Taiwan F&E

jew

Skywolf> u r welcome... enjoy yr trip!

audrey, jane> I being to taipei on sept last yr... is a raining season..dun knowing will it raining this sept.. but be prepared.. get more 3/4 or short bottoms rather than jeans or long pants..cos the night markets dont have shethers.. sometimes the street is flooded...

Tiffy,

Yah lor. Will make the best out of it. Will try to pop by daily to see any new places to go. :p

Meow, trip's in Oct. Still far away. Hahaa...

Judging frm some comments, seems like raining season. ARGGHH!!

shyantiffy

actually even the native taiwanese now huh.. cannot really foretell their weather liao.. this global warming thingy makes the whole world's weather goes haywire...

juz enjoy the trip lor.. there are beauty to be seen be it raining or not...

ojaneo

nEEd ur advice!!!
i would like to book air ticket online thru jetstar. they 've option of payment which by credit card & offline payment.
offline payment i can pay at any 7-11 or S.A.M machine BUT cant select seating
for credit card payment i can select it BUT i saw got 1 part we must fill the CCS no huh, the no at the back of card. as i noe normally we only enter the card no (16digit) when do on line purchase, rite ?
coz this is my 1st time using such purchasing so i m not sure izit safe?
please advice me , thank in advance

icebaby0

Jane,

Normally for most travel agencies online, you will have to key in the last 3 digit in the back of credit card.
I just purchased my jetstar tickets for Taiwan few months back. I have also purchased from AirAsia and Tigerairways before.

Just call your credit card company to check 2-3 days later to see what have been credited if you still feel uneasy. Cheers!

jew

skywolf> from the previous weather forecast, oct should be the typhoon season, but just as what Tiffy mentioned, the global warming may affect the weather forecast... mayb u can check with yr hotel b4 u fly...

Jane, i didnt know can select seating when we book wor... Any idea if the option is available when u bought e tickets or like x days b4 the dep date?

idono

"mei yu" season or raining season is during when the winter spring weather change. usually during apr/may period. sept is more akin to typhoon season. its a bloody hot time during sept. unless of coz when u run into a typhoon

ojaneo

can i check with all of u?
will u all buy travel insurance when goin travel?
i m thking whether can save this cost or not .... lol

ojaneo

tiffy,
lata i ask my hubby if he agree then can save $$ too heeheee...
anyway, i wanna chk wif u abt the electric plug at taiwan. is their volt at 220V? how abt the plug in the hotel? coz most of our hp & batt charge is 3leg de... not sure i should prepare anythg?

shyantiffy

Oh... their sockets are those 2 pins have seen 2 types..

502638.gif

502639.gif
(something like this la..)

if its the later..den no need pin converter
but still i think its safer to bring a pin converter... if u r thinking of charging your HP..think no worries leh.. our handphone charger is a universal charger.. it'll convert the current on its own.. juz double check that your charger have the spec :100-240V/50-60Hz/65mA den will be save liao..

ojaneo

thanks tiffy but handphone charges is 3 pin de so i must bring converter lor

the 1st pic u posted is 2 hole or 3 ?

shyantiffy

Jane.. the 1st pic is 2 pins (ignore the hole below...coz can't really find the exact pic).. yes.. so u need to bring a converter for pins only..coz I used to have 1..its a pin & current converter..& that plug is heavy..

ojaneo

tiffy,

from all the info u given huh, now i m rEaDy to go liao geegeee....
looking forward the day cuming.......

ojaneo

icebaby,
here is my trip schedule :
1st day alight after check in, will go xi men ding walk ard
2nd day yang ming shan, miramar ent park & shilin (all same mrt station)
3rd day sun flower garden (taoyuan), wufenbu & laohe nite market.
4th day jianfushan (stay 1nite)
5th day back from jianfushan direct go to yilan stay 1nite
6th day afternoon back from yilan to taipei, evening ll go dan shui
7th day go jiufen
8th home sweet home *

anybody got comment, please advice me!!

rally

hi sharon,

public transport to YMS and Miramar is quite accessible, don't really have to do a guided tour to both these places.

If you are staying in XimenDing area, you can take bus 260 direct to YMS. You can get directions from your hotel to the bus stop. Once there you can take the internal bus 108 to the various trails on YMS. www.ymsnp.gov.tw for more info.

