Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

danlian

Hi Tintin

I am also a Marriott bride. My AD is on 15 Oct 2006. Kindly update for me in the chart. Thank you.

stacy2006

I am planning to hold my wedding in Marriott too. May I check if anyone managed to swop the menu between the Purity 1&2 with Purity 3&4?

Hi Irene,

8th Mar 06 is a very auspicious date. Wanted that date too... Hee. Must inform me if you decide to change your date. Hee.

jola

Hi BenDi,

My AD is on 14th May 2006. Am going to sign the contract later in the afternoon in fact.
The price is $528 net per table but does not include wedding favours and decor.

1) Tea Leaves in Decorative Boxes Wedding Favours at $1.00 nett per piece.

2) Enhance your wedding décor along aisle & stage at $300.00 nett

I reckon tt even if I were to opt for the above, the deal is still resonable.

Hi Stacy,

I actually consulted a Geomancer for the date. Another good date from the Geomancer is 20-03-2006. Nice date but my mum prefers 8th Mar.

stacy2006

Thanks Irene,

20th is also taken. My grandfather was the one who checked the tong shu for me. But all those dates he recommended are taken liao. I am looking at lunar April now. Hee.

Have you decided on the menu? Who is ur coordinator?

Hi Stacy,

Wow, better start looking up early cos the dates get taken up v quickly. I booked my date in Feb this yr.

I haven't decided on Menu yet. I liaised with Angela and Michelle on my package. I guess they'll probably be calling me end of this yr to talk abt my menu, theme, decor and favours.

piepie02

Hi BenDi and Jola,

I'll be having my wedding lunch on 1 Nov 05. Also $528 per table. I liaised with June florist directly with regards to the deco, I did not choose the marriott themes. Paid $250 extra for the deco.

jola

Hi Pei & Flower1,

Hee.. we're all having wedding luncheon at Marriott ya..
I liased with Angela. Just to share with you tt she would waive off the cost of wedding favours if I guarantee her 25 tables a week before my actual day.

Pei, how are you feeling excited?? How's your preparations coming along? So instead of paying $300 for the oriental or vineyard theme, you paid $250 to June Florist to enhance the decor? Sounds good! Hee.. Btw you have pictures of the theme you'll be using?

Flower1, when's ur AD?

flower1

Hi Jola,

mine is on 19 Feb 06. My coordinator is Yiwen.
hey, which wedding favours is Angela willing to waive off for u?? The rosebud tea leaves?

flower1

hi jola,
o,actually i oni knew abt the tea leaves... i didnt ask to see what are the other favours are since we have to pay for it unlike dinner package.

Might get my own wedding favours instead.

oscarsem

Hi brides/groom who had banq at Mariott,
can I take a peek at yr wedding banquet?
I am helping my sister to seek up nice
wedding banq.
Would greatly appreciate if u could email me the photos and experience at [email protected]

piepie02

Hi jola & flower1,

Too busy to feel excited... hee hee..
I also have the rose buds as my wedding favours. Dun have pic, but will have after the wedding.. only one month more... oh no...

soaringstar

I am considering Merchant court since my in-laws like it, but now seeing that Merchant court is adding S$30nett per table so it will not be S$808 per table for a Friday. It is very close to Marriot price now. I am thus considering Marriot instead.

One significant plus point is that Merchant court waives corkage charge for a bottle of wine per confirmed table. I see that Marriot has corkage charge, any possibility of waiver? What is the price range of their wine?

I see that Marriot has quite a number of wedding partners too, do they really offer very good discounted rate?

What additional perks we can get from Marriot?
Can contact me at [email protected]

jola

Thks Pei! Btw which BS did you sign up with?

Hv forgotten to asked Angela whether our wedding cake is real or dummy?? Anybody knows? Hee..

madrock

Anyone here got problem in getting respond from Marriott after u sent an email to them. So far I have a very bad experience. They always replied late or there is no reply at all...Really suprise me....This make me feel unsafe if I really want to choose Marriott or not. Since an email also so screw up...wonder what will happen to the AD :-(

pearlyshell

madrock,

Why don't you try to call the co-ordinators directly? You might be able to get your queries answered immediately by the respective. Cheers!

phy_o

Hi Jola,

The wedding cake is a dummy cake. They will send you another cake of your choice to your suite after the wedding!

phy_o

Hi Jola,

The wedding cake is a dummy cake. They will send you another cake of your choice to your suite after the wedding!

pinchsalt

i'm new here... =)

marriott is one of my choices. however, i'm rather surprised tat its pricing for wedding lunches (what i want) is still quite affordable (cus i thot marriott is super ex!!) is there any drawbacks?

and, is the ceiling tall?

thks!!!

jola

thks phy_o!

Hi Shuxian,

Welcome! if you're looking at the grand ballroom, the ceiling is high and pillarless.
I heard they are increasing their prices so you might wanna decide fast if you're keen.

piepie02

Hey jola,
I signed up with Universal Bridal.

Hi Shuxian,
I also feel that their wedding lunch is very affordable, taking into account that you can use their ballroom, and that min no of tables is only 15.

Wedding lunches are becoming more popular, so probably prices will go up very soon.

madrock

I am attending their wedding show next week. Intent to sign up on the day. Any comment about their food and services? I am quite worry. cos don't want to screw up on the AD and also don't want to be unhappy on the AD.

mushroompot

Hey madrock,

C'mon lah... can you be mature about this. My comments is : If you are so in doubts with Marriott services and responses, then don't choose them !!! Go other hotels since there are so many in S'pore. I guarantee that your AD won't screw up without them.

