Strategic Design aka Yin Feng

they won't MIA but they will take their sweet time to rectify the defect..... this is what i face now, lucky just minor one....

twinkle,
paiseh. the last time i replied ur msg, the system got jammed. then no time to reply after that.
we paid before all the defects were rectified. but so far so good lor. they din MIA. came back to rectify. but so happen that period was CNY n all the workers go back m'sia for CNY. so we had to wait till after CNY. once CNY over, the first work day they came to rectify already. think it all depends on the ID. managed to get all my defects done up. they even re-run my washing machine piping for me, cos it was at the wrong position. but it was a minor re-running. did not hv to drill or knock much. 20min job.

hey popie..no prob..
we are having terrible headache now..so many retifying work to do! dun understand why they can't do everything nicely at the first place. We discover new defects everyday when we clean up the house...the two major problem is the homog groutings...i think due to chemical wash..the grouts falls out. My id have ask his men to touch up on the grouts...but after a few mop..can u imagine the grouts falls out???? Then another thing is the kitchen floor tiles..the whole flooring grouts is so uneven....the sight of it make me so SICK! Worst we plan to move in in march one..and till now...we have not even dare to move in yet!! It is damn frustrating process that we have to call up my id every now and then cos we will discover this defects..tat defects everynow and then! and worst..he will explain in a a way that it is like normal thing to happen!Even without coming down to take a look yet. He has really piss me off lor...only my hubby is so patient to listen to his explaination which i think is BULLSHIT.For example..for the kitchen tiles..He say the kitchen tiles come in different sizes..becos of the manufacturing process...so more and less will be uneven (he haven't come down and see...how he know ..HOW BADLY the uneveness is the grout!!)..PLS LOR..i know good tilers will filter out good and even tiles before they do the laying lor...those more uneven one..they will try to put it at the side..but my case is...the uneven tiles is all over the places on the floor. When i ly down and look from my living..i can see a few one up and down of the TILES..esp at the entrance area!!! They just dun borther to check before they lay???or maybe they simply bo chap???!i really loss for words already. This whole renovation process is so tiring. I dunno..I let my hubby handle him. At times..i wonder if i am too IMM CHIM....but i really doubt so! things i can close one eye..i will lor......but the two major problems lies with the floorings...which we have to step on everyday...i really cannot let him go just like tat isn't it?? Very pek chek!

twinkle star,

think before i signed the contract i made alot of fuss. i actually signed up with strategic from HBay tour. we went to view one of their projects when we follow the HBay tour. n we made a fuss about their worksmanship there n then. told them that the tiling is uneven. haha. it was really funny. cos they had to answer on the spot about the uneven tiling. frankly we were famous from then. the whole of HBay and Strategic knew us. think probably cos of that, the ID was quite cautious when dealing with my case. we went to see quite a few of their other projects before signing. we actually ask them to use back the same tiler which we were happy with.

i must agree with the ID tho that it is possible that sometimes the tiling will be uneven. but it wouldnt be too big a difference. for me, the tiler in charge of my house was quite good. the tiling was done in less than a week, and everything was so flat. i happen to meet the tiler once, cos i reached quite early to view the work in progress. he looked like a very calm n patient man. we are actually very happy with our tiling.

but i must say the people who do the gouting, whom i later came to know is not the same as the one who lay the tiles, did a not so good job. he din clean up the tiles properly after the work. but of course, they din return to clean that up for us. but we din bother to ask them come back, cos we managed to clean it off ourselves.

my thinking is that things which i can do myself i do. things which is too troublesome, i dun wana do. apparently there were some loose corners in the tiles. i jus din bother to redo. cos i figured that it would make too big a mess, and might affect the neighbouring tiles.

dun think u r imm chim twinkle star. new house is like that. when everything is new and good, n when u see imperfections very sian one lor. i also keep asking them to come back. u r not alone.

All this happens because you guys were bullied by the contractors.. Before you sign any contract make sure that the terms and conditions should be there in black and white.

For example,
1. Always ask for the detailed schedule of the works.
2. Ask them what happens if one of the activity in the schedule is delayed, what will they do to catch up with the schedule? And in the event that they cannot meet the date, what then would be the compensation. All this you guys have to try to get it in black and white.
A responsible contractor will always be willing to give you such details and assurances.
A bad contractor will hesitate because they have no confidence that they will be able to do it.
3. Besides now supply is greater than demand so if that particular company is not being forthcoming with the details, go look for another. And do not leave looking for ID/contractors to the last minute.
4. Always have a contigency plan in case this contractor does not perform. Meaning always have a back up contractor in mind so that this current one will not be able to blackmail you.
5. Only pay the contaractor when certain requirements are fulfilled. Most of the time there will be 3 payments. The initial, the middle and the end. Keep the initial low because you only need to pay for the design. The middle payment will be made when the contractor had completed about 50% of the works. How much is 50%, you would have to come to a common understanding with your contractor. The last payment is only made when everything is completed and to your satisfaction. One word of advice though, do not be too fussy as nothing is perfect and be fair to the contractor.

6. I always believe that everything should be in black and white. And all terms and conditions to be agreed upon and understand by both parties.

Hope the above will help all future home owners.

Ya,i olso think i am being bullied by them.It is our mistakes tat we told them at the begining tat we have no urgency to move in...so they take it granted tat they can take their own sweet time. One lesson learnt!
For my tiling...I already very sianz liao lor..they redo the kitchen grouting for me...and it look better now...but i can still say it is not up to my expectation...cos of the uneveness of the tiles!They say is the nature of the tiles!anyway..i decided to close one eye liao...

ya... redo redo redo make good make good make good is soooo tiring & stressssss for home owner your noe..

tats wat they wan,owner closed one eye...

well, i admire the IDs actually. they are the ones who can tahan getting countless calls from the owners and getting nagged at them day in day out. its really funny, and seriously i dun understand y they cannot do it well once n for all. but then again, perhaps if they are so good, they would be charging much more than they are charging now.

twinkle star, i been thru it. understand it totally. =) they jus came last thurs to finish up one last bit. Strategic is now officially out of our house and our life. YIPPIE!!!

Congrats Popie!! So happy for you! Nightmare is Over! Hehehe...Yupz ..i dun understand tat either.If They dun borther to do properly..i think i olso dun borther to pay olso lor.hehe.You know..I am still now holding back the last 20%now lei...i dunno whether to pay or not. Although now more or less settle liao lar....but nevertheless..i cannot be sure i will spot other defects. ; p Scare pay liao..he will not return our calls anymore!

twinklestar, guess u can continue holding till u r satisfied lor...

think ur peace days are coming soon too. =)

i hack tat wall the main tel line was there(which i get to noe from Singtel Pple when they come verify), ID electrician hide the main tel line under the floor tile without proper handling.....

den i get telcom pple come down verify and its say tat my whole house tel line shorted due to the main tel line hidden under the floor tiles and maybe its not properly cover den the cements bites the line & cause whole house tel line shorted.... (which later found out its true)

mY Id have verify it by take outing the tv console, digging out the floor tiles, bring out the main tel line.. cover it properly with casing & silicon den put back the floor tiles. do gouding & chemical wash and put the main tel line to the tv console.. *SIGH******

but now its shorted again.. i really dun wish to go thru the verifying process again...

I think the line already have internal injuries...

oh dear. Flora, u really went thru alot for ur reno. my gosh. first it was the solid top, and then this... i m sure u went thru alot more rite?

for me i din do any hecking... n i hvnt check telephone line. hope nothing is wrong.

ya....sigh......

u better check as quick..

my is not jus the solidtop & tel line, there still others. mahz..

solid top settle liao got other contractor to do alraedy.. thank god. everything gone well..

oh dear. but at least everything ended liao. now its twinkle star. hope everything went well for her. i hvnt even activated my phone line

flora.....i really really very angry for you lei...tat is simply too much liao lor. It's really a mental torture lor! I can understand tat. Feel so sorry for you. Ya..hope you nightmare will over soon.For me...i am yet to find out horror....cos i have not move in yet...so far so good lar....anyway..i find tat their workmanship SUCKS..capentary sucks! Tiler suckS!! and what can i say more??

twinkle,

chk ur drawers carefully. like keep pulling them out n pushing them in. my kitchen drawers got stuck halfway. must bang it hard to get it back in. got them to come back n redo onli to realise that one of the screws was not screwed properly, leading to the drawer being stuck halfway everytime it is pulled out.

n this company do things really no head no tail. still got alot of silicon n paint on the flooring. but i close many eyes... jus clean ourselves. so long as the workmanship dun give me probs i happy liao. think my expectation really low. hv to be like that to keep my sanity. else i would hv gone mad earlier liao.

oh my..okie..i will go back and check... : (
u know..i can tell tat they are not using poor quality thin laminate for kitchen cabinet...and their workmanship olso not good..can see the laminate does not wrap the whole ply wood until the close edge...i really worry the laminate will warp when years to come...Haiz...i shld slap myself for not asking him to write down the laminate thickness in my quotation! can promise you heaven and earth before you sign on dotted lines..but when actually recieving is like so decieving!

dAM PISS OFF MAN!when our washing machine delivery man came and connect the washer pipe...he found tat there are cigeratte butts stuffed inside the pipe!!!!!!!!ok..tat never mind..cos not my id fault,maybe his workers did tat behide his back and he willing to come and use acid to flush off these buts.BUt what piss me off is our flooring. We lay homogenese..and we request for colour grouting..cos we dun want the grouting to be in white colour...dirty easily..so the do the grouting to light beige colour. My id did told us tat in future..the colour may fade off or drop off lor. We agree to tat lor...but IMGAINE now the colour already drop off???and now my tiles..some grouting are light beige..some are white...some groutings even fall outs!!!!!!!!!!!! We are so pek chek and call our id!! YOU KNOW WHAT HE SAY..he say it's LIKE TAT ONE AND he have warn us liao!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WHAT THE F***...HELLO....he warn us as in IN FUTURE..the future he mention come so soon lor!!!Me just move in less than 1 months and mop less than 30 times the grouting become like tat!!!! Why not he say his workman ship and the materials he use SUCKS?NONE of my friends encounter these lei! DAMN DISAPPOINTING LOR. POOR WORKMANSHIP AND POOR ATTITUDE NOW!! THOSE WHO WANNA ENGAGED THEM..BETTER CONSIDER PROPERLY!

I've just attended the RAFT tour organised by Hbay...Strategic Design was one of the vendors who did their presentation for my RAFT Tour. We even had the opportunity to visit their showflat at UBI. I must say that it was a good learning experience for both me and my hubby. While at the showflat, we managed to get our hands on their portfolios- which contained "completed" projects...photograhps taken from on-site jobs. This was good as it gave us some realistic ideas of how real HDB flats were "done-up" by their company. (Coz I remembered looking thru other ID companies, who only show u the magazine type of IDs...and artistically created 3D images).
Me and my hubby have decided to sign on with Strategic...as we really do have confidence with their services. They have also been referred to us by one of my friend who had used their services. Thus, after viewing her apartment, I'm convinced by their workmanship as well.
If anyone is interested to know who's our ID...pls pm us.
For us to decide on Strategic, was due to the good referral connections that our ID has. So far, up to the design part of our journey with Strategic, we are very pleased with the sincere and prompt service

Hi Seabreeze,

1) Can advise the name of your id that you dealt with from Strategic?
2) Completed your reno now?
3) Happy with their service & workmanship?
4) How much you spend for the reno? (4/5 rm flat? size?)
Sori for the questions, we really need help & advise for a good & reliable id now...

it not nice to discuss here, but you can call them to query more..... best is to ask for their boss...

just like to highlight to everyone here...

Strategic Design at Ubi - DO NOT PATRONIZE THIS RENOVATION COMPANY
ID is a liar! Everything is possible and smooth sailing before signing the contract/invoice. Their service and attitude change after the signature. Just to name a few how bad their service was: Poor workmanship, Lousy service,Bad Painting & Poor Materials/Parts

Hi Friends out there, Str*tegic D*sign at Ubi advertised their service on 18 jul and 23 may 2008. promising well train supervisor, handover on time, good materials, etc. these are all b*llsh*t, all lies...they took 3-4 months to handover to us. and furthermore, we need to push n push for it then they handover. otherwise, all the reno work will be stagnant. the supervisor M*lvin T*n is worst! never even bother to come and look at the progress till we complain to him. painting was not done and wanted to handover to us. pen ink can still be seen all around the place. good material is also another lie. my tiles colour is starting to fade within 4 months..and they charge extremely high, no lowest price at all. do not be cheated by all their gimmicks!!!
And why they have a brand new showroom because they close down another branch which they can?t afford to maintain. In fact their business is not good therefore, they will charge very high. They used to have financial issues which can checked out with their boss Jos*ph

Hi there, so coincidentally that i just met a couple recently and they used Str*tegic D*sign at Ubi as well. and they share the same sentiments as us. and heard from them they like to use the trick of filing a complaint to the small claim tribunnal and made you pay extra that we as the consumers do not know till we suddenly received a letter. at the same time they can save up the effort of after sales service therefore the warranty of 1 year is a lie since they already on bad terms, consumers will definately won't approach them anymore, right!!!

hey child, which ID is liaising with you now? in fact, they are not really ID. their design is norm, nothing fantastic or unique. is all our own ideas, they don't really design it or give advices if we overlook

Hi Rolf, can check with you what happen to your friend who received the letter from small claim?
Did they pay or counterclaim Strategic?

strategic advertise on 31st Oct, last friday indicating they can customise and have own factory. is not true!...alot of things they do not know how to do. they will say cannot customise, is fixed. and they do not have their own factory, they get others to do it....better be careful with this company...they keep advertising obviously is telling public their business is not good...even is good, they keep advertising meaning they charge very high!...

heys i just got a quotation from Strategic Design @ Ubi, seems to me on this forum that it is a bad idea to go with them. am quite tight financially and their rates are very attractive, hence the dilemma. please advise honestly. thank u so much

hi honestly speaking, go for something that is really worth it...don't end up like us. our place renovated less than 9 months and we seldom stay there but our toilet bowls start to leak, the soap holder drops..the soap holder is drilled to the wall but within 9 months, already dropped. can imagine how sloppy their workmanship is...we really regret being attracted by the rates, ends up so many problems. workmanship is really a critical point to consider, will find that your money is really worth it end of the day if u spend a little more...

the rates may seem attractive but the materials and items provided are not good so why not spend a little more to get better things that can last longer instead of so many problems and troubles in future

hi pple, my renovation by strategic is barely a year and my toilet bowl is leaking, spring of the power switch not working, the soap holder loosen...please seek my advice and do not engage strategic...

hi pple, recently my pipe was leaking but luckily and when we ask someone to come for repair, they actually told us the connecting pipe we are using is not government approved...oh gosh! i wonder how many thing is my house is illegal...so please folks, do not engage strategic