Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

jmie

came across this thread while 'snaking' in office..

no offence to all marriot's brides and bride-to bes. But i find the quality of marriot quite bad.. I was there in dec 2002 & Dec 2004 and the menu was quite the same (which is quite common). But the thing is the quality is not that good, esp the prawn (which is served at cold dish) and the pork ribs.. the rest are quite ok..

just my personal opinion and not trying to create any commotion
perhaps the more ex menus are better.

isa_belle

Hi phy_o & rin,

I dun rememeber having to choose one projector from the wedding wish... Mebbe I remembered wrongly... But somehow I think I just got it.

Mine was a weekday dinner but I think I chose the 6 bottles of wine and the video montage from the wish list.

And hi skyblu,
the montage is very basic but quite presentable. The guy will show you three themes: flower, beach and something else I can't recall. I took the beach one. It's ok if you're not expecting something ultra fancy, and there's limited pics you can put in.

isa_belle

in response to the quality of the food, you really have to write down during the food tasting what you dun like and be specific. Cos in the cold dish during food tasting, there was this ham or something that was super salty and there was still ice in the silly octopus. We gave feedback and requested to change the ham thing to something else in the alternative menu. Some other food were also not up to our expectation, but after the feedback, the dinner was great and some guests told us they enjoyed the food without us asking them so it's not that they pai seh when we ask so must say nice.

So no worries, just make sure you test the food properly.

augustina

hello chris

I remember for the Red Raphsody is bery unique. red and puplish light with sexy music.
as for the Garden of Love, the ambience is like in a garden, cos they cover the stand with flower and leaves, the colour is white.
if you like natural feeling, can go for garden of love.

claudelia

i met up with yiwen :D

I made a tentative booking for 25 Nov.. for the lunch package.. do you know if there is any food tasting for buffet lunch? Is the food really that bad? worried :S

i like the oriental charm... however, i think of changing the red rash to gold ones.. then, it will look very grand (or so i think kekeke)

jmie

Perhaps the food tasting can allow sampling of e dishes..and feedback for improvements. but the standard will always be there rite? i think if the food quality is always there, no feedback is even needed.. but again, it all depends, who know the chef's mood very bad on that day and food quality very poor??haha.. i think more like luck lah.

another point is, before i even saw this thread, I always have this impression that ppl choose Marriot not for food but for the ballroom. even my fren who got married last yr at marriot told me e same thing when i ask her why she choose marriot..coz i was surprised.

anyway, like wat i say, it all depends on the 'performance' of the chef on e actual day. so dun worry!

augustina

hello Jamie ong,

THanks for sharing ur experience with us. I think Marriott will not be in ur choice of list then, so where hv u in mind.

jmie

Hi augustina,

haha..i'm actually married..

I had mine in merchant court.it was not under swissotel still. Chose tat coz used to work p/t there and got to taste the food quite often..so was quite comfortable but i think the rates went up too ridiculously for a 4-star hotel..so dun really recommend.. mine was 600+ on weekend back then, so stil ok. now i think not worth leh..

pple

Hi Isabelle,
Thanks for the helpful info. Hehe...it's ok, I am ok with simple themes. oh yah, if we do not choose this montage from the wedding wishes, we have to top up $450+++.

Hi Jamie,
thanks for sharing. hmm, i think food will be not so bad, cos next yr marriott will be having ala carte menu for wedding dinner.

ayane

hi sunlynn,
thanks for posting your pix on the thread! hv always wanted to see pix of the ballroom cos never attended a wedding there before
can u share more pix of yr AD? esp wld like to see the aisle leading to the stage cos it seemed rather short when i last saw it.. did u find so?

hi skyblu,
sorry v 'suaku', what do u mean they will be having ala carte menu for the dinner?

the 2 new themes sound quite nice! so now we hv 4 themes to choose from? goody!
how about the wedding favours? are they still rose bud tea leaves?

augustina

hello ayane,
now marriott ha more wedding flavour to choose, from rose bud tea, fridge magnet, chopstick. if u wan something differ from their, u can negiote with them.

ayane

thanks augustina,
were the favours nice? very tempted to do my own favours but not sure if shd be spending that extra $..

was it at marriott's last wedding show that you saw the new themes? wish i had gone to take a look too.. was just too busy with other things then. so which theme will u be choosing?

augustina

hello ayane,

have not choose any yet, but quite like the magnet(is in a couple in wedding gown) very unique. i did ask whether i can change to keychain wich they dun offer. my coordinator reply me no problem, jus got to check with their supplier n see any additional cost need to be top up.

as for the theme, quite like the red rasp.

icegoh

Can anyone share me with marriot wedding coordinator contact? Email to them early this week but till now no reply at all..

BTW how much is their lunch or dinner package? If have more details, please send to [email protected]

Thanks a lot!

chrisbear

Hi Augustina ,
thanks for sharing!
Think they should have pictures of the two themes to show right? Cos my day one would be garden theme so may be nice to follow up with the same theme for dinner.