Like i say, c'mon don't be a loser here.

min_min

Hi all! Been reading through this thread cos had my wedding luncheon at Marriott. Though never thought of coming in here BEFORE my wedding.....don't know why.....

Anyway, juz to give all of you more assurance that Marriot's service during AD is excellent. Mine was held on 4 Sept, which is ba yue chu yi so some guests are actually vegetarians. One waiter/waitress told Christine about it and she was able to arrange vegetarian food for my guests immediately. Kudos to Christine and the waiter/waitress.

Some of you might find that Marriott ppl might not respond quite quickly to email which, yes, I agree. Initially when I called them, asking them to fax their packages over, there was no news, untill I call up again and enquire did they respond immediately. Though it was a little rough start, but it ended sweetly. During our check out day, cos my hubby forgot to extend the credit card limit, so we had to stay on for quite a while before we can settle the bill, Marriott didn't even chase us. (suppose to checkout at 12pm, we delayed till 4pm!). Only the cleaners were complaining though....

Anyway, have faith in them. If there's any questions, always call them personally. Don't email. Isn't there more assurance to talk about it and settle it on the spot than waiting for answers?

jola

Hi Hui Min,

Welcome! Congrats on your wedding!

Good to know that you hv enjoyed Marriott's service on your big day as I guessed it really makes a difference right?

I'll be holding my wedding luncheon on 14th May 2006. So excited! Hee...

Btw, as I'm considering whether to top up for their vineyard/oriental theme, could you advise me on what you have chosen for your decor?
What do you think of their reception's decor?Thks a million!

min_min

Jola,
So you're having luncheon also right? They offered you the bowl with flowers thingy isit? Well, for my case is, we were on a budget so the topping up didn't cross our mind, though I had my reservations about the deco looking good.

But it turned out quite nice. Cos it's luncheon, so it doesn't have to be too elaborate. What I had extra was to put pebbles along the isle so that there was a separation between the tables and the isle. Was quite a comfy deco. Maybe 1 day you can ask coordinator if there is a luncheon going on then you can take a peep at it. That was what I did, though it was on the day where I meet my coordinator to finalise everything.

Reception deco wise....Quite alright for me. Same, didn't want anything too elaborate. It was like a cosy get-together...why? You don't really like their deco??

Pei,
Excited eh!....Same for me too. Now that it's over, though for a month, I still can recall the details of that day....

jola

Hi Huimin,

Bowl with flowers??? You mean the wedding favours or the vineyeard/oriental theme which requires additonal $300 top-up?

No, just wanna find out more coz wondering shd I top up to the respective themes or not.. and to see the difference between with-topup-decor and without-topup-decor... :p

artitute

Hi!!! I finally CONFIRMED with Marriott!!! I'm officially a marriott bride now!!! So excited!!

Irene and Pearly, thanks for your advice. Was quite surprised Angela kept the date for me for so long... prob 22 March 2006 not that popular!

Was deciding on the Oriental theme (i dun like white white one) but Angela says there will be 2 more new themes coming out... so very look forward leh.

Huimin, the pebble idea is not bad.. dun mind if i copy your idea... just wonder where to get the pebbles and what to do with them after the dinner...

BTW I'm going for my PS next Thurs and we have designed a "bed scene" with white bed and walls environment. But my house doing reno and not ready yet... Checked with Angela and she said there will be an event next week so no more rooms available and the whole town hotel will be fully booked!! Have you gals seen any off-town hotel like that or have any idea or place to recommend???

jola

ghost,
(sounds weird to address you by this name eh??)

yup, you have to top up for the themes. it's in their standard proposal.

pearlyshell

Yeh.. artitute

So happy for you! At least you can get one load off your mind once you confirm the banquet stuff. Hehe..you are pretty lucky then...guess that date is fated to be yours..
Yup new themes will be released by end of this week via their wedding show..hmm let's keep our fingers cross!

You doing your PS next week, thats fast! Hee..you hv planned a bed scene..thats COOL! Maybe you can check on Le Meridien-Changi Village. Their rooms & suite looks nice.

eclipsx

hi Jola,

No prob.

Oh no, gotta call them to confirm about the top up liao, they did not mention about the top up when they told me about the themes.

jola

ghost,

you mean they didn't inform you? btw hv you signed up with marriott oready? keep me updated on your progres ya..

artitude,

cool idea! btw hv you considered the scarlet hotel?? but no white white walls la... quite a "happening" location for photogs nowadays with their rich and opulent decor..

jola

ghost,

FOC? hmmm, is it because you are booking alot of tables from them?
are you having luncheon or dinner? me hving their wedding luncheon and tentative booking @ 25 tables. mind sharing with me your booking/intended booking details??

piepie02

If dinner no need to top up, but for lunch have to pay $300 to 'upgrade' to the theme. That's what in my proposal. But I did not opt for the standard topup, talked to June Florist and arranged something else. Spent $250 instead.

eclipsx

hi Jola,

As pei said. I booked 30 tables for dinner with them, and next year got 2 more new themes to choose from. BTW the theme comes with their respective lighting and music. Rather interest i should say.