Silhouette the Atelier

Hi Nik nik,
on the right hand side of the multiply in your inbox, you shld be able to see some form of notice that you have an invitation. just click on that. hopefully it works.

oh i see now...good luck in the search for your corset!

hi octus and krispykreme! welcome to the club!

So happy that everyone is so willing to share over multiply! Now i don't have to wait till my next fitting to look at sil's gowns! heh heh!

Don't worry, Krispycreme. Like what Jac says, perhaps your gown is more intricate, that's why a bigger top-up amount. I remembered when i first signed up, they quoted to me two sums too, for different types of gowns. The difference is about few hundred, can't really remember. Ya, just make sure that you don't need to top up any more for 'additional' materials. You shouldn't have to.

nik nik! you are one funny gal! I guess short or tall, every figure has it's 'problems'. Thank you for reminding me the positive side of being short, ha ha! Anyway, now quite common to see guys shorter than gals, so don't worry!
and thanks for your compliments... heh heh.
i never thought my gown will be like that. Have always liked laced and streamlined ones. i myself am drooling over 5 other silhouette's brides gowns (past seasons and the beautiful collection) - very very nice too!!! i can't wait to see yours and the other new sil brides' gowns! it's so interesting to see how each of our tastes differ and how each chose a gown that suits each unique personality.

I think nice heels only has range of 21/2 to 3 inches leh. I find it hard to find heels at 4 inches, while you find it hard to find low heels! Sigh!
aiyoh,i also need a corset - or i risk looking as straight as a ruler! ha ha!

Oh yes, juztea! do post up pics of your cute little jacket when it's done! I would love to see how your tulle gown looks with the jacket! Very interesting!

Hi girls..thanks for all your consolation..i have not actually chosen any gown and the gown i tot was real pretty was actually the beautiful gown in the poster card thats really huge..not sure if that is avail tho. so pretty. =) are you all decided on your PG and makeup artist yet? i heard minda saying she will give this lady called jasmine to me..but i heard abt amy so asked for amy..but minda told me jasmine better. i'm confused. and now..i realy am thinking if i shd just do the ala carte package without PG, cuz octus said thats 3800 if i get DBS promo. but i will also need to top up thereafter for that rite? hmmmmm....headache again.

Mei, i'll be only going down for my 1st fitting end Aug, cos my gown is otr, there's not much changes required from the last time i tried, unless i lose some weight ahahhaha ...

So now will just look out for appropriate shoes and croset so that i can bring it along for my 1st fitting...

I just realised that most girls have chosen tulle gowns... Hmmm.... for a moment i was wondering " am i the weird one out... not wearing tulle??... hahahaha

Jac, finally see the invitation on the right... sorry about that... i'm really bad at Multiply
Ha!

Nice gown too.. elaborate bodice. I noticed most of the girls here did gowns with Kenji and Caroline....

Mine is with Minda, i dont hear many ppl dealing with Minda though. BTW, just to be kpo, Anybody knows whose the boss there?

BTW, i think you look very young, or probably you are young!

Dont remind me ladies, I'm SOOOO upset I forgot to take pictures. SOB!

Anyway I will be back at Silhouette in Aug. Now gonna do some serious research on my EG design.

Hi Nik Nik,

My designer is Minda and she has been perfect!!! I just did my PS recently. When I tried the WG the day before the PS, it was alittle tight on the bodice for me. Hahaha, I probably have gained some weight before the PS. Minda was more worried than myself and actually took a cab to the studio in the morning of my PS to alter the WG for me when I am doing my make up and send it back in time for the shoot and it fitted perfectly. So don't worry, you are in really good hands.

My WG is also similar to yours, which is the full lace beaded A-line gown and I simply love it! So you are not the only weird one. Hahaha! I chose a long veil like you with details on my veil and its really really beautiful. I am sure you will share the same sentiments with me after your first fitting when you try on the gown and the veil. My PG even commented that my WG and EG are soo spectacular!

I am sure all of you gals here agree that Sil's gowns are spectacular right? I love all the gowns they have there and yearn to try all of them!

Oh, I heard that Minda is the boss, by the way.

krispykreme,
does the dbs promo still apply now that you've signed up?
I think even with the promo you might still have to top up for your gown.
btw, i believe that the beautiful gowns featured in the ad are taken already...previously there was a bride who posted a link for her PS and she has the gown in the ad.
on the makeup artist, prob minda said jasmine is better depending on the type of makeup you've said you wanted?

Nik nik,
glad that you saw the multiply invitation....i'm not very good at it too... i'm not very young..prob look young
when's your wedding btw?

ruski,
wow, minda was so nice!! you've just added another dimension to how good the service at Silh is
who was you PS PG?
Any pics to share?

