Tasmania - DIY!

Littlemay, the Melbourne international airport also known as Tullamarine Airport. Jetstar states Tullamarine to differentiate from the other Melbourne airport.

Adel, you also waited 4 hours b/w transfer from MEL to HOB? We will be doing that too. Anything interesting in Melbourne airport while waiting? But we'll be there in the dead of the night so expect most shops to be closed.
Maybe should ask where can catch some sleep.

Hi Miso, where's the lemon tart available in Swansea? I may not be going there, but it'll be nice info for the pple driving.

I'm using the stairs now as exercise to get prepared for the hikes in Tasmania.
Done that frequently in preparation for trips, but I moved house over the years from 12, to 8, to now 6 floor. Consider as concession to age?

Hi Cat,
Yap! I reached Melbourne a'port at 4am and had waited for the 8am Domestic flight to Hobart. Perhaps, due to the sleepiness and the luggages, we charged in to domestic flight within 0.5hr upon luggage collection. True, not many shop open at that time, but still can get some hot coffee from Gloria Jean Cafe. Other than that is just waiting. I don't have any good sleep there as the day brighten at abt 5am. By 6am to 7am, it is as bright as singapore 10am. With the brightness of the day, the design of the domestic airport chair and the constant last call for other flight, there is no way I can sleep well. I dun wanna miss my flight due to sleepinesss. Hence, while staying alive, that's where I found out that there are a lots of earlier Jetstar flight to Hobart.

BTW, Hobart Airport have minibus that send you to Hobart City at a resonable charge of A$11 (Adult). Just tell them where you wanna alight in the city. Very convenient.

Hi Miso,

You are incredible. Climbed Freycinet and Cradle Mountain. I could not do the Cradle mountain track as it was raining heavily when I was there. But even if it wasn't, I don't think I can make it back. How is the view from there? Any photo? How is the weather when you reached the summit?

Freycinet climb was around 2.5hrs return..wineglass bay was beautiful indeed.
cradle mountain was tedious..4hrs return
along the way, there are many beautiful lakes and i stopped to take pic..but cannot stand too long in stationary position coz many bees...i can hear them humming next to me..scared so quickly move on..before the climb i can still sing * the hills are alive * ( theme song from sound of music) . after the climb, i dun even have energy to talk..;p
summit. windy, windy , windy....

Die lah, the Lavender tour I want fully booked! How now? Really can't find any Lavender tour on the net. Can't even find any instruction on taking public transport there by ourselves. I don't wanna risk our necks and drive there since I never drive since I got my license 6 yrs ago.

FYI, Dec issue of Magazine 'Singapore Women Weekly' have a short brief description on Tasmania. It also give out free tasmania detail map. Simply have to post the application form to the address as stated. The map have the travelling time from town to town as well. I got the map after I came back. You might need that map if you are going on a self-drive.

Hi Adel, thanks for the consolation... If really cannot go, then will go Mornington Penisular tour in Melbourne, got a visit to lavender farm.
But still so sad, Summer go Tasmania never go biggest lavender farm...

Hey people, I found this very nice website: http://www.discoverlaunceston.com Check out their interactive map.

Yay! I've got Backtrack Tassie Tours for the Lavender Trip. They fully personalise the tour for you, so intending to do a Tamar Valley & North East Highlights sort of tour. So happy, so happy.

Littlemay, you found your ideal stay in Hobart yet?

Oh, I'm staying at Bluehills Hobart. Not really fantastic, but its A$110 per night and near battery point. Got cable TV too.
Need TV cos my 4 nights accom at Freycinet and Cradle has no TV!
Wat's Backtrack Tassie Tours? Any website or contact?

Hi littlemay,

I dun think you need the TV cos their TV programmes not nice. You can get Chancellor. Nice seaview and near Mures Restaurant.

Hi Cat,
U have the website for Backtrack Tassie tour? Interest to see what get you so excited. Going there soon.....

hahaha,

Sorry. Thot you can afford the stay there mah! But Cradle Mt Lodge is very beautiful. There is a lovely counter admin there by the name of Nicole. She is sweet.

