Taiwan F&E

shyantiffy

495641.jpg
the animal farm area (like a mini zoo)

shyantiffy

495647.jpg
Plucking the oranges!! REALLY very sweet... kekeke.. den that day was so heng wor... didn't need to pay a single cent to pluck the oranges..so me & my fren took 2 big bags of oranges back to share with Mr & Mrs Chen!

shyantiffy

Hee heee... okie folks.. meanwhile can only share these much la..actually i realised the pics I can upload have to be small in size.. so seems unclear.. mayb I go get a flickr account & upload the nice pics & u all can go there to take a look...

Btw Slgerman>> I didn't get to go whale viewing coz that time wasn't the season (kinda sad..) for wat visits u can go for.. mayb can check with Mrs Chen see wats best for now lor..

Hmm... its summer now.. so dunno if u wanna go hotspring.. zhao feng nong chang there have a hotspring.. kekeke... bring ur swimwear if u wanna go for a dip.

oh.. in zhao feng nong chang.. Pls rent a bicycle.. coz its too big to go around on foot...

I love the nan hai bing park.. nearby only..can borrow Mrs Chen's bicycle to go there for a rest & relax ride la...

I went to Taipei last dec & decided to pop by Yilan for those hotspring B&B...& its nice too! hmmm... in fact the hotspring (pao tang) is channelled into the bath room.. so its very private... can imagine how big the bath tub is lor.. kkekeke can sit in at least 3 adults!!!

ojaneo

hi icebaby,
i m also planning to go Taiwan after my AD on 20th Sept, which travel agency u booked ? i still haven do research ler?
mind share wif me? i m 1st time goin abroad ...

icebaby0

jane,

I didn't book package.
So far I only book my airticket (jetstar) to go on 15th Sept, back 19th sept
And also book my hotel.

I haven't done any other research cos in my office kinda tough. So was hoping someone else have an itinerary so I can "copy" because I can't really read chinese (really bad..i.e. fail chinese kind). My husband is just as bad.

goldfish1395

Hey gals!
Saw this forum and decided to come in and say hello! Previously was active in bridal boutiques forum and migrate to home and decor and now is the last stint liao! HONEYMOON mode!!

Me and hubby is thinking of doing taipei for honeymoon! Most likely 5 days 4 nights bah

SO much information here.. abit information overload. But i think most likelu i am going for TS hotel. Looks not bad and quite cheap oso... not too lok

AS for the intinerary.. i am at a complete loss. WAnted a combination of shopping + eating + scenary..

shyantiffy

Icebaby.. u like to see scenaries or shopping? My little suggestion for visit:

U going taiwan for 5D4N ya? Hmmm.. if wanna go Hualian.. mayb a bit rush.. but mayb u wanna consider this suggestion.

Day 1
Arrival in taipei
Check in hotel-(if arrival in day time)
* can visit these places:-
1) xi men ding
2) Danshui
think u may not wanna travel all the way to jiufen after the travelling frm sg to taipei can be pretty tiring.

(places you can visit in nite time)
there are alot of nite market in taipei

http://www.taipeitravel.net/article.asp?pcode=1&indexId=76&mrtId=-1&uId=558&pageNo=1

check out the website here...
I've been to shilin, hua xi (for eating), rao he

Day 2 & 3
In Hualian

Day 4 & 5
back to taipei.. den can visit danshui if u didn't do so on the 1st day.. coz dan shui is very very big.. can take up 1 day of walking around...den mayb can go to cheng pin bookstore if u really like books.. they have some stores thats 24hrs.. kekeke.. me & my FH love it there.
Can also visit 101 plaza (that tallest building in tai pei). If like museum.. can visit GU Gong museum... the artifacts inside there huh.. if wanna see every single piece.. u needa take 3 yrs! hahah.. Dun be afraid to try taking their MRT & bus... pple there are very friendly.. juz ask if u dunno. Their public bus ride is a standard rate i think is NT50..(unsure..forgot liao)

Must buy! ( if u like dried beef & taiwan sausages)

Hei Qiao Pai (黑橋牌) super duper nice!!! they now have many branches.. got one at Dan Shui!

Just for your reference la...

ojaneo

hi tiffy,

izit possible after hualian go to 高雄 then cum back to taipei again, if i spend abt 7 to 8 days there?
any train can take to reach such place ?

goldfish1395

ERmm..anyone can do a simple crash course on what is nice abt:

1) Dalian
2) Dan Shui
3) Hua Lian
4) Xi Men Ding

I am thinking of doing accomodation at TS hotel. Any one stayed there before? Issit beri lok for a honeymoon vacation?

goldfish1395

I am doing it after my AD in 19th Oct. Most likely leaving on 22nd Oct (Mon) and returning on Friday bah?

