Taiwan F&E

jew

Hi Ahjo,

I cant remember the bus no. to yms, i just remember the bus stop is around ximending area. If u r staying in rainbow hotel, the reception may guide u to the bus stop.

There is a bus guide with their destination stops at the bus stop (just like sing bus stop). the most unforgetable is that the bus interval to yms is abt 1hr. This bus will actually take abt 45min to 1hr to reach yms bus station.

When u reach yms bus station, u may need to take another bus (like those school bus) to tour around YMS. Bus fare is abt S$0.8 (around there) for every stop u board. During the tour, the driver will actually announce the stop name and stop at the destination for a while to alight any passengers. If U alight at one of the stops and tour around, n want to board another passby bus, just wave yr hand to stop it n scan yr metro card or pay by coins..n continue to another stop!

* When U reach YMS bus station, 1st check around with the bus driver, whether is there any 1 day tour ticket avaliable (for YMS tour bus). If no, then u will have to use yr metro card for bus fare. (We were told by one of the drivers that there is such service avaliable but we missed the sale time.)

REMEMBER, don try to walk up yrself w/o the tour bus, u may get lost..

jew

Hi ahjo,

For the bus fare from ximending to YMS bus station, u will have to ask the bus driver when u board the bus. Sorry I cant remember the $..

ahjo77

HI meow

Thanks for ur info

Bt would like to check whats the ususal time to visit YMS and where are the places we can go after that ....=)

kkjc0517

what are the opening hours of the night market?what time tthey close?the shops at xmd close at what time?is it safe in taipei to get back to hotel in xmd later in the nite?

jew

Hi cool,

most of the stores in night market start at 3pm, closed mayb at 12mn or even later (didnt shop so late b4 so don know)..
For XMD, most shops closed at abt 10 ~ 11pm.. Its quite safe to walk back to yr hotel, but it will be better if there is company with u.

jew

Hi ahjo,

For my previous trip, we took the bus from XMD in the late morning and reach there abt 1pm.. Due to the bad weather (raining n strong wind) in Sept, we didnt actually tour in detail, so we just took the YMS tour bus which take us from the starting point back to the station. ** Very very disappointed!

Then from YMS bus station, we took the same bus no. (as the XMD bus) going to town, the bus actually passby Shihlin night market, so we drop there to spend our night there.

So, if u intend to spend more time at YMS, I suggest u go there early (mayb 8~9am). Then by afternn, u may have finished touring most of YMS, so u can have more time to spend on shopping in the evening at the night market.

pierced22

Cool, itz pretty safe in taipei late at nite even on wkdays. the ppl there hang out till very late, KTV and stuff. i was still walking ard XMD late at nite. Of coz, any place, usual safety precautions still apply, even in a safe city.

Ah jo, like meow, from YMS, i stopped at shilin to shop and have dinner. but in the morn, i proceeded from beitou instead.

poohbear88

any 1 been to zhongxiao road?can advise how to get to zhongsio road?heard there are lots of fashion oulets of both local and international brands there..saw from the map got zhongsio dun hua,zhongsi fusing,zhong sio sinsheng station etc,which station will be nearer?

jew

Hi cool,

I m afraid u cant try their clothes at wufen pu or shihlin... I just ahga ahga the size when buying... usually the sizes are in s, m, l..

ahjo77

can anyone share with me where can i see the changing of guard duty ( issit martyn shrine or SYS memorial hall) and whats the time to view this "performance"

pierced22

happy, zhongxiao rd is very long, it starts from taipei main station too all the way down so u might wana start from this stop.
as for shopping, i didnt shop there coz itz the big brands and shops which is around same price or more ex in Sin.

michocyte

anyone tried the hot spring at Wulai, is it good?