Ya, Silh's gowns are spectacular!!! I also wish to try every single piece of their gown...should have done that while choosing my gown....

yeah, i heard minda is the boss too.

Don't worry, juztea! Aug will come around in no time! Then, snap lots of pictures and show us! ha ha!

Wow, Ruski. Thanks for sharing with us what Minda did for you. I think you assured us that although we paid alot, we are assured of good service.

Krisykreme,

i booked my photographer before i went to silhouette, so it's separate from my package. If with PG in the package, how much will it cost?

Nik nik,

ya, like what Ruski said, you're not the wierd one. In the earlier posts this year, quite a few brides didn't get the tulle gowns. I saw two brides this year doing their trial make-up with their gowns and theirs also were not tulle gowns but also very very nice!

jac,

ya lor! also regretted not being thick-skinned and asked to try on more gowns! ha ha ha! I only tried 5 leh! the 5th one is the one i chose. Then just stopped there. stoopid....

Hi Ringabell! nice to meet you!
so when is your big day and have you chosen your gown too?

hi mei,

mine still long way to go - next yr december. Jus wanna get the deal first before the price goes up.. heehee (cos seems like the price increases every yr) ;)

Mine is a tulle gown, OTR .. simply love the fluffy feel... coolzz... (tried the mermaid, but errmm.. seems like my fats are bulging.. oops)

how abt ya?

Hi ringabell,

mine tulle gown too.
My wedding is in Nov this year, ...but i also booked more than a year in advance...in late july last year..oops...heheh. Coz i fell in love with a gown in silhouette and so afraid it will be taken by someone else. so i quickly CHOPE! ha ha ha! happy planning for your wedding, ya?

Hi mei, i'm not sure...but minda only took off a little bit of the package for the PG less than 1k...so...value of the PG included isnt very high actually. I hope this helps.

Not sure if i still can change to the DBS promo now..but i dun have a DBS card also ma. opps.

HI Ruski, so you took something similar to me! Minda was recommending my veil to be PLAIN, totally plain, because my gown is "heavily" beaded, that's what she says, so i dont know how to define... therefore she dont recommend to have any more design on the veil. But somehow i always like beaded veil, and i feel like telling her when i go for my fitting in Aug... What do you think? I'm sure you have seen most of their lace gowns,,,, u really think its over the top to have a plain veil??? i'm someone who always loves details, and i thought it will really look nice on the wedding day.

So minda is really the boss... i suspected that too.. hahaha i was not too sure. Well not that it made a difference in their services, they are all equally good... just that she gives me this very SUAVE feel....

Jac: My wedding is on the 22nd Dec this year... just booked my dress and decided my EG and CS in another shop... half year before my wedding, should not be too bad bah?? fortunately my WG is OTR so its much easier... ahahahha well in this half year i still need to plan for my house as well.

Ladies, in all i tried about 5 gowns... and i thought that was quite tiring... because its quite tough getting in and out of the gowns. have to be careful, dont wish to step of the gowns... blah blah... so it was good for me also lah... i'm clumsy basically.

Think more importantly the designers know more or less what you are suitable or not suitable, so i'm sure when they selected some of the key gowns to let us where, its more to be sure if what they think was right / wrong... dont forget its the quality that counts...

And more importantly... ALL the gowns are beautiful! so its a matter of which one is the most suitable for you... doubt there is any gown in Silh that makes you less outstanding ! i'm sure you ladies agree!!!

I just went to Essex Walk and Leaping Lizards to have a look at their shoes... still wondering the type of shoes to wear with my lace gown.

Ruski: what did you wear to match with your gown?

Yeah, glad we are all happy BTB in Sil.

Hi Jac,

My PS PG is Kelvin Lim previously under Chris Ling. I am still waiting for my PS photos but my FH took a few pictures during the shoot. See if I can download them cos I seem to have problems loading photos in the forum. Who is your PS PG btw and when is your AD? Have you taken your PS?

Hi Nik Nik,

Well, Minda did advise me to go for a plain veil too because the WG is already very detailed. But on my first fitting, she put on the plain long veil on me and this other veil (a detailed one) to see which suits me better. I loved the detailed veil instantly but was alittle concerned initially because I was worried that I will look like a xmas tree. But she approves the detailed veil. So I ended up with the detailed veil which in my opinion, can't be better. So if you ask me, I won't think its over the top for a detailed veil + WG because I am a super drama mama myself. But I think Minda can be trusted to give you an honest opinion when you decide on your veil.

On shoes, a drama gal like me chose a super bling bling shoe to match the WG. I got my shoes from Essek Walk and love the pair that I bought. Its mainly to match my EG. This will be the only pair that I will be wearing because its versatile and can match both my EG and WG. The shoes are from paradox and the model name is "Astor". Go check it out in the website. If I am not wrong, I think you will like the shoes too because I think we probably share similar taste and style. During my PS, the crystal dropped off. Heartpain..... Going to fix the shoe before my AD.

