Taiwan F&E

sunrays

hi zjw

I'm going to stay in Rainbow Hotel at Ximenting.
The location is superb cos it's surrounded by endless shops! Abt $109/nite for a really big room. It's a clean and comfortable hotel, fuss-free and the best thing is during weekends, mini concerts or autograph signing sessions will be right in front of the hotel...the last time i was there, saw jolin tsai too!

zhanglilian

Hi Sunrays

Is it a Love Hotel? Cos as far as I knw, some hotels are actually Love Hotels leh...btw, is Ximenting veri dangerous? My friends said that area veri messy and dangerous when I told them I wana stay in that area.

panggou

personally i am not into rainbow cos it looks quite old, but it is realy in the middle of ximending and that makes it a superb location cos you dont need to worry about food heheh

dalmatian

Hey, me too, stay at Rainbow hotel when i went to TW on yr 2005.... although it look old but the location very gd n conv n cheap too - near to the "mrt stn" n got alot of food store/cart dwstair so it is not difficult to get food anytime but 2 things bad is it is veri crowded during wkend & the bf everyday is the same.....

Sunrays - when was the last time u went TW? cos I went om Apr 05 n heard frm the staff tat they gng to renovate in jun 05, so dun knw whether it reali renovate liao?

sunrays

Hi zjw

Dun think it's a love hotel bah....it does not look that sleazy,haha. I'm quite a fussy person when it comes to rooms. I actually stayed there for abt 6nites and it's really comfortable. Maybe becos I chose the bigger room catergory cos for the first nite I arrived there, I stayed in a normal room that is so tiny! After putting my huge luggage,got no more space to walk! So I 'upgraded' to a bigger room for just SGD20 more per nite and this room comes with a separate living room! But to be honest, the first look of the hotel facade did turn me off,haha! And Ximenting not dangerous lah...it's mostly youngsters there, not gangsters....kekeke.

Hi Dalmatian
I went there Feb 2006 before CNY, weather was cold and their CNY market is really interesting! I dunno whether they renovate or not....but the room i stayed looks kinda clean and it doesn't smell bad...the first nite i was there they gave me this tiny room and it had this musky old carpet smell! U are right abt the pushcart food stalls downstairs...damn shiok right? Eating all those nonsense alrdy full liao...most of the time i just kept asking my hubby to go downstairs to buy,hahaha! And their bubble tea is out of this world! Really looking forward to my trip, I'm going end of this month!

dalmatian

oh luclily for me, when i was ther wif my sis, they actualli gave us a big room (1 double bed & 1 single bed)at the same level wif their so called dinng plc 4 bf.... n it is almost the 1st room when u walked out of the life...... the first nite is quite noisy bcos the 2nd flr is a resturant wif ppl singg or mayb we slept early in the 1st nite... hehe

ya lor wif all different food selling dwstair reali shiok men n i can buy different type of food up 4 makan n i dun thk it is dangerous leh cos i always go dwn alone to walk walk while my sis jus stayed in the hotel to watch TV prog....

and there also a stall nearby selling the famous 'oyster mee suay'(spelling).... wow so good gng again this mth.... i m still thkg when i can go again? but will definately gng bk ther to stay if i was to go ther again

atsk

Just wondering is it a good time to visit Taiwan during Mid May? Any idea how's the weather?

Any hotels reccomendations as well?

Thanks in advance !!!

spotti

hi pierced

juz PM you

Hi Pierced,

Sry for the late thanks. Didnt have time to chk afterwards... =)

Btw, does anyone know if they have this area where you can book the land tours? Understand Brisbane had its own Transit Ctr, whereby you can approach the counters and book the land tours... not sure if Taiwan have them, as i'll be there for abt 10 days...

pierced22

Hi Audrey, mid may should be summer time so itz hot. shorts and tees is the best wear.
there's many hotel reccomendations here already.best to stay in XMD. up to u to choose the hotel. Wonstar or rainbow is gd,thk another rec was tashan (hope spelled correctly)

Hi spotti, juz replied ur mail.

Skywolf,
they have a big main area for tourist info outside the arrival hall, where u can grab lots of brochures, maps, and there's staff to ask about tours. thk might be able to book there if not get them to recommend.
thk the main one to bk thru will be taiwan tour bus.
The tourist attractions and railways and bus stations all have tourist info counter and itz quite informative. there's staff on hand to talk to as well.

