St. Regis Singapore

iruka428

Just wondering if there is anyone out there who is thinking of holding their wedding banquet at St. Regis Singapore? I'm getting married in October this year and am still looking for suitable venues :p Any advises or suggestions?

fly05

Hi Butterfingers,

It is both hotel and residential property. The residential is connected behind the hotel. I did send an email to them asking for their wedding banquet list, but so far there is no reply.

It is a 6 star hotel, so i think the price should be quite expensive, i just ask for fun lah...haha..

But seriously speaking, i don't find it very special or grand, my office is just nearby, so i walk pass there almost everyday!

littlepinktoes

hello! i am also looking at St Regis. Any ideas the min # of tables required to hold the banquet there? Cant seem to find the information online!

Janet,
I contacted St Regis for quotation last Nov. Their prices are as expensive as Marriot Hotel etc. I booked my banquet at other hotel in the end.

You can email the contact on their site for quotation.

glamourous2309

Dear ALL,

I have just found out their 2008 rates today.
Its the same rates as Shangri-La Hotel 2009 Rates.
Weekdays - $1,188++ per table
Fri & Sun - $1,288++ per table
Saturday - $1,388++ per table

Their 2009 rates are not finalised as yet tho.

vivien_lim

St regis Dinner banquet count by per head, their table is over shape ,so u can arrange 8 or 10pax in a table.
Mon - Thur :$118.80++ per person min 350person
Fri,Sun,PH :$128.80++ per person min 400person
Sat,Eve PH :$138.80++ per person min 450person

I went down on 16Feb, their ballroom is very nice high ceiling, and heard till today only 2 wedding held.

Saw many reviews that their resturnt food not so good.
Hope to get more feedback reviews.

glamourous2309

Hi Vivien,

Thanks for the correction. U are right!

Any reviews of it compared to Shangri-la's Island Ballroom and Ritz Caltron Ballroom?
Coz I haven't seen St Regis one as yet... heard they just open last year DEC 2007 only...

vivien_lim

ritz caltron ballroom is super big.. no pillars,high ceiling..very nice if u have a big group otherwise will look very empty. Personally ,i feel shangri-la is the best,also high ceiling no pillars. just that u need to walk a bit from ball room to hotel room lift .But i end up with st regis ,cause my date already been taken up.

glamourous2309

Hi Vivien,

wow! U have been to all! So far, I've only view Ritz and Shang Island... so only considering between these 2.... which dates are you looking at? I'm planning for 2009... and considering between Ritz Caltron and Shangri-La, Island ballroom due to the number of tables I have....

Fullerton maximum think is 48 Tables... so cant settle for that in case the list goes up. Play safe mah. =P

iruka428

hi vivien

so cool u decided on st. regis! i wanted to take st. regis but had to take shang coz of a couple of reasons. those interested might wanna take these into consideration.

Good Points:
1) Wide Range of nice Wedding Favours to choose from
2) Stylish designs for Wedding Invites
3) Real Wedding Cake to serve every guests.
4) Lovely Ballroom with glass ceilings. quite unique tho dun think can see any stars :p

Bad Points:
1) Cannot bring in own liqour and wine. MUST purchase from hotel.
2) All food served are individual portion. No lazy susan kind. Some old folks might not like it.

Other than these, everything is about the same as shang.

vivien_lim

my date is 5th Oct 08, shang, ritz, fullerton,Conrad,Grand Copthorne Waterfront.. etc...all taken up liao.. so no choice but to choose ST Regis.
Actually , first impression of St Regis,me and my htb love it very much...
Now only worry is their services and food, cause they are so NEW!!!!
Meeting the planner next week..

Janet, u already meet St Regis planner is it? what special offer they give you?? I find their package very limited..

By the way, Which other 5-6 star hotel did i miss out?

glamourous2309

Hi Vivien,

Other 5-6 Star hotel are Raffles Hotel, Four Seasons Hotel, Pan Pacific... think the list goes on... It will really depends on your guest list and what you really like.

For example, the maximum table at Raffles is 25 tables, think Four Seasons is 30 or 32 tables. So if you have guest list bigger than that, then those hotels are out... unless you planning to cut your guest list.

vivien_lim

Thanks Glamourous: the hotel you mention above,all i went to check out le, all full for my date.
Other then (Raffles Htl,4season,pan pac,shang, ritz, fullerton,Conrad,Grand Copthorne Waterfront)
Any other hotels i miss out...
Really appreciated helps from all BTB...
I need to get a good hotel as both families are doing business.
I need find a good reputation hotel first if they are available then i consider my guest list to fit into their ballroom..

glamourous2309

Hi Vivien,

How many tables are you looking at first?
Coz those hotels you have visited ranges from small guest list to wide guest list....

For myself, I've only considered Shang and Ritz Caltron thus far due to the guest list. Hotels like Raffles and Four Seasons were out for me right from start... St Regis I have yet to see the ballroom, but i heard the maximum is 48tables or so?

vivien_lim

I'm different over here, i choose hotel first then depend on it i will consider my guest list. Cause now my choice of Hotel are limited, most all Taken up. So i need to check which hotel i have miss out.

vivien_lim

I'm different over here, i choose hotel first then depend on it i will consider my guest list.
my range now is (20-40)pax. So still can re consider on my guest list..
Cause now my choice of Hotel are limited, most all Taken up.

So i need to check which hotel i have miss out.

glamourous2309

Hi Vivien,

If this is the case, why not settle for St Regis?
Unless U will change your date to a later date, then maybe can consider other Hotels?

