Silhouette the Atelier

HI Jac,

For our pre wedding shoots, i am shotting with Photo Language, Photographer is Ray Ong. Its a one man show studio. I dont know if you know him, but he does quite alot of journalistic style photos.

For actual day shoots, i'm getting One Eye Click, they are also doing my videography. Suddenly can't remember his name.
He is quite good too.

Urs??

I'm early, which explains why there are no photos on my multiply. My AD was May09, now its been pushed to Jul09.

Planning to do my PS in Feb or Mar 09. Do you ladies think I should start doing up my MTM EG in Aug? As for the OTR WG, if there are alterations to the look of the WG, when should i start work on the changes?

For PS, can we request for an additional OTR WG just for photoshoot?

hey nik nik,
i saw ray's work when i was at my videographer's place just this week. Very nice photos taken.
He's not cheap, right? heh heh.

hey Juztea,
I didn't alter anything on my OTR WG, so cannot advise you. For myself, I started meeting Kenji for my EG design two months plus before my PS. But of course, i started daydreaming about my possible EG designs and looking at mags MONTHS ahead. Ha ha ha !

I didn't want to decide on one design / make one too early because i'm afraid trends change, so i didn't want to have a design that seems 'in' / uncommon at that moment i saw it, only to find that many brides have worn that kind of look or colour by the time my AD comes. But if you are looking at something timeless, i think it's fine. This is just my personal opinion. But then again, if you saw a design you really, really love and you know what you want, why not?

Hey Juz Tea, i'm not too sure if i can comment on this, reason being i only sign up with Silh in June, and my actual day is actually Dec, so its only a period of 6 mths, but reason is also because i know i'm going to take a gown OTR as i happy enough with their gowns that were available and also, for myself, i prefer to choose something that i can see and visualise.

Guess for you, u have quite a lot of time, and that is always a luxury in a way.

I've selected my gown, but i was told to go back only in beginning of Aug, which is 1 mth before my PS for my 1st fitting, to see how much to expand or reduce. Which also means i have time to lose some weight. he he he!

So if u are making something from scratch, i would reckon 4 mths prior to it might be a good time? Again, i think its best to check with Silh crew, i'm sure they can give u a much better idea, and a lot is dependent what kind of bride u are, whether u are those who can meke up their mind easily, or warms up slowly...

BTW what king of WG have u chosen?

Just Tea, i just realised i have so many spelling errod above!!!!... goodness,, didnt check before i post... :P Sorry!!!!

Pinkcupcake: My package with Ray by right is some kind of promo. Think its $2000 for pre wedding shoots... (ahahah can't remember the cost,,, jia lat). I've checked around .... he is not one of the cheapest, but neither he is one of the most expensive either.... for similar approach, think this price is rather competitive....

But as far as i know this is a promo price (dont know how true), so now i'm not too sure what is the cost !

juztea,
seems like i might have the answers to your query on making changes to OTR gowns...cos i took OTR but made/am making changes to it. first of all, you have to decide what are the changes you want the look of your WG.
Let me share me timeline with you?

I booked my OTR gown in Dec 07 (my AD is in Dec 08). At that time, I wasn't convinced that the gown that I've book is what I really want. So Caroline very kindly held it for me until Feb when I have to confirm the gown. So then I confirmed the gown in Feb and that's when we started the discussion on what additional details i want on the gown. In May, I went down to Silh to see if the additional details made the gown into the gown i wanted. Indeed, it became my dream gown

But still a lot of details not done yet. The last time i went for fitting in June, the gown was altered to be more fitting. So from then till now, Caroline is still working on my gown. Think the final gown will be ready by end July. I started my EG MTM process in June and already had the first fitting.

I think Silh can work on the EG pretty fast...if you have already decided on the EG design and won't change your mind, just go ahead...this will kinda reduce your 'workload' later on.

juztea, which OTR gown did you choose? I think Silh doesn't provide outdoor gowns unless you pay additional for it....but I'm feeling that their gowns are soooo lovely, it'll be a waste not to capture the gown in as many pics as u can

Nik nik,
My PS PG is Jaki from O studio and AD PG is Daniel Beh.
think i heard of your PG's studio before but don't know his name...i think journalistic shots are very nice! sometimes the nicer shots are the natural shots...must share ur pics with us after your PS okay??

HI Jac,

Yes i will,,, but that will be by End of Oct... When is urs bday, in any case i missed the dates earlier in ur post?

I'm still wondering where to go for outdoor shoots.... HEADACHE!

THANK YOU LADIES SO MUCCH!!
Haha.... I think my timeline should be fine then.
I know what i want for my EG already. I want my PS in Feb or Mar 09, so I guess I can start work on my EG and alteration of WG. I just want to change it to a sweetheart neckline, and throw in somemore details to the top of the dress. AND not forgetting my LITTLE jacket. Hahaha...