How long it takes to travel from XMD to Wulai? And how how it takes from XMD to YangMingShan? Are all the hot spring in YangMingShan sulpuric in nature? Thanks.

lush_queen

i am planning for a F & E taipei trip in june. any recommendations for the hot spring resorts? preferably a few hours in a private room.

also, those who stayed at rainbow hotel or royal castle hotel, is there free internet access in the rooms?

violetmelody

pierced, thanks for the advice on the hotspring.. probably will not go there.. didn't realise May was going to be very hot when we booked the air tix.. sigh.. anyway have u been to taroko gouge at hualien? not sure if it is worth to take a 3hr train ride from taipei to hualien...

btw anyone been to the restaurant that Lan Xinmei opened, heard from my fren that the food is really good there? saw many theme restaurants on taiwan variety shows too, or those shown on shi zi lu kou, cafe/restaurants on hilltops?

atsk

Hi Pierced & Wong,
Thanks for the advice... I had a wonderful trip to taiwan...I'm planning to go again in August/Sept

Btw I joined a half-day sight-seeing tour...http://www.hftravel.com.tw/en/taipei-city-tour.htm
Went to Shilin, Wu Fen Pu, Zhongxiao Dunhua, Zhongxiao Fuxing, XDM, Taipei Main Station, Danshui - Fisherman's wharf...

I loved the "wo tie & jiao zhi" from this chain called "pa fang jiao zhi" its really delicious & cheap...

I stayed at this hotel, its really cozy & convenient http://www.wonstar.com.tw/en/index.php

wyy

so audrey,

did you buy lots of things from Wufenpu?

My fav is Danshui old street and Taipei Main Station.

Danshui got massage
Taipei Main Station got lots of PS games and many nice shopping and eatery....

reality

Hello Whiteveil, I'm also looking for someone who can get stuff from taiwan. Do let me noe if u hv lobang.

The place is Danshui. Anyone going?

pierced22

michelle, i tried the hotspring at wulai, there's many places avail there with diff prices but as it was june, i didnt really enjoy it. if u are gg in winter, should be more enjoyable.
the trip from XMD to wulai should take u less than 2 hrs.
u have to take to Xindian MRT and transfer to bus which prob ard 40-1hr.
its a slight walk from there to the shops at wulai.

hi audrey, glad u had a great time there
i would love to go back there some time too.

hi violet, yup i went to taroko gorge. itz very nice! worth the trip there. muz go to the tunnel of nine turns and shakadang trail. the water there is very blue. we even climbed down at a certain pt to take pics closer to the water.
didnt go to that rest, i only went to a toilet bowl themed cafe.

happyangel19

I'm new to this thread...I'm going to taiwan this june...can anyone share your itinerary with me? Any place for any good recommendation?

reality

Hello Lilian,

Thanks a lot. I'm drinking the milk tea frequently, so just replenishing my stocks. If you are going and it's not too heavy for you, I don't mind any number of packs

atsk

Hi Wong,
I didnt bought any stuff at Wu Fen Pu wholesale market..maybe its not my type of shopping

I find the place abit confusing & the toilets are pretty hidden
The toilet that i went to is underground hidden in the carpark which i find it rather unsafe....

^5 ~ Danshui is really nice, i bought lots of goodies... bought the almond / gingko powder which is really good the shop is called "private house" they do delivery to the hotel if you spent 1000NT and above. I spent about 2000NT for 6 bottles of almond & gingko powder and 2 packs of instant almond coffee.
Oh yes, I saw the small little shop tat provides massage but i didnt try

Taipei Main Station has lots of eatery... we tried the beef noodles which is fantastic!!!

I'm planning my next trip which is in September

Going to Danshui again for more almond/gingko powder, Shilin & XDM for the food & shopping, 1st time to Jiufen and another visit the National Palace Museum which is very interesting....

Any reccomendations in Jiufen?

Thanks in advance !!!
I miss Minster Donuts it's much better than Donuts Factory...

jew

Hi Audrey,

Jiufen is a very good place to visit.. To my own opinion, I think its better than Danshui.. Good atmosphere, scenery n environment, the place is well preserved. If u like nature and oldies, u may like there.

There is an 'old street' (lou jie) to shop, where there r quite a lot of shops selling local food, souvenirs etc... n alot of old houses along the street.. u can go to the restaurant where u can enjoy nice scenery while u eat!!

jew

Hi audrey,

forget to info u... Septamber is a raining season... so get prepare in case it rains... (I being to taipei during Sept too)

wyy

audrey,

almond & gingko powder , you bought that too??

my ah lao bought a lot and is still laying at home. hahaha...not that it is not nice, just that we are too lazy to make the drink. We prefer plain water instead.heehee.....

