Taiwan F&E

jew

Hi zjw,

u r welcome! remember to bring more $$ as some shops doesnt accept credit c. n some charge % for credit c.

enjoy shopping in taipei!

zhanglilian

Hi Meow

Are the things there cheaper than Singapore? I've got ordered Taiwan mag and the things shown in the mag are all veri expensive one leh...like a pair of shoes...it cost around 5000NT loh...so ex leh...

ahjo77

Hi meow

My HB is lso a fan of Gundam , do u happen to hav the address of the shop , orwhich level f the shopping centre ( Wan Nian) issit located ??

jew

Hi zjw,

I supposed those product advertised in magz are from some boutiques. Definitely prices in boutiques are much exp than those stores in night markets. e.g. I managed to get a pair of Asics sneakers at S$50 in Shihlin (but limited sizes & colr), already unavaliable in singapore. Try to do more comparison in different stores b4 purchase. Don 'gan chong' when buying, or u may regret..

FYI, some stores may carry some designs which Singapore does not carry. There are many shoes stores in Shihlin night market having sales, try to look out there.

jew

Hi ahjo,

All I could remember is the 1st 2~3 levels are selling clothings, shoes and some accessories items, and the top 4th ~ 5th levels are stores selling mixture of toys, books& magz, vcd and some fashionable items.

Don worry abt cant find the shops in 'Wan Nien", cos there are quite a few shops selling modelling kits and those 'ha' jap toys.

Mayb u can just 'grab' a taiwanese to guide u to the building, if you don know the way to it.

ngoost

hi, i was wondering how's the weather is like in early Aug ?

if i'm a shopping lovers, when is the best time to visit taiwan ? not interested in winter wear.

pls advice.

jew

hi zjw,

heee.. actually i just being to taiwan once last yr sept.. My hubby & I used to F&E tour so we did quite alot of research b4 went for tour.. My hubby is a 'direction-smart', not like me.. is a idiot in direction!!
The only problem we face is the unexpected bad weather!!

U can get those tour guide books (in chinese -thin A4 size magz-like) from Kinokuniya, at the Chinese section.. they r good guide esp for those going for F&E package to taiwan or japan.

faintz

Hi, me planning to go this June but haven book.. Initially, wanted to go in July but worry cant stand the heat..

any one here can share the F&E price with me? I am planning to stay in Rainbow hotel. was quoted about 800 plus to travel by China Airline for a 5days 4nights.. somemore no breakfast and transport to and fro airport.. very ex, I felt..

Appreciate if anyone can recommend good agency to approach..

jew

Hi faintz,

Mayb u can check the Jetstar airline, see whether they have any offer. My sis is going to taipei this april, got her airticket from jetstar at S$400+/pax and book the hotel room herself through phone (rainbow hotel). She book a bigger room (S$114 incl. bkft) for 3pax, u can book a smaller room (ard S$90 incl.bkft).

pierced22

iz leng, have sent u the itinerary.

Hi ngoo, guess the best time for clothes is summer. Aug is still ard summer time and hot. i went in june and the clothes were plenty to buy.

Cool, i went to kaohsiung. there are a few places like
- love river ( a bit like our boat quay),
- British consulate at Takao and hsi tze wan beach ( to see sunset),
- Chijin island ( where u take ferry across),
- liuhe night market
outer kaohsiung will be only Foguangshan and meinong, or u can take a trip to kenting and pingtung.

zhanglilian

Hi Meow

F&E is always better than those packaged tour cos the the tour guide will definitely request the tour group to buy things so as to earn comm. I just booked my F&E tour. Will be going in August...summer time...will be extremely hot rite? Btw, where did u do ya shopping in Taipei? Shilin Night Market? I tot the market only sells food.

violetmelody

hi ppl, i'm gg on a 5d4n f&e trip in end may, booked jetstar and rainbow hotel too.. seems like a popular choice for everyone.. So will be staying in taipei for the 4nites so was wondering if there are any good hotsprings near taipei to visit? especially during may since it's around summer time?

wyy

zjw, nothing much in jade market.

compare to other parts of TW, jade market may be cheaper BUT do remember, u may not find good jade there unless u are a very expert wif jade.

pierced22

zjw, shilin nite market very big! sells lots of things, clothes shoes etc, not juz food. one nite cannot cover if u include shopping. I went back several nites for the food too and shopping. but itz very crowded with tourists and their own ppl as well.

Violet, hotsprings would be around Beitou (the nearest) or if not, outside, Wulai is gd. but may is very hot lei, i didnt even feel like jumping into a hotspring when i went in june. only went once to try out how it is. thk it would be better in winter time.

Happy, thk kaohsing itself, 2-3 days would be more than enuf. itz mainly a city. taipei has more to offer.
taipei depends on what u like to do, i spent purely 7 days there but travelling to outskirts on certain days like jiufen, wulai, yeliu etc.
have sent u mi itin.

kkjc0517

when is the best time to visit Wu fen pu?
heard wu fen pu is close for 1 day to serve wholesalers only,which day is that??

when is the best time to visit Shihlin Night market?it is only open at nite??

kkjc0517

any 1 noe how is the weather in taipei in april?

hi pierced,
which hotel u would recommend to stay in kaoshiong?

blanqq

I booked my stay at TS Hotel. Heard it's a new hotel and they have promotion now with their rooms. Rainbow is indeed very near, it's inside XMT inself. But from the outside, it looked old.

jew

Hi zjw,

As wat pierced mentioned, shihlin nm not only sells food, it also sells quite a great variety of products. I went there for 2 nites!! I m a comic craz, n manage to get some 2nd hand comics there!!