Hmm... thanks Pierced... =)

Just wondering if they have a "wedding street" there (something akin to our Tanjong Pagar area) for me to look-see their display... Friend of a colleague had popped there to take some outdoor shots, but she had lost the contact of the BS... thot i could just also walk walk there if time permits. Do you know where is it?

henkitty

any1 knws taiwan hv a beach thats of a love shape?
theres a taiwan drama show starring rainie yang show the place b4..cant rem the show name liao..any1 knw the place??

henkitty

any1 knws taiwan hv a beach thats of a love shape?
theres a taiwan drama show starring rainie yang show the place b4..cant rem the show name liao..any1 knw the place??

idono

Its not a beach. The love shape thingie is actually a fish catchment area and u can see it from a hilltop. Its in one of the island in Penghu region.

Anyway, penghu quite worth visiting if u've the time. 45min internal flight from taipei.

pierced22

Skywolf, thk taipei has one. remembered seeing it when passing by on the public bus by but so sorry, not exactly sure where. maybe the gals who stayed in taipei know roughly where. coz the one st i know is in Kaohsiung and the shops look really nice and very huge.

kitty, yup itz in Penghu. i went there, itz not on the main island but a 1h40 min boat trip from penghu main island. Itz called Chimei island.
its not a beach that is love shaped but some stones from long time ago that was placed there for catching fishes but formed into twin heart shaped.
Idono's right. Penghu's one of the nicest islands worth visiting. go there in summer. seafood there is very nice too!

henkitty

idono & pierce thks for the info!

Is 8 days enuff for shopping in taipei plus the penghu trip? btw wats the extra cost of the flight to penghu?

wyy

hi kitty,

are you gg to taipei alone?

with one day trip to penghu?

If so, i feel wif 8 days,you can cover more than taipei leh.

henkitty

hi wyy,

nope..im go wif my hubby...

saw the scenery @ the show very nice..so decide to go shopping cum sight-seeing there..will cover places like jiu fen & those too..but till now oni these place interest me...

wyy

kitty.....i think if 8 days in taipei is abit too much leh. mi not a fan of night market so when i stayed there in taipei for about 6 days, i was abit bored.

i believe you doing a f&e tour, you may want to try some of the following:
1) the train station. PS stuff is cheap but all in chinese.
2) Fisherman wharf, the old street nice!!
3) 101 (must go cos highest bldg in the world)
4) Alisha (which i never been there b4)
5) Handicraft street, few streets from Train Station(if interested)
6) Wufenpu (whole sale market for ladies clothing)

I think pierced have more places to offer....

atsk

Hi Pierced,
Thanks for the information.
I will be going next week instead of May

As for hotels, I've booked Wonstar @ XMD..

I'm going with another 3 friends, but 2 of them are only keen in shopping as they have been to sightseeing liao..

Keen to visit these places but not sure how to get there..can anybody advise me how to get to these places from XMD?
1. 101
2. Fisherman wharf / Old Danshui (heard from my coll tat there's a very famous shop "shuan yuan cheng bing dian" @ Old Danshui

Thanks in advance!!!

wyy

Hi Audrey

From Xi Meng Ting to Taipei 101 : Same Blue line from Ximen MRT to Taipei City Hall MRT Stop. Exit 2, turn right for Free Shuttle Stop to and fro 101 building.

Fisherman Wharf
Take MRT from XMD to Danshui, then got quite a no. of bus to fisherman wharf.

For the old Danshui, i think u mean the street...Cant remember isit near the Danshui MRT but is not too far from MRT station.
(if i can find more details i will post up for u)

pierced22

kitty, 8 days more than enuf to cover shopping in taipei but u might wana have 3d2n in penghu. gives u enuf time to go island hopping.
internal flight was quite reasonable. plenty of flights and airlines.
we paid 1628NT per pax for the air tic but mine from kaohsiung -Makung(penghu)
if not, go outskirts of taipei so that u can get another view of tw.

skywolf, yup, was a bit hesitant but tried it out. less tourists from other countries go there and the place was nice. read in some mag advertising it and said that penghu is so called the other maldives.

audrey, if u go 101, if u r a fan of ice cream, muz try their Big Tom icecream located at the observatory. very nice! thk they hv other branches in taiwan too. that's the only one i tried.

atsk

Hi Wong,
Thanks for the directions!!!
Btw my friend tells me that the Fisherman wharf nothing much to see except the nice sunset..is it true?
I'm thinking if I dont visit Fisherman wharf, i would only need to spend less than half a day to shop @ Danshui since it's mostly pastry shops..

