St. Regis Singapore

milktea20

hi amber,

i understand that yanting do not have set menu so how did you order, can share with me coz i am exploring the possibility to hold my solemnisation ther as well.
And also, the ceremony was held at the hodling area, any additional charge for that?
If you have menu to share with me, pls email me at [email protected]
Much thanks!

lavenderbear

Just to share my 2cents worth, I had a seminar at St Regis ballroom today, seriously not impressed at all. The moment we walked into the lobby, the tiled flooring were soiled and dirty. Then food at the ballroom was mediocre. Subsequently, the main front facing projector didn't work. We had to result to the 2 side facing ones, which were flicking and of poor resolution. I am terribly disappointed with my first impression of this 6 star hotel

annisan

hi JoAn,

i wanted to have have solemnisation at Sheratons Towers.. need yah advise...
i love the waterfall area... and if the banquet price is reasonabl and price is good i will had both dere... save trouble! =)

mypl

Has anyone held your wedding at St Regis or attended one there recently? Would like to hear some comments on your experiences. I have heard nothing but bad reviews.. so now, having second thoughts cos their rates are very high at $1488++.

vivien_lim

Mon - Thur :$118.80++ per person min 350person
Fri,Sun,PH :$128.80++ per person min 400person
Sat,Eve PH :$138.80++ per person min 450person
If you did not meet their min, then have to add $10.00++per head..
They are quite flex, can talk to the catering sales personally if you intend to use their hotel.
Above are price quote to me early 2008,not sure if any increase in price recently.
Just had my wedding held there last week..

lilostitch12

I have recently attended a wedding dinner at St Regis. I guess everyone had such high expectations of this hotel because it is 6 star. Perhaps that was why alot of people were disappointed!

The food served was really a jaw drop! I only had praises for the cod fish. Other than that, the rest is no good.

The appearance of the ballroom is very grand with high ceiling and chandeliers.

Service is generally good but was again disappointed that they have missed out the wedding flavours on our table. Notwithstanding that the waitress tried hard to do a service recovery by explaining to us that the gifts were not sufficient and gave us salt and pepper shakers as replacement, I find such mistakes unacceptable especially the couple paid so much premium for holding the wedding dinner at a prestigious venue.

vivien_lim

i'm also very disappointed with this 6star hotel,
lilo, may i know which day u attend a wedding there?
Dunno is it they are too new so still not experience enough.

lilostitch12

Hello Vivien,

I attended the wedding on the 2nd week of Oct. I guess you are probably right. Still a very new hotel so probably lack the experience. But i personally do feel that this place had been over-rated..

vivien_lim

lilo, my wedding on 5th oct held there was also very very disappointed.
Most of my guest are big businessman, with many oversea VIPs[Japan, US, Taiwan, China, Phillipines etc..], plus some entertainment friends[K box, Capital 98.5, Horizon Music Entertainment, etc],so I thought the price paid was worth while for this 6star hotel..
I entrust my once a life time wedding to them.
But really very disappointed..
But my disappointment is not on the dinner ,it is on the planning ,the stay and during checkout.
My actual day dinner banquet is great..
Thumbs up to the banquet manager Kenny.
More improvment have to be done for the wedding planning[Invites,Theme,Menu] and the managment standard[Invoice]..

lilostitch12

Hello Vivien,
Glad to hear that you have enjoyed the banquet...I think that is the most important part ba.
Did you put up your overseas guests in the same hotel thus resulting in the bad experience in the stay and checking out?

vivien_lim

wow guest stay in St R.
no no.. too xxx
They stay Grand cop WaterFnt.
All e bad experience are me me me..from the managment...

vivien_lim

my planner left e hotel liao..
my advise for all couples that really love this hotel..
u need to do all work yourself..more like a diy wedding.
Design, wedding cake, flower yourself.
contact favors ,find music yourself.
etc...

candorian

Hey Viv, i thought most packages will tell you what it include? Like cake, cards, basic deco. what do you mean have to DIY? The price just include the food plus hall only issit?

vivien_lim

they did include.
but u need to go n contact
1-the card maker[my card was wrongly printed],
2-the florist, [i only saw my flower design on the wedding day itself]
n search for cake design n music , all yourself...
paid so much but all work need to be do my couple themselves.. hotel do nothing at all,
jus provide u the [banquet hall] n [banquet team].
Their excuse : they wan couple to have a very personalize wedding of their own.

