasmania.com.au/windmill.htm

Bicheno - Bicheno Gaol Cottages
www.bichenogaolcottages.com

hi jas,

it's best to do Taz F & E. rent a car and explore taz at your own time.

I enjoyed my trip to Taz in Oct so much, I would encourage everyone to go as well!

I took Quantas as they had a promo - $678 for sin-mel, mel-launceston or hobart, 2 way.

As for accomodation, u can book online on wotif. Select those under the innkeepers range, very good! I stayed in Quest Trinity House in Hobart, Swansea Ocean Villas, Port Arthur Lodge. Bay View Villa is also cheap and good!

We drove down the east coast of Taz, from Launceston to Hobart. Scenery is simply breathtaking! The ppl there are really friendly! I did my PS there and received many congratulations as we went along!

Have fun in your planning. Taz is a great choice for honeymoon!

Hi I have great acoomodation to recommend if u are going anywhere near Freycinet.
I went to tassie last feb and wanted to book Freycinant lodge at first. but it was fully booked and I ended up with this place called "
edge of the bay ". its beautiful and the food at the restaurant is so good!
the only minus pt is the water in the toilet bowl is yellow but that part can be ignored..haha
check out this place in the internet..

Hi Cody,

Is there any difference between visiting Tas in Aug or Sep? When is levander in full bloom?

My fiance and I plan to go Tas for honeymoon shortly after our wedding in Jul but we are very concerned about the weather, especially at Cradle Mountain. Please advise.

hihi... anyone here? am planning to go tasmania for HM next Jan.. care to share your experience mah? dunno where to start with lor

Hi. Lavendar in full bloom should be somewhere between Dec-Jan (depending on rainfall etc) There's one Lavender farm up in the North - Bridestowe Lavender. Weather in Tassie generally colder than mainland. (although Jan is summer)You need to bring thick clothings to Cradle Mtn. The weather may change as you walk thro' the dove lake circuit. Besides Freycinet, other places that's worth a visit are St Helen's, Bicheno, Bruny island etc.

hey Annie.. thanks for the respond.. hehe... had always wanted to visit the lavandar farm.. hehe.. few years ago i was in melboune at around nov but didnt manage to go cos my friends not really interested.. heeh.. now's the chance.. hehe

oh.. to those who planning their honeymoon to tas, i have emailed the tas tourism board lor.. below is the reply.
In the meantime you may find some useful information at the following
websites:

Discover Tasmania
Tasmanian Travel Centres
Tasmania's Temptations Holidays

If you would like to make a reservation or have any further queries,
please
do not hesitate to contact us via return email:
[email protected] or call our Travel Service Centre on
655 145. Our Tasmanian experts are available to assist you from 8.30am
to
6.30pm Monday to Friday and 8.30am to 2.30pm Saturday.
Kind regards,
Greg.

Travel Consultant
Tasmanian Travel Centre
www.tastravel.com.au
Local Call Cost from anywhere in Australia
Phone: 1300 655 145
International: +613-6336 3214

Hi. I'm planning to go Taz for my honeymoon this coming Jan. Wonder is it possible for F&E without a self drive coz my FH dont wish to drive there. And recommendation?

Any idea of any car rental that is nice and reasonably? How much are they charge daily? I plan to go round the island, any suggestion for a MUST GO place eg. cradle-mountain? What can I see in early Nov?

Hi Adel,
I'm planning my Tasmania trip in Dec. Let's exchange notes!

My itinerary includes 3 nights in Hobart, 2 nights in Freycinet Lodge, 2 nights in Launcestonm and 2 nights in Cradle Mountain Lodge.

Heard that wineglass bay and cradle mountains are must go places.

I intend to go rafting in Picton River, walking at Tahune Airwalk and picnicking at Wineglass Bay and horse riding at Cradle Mountain. That's why I planned at least 2 nights at each place.

ANyone here has suggestion of accom in Hobart and Launceston? The ones at Freycinet Lodge and Cradle Mountained cost me a BOMB. A$220 per night! WOW!

Can do with cheap car rental recommendation too!

I just got my air ticket. Initially, thot of going round island, but now only travel from Hobart to Launceston. So, have to replan.