Hi Nik Nik,
My PS is on 24th Sept. We haven't decided on our PS locations and the outfits we want to include :P

Juztea,
So what is your EG going to be like? have you decided on the colour?
Oh, i think its quite easy to change the neckline to a sweetheart one...fortunemew did that...what's your WG like? tulle?
So they'll be making a jacket for you? that's cool!

http://styleology101.files.wordpress.com/2008/02/grammys08a.gif

Haha, even though I dont really fancy Carrie Underwood, but I really like the shape of this gown she wore at the Grammy's. I want to try mixing some black tulle or chiffon, to make it a really soft flowy dress. Well of cos, all this is just my imagination.

They always say, that the gowns you imagine in your head and the outcome will be quite different.

As for colours, I'm looking at black & white or dusty pink.

Hey everyone, I'm back.. Just one week from my honeymoon...
Haven't really settled down yet... and haven't gotten my wedding photos...
But just wanna share with all Sil BTBs and potential Sil BTBs, u will never ever regret choosing Silhouette! Service is great and u won't be disappointed with the gowns!
At my wedding, everyone loved the wedding gown (but of course=P) and I didn't expect so many ppl to compliment my evening gown too.. My hubby and I are deeply deeply satisifed with our choice! One of the best we ever made...
Just wanna thank the people at Silhouette, Minda, Kenji, Caroline and the seamstress (sorry, name slipped my mine) for the great work and helping to make our wedding such a huge success =))

And best of luck to all BTBs!! Enjoy the process leading to your Big Day and savour every moment =) If you are stressed out by the preparations, do not give up! cos u will find that all the effort, time and $$$ spent into that ONE day is really well worth it in the end =))

ps. will post pics when I get them =)
Jac, sorry for the superlag, once I upload my pre-wedding photos, i will share the link with u..

hey juztea! have a great time designing your EG!
I looked at the link you posted. Think the silhouette of the gown you have in mind is nice! sexy neckline too! heh heh. let us see your little jacket when it's done k? Think that's a nice, unique touch to your WG.

hey, tracy! do share with me the link to your PS too please! would love to look at your EG, and of course, more pics of your WG!

nik nik,
just saw your lovely shoes! very nice leh! the colourful pair is very unique! i think they're worth the price tag.

Tracy,
congrats!! I happen to know your emcee for your wedding..Robin right?? Its great to hear that your day was a wonderful one!!
Can't wait to see both your pre-wedding and AD pics!! So where did you go for honeymoon?

juztea,
i also think that the type of EG design you have in mind is nice!! think the flowy part shouldn't be a problem....my EG is flowy too!

HI Mei,

Thank you for your comments...
Yeah.. the price tag... would not want to re-look into it! but at least i can wear various dress with it, since its colourful! so can wear with evening and CS.

HI Juz Tea,
This is a nice cut, i personally took this cut into consideration before too... its flattering actually! good choice! Will look great with messy flower prints cloth! (so its easier to find the cloth ahahhaah)

hi tracy, do you have multiply account?

i also want to see ur photos!

i dun rem seeing ur EG... show me the picts too.. hehee..

it is so wonderful feeling to have everybody praising ur WG n EG... well, i hope i have the same experience in my wedding.... heheee...

Hey Tracy,
Your EG is nice!!! Was your entire attire from Silh including the kua?? you looked lovely!!!

Your PG captured the moments very well!! Try to upload your PS shoots soon ok??
Have a blissful marriage!

HI Tracy,

Apparently there is problem loggin to the website to see the pictures, its stated "bandwidth" has been exceeded...

Nik Nik, yep,, i think it's down for today. Maybe can try tomorrow?

Only, i made the bridesmaids' dresses at Love Potion. I think it's quite value for money and although we met with some problems in between, the dresses eventually turned out well =) the good thing is u can be assured that Claris, one of the bosses, will ensure that she does her best to make everything right for you in the end... supposed to have one of the tube dresses for myself (cos one of the bridesmaid backed out), but in the end, passed to another of my bridesmaids =( hahaha...

Jac, Thanks! Yep, the WG, EG and Kua are all from Sil. ALthhough i was quite apprehensive about the Kua (didn't want to wear one in the first place cos i look like i'm wearing pyjamaes given my figure, or lack of it.. hahha), the pics didn't look too bad.. so all's fine =) plus, saved some money from not buying another dress!!! ee hee..

Yeps, i will uplaod the prewedding photos as soon as i can!!!

HI Tracy,

Just managed to view the slideshow,,, well done, the photographer did a good job! I liked the idea that u have very good crowd who danced as well, so that u and ur husband will not be awkward dancing on the dance floor.

Ur gowns are stunning, esp ur wedding gown.... Beautiful! really stunning.... U look good in the kua... so i dont see why u said u dont look good... U are suitable for it!

Now that the exciting and beautiful bits has just been completed, here's wishing u a great and loving marriage ahead!!!!

Hey Tracy,
My bridesmaids are getting their dresses done at Lovepotions too...Care to share what were the problems encountered?? Right now, for my bridesmaid, the difficulty is in deciding on the colour!

Yeah, i thought the kua was a bit dull when i first saw it in silh...but it does appear alright in pics...am thinking if i should go rent a kua outside for my PS...won't be needing one for AD.
My cousin who attended your wedding said it was a fabulous one and she's full of praises for both your WG and EG!!

did you get a VG?