Hi littlemay, I agree with Blue Ginger, their TV programs
. Bring a good book. Anyway, it's your honeymoon mah, got husband why need TV.

Where's this Mures Restaurant you people raving about? Quick let me know, I leaving coming Wed!

The links for the day tours I found interesting actually all in the "Archive through October 30, 2005". Had actually preferred Tiger Wilderness Tours.

Anyway, here's the link for Backtrack Tassie again: http://www.backtracktassietours.com.au
You can't see much from their website, just a sample of what they can do, cos they will personalise the trip just for you. So we actually booked for a Tamar Valley & North East Highlights tour. And we are taking their Heritage Highway tour for our transit from Hobart to Launceston too. Will let you know how we find their tours when we return.

hi everyone...its only 1 week to my wedding....arrghh...so many things to do..luckily I had all my accom at Tassie booked already.
Looking forward to the trip now!
will be flying off next Thursday night!

Ya lor, I know Aussie TV programs very boring, will definitely bring books, mags, and some mini board games.

prob after climbing those mountains and hiking, u will be sleeping early...
enjoy ur trip. its a beautiful place

Wah, izzit because we all fly off already so this thread so quiet? Anyway, I' back.

Had a good time in Tasmania. Very laid back and idyllic. MUST GO PLACES:
Salamanca Market - Do your shopping here. Same products sell cheaper at the market than in shops, and you get to see some you wouldn't find in shops.
Kate's Berry Farm - Ice Cream to DIE for! Get a small tub and eat 4 scoops all by yourself.
Chudleigh Honey Farm - Oh all the flavours of honey they have...
kao_drool.gif

Accomodation wise I am very pleased with Customs House at Hobart and Kurrajong House in Launceston.

Customs House Hotel rooms are just refurbished. So you get a very nice and clean hotel room, that's more spacious than standard hotel rooms. And the bed is good too. Wonderful location. Only problem is there is live entertainment at the pub downstairs fr Thu to Sun, so not recommended if you are a light or early sleeper. And you will have to carry your lugguage up and down the narrow flight of stairs.

Kurrajong House B&B I'll highly recommend to honeymooners. Especially now with their flowers all in bloom, very romantic. I really love the house. And the hosts and their dog is really friendly.

And know what is really great abt Tasmania accomodation? At least for these 2 I got, they have heaters in the bathroom! You know when you have to endure the freezing cold when you use the bathroom, especially with the ventilation fan running? You don't have to experience that there. Just on the heaters to warm up the bathroom before using. Handy for drying up your washing or damp shoes overnight inside the bathroom too.

Photo wise, I have no idea how to resize for here. It kept saying the file is too big, unless I resize it to ridiculously small size, like this:
335364.jpg

That is Honeymoon Bay, where we waited for those who did the 3 hr Freycinet hike. After making it to the Wineglass Bay lookout, I know I wouldn't make the hike in time.

Dove Lake at Cradle Mt. is beautiful. It was drizzling while we were there, but still wonderful.
335367.jpg

A recommendation here. We did the Cradle Mt. tour with Tiger Wilderness Tours and Lee is really good. They have various other tours available, but mostly eco-tours.

Lavender Farm was a bit of a letdown, cos only just starting to bloom, so you dun see those postcard like fields of purple.
But hey, I wanted to see it, so now I saw.

Another recommendation here for Backtrack Tassie Tours. Ray is really knowledgable about Tassie. Just let him know how long you be there and roughly where you want to travel and let him do up an itinerary for you. It will be great.

Hi ladies..

Im planning my honeymoon to Tassie in early Feb..Cos of budget & time, Im planning to go only Hobart, East coast & Launceston..if can will try Cradle Mt too. We r backpacking, but was wondering if we shld self-drive or join a tour. ANy recommendations? How is the roads there? If we drive, how do we hike when we reach the national parks? Thnks.

if u can drive, i think self drive tour will be more interesting and relaxing. u can stop at the places that u want and tour according to your pace. roads are mainly expressways..everyone is moving at high speed..100km and above.
there are also some mountain roads..curvy..need to be careful..before u arrive in tasmania for self drive, its best that u plan ur route and itinery in advance by looking at tasmania map..
once u reach national parks, u can go to the visitor centre first. they will provide a few hiking routes..just choose the one that suits u best and follow the directions on the way.

