Taiwan F&E

Hi Annpaul, I know Rainbow has bathtubs =) Saw a pic taken by another lady somewhere in one of the archives.

Erm... does anyone know for Beitou hot springs, is it a must to make a reservation? Or just anyhw whack one and walk in ah? Hee...

mr__mrs_ng

I went to taiwan last year dec with my dear. pretty cooling. went to the hotspring at Wu Lai instead. introduced by ah hong. I think dec is cooling weather so they mostly got give you additional 1/2 hour. Wu Lai's wen quan egg is nice.. MUST TRY! Rainbow hotel is a great place, service also good. but understand that their cheaper rate (NT1680) room is fully booked till next year. But they still have NT1980 room available. Rainbow is very near XimenTing. I still got my trip details with me. If you are interested, email me at [email protected]. I will forward you the details.

annpaul

is rainbow hotel very old and dated? i suppose the more expensive rooms have bathtub oso ah? haha pardon my obsession...coz no bathtub at home lah. only get to enjoy when travelling. keke

seems to see mixed review about TS hotel having bathtubs. some say have some say dont have. arghh funny leh. i'm now more for TS Hotel coz it looks nicer and newer. but if no bathtub then i wont consider liaoz. some feedback about rainbow is that its very dated leh.

mr__mrs_ng

rainbow's rooms have bathtub. I stayed at both the expensive and cheaper one. both have... i think rainbow not bad cos it is near ximending mrt and the staffs there are very friendly and helpful. I think that is the most impt thing.

decembermi

Hi skywolf,

I also looking at the hot springs in Beitou, went there once, very nice! But i no longer know how to go/book or plan liao...

Hi Pauline,
I email you, appreciate greatly if you can sent to me pls!

jhoo

hi, can i know which hotel is recommended at kaohsiung? I'm planning to go there in end oct to early nov, any idea if weather has turn cool?

idono

Yes, rainbow hotel is old & dated. Its not "near" Ximenting. It right smack in the middle of XMD. So can be quite noisy until XMD winds down after 11pm.

Personally, I'll take TSHotel anytime as its v. new & cheap. Yes, some rooms in TS hv bathtubs some do not have. If you want bathtub, need to specifically request for such rooms availability.

annpaul

Anyone stayed in Wonstar, Lilai or Rich Garden Hotel before?

1. Whats your experience like?
2. How far is it away from the MRT?
3. How far is it away from XiMenTing?
4. Hows the room? Got bathtub?? =P

thanks thanks =P

diamond42

I have just booked a trip to Taipei in Dec. Can anyone advise me on Kilin Hotel? I have booked my trip through chan brother for F&E package. And they asked me to take Kilin hotel. But the review i read on it seem to be bad. Any comments?

jhoo

i stayed in TS hotel and the location is good as its only about 5 mins walk from XMD station. But their breakfast is the same everyday, and the room i stayed do not have bathtub. but to us is ok because its not so old and also price is reasonable. staff is friendly too, or maybe i should say all taiwanese are very very friendly. so that's why i'm planning for another trip to Kaohsiung to celebrate my hubby's birthday

Does anyone knows where is this Spring & Autumn pavilion in Kaohsiung? Couldnt locate it in e map or the brochures...

jesl

Need advice...

1) Anyone went to Window on China (xiao ren guo)? Heard that the condition there abit run down. What you think?

2) If taking cab from Taoyuan (THSR) Station to there, how long is the journey time and fare like? Or what is the most convenience way?

3) Any idea how long is the travelling time, and how much is the fare for taking cab from Keelung Train Station to Yeliu?

Thanks in advance !!

kyra

If we plan to go Taipei for 5-6 days in Dec, do you happen to have any recommendation for reasonably-priced F&E packages?

I was checking the website for a budget airline and air tickets for 2 pax already $1500+, not very worthwhile right?

annpaul

hey kyra, you're checking budget airline way too late. budget air tickets get more expensive towards the date of departure esp if demand is high and tickets are running low. we bought jetstar airtickets about 2 mths back and its 497 per person including tax. now its a few hundred more per person. check out major airlines. they may have promo and may be more worth it. but dec is super super peak. now you want also may not have tickets left.

alicia_choo

I am planning a trip to Taipei during Jan03-08 2008, would need advise on the weather. Do we need to get any winter jacket?
Understand that TS is a gd and cheap hotel and there are a couple of choices for their rooms. Is it worth to stay in their suite? or their normal rooms are already ok?
Thanks in advance for all your advise..

gracious

planning to go to taipei frm 25th nov onwards for ard 6 days, but hv no clue in getting which airline has the cheapest tkt..any ideas? or shd i juz go bk wif a travel agent? im planning to go for a F&E trip.

teacup

Charmaine: i will be going to taiwan end dec as well. staying at one star hotel. hope it is good.

Also wondering how cold it will be. do we need winter jacket or just a light jacket...

de_princess

Hi Tea,

I went Taiwan end Dec and it rained on some days and supposedly their "han liu" season. U'll be better off with a thicker jacket. Anyway can always buy there coz quite cheap compared to Sg

katherine_k

Hi Skywolf,

I am planning to go for a 3D2N stay at Hualien Mingsu (Chen mama). Can find out from u how do I go from Taipei to Huelien? Train? Does the train go Huelien everyday? Can I email to Chen mama to reserve my room n pay her when we reach there?