Hey Ladies, how much is the love potion dress? Is it tailor made? Of got about 5 bridesmaid.

As for the KUA, is it thrown in for free? Or will Sil need me to pay more money. The Kua is very nice, not Over-the-top, and a bit modern.

Do you think if i'm doing tea ceremony with my family at hotel room, I wear KUA will be very pointless?

Hi ladies,just want to ask if Kua is provided by Sil and do they allow our fatehr to borrow their jackets?
I am considering to take Sil as my BS.
Pls advise. Thanks so much.

Hi juztea,
For my bridesmaid, each dress costs abt $115.
Its made to measure...since you've 5 bridesmaid, you can try lovepotion as they require a min of 4 pieces... do note though that the dresses to be made are mostly identical.

I gotta take a closer look at the kua to determine if I'm using it...
Regarding the tea ceremony, it depends on your family? gotta see if they are very traditional such that you've got to change out of your wedding dress for the tea ceremony...
but if you want to wear in any case, i don't think it'll be pointless....you'll add variety to your pics

Whether the kua is part of your package, i think you gotta see what type of package you signed up with in the first place? Do check with your designers...

Carebear lover, i believe they will allow your father to borrow the jackets for a price. I didn't ask them for father's jacket but my fiance thought of getting an additional jacket but my designer said there's a need to pay and what is available are those on display.

hi tracy! just viewed your pics! very nice picture! Love your EG too! very unique colour.
And, finally get to see more close-ups of your WG! can't wait to see your pre-wedding photos!

hi Tracy, u got very beautiful wedding gown! great smiles & photos too!

did u hv your soleminisation at Marriot Hotel's outdoor garden?

Nik NIk, Thanks! All the best to your wedding preparations too! =)

Hi Jac, i didn't have problems with the color =) only spent more time with the design cos i tried to ensure that all my bridesmaids will like the dress... though it turns out i think i like the dress the most =) whahaha.. anyway, the entire procedure had been very smooth, U choose design, then Claris will send it to HK to custom-make.. but becos each design is made in the same size, the subsequent alterations are done in Singapore as part of the package. The complications arise when the seamstress/tailor who did the alterations did not do a good job... also partly cos we didn't expect this problem, we didn't really think time was an issue, so the second fitting was done quite close to the wedding day. Then we realise there's problems with the alterations, so have to alter more times.. some of the dresses have to go for multiple alterations (by different seamstresses as we were not pleased with the first one).. at that time it was PANIC ATTACK, cos we tot the dresses may not make it in time for the wedding and i was already so busy with other things.. luckily, one of my bridesmaids coordinated everything with Claris, and Claris personally ensured that she would do everything to make the dresses right, so luckily till the very day b4 the wedding, the dresses turned out fine.. Whew!!!
So my advice to u is to get one of the bridesmaids to follow up closely with Claris regarding the alterations, don't wait until like 1-2 weeks before the wedding then try the second fitting =)

Who's ur cousin who went to our wedding?

My VG is Why Keen from Ichiro films =) Many also praised the video highlights he did for us!

Hi Only, each dress costs $70 and onwards.. but i dunnow hether the prices have been revised. The Kua is very simple, u have to ask them on whether u can borrow =)

Yep the Kua does add variety to the pictures =) initially i was quite adamant against it, cos i swear i would look like i'm wearing pjs.. but i also didn't manage to see any nice dresses within my budget, so i just wear it lor.. alot of ppl advised me to wear it cos it's a once in a lifetime thingy.. u can only wear it on your wedding =)

Thanks Mei! =) I would really try to upload the photos soon.. hahaha..

hi Carebear lover,
who did you liaise with at Silh?
Hmmm, probably they have changed their practice??

Tracy,
Your emcee (Robin), his gf is my cousin
she was full of praise for your wedding!
the designs are made in the same size?? Clarice took their measurements though...so did you source of other seamstress independent of Lovepotions for further alterations?
Okay, thanks for the advice, will make sure the timeline is not too tight.

I agree...the kua is something that you can only wear on your wedding...though i won't be wearing it for my AD, would like to wear it for PS. And you looked quite good in the kua!

Tracy, who was your makeup artist?

Hi Ladies, I cant wait for my next appointment at Silhouette in Sep. Hahah.. gonna take some pictures and share wih you this time round.

today i jus went down for enquiry. they give me a package of $4500. a bit over my budget

but i really really like the gowns there. i jus briefly tell her what gown i have in mind, and immediately she knew what i am looking for, tried on 2 gowns and i fell in love with 1 of them already.... anyone know how much is it just to rent a WG alone? forgot to ask...

Hi juztea,
have you chosen your gown yet?? when is your AD btw?
I'm having my trial makeup in early sept

yeah, please do share with us the pics of your next fitting

Ashes,
i think to rent the WG is from $2k to $3k? not too sure....what type of gown did you fall in love with?
if you are able to stretch your budget, i would highly recommend that you take Silhouette....their gowns sure are exquisite!