Hi Charis, how many days will you be there? Hobart, East Coast & Launceston is what most people visit in Tasmania. Cradle Mt can be covered in a day trip from Launceston if you are rushed for time, but do make a trip there. And I do recommend staying overnight in Bicheno to see the penguins. We quite regret not being able to do that.

Driving wise unless you are using the highways which is very smooth traveling, otherwise the mountain roads quite curving as miso said. But most of the attraction will required some off road travel. A Singaporean guy on our day tour to Cradle Mt was car sick, even though I felt the travel that day was quite okay already, compared to Hobart to Port Arthur that stretch.

You can also self drive, but join day tours for some attractions to give yourselves some rest time to enjoy the sights. Traveling time is really quite long in Tasmania.

Hi Cat..

Thanks for advice..Abt 7 days there the most..cos plan to go Melbourne for 2 days after that. Yup planning to backpack ourselves & join some of the plan tours..

Which tour did you join? Any recommendations..Did u stay in any backpackers hotel/hostel? is it clean & safe? Im looking at Under DOwn Under Co. for the tour pkg.

Thnks.

Hi Charis, we were there for around 7 days too, then in Mel for 3. We did F&E, didn't drive (cos I dun wanna get us killed
), but joined various day tours. I liked joining different small groups cos more interaction and meet many people, very interesting.

The tours we joined are as follows for your reference:
Show You Tasmania Tours - Evening tour of Hobart, interesting and inside view of the city. But it was our 1st day, so I was tired didn't pay much attention...
Bottom Bit Bus Tours - Freycinet tour, and Port Arthur tour. This is a small new start up. Phil is very nice, but more chauffeur then guide cos he still learning the ropes. But fun, and cheap, mostly young backpackers.
BackTrack Tassie Tours - Heritage Highway tour, Tamar Valley & NE highlights. We got Ray to ourselves for the 2 days, so we gotta do the tour however we like. Ray is very knowledgeable about Tasmania.
Good guide. He can customized the itinery however you like, but do listen to his advise and recommendation, you wouldn't regret it. BTW, his 4WD is new, ah the smell of a new car...
Tiger Wilderness Tour - Cradle Mt. tour. Lee does a very good and lively tour. Had a good time with him, even with the rain. Personally feel that their itinery is more worthwhile compared to other Cradle Mt tours.
Tour With A Difference - Great Ocean Road Experience. This is a very good company. Really like their tour.
Their links you can find a couple of pages back on one of my post.

I would recommend you start either at Launceston, or Hobart, and travel to either via the East Coast Escape route with an overnight in Bicheno for the penguins (I really really regret missing that
). Must schedule for Saturday at Hobart for Salamanca Market! Buy your souvenirs here, Melbourne is more expensive, even at Queen Victoria Market.

Oh, accomodation wise I didn't wanna compromise too much. We did that once in Cairns and it was bad sleeping for 5N... My accomodation all 3.5 stars. One point, most Tasmania accomodations dun have elevators, so you are likely to have to carry your luggage up and down the stairs. So you may wanna split it up rather than cramp everything into one like we did...
Lucky we got the 2nd floor for Custom House.

Tasmania is generally very clean and safe. But I didn't visit any backpackers accomodation so I wouldn't know how's the situation inside... But one of our guides did recommend Woolmers in Hobart. It's some distance away from Salamanca though.

Just like to add to Cat's. Backpackers accommodation is generally nice, clean and cheap as compared to others hotel/heritage lodge. Equipped with simple neccessities, shared bathroom with hot showers. Places like Cradle Mountain accomodation is generally priced around A$110 per pax, we can get it atA$25 in the clean, simple backpacker lodge.

HARLOW! Hi CAT! Hi BLUE GINGER! I'm back!
Had a GREAT TIME at Tasmania!!

Enjoyed my trip very much. Will update my itinerary below...but some of you may find it very idle...hee...cos honeymoon mah...so we idle a bit!