Hi cool,

Most of the stores in shihlin starts to operate from 3pm.. so mayb u can visit those 'attractions' like those memorial halls in morning then go to the night markets in late afternn.

jew

Hi zjw,

adding to my previous post, U can also try wu fen pu -wholesales st (looks like bigger version of bugis village). They will give u discount if u buy more than 2pcs or 12pcs & abv (remember to ask for it b4 bill). I didnt buy alot there as the style doesnt suit me...

zhanglilian

Hi Meow,

How's the clothing style in WuFenPu? I heard it's popular but not sure what style of clothing they have...actually my trip is only in Aug which is summer hor...will be hot hot i guess. Anyway, i'm so excited abt my taipei trip. U need mi to help u get any Gundam accessories?

pierced22

Cool, u can stay in Kind Business hotel in Kaohsiung. Itz value for money, comes with Bf which is quite gd. near the train station within walking distance. it's reccomended in Lonely planet too.

zjw, have sent u mi itin.
Wu fen pu style is exactly what u will find all around taipei, the young jap fashion. so whatever is in, u get it there. of course there are oso other sort of fashion, thk there's a part for kids clothing along the rd.

happy, i bought mostly food stuff as souvenirs. the muah chee, the pineapple tarts. there's a very nice shop near Wonstar. itz directly East dragon hotel where the freego bus drops u.

ahjo77

I intend to go Yang Ming Shan during my stay in taipei in mid april, would like to know what would be a good time to go and how to get there?

poohbear88

hi ,
how many stars is TS Hotel?any 1 noe which location is better,TS or future star hotel?in taipei,roughly how much is the breakfast?

pierced22

happy, credit card any type that can use overseas.even debit card oso now can use. Taiwan is pretty modern.
Ahjo, thk that has been posted up bef in the forum. u can take a bus 260 from Taipei main station
shilin mrt - red bus 5
beitou - bus 230
jiantan-minibus 15

there's a shuttle bus 108 from the YMS main rd
thk the flower viewing season is over for YMS, it ends usually in early mar. but u can visit Xiao you keng too along the way. itz a big sulfphur spring.

kitty, shoes are cheap at shilin. u gotta walk ard and look 1s for the bargains.ranging from 250-400 plus. depends on how u bargain.
mi average pair of shoes was only 10 plus bucks.

michocyte

Hi Pierced,

Can send me your itinerary too? [email protected]

Anyone out there know how is Kilin hotel? Is it near XMD? I have booked the package to Taipei in June and the tour agency told me Rainbow hotel is full booked so they booked Kilin for me. I am just wondering whether it is accessible as i have not been to Taiwan b4. Please advise. Thanks.

kkjc0517

any 1 noe where is the books street in taipei?
are jimmy's comics books(jimi) cheaper in taipei?
are the comic books easily available in taipei?

poohbear88

can advise how to get to zhongsio road?heard there are lots of fashion oulets of both local and international brands there..saw from the map got zhongsio dun hua,zhongsi fusing,zhong sio sinsheng station etc,which station will be nearer?

jew

hi zjw,

As wat pierced mentioned, their clothing style are quite jap, some r fancy n kawaii! too bad, its not my style!!!

My husband bought quite a lot of gundam stuff in sing liao.. n a lot havent done yet...so I think don need anymore.. anyway tks very much for yr help.

jew

Hi cool,

comics r quite common in taipei. solely in XMD there r abt 2~3 stores. the stores r usually quite big, n some comic stores even sell mix of magz, books and jap toys. the comics priced from 85yuan (approx S$4.25).

jew

Hi happy,

most of the stores accept any cc but if u r going mainly to those night markets, it will be advisable for u to bring more cash!!

Hi ahjo,

b4 u go to YMS, remember to get their metro card (mrt card) or prepare more coins, cos when u reached YMS bus station, u will have to take a bus to tour around the area. during the YMS bus tour, u may want to get up n down of the bus to see the scenery. the bus driver will actually inform the passengers of diff stops to alight. Every stop u board, u may have to scan the card for the bus fare. besides the mrt station, u can also get the metro card from their convenience stores.

ahjo77

Hi Meow

Thanks for ur info , btw the bus is 108 at YMS??
so we can just board another bus after we alight n take pic or look at the scenery ?
how much is the bus fare ...keke cos in case the stored value on the metro card is not enuff

pierced22

hi michelle, the mail has been sent.

cool, u can check out their Eslite bookstores, there's a 24 hrs one near zhongxiao rd if i didnt remember wrongly.practically everything's in chinese so prob u can find a gd range.

Ah Jo, u will reach the YMS main stop which is like a rd with nothing. we were puzzled at first but there's a very nice park next to it that the locals drink tea n play mahjong in the nature. from there u catch the 108 bus which is the shuttle ard YMS. it will stop at all the different stops at YMS like what Meow said.