FYI: quite a number of waitress per table,n fine dining all food r very small potion.
SO i feel, paying such a high price, is jus purly for the waitress n the grand look.
FOR my case, the dinner team all work very well.. so i'm lucky.
BUT heard other couple had bad feedback,during dinner.
MY main disappointment for this 6star hotel , are their managment team...
WHEN making payment only show me a simple invoice.
IF i did n0t Persistent insisted to have a copy of the [DETAIL BREAKDOWN] invoice, i wont even know of the wrong billing looking at the [simple invoice].
Then , NOTHING was done for billing me wrongly, only refund me the difference and that it!!!

FELT that they r trying to cheat me!!!

candorian

Wow..thats bad service for a 6 star place but good thing that you were persistent in asking for detailed breakdown. I might reconsider St Regis then..we have shortlisted Ritz and St Regis but looks like the decison made itself..

i3nim

I met up with Celina Chua a while ago. Didnt get a very good vibe in that her explanation on the package was sketchy and disorganised. She seems to be distracted easily and I had to "bring" her back to our discussion point by point - and we were standing the whole time while discussing this =( I think Viv's recount just rests my case...

Now I'm really apprehensive since we also narrowed down to St Regis and Amara Sanctury. We even thought of the trouble in having our solemnisation at Amara Sanctury which really is the only draw for us and have our dinner at St Regis as we fell in love with the ball room.

However, if the experience is going to be how Viv has discribed... I really think it's not worth the effort.

Sometimes I wish we have a fantastic solemnisation venue (like Amara) cum fantastic ballroom (like St Regis) with a great hotel planner (like Regina from Four Seasons) all in one package. /shrug

vivien_lim

As S-R is very new, so i feel they really lack of experience..
In the first place, If they will to make up to me, for the bad experience i had.
I would have forgive them,will not post it here..
But the director say this:
"There's nothing i can make up[compsnsate] to you,the most is to refund you the difference."
Felt so angry , the difference of 3k+, are my $$, n is their mistake..
I've e right to get back.It is their duty to refund.
That is not a compansate!!
The only thing i'm very happy is jus the banquet team,and the ballroom. and thats all.
My planning of wedding, my stay in e hotel , my checkout... All Sucks!! Sorry to be rude.

glamourous2309

Try Shangri-La and Ritz Caltron?
I think both the above hotel has the grandeur of the ballroom and can hold up to 100 tables too.

koplite

Any more comments for SR? Both of us really like the place. Only concern is the food and its portion. Techincally they have only 6 dishes which they claim can be separated into the normal 9 dishes.
I am afraid the portion is not enough as I have been to Ritz which served a 6 dish dinner. At the end of that dinner, I walked out half full. But that was a business function on a weekday. Not like a wedding dinner where the guests are expected to be full.

Dilemma now.

goodbyekitty

if you are getting from YanTing, just go through with the banquet manager the dishes you want and with food tasting you can be sure you are full. like what the others commented, St Regis is probably not very strong in terms of coordination. You can also opt to add more dishes ma.

koplite

What do you mean by getting from YanTing? I am having the chinese dinner at the ballroom. Understand that the banquet chef is different from YanTing but was told that they discuss on the menu for the dinner.
How was your food like? Individual plated too?

goodbyekitty

yep individually plated. I did my rom (dim sum lunch) in the restaurant.

I found a photo of the menu, but I lost the prices. If you want I can email to you, but not sure if it's helpful.

koplite

Amber : Thanks for the photo. Trying hard to see it. haha.