To go Miramar from YMS, take bus 230 to Beitou, den take MRT to Jiantan station. From there you can take the free shuttle to Miramar. From Miramar, take the shuttle back to Jiantan MRT to go Shilin market.

forest

Does anyone know if we can bring bbq meat when travelling to taiwan? Would like to bring some bbq meat to my colleagues.

jerlynn

Hi I am planning to go TW on 18-25th Nov (8D7N). Below is my initerary (read thru e whole thread & all ur advises) Pls highlight to me if I make any mistake,or you have better suggestion for me,Thank you

Day 1-1810hrs Arrive Taipei airport->take KuoKuang bus to Taipei Main Station,take taxi to TS Hotel->check in->wonder around XinMenDing for dinner & buy tickets for Day 3 Hualien

Day 2->take train to JianTan MRT->take bus red 5 to YMS bus terminal->transfer shuttle van.Spend 3/4 day there,if time permits,can go for hotspring (bring swim suit/swim cap)
Evening->Shilin Night Market->back to TS hotel

Day 3->take train to Hualien,tour around Taroko Gorge/Tunnel of nine turns
Evening->Nanbin Night Market->back to TS hotel

Day 4->take train to Chiayi->small train to Alishan(until now not very sure wats there to see in Alishan)->spend 1N in one of e Minzu.

Day 5->wake up early,take bus to Yushan for sunrise->(after this struck le,maybe head back to Taipei)

Day 6->take MRT to Taipei Main Station->train to Rui Fang->bus to JiuFen (I rem someone mentioned there is a direct bus from Taipei to JiuFen??)
Evening->take train to HoShanPei->5mins walk to WuFenPu->10mins walk to Raoche Night Market->back to TS hotel

Day 7->Guang Hua Shang Chang->Taipei/Gong Guan Underground shopping
Evening->Dan Suei Old Street->Sunset->Dan Suei Night Market->back to TS hotel

Day 8->Wonder around XinMenDing->flight back to SG

I wonder if my planning is too rush & is there any places I left out? I put all e sightseeing @ e beginning & leave e shopping last.Can someone pls advise me.. Thank you so much

rally

Jerlynn,

yes, u can take Freego bus straight to TS Hotel, don't need to transfer to taxi at Taipei Main Station. At some other forums it stated that Freego bus is available till 630pm and if after that, you have to take kuokwang bus to Taipei main and transfer to cab.

At Hualien just make sure you catch the timing for train back to taipei at night. are u going by taxi tour? it roughly cost NT1800-NT2500 for a tour around the gorge

day6 evening, note that closest train to wupenfu is songshan station not Houshanpi which is their MRT station. I believe wupenfu is next to houshanpi mrt, n u can walk to raohe night market from there. from night market you can then take the train from songshan station back to taipei main station.

shyantiffy

Hi jerlynn,

"Day 3->take train to Hualien,tour around Taroko Gorge/Tunnel of nine turns
Evening->Nanbin Night Market->back to TS hotel"

how do u plan to travel around in hualien? getting a package day-tour or going around on your own? coz hualien is pretty big... travelling around frm 1 place to another may take up pretty much of your time...& u only have like 1 day for it. Travelling time frm taipei to hualien in train will take almost 3hrs...

You can check out the schedule frm this website. Take Tze chiang Train.. its faster.
http://163.29.3.96/twrail_en/index.aspx

It'll be safer if u buy the return tix as well. normally weekends tix are harder to get.

Cheers...& enjoy your trip to taiwan~

jerlynn

Thank you so much for ur suggestion. I tot nobody come in this thread le..heng ah,heehee

Sharon/rally,
I follow TS suggestion on e KuoKuang bus cos they said after 1800hrs Freego bus not available le.You mean actually I can still take Freego??

rally,
Noted on e WuFenPu nearest station. Thank you

Tiffy,
I haven decide going on tour anot. Is there alot to see @ Hualien? Mmmm my schedule is spend e day there & evening go to night market..not eunf time? Am I spending too many days viewing mountains??? I wanted to add in Longshan temple but duno which day is 'on e way'.

Btw what is there to see @ Alishan huh? I duno if its worth e time going there cos journey to & fro very long woh. May I know where is Guang Hua Shang Chang?? Thank you

jerlynn

I'd like to check out a few things.. as Nov is winter time, meaning there all selling winter wear?? I can't shop for those casual tops??

Anyone got any suggestion for my Day 5? & is e sunrise really beautiful? or shall I skip Alishan totally & explore other places?

Sorry if I ask too many qs..1st time there so anxious to know more.

rally

jerlynn,

stated that freego is available till 1830.

for hualien, if u take the new taroko tilted trains "taroko express" you can cut travelling time to 2hrs each way instead of 3hrs on the normal trains.

whether you will enjoy alishan or taroko more, depends on your own preferences on nature etc.. but alot of forummers choose hualien and loved it.

jerlynn

Tiffy/rally,

Thks for ur advises & suggestion. I will amend my itinerary & see if can work out something better. I decided to skip Alishan since alrdy going to YMS & Hualien.