I'm rather confused as to where i should go now..coz my friends kept telling me not to waste time going to 101 & Fisherman wharf

My friend's itinerary is -> 1st nite shilin,2nd day taipei main stn, 3rd day wufenpu & 4th day xdm...

Pierced, thanks for the recc on the ice cream..will defintely try!!!

pierced22

Hi Wong, I'm fine! busy with wk like others to log in here. hah...
i juz came back fr Cebu. Dun thk planning a trip to taiwan in the meantime coz trying out other places first. though i would love to go back there. still have got some places not covered yet. hee...

reality

Hello skywolf,
About the "wedding street", I vaguely remember that it was near Chiang Kai Shek memorial hall station. Cos think I went past before crossing the road to the CKS memorial hall.

ahjo77

I would be going to taipei via jetstar and F&E on 15th April for 6days

WOuld like to know any recommendation for hotel as ta shun hotel is full house on that dates.
We are a party of 3 pax ...

Would also like to have some itneraries on where are the places to visit during my 6d5n there ..

email : [email protected]
Thanks a lot

jew

Hi AhJo77,

U can try Rainbow Hotel, its located at Ximending. Have a browse at their website.
Rainbow Hotel : http://www.ncznhotel.com.tw/rainbow/intro/all.htm

U may call directly to taipei to make reservation, they will confirm immediately i/o emailing which might be slower in response. Give them a call again 1-2 days b4 u depart to confirm yr room with them.

Their room r quite spacious and they do housekeeping everyday. Metro station (know as mrt in s'pore) is just located 5-10 min walking distance.

If u r lucky, u may be able to see those taiwanese idols having their signature/photography session at the nearby music/cd store (looks like our HMV orchard store). Its quite common in Ximending (only during certain period). I managed to passby the FIR signature session during my way back to hotel, but didnt get to meet in person, the queue is toooo long and im too tired after a day shopping ..

jew

U may try these places:

1. Wu fen pu (wholesales street), another 10min walk to Raohe night market. (metro station - hou shan bei station)

2. Shihlin Night market (metro station - jian tan station)

3. Jiu fen (outskirt of taipei) - need to take mrt then change bus (ask hotel reception for guides) ***U may also book 1day tour from one of the agents (recommend FreeGo) - advance booking.

4. Chiang Kai Shek Memorial Hall (chinese 'Zhong Zheng Ji Nian Tang')

5. Sun Yat-Sen Memorial Hall

6. YangMingshan National Park (there is direct bus stop to Yangmingshan bus interchange near Rainbow Hotel- ask the hotal recept for direction) *bus interval every 1hr.

things u need to know:
+ Night market usually start around 3pm, don go in the morning!!

+ Shop (except some restaurants & 24hr store) usually open around 11am. U may go to those tourist attraction (e.g. chiang kai shek etc..) in the morning b4 go shopping.

wyy

hi audrey,

How many days are you plannig to stay in TW?

"Your friend's itinerary is -> 1st nite shilin,2nd day taipei main stn, 3rd day wufenpu & 4th day xdm..."

First i need to make clear i am not a night market fan and shopping in night market is not my cup of tea, i basically like to eat and for shopping i like old streets.

From your friend iti, think she likes to shop alot as she can spend 1 day in Taipei Main Station,1 day in XMD and 1 in Wufenpu.

For my previous trip, My itinery is as follows

> Day 1 (Sunday)
> Reached Taipei CKS Airport abt 6pm. Transport provided by Agent to
>Rainbow Hotel. Then go Shilin Night Market via Metro from XMD to JianTan.
>After dinner back to hotel and koon.....
> -Buy their "easilink" card (actual name forgot liao) that cost NT500
>(NT100 deposit and NT400 travelling) from Marchine in Metro Station
>
> Day 2 (Monday)
> 9am: Guided Tour
> See change of Guards, Jiufen, Ferris Wheel, Snake Alley (Beitou for
>Hotspring was cancelled by us cos is too hot for me liao). After tour
>ends, I went aroung XMD to walk walk where hubby sleep in hotel cos he is
>sick.
>
> Day 3(Tuesday)
> 11am F&E
> Missed Rainbow Hotel's Breakfast
> Have Brunch at nearby eatery (shops opp Watson)
> After makan, went to
> -Taipei 101 area
> -wufenpu (Near houshanpei metro station)
> -Raohe Night Market ; near wfp behind train station(not able to go NM
>cos was pouring thus took train back to Taipei Main Station)
> -Gong Guan NM (Actually not night market, is a shopping district)
> *note: heard from cabby, WFP on Monday is not open to public so dun go
>on Monday
>
> Day 4(Wednesday)
> 11am F&E [Trip for me]
> Missed Rainbow Hotel's Breakfast again
> After makan, went to
> -Ho che zhan (behind taipei main station) look for handicraft material
> -Shopping at Taipei Underground Mall; playstation accessories are
>cheaper there
>
> Day 5(Thursday)
> 1pm F&E [trip for Hubby]
> Missed Rainbow Hotel's Breakfast again and again
> After makan, went to
> -102 Bike Shop at Xinyi road
> -Take Cab to Bade Road; there is a warehouse selling all computer stuff
>and the streets around there all selling computer stuff
> -Shopping around Sogo (to see the Lift Lady ) and eat at the food court
>
> Day 6(Friday)
> 9am F&E
> Rainbow Hotel's Breakfast (FINALLY)
> After makan, went to
> -Fisherman Wharf (Take Metro to Tamshui then take Bus 26)
> -Take ferry to Bali Island (nothing to see there but got many theme kopi
>hse)
> -Take ferry back to Tamshui Old street;also went into some personnel
>museum to see white crow,mummy and other strange stuff
> (Like the street alot; have massage by the blind there. 30min NT100 =
>S$5)
> -Went back hotel to put things then out again
> -went to tonghua street NM
>
> Day 7 (Saturday)
> 9am F&E (To reach CKS Airport by 4pm)
> Rainbow Hotel's Breakfast
> - Weekend Jade Market
> - Went back to Taipei Underground Mall to buy Playstation accessories
> - Depart from Hotel to a farm where local delights are avaliable for
>purchase (Cheaper than Airport and fresh; Trip provided by agent)
> -Bye Bye Taiwan.
>
> Above are almost all the things I have done in Taipei. Is a relax trip and you may have notice I did not go out early cos in Hotel have 100+ channel to watch and everynight I watched till 3am. Also the shops in Taipei do not open early. Earliest is 10am.

pierced22

Hi audrey, not much comments coz most of the time i ate street food which is really cheap and nice. didnt really thk of trying their steamboat as Im not a mala huoguo fan
their night markets really got lots of food. the Xmd ah zhong mianxian is very nice!

atsk

Hi Wong,

My stay in tw is only 4 days...

Thanks for the information on your previous trip, as this is my 1st time to tw...i would really like to make full use of it.

I like shopping but 4 days of shopping seems abit too much. *faint*

jew

Hi ahjo,

Im not being to hualian so sorry couldnt advise u on tat. But for my preference, I wouldnt rather concentrate on one city (taipei) 1st, unless I have a long long holiday..

zhanglilian

Did any of you see any Gundam stuff in Taipei? Heard Taipei sells such stuff e.g. hobby stuff so was thinking of getting from there. Is it cheaper over there?

jew

Hi zjw,

my husband is also a gundam fan, he managed to find them in one of the buildings at ximnending. Couldnt remember the name of the building... is located abt 10mins walk from rainbow hotel..

Inside the building, there are shops selling fashionable items like clothing, shoes as well as books and toys (looks like the old Far east plaza, slightly smaller) You will definitely get Gundam at cheaper price (compare to sing)... My husband bought quite alot..

jew

Hi zjw,

have asked my husband,, if he is right.. the building is known as 'Wan Nien' (chinese as 10 thousand years)

zhanglilian

Hi Meow,

Thanks for the detailed info. My bf is a Gundam fan loh...he's looking for decal (Sticker for the Gundam model). Singapore offers limited range so thinking of going there to buy. Since the Gundams are cheaper over there, I'm sure my bf will oso buy alot back. Thanks again for the info.