Quite different from the dinner menu. But did your guest liked the food? Most important they liked it. You going to do your AD there?

goodbyekitty

ya they liked it. got ee fu noodles and cod-fish so quite filling for lunch i guess. I've gone to fullerton coz St Regis is too expensive me for banquet. but I can see why you like it. If you are doing your AD there then make full use of the bar, pool area, chandelier etc for photos.

vivien_lim

hi brides, my female friends and some male friends say they are very full after e dinner,
jus a small % of males say still hungry..[Think bigger eater ba!!]
TRUE they serve 6plate but some plate are 2 dish together.so if we count dish by dish is 9 + 1 cake.

winnie111

Hi Vivien and to those who kept complaining about SR,

From the way i read your comments, I guess its prob you who made your wedding planning such a mess. Firstly, I had mine in Sept 08 and it was the most fantastic wedding my friends had ever attended. Prob, its just the typical Singaporean in you that made you so "yim-chim" but I have to say I have seen so many happy couples left St Regis and only you left with so many complaints. Hmmm...or maybe you are just SUEH...haha. Anyway, playing my part as a happy bride who left SR, I have to say that the service I got there for the entire wedding was perfect. The coordinator was lovely and very helpful and the wedding sequence was flawless. Guests got more than what they expected in terms of service and they were indeed very very impressed. So for those who kept whinning, maybe you should really reflect more on yourselves first...actually, I could roughly picture the kind of character you have from the way you complain...sigh...typical "aunties" in the street. I think maybe, you should go for a HDB void deck wedding, and engaged a 4000SGD wedding planner...maybe she will do all the work for you....(maybe plus a night stay in New world hotel)

winnie111

oh forgot something, maybe you could ask for more rice for your friends when you do it in the void deck, maybe who knows, you could still 'ta pau' one more plate of suckling pig for them...

Come on, from the earlier comments that your friends are rich businessman from all over the world makes you sounds real cheap. I could never expect any of the well heeled guests comment such cheap comments...(pengz...) pls stop making a joke out of yourself.

vivien_lim

win, i think u get my comments wrong...
my experience with the DINNER is VERY GOOD !!!
IT is only the PLANNING n the CHECK OUT..
WHEN planning,
1-] invites print wrong.
2-] my florist only present e final flower deco on the day itself
3-] food serve n0t as promise.

CHECK OUT billing is the worst part
WHEN making payment only show me a simple invoice.
IF i did n0t Persistent insisted to have a copy of the [DETAIL BREAKDOWN] invoice, i wont even know of the wrong billing looking at the [simple invoice].
Then , NOTHING was done for billing me wrongly, only refund me the difference and that it!!!

FELT that they r trying to cheat me [almost 4k]!!!
WHEN relise their mistake, Manager jus say:
"There's nothing i can make up[compsnsate] to you,the most is to refund you the difference."
Felt so angry , the difference of almost 4k, are my $$, n is their mistake..
I've e right to get back.It is their duty to refund.
That is not a compansate!!
The only thing i'm very happy is jus the banquet team,and the ballroom. and thats all.
My planning of wedding, my stay in e hotel , my checkout... All Sucks!! Sorry to be rude.

winnie111

1-] invites print wrong. (You have 2 times for reviewing before you print)
2-] my florist only present e final flower deco on the day itself (Hmm, sorry to be rude, but yours prob the standard flower arrangements, but SSS flowers is very experience and unless you are putting anymore than 50k on flowers, dont bother to waste Seb's time.)
3-] food serve n0t as promise (Sorry to be rude again, but that's almost the same for all hotel, for my case, I paid a little more to ensure that all the food are the same and in the same portion. So, if you feel the pinch, dont complain...)

And as for your checkout and the others, <yawnz>. I had all my payment and checkout done by my wedding planner the next day, so, I guess it all boils down to the type of impression you gives the rest... From your complaints, it only shows you are a lousy planner, I rest my case...signing off

winnie111

sorry, viv, one more point... from your language structure and your "BIG" businessman analogy, (hahaha, does that mean Fat or rich?) maybe i'll tagded you to one more...airheaded "atas" wannabe...

vivien_lim

Wedding should be very happy, but my case is damn sad..
A 6 star hotel , but so inexperience, makes me lose face..

FOR yr comments on item 1,2 and 3.. it is corrent.
But still they make mistakes at the end of the day..
win:>> tell u, SR admit their inexperience and compansate me a voucher of an additional night stay .
After settle this issue..i thought is over..

But when it come to check out,Haizzz
As am working oversea, so very experience, knew breakdown of invoice is important..
Else i will n0t kn0w they charge me wrongly..

Again They did admit their mistake, given their apology, and refund me the amount.

In e very first place, i choose this "6*" hotel thinking i can entrust everything to them.Given them almost 6mths .
But end up "sign".