Tiffy,
So ur suggestion is to spend 1N in Hualien??Do we have to book b4hand or can go there thn decide?

rally,
Where can I take e new taroko express train?

rally

jerlynn,

u can take the trains from taipei main station.

if u are skipping alisan altogether, you could decide to stay longer in hualien.

your Day 3 can tour around taroko gorge, evening can go night market, or watch the aboriginal performance.

your day 4 can go south hualien where u could watch dolphin or whale watching, or water rafting, or just taking in the magnificent coastal scenery of taiwan east coast. If you have time, you could even spend another night at hualien before returning to taipei by train early Day 5.

Anyway the lodging in hualien is relatively inexpensive especially at some of the minsus.

iceqoo

I'm planning a 5D4N F&E to Taiwan with my mum. This is my 1st time there. Is it safe to travel on our own? Heard that rainbow and TS Hotel quite popular amongst Singaporeans. Are they good? Which is better? Can someone be kind enough to help us plan the itinerary?

Many thanks.

kyra

Dear All

We have recently decided to visit TW for our mini-honeymoon in early October (can only go for actual HM in Q1 2008, sigh).

Appreciate if you could help me with some of my queries:

1) We have never taken any budget airline, is the leg room really limited? My hb is 185cm tall and he is afraid that it will be a very tedious ride for him. He finds SIA squeezy even and so far only Emirates & United Airlines quite ok for him.

2) If we really cannot go by budget airline, what are the other airlines that fly there? We only know of SIA, SilkAir and China Airline so far. And among these others, which is better/cheaper?

3) How many days recommended for first-timers to TW? We would definitely love to visit Taipei. Any other recommended area?

4) I watch those TW dramas and variety shows and have always been attracted by those 温泉旅馆 and 山庄, any recommended spots? If we arrive at Taipei, how should we proceed to such outskirts? Do we book a 1-2 days trip from here or there?

Many many thanks in advance

rally

hi kyra,

If SIA is considered squeezy for your hubby, i dun think jetstar is much better. That said, between SQ, EvaAir, China Airlines you have to compare their flight timings to see which suit your schedule. Price wise its around the same unless one is having some promo.

Go for as many days as you can, given your time and budget. There's always things to do, places to visit when you're off for a vacation! Besides Taipei, you can visit Tainan, Taichung, Kaoshiong or even the islands like Penghu if you have the time. Which places you could visit dpends on your preferences for nature, scenery, culture, entertainment etc..

You can visit Beitou or Wulai for their hotsprings
Hotsprings in Beitou:

Asia Pacific Resort: Tel: 2898 3088 Fax: 2832 4053
http://www.apresort.com.tw

Spa Spring Resort: Tel: 2897 9060 Fax:2897 9065
http://www.spaspringresort.com.tw

In Wulai:
http://www.fullmoonspa.com.tw/

Depending on your preferences, there are numerous places to visit in Taipei like Yangmingshan, Jiufen, Jinguashi, Keelung or if you have time can visit tarako gorge in hualien, sun moon lake at alishan or even visit and stay in farms.

Whale watching, water rafting in Hualien or sand beaches, sea sports in kenting, you are spoilt for choices in Taiwan.

Having said all these, I haven;t even began to mention all the yummy food to be found in the various Night Markets in Taiwan!

Have a wonderful time planning your mini honeymoon.

redruby

I would like to go to TW with my family somewhere in Nov or Dec. Want my kids to experience the winter seasons .Which travel agency shd i go to and how many days package shd i take? Or free n easy?
Can someone advise. THKS

idono

wht kind of winter season u wish to experience? in taiwan, nov / dec is more like low cameron highland temperature usually.

mzlt7879

Seeking some opinion.. comparing Caesar Park Hotel vs San Want Hotel vs Sunworld Dynasty...which is better. I am gg to Taiwan after my wedding in Oct for a short trip of 5days..

Also, anyone stayed in Spring City resort before? Worth staying there a nite?

babe99

I am planning to go TW in Nov but i hv a big problem. Am wondering if its advisable to bring my gal there ( only 17th mths old). If i take a package tour, will it be hard on my gal cos we have to follow to the timings. I am afraid it might be too tiring for her.
If i go F&E, then also scared we hv problem gg to plcs of attractions.

Any advise?