: )

ayane

hey augustina,
just realised you are a TWP bride, and your PG is Imagegarden! So am I!! such a coincidence

am so curious to see the set-ups for the new themes! they all sound really nice
who is your coordinator btw?

augustina

yo ayane,

so coincidence!!! very happy that someone share the same taste as me .

my coordinator is yiwen. when is ur AD? did u sign up on the wedding bash?
hv u choose ur WG? me will be going for 1st fitting soon. cos TWP jus postphone mine last sat. my EG is not readly yet.

ayane

my coordinator is yiwen too! no i didnt sign up at the wedding bash, we needed a particular date so signed up quite early before the bash. did you sign up then? think they had rather good perks then. is yrs lunch or dinner? wished i had gone to see the new themes, wld hv loved to see the actual setup, easier to decide.

haha, we are having alot of similarities.. TWP also postponed my 1st fitting of WG last week! i havent even designed my EG yet. how is yours like??

my AD is in may 06, how about yrs?

phy_o

Hi Ice Goh,

Better if you call them and they assign you a coordinator. Sometimes they are a little busier and take a longer time to reply to your mails.

augustina

hello ayane,

wow we really got many similarities. i did sign up during the wedding bash to get more perk for my wedding dinner.in fact u shld have come to take a look.
my ad is in 11mar 06. where u staying? maybe same place as mine. hehehe..

augustina

hello ayane,
hey we do hv lot of similarites. i sign up my pkg in the wedding bash to get more perk for my wedding dinner. in fact u shld hv come and see the show. but is okie, can ask yiwen to show photos if they have.

i dunno think u will be seeing TWP so soon cos ur is im may 06.
my ad is 11mar 06. when u staying, maybe in same place.heehee..

pple

hi hi ayane,
sorry abt the late reply...
for next yr, marriott will be having a list of menu items for u to so call "tailor-made" your menu. this is gd, as we can mix-match the menu items according to our tasting.

phy_o

I think we can mix and match their menu items all along right? I signed my package a while back and my coordinator said we could choose to mix and match. But for certain things, we may need to top up. Not sure next year would it be the same.

ayane

hi augustina,
yah! really regret not going to the wedding bash just to see the set-up. FH thot it wld be a waste of time since we had already signed up, and we had other stuff to settle, thats why didnt go in the end ;) what were the extra perks that you got at the wedding bash?

skyblu,
do u mean that we got more dishes to choose from in addition to those that were given to us with the contract? that would be really good!

hi piggypig,
i dont hv yiwen's contact with me right now, but you can call the wedding hotline at 6831 4769. sometimes they are busy with appointments, but you can look for michelle and leave a msg to ask yiwen to call u back.

khim23

Hi Augustina,

I'm looking at Marriott too. U mentioned Marriott have 2 wishes for wkdays and 3 wishes for wkends? Does it mean we can negotiate for anything we wan using the wishes?

Hi snow_baby,

Did u managed to get the bridal show perks from Marriott though the validity is over?

augustina

HELLO ayane,
in th wedding bash, i got more litres of beer and other thing,i cant rmember.
i read that u hb gone to TWP to try ur fitting liao, any pic to share.

hi piggypig,
did send u the wedding pkage, but kana bounce back..

hi Khim,
as for the wishes, it is stated on paper. u only hv to choose wich one u fav in. intinally, my hubby also tout can ask for anything. give them a call and ask them to send u the pkage

elmo_78

Hi augustina,

I am also a Marriot bride...my AD is 21 Jan 06. Btw, I also like their magnet veri much but I also want to change to keychain...more practical to our guest. Did they get back to u on the price to top up for the keychain?

Hi phy_*o*

Are u a White link bride too? Saw u at the WL discussion forum....hee hee. Same same...btw, when is ur AD?

augustina

hello elmo _78,

i hv not negotiate with them yet. jus only fax them my confirmation letter. once got further news, will share with u.

hi Elmo,
Great to see u here! I'm also a WL bride.... I have yet to meet up with Marriott cos my AD is on 8 march 06. What theme are u choosing for ur banquet? U mean we have to top up for their wedding favours? Then, what are the standard favours that they offer which we do not need to top up?

augustina

hi irene,
gald to see u!! how ur preparation coming? hardly see u in march 06 thread lately..
i jus went for my 1st fitting. my EG is very tight fit, hope that i will not gain weight when coming near to PS date...

hi augustina,
i haven't done much preparation, other than having taken my ps and selected my ps pics. what is the design of ur EG like? Didn't go to march06 thread.. will go check it out later!

augustina

hi irene,

oops, must be sone has the same name as ur. i m very blur...
my Eg is one pc of pink color dress with a outer layer of netting, the collar is in cheongsam pattern. waiting for the nest app to discuss for embolisment onto the netting.
finger cross, hope it will turn out beatiful!!!

hi augustina,
wat i meant is i have not been to march06 thread lately. Sorry for my error. wow! ur EG sounds beautiful! I'm sure it will turn out v nice! My EG is bright pink in colour with a bare back.

elmo_78

Hi irene,

Glad to see you here too!

Oh ur AD still a few mths more...hw much did u pay for package? Think they increase their prices again...keke

I just met up with my coordinator, Stephine to discuss on the details...n she is really nice to throw it freebies for us...like extra projector (nw I hv 2) etc....

I m lookg at the Red Raphsody and Marriot is holding a workshop on 3 Dec where they will show the 2 new themes...Wanna attend 2gether? Let me noe if u need the details...I can send to u...

They hv a few choices for wedding favour like magnet, chopsticks, ceramic bells, tea leaves...but I m interested in keychain cos more practical for guests...so waiting for Augustina..keke

Hi rin,

Nice to see u here!

hi elmo,
i booked my package early this yr. Mine is 738 per table cos its a wkday wedding. I haven't even meet up with them to discuss details. I didn't even know abt the workshop leh. Can i go and is it chargeable? Cos i wld really want to view the new themes. When are u gg for food tasting?

hi elmo,
i am also v keen in red raphsody. But the sad thing is marriott do not have new card designs to go with the new themes. Will still be using their current card designs leh.