Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

piepie02

The lunch package is $528 per table, min 15 tables. Not sure abt dinner. My coordinator is Stephine. You can call her @ 6831 4760.

piepie02

The lunch package is $528 per table, min 15 tables. Not sure abt dinner. My coordinator is Stephine. You can call her @ 6831 4760.

patali

had summitted my request for the wedding dinner packages at Marriott's website for abt a wk but no response yet from the coordinators ....
would appreciate if anyone has 2006 packages please forward to me...thanx

piepie02

Hi Peggy,

Why not u give Stephine a call, ask her to email u the 2006 packages? Maybe they dun really check on the website request?

pearlyshell

Hi pei,

Hmm.. actually the Q&A questions can be quite fun & you can fill the involvment of your guests haha rather than everybody sit round the table whole night just eating right? Utimately, end of the night, when they leave the ballroom...at least they will still remember the interesting happenings ..

Well, my friend planned questions relating to movies and songs....as this is a very general category where majority of the people should more or less have some ideas on. Probably you need to access who are the majority group of ppl @ your wedding and that will help to determine whats the best. Cheers!

piepie02

Hi Pearly, really appreciate your reply. Thank u! Wanna make the wedding a memorable one... I guess we'll have the Q&A session as a kind of entertainment for guests. Maybe some questions related to ourselves, families and friends. Must go crack our heads to think of the questions.

When is your big day? At Marriott too?

pearlyshell

Hi pei,

You're welcome. ^_^ I believe you will be able to make that special day a memorable one. Gd for you... Guess you are already in the process of getting things into the picture now since your AD is just round the corner soon.

Yes, I will be holding my banquet @ Marriott too..
My AD will be next yr, 7 Oct 06. Hehe...still a long way from yours..

halia

Hi guys, was considering the marriott lunch package as well because of the very reasonable rates. However, popped by the grand ballroom last weekend with my fiance and was really disappointed. Would they be renovating it anytime soon? Perhaps its because we viewed it after some really nice ballrooms at other hotels. It could also be because it was bare, but was wondering how the ballroom looks with the full set-up?

piepie02

Hi Pearly, yup... busy with the wedding as well as my house reno... *headache*.. there are so many things to do...stressful but at the same time, enjoying the process..

Hi halia, the lunch setting is very much simpler as compared to a dinner. However, you can opt to top up ($300) to the 'vineyard' or 'oriental' theme, just like a dinner setting. For me, i worked with the florist to come out with something different, paid abt $250.

jennifer_teoh

hi all, is ther an email address to mail to stephine to request for the weddin package for 2006?
currently, hw much is the rates for wkdays/wkends? min req of tables?

romed

Hi All, I got a Marriott Hotel Room Voucher for Sale. Only available for weekend stay and expires 30 Dec 2005. Worth $280+++. WIllinng to sell to highest bidder or $200. Highest bidder at $155 now. Thanks.

ah_yoshi

Hi Sharlyn & Jennifer,

To wat i know as follow :

Mon to Thurs - $768 or $808
Fri - $848 or $878
Sat/Sun - $958 or $998

All prices are nett. I suggest that you speak to Stephine on the other perks n min tables etc. She is sweet n nice ger... accomodating and friendly =) oh ya she is on leave for one week starting tomorrow... call her when she is back ya.. Stephine's DID 6831 4760

cutiepooh

Hi Phy*o

Read from the past archive, u actually shortlisted 8 hotels before settling with Marriott. Mind sharing with me which are the hotels u shortlisted? What are the deciding factors which result in you choosing Marriott? Mind sharing with me what are the perks you managed to bargain for? Coz I'm also thinking of having a dinner banquet on weekend.

Maybe you can reply me via email with regards to the questions stated above? email add: [email protected]

kao_babydust.gif

ah_yoshi

Heylo All...

Marriott bridal show is here... 16/10/2005 and price is $30nett off per table + free flow beer for weekend package and one complimentary table with every 10 paying tables + one 30 litre barrel of beer for weekday package...

hmmm feel like attending the show but they say I ve to cancel my tentative booking 1st.. otherwise i m not consider as a new booking... =( Show perks only valid for NEW booking... in addition heard the price will be higher than current... wonder if its worth attending then... haiz... any advice?

ah_yoshi

Hi Phy*o,

Is yours a weekend or weekday package? Care to share with us the pricing/perks u managed to obtain from them? I m now in the midst of negotiation lor... haiz.. duno how to squeeze them ah... =( headache...

pearlyshell

Hi ah yoshi,

Seems like the bridal show is offerring pretty gd perks & rates. btw, you mean they are increasing price again ? I tot next yr 06 pricing is what you have shared with us earlier..hmmm

ah_yoshi

Hi Pearly,

Ya lor.. i thot that the price is same as stated in the magazine lor.. But when i spoke to Michelle yesterday she told me that price will be different... higher... coz now is ala carte menu which i duno wat she meant.. I never ask further coz I used to liaise with Stephine.. mayb till she back then i ask her again lo... normally wat do they give during the show? extra nite stay? really headache hor.. i am about to confirm with them.. but when i saw this show thinky.. i hesitate le... haiz... headache..

any idea what are the new themes that Marriott is offering?