Among the places i went in Danshui, TP main station and Jiufen is my fav.

For Jiufen, i think can try buy some local delights like pudding got lychee, mango etc. Mango one is nice. I also bought some chinese tea leaves from there.

to me, Jiufen is almost like Danshui. But Jiufen got sea view as it is on top of mountain.

reality

Hi Wong,

Did u go to jiufen on your own or join halfday tour? Cos if by tour, then seems like the 3 to 4hr (include transp tm) is not enuf to really enjoy and relax at jiufen.

wyy

Reality,

I went there with the tour. But then hor, my hubby and I were the onli one in that tour group. The TW agency (assigned by my Spore Agency) hire a cab for us. And that cab driver is our tour guide cum driver for that full day guided tour.

There are places the cab driver have to bring us BUT our time is very flexible (even the places we want to visit can be arranged).

For my stay in Jiufen, though my time is not too long (maybe 2-3hrs in Jiufen exclde transport), I manage to walk all the streets also have my lunch there. Did not have tea though but i feel having tea there will be very enjoyable.

violetmelody

i've seen somewhere in one of the threads that yeliu is worth visiting.. anyone been there and wat do we see there? and how do i get to yeliu from ximending? and then from yeliu to jiufen? not sure if the 2 places are nearby?

reality

Hello Wong YY,

Your tour sounds good. Which Spore agency is it? When u reach jiufen, do u have to switch to a bus to get up? Or the cab can drive all the way?

I went taipei alone earlier this year and got the hotel to book a trip for me to Yehliu, as it was in the morning, and the only timing I could take. I was also the only one in the van, and I didn't like it when the guide brought me to 2 places at the end of the trip - handicraft ctr and local products dept. The itinerary did not state, but I guess all guided tours are like that. Being the only one, I would feel pressured to get some stuff.

reality

Hi Violet,

Yehliu is a coastal area. My journey is almost an hour from taipei. Think the most famous thing there is the Queen's Head rock.

475819.jpg

475820.jpg

475821.jpg

sspl

hi all..i just came bk from my 8 days trip taiwan.. dint visit yehliu as dint knw how to go there.. but heard frm my taiwan frds, yehliu is just stone formations, nothing amazing.. see e brochures is also the same as aboved pic, the queen head.. taroko formation nicer.. overall, i enjoyed my trip! as for jiufen, the tea house i went got nice tea sia.. love it, lavender milk tea but they dont sell there leh, only those normal tea leaves.. i dont see the milk tea stated aboved by a gal too.. but i like e food there..

wyy

Reality,

I booked thru Wingo Travel Agent at this people's park. I did enjoyed my guided tour.

The Cab driver (also the guide for my trip) was a young guy and he is very friendly. Maybe bcos we are all abt the same age (late 20+ early 30+). Before going to any shop, the cab driver assured us we dun need to buy anything. Somemore he did not push us to buy unlike most tour guide.

Sometimes we have to be thick-skin abit, see the local products but dun buy in the end...hee hee....the shops maybe black-faced but I tourist i have the choice lor..heehee

I travelled around Taipei by cab for my guided tour including Jiufen. Like that easier cos Jiufen is on the mountain top. If want, i have also mentioned in earlier posts in this thread of my cabby contact and name. Can call him and arrange.

476032.jpg

This is View from Jiufen

reality

To all who are buying taipei currency:

There is a counter at lucky plaza level 1 (inside a cosmetics shp) that gives quite gd rate, compared to others. 2 weeks back when I chk for some rates, NT was 21.8.

If anyone knows any other place in town that offers gd rates, let me noe

wyy

Low,
As mentioned in my early post, the Taiwan Agent that Wingo arranged hired a cab to drive us around. Actually there was a tour guide when we reached the first destination, the tour guide left and the cabby took over to be our guide.

As told by Wingo, we have to pay them NT300 (approx S$15) per pax to the guide.

If you are to arrange the cabby, i think most of the cab will have a rate to follow

For those interested to call my cabby, below is his contact.

The cabby is called ShiChuan (çŸ³å· 0226585130). Not sure if he is still a cabby cos my trip to TW is already 6mths plus ago BUT no harm trying to call him when in TW.

He is a nice chap.