Places like Salamance Place, Port Arthur, Richmond, Wineglass Bay, Freycinet, Ross bridge, Cradle Mt, Tamar valley are the MUST go place for me. I might give up Mt Nelson (west coast). If you have chance, go there the Nelson fall is nice.
Won't visit any lavendar farm for my trip cos not the season. U can pay a visit since you're there in Dec. Which date u going? How many days in tasmania? From which town to which?

www.budget.com.au is the cheapest car rental I saw so far.

hi littlemay and Adel, abt cradle mountain hor.. actually nothing much to see lor.. but if u wanna go wineglass bay.. prepare to take off ur thick thick clothings on the way.. cos u will intend to perspire.. haha.. Port Authur is nice too.. went for the ghost tour and phew.. mixture of cold and hot while listening to the tour guide for his ghost story..

harlow,
Is Port Arthur really worth going? I was giving Port Arthur a miss in exchange for Huon and the Tahune Airwalk...

Seems like i might change my itinerary.

I'm going from 9th to 18th Dec
Travelling from Hobart to Freycinet to Launceston to Cradle and then back to Launceston.

It's alright if you are one who dislike convict history. Cos the place is a prison heritage for life-sentence convicts in the olden days. And they are ghost stories telling tour, etc.

Personally, I find it worth cos it is part of the history of Tasmania and along the road are nice scenery and road completed by convicts. THe building heritage is worth seeing esp during sunset.

Hi Jumbo,
Thanks. I prefer something more natural and love to see animals hence going to cradle mountain might be a good idea.

Noted. Will layer my clothing when i'm ard Wineglass bay.

hi jumbo, where did you stay when you were at Tasmania the other time? I booked at Freycinet Lodge and Cradle Mountain Lodge but it cost A$220 per night! I can stay at Ritz Carlton Singapore at that price!

hi littlemay, I've stay at four different apartments during my one week stay... had sent u the link to see my pics liao.. but the one give me the most home feel one is at Bicheno, at Allen Street... it is a house owned by an old couple.. (u can see it from the photos)...

I prefer to book Freycinet Lodge and Cradle Mountain Lodge when I'm in Hobart and Lanceston as they may have offer or attractive package than wat internet have offer.
I'm a bit worried abt the petrol prices and the kisok.
Anyone know abt the National Parks pass? Must we purchase the pass for individual park or can apply for all? Prices and where to get them.
Read on Bicheno. Wil visit the town and the bay of fires.

adel, I found another accom at Freycinet...
http://www.edgeofthebay.com.au/
Its more beautiful than the Freycinet Lodge, but it cost a bomb.

So adel, have you decided on your itinerary? Like how many nights in which towns? Can share?
This is mine

3 nights Hobart (Customs House Hotel)
1 night Swansea (Meredith House)
1 night Freycinet (Freycinet Lodge)
1 night Launceston (Balmoral on the York)
2 nights Cradle (Cradle Mountain Lodge) But thinking of reducing to 1 night instead...
1 night Launceston (Freycinet Lodge)

My hubby is the only one driving..hence we do not wish to make the itinerary too packed...

littlemay, i went on end of may.. it is time turning from autumn to winter liao.. the weather is good.. but as long as there's no wind, still bearable lah..

Edge of the bay sure is nice. Heard of it before. Thank.

Mine is all one night stay.
from Hobart to kettering to Hobart, port Arthur, Swansea, down Wineglass Bay to Bicheno to St helen to Bay of fire, Derby, Launceston,Cradle Mountain to Wynyard and back to Launceston Tamar Valley and flight back from Launceston.
If still have time, will touch on Stanley. Now wanna see if I can slot in Maria Island. Any comments? Accommodation will decide a day before or on the spot after viewing the room.

adel, better book at least a day before, me had a few near misses and we wanted to stay at strahan but there was absolutely no vacancy so ended up moving on to queenstown, which was so miserable...

yup, adel, sometimes its cheaper to book the internet rates on wotif a week before rather than the walk-in rates. Walk-in rates are usually more expensive.
Wah, your itinerary is very comprehensive....good!

And Jumbo, how long is the drive from Hobart to Mt Wellington?

Anyone stayed at Cradle Mountain Lodge before? Is 1 night stay there enough? I have initially planned for 2 nights...but afraid that we might be bored there.

Hi there, my hubby & I going Tasmania in the 1st week of Dec too. We've booked our flights, now researching accomodations. Can share your sources for accomodations?

Wotif only allows 28 days advance booking. Given that Dec is going into the peak season, I'd rather not leave things unconfirmed. However, Tasmania accomodation is very hard to find elsewhere, and it's usually very pricey. Will be grateful for any recommendations. Thanx!