Hi ruski,
my AD is on 28th Dec this year....my PS will be in late Sept...and my PS PG is Jaki from O studio. When did you take your PS? when's your AD?

Regarding the veil, you gotta try on diff types of veil....
i like the long cathedral veils with details but together with my WG, it'll be too over the top...so will prob be getting a short plain veil...

Nik Nik, just make sure that the crystals on the shoes that you're getting won't hook onto your gown.... the lady from essex walk can provide some advice on what shoes are suitable..i got mine from there too

hey ruski,

hope you can load up your photos soon to share with us!

ya, BTBs, like what Jac said, do check whether the shoes you are interested to get will 'interfere' with your gown. I also got a bling-bling one (at essex walk too
the one on the homepage. heh heh) but later found out i have to put scotch-tape over the diamante as it will catch on my tulle gown and EG easily and spoil them.

ruski, one crystal also dropped out from my shoes leh, before i wear the shoes somemore.
luckily it dropped in my shoe box so i carefully picked up the loose crystal and brought the shoes back to have it fixed. It took them three weeks so do make sure you bring them back early enough before your AD.

nik nik,

like ruski, i also think you may still be able to get a detailed veil and not look like a x'mas tree. perhaps just have to make sure the beading are stratigically placed so that they don't compete with your gown.

I think one of the ex-sil bride, midas (she still posts here and has given many good advice to us
), has some interesting pictures of veils with details. She herself has a nice veil with some embroidery. she is in my contact list in my multiply (and jac's as well i think?) and you can click on it and look through her photos? Or scroll up to past posts and PM her? I also toyed with the idea of having some details on my veil but later decided to get a plain one - coz with my necklace and earrings and embroidered bodice, it's just too many things on the top half on my body! ha ha ha!

Ruski & Mei: After hearing from you, i've decided to go for slightly detailed veil.... somehow i just love them, so romantic and dreamy ...

BTW, wanted to ask u girls, wonder if you know too... is it true that once you remove the veil in the am, you can't rewear them in the evening for the walk in? it is regarded inauspiscious. signifying, possibility of re-marrying.

I've not heard about this before, i guess because i'm not local, therefore, this "myth" is new to me.... NOt that i'm very affected by it, but just wanted to understand better.

Reason why i ask is cos, i have solemnisation in the evening prior my wedding, therefore, walking in with veil is more dramatic

anyone out there who knows of this "myth" do share with me too...

As for Essex shoes, i found one pair that i like, but actually high possibility to scratch the dress. However the sales person in charge mentioned that can use the clear nail polish and run through the crystals, to form a coat over them.... Otherwise i will have to replace their original crystal to hot stamp ones... but saw the effects, less dazzling and beaufiful.

Its a peep toe one that i'm looking at, thought it can be used in the future for other gowns / dresses compared to those covered front shoes...

My EG and CS is of quite different colours, therefore its not possible to share shoes with the EG and CS....

U know i was wondering, who actually can see the shoes?? because our dresses are so long... invest so much,,,, is it worthwhile???

Hi Jac,

I just took my PS two weeks ago and it was so fun! So enjoy the process and remember to take some pictures. My AD is on 13/09/2008.

Hey Mei,

I think we have the same pair of shoes! Hahaha. Don't you just love the shoes? But I agree that it will scratch the gown alittle. For my EG, not a problem because the material is satin (I think) and there is lining on the dress. But I was alittle worried that my shoes will catch on the holes from the patterns on my lace WG. It did catch on a thread from my WG during the PS and when I tried to release the thread from my shoe, the crystal from my shoe came off. So I am going to put coats of clear vanish on my shoes to avoid this problem on my AD.

I finally figure out how to upload attachments. Need to chop off the picture so it will fit. So here goes......

My WG and veil

705357.jpg

ruski,
nice veil

nik nik,
if wearing the veil more than once is inauspicious then PS also cannot wear liao...how come so many pple still wearing it? so dun think too much...juz do it

hey ruski! very very nice veil!! and i love your lace gown too!!! when your pics are out, do let us see ok??

ha ha! we have the same shoes. ya! i love them.
...you know, kenji say i very 'drama' in my taste and i always don't want to admit....but now a self-confessed drama queen chose the same shoes as me...ok la. gotta admit i drama-mama too... heh heh.

i wanna ask you - did your lace gown get very dusty from "sweeping" on the road when you walk around for your photoshoot. Reason i ask is, my solemnisation is just outside my hotel and just before my banquet. I'm just very afraid by the time i finish and go up to my banquet, my gown looks grey from the dust!

nik nik, never heard of that superstition... and i also don't care. heh heh. As long as the elders never complain, just do what you want to make yourself feel pretty and happy.

nik nik, true...no one except you will see the shoes and actually, no need to spend so much. But i too vain lah... ha ha ha!
and really hor, i can't find cheaper and comfortable heels at least 4 inches high...so i rationalized to myself that the comfort factor was worth the splurge. (excuses! excuses! :P)

Ruski,
your veil is soooo nice!! it suits your gown very well....not over the top and its something unique....like your gown too!! unfortunately, don't think i can get a long and detailed veil too...