For me, I work on estimated number of guest list expected, then based on that, select the suitable hotels... I cant consider Raffles or Four Seasons at all as their maximum is already more than my minimum expected... so...

iruka428

Hi Vivien

I met up with Patrice and she is a very pleasant lady. Except for the no corkage waiver thingy, everything seems ok with St. Regis. I managed to negotiate for an extra nite stay. can't resist the photos of the rooms they had put up... look super comfy!

it also depends on the number of tables you will be holding. the more tables you have, the more you can bargain for. for example, you can try bargaining for better wedding favours as some fall out of standard ones you can choose from. saw a lovely silver letter opener. u might wan to consider that

vivien_lim

Janet, Thanks so much , hmm.... will take note when meet up with them next week.
Is there other things i need to take note/ask and try to bangain for...

iruka428

Glamourous, I'm with Shang but shopped at St. Regis for a second opinion. can't give the 6-star hotel a miss :p
we only had Shang n St. Regis to consider so we took time to talk to both coordinators to see which has a better deal.

iruka428

Vivien, u might wan to ask for a 10 person share for food tasting instead? if i'm not wrong, they only offer up to 6 pax.

vivien_lim

10 pax...ok, thanks janet...
Meanwhile if u remember anything i need to bargain from them, just drop a massage here.
Me so lost on what to ask from from>>>

starjoy

hi all, i am thinking of St regis too..just went to their hotel for viewing yesterday.. the hotel is lovely!! but thought the total no. of tables is really too much..i was just considering 25-30 tables in 5 star hotel on a saturday as i have some overseas relatives. im planning for Oct/Nov 2009 wedding but apparently the prices will increase by then.. headache..

the coordinator i met up was Celina Chua. very pleasant lady..

cutejoan

Hmmm...

I still like Sheraton Tower Hotel as it is more very elegant and grand . Most impt, it is very convenient to the Newton MRT station (5 mins walk to hotel). Furthermore, it has a grand waterfall view during the cocktails session. That is very great !

vivien_lim

hi janet, their offer was real good..now i only worry about their food. will go for another meet up on 15mar08, as they have a dinner that day,going to take a look at their set up.will also try out their food. 90% taking st regis..

cutejoan

Hmm... i think St Regis is so inconvenient. It is also not accessible by MRT. Sheraton Tower has no pillar for their Grand Ballroom with very high ceiling. We have try the St Regis chinese foods at their 2nd storey and it is a bit tasteless and not 'xiang'. I still prefer Li Bai at Sheraton...jus my comment abt it

glamourous2309

I guess its somehow a different class of hotel we are comparing with here. St Regis has its own unique class by its own. Just like Shangri-La, its also inaccessible by MRT, but many are still holding their weddings there. So I reckon it also largely depends on the profile of your guests.
There are many MRT accesible hotels too like Marriot, Hyatt, Swissotel to name a few.
Afterall St Regis havent many weddings there till date, will definitely be the talk of town for Vivien! =)

fass

Had a wedding lunch there recently. Will not have problems with service. Food is largely unimpressive. Steam soon hock and lobster had muddy taste.

Ballroom and skylight very nice

sahdeau

hi vivien, wonder if you can send me the package you got from st regis?
im meeting up with IVy too on 10 may..

need a rough idea of what extra things you get from your package..thanks... my mail [email protected]

vivien_lim

Sahdeau,their package very standard for all days,depend on individual then they will see what can be throw in, u saw their package already?when is your AD? How many pax u looking at? As my is only 300pax, so i cant request much additional perks.i remember increase the food tasting to 10 paxs..others stuff i need to go check again..

sahdeau

hi vivien., i met up with Ivy....my event is more of like a solemnisation.so the jacabs ballroom. is too big for us...but i really love that room...so glam...really...so we will work out the other details once we have settle for st regis...their price are generally higher...but i love ive's service..TIP top service....i doubt i will have to worry a thing if i have my wedding there...good good..

vivien_lim

totally,agree with you ivy is great , st regis service too, ballroom no other hotel in singapore can fight with them.. BUT pricing really too high.But hor,tell u ,if u manage to get min their min pax then actually it is still okay. cause i relise goodwoodpark is even higher then them.Shang also almost same price.

glamourous2309

Hi Vivien & Sahdeau,

I think in terms of minimum tables required for St Regis, pretty standard compared most 5 Star hotels.

If I didnt rem wrongly, the min for St Regis:
Weekday - 35 Tables
Fri, Sun & P.Hols - 40 Tables
Saturday - 45 Tables

In terms of Pricing compared to Shang, Vivien is right. I think almost similar pricing.

Shang's Tower Ballroom is MIN 30/ 35 tables for Weekday/ Weekend respectively. For Island Ballroom, is MIN 50/ 55 tables for Weekday/ Weekend respectively.

Personally, I think Shang's Island Ballroom still nicer. Personal Opinion!

vivien_lim

Hi Glamourous, different ppl have different views.
yeah, Shang to me is also nice..
St Regis is more grand and class cost of the super high ceiling ,all the crystal lighting,and their services provided.
Both hotel will sure have good memory for couples.

glamourous2309

Hi Vivien,

I agree with you that different people have different opinion, thats why say from my personal perspective and opinion, I think Shang's Island Ballroom is grander. However, St Regis has a class of its own too, with the see thru ceiling/ top. I think this is the best feature. Service wise I must say St Regis is superb!
Im sure your wedding will be a blast at St Regis! =)

justhaley

agree with joan. i went to sheraton quite recently for wedding dinner @ li bai. recall it being quite good. service was not bad too.

goodbyekitty

I went there for my ROM. not the ballroom but Yanting. The manager there ( i suddenly forgot his name) is very good. Had our solemnisation at the holding area where the chandlier is and all. Food was good too. only minus point is private room is too small so we had to do it at the main area. funny thing ended up strangers came up to us to congratulate us in the end. but the whole thing was really pleasant. We ended up with some nice pix too.