Day 1: Touched down at 2pm, collected car, went to hotel. Stayed at Blue Hill Hobart. Not a very nice motel, but the view from the window above the bed was lovely. We even saw rainbow on one of the days. We went to the Harbour waterfront for a stroll, then had dinner at Mures. Wanted to go for the Mures Upper Deck, but it was fully booked. So tried the fish and chips and fishermens' basket at Mures Lovely Deck. The scallop and prawns were very fresh! After dinner, went to Wrestpoint Casino....ermmm...that was quite a letdown.

Day 2: Went to Salamanca market in the morning. Nice market, a must go. But don't expect to find clothes and stuff like that, its mainly handicrafts. There's a very nice sweets & choc shop, called Venus Confectionery, I think. The shop is very lovely and all pink. Another must-try is the lamb wraps. Though I seldom eat mutton, I think the lambwraps are delicious. After shopping at Salamanca, we drove to Tahune Airwalk. We tried the eagle cable hang gliding....not as exciting as it looks. The ride is only 200m long...and only moves at 40kph, but it was quite a nice experience. Then we drove back to Hobart, went to Mt Wellington...wah...was really cold even though it was summer.

Hi Blue Ginger...Yep, had a great overview of Hobart. Here's a continuation of my itinerary:

Day 3: Drove to Port Arthur. On the way, stopped by at Richmond Bridge (much smaller than I expected), went fruit picking at Sorell Fruit Farm. There were strawberries, cherries, peaches, apricots etc. Then continue to Tasman Peninsula to see the Blowhole, Tessallated Pavement, Devil's kitchen etc (quite a letdown though). After arriving in Port Arthur, we checked into our hotel Port Arthur Comfort Inn. Then we went to the historic site, took the harbour cruise, and picnicked on the grounds on Port Arthur with fruits that we picked and champagne that we bought. Really nice place for picnicking on the grass.
That night, we went for the ghost tour, not scary at all...but the stars at night were really beautiful..hardly get to see so many stars at night in Spore.

Oh, the ice cream at Sorell Fruit farm is also very nice. Should try!
Day 4: Drove to Freycinet. Stopped by Swansea for lunch. Will not recommend to stay at Swansea, nothing much, quiet little town. Went to Kate's Berry Farm...terrific ice cream again! Must try!
After lunch, we continued and checked into Freycinet Lodge. We stayed at a spa cabin with a jacuzzi. Wah...the lodge was fantastic, both me and my hubby loved it. It was really $$ well spent. The lodge also gave us complimentary bottle of champagne as they knew that we were there for honeymoon. There's also a CD of soft music and CD player in our room. For dinner, we bought prawns and scallops from a supermarket in Coles Bay Town and cooked in the Lodge. The lodge offers cooking facilities as well. The prawns and scallops were very very fresh, much fresher than the ones in Singapore.
We also went to the Honeymoon Bay and Richardson's Beach that day...but yucks, the beaches were not nice, full of seaweeds.

Hi ladies..
Thanks so much for the advice & recommendations..

& Littlemay..yr holiday sounds great..really cant wait to go to Taz. U were only there for 4 days?

Is there much trekking & walking & hiking in Tasmania? COs I maybe pregnant..dont know of its good idea to do much trekking..dont know if I shld even go. We planning to go in early Feb..probably be abt 2 months only. Any advice ladies?

Welcome back littlemay! Tasmania really very idylic, not just because you are there for honeymoon lah. Great place for a break, those do nothing kind...

Hi Charis, there's usually a few routes available in the parks, you can take the easy walks.

No lah, not 4 days only...got somemore...but type until tired..so must breakup into diff days. Here's continuation:
Day 5: Trekked to Wineglass Bay Lookout, not as difficult as I expected. Then drove to Cape Tourville. Climbed to one of the boulders there to picnic again. Nice view of the horizon. Also went to Sleepy Bay and Friendly Beaches...Actually the beaches were quite a letdown, can't really have picnics or R&R there as the sand is not very fine. After that, we went back to our Lodge to enjoy our jacuzzi and cooked our own dinner.

tasmania defintely a lot of walking..hmmm..maybe could be tedious for pregnant ladies.maybe go to resorts ? just sit there and relax..