Should be because All my previous comments n0t in seq,thus u dun understand.
If u will to kn0w the exact whole story,
Fr0m e day i sign e contract till e day i check out, u will sure pity me[as a bride]..

Any way it is over for so long already, but TRUE i will never forget my wedding..

N0 one can understand my feelings.

Just hope that they will n0t disappoint new couple choosing their hotel.

cua

i think this Winnie is Siao le, from the way she commented. Maybe she is the "lucky" one lor, got favouble service, but she can't commented on people who experience bad service from SR that way mah. How can she be so sure that the service provided is always so.... GOOD?

She commented that those who kept whinning are maybe like the typical "aunties" in the street and should go for a HDB void deck wedding. But i think she is more like typical "Ah LXXN" that most suitable for "pasar malam" wedding. Haha x 1000 times. Kaoz..

winnie111

alright, since its over, just forget about it. Dont harp on the bad things, the next best thing is that the guests enjoyed, thats most impt.

winnie111

Hmm.."pasar malam" wedding...maybe i need some info on that. Ahem, what's that?

Btw, people always associate ability to do something that is better with sheer luck, and usually losers do that...

nixxy

The way Winnie keep defending SR sound like she is part of them. Everyone have their rights to voice out their experience be it good or bad. Yes Winnie, you had a good experience but why insist that all others should sing praises when they didn't have the same good experience you did? Names calling too? Totally uncalled for!

Vivien, I applause you for your patience to explain yourself to her as she obviously is not worth the time and trouble. Let her be happy that her wedding is a happy and smooth sailing one and just to let you know that your comments benefit many others from making the right choice for their own wedding. Cheers!

rockysim

reading all your posts above.. i feel so sad for vivien..
win : are u out here to make trouble..
the more u say the more auntie u seems to be..
not all ppl are perfect.. not all hotel are perfect..

can read from the earlier post..
[feb]vivien is very happy when she sign her contract ,she even keep praising e hotel.
[oct]post, which is after her wedding, can feel she is very very sad..different from others brides.
normally after wedding all brides are happy..

winnie111

rocky: Firstly, your nick sounds like some pet's name. Secondly, "not all ppl are perfect.. not all hotel are perfect" is so cliche. Thirdly, looking back thru the history - whats the basis? hmm...totally out of point! haha (confirm fail comprehension test)

rockysim

oh ya.. just to add on to vivien situation..
She mention her invoice was jus printed with a lump sum of amt.
It is common for us to glace thru invoice when making payment.
She is right to request for a detail invoice.
Lucky she found out SR mistake and get back her refund.

Win : your checkout was done by your planner, hahaha.. be careful..is your invoice also jus a lump sum..

Are we having english lesson here?
We are making comments only right??
win : your comments are all so rude..
Need to be more polite..

vivien_lim

the comments should end here.
Otherwise SR will sure lose business.

Just remind all future SR couple..
Be very very careful with this hotel.

Don't think 6* will have n0 mistake..

As for win, from all her post we know there's some attitude problem..

Lets stop it!!

winnie111

sigh...bimbo, i think you are the one who make SR lose its business...

Next time...think before you post...

Looking thru all ur post, every post seems to have a new input...super non coherent

winnie111

pet name: By the way, some stuff needs to use common sense la...getting a lump sum invoice? Oh my god, you think you are buying chicken rice ah, nowadays even mustafa also have a breakdown. Just ask for a breakdown and you will get it, the point is why make a mountain out of the smallest molehill and start bitching about the place that had already done their best for you.

I have seen so many 'san pats' with close similiarities like the way you and some of the ones who bitch about hotels, going into BS and start bargaining for this and that and getting into quarrels. Give me a break, stop being a typical auntie on the street and complain about every single thing. By the way, I am here to give my opinions as someone who look forward. Blaming and complaining about hotels and BS and tryng to let everyone knows that how 'BIG" your guests are true blue "ah sohs carrying LV with no idea what it stands for". I guess you and viv just qualified to add on to the numbers...

vivien_lim

I said before..SR already admit their mistake and inexperience..
My post is jus to remind couples to be careful..
FYI, I still have yet voice out other worst experience.
Are u ppl forcing me to say out all their faults..??
Why make such a big fuss??
Now really have the feeling u r like a typical ah lian.
Finding ways to create a fight when n0t feeling happy.
what's e point?