For those of you who've gone for PS, like mei, i'm interested to know if the gown gets dirty easily and is it very obvious when it gets dirty?

nik nik, i never heard of that superstition before but i read it in the forum before....think what midas posted makes sense....i def don't care...i'm just going to do and wear whatever makes me happy

Ruski, your veil is SO beautifullll..... Really doesnt look over the top.

Bout the myth,yeah, u ladies are right.... (just like how i thought, just want to have some support and assurance that i dont make the wrong decision.. ehehehehe)

Somehow i know it can be a waste to buy expensive shoes for the gown... but i was again thinking, as you need to pull up ur gown as you walk to prevent the dirt from catching on, your shoes will be revealed.... so most likely investing in Essex walk shoes... very elegant and beautiful.. hope the design i chose can be used for future other evening gowns.

By the way for the PS, do any of you brought your best friend / "helper" along? moving around with all the barang barang, and need to arrange the dress, think it makes sense if your girl friend is around to help?

Hey gals, thanks for all the compliments. I love the veil and lace gown too and really appreciate Sil for creating the perfect gowns + veil for me.

I will share the PS photos with all of you when they are ready.

On whether the WG will get dirty during PS, I don't think so as long as you lift the gown up when you walk around, which is what I did. I lifted the dress up to my shin. I also did not go to the beach or any dirty places for my PS. My WG is also ivory instead of white so I guess even if its alittle dirty, it should not be that obvious since I did not notice that its dirty?

So Mei and Jac, maybe you can practice holding up your tulle gown delicately the next time you go for fitting. Hahahaha! I can imagine how you gals will look doing that. Like a gentle princess bride! Mei, a good opportunity for you to showcase your bling bling shoes. I guess I will also practice doing that the next time I go for fitting.

Oh Nik Nik, if you are also going for the long veil, please remember to gather your veil and the train and place them together on your left arm when you walk around. I did not get anyone to help me during the PS because I did not carry anything with me except for my bouquet. Just remember to bring tissues to wipe off any sweat.

But Jac and Mei, I don't think I can say the same for you since I think the tulle gown is quite big. Depends on whether you think you can carry the train or you need someone to hold it behind you?

My PG also help to arrange the train for the shoot and he / my FH help me to gather the train so I need not bend down all the time.

hi there, do the price you pay for the off the rack gowns depend on the type of gown? eg. a heavily beaded gown is more exp to rent as compared to a simple, sleeker gown?

HI anyta,

Its very likely to be more expensive for a heavily beaded gown. but i doubt the price difference is that great, esp if u rent.

hi Nik Nik, i am customer of silhouette too.
can you share ur photo shoot photos with me too. thanks! u have a multiply account? i also did my shoot two days back....hee.

oh ya, my multiply account userid is fortunemew in case any of u girls want to add me...
but pls leave a note like u are customer of silhouette etc..thanks.

HI Fortunemew, i have no photos to share at this moment! hahaahah have selected my gown after i tried them, but didnt take pictures! and now waiting for end of Aug to do 1st fitting, to see where needs alteration, so now busy trying to lose weight.

I'll check out the multiply with ur ID. would love to see ur gown!!!

HI Fortunemew, i have no photos to share at this moment! hahaahah have selected my gown after i tried them, but didnt take pictures! and now waiting for end of Aug to do 1st fitting, to see where needs alteration, so now busy trying to lose weight.

I'll check out the multiply with ur ID. would love to see ur gown!!!

Hi Nik nik, okie will wait to see ur gown once u got ur photos in multiply.

Ruski, can share your PS photos with me too? i will get mine this week and don't mind sharing with you too. ur veil n gown is beautiful..! i like it too. thanks! My AD is in sept too.

hi am sort of starting my BS search now, AD is in dec next yr!
sil seems very much raved!
does anyone know the price range of their packages and wads included?
btw do they oso have packages w/o photography?

hi redrubberslippers,
yes most of us are happy brides of Silh...
their price range varies and it is on the higher side....only the very basic stuff are included...you can customise the package to what you want.
yes, they have packages w/o photography.

when i said very basic stuff, i'm comparing Silh to the one-stop BS...so there are many many excluded items...
basic stuff like WG, EG, men suit...that's as basic as it can get...some packages include flowers, makeup, PG.
Yeah, its best that you go down to Silh to talk to them...very nice ppl there.