I have already signed up with Marriott... If only i had known abt this promotion, i would have waited.. Sigh!

pearlyshell

Hi ah yoshi,

Serious? they gonna mark up the price?? I presume that's explain why they could give a further $30nett per table off again as compared to the present pricing. Yah, you better speak to stephine since you liaise with her. I tried to call her also but guess she will only be back next week. hmmm.. Usually the perks for wedding show seems to be that "free-flow beer" thingy. I believe the rest of the items are quite standard though. One thing for sure, they will not reveal much info until that very day. So it is really up to you if you wanna take that little risk to wait. Did you chk if your date are still avail? cos otherwise sometimes if dates are taken up..also headache.

pearlyshell

Hi Irene,

Heard they will only reveal the details of the new themes at the wedding show and after that only. So we properly will hv to keep our fingers cross till the show. Tried to ask them but guess they won't tell you much at this moment.

phy_o

Hi yoshi,

My package is a weekend package in June 2006. So, it's a different price from 2005. What I did was not to negotiate the price but to negotiate the items. As we're paying one of their most expensive packages, we actually have more bargaining power. I kind of confirm what I wanted from the wish list and requested for a day room for my bridesmaid. As for the new themes, they are applicable to those who booked next year too. So no need to worry about that. Same goes for wedding favours.

What you can do is think through what you need and write it down. Bring it to your coordinator and negotiate. Emphasize that you are paying for one of the better priced packages. They would most likely obliged la.
kao_babydust.gif

ah_yoshi

Hi Phy*O,

Can I know how much u pay for each table? and did they waive the cockage for u? coz they refuse to waive the cockage of wine for me leh... hmm i ask for day room for helpers but Stephine say can depends on if there are any rooms available.. =(

U can PM me [email protected] Thanks..

phy_o

Hi yoshi,

I paid $958 per table. They do not need to waive cockage for me as I purchased the wine directly from them. Much cheaper than buying wine from outside and then pay for cockage. If you were to read the archives, there's a detailed explanation with regard to wine and cockage.

She also said that the helpers room depends on room availability. But since it's our wedding, we try to think positive. She explained in detail to us why it was not possible. So we actually understand the circumstances. Anyway, she did promise us a room although with conditions and we are quite happy.

j0j

Hi gals, just had my dinner last week. The banquet co-ordinator (Christine)was VERY professional and efficient. U are on safe hands. Overall service is EXCELLENT!!!

pearlyshell

Hi Khoo,

So glad to hear abt the "excellent" service.
Now can "fan xin" already. As I had yet to been to any of the banquet @ Marriott so really worried how the whole thing will turn out to be. Btw they do put "dry ice effect" during march in right?

j0j

hihi everyone, mine was the mixture of both themes. They do have the mechanism to release dry ice. They oso gave rose petals for the guests to throw.
One person i must compliment is Christine. She is detailed, thorough and sensible. She is one of the most experience co-ordinator in Marriott. She made my dinner went on smoothly, time keep our dinner promptly, dun think i can stay cool & pretty without her!!!
No sweat, the fotos will be shared once developed
: P

Hi khoo,

So glad to hear that! At least i don't have to worry so much... I liaised with Angela... Her asst is Michelle (i think).. haven't heard of Christine.. I don't even know if it will be Angela or Michelle who will coordinate my wedding banquet for me...

j0j

hi clover, sad to say that i have no time to taste the wine. but so far no complains from guests.