Thks
Kat

decembermi

I'm planning for a trip in Feb / Mar 08, anyone know what's the weather like?
Planning for F&E but totally no idea where to go about yet...

bluegrapes

Hi, we are planning for a F&E tour coming May with our small kid (1year4mth old then) and thinking of self drive. Has any one self-drive in Taiwan before? Is it advisable?

tasmania

i think not recommended. Their is left-hand drive. and alot of motorists and they dont follow traffic rule, espeically in TaiNan and TaiChung

idono

I feel is ok as long as you've confidence in ur driving. avoid the big cities like taipei, taichung as traffic can be v. challenging.

the toughest part abt driving tour in taiwan is parking.

tasmania

i think if you are an experienced driver, then should be fine. it is a matter of how fast you can get used to the driving and their road condition.

dreamer17

Anyone know how much it cost per pax (include tax) for a 5D4N F&E to Taipei?...any agency to recommend?..

also i intend to go in june, wonder hows the weather there?...is it very hot?

thanx

deannen

i will be gg to taiwan in march for 4D3N thus i dun think we will have time to travel to the outskirt, if we just want to shop & eat..where to go other than Shih Lin & 101 Plaza.

Pls recommend the hotels to stay (preferably near Shih Lin for shpg) and how to get to the hotel from Taipei airport? many thks

plasterbride

hi Deannen, you can try out Rainbow hotel, it is at a very very strategic location right in the centre of XiMenDing. in my opinion, XiMenDing is a much nicer place to shop compared to Shi Lin, Shilin is more for eating...
you can take the Freego bus from hotel to airport.

deannen

Hi plasterbride

thanks =) i was reading up the tips from VT and they mentioned abt TS hotel & wonstar hotel..any comments on these 2 hotels?
rainbow hotel is a 3* hotel? how's the hotel like? clean and spacious?
Do we need to pay for Freego bus? then from airport can we take the same bus to the hotel or u recommend train/ cab better?

nesame

anybody went to any strawberry farms in Taipei before. Heard there's some in Nei hu and Beitou and also Yangmingshan area.

jengcc

dreamer >> i went last June n still showers on n off so prepare ur brollies

deannen >> freego gotta pay can buy tix at the airport where they have the freego terminal but n freego cannot go straight to rainbow cos the road too narrow u have to drop n walk over urself
cab will cost abt NT1200 from airport to XMD
also if u thinking of shopping, the taipei underground mall at taipei main station is a must GO! shoes r cheaper then shilin!

astrogirl >> my sis went in early apr, late mar n weather still winter.. so nothing much to buy cos mostly winter wear..

hope these info helps

deannen

Hi Jl & ZZ

thanks for ur advice..i was surfing the net for more details of Freego bus but seems like they only have buses from taipei airport to city area at specific timing i.e. 530am-130pm then no more???
anyone has better suggestions how to get from the airport to the city or is it more worthwhile for us to share a cab? (4 of us)

Im looking @ TS hotel now as the room are much more spacious & comfy & reviews have been really good.

Im gg in mid March still winter? so no shpg ah?? sad =(

jengcc

hi Deannen,
not very true abt the freego..
its still available at nite..
but if u r ok to spend some $$ for comfort n save time..
u can take the cab at NT1200 (S$1 = NT20)
let me know if u need the contact i have the driver's namecard..
also the same driver can pick u up when u leave taiwan..
Cab (20-30mins) is definately faster then Freego (45mins..
but freego is very cheap think 150+/ trip while u pay double for cab..
so u need to consider..

shopping wise.. bags n shoes shd b ok..
but clothes mostly winter or thicker clothes..
i went in june sorta monsoon.. everyday also rain..

p/s: i don really log in so often so if u need urgent info maybe u can PM me

idono

yar whole of june & jul is raining
and whole of aug - oct is typhoon.
taiwan will sink in nov. so avoid it.

blur_sindy

I planning to go taipei, tainan and taitung in Jan09. Can anyone advice me which are the places which I cannot miss. 10days enough to cover the three places? I more interested in shopping and my hubby more interested in temple. Should I book with travel agencies cheaper or online booking? Please advice me email:[email protected]

vernwyen

my friends and i went to taipei for 10days and still aint enough! haha..! We were shopping queens ah, and also spent time traveling out of taipei city (Hualian, Jiufen, Leofoo Village). Hmm, to me, those tat cant be missed are: -

Shihlin NM (food and fashion!)
Longshan Si (temple, your hubby will like it)
Danshui (see sunset + eat squid)
Xiuzhen Museum
Ximen Ding
Watsons / Cosmed

We went F&E, booked everything online
The airfare + hotel (9nites) cost us abt S$700 each

vernwyen

by the way, its still winter in Jan, so its fashion may not be suitable for singapore weather. Anyway, you can buy the boots, cheap cheap!