Juz to share.
I went to Tasmanian in 2002 for my honeymoon. I engage Tasmanian Travel Co. (aust. based co) for my lodging and car. The accomodation that they recommend are abt $150 plus. However, these r nice places. The owner advised us that since we r on honeymoon, we shd stay more comfortably. I stayed at :
Hanlon house - nice place near the seaside. can see peng. at nite. Warm hosts and the host cooked very nice breakfast and dinner.
Risby cove - nice place too with great restaurant. Wrontfront suite
Tynwald - this is a old historic house.
Lenna of Hobart - Hotel
Meredith House - apt style
Freshwater Pt - cottage style

I didnt stay at cradle cos i'm rushing for the wkend Mkt (hobart). I enjoyed the wkend mkt. Shdn't miss it.

Hi Cat,
I will be staying the the following:
Hobart-Customs House Hotel
Port Arthur - Port Arthur Comfort Motor Inn (cos its the only hotel within the site, easier to go back after th ghost tour)
Freycinet - Freycinet Lodge
Launceston - not yet booked
Cradle Mountain Lodge.

Low, where are these accommodation that your suggested? I'm looking for nice cottages in Hobart and Launceston..any for about AUD $150 per night?

Hanlon house is indeed very nice...but I don't intend to go to Stanley during my stay there...

Hi littlemay,

We actually self-drive around Tas., so we move from place to place. The Freshwater Point is a cottage - it's near to Launceston. This is the last stop before we go back to Melbourne. Quite a nice accomodation - except it's contiental breakfast in ur own cottage. There's a fireplace in the cottage too.
Hobart - we stayed in a hotel. Why dun u look thru' the accomodations in lonely planet ? The hotel at Hobart is near to the wkend mkt - so very convenient.

I miss the food in Hanlon house - very nice house and the owner gave us the upper storey with 2 bedrm.

Hi littlemay,

We actually self-drive around Tas., so we move from place to place. The Freshwater Point is a cottage - it's near to Launceston. This is the last stop before we go back to Melbourne. Quite a nice accomodation - except it's contiental breakfast in ur own cottage. There's a fireplace in the cottage too.
Hobart - we stayed in a hotel. Why dun u look thru' the accomodations in lonely planet ? The hotel at Hobart is near to the wkend mkt - so very convenient.

I miss the food in Hanlon house - very nice house and the owner gave us the upper storey with 2 bedrm.

Hi littlemay,

We are also self driving, but we are visiting the east coast, rather than the west coast like what you did.
Customs House Hotel is also very near Salamanca, but I prefer to stay at cottages. Lonely planet don't usually have accommodations which are nice nice cottages

Hi dazed, thanks for the recommendation. But dun think we can take any mountain lodges as we don't drive. Are intending to base ourselves in Hobart & Launceston, 3N each, and join day tours. So need a hotel that accessible to sights and have a tour desk.

For the discovertasmania webby, I find it very inconvenient to use. You have to click on the accomodations 1 by 1 to see details... Much prefer Wotif's layout, plus can see where the hotel is on the map too.

Hi littlemay, you will be there in Dec too right? We'll be there from 1st to 7th.

We're considering Customs House Hotel too. Did you book directly with them thru' their website? It's the best deal I can find at the moment for Hobart. The rest are all rather pricey, and I don't dare to wait for Wotif to book for Hobart's accomodation.

Launceston's accomodation seems not to be so much in demand, so might just wait for it to become available for our period in Wotif.

I'd've liked to stay at a cottage or b&b too, but these are normally out of the way and we are not driving. *sigh*

Hi Low, thanks for sharing. Our budget is for not more than A$150 per night, preferably around A$120. I would like non run-of-the-mills hotels, especially after seeing the photos of some of the heritage accomodations. But the prices I find mostly above A$150... (T_T)

Hi Cat,
I will be there from 9th Dec to 18th Dec.
Yes, I have booked with Customs House Hotel via their website, A$115 per night. Quite a good deal. But I'm still looking for cottages. I think if you don't drive, you can check out some cottages at Battery Point. I think its still within walking distance to Salamanca Place

Just do google search, battery point cottage and you might be able to find something.

Oh, and I find quite a lovely place at Bicheno, called Dolly's Haven, looks nice from the photos.

Anyone tried Le Frog Trike ride before? Is it only available at Bicheno and what is it exactly?

Hi Littlemay,
Since u are going in Dec. I can check Le Frog Trike ride at Bicheno when I'm there. Leaving for Tasmania next week.

I find wotif accommodation price is slightly higher than the rate I enquired from the cottage themselves. You gals might want to look into it.

Adel, Enjoy your trip!!
Oh, and one thing to note, the driving times in books and guides are often understaed, so do plan in some buffer and don't pack your itinerary too tight.
And have you booked your accom? Or are you booking when you are over there?