Irene, u r half correct. Michelle is Angela's assistant but they are not in-charge of banquets. There are co-ordinators who are solely in charge of lunches and dinners.

pearlyshell

Hi Khoo,

Thks for the info. Hmm..they do give rose petals..great!! So glad that you got an efficient banquet co-ordinator on that day...hopefully when its my turn...everything will be as smooth as what you mention. Oh yes, you mentioned yours was a mixture of both themes?? Thats interesting...are we allow to do so? or was yours a special arrangement?

piepie02

Can I check with you gals on invitation cards? How long before the wedding do you give them out to relatives, together with the cakes?

j0j

pearly, overall i had chosen oriental theme for my dinner, having the vineyard's wedding cards. Chosen vineyard's colour for some of my guests' tables.
I did nt pay extra $$ for mixing the two themes. They asked wat theme i wan, the colours i prefer, the flowers i like, etc.... so i told them i prefer mixtures lor..
i dun like the vineyard's fire gates cos they seem quite unique liao.

j0j

pearly, overall i had chosen oriental theme for my dinner, having the vineyard's wedding cards. Chosen vineyard's colour for some of my guests' tables.
I did nt pay extra $$ for mixing the two themes. They asked wat theme i wan, the colours i prefer, the flowers i like, etc.... so i told them i prefer mixtures lor..
i dun like the vineyard's fire gates cos they seem quite antique liao.

ayane

hi khoo!

so happy for u that everything went well!
do u have any pix to show? would love to see your beautiful day

btw, am a little confused.. are coordinators not in charge of banquets? i liaised with yiwen. will she be the one coordinating my dinner?

Hi Khoo,

You mean to say neither will Angela or Michelle will be there on my wedding day to coordinate dinner for me? I'm also confused now... though my dinner is still a long way to go (March 2006).

pearlyshell

HI Khoo,

Thks for the info once again. I guess they are pretty flexible with the match & mix theme.. oh...the vineyard abit antique huh! Hmm...actually had attended a wedding over at another hotel which has something similar like the fire gates but theirs is more of a flower stand type with tea light candles as well. It was kinda of scary cos I kept seeing guests nearly knocking over the metal stands as they walk around...the wobbling stands seems dangerous...and I was keeping my fingers cross. hmm btw, any comments abt the banquet staff? Cos just heard from a friend commented that another five star hotel along orchard had hired alot of foregin banquet staff and the service standards are really bad and even spill food on the table and worse still some even spill drinks on the guests as well.

Ayane, Irene

I think Angela, Michelle, Stephine are only the banquet/wedding sales staff..while on that actually day of your banquet, the hotel will alocate a so call Banquet Mgr / Co-ordinator on duty to see to your banquet needs as well as to co-ordinate your entire evening schedule. They will only be your pt. of contact for that nite. You will usually liase with this particular duty person on that nite as they are the experience ppl dealing with the actual banquets event as well as incharge of all the banquet staff as well. Cheers!

artitute

Hi Irene!!! Mine is also on March 2006!!! I'm very gan cheong now cos i have only booked BS but have not confirmed my banquet!!! Considering Marriot and hope to meet up with michelle this weekend to see the package and ballroom. Heard from my frens that marriot weddings are like dreams come true so very looking forward...

Hi Pearly,
Tks for ur clarifications!

Hi Artitute,
I guess its better to secure ur venue for banquet soon as next yr is an auspicious year. Alot of weddings going on. I booked my venue with Marriott in March this yr. Some dates are already taken up (esp for weekends). My banquet is on 8 Mar 06. When is yours?

pearlyshell

Hi Irene

You're welcome.

Hi artitute,

I do agree with Irene too. It is better to secure your banquet first as some of the dates you wanna book might be taken up esp 'hot dates' haha! If you are keen with Marriott and can't decide immediately yet, you might wanna chk with Michelle if she can tentatively block that date for you first.

j0j

Hi i guess not everone understands me... angela, stephine or yiwen will still be the ones co-ordinating yr whole dinner preparations. They will hold a meeting with all yr emcees and helpers just b4 the dinner starts. During tat time, they will intro the banquet manager to u & brief whoever the manager is the details of yr dinner. You can leave yr montage vcd, music cds with them.
After which, they will go off and leave everything to the banquet manager liao. From there, yr helpers can straight away liase with the banquet manager.

forest_clover

Hi Khoo,
thanks for the info, this really gives me more confident in Marriott. cos i am still deciding between Intercon and Marriott... but now i can see which is better. thanks alot.

And also thanks to the rest of the ladies here in this thread.

flower1

i'll be having wedding lunch at marriot next yr. Does anyone here manage to get one extra nite free stay? Or what other perks have u gals gotten from them?

ayane

hi khoo,

thanks for your clarification! so christine was your banquet manager then? I also feel much more 'fang xin' now, cos the sales person i spoke to seemed quite inexperienced.. at least i now know that the person in charge of the dinner itself is experienced

hi flower,

no i didnt get the extra free nite stay. think this is one of the few items that marriott is not able to be flexible about.. the other thing is wine.