Scare go there too long beri bored loh.. bt looKing at the things u all wrote.. like majiam got many places to go one.. But my bf got motion sickness.. cannot travel too far on bumpy road.. wait he puke :S

ojaneo

aiyo too bad, my AD on 20th Sept, so go abt from 22th to 30th Sept bah..
if not then we can fly together heeheee....

shyantiffy

HI jane... with their new rapid train.. travelling time got really shortened..

http://www.railway.gov.tw/en/index/index.aspx

this is their railway website.. can check for more info.. think frm Hualian to gaoxiong with that Tze Chiang (normal express train) will take about 4hrs ++

http://new.twtraffic.com.tw/TWRail_en/index.aspx

click this link to check the shedule of the train.

Goldfish - for hualian i kindly refer back to the previous msg I've posted...

for Danshui... its a very nice place for shopping of snacks..especially u'll see alot of ah po tie dan (阿婆éµè›‹)and fish snacks, BBQ squid & many more... in danshui..u can also take a short ferry service to cross over to the opp. island..famous for their seafood...along the walking area.. u'll also see alot of game stores..& some 怪怪館 where they exhibit alot of funny creatures...& in Dan Shui.. there is this famous Hong Lou (red building) u gotta walk a bit of steps to get up there.. that place is great for sunset viewing.. & u can take a rest there as there is a resturant in there. U can get to Yu Ren Ma Tou also.. this one think u needa take a public bus / taxi to go there frm danshui mRT station. I didn't get to go there the last time coz was late...

Xi men ding is very straight forward... once u get out of the train station.. its juz a humongos shopping area lor.. & also for cafes..

Okie..I'm gonna get those pics up on my yahoo album...& will post the links later when its done.so u all can take a look la.. cheers

ojaneo

thanks tiffy,

woh u really help me a lot ler...
thanks again and got time please drop here oftenly so we can have more info wow..

ojaneo

anybody can tell me hualian got wat interesting places ?
i m looking for the 海洋公园 where Taiwan tv program always got games there de (5566) ? where izit?

jew

If u want to have a different experience in taipei, then Jiufen is a must go place for outskirt area... If u have difficulties to travel there, u can approach to yr hotel recept to check whether is there any 1-day tour to jiufen and other tourist attraction places..

Besides long stretch of local food and souvenir stores, there is scenery to c..
apologise for the poor resolution!
496176.jpg
496177.jpg

shyantiffy

Jane.. u're most welcome...

Hmm.. the hai yang gong yuan I've never been there b4..but actually Hualian is a pretty big area...its actually "long" if u see the taiwan map..so best is to get like a day package tour lor..

For Those who love the sea views...& diving.. Mayb u all wanna check out 綠島(Green Island) its very scenic too! But u needa stay longer in taiwan if u wanna visit 綠島...

Okie pple... I've uploaded some pics for u all to take a look...

http://sg.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/crystalglasspool/my_photos

shyantiffy

Idono>> well actually ya.. the zhong yang shan mai thingy was because Mr & Mrs Chen need to go Tai Chung for Qing ming fest. so since me & my fren haven't been there b4 & we have time to spare..we tag along in their car lor.. but to me mountain route really is very horrifying to me.. coz it gives me terrible motion sickness.. kekek.. but somehow after that trip..my level of tolerance to motion sickness becomes better... & honestly.. the scenaries are really great..

Hi Tiffy!

Hmm... i'll chk back in Oct to see if you are still active here bah... then perhaps can help me talk to Chen mama. =)

Icebaby! Sama sama! Chinese flunk all the way! =)

idono

yupz, scenaries along zhong yang shan mai is breath-taking, i personally rate it tog. with places like NZ & Rockies...haha. But as u rightly said, the route is way too dangerous... freq, the roads suffer from partial collapse.... and fallin rocks too.

rally

does anyone know of any hotels that provide free wireless internet in rooms?

I know some provide free internet access in the lobby or in the basement but I would prefer if we could do some surfing in the room.

Preferably in XMD area, like TS, Wonstar? I tried to read the websites but I can't really read mandarin. lol

ojaneo

hi tiffy!!
need ur advice here!!!

this is my 1st time overseas trip, from the website here i get here mostly book on line for accomodation & train ticket. and for hotel they stated must transfer the deposit into their acct. so how to do the payment? izit necessary? if i direct walk in can or not?
i plan to book the hotel thru travel agency here then after reach taipei then call the 民宿 like mrs.chen there for confirmation, can or not?
regarding the train (自强) how to buy the ticket huh

thank in advance

shyantiffy

Hi Jane... u talking about Chen MaMa's B&B or in general? Well... They also understand that its not so convenient for us foreigner to transfer money to them... so its juz base on trust lor.. U pay them when u get there... This is wat I did for my Hualien & Yilan B&B.

U can get your hotel thru agency here.. but den if u're going back to taipei after the hualien trip den u haveta get the agency to make special arrangement for u lor...

But if u're buying your airtix frm budget airline.. den i think u book hotel thru agency here like bo hua leh...

Mayb u wanna check & compare lor.. if travel agency can give u better deal den mai tu liao..(for taipei la) below are 2 websites for 2 hotels.. very good location.

http://www.ncznhotel.com.tw/rainbow/intro/all.htm(this is rainbow hotel right in xi men ding & price is not bad)

http://youspring.network.com.tw/ (You Chun hotel. Personally had stayed there b4.. comfy & affordable...& right beside MRT station & juz opp. can get the bus to airport liao)

hope this help.

ojaneo

thanks for reply tiffy.

i ll chk the agency here & compare the price.
if i get the budget airline then book the hotel by own then i can diect book thru the website, izit? then how abt the deposit payment ler ?

shyantiffy

hmmm... actually so far all my trips to taiwan...I book my own tix & hotel..they won't need me to put deposit la.. juz email a confirmation with them lor... den me more kiasu la.. anyway my *hub mobile can call taiwan at free IDD so I'll juz buzz them to book a hotel room lor..

unless they are fully booked... if not they normally won't ask foreigner to put deposit.. & pls hor.. if they say they need ur credit card for booking.. dun release it to them.. my taiwanese fren warned me about this..

select the hotel u want..& juz email them.. if u need more info, gimme your msn if u have den I can tell u more about it.

goldfish1395

Yes. Me too .. booked over the phone for TS hotel. The reservation counter gal was very friendly and advice me that i could take the COACH BUS (name is FEI GOU) from airport to TS hotel. It will be very much cheaper than taking the cab. And she added that if we want to take a cab, it will be cheaper to book a cab through TS though

I am going for the superior suite at SGD77. Wat abt u icebaby?

ojaneo

anybody can explain to me how to take bus (客è¿)?
do they accept cash or must buy ticket (like ezlink card)? if buy card where to get it?

zhanglilian

Hi Tiffy,

U mention about 黑橋牌. What exactly is it? How long can I keep them? What did u buy from this shop? Where exactly is this shop in Danshui? Thanks for your help in advance.

shyantiffy

oic... zjw...黑橋牌 this is a brand for taiwanese sausages & pork/chicken floss also dried beef slices...very yummy...u can keep them all the way till the expiry date stated on the packaging as long as u keep them frozen when u get back to sg. But i never get to keep them for more den 2 weeks... kekeke.. actually they have alot of shops in taipei but location wise.. danshui is easy to find..coz its one of the shops thats along the stretch of shops selling food & snacks.

http://www.blackbridge.com.tw/
check their website out for the kinda food they have.. if not below are all the branches in taipei.

å°åŒ—ä»æ„›åº— ä»æ„›è·¯å››æ®µ38號 TEL:(02)27091766 FAX:(02)27091767
å°åŒ—八德店 八德路三段148號 TEL:(02)25796610 FAX:(02)25796019
å°åŒ—å—京店 å—京æ±è·¯äºŒæ®µ163號 TEL:(02)25075310 FAX:(02)25075127
å°åŒ—è¬è¯åº— 康定路332號 TEL:(02)23029264 FAX:(02)23029265
å°åŒ—æ¼¢å£åº— æ¼¢å£è¡—二段9號 TEL:(02)23816878 FAX:(02)23814087
å°åŒ—永和店 永和市竹林路189號 TEL:(02)89271695 FAX:(02)89261696
å°åŒ—淡水店 淡水鎮中正路138號 TEL:(02)26268458 FAX:(02)26268040

skywolf.. i think the website is down... but how? u still gonna stay there?

zhanglilian

Hi Tiffy,

Thanks for the detailed info. Went to the website to take a look. Are u referring to these sausages which are packed dry? (as attached) There are some which seems like they are actually 'wet' stuff ya? I'm kinda worried that they might turn smelly by the time i return back to Singapore.

500740.jpg
500741.jpg

shyantiffy

Jane: for wat i know.. if u're taking the coach frm the airport... u buy the tix frm the counter & board the coach...thats base on my previous experience la.. den taking the coach frm taipei city area back to airport...I paid cash & board lo. & if u think u'll travel more in MRT... go get a æ‚ æ¸¸å¡ (easycard) something similar to our ezlink lor.. den this card can use both for MRT & their public bus. For me... I cheated in a sense..kekeke.. coz my taiwanese fren said i can pull it off la.. i bought the student's easycard..& they've never checked tho..heehee

ZJW... hmm...well.. they have the special vacumn packing for sausages... as for dried beef really no worries.. but I'll suggest that u buy all these towards the end of your trip..I bought all these at the 2nd last day...but i put the sausages in the fridge inside my hotel room..so everything is ok...

Meow,

Thanks for the info. Coz my trip is those 1 round, so i can choose to stay in 2 diff hotels while in Taipei... perhaps will choose diff hotels so can compare lor. :p

shyantiffy

hahaha.. skywolf.. thats wat i did also...I stayed in diff hotels when i was in taipei....

skywolf...so are u going to hualien or other places other den taipei?

Tentatively, i have Taipei, i have Hualien, Kaoshiong, one more on the western coast (cant rem name, somewhere near Alishan?), and one more on the eastern side (or make it 2 nites in Hualien).

A bit confused now coz i mixed up some places w HK. >_<"" Nth is confmed. But i'm keen to visit Alishan lor, so dunno hw to slot in also.

atsk

Hi everybody,
Anybody been to taiwan in September/October?
I'm thinking of going during that period any comments ?

Tks !!!