Strategic Design aka Yin Feng

brambles

dear everyone, just want to find out more from those who's engaged this ID b4. care to share more bout ur experience, how u find their workmanship, post reno service and any other stuff that you think prospective customers might be interested to know. many thanks...

i had my flat done by them... finish reno already... service and workmanship...i would say good... i guess depends on who ur ID is... and how experience he/she is... also whether he is those type know how to push his workers one....

overall... we had a good relationship with our ID.. mm... guess if u treat ppl well... they will treat u well in return...

if u wanna know more... perhaps u may wanna pm me...

hi brambles,

have email u..

I have just confirmed reno works with Strategic Design. Kent Wong is our co-ordinator, a patient ID. He will advise you if he thinks that you are doing something unnecessary or excessive. My present neighbour recommended me to him and commented that their workmanship is good.

i was attended by wayne. he is actually very nice, patient and attentive. but the pricing is the highest among all the IDs we have seen. we are still deciding lor.

how abt u? hv u signed with strategic?

Hi popie, i saw wayne at Hbay , he is very patience & kind guy.

me serve by Kenny also quite nice guy but abit strict lar,haha.. i haben sign up with them, cuz their quote is quite high. so still deciding, but can click with them lor.

how ur progress popie?

hi flora,
u r right. we found their price abit more than the rest too. but hubby n i can click with wayne. we would most probably sign with them. we have gone for abt 2 meet ups, gone to their show flat, n gone to see WIP for workmanship. just going for one last round of negotiation. if all goes well, wayne will b THE ONE. hehehe. keep me updated of ur progress too.

lion, so sorry. dun think i can share my quote with u for now. cos we are still in the midst of discussion. still working on the quote and finalising some details. i can give u a rough estimate tho. for 5 room, 110sq metres, its about 20-25k. it would differ depending on wat u do. u should really talk to the designers first. no matter how cheap or how ex, u need to click with the designers before u sign. all the best!

hi popie

haben meet them since, mus be bz rushing some project for hariraya , heard kenny say he got few projects rushing.

hey flora.

yah. jus met up my ID. he said tis is the peak period. everyone rushing for hari raya n chi new year. from now till CNY will be very busy. thats the usual case. the best is to start work after CNY if u r not in a rush.

oh my flora, i actually missed ur post. jus realised u replied.

nope. we actually met outside. it was good. seems good. finalising the details. will update u after we sign the contract. hehe.

how are things at ur side?

My place was done by Strategic and I must say that it was a terrible experience with them. Things they promise before you sign contract and the attitude after is totally different!

Really disappointed with them.

ENT, yes, please share ur experience. pls email me at [email protected] if it is not convenient to discuss it here.

flora, yap. i am actually going to finalise today. hvnt signed the contract with them.

Hi Flora and Popie,

I hope I'm not too late.

Basically, I feel that if you have them do your place, you should make sure that everything that you discussed be it face to face or on the phone Must be put in pen and paper. Lots of things that they promise; give your their words, say they will do it LATER; Don't worry, it will be done... and so forth; Were never carried out and if some of these were eventually done... It's because you would have engaged in some arguement with them first before they eventually do it. Very very tiring. Perhaps other contractors are also like that or worst... but it was my first experience doing a reno and I'm so glad it over. But the sad thing is... I still see the lots of "badly" done up stuff around my place. Just make do and see the nicer parts of our place. My coordinator was K****... and his most notorious words were, "It's like that one."

Anyway, you should really judge for yourself if you can get along great with them. Perhaps I was just more unlucky.

thanks ENT for the reply.
think in every basket there is bound to be a bad apple. sometimes some pple jus click with some n others jus cant click. so its hard to say. we just have to be careful in everything we do n really make things clear and communicate well with the ID. if we are comfortable with the ID, jus take. sometimes it is also very difficult to say. some ID may hv bad experience with one client and hv extremely good experience with the others. think we jus hv to judge for ourselves.

totally agree with wat u said.

anyone have experience with melvin before?
He seem quite nice at first..but now..after signing the contract..he seem to be abit unflexible...tell him we wanna change the door knob....ask him to help us change .he say must give him labour charges...i was like "??: win lor....3 door knob need labour charges???must well i change myself...!!

This is an example of my incident...

Our ID wanted to buy our aircon for us. He quotation was $180 higher than wat we asked on our own. So we bought the aircon ourselves. ID didn't get to "make some money" from us. During installation, the aircon man asked us to call the ID to be there on the day of installation so that they can coordinate on the running of the pipings. ID say if he goes down, we need to pay him for his service "to be there" since we got the aircon ourselves!

I had my reno done by Strategic. My ID was L*k*. Overall, i'm satisfied with the work done. Sure there will be hiccups along the way but thats reno lah. My ID is reasonable and myself and him we give and take.Some things he do for me FOC while some has to charge extra because i ask for some extra works.

ENT,
Tats radiculous!! if he ever do this to me..i will make sure he won't get the final 20% upon handling!!! In the contract clearly stated he is the site coordinator and shld be responsible for all these coordinator works! who do he mean by need to pay him if you want him to come down for advise on how to run piping.
My id not as bad as you have encounter lar..he did mention to me that during air con installation, both me,air con man and him need to be around....so that can see how the piping to be run. I am crossing my fingers....

Hi jme,

Sigh... guess I was "bullied". I didn't even give him any problems with all the payments. ...

After some arguements with him that he should be there during the aircon installation, he finally agreed that he will be there... no charge ... and guess what... on day of installation, Aircon man there.... me there... ID didn't turn up. After waiting for some time, called him and he said that HE Suddenly has a very urgent meeting and cannot go to my place!!! Win liao lor

Luckily the aircon man was very nice and give us his professional advises throughout!

Perhaps I should have been more controlled with my payments... lesson learnt. Anyway... just feel that I should share my experience here for anyone who may benefit from it.

Yes i think we can lor!!..if we are really not happy with his work...we can make sure he do until we are satisfied....if not..can dun pay them one! But of cos if he verified and do till nice nice to the problem area...you have need to give lar..tats fair and square lor..if not just hold and hold..till they come and verified the problems!
if he sue you...you can olso shot them back! Can go to C.A.S.E or even RADDAC to report..but of cos you have have evidence of the unsatisfied work done. Like what you say the work done not properly done at your place....what are those..take pictures...show them! This is the last resort lar...
what work you mention that is not properly done?
Your id who??

maybe you take the pictures of those works "tat he say it's like tat one" to show other id or contractors...see what they say...to see if it's really "like tat one" or it's really badly done!!...It good that you can get a third party opinion before you fight with them....
have you give them all the payments?

very disappointed with Melvin.. his after service.... haiyoh...

he promised to give us one more panel of glass for our display shelf... and also touch up some painting.. but its been almost 3mths... sms him.. he say will check... call him.. NO answer...

urgh.. quite fed up... maybe cos already paid the full payment.. plus those things are out of goodwill from him.. thats y he bochap...

anyone having their reno currently handled by Melvin Tan? Please tell him i am looking for him.. haha... tell him the couple asking for the glass panel one...

Bugs! My id is Melvin lei!!!OMG..i am so worried now!!OKIE..i help you tell him if i see him...cos i am using his service now..i will make sure i dun pay him till he retified and do up everything he promise me!!pray hard and cross my fingers!!!how much he quoted you for your reno?

bug..how abt the workmanship and during the process of renovation and coordination...he good????cos we have a very cheap quote from him...cos we bargain with him alot...i am quite worry tat he dun really so BOCHAP